Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The New Esplanade Hotel 3 stars

18 The Esplanade, Perth CBD, 6000 Perth, Australia

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    3.8
    not staying there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness was poor. Tiles missing in bathroom, holes in walls, soap holder over bath hanging off, laminate top to vanity water logged, laminate to vanity front cracked and swollen from water damage. No mattress protector - sheet directly on mattress and was thin. Remote for TV did not work, called reception. No answer so had to go down to find help. nobody on reception so had to search for staff. Took 30 minutes to replace remote after I located staff. Lift from carpark out of order so had to carry bags down stairs. Only one lift to floor I stayed on went to that floor. Earl Grey t-bags only in room. Not to my taste.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, simple & quiet hotel nestled in perth’s charming historical buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the Swan River, Overlooking Elizabeth Quay. You can walk to everywhere in the CBD Easy access to public transport & central to the many varied tourist attractions. Pleasantly it is quiet staying st this hotel, making relaxing time in your room wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, and having a river view was spectacular,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was appearing a little old, but still very functional and fine though.

    Great location, and having a river view was spectacular, great value for the price of this accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Most adequate if you are not looking for 5 start luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and building quite old but clean and comfortable. Parking was quite tight.

    fabulous location looking out over Elizabeth Quay. Large room with a kitchenette. Parking building right next door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    Convenient to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Self controlled air-con in the room, and a free bottle of water.

    My room was on the very top floor of the hotel, and extremely muggy in the room. I could not control the air-conditioner as it was preset from receiption. I did not get my $100 deposit back yet. I cannot find a phone number for them to ring as ask when my deposit will be returned and it is over two weeks now.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    2.5
    Crap
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No everything needed updating

    The staff was rude the rooms needed major updating as my bed was collapsed in the middle. Will never stay here again😡😡😡😡 I would rate this hotel as a 1⭐️ Would have preferred to stay at a backpackers 😡😡😡

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Bathroom was filthy, also the windows where filthy, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was filthy, also the windows where filthy, the double bed was tiny that my partner had to sleep in the single bed, the double bed also didn't have any mattress protector and was also like sleeping on the ground, very uncomfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was very clean and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was tired. The kettle cord was too short to reach the powerpoints except on the floor - not very safe.

    The hotel was very clean and in a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude and insulting, worst hospitality service I've ever experienced, the room had mold and dirt on the walls and in the corners, bed and pillows were rock hard and very uncomfortable, overall a horrible stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    3.3
    Not worth my money, totally unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most uncomfortable bed, had to take 2 elevators to get to our room as the original missed that floor on the panel, while hotel was old and not good condition.

    Clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have the most uncomfortable beds. I could feel the springs all night. Its old and outdated and in desperate need of an update

    The location was the only good part about this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    Has potential for a vintage hotel but missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was horrible, very outdated. No nice soaps or shampoos and the toilets and showers were so old. The bed wasn't comfortable and was also tiny for two people to sleep in.

    Location was perfect, also the hotel had such potential to be a vintage retro hotel and that way you would dismiss the age of the lifts. View from the window was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    It was just one night in perth before going to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rather run down

    It was just one night in perth before going to the airport. The hotel is right on the foreshore and close to the river, shopping, everything. It is older though and could do with renovating, but was good value for money. Also close to the bus back to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Ok for one night, uncomfortable with no air conditioning as hot day. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, room stuffy, room needs some work done on it as does the bathroom, rundown looking in the bathroom.

    Bath, view from window was great, staff helpful, great location, has great potential to become a good hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    The location was excellent and we had a view of Elizabeth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a basic hotel, with a double bed instead of a Queen and not very comfortable!

    The location was excellent and we had a view of Elizabeth Quays and the river right in front of us! Well priced and I would come again for an overnight convenience stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    3.8
    Didn't enjoy it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic which was fine but it was unclean, there was stains on the cubards of milk and coffee. The shower had hair in it from someone else. It needed a good clean

    How close it was to the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    Close to the convention centre which is where I needed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed for renovations, so no dinner no breakfast. Double bed only - way too small.

    Close to the convention centre which is where I needed to get to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a night or two.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is only one powerpoint outlet so be warned if you have multiple things to charge. Otherwise, the hotel is as expected for the price point and perfect for just a few nights stay.

    The hotel is in a prime location and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.2
    Not so new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean..needs someone to look at the wiring. I was looki g fo r a power point near the bed and behind the bedside was a pile of tangled wires taped together goinbg through a holke inthe wall. Bathroom not in the best conditiin either, maybe it should be called The "old" esplanade hotel. For the price Im sure there are a lot more hotels in the cbd that are much better value for money.

    The staff were helpful, and the location is pretty good. The place is quiet. Im sure its better than the old esplanade hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and theres always someone on at reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    I'll probably return because of the convenient location and because the room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The river view was a bit obscured by the dirty windows and there were gaps in the windows that let the draft in. Overall the hotel was a bit run down but nevertheless good value for money.

    The room was clean and spacious, had everything we needed, was close to the places we wanted to visit (the location is great for the CBD in general) and I loved soaking in the bath tub. The parking facilities were convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.2
    Rather Not.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being charged extra for parking. The carpark lift didn't work & the staff knew this & didn't inform me. The rooms are terribly Dated & the whole facility is passed its use by date!!

    LOCATION

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.6
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as above

    bathroom needs serious modernising and clean the walls. toilets in the lobby need a repaint. old cupboards in the room are not necessary. shelving would be better. and a arm to place tv on the wall so can be watched while in bed. more bright colour in the room. air freshener needed . aircon was not working. and complimentary water should be provided. it is customary to provide clean water to all accommodation without charging for it. the price was cheap.. but more modern improvements can be reaped by charging 20$ more per room. great location but seriously needs a clean up

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.3
    The location is the only reason why I booked this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not clean, both in the common area and in the room. The heater not working properly. The bed is extremely uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hotel for friends and relatives at all.

    The location is the only reason why I booked this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    It was the location, it’s close to everything in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is very poor, no restaurant, the cutlery not enough the decor is very old. Needs a make over

    It was the location, it’s close to everything in the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    OK as a cheap option though not as a weekend treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed not at all comfortable unfortunately. Shower over bath not as accessible for older visitors. Shower curtain stained. Windows overlooking a pleasant view were dirty. No breakfast facility on site - difficult for early departures

    Position very good for city access. Parking available though an expensive extra on tarrif

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    nothing
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hole hotel phone in our room did not work the hairdryer court on fire and i could not ring out i tyred to ring them of my phone but one andwered i will not be back the hole place needs to be up to coded

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.8
    The Hotel is run down and they are renovating on some floors, there was a view from my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff weren't particularly welcoming, telling me to return at 2 pm as that was check in time. I had 3 hours to wait. The day before leaving I asked what was the latest time I could check out and was told 11 am, however I returned to my room at 10.45 to find I was locked out and all of my belongings were inside. The bathroom tap could not be turned off. The power point I used to plug in the kettle was in the bathroom and was not very safe especially because the kettle lid popped open as soon as it was turned on and therefore could not turn off automatically.

    The room was clean and the cleaners did a good job every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    3.3
    Will never recommend The New Esplanade to any person.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Bed springs poking through into my body. No power points aside from 1 in the bathroom so the toilet was were coffee was made.

    Leaving. This stay was the worst example of Australian accommodation i have experienced. It should be rated a 2 star facility and i am being generous. Every taxi driver i spoke to said they had heard the same. It needs investigating by the organisation who monitors Motel standards in Australia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    2.5
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is so run down, beds are as hard as bricks, bathroom is dirty,water was merky, everything was old and run down and needs to be run down, the elevators feel like they are going to break any second

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location, old and yucky room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and yucky. Room was hot and stuffy, air conditioning was centrally controlled. Could not open window.

    The young lady at front desk was lovely. She was very helpful and refunded me without any problem when I said I couldn't stay there because my room was too hot and stuffy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Overall good value for money in a great position but needs maintenance and better kitchen amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as having a kitchenette but only had a microwave, had no utensils not even a sharp knife! The plastic curtain in the shower was quite old and had mould along the bottom- this could be replaced for a few dollars. I think the carpet could do with a steam clean too- it didn't smell fresh. Also the room was very stuffy with no working air conditioner so we borrowed a small fan from reception.

    The hotel was very well situated within walking distance to the city centre and waterfront ferries. Our room on the 8th floor was very quiet and had a fantastic view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Would book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated and a gap in the window so the wind came through a bit.

    Bed was very comfy. Lots of space and nice sized bathroom. A view of the river I wasn’t expecting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location. Probably would not stay here again...better value for money elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little tired and needs a clean. The window was so dirty we could not see out of one side. The price was probably a bit high with 30 per day parking fee.

    Great location. Great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Will definitely stay again for location, price and ease of access
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lounge was a little uncomfortable and torn, the microwave, kettle,toaster electrical board kept cutting out so wasn't very happy with that at all

    The bed was comfortable, the staff were very nice, the location was excellent for my needs and holding your luggage before check in time is an even better bonus as definitely needed my luggage kept for me to attend my hospital appointments,staff were helpful with directions of supermarket and even offered me an umbrella as it was raining

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Once only, served it's purpose but there are better options around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortuantly,even though the view from the front of the hotel was excellent when you book via Booking.com or trivago you do not get the premium room. The one I got was beside the elevator shaft and faced on to a multi storey car park ie little privacy and noisy early on as workers in the cbd arrive for work. The air conditioning was preset and could not be altered and since the windows could not be opened the room ,for me, got very warm. The hotel was very quiet but the staff would not allow an early access to the room. The hotel was dated and needs a refurbish which I think with the amount of noise was happening on some of the floors. The staff seemed tired and lacked enthusiasim.

    Location and proximity to Swan river. CBD was close as was the nightlife in Northbridge. Not much about the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    Ok then horrible and is still a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well where should I start :( The parking is $30 per night. When I checked in the room had 2x bottles water, 2x coke cans and 2x cans of a beer. During my stay I drank the 2x waters and the 2x coke. When I left they tried to charge me for the whole mini bar... apparently there is way more in the mini-bar but not when I arrived. What they ended up charging me with was wrong items but similar price. Now this was not the last of my issue with the new esplanade hotel. I rang the hotel and booked my last night there, I said I would be back to pay the nightly rate. I was in Mandurah at this stage where I was with family due to personal events. I rang the hotel the following morning not long after check out was due and the reception staff had advised me that they had packed up my personal items from the room and I needed to come and fix the amount owing. I was shocked at the fact that they did this and especially without contacting me before hand. Their response to not ringing me was they did not have my number. Unfortunately this was yet another lie made by the staff at the hotel, as when I was given the invoice my mobile number was at the top!? At this point I owed the hotel one nights room rate and the mini bar items. I had given the hotel a 200 dollar bond when checking in. I was happy to pay the night and the mini bar items as I was provided that service. The hotel staff are saying that I owe them an additional 205 dollars due to smoking in the room. First of all I did not smoke in the room, (I do not smoke) The reception staff advised me that i would not receive all my personal belongings until the additional 205 dollars was paid. Now I found the Asian man at reception very nasty and demeaning, he made me cry and would not let me talk. I have worked as a house keeper in hotels many times and a smoking fee is usually charged due to the extra cleanliness of the room (aircon filters) the new esplanade hotel did not allow guests to use the aircon as it was winter.

    24 hour checkin was great and the laundry facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Fair for price .
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnishings , kettle and hairdryer needs replacing, car park view lack of privacy , people talking near the lift disturbing .

    Location is great. Near amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Convenient to stay to catch train to mandurah
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saying they needed a holding credit card and then actually removing $100 from it at check in and then saying it will take 7 - 10 days to refund it. Holding is just that and if now have to follow up from interstate to confirm the refund

    Close to public transport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service after hour is very disappointed. Left a msg over the customer service. Never ever get any response! Have to live in the hotel very independently!

    Location is very convenient. The room is very clean and comfortable for solo travelers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    You get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift didn't work properly. Noisy renovations throughout the day. Old exposed wiring hanging from wall. Tv didn't work.

    Great shower pressure, experience bought down by old style shower over bath with plastic curtain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Good place will recommend if on low budget travel but wants easy access to amenities and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car Park should be discounted for guests' at $30/- it is too steep. Barely parked except at night. Furniture and fittings old and musky.

    Rooms though nice and cleaned daily by housekeeping. No real complaints value for money. really close to amenities n shopping that's the bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One single bed was very comfortable, the other needed replacing. The mini-bar was full of items for sale and was useless for personal use. There was a bath, but it did not LOOK clean, but probably had been cleaned. The ongoing renovations meant that it was less usable than when I stayed her 40 years ago.

    We had a suite with two rooms - in one was a double bed, in the other were two single beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Conference trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated bathroom with old shower that I had trouble adjusting the temperature. Could do with few renovations.

    I was on a conference trip that was held at Convention center. Walking distance to everything train,bus,ferry shopping center. Helpful staff to give you directions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Great for a cheap one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front man wasn't too friendly and seemed like he just couldn't be bothered even being there. He wasn't helpful or talkative at all. The carpets throughout the hallways are really dirty and stained and it kind of smells like a hospital.

    Perfect location for a night out in the city. 24 hour service desk which is great to get in and out of during all hours. Easily found a free car park out the front. Was super cheap just for the one night but in saying that, you get what you pay for. Although the room was average, it was a place to sleep for the night with an amazing view of the river and the new Elizabeth Quay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and in need of a refurb. No bar or restaurant on site. Lift to our floor didn't work And got charged $30 for over night car parking in multi storey car park next door

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Weekend stay in Perth
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact double beds, walls are dusty and marked and ceilings have water damage and are mouldy. Handles of taps fall off. Flimsy loose plastic toilet seat. No free internet. Hidden costs are $30 daily Wilson's parking and $6/he internet. Unhappy staff that seem disinterested.. No restaurant or meal options in the hotel.

    Close to the convention centre which is why we chose to stay there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Quiet, pleasant and comfortable. A bit dated on the decor front but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have a couple of glasses visible - if they were there I never found them and a few more plug points would have been good.

    Nice big two roomed apartment style accomodation. Loved the bath and shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Proximity to where we wanted to be, transport and shops.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have plates and only one cup. When we asked for a knife and cup it was not delivered as promised. We didn't like having our drivers licence photocopied. It has never happened before.

    Proximity to where we wanted to be, transport and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.4
    Was worth the $100 but would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and run down, I certainly wasn't expecting what I found when we arrived there wasn't even air conditioning

    Very good location in the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointed.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated. Windows had the cold air coming through them. Bathroom has no where to put our toiletries. To boil the kettle, on the floor. And the noise from the renovation down stairs very loud.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    close to everything in perth
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lift to the rooms, was a experience... and the lift to the parking area was a nightmare hardly working, and needed a thump on the doors to assist in closing to make it work

    the view from the balcony room was amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is more like a back packer hostel no in house dining facilities or room service beds were old and springs left indents in your body maintenance is non existent

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing attitude of reception staff member. He was very unfriendly and very unhelpful. Reception phone was not answered so had to go and find him! No room service! The companies that we were told delivered food to our room did not when we called them! The man on reception made me feel unwelcome. I was extremely disappointed in this hotel. Parking was very expensive too. I will never come back.

    The person at reception was very unhelpful!! Very disappointing customer service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    NEED NEW PILLOWS
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated, bed super UNCOMFY and pillows to match the bed.. Making a terrible nights sleep. Also the M&M's were stale in the machine haha

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    not gonna be back sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was freezing and heating didnt work. the shower didnt get hot water and the shower curtain was filthy. i think for the quality of the room it was very over priced.

    the location and view out of my room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Anybody know a window cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view would have been great if you could see out the dirty window. Only have double beds no Queen or King. The entrance to the hotel from the parking area was not good.

    The location was great for the convention center that we were going to. They had underground parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    3.8
    Good location but poor mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel the springs in the mattress and the air conditioning control was broken so there was no climate control for the room. The bed needed more blankets but found these in the cupboard.

    Good location and solid shower water pressure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.2
    The "OLD" esplanade hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated , small bed! When I asked for delux , room was Cold! And house keeping is poor ie dirty windows and bottle caps in room from previous guests.. And it must be the only hotel in 2017 to still have a shower/bath combo 👎

    Location! River view from room was good but window was very dirty

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have bed made with right size linen for beds . Had to remake bed single sheets across queen bed

    Shower good water pressure and hot . View fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Sad night in Perth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen closed on weekends the shower/bath didn't work properly, tv remote had no battery and when i went down to ask it seemed like a chore to her to get them, pay more on top of the room deal that i didn't know about.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    It's really good location, close to shopping centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really good location, close to shopping centre, esplanade river, kingspark, restaurant coffee shop, room value cost.. i will stay this hotel again if i go to perth

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    Total Disappointment Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything , no heating very cold, shower was running drips. Staff was very rude except for the cleaners. Everything expensive. No convenient facilities like microwaves, kettle but provide coffee n tea. Bad bad bad

    Only good thing is the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.4
    This hotel is well past it's use-by date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold, the heating did not work. When I complained I was offered a move to another room but the aircon/heating didn't work in that room either so I was given an electric fan heater and told the heating would be fixed the next day. It wasn't. The room was generally shabby and quite dark. There were no pictures or any decoration to brighten it up.

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location bad hotel .
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking cost $30 and had a broken lift so we had to carry luggage up and down stairs. The accommodation was advertised cheaper when we arrived but still had to pay the higher rate! The bathroom was pretty bad with big cracks in the toilet. No control for heating . The window that had an amazing view was disgusting and we couldn't see out of it . Very very uncomfortable pillows ! I woke with a very sore neck .

    The location was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Bang for your buck but Old.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a very old place - but for a one night stay it was great value for money. The heating did not work. But the staff did their best to make sure we were ok. The room,. shower, bathroom were clean but like I said its an old place so don't expect something flash. The Bed is not suitable for tall people (lucky I am short). I don't know why the New is in the title of the Hotel.

    The location was fantastic. Excellent value for money! The staff is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Good for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found bed a little hard but partner found it comfortable, personal choice. Heating didn't work so staff gave us a fan heater which took the chill off room but that was all. No breakfast available.

    This hotel is in a prime location and would benefit hugely from a re furbish to a 4 star. Train 4 min walk away and straight across from Elizabeth quay on the swan river. Very quiet lifts. Room was spacious and clean just a little worn, needs a paint. Happy with it for what we paid. It's rated 3 star and that's exactly what it is.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Be careful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. The basin was cracked. Dirty cupboard in the bathroom, old razor inside. One lift did not work properly. Water stain on the carpet.

    Security key for door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.4
    Bacterial infection of the heart.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper respect for a fellow traveler in the middle night with a few lady's be a gentleman

    No croissant and powder really . Lift your game Esplanade no good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.0
    Poor and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not too clean, cold , heater didn't work , could hear people in other room, window wouldent shut, staff where rude , poor water pressure, bed was hard

    The view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    2.9
    Would never ever book here again
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Staff were extremly unhelpful Rooms and bathroom were discusting and felt like a brothel

    Getting a refund for atleast one day. But they should of refunded us for two for having such poor facilitys

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.0
    Amazing location But thats it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, old bed. Not comfortable. Coffee splashed on wall and although it didn't appear dirty the cleaning wasnt great. Very tired deco. Security not good....We walked back in after night out and were able to walk straight past unattended reception, open door to "secure" car park and straight into lifts. Such a shame, with the location and view if they upgraded facilities this place could be amazing. But it's not.

    Location and view from window across Elizabeth Quay were amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.0
    It was average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertising tht there was parking, there might have been but the charges should have been advertised. We ended up parking in the Wilson Carpark and paid $50. There was a view of the river but blocked by the trees (its not the hotels fault) again with the advertising.

    The only thing we liked was the fact it was right on the river, across from Elizabeth Quay and near the shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.0
    Paid $30 for car parking that had no security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid $30 for car parking that had no security. Car broken into with big damage bill. Bed was also very uncomfortable, could feel the bed springs. Won't be using that hotel again,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift from 5th floor did not work very well. Long wait. Television dreadful. Antenna problem. Electricity cords lying on floor. Lack of electricity points. Lovely view but through dirty windows. Bed not great. Door jammed to ensuite. Tap dripping. Need's updating.

    Location great when disembarking from Rottnest Ferry.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.8
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dated & worse dirty...bed so uncomfortable. ..view potentially amazing but window so dirty inside & out you couldn't see the view clearly at all...lift didnt work tv didnt work as aerial not plugged in or tunned had to pull out cabinet from wall to plug it all in & then still didnt work howevere found filth & articles behind cabinet...nowhere to plug in jug for coffee...ensuite so dated & filthy...whole experience so dissapointing would not recommend at all

    Only the location

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: