Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Victoria hotel reviews
  4. Melbourne hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of All Nations Backpackers - Melbourne

Reviews of All Nations Backpackers - Melbourne This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

2 Spencer St, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#176 of 190 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1114 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    10
    Excellent stay really enjoyed the Vive of the hostel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent stay really enjoyed the Vive of the hostel. Big shout out to Luke for looking after me and sussing a cheeky little upgrade and some drink vouchers for ubar. Kitchen was a little small but ended up grabbing Uber eats for my sorry self!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    10
    Great fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the funnest cleanest hostels I've ever stayed at! Was greeted by Luke who directed me straight to Ubar. Which I needed after a long day traveling. Thanks for the great time!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    10
    Fantastic, will 100% recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Window in our room 304 let in a breeze and a lot of noise

    Location could not have been better! And free pancakes for breakfast?! Does it get any better!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    8.8
    Are you a heavy sleeper?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower cubicles on the first and second floor were being shut down (even the female only toilets) over the time I was there (and I was only there a week) forcing everyone up to the third floor communal showers, of which there are not many. The kitchen is not 24hrs and I did not like that the staff didn't explain which floor the kitchen and lounge were on as you ended up having to wander around looking. My flight arrived late (as they do) so I checked in to the hostel the next morning (and obviously I had no way of contacting them) and they had given my bed away. Considering they had taken payment via Booking.com my bed ought to be mine whether I arrive on the first, second or third day and have never had this happen in a hostel before. And my worry with this is that they are not a large hostel and have limited rooms and clearly they had a room they could've put that person in as I was moved to it but they chose to give a booked bed away instead. Had this been their busy period who's to say they would've had a bed for me that night. When you're such a small hostel giving away a booked and paid for bed is a dangerous game to play, unpaid for beds understandable but this was unacceptable. Unless your on the third floor (which they close in winter due to less bookings) or the boys rooms (which aren't street facing) prepare not to get sleep. Its an old building so obviously no soundproofing of the windows and the trains run all night, plus you're close to Southern Cross station so all you can hear past your window is them breaking for an extended amount of time. Then factor in cars and trams and people. Ear plugs didn't help so take headphones. My final negatives are the key card app and the internet. The log in code is a number - a loooong number - so when I discovered that they had an app where you could use your phone as key card I was much happier. Until I couldn't get it working.

    The room was really nice, there were lockers for your things, its decorated rather modernly. The rooms are always exceptionally clean and I had sheets changed and bed made regularly which was nice to come back to after a long day out. The beds were comfy and I was supplied a duvet instead of the usual sheet and blanket that most hostels supply. The reception desk was always run by happy and friendly members of staff, there are activities that you can book at the main desk (although its cheaper to shop around). There are always activities in the bar and people come to advertise them to you in the dorm rooms. They also put leaflets on your door so that you know what's happening. You are so close to many great attractions and you're right in front of the tram stops. They feed you pancakes for breakfast and there are many hobs in the kitchen to use. Also, can't hear the bar from the rooms. The price reflects the quality only because of the noise, other than that it's a bargain, beautiful place to stay. Would I stay here again? Honestly I don't know. I'm back in Melbourne for a concert on the 25th July and theres only one con that I am thinking about and its the lack of sleep versus the price, location and cleanliness. But when backpacking sleep is important so we will see.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    10
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great stay! Had a warm welcome by Luke at reception playing some great tunes on a cold Melbourne night and loved every minute in the hostel! Quirky artwork throughout stairwell and corridors plus an awesome bar

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    5.4
    Close to the city where our work thing was.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is falling apart. The noise from the trains is constant. Windows and panes of glass are ready to fall out even without touching them.

    Close to the city where our work thing was.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    7.1
    Ok for the price but I wouldn't stay here long
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lounge area, only 1 kitchen/ not big enough for the amount of people staying. Lot of stairs to get to my room. Bar next door was so loud it would shake my bed. Really loud road and train traffic

    Free pancakes for breakfast (big queue though). Free earplugs at reception. Fairly cheap

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    2.5
    not a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    a broken chair i nearly fall out of in the dining area. the freezing drafty room with no heater. the stained and disgusting bed linen. the paper thin doors where noise comes straight in. the worker painting the wall outside my room playing music so i couldnt sleep. the not 1 but 3 visits into the room by cleaning staff, one time just walking in and walking out without doing anything. the dirty dishes in the kitchen that i had to wash before use. the stupid 7 digit code to get into a room (4 would be enough!!) which changed before checkout. no hot water and the coldest shower of my life. a 3rd floor room and 6 flights of stairs not great for a 4 bed room for access either. i could go on but im sure thats plenty

    pancakes were ok. met some nice people that all felt the same about the hostel, many duped on the booking like me thinking it was nomads and not all nations (shouldnt be possible) ...this resulted in nearly a half hour walk to the "sister" hostel

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    7.5
    Staff really nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was disappointing just pancakes, also was suppose to be until 9.30am but a couple of days went down at 9.15 and were all finished. Very limited number of showers on the floor I was on as most were out of order. No bedside charging facilities if you get a top bunk, (this can be easily fixed by running some extentions and hanging them by the top bunks).

    Staff really nice and helpful!! Great cooking facilities!!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    5.0
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There didn’t seem to be many showers in the hostel that were actually in working condition and the ones that were working didn’t appear to get cleaned particularly well and were pretty disgusting. The room I was given was pretty noisy at night as we were unable to close the broken window, there were also items of clothing and shoes dumped all over the floor that had been abandoned by previous guests that never seemed to get removed.

    Really friendly staff, free pancake breakfast, free wifi.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    3.3
    Room stinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Germany Girl gave dormitory room with permanent people room was very stinky I told her she didn’t help and I try to cancel but it was too late

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    7.9
    Bed was pretty comfy, location was excellent very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi like most nomads was really terrible unless you pay for it and only works on the ground and some places on the first floor. Was a foosty smell in my room that was a bit unpleasant, could of been the other couples shoes but have a feeling it was just the room in general. Handdryers in toilets either didn't work or were really poor and didn't dry your hands anyway. Signing in was another pain that was made more annoying than it needed to be considering how poor the Wi-Fi was.

    Bed was pretty comfy, location was excellent very close to southern cross station. Toilets and showers were in pretty good condition as well and kept clean. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    9.2
    Cheers to the great staff and good vibes in the hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is a bit slow, and because it's located in the CBD next to trains it's a bit loud, but free earplugs made it easy to sleep at night

    The staff make this place feel homey, they're fun, welcoming and helpful! Emily and Luke at the front desk made check in a fun experience! The location is prime, right in the CBD next to transit The bar next door has cheap drinks and events always happening

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    9.2
    Older travellers backpacking
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the guests left gross messes in the kitchen

    Room service! Fresh towels! Luggage storage, the whole interior has recently been painted. Windows opened, stairs were clean, staff friendly & helpful. Plenty of showers and toilets.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2019

    5.4
    The hostel is in heart of Melbourne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s really old and dirty. We booked with “breakfast”, but just the first day we got it and it was just pancakes, you need to bring your sauce or topics or eat pancakes without nothing...

    The hostel is in heart of Melbourne. Good location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    7.5
    Came late and could still check in in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite slow to check in and check out. No more pancakes at 9am (breakfast announced until 9.30am). Not the best smell in the room.

    Came late and could still check in in the middle of the night. Staff recommended places to go out after 1am when most of the bars wouldn't let us in. Clean bathrooms, comfortable bed, nice lounge room, large lockers in the room

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As expected it's not a quiet hostel but it's very good for social and meeting new poeple.

    Good location, very easy to get here with Skybus from the airport and also the gathering point for most tours is nearby, just within walking distance, it's also close to the CBD so easy to get around. Staffs are very friendly and the people there are mostly young backpackers.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    7.5
    the pancakes were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room (101) was on top of the bar en couldnt sleep until 1am !!! also at 7 they already had music at reception. pancakes werent served always, and not very punctual.

    the pancakes were nice

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    7.9
    Away most days handy to train and town
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    other room mate who talked all night on computer in room NO Respect for others

    Pan cakes only one morning too early other days Location handy to trains etc but noisy

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff & value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting too old to climb 3 flights of stairs & then having to climb onto a top bunk. Would have preferred level one accommodation & a bottom bunk. Facilities are a bit dated but, for the convenient location & value for money it is not really an issue. It is what it is & I will continue to use the All Nations Melbourne for my overnight stays whenever required.

    Location is ideal for me as I traveled to Melbourne by train, went to the AFL game at nearby Marvel stadium, stayed overnight at All Nations Melbourne & returned to Sydney by train the next morning. All I needed was a bed & a shower. Both were provided. Breakfast was offered but, I thankfully declined as I had to catch my train back to Sydney.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    4.6
    The only nice thing about this hostel was the lovely lady on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were mice in the dorm!! And I can only imagine around the rest of the hostel. There were also birds in the common/dining area that flew in from the open windows. The bedding was horribly dirty - looked like the pillow cases weren't washed as there were drool marks all over it. The kitchen was very cramped with pots missing handles etc. Whenever I went to eat there was not enough cutlery and plates were always put away wet and nothing to dry them with.

    The only nice thing about this hostel was the lovely lady on reception

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    8.3
    Great value and location with good facilities and security.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Brkfst not on schedule. no shelves in room or shower. a light controlled for lower bunk would have been great.

    brkfst was ok not always starting or ending as posted as was leaving for meetings got food next door at 7-11. Location was perfect for my conference. Was pleased and surprised with daily toiletries and towels. other guests noisy one night put don't disturb sign out rest of nights and spoke to desk and it did not continue Yeah! Asked desk about coat hangers and had 6 in closet on that days return. Also Yeah!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    9.2
    Good centrally located hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The female showers on floor 2 were out of order, all 5 of them. This resulted in everyone, male and female, having to use three shower cubicles in the male bathroom. It is obviously a long term thing as the sign on the door is now unisex.

    The beds were comfortable for bunk beds. The staff are friendly and helpful. Best of all the bedrooms are clean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2019

    7.1
    Beds are really comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The free breakfast is a fake one ^^ only free pancakes from 8 to 9:30am, coffee and tee and that’s it, not the best usual hostel breakfast at all! A lot of showers out of order

    Beds are really comfortable Big lockers Rooms are quite big, space for luggage Really good location Bar downstairs Nice atmosphere and easy to meet people

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    7.9
    Nice, good location.
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ideally there could have been more showers and toilets on the one floor. The kitchen tables where you sit we’re also quite dirty a lot of the time. Actually kitchen part was clean though. Could do with new bed sheets.

    The girls at reception were amazingly helpful. The free pancakes were really nice. The location is absolutely perfect and everything is within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    4.6
    The night time staff were very friendl and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much of a social areq other than a very busy and unclean kitchen. Rooms are very small and dull.

    The night time staff were very friendl and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    7.9
    There was an error in my booking and they kindly gave me a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel was in front of the train station so it can be a bit noisy.

    There was an error in my booking and they kindly gave me a private room. They even let me stay there the whole week with no extra charge. Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty and disgusting showers, rats in the rooms even if you dont have food in there, kitchen and TV room close at 00.00 and this is the only common areas in the backpscker, so if you want to stay awake longer with your friends they tell you to go to the Bar (next to the backpacker)

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    5.0
    bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a bar downstair. It's very noisy, so I can't fall into sleep every night except Sunday. The reason is the bar close at 11 p.m...

    The location is very good. It's very convenient to take the tram or bus.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    7.5
    Standard hostel - nothing to make it stand out either way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were very hot

    Standard hostel - nothing to make it stand out either way but if you're looking for a cheap place to stay then it's worth it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    5.8
    I had two mice in my room for two days, the hole was filled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had two mice in my room for two days, the hole was filled and I still heard them in the room rummaging around in bags. There also was a limited amount of showers and no wifi in rooms unless you paid extra.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    7.9
    Reasonable for the price. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unsure if the sheets or pillowcase were clean as I was unable to determine which bed was assigned to me. One shower rose was not functioning. Only hot water in shower suggesting mixer taps may not have been functioning.

    Staff, pancakes, location, many cleaners going about their business

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    7.1
    The hotel is in a very good location, close to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think it depends on the location of the room, but because the train was passing by the hotel frequently, I couldn't go to bed at night due to noise. Earplugs were sold at the reception.

    The hotel is in a very good location, close to the main train station, next to a convenience store ( 7-eleven ) and in the free tram zone, so it's convenient to travel. Reception is open 24 hours. There is a locker in each room, and you need to bring a key, but you can manage valuables.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    5.0
    Wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bugs in bathrooms, sheets and blankets dirty. Staff wasn’t accommodating. Had to leave and get a hotel room because our sheets were crawling with bugs

    Food was good, great location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    7.5
    Good enough
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was smelly, my pillow case provided only under request was old and broken (that is not a big problem but I think they can buy another pillow case , is their busines!). I didn't know were to hang my clothes in the shower, no shelfs! No elevator

    All was good enough! Wifi was good everywhere..also in my room. Is pretty near the station

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    7.1
    Good
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You need to sleep with train noises . No too many charge areas.

    Bed was nice. Staffs are nice. Not so far to station. Kitchen is clean. Everyone friendly. Totally good

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    6.7
    Avoid. Find a place where people care about their guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at reception was friendly and Emily was knowledgable, but the others were pretty much a joke (not listening to my question and giving a generic question, how useful). One night, they even had a guy on as only staff who did not belong to this hostel but was borrowed from another nomads who knew nothing at all. Very poor management decision. Seeing as Nomads is a big chain, how on earth is it possible you repeatedly double-charge guests and don't do anything about it? Two others in my dorm were affected and it took me a week to get my money back. Speaking of the dorm, it was stiflingly hot, too hot to sleep. How about a working aircon? Also, one night someone blew a fuse with a blowdryer in the bathroom so we were out of electricity in that hallway for an entire night. I told reception about the fuse when it happened and still no one did anything until at least 8.30 the next morning. I've been backpacking for three years and this was the first time in a Nomads and it showed me that my original instinct was correct: Avoid. Find a place where people care about their guest.

    The pancakes were nice and staff making them was lovely. I stayed in a twelve-bed dorm and it was surprisingly roomy.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    7.1
    location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a 10 bed dorm which had no fan and no air con. It was way too hot to sleep. and the 'free breakfast' is two pancakes.. the bathrooms have no soap, the kitchen is small and not clean.

    Location is perfect in terms of near to the train station (southern cross), parks, shopping malls and it is also next to a tram station. I'm going to book it again for an overnight stay in Melbourne because of it's location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    3.8
    I have been traveling to many places but I have never been...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have been traveling to many places but I have never been in such a bad backpackers. On arrival there was no welcoming atmosphere, more like a party place. There was no introduction about where to find what, nothing. Everything I had to know, even how to get into the room, I had to ask for. The invoice could not be printed to me. Again I had to ask 3 times until finally someone could help me to send an invoice via email to me. I really do not recommend this place to anyone. Bathrooms, kitchen are not clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    8.8
    Very social hostel and super easy to get to know people,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen is a little small

    Very social hostel and super easy to get to know people, relatively clean and not that loud at night The people that were staying there around the same time as me were super nice Great location Free pancakes and pasta and rice!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    8.8
    The bed was super comfortable and I slept well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise of the trains. They have free ear plugs at reception so definitely pick some up otherwise it’s too loud. Plus the kitchen is busy in the morning because of the pancake rush.

    The bed was super comfortable and I slept well. Plus the pancake breakfast is great!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    4.6
    Very basic and won’t be returning
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived and the staff at reception could not speak English very well and could not explain the situations with the key pads on the door very well to access the room. I had made two separate bookings for the first night and the second night and sent a message well ahead of time to make sure I was kept in the same room, this was confirmed as being possible. They then were trying to tell me I had to check out and return again at 2pm! I made sure this didn’t happen. Kitchen and dining space is tiny for the amount of people trying to cook and eat in there on a night when the hostel is full. Very overcrowded and kitchen gets incredibly hot. I only needed to use the microwave but it was too hot to stand in there and wait for it. The room lockers don’t have PowerPoints in them like other hostels do, there are actually very few PowerPoints in the room all together, there is no small lamp at each bed like at other hostels and they don’t provide a top sheet for inbeteeen you and the blanket which is pretty gross considering how little blankets get washed in accommodation places. It’s quite noisey with trams and trains right outside the window. Would I come back, probably not. Also, towel hire is around $10. Pay a little bit extra at other hostels and get a better experience.

    It is located within a short walk to southern cross station and is directly behind a tram stop to take you to the other side of the city.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    6.3
    It’s located in a very central location and attached to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing seemed to work correctly - check in was a nightmare because of their slow internet, their phone app that they make you use instead of a regular key card wasn’t working so they had to give most guests codes to everything. Within an hour of my arrival one team member entered my private room, without knocking, by using staff access cards to gain entry, to inform me about a bingo night happening at the bar. This is disgusting and honestly if it wasn’t for the other guests who I met at the bar, I would never consider returning.

    It’s located in a very central location and attached to a bar that sells very cheap alcoholic drinks.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    7.1
    The rooms were spacious with comfy beds and enough lockers,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi wasn’t available in rooms and in common areas was very patchy, but this was the only problem really!

    The rooms were spacious with comfy beds and enough lockers, there were plenty of bathrooms and free food was useful

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    free breakfast with only pancakes and sirup. too little toilets and showers. too noisy because the room was on a busy street cross

    close to the city center!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    6.7
    The bedroom was cleaned
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In my second day doesn’t have hot water for almost 1 day and half plus all the sink in the toilet (I mean at the second floor) were blocked.

    The bedroom was cleaned

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    6.7
    Very central, just a short walk from the Southern Cross...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was on the third floor & saw 3 mice just running around. The energy also kept cutting out in the room so from the 4 days I stayed the one power outlet in the room & the really poor working fan only worked for maybe 1 1/2 days which really isn’t making the stay bearable on the third floor of an old, poorly isolated building. The room was also facing the street which means that you’ll be woken up by the first trains in the morning who will literally shake the building & make horrendously loud noise crossing the intersection there.

    Very central, just a short walk from the Southern Cross Station & just next to a Bar. The showers also were nice & kept clean. In general it was tidied up well.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    8.8
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen!! There are two very little sinks and you have to stand in line to wash a plate. The whole area is pretty hard to cook in without feeling like you’re in someone’s way. And please please please get more forks, I ate every single meal with a baby spoon because it was all that was left.

    The location was perfect! The staff was so friendly and very helpful, definitely went above and beyond to help us plan the rest of our trip. The bar attached is super fun aswell.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    In love
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The train was noisy but if you go out for a drink or two you'll sleep fine. And there are ear plugs in reception.

    Joe is the guy that checked me in and he is very friendly and chill and just amazing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    7.9
    You get what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -Noisy rooms, you could hear the bass booming -No A/C -Wifi barely worked

    -Great location -Free pancakes -It is as clean at it gets (it is still cleaned daily)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    2.5
    The worst place ive stayed! Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its ontop of train station so you didnt get much sleep if you wanted the window open for air because the trains were non stop and so loud, its like a sauna in the rooms with no air con and one fan between 10 beds if you were lucky. You have to put a code in ur door room every time you wanter to enter, so if your phone dies your stuffed. Not enough cutlery and everything is broke in the kitchen including fridge, hobs and none of the saucepans have handles. And the tea towels are rotten like they been sitting on the floor 6 months. Theres no mirror in the bed room. The Wifi doesn’t work. Asked the receptionist to help us with the tv and she said she didnt know how to use tv. Then found out it had been broke for months so was never able to watch anything in the chill room. There was Mice droppings in the room. And the hand dryers dont work.

    Free pancakes

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    6.3
    Tasty pancakes for breakfast (after 9 am there's a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No air conditioning (with 34 degrees outside it's really bothering). Airless, small room. Not enough space for luggage. Slow WiFi. Common area connected with canteen and kitchen - not very convenient.

    Tasty pancakes for breakfast (after 9 am there's a queue). Generally quite clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.5
    pancakes in the morning 😋
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 27 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    small kitchen not enough dishes bathroom was always wet 😅

    pancakes in the morning 😋 close to train station I can highly recommend the Batman park next to the hostel 😊

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    Enjoyed my time in this fun and vibrant hostel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small kitchen

    Enjoyed my time in this fun and vibrant hostel. Great value for morning to meet other young travelers for a great cost. Friendly staff that welcomed me with open hands!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.6
    The friendly staff, the clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen. It would be better if you could provide some blue rolls so people can wipe out their mess after using the kitchen or table. Also, the utensils and dish racks in the kitchen are very very old, dirty and rusty.

    The friendly staff, the clean bathroom

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.2
    The staff were super helpful pointing out popular tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We walked into our room after checking in and found a dead mouse on the floor. Told reception and they picked the mouse up but didnt wipe the floor or anything.

    The staff were super helpful pointing out popular tourist spots and helping to organize transport to and from the airport.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    One of the best hostels I’ve stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV room looked cool but didn’t work, no one came to put batteries in so we could use the space Key card system was no longer usable so we had to use a phone app which was good but if your phone dies it’s pretty hard to get in

    Good location Had a nice double private room Trendy and sociable Free pancake breakfast, rice and pasta Secure room Just a great space overall

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    5.8
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just one socket in a room To many people for the small kitchen and there are not a lot opportunities to cook your meals because the most of they don't work. Very noisy during the night, because of the nearby tram, the bar and the really loud heater for the water. Bad wifi and no lift

    Very good location Free pancakes, noodles, rice, coffee, tea Nice bathrooms Enough locker

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    6.7
    Kitchen was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wooden floor creaks all the time.. Very irritating. No power socket near need. Position of the floor highly stupid for a room with 4 beds. So noisy my God.. You can't catch a sleep day or night.. The train station noise is just too loud.. This must be a disclaimer while booking. Free wifi only works in common areas.. Need to pay extra if you want it in the rooms. This is not really cool.

    Kitchen was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    5.4
    Bed and pillows were comfortable and the pancakes were nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't like the several mice that took shelter in our room on the second floor. We ended up leaving at 3am because we were that uncomfortable we couldn't sleep. Mentioned it to the guy on reception and he was disinterested.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable and the pancakes were nice in the morning. Bathrooms were clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    6.7
    Charging war with mice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only two outlets for four beds (!) I asked the reception for an extension cord or something so you wouldn't have to compete over who charges their phone overnight, but no. Mice woke me up during the nights. The pancake breakfast is also unreliable. One day they started making them almost an hour late and you often have to wait in line for them, so don't rely on the breakfast if you are on a tight schedule. The lockers in the room and showers with hang-your-stuff space is a big plus though.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lifts; you have to walk up stairs.

    Friendly staff, discounts at bar, location, lockers in room, security cards for room door. Female only bathroom and toilet available. We got a 4 female dorm.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed had hair on it when I arrived my room key wasn’t working for about 4 hours I didn’t feel clean very dusty considering I’m allergic to dust I didn’t feel safe staying here especially being a solo traveler. Do not recommend

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    7.5
    The location was good, staff were pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like how the hostel doesn’t allow any alcohol other than the alcohol sold at the bar next door.

    The location was good, staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    10
    A good one
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be really nice if the hostel provided washing powder. It is annoying to buy a full pack in the supermarket just for one load of laundry. Usually hostels provide small portions of washing powder for free or a dollar

    Nice TV room to sleep on bean bags before check in. Free pancakes for breakfast every day is a nice bonus. Location is good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good hostel if you need to be near the greyhound busstation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good hostel if you need to be near the greyhound busstation like i did. Don't know much about the breakfast because i left quite early but they made pancakes so i can't imagine it would be bad. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    2.5
    Hostel is generally okay, let down by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a bag stolen from the hostel kitchen. Despite constant asks for help and repeatedly reminding them of the issue, staff took three days to even look at cctv footage. Following which they just said they didn't see anything, and would do nothing further. Staff just generally unhelpful, forgetful, needlessly flippant and uncaring.

    Hostel is generally okay, let down by staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    4.2
    On the other hand, the staff is very nice and relocated me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the worst hostel I've ever stayed. The first night I slept next to a homeless woman who was very sick. The rooms smell and the sheets are not cleaned at all. The rooms are right on the street so there is a lot of noise from the Southern Cross Train Station.

    On the other hand, the staff is very nice and relocated me to another room. Showers are okay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good breakfast and location. Not many facilities, the room were not very clean and I had dirty bed sheets but the bathroom were cleaned several time a day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Allow time for checkin/checkout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a quick check in as I had to get to a concert. Staff took repeated calls during check in for phone bookings and i had to wait each time for those to be resolved in order for my own check in to be completed and given room key. Checked out at 4am, reception unattended - sign advised be back in 10mins. Waited 25, had to push key under door and hoped it got to them safe as I had to catch skybus to airport. Other than these minor issues - pleasant staff :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.2
    A hostel with his own character!
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing was that the kitchen at dinner time sometimes really busy and dirty was. Because some people didn't do their dishes... But definitely coming back!

    The free pancakes in the morning were delicious! They offer as wel free rice, pasta, tea & coffee in te kitchen. That was really nice. The staff was really helpfull and the location was just perfect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.7
    HORRIFIC ON FIRST TWO DAYS, MUCH BETTER WITH ROOM 110 (INTERNAL) FOR THIRD & FOURTH NIGHTS.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE TRAIN NOISE FROM ROOM 206 WAS HORRIFIC. THE WORST ROOM WE'VE EVER HAD ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD! ON THE THIRD NIGHT WE WERE ABLE TO MOVE TO ROOM 110 WHICH PROVED MUCH BETTER. DO NOT STAY IN ANY ROOMS FACING SPENCER ST !!!!!

    CENTRAL LOCATION,

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    Clean , Close , comfortable , fun , with many activities to do during the week, awesome staff!
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast included : they are supposed to start serving pancakes at 8 but they started preparing at that time , as I am at a conference I cannot wait too long it delays my commitments so I couldn't enjoy this service

    I loved the stuff particularly Ben has been excellent.. also the place is very clean and close by to the station, you offer entertainment during the whole week and people are social.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is nasty. Okay it's cheap but that doesn't mean that you shouldn't get clean sheets. There were signs on the wall stating that level 3 (my level) would leak from the roof from the rain and reception would try and move you.. how they think this condemns a roof that drips on your bed is beyond me. The sheets on my bed had stains, I don't even want to think what they were and the duvet was damp. Bathrooms were horrible I felt I had no decent space to get myself ready in mornings. Leaving the worst until last. There were mice! At night you could here them rummaging around, so loud I can only imagine there was a family of them! I came in to my room one day to find one running across the room. This was when I decided to cut my stay short and get out of there. I had booked 7 days but only stayed 2 nights. I said it to reception when they asked why I was leaving early and they told me they would tell management and they would let me know about a refund. I have heard nothing so that's why this review is going up. This place should be shut down!

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    6.0
    Overall it was crowded, dark and gloomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen was very messy and small so it was hard to actually cook anything. Plus most of the gass hobs didn't work. It was nice to get free pasta, rice, tea and coffee but they are cheap to buy anyway.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: