Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers 4 stars

1 Lateen Lane, 2481 Byron Bay, Australia

#35 of 37 hotels in Byron Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 533 hostel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the people I meet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bathroom was Firthy! vents, toilet ,wash sink was blocked, having a local bum living in his bed telling us what we can and can't do in the room as he comes home at 3.30 it was everbodys elses fault that we had to get up at 7 in the morning to start there day of activities so the bum told us all the be quite as he needed sleep

    Meeting people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Enjoyed the location, but not the cockroaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cockroaches in the bedroom, damp smell, hallways seemed to amplify noise, luggage storage accessible to anyone who walks in from the street.

    Good location in the middle of Byron Bay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay location wise and well kept backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that only one of the planned tours and acifivites actually went ahead. Solo travellers use hostel activities as an a opportunity to socialise and when things are put on a board you look and Plan your day . Only one activity actually happened and that was only because a staff member said she would do it even tho she wasn’t meant to and she left the tour desk so that would of been left and not managed.

    Great place to stay location wise and well kept backpackers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are outside of the bedrooms and the wifi only works in the dining areas

    Good location, very friendly staff. A lot of activities available, very fun in general.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Best one so far
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was sometimes pretty slow and they don't have mugs/glasses/cups available unless you ask for them in the reception leaving an ID or 5 bucks that will be refund. Still, minor things.

    Great location, friendly staff, good kitchen and cool activities. It was loud in the common areas but inside the dorms you couldn't hear a thing so that's good. Met some really nice people as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in a double room with an own bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get a bit louder in the evenings if people are partying on the terrace

    Stayed in a double room with an own bathroom. Very pretty and clean. Tv, fridge and coffee/tea in the room. Staff was nice and helpful. Terrace and kitchen were nice too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.0
    The aircon didn't turn on, so we went down to ask...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon didn't turn on, so we went down to ask reception if they could provide us with a fan or some fresh batteries for the aircon remote. We were told to go back to our room and wait for someone to come take a look. We sat in our extremely stuffy, hot room for a while waiting for someone to come take a look but no one showed up. There was no fan or window that opened, so it was a very uncomfortable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location & communal kitchen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 6-bed mixed dorm didn't have free wifi and had a smell from the carpet.

    Has a great kitchen and is very close to shops, restaurants, the beach, and grocery stores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was stinking big time. Carpet was wet and staff members said it could be piss or vomit!!! Room was infested with small cockroaches

    Location Size of room Beds Free bfast Kitchen Showers and bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Great if you want a cheap party place, but not my pick in Byron
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just know that it is definitely a party hostel, and even if the hostel itself is quiet, it gets a lot of noise from the street and town at night (lots of drunk people yelling). The kitchen is really small for how big the hostel is, and the front desk staff often seemed like they'd rather be anywhere else. Just not a great communal vibe, but great if you like the contiki tour travel style.

    It is easy to get to from the bus, and the travel agent at the mad travel was great! The hot tubs were a nice feature, and it does have free breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Staff stole our beers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff stole our six pack of beers! After we called out these two guys for drinking beers (150 lashes - not v common) that we had gone missing from the fridge they claimed they had "bought a slab". And when asked where the other beers were they said they "only got a six pack". We quickly recognised them as staff as one the Dutch guy had checked us in the day before. Beers were in the fridge the night before when it got locked but gone in the morning. I then the saw the same guy clearing the fridges the next night. Quite a blatant and damning abuse of their authority. Additionally, Wifi is terrible as expected from a Nomads. Worst wifi in Aus for hostels. The female receptionists seemed pleasant and nice but all the guys were rude or seemingly extremely high and odd. Would not stay there again- and in fact after two bad experiences with Nomads staff at separate hostels I would never stay at a Nomads again!

    Location and not a lot else

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many cockroaches in the bedroom (counted at least 10) Very noisy past 10pm to the early hours with guests banging doors and shouting down corridors all night

    Staff were friendly and efficient Check-in was smooth Bathrooms were clean Location was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    I stayed for 3 days in a 4 bed room with own bathroom. That was nice. Vibe in hostel could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think when you are backpacking by yourself this hostel may not be the best. People were pretty much to themselves or their own groups.

    Clean common rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Manager was nice regarding to my case - I was stolen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was stolen and staff receptionists were absolutelly rude with me. Power points in the room are located in just one wall what is not comfortable.

    Manager was nice regarding to my case - I was stolen. Location is good and kitchen is big and well equiped

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    A great time was had during the busiest time of the year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Checking in was very disorganized, keys didn't work etc. Every day there was some confusion as to who was in the room. After the first day you had to pay for the internet. Australia is the most expensive place in the world for hostels, and on top they make you pay for internet, It's not value for money in this area that's for sure.

    The kitchen was great, and the bathrooms were very clean. They cleaned the rooms daily which was great. The staff were friendly too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Our room had a leaking aircon & they said it would be attended to, but nothing and no compensation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our dorm had a leaking air con with a 1x1 metre puddle on the carpet making the room stink! Our closest communal toilets had a sewerage leak, meaning we had to walk to the opposite side of the hostel to use toilet and a male came in and was sleeping with a girl in our “all girl” dorm

    Not much to like except that the hostel was in good location. We were really disappointed in our smelly room and the fact the staff did nothing to try and compensate for an uncomfortable 2 nights sleep. It was too hot to leave the door open and we ended up having to put our bin under the leaking aircon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    One of the cleanest hostels I've been to
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive and no wifi in the rooms which I think you should get considering you paid a lot.

    Very big and clean! Lots of thing to do on the evenings, free bbq etc. Jacuzzi was really nice. Free breakfast. Very good location as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Great place to meet other travellers, be prepared to party!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm getting a bit old for party hostels - it's not them, it's me...

    Location was great, and if you're looking for a place to meet other travellers: this is it! The garden area is very nice, with hottubs and hammocks. Kitchen was relatively clean, as was our bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for, I guess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking showed there was a pool and all this property had were 2 jacuzzis. The hostel had no forks my entire stay and kitchen was not fully equipped. Beers were stolen from the fridge during my stay. The wifi only works on the ground level floor and not in the rooms. There was no toilet paper for half a day and facilities were not maintained often enough. There was a free breakfast but it was kept on the first floor and no info instructed about this.

    Something was going on every night and people were social. Rooms at least had air con! The vibe was good and they had a staff member to book tours for guests. Luggage room was behind this desk to ensure safety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    2.5
    Staff wont respond.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the fact that after attempts to contact the staff i was charged for 2 nights without even staying there. Due to internet problems at the international airport, i was booked in to stay when all i was doing was checking prices. After contacting staff to help assist me with this, i was charged anyway.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.3
    reception seems like a hotels lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilets were awfully messy. in the morning, there r no toilet paper. kitchen was always busy. there werent enough cutlery, i could get only spoon.

    reception seems like a hotels lobby. free breakfast. wide space shower room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, nice room with good air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen only had three saucepans between an entire hostel, so that made it difficult to cook. It was also a very hot room to cook in.

    Great location, nice room with good air con. Social atmosphere. The bathrooms were normally clean and the showers good. Wasn’t too noisy at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good value for money and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning in the room is controlled by a central remote at reception which is a bit inconvenient. It was also not switched on when we arrived so it was quite hot in the room. For the rest of the stay it was comfortable.

    This hostel is in the best location in Byron Bay, just set off the main street and really close to the beach, shops, bars and clubs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.6
    Appalling! Do not stay here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very, filthy. Blankets/duvets not washed or changed by staff between guest changeover, simply fitted sheet changed and cover re folded, and so they absolutely stunk of sweat, the entire room smelt appalling. The carpet is so dirty that walking on it from one side of the room to the other with clean feet would turn your feet black. Bathrooms dirty and usually contained sick. Kitchen very messy, floor covered in waste water due to leaking fridges. Piles of dirty dishes with people not washing them up or wiping the counters. Noisy with drunk people through the halls, also a bottle recycling area outside our window which will guarantee to wake you up at 6am sharp. The free breakfast was described by someone in our room as "like fighting with animals". Everyone agreed in our 8 bed shared dorm this was the worst hostel we have visited, two of the eight enough so to check out days early despite already paid for the week with no refund.

    Location was good, close to aldi, lots of bars and shops, and 5 mins to the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean and new but not quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you plan to party and stay up all night you won’t get much sleep. The sound from the common area downstairs get super loud and never quiet.

    New and clean facilities and nice location in town center near the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid a premium for a private room but it smelt of damp and the mattress was super old and poor quality. No wifi in the room

    Great location, lovely staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    The staff were terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were terrible! Rude & grouchy. It's a hostel in one of the most beautiful and fun places in Australia. Throw a good damn smile on wouldn't ya!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and great in house activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need cushions or bean bags in the outdoor area, or sun lounges.. the hammocks were good, but no where to lay in the sun

    Comfy bed, friendly staff and fridge in the room! Was exactly what we needed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    Clean rooms and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One receptionist with dark hair was extremely rude and unhelpful!

    Clean rooms and bathrooms. A blonde haired receptionist (loves surfing) was amazing! Was extremely happy and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Awesome! Bring your carton of beer and join the celebrations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a hostel, it is what it is, everything could be slightly better, but then it wouldn't be an affordable hostel. Yes it would be nice to have beachfront views with all you can eat seafood buffet. So no complaints! Awesome place.

    Great place to meet other travelers and backpackers. Location is in the middle of the city, close to all restaurants and bars. Everything was fine, another great hostel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Borrowed 4 towels and it cost $60. That's ridiculous.

    Great location and facilities. Bathroom, toilets very clean and great outdoor area. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    2.5
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got 3 beds for 1 night and when I arrived there was only one bed under my name I don’t know who made a mistake booking.com or nomads Doesn’t really matter I just had to move to Gold Coast to find a place to stay

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay - clean, spacious, fun, and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free breakfast was bit lackluster

    Great environment - spacious common rooms, dorm rooms, and kitchens, and even has a courtyard with hammocks and a hot tub; didn't feel cramped even in a fully occupied 8 person dorm room; located close to the beach, restaurants, and shops

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Too stressful and uncomfortable for a 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was double booked or something, had to confront lodgers about free beds constantly. Seeing reception didn’t solve the confusion. Staff too relaxed. Didn’t seemed concerned I left a day early.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no sheets no towels no powerpoint or light near bed unisex bathrooms bedroom carpets dirty not vacuumed bathrooms & toilets dirty lockers are too small to put bags in

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no working aircon. When i got up in the middle of night to tell the guy at reception. He came up and then spent some time looking at it before twlling me they had a spare remote for situations like this but have lost it. It was such a heat box of a room.

    Location. $10 parking underneath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    I’d most likely would come back if I was to come by again, probably wouldn’t use the kitchen though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of done with a bigger kitchen because of all the people. The fridges and shelves were asbloutlty rammed and couldn’t put any of my food/drinks in there and some of my food even got robbed out of them.

    Great hostel, a good party vibe during the Christmas period, working air conditioning good value for money. Just a good all round hostel. Also free breakfast provided and good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    The cleaners singing very poorly early in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners singing very poorly early in the morning. I know they have a job to do to get free rooms but please .... everyone else has had a big night. You sound like crows

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.8
    Just terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're into drugs you'll be right at home here. Im interested in what their policy on substance abuse is? On 2 occasions we saw people off their heads. And on another occasion in the court yard there was 2 males dealing drugs openly!! Cleanliness of the place is poor. Our carpet in our room wasn't hoovered during our stay and looks like it hasn't been hoovered in days. There's sand and hair trampled into carpet. Staff / management have poor organisational skills. Ourselves (and many others) had to move rooms during our stay. The excuse being they are fully booked at Christmas? What?! If you make one booking, you expect to stay in same room- no excuses. Not really sure what I could recommend this place for actually...

    Only good thing about here is location and looking forward to your check out date...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud late at night. Room wasn't clean, had a really bad smell due to the mold on the floor.

    Great location. Nice hostel for party people. Nice balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.7
    Great for backpackers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room is too small. Too noisy as they have party. the cleanness is average

    the atmosphere is good and a lot of backpackers. Also, they have free dinner/bbq, party and breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    The hostel is very clean and beautiful. But the bathrooms are all unisex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom are all unisex. The doors are heavy and making strong sounds.

    The beds are amazing! Like in hotel. The hostel in super clean. The staff at the reception are great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and messy dorm which was never cleaned properly. The kitchen was small and dirty as well, and missing most of the cutlery needed. All in all, even for a hostel, it was disgustingly dirty, smelly and messy.

    Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    Chilled, fun stay!
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the place was spot on, just happened I ended up in a bit of a messy room. More the fault of the people in there then the hostel, but the rug was reeeally pretty dirty and smelled a bit off in there :p sorry to say anything but that was the only thing wrong for sure :)

    The kitchen and courtyard were awesome! Lots of space and a great place to meet people and relax. Beds were comfy and the sheets crisp. Bottle shop right across the lane way too. Super handy :) anddd Hammocks, Hot tub = Happy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    Smelly & expensive rooms but all in all not a bad place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More ventilation in the room, 8 bed dorm stinks when every one is in there. Cannot open the window as the light & courtyard noise will wake everyone up. Had to leave the room at 5.30/6am every morning just so i could breath some fresh air and not everyone's bodily odours. Seperate showers for male and female would be good but not a biggy.

    Staff were great, very helpful on reception. Good sized kitchen and bathroom blocks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.0
    Very noisy and someone tried to break into the kitchen and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and someone tried to break into the kitchen and I heard screams. Couldn’t really get a goodnight sleep. Lamp globe wasn’t in and king bed wasn’t a king bed. They were two king singles together so the middle of the bed was uncomfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice trip there with good people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad coffee for the breakfast Wifi not free in dorms floors

    Nice people living there Good location Bed, showers and toilets quite good and clean for a backpackers hostel Good equipments in the kitchen Nice games room with snooker, ping pong tables, video games and seats to have a drink Breakfast for free everyday

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt really clean, especially the kitchen. Alot of showers where broken. There wasnt a lounge area so if you wanted to meet people it was at the kitchen.

    Location is perfect. Free update from a 10 to a 4 persons dorm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    Pricey but best hostel we've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Wifi only in reception but that's quite common for hostels - Checking in is very long and bit of a faff and you end up getting promo emails - Our room smelt bad and musty when we got there and remained the whole stay

    - Excellent location, Aldi right next door and 2 minute walk to the beach - Good communal area with hot tubs as an extra bonus - Dorms were spacious and clean with comfy beds - Toilets and kitchen were clean with plenty of room to store food and prepare meals

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Great staff, great facilities for general usage and centrally located in the heart of the Bay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that the room was fairly bland and without a fridge I thought was poor. There were tea and coffee making facilities however no tap or place to plug the jug into other than underneath the bed.

    The general facilities that were being provided were above average

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    4.2
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King Room - two single beds of different quality pushed together. Kept sliding out. 3 x Cockroach’s crawling around the desk/fridge area. Security Guard was very rude when we arrived back at the hostel at 11:00pm, treated us as if we were trying to get into a club. Proceeded with telling us we were silly for not bringing ID with us (we had gone to the beach to chill - not out drinking). We know we needed to show a room card - but only had one provided as we booked a King Room to share. Stood next to us for 5 minutes as we were at the reception desk harassing us further.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    The courtyard was a great central place to meet people and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen wasn't great, always seemed to not have enough utensils especially forks. Things were always left dirty and if you wanted to use them you'd have to clean them first Staff weren't great came across very rude especially at check out times (10am) if you weren't out at exactly 10am they would be charging you and be kicking you out asap

    The courtyard was a great central place to meet people and with the hot tubs aswell was a nice touch Location was perfect as it's on top of Aldi (supermarket) and 2 minutes from the main shops and food places and 5 mins from the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    only go if you're 21 or younger
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smell terribly. Toilets are unisex and free breakfast is very poor. We booked four beds in 10 bed dorm and they gave us four beds in four different rooms, not what we expected

    Parking available for $10 a night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a little bit of a smell but so does every hostel

    Perfect location! Friendly and helpful staff! Lots of things going on at the hostel every day! 10 bed room size was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Better than staying in a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool table area closed at 10pm which was very early. Would be nice to be able to stay in that inside area until midnight.

    Everything at this property was great. Clean, comfortable and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Not recommended for people with children under 18.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommended for families or people with children. It's loud, not good if you're wanting a good nights sleep 😴

    Is good for young people traveling that like to party, the staff are friendly and accomodation is comfortable and clean 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the private room with the kingsize bed it was just what I needed and it was in a good spot no loud noises and had all the facilities I needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Solid choice but nothing special
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness was a little iffy, though nothing so bad as to avoid staying there. Wifi is really, really slow and only available free in the common area. Common rooms and the kitchen closed at the early hour of ten.

    This is solid hostel choice, it's nothing amazing but has all of the normal stuff to sufficient quality. There was a problem with our room door that required major work on it, and reception got someone to fix within a few hours of our asking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Location is good and toilets were clean!
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room floors dirty, they didn't vacumed it. Music is too loud in the reception!! You couldn't even talk to your friend. Wifi worked soo slowly!

    Location is good and toilets were clean! Nice that they are doing some events every night :)!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    loved my stay at Nomads
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice spacious rooms with plenty of power points. The sheets & blanket were all nice and clean & a lovely female bathroom was just around the corner. Staff was very helpful as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy till 11pm + as room backed on to the courtyard which had events and pub games every night, so if you try and get an early night, can't get to sleep. Wifi in reception was so so slow constantly that it took ages to open an email, I ended up buying more data for mobile so I could send an email

    Close location to beach, bus stop, tourist information and Aldi/woolworths. Bathroom/shower rooms were clean, space in the rooms, staff friendly. 24 hour access to wifi in reception. Good kitchen size.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    4.6
    The room was stinky, the carpet and the curtain were awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stinky, the carpet and the curtain were awful. Mops and rags should be new and clean, there is no point to clean bathrooms and kitchen with dirty stuff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Sheets & bathrooms were nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of the room was a little off putting, although we were in a unisex room (and was only really noticeable after being closed up) & also some of the things (air con) was broken. Tea & Coffee facilities weren't accessible when we were there.

    Sheets & bathrooms were nice and clean. Was a pleasant place to stay for the night, would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    Central, clean and comfy hostel close to the beach and excellent cafes/restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady who books the travel tours was borderline rude. In the time it must take her to repeatedly say how busy she is, she could probably just deal with enquiries instead of sending people away and telling them to come back later.

    First hostel experience in more than ten years and I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean, the beds were comfy and the hostel is very centrally located. Good check-in, mostly friendly staff and excellent selection of tours. Great hostel for young people - think I was the only person over 22 but that's probably true of lots of Australia.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Great stay if you are younger and want to party.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the corridor, doors slamming. Expected this though because it is a backpackers.

    Location, friendly staff, big room, comfortable bed, own bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    3.8
    Smelly and dirty!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dirty, room disgusting smell, carpet in room was wet, gross, old, stained and really smelly!!! Have photos to prove if you would like. We bad 5 people in mixed dorm only to be told on arrival that we had to be separated into different rooms as they couldn't have one empty bed in the room, only way round this was to make us pay for the extra empty bed, which we did as we had two 16 girls with us and they couldn't go into separate room, very disappointing as this was not mentioned at all on the numerous times I rang the backpackers to confirm all was good with our booking. You, as a booking agent should also be aware of this, I'm not happy at all!!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location, chilled out vibe... maybe even too chilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our alcohol got stolen from the communal fridge and when I complained to the front desk, his nonchalant reply was simply to have a look around the hostel try and "steal it back". Which I thought was absurd, particularly as it was potentially the hostel cleaning staff who were the main suspect.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Short stay perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nomads is in a perfect location in the centre of town close to everything you need shops bars restaurants etc. Only one downside -even though we had a private room our room was noisy lots of doors slamming during the night. But if you're a deep sleeper you won't have to worry!

    Friendly staff great location. Walking distance from bars and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well aware that hostels are noisy, but the music level from the common room was extremely loud late into the night which prevented people sleeping. Not complaining- just prewarning people who want to sleep :)

    Very large hostel, rooms nice and airy with aircon and balcony! Great facilities although the hot tubs were closed/not working. Great hostel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    HIGHLY RECOMMEND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    For what we paid the room was excellent. We were there for a Wedding so we're not your typical backpacker but it worked perfectly. The room was great and the staff was really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    2.5
    A nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hated everything, the hostel is the worst hostel I`d ever stayed in. Managers so RUDE, and so DIRTY and just a very expensive PARTY hostel AWFULL....!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.7
    Value for money, it was ok for 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its quite noisy but then you have backpackers staying there so its a young, partying crowd - but we expected this. The metal bed frame was a nightmare as I kept catching my toes on the frame as I walked around it, really hurt myself through the night. The door to our room (think it was No.28) didn't close completely to the frame, so even though it was locked it looked like it was slightly open, so we felt uncomfortable leaving our property in there.

    The location of the property is nice and central. The hostel was ok, we were only staying for one night on our road-trip, we had a double private room, it was very basic but clean, so cant complain. Free onsite parking in the private underground carpark was a bonus

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    2.9
    I hated it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated it! My room was disgusting, there was alcohol all over the place. Noise and music screaming all the time! There were no rules and no one to control the place. Worst experience I've had in life! And the employees did not excuse asking when I went to check out one night before the supposed to not be able to sleep it one more night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Not worth what it costs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not working in my room when was there. Considerable reason for choosing nomads was for the outdoor spas... which weren't opporating, payment is on arrival, and wasnt notified nor offered discounted accomodation. Parking situation was difficult when i was there also, ticket boxes werent working so had to park elsewhere and walk.. then used parking the following day then when left, i paid nomads for the parking, to then get to my car and be able to drive right out because the ticket boxes still werent working.. waste of money

    Staff lovely, good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't smell great. Mould on the blinds. Wifi is bad. Don't pay for premium as it doesn't work either.

    Good location. Close to bus stop Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: