Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Sydney Darling Square 4.5 stars

17 Little Pier Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#143 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2316 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Staff on front desk I think Georga served us, very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fantastic

    Staff on front desk I think Georga served us, very helpful and friendly. Room very clean well planned. Breakfast very good and staff excellent service and friendly. Christina just lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Amazing...most definitely returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No biggy....however the toilet roll was positioned where it was awkward to reach.

    Love having both bamboo & polyester pillows on the bed. And the magnifying mirror in the bathroom...it was like being at home but only better!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    There was a choice of pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor - shower was over the bath. It wasnt a little bit of water. The floor was covered with water. I had to ask for tissues as the box had 2 tissues left in it.

    There was a choice of pillows. I requested another towel for my hair and was given a complete set which was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    We took one of our grandchildren who had never been to a city she now wants to live in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky enough to secure a parking spot at the front of the hotel however it would be inconvenient if you had to park externally.

    All the staff were very friendly.The location was perfect for what we wanted to do whilst in Sydney. The restaurant had a great feel and once again everyone responded to our requests without hesitation and in a courteous and friendly manner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Room was adequate, clean and convenient but not my favourite place to stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found room and especially bathroom very tight. Had a corner room. Bed was too firm, not comfortable.

    Clean, convenient to ICC, China Town and Harbour. Staff professional and friendly. Rooms clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Requests were answered straight away eg help with connecting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge leaked. Not much space . Noise from construction next door . Ran out of rollaway beds so sofa bed used which was rock hard. Tv internet needed resetting and previous guests’ PayPal still stored there. Not close to public transport.

    Requests were answered straight away eg help with connecting tv to internet. Pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    I communication between front deck a housekeeping not very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to ask after being in our room for 4 hours to have the sofa bed made up for the third person, then only being a sofa not a bed with a bottom sheet and a blanket and only 2 towels

    Most of our stay was great. Staff very helpful like that I could leave my car in the parking space even after I had checked out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Convenient city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet breakfast could have been hotter

    Room newly renovated, minimalistic and modern. Great view over Darling Harbour and location is excellent Close to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great spot and would stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had some minor issues booking in all of our rooms for breakfast. This was eventually sorted out but it did cost more than if we had booked on arrival. This may have been due to us booking online and having to book multiple rooms in different names.

    Proximity and facilities were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for a wedding in town. The room was lovely..renovated and modern. Great finishing touches and wonderful lighting. The bed was super comfortable and a large assortment of pillows. Great view of the Chinese gardens. Very happy with the stay. Convenient joining to Pumphouse

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    We were upgraded and had a pleasant room with a capsule...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ($32) was overpriced. The fresh fruit offering was very meagre but there was a variety of pastries ( which I didn’t try). Scrambled eggs were lukewarm and not very tasty. Service was very good.

    We were upgraded and had a pleasant room with a capsule coffee machine and real milk. The bathroom was roomy and well appointed and had a very good array of toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Perfect Sydney Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky to receive a room upgrade to a deluxe room and a bottle of champagne, which was a beautiful modern room with a great view of the Chinese gardens. Perfect location! The staff were all very friendly and more then accommodating. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    The location is amazing, the staff are great, the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variety of the breakfast was not big, and the dishes are almost the same every day, however, the quality is very good. The space of the room was not good enough.

    The location is amazing, the staff are great, the hotel facilities are excellent, and the cleanness is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for a conference in International Convention Centre Darlng Harbour.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious free food in the minibar and room fridge! Spa bath in room!

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The location was excellent on Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location, let down by service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn’t speak English, room service didn’t serve drinks after 10pm, parking was ridiculously expensive at a parking garage around the corner

    Great location, indoor pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Stay here again 🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Service meal !! Ordering was easy and staff member making delivery was very polite and helpful. BUT....... Steak sandwich was tough as leather, ice cream was more ice that cream and cheese platter was amazingly overpriced for content. Placed tray outside room at 8pm and it was still there (as were many others along the corridor) at 8am....... had to walk through a maze of trays to get to lift..... not a good impression for guests. My advice is to definitely stay at this hotel but eat out......

    Nice clean room, loved having couch to sit on (hate sitting on beds ) Lovely bathroom with excellent shower and lighting Good sized flatscreen TV perfectly placed for viewing from both King Single beds Good power and USB outlets well placed. Adequate though pricey minibar. Easy to control air conditioning. Beds and linen of excellent quality and comfort. Breakfast room downstairs is clean, well staffed and a nice range of food choices all well presented. All staff were neat, friendly and welcoming......a credit to their company.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent wonderful. Getting ready to book for next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about our stay

    The bed was really comfortable. The staff were excellent nothing was a bother for them. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    I was at the end of a three week Asia, Europe trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed my stay

    I was at the end of a three week Asia, Europe trip. I got back to Australia and one of my clients urgently requested my presence in Sydney. I took the red eye out of Darwin and got to Sydney at 6.00am. I desperately needed an early room and this hotel did not hesitate to get me a room. I slept so soundly. Yes, I was very happy with the staff and the facilities. Thank you!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    The brekkie was fantastic every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You call your workers staff. Personally I like the format 'team member' :)

    The brekkie was fantastic every morning. Your team are a delight an say hello to everyone. It's a lovely environment an will keep me going bk to more novotel/accor hotels in my travel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Good staff, great breakfast, and bar.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location to convention centre. Hotel had everything we needed . Only one small complaint - room had complimentary coffee provided , but no milk provided on first day. Over a five day stay it was only replenished once . Not a deal breaker , but I do find having access to a coffee handy .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    New and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member told me an extra tea bag to room will cost $4.00. I was shocked. I called the room service and they delivered without any cost. Also I booked online to get top level but was put on level 2.

    New and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Really pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the refurbished room plus the addition of facilities in the foyer. An excellent hotel close to public transport, the markets and Darling Harbour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no spa in the pool area & the heated pool could have been a bit warmer.

    The location & service was excellent. Would recommend & I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    A hidden gem that was truly a home a way from home.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifully appointed rooms, staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem and they were genuine in their conversations. The location is awesome for accessing the convention centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Well placed to Darling Harbour and the staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were not as clean as I would like. Also there's a screen in room for selecting room service or privacy. It's very bright at night and needs a cover if you want a dark room. I did not report either of these

    Well placed to Darling Harbour and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Motel itself was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking! I was there over the weekend with a disabled friend and they had no parking close. We had to go to a Wilson parking and walk with luggage back to the motel. We won’t be staying again purely for this reason.

    Motel itself was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, super clean, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a standard king and got a twin. We know the staff would have changed it but we were too tired to put up with the fuss.

    Great location, super clean, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Fine for purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathtub. Window faced scaffolding on construction site. Loud plumbing noises from neighbouring rooms whenever toilet or taps used. Staff nice but not knowledgeable and inefficient - asked about eateries nearby and just told about hotel's pub and room service. It took 20 minutes to check out as the staff couldn't work the computer, EFT machine or printer - needed to wait for manager at each step to come and assist.

    Great location for ICC Convention and Exhibition Centre, Darling Harbour and Chinatown. Great to have pillows of different firmness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    The location was great in the city, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was pretty small with the toilet being right near to the bed. Car park is about a ten minute walk away and costs $45 a night so factor that in to your stay.

    The location was great in the city, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Conference attendee
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entry doors could be heard slamming in adjacent rooms but it was a Saturday night at the time. It's just that entry door doesn't seem sound proof. The bathroom was lovely but the second shower from the roof was tricky to operate if you didn't want your head to get wet.

    Location. Easy walking distance to the ICC and Darling harbour precinct. The referb looks great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being questioned repeatedly was I sure I wanted the king size bed and not 2 singles. Till I finally stated “yes my partner and I want to sleep in the same bed”

    Location clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place - would be happy to stay here again in the future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely tidy and clean bedroom/bathroom with excellent shower, very comfortable bed, free wifi and internet-ready TV in room, friendly and helpful staff, generously sized portions of food with room service, very convenient location with easy access to Darling Harbour, Sydney ICC, restaurants/cafes and major shops on foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Loved this Hotel, clean, staff were extremely helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, liked everything about it

    Loved this Hotel, clean, staff were extremely helpful, excellent breakfast choices, rooms spacious gym and swimming pool good and hotel in a great location, I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    A great location for attending an event at Darling Harbour, very central with lovely views out t
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, the beds were uncomfortable, very hard. We expected more for the price. After walking around Sydney all day, with aching hips, the hard mattress made for a sleepless night.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value, great location walking distance to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar needs to be stocked a little better not just with house favourites, asked for 3 different types of drinks which neither where available.

    The rooms and bed were great, also the selection of pillows very thoughtful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and quick to respond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and quick to respond. Facilities were very nice and clean. Room size was just right and check in was at 2pm but were able to get a room immediately was a bonus as we had a wedding to attend! Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Only thing would be the construction around the hotel which is no fault of the hotel.

    Location. Newly renovated room. King size bed is very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    understaffed at reception. staff confused about directions for parking maybe they need to visit it
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    More fresh options at brekkie, poached eggs, tomato, baby spinach leaves, light milk, almond milk, more fresh fruit options.

    Brekkie wasn't good. Too many carbs and sugar!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    There are 3 Novels near the ICC.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 3 Novels near the ICC. I walked to the one nearest only to be told I was at the wrong one, but then I was then sent to the second hotel by staff which was also the wrong one, finally I was directed to the 3 & correct hotel. Very confusing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    The bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel under the impression from the photos on the website it was on darling harbour not darling square as the photos prove different

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    We were accommodated very well in a lovely room with attention paid to our requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the entry corridor flowed easily into the room. The TV was excellent but difficult & time-consuming to work out how to operate it.

    The view of the Chinese Gardens and their accessibility was great. Proximity to Darling Harbour & Chinatown was also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    I would happily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and professional staff. I was upgraded to a better room. Felt very safe. Great location. Room service was very quick, and the food delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Handy & Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s 2 Novatel’s in this part of Sydney -make sure the taxi takes you to the right one.

    Rooms were cozy & beds comfy. Facilities were clean & staff were helpful. Buffet breakfast was scrumptious & selection was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Great refurbished rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the new bathrooms flood every time you use the shower. Spoke to reception and they are aware of the problem. Sent more towels to room for us to clean up water. We tried to save the new carpet from getting wet.

    Great refurbished rooms. Clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    AMAZING. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED PLACE TO STAY IN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lifts were playing up, we wanted to use the pool and gym, however the lift connected to these areas were unavailable. :(

    Location - very convenient, easy walk to the main shopping centres, restaurants, salons etc Staff - very friendly and easy to talk to. Special mention to Mr Ran who made our weekend unforgettable. We came to Syd to celebrate my partner's birthday and they really gave us a top-notch service. Ran gave us complimentary drinks at the Pumphouse which was epic. and the other staff Elisabeth and Sasha were very helpful too. Room - our room was so beautiful, top floor with a view of the ICC and Chinese Friendship Garden we had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no decaffeinated teabags nor coffee in the room. No decaf tea bags in the breakfast room. I asked for some but was told the hotel did not have any. A problem when I can’t have caffeine for health reasons. Also, at breakfast, the nylon eggs available were scrambled. We saw on our last morning that others could be ordered. We should have asked but there again, we should not have needed to - we should have been told that. On our arrival after 11pm at night, the man at the reception desk was not very friendly and looked quite scruffy with his shirt askew and not tucked in.

    We had a room overlooking the main road and the first night was very very noisy. The staff member at the desk changed the room after the first night. He was extremely helpful and polite. A little surprised to be given a noisy room as we have stayed at this hotel twice before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, recently renovated with polite, helpful extremely well presented staff members.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was excellent.

    We were attending a concert at ICC and travelling to the city from Regional areas of NSW so the location was excellent for both the concert, city shopping, dining options and transport, as only a 5 minute walk to Central station with links to all areas of Sydney. The staff members that we dealt with in the reception area were extremely polite and helpful and even remembered my name the next day which I was very impressed by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overall property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV remote control to smart for me, Had to go to reception for a lesson.An explanation in the room would be helpful.

    Facilities and location was great.Staff helpful. Easy access to Dixon St, Darling Harbour, Light Rail, Central Station and easy transport to airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Would stay there again and recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water from the shower ran out under the door

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was handy to everything, walking distance to great restaurants, transport almost at the door. Hotel was very secure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Overall, we had a great time in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was really great! Easy access to many places. Near to most of the places we wanted to go. Food was easily available. We walked to all the places from the hotel. Bed was comfortable. Room was of good size, clean and modern. Staff at the reception was really helpful (except for one who was not willing to help and when I asked her for directions and info gave me wrong info and details). Special thanks to Sarah, Julia, the lady staff lfrom Italy (can’t remember her name) and the Aussie guy (didn’t manage to see his name) at the reception. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    location wise was great and the buffet breakfast was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff didn't give us the access to swimmingpool and yet didn't informed us about it we just heard only from other guest..

    location wise was great and the buffet breakfast was awesome..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location and superb comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Excellent location and superb comfy bed. This property is recently renovated so everything is good as well. I love the smart tv in room and it was a big plus. However, internet speed was not good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing, comfortable and pretty affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the size of the pool and the fact that there is a construction site next to it and you can see it from the glass pool windows. Wasn't really relaxing, also very loud in pool rooms maybe because of pool filter noise?.

    I liked the renovated rooms and creature comforts, stylish and sophisticated. :staff were lovely and helpful and the professionalism from the manager was second to none.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Well above average, convenient and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unavailability of FOXTEL, in particular, the "SPORTS" channels.

    Both room and breakfast were "well above" average. Couldn't fault.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Quiet comfortable rooms in a good location with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like doonas as they are too hot for our environment however there was a blanket that was available. The air conditioning wasn’t user friendly.

    Great location in the Darling Harbour precinct. Quiet rooms with little noise intrusion.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    Too expensive for a poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was terrible, called for service at night phone rang out, tried again and it kept ringing out what kind of hotel doesn't answer service calls

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Great until dress was stolen.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I left my dress in the wardrobe and have been told that nothing was found 😡 It was a special dress, and as bath robes would have been replaced and hung in the wardrobe, it would have been easily seen.

    Nespresso coffee in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay, so handy to food outlets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast pastries beautiful......away with healthy options! Very comfy bed, Finding the location a bit difficult ,it will be much easier next time we visit. Parking nearby and at a good rate!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay, comfortable and clean room and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More access times to the hotel front bar for a coffee or drink.

    The room was new, clean and fresh with all facilities available, nothing lacking. The staff were friendly and very helpful. It was great having free Wi-Fi in the room at all times. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    great location ,nice room/facilities , but TV was hard to use
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the TV was terrible as needed voice commands and unable to access internet on tv to watch google movies and advised reception and given new pass word but still no good as was late went to sleep as too tired to try a again but advised reception would return to hotel again but would prefer a normal tv thanks

    room was clean and great to be near gym and pool as used both facilities breakfast was great and staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location and recent renovations have improved the look...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is very average, no barista coffee included, you have to find your own cutlery. No parking options is a hassle as while it is ok to find the carpark to find your way driving back to the hotel to collect guests etc is not easy.

    Good location and recent renovations have improved the look of the rooms. Rooms are comfortable, bathroom is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    It is located very close to the center, right next of the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is located very close to the center, right next of the Paddy Market and China Town, at a few steps of Darling Harbour. There is Netflix in the room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall, it was great experience!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, there was a used/opened shower cap at the bathroom and no toothbrush/toothpaste available (Apparently, you need to ask at the reception which was not informed when check-in).

    Easy access especially when it was a last minute booking after a birthday party. Love that we could change the temperature of the room as it's not centralising system. Close from city, darling harbour (bit confused to get the entrance).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for my stay, very nice surrounding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon caused a bit of a draught over the bed and I was not able to turn it off or further down. Not serious, just a bit annoying. I had a room on the second floor facing a quite busy street junction. The noise is acceptable, but still significant.

    Newly refurbished rooms. Quite nice. All together a pretty pleasant hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfy beds and quite room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit hard to get to driving. Very limited onsite parking and expensive to use local recommendation. Shower pressure and temp a little low

    Very close to Chinatown, walking distance to Darling Harbour and Oxford St

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    not doing it again unless the above is corrected for those coming after me and me again later
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very boring but fair - not much change from one day to the other... no proper work-out fitness center - no fitness bike just 3 threadmills and a poor quality weight center ... "lawzy" - most of all NO FREE complementary water in the room as in other international hotels even Novotels own in other countries - WAKE UP and become international in your own organisation.

    Hotel have a good location ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.7
    The room was beautifully decorated and comfy bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize it was right next to a highway and had hardly any sleep because of the noisy cars trucks and bikes so sorry won't be staying again

    The room was beautifully decorated and comfy bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    if not for the location would chose somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no restaurant other than the bar were the service was quick but very basic.

    Bathroom was great. Pillows were too firm one was not enough but two were too much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Refurbished rooms are top class !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The flash TV had a dozen functions, but a simplified remote control with three buttons,. I couldn't work out how to turn the volume up or stop the TV voice prompts. Also, the hotel is sandwiched between a building site on one side and a major road on the other. Happily, the double glazing meant the noise was minimal and the occasional wash from the headlights of passing cars was not the problem it could have been. Other gripe is more general - Sydney hotel pricing. Sydney accommodation 'busy period pricing' is obscene, and for this stay I paid probably double what it may have been at other periods. Not this particular hotel's fault, but damn annoying all the same.

    it's been a while since I stayed at the Novotel Rockford. It's convenient for the convention centre, Pyrmont and Chinatown, but it is quite a hike to the CBD and Circular Quay. Check-in was not so good, as I arrived a few seconds after two buses crowded with overseas tourists. Eventually, the receptionist was very helpful though. Despite the foyer being a little tired, the big surprise was the refurbished room - modern, fresh, clean, comfortable, well appointed. USB charging points, a decent work desk, rain shower (no bath), and a very comfortable bed. Free wifi was the fastest I have ever encountered in Australia - just brilliant. This room would put many 5-star rooms in Sydney to shame. Excellent for a business stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well situated for strolls and ferries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The absence of a proper dining room at this stage in renovation. There is a pub next door and excellent restaurants around Darling Harbour.

    Hotel almost completed a makeover (except ground floor, still presentable). Rooms very comfortable. New lap pool, but a little too warm. Do go to the correct Novotel Hotel - another close by, but still a $20+ cab ride away!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    A lovely gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very faint smell of cigerette smoke on the doona. I spoke to reception and they swiftly followed up on this issue

    Room overlooking the beautiful Chinese gardens and close proximity to Chinatown. Neatly tucked away at the end of Darling Habour. Walking distance to central station and Darling Habour. The reception staff were friendly and always helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location, nice renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were rude, both check in and check out was way too difficult. Not nice at all dealing with unpleasant, incompetent staff.

    Great location, nice renovation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Room is a good size, staff are lovely and helpful - and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is average, then no food options. My room was not cleaned, had to call for fresh towels, and there was no drinking water in room - in mini bar or complimentary.

    Room is a good size, staff are lovely and helpful - and awesome location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Love it, very central to the great sights and sounds of Sydney
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Help with parking

    The windows being so big and open and how close it was to everything in Sydney, and pump house room service. I turned a table to look out the window while I did my work, great work environment also

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay but eat elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food, in general, was average. Breakfast was tasteless and I ordered a chicken salad for dinner. On paper, the salad sounded wonderful - sweet potato, cherry tomatoes, spiced ricotta, beetroot. When it arrived, the salad had lettuce, cut up garden tomatoes, some onion, fetta and the chicken. An 8 year old could have put this together and probably would have done a better job. Very disappointing for the price. Plenty of places elsewhere to eat so close to Chinatown. The marketing of this hotel blurs the lines with the Novotel behind Darling Harbour, which is where I thought I was staying and tried to book in. I didn't even know there were 2 Novotels in Darling Harbour! This hotel is behind the Chinese Gardens on top of the Pumphouse. Very confusing and such a time waster when you are trying to get to a conference.

    The room was spacious and the bathroom was a good size. Some nice touches with bathrobes and chocolates left on the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Sydney Darling Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: