Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oaks Hyde Park Plaza 4 stars

38 College Street, Sydney CBD, 2010 Sydney, Australia

#194 of 502 Holiday rentals in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 926 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Paid WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    top spot, basic place good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    hallways need maintenance very very poor, audio system old and need the remotes cleaned, sticky think about it the least cleaned part of a hotel and all those business man watching ........ and changing channels .... yuk

    happy staff and clean room so thankyou,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Nice room but bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit expensive compare to other hotel in sydney.

    Staff especially the asian Girl on the front desk she is very nice and accomodating, she really knows how to handle things. I

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good value for money. Need to work out what the smell in recepiton is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange smell when walk into reception. Was there for whole weekend. Some parts of the room are a bit outdated.

    Great location. Only short walk through Hyde Park and your at museum or st james station. Oxford st close with plenty of cafe's and resturants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    Only good thing about this hotel is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure was extremely powerful that it made standing under the water almost impossible as it was that painful, and the shower head did not allow you to change this

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single beds provided were extremely hard and uncomfortable. The busy corner room was horrendous with traffic noise. Not an enjoyable stay.

    Location of hotel was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Staff at check in were far from friendly-too officious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in were far from friendly-too officious. The photos when I booked were not like the room I got. I searched for hotels with free parking and balcony on booking.com and this hotel was suggested, the room I got had no balcony and I requested a change. I swapped. But I think the booking process was misleading. The hotel staff said what people request is not guaranteed but I can’t finds where that is stated on your site. All in all it was ok and may stay there again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head was close to the wall couldn't move it needs to be updated . Room very stuffy even with Aircondition on. Not worth the money

    Comfy bed Clean room Great area for walking opposite Hyde Park close to Town Hall and Museum Station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dishwasher Minimal kitchen items, couldn't really cook, just reheat premade meals.

    Comfy bed Beautiful view from the 15th floor! Fantastic location for the CBD and nearby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Tired and run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon broken, lay out of the bathroom had the toilet so close to the vanity that you could not stand at the sink. The entire property was run down and really poorly maintained.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The room was beautifully set out and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The $75 security fee wasn't advertised and it would be good to place it on the booking.com website for further visitors.

    The room was beautifully set out and comfortable. Good facilities available. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location and fair price, but make sure you double check the room upon checking in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got had a broken fridge and air conditioner remote.

    The staff was friendly and was accomodating when we wanted to change rooms, and also allowing us to leave our baggage at reception after checking out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    The location of this hotel is very comfortable for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift is rather old. It make noise during moving

    The location of this hotel is very comfortable for the tourists. Accommodation is good but I think the kitchenware should be improved.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Ok accomodation, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked an Executive 2 bedroom apartment. I expected this to be a little more "executive" and new like the photos in the site indicated. The bathroom was tiny with barely enough room firt 1 person, there was no bath or spa and the main bedroom had no closet space with a corridor storage space converted into a closet. The loungeroom had 1 2-seater lounge and another 2-seat seat. I would consider this a standard 2br apartment.

    Great location for the purpose of the trip

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The space between door and bed in second bedroom. Not a lot of room to get into the room. Otherwise the room was excellent and facilities were great and would definitely stay here again.

    price was excellent and was easy to travel to via train

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms looked nothing like the pictures on the website. Door handles were missing in the kitchen, cupboards looked like they were barely hanging, holes in curtains, stains on lounge and carpet. Balcony door also didn’t lock

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.3
    There was a gaping hole in the wall of our room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were originally meant to stay at the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza for 3 nights. After the first night however, we were ready to check out! Upon entering the hotel room, we discovered that the images displayed on Booking.com were nothing like the Studio Apartment we were presented with. The room was extremely run down, dated and dirty. The bathroom in particular was disgusting! Pubic hairs covered the floor, the bath was paint was mottled and there were broken tiles and stains all over the cabinet. It was clear that the room has not been cleaned properly. The dishwasher was broken, curtains were dirty and coming off hanger. If we weren’t so exhausted from our o/s flight earlier that day, we would’ve left then and there!! After a sleepless night due to the busy street below, we realised that a lot of the additional noise was due to a gaping hole in the wall of our room - so large, you could see daylight! We were able to obtain a refund for two nights. However, they charged us the full rate ($187 which seemed steep in itself!) for the first night with the offer a late checkout as compensation for the disgusting room - why would we want to extend our stay in a room like that??? Luckily we were able to book another hotel at late notice which was 1000x more comfortable!! Our experience with this hotel was beyond disappointing! We will never stay here again and will be advising our friends to avoid as well! Not good!!

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. Nice friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishwashing liquid was useless. We were given dishwasher powder even though there was no dishwasher. No salt and pepper provided! No dishes to use in microwave which was the only cooking facility, apart from two oven rings. The spa pool was out of action.

    Bed was very comfy. Great view across Hyde Park to city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little stiff and had problem with swipe cards in accessing the building

    Clean, perfect location in the city, quiet despite being on main road and the room was big and spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Good sized rooms in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom overdue for renovation. Shower over bath that was quite badly damaged, with enamel breaking away.

    Comfortable, clean bedding. Nice open space in a great location. Opposite Hyde Park, close to city and short walk to many attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Probably wouldn’t stay here again but it was ok for us to be close to the event we attended .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs a freshen up. This is in the process of happening but it is a bit haphazard. Eg aircon in room very noisy and roughly installed.

    Good position for city events.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Safe, comfortable, value for money, all round awesome! ;-)
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only slight grumble is with the wifi - not only is it overpriced, but it was either dropping in and out or just simply unavailable for at least half my stay. Ended up hotspotting my phone, which has chewed up my personal data plan. But hey, First World Problems, right? I'll survive.

    Almost everything about the Oaks Hyde Park Plaza is perfection every time I stay - the rooms are spacious and super comfy, staff are polite and always happy to help, privacy is respected at all times, location is absolutely ideal!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    Basic for two nights . Nothing to get excited about. If it wasnt in a good location forget it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired decor. Bathroom was nasty . Shower over very small old bath with a fabric shower curtain and old style double shower taps. ( Difficult to reach to turn on) Floor tiles look like they were installed 20 or 30 yrs ago. Tired old grout green /brown tiles used in the 80s. Cheap laminated floor practical for the hotel but not nice to walk on in bare feet and it makes the room cold. Fridge motor noisey when trying to sleep. Balcony tiles very out of date. A number of cockroaches were running around on the floor in the bathroom. Not very nice to wake up to in the morning.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Rooftop pool was very nice - once I got there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the pool took 20 mins as only 1 lift operating and when it came to take me up, someone else got it to go down before I could get the fob activating the 15th floor, so I went via the ground floor. There are 40 steps up from the 15th floor to the pool. Unfortunately the door sign said "use room key" to open door to pool. Didn't work. After returning down half the the stairs and along corridor to lift, I realised sign should have said "use lift fob" so up I went again and this got me in. So I got lots of stair exercise as well as aqua in the pool. Please change the sign on the exit door to the pool on level 15.

    Rooftop pool was very nice - once I got there. Staff were helpful. Had forgotten to ask for twin beds, but the receptionist came within 10 mins and set it up like that for us. This is a slightly older hotel, but paintwork was fresh and everything worked fine. Exactly 2 of everything in the kitchen. You need to be tall to see in the microwave though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable /clean but very minimal free WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minimal WiFi....I thought that -for the price-unlimited WiFi should be included and also full housekeeping.

    Comfortable bed,great shower.Very clean.Thai restaurant in building was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Better value elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Had to change rooms twice due to road and a/ c noise. Finally got a ok room at back of building which was better. Poolwas closed for renovations with no notice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, good hotel, below average facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, spa and gym are located on the rooftop. Once you’re up there, the only way out is to walk down 15 flights of stairs to the street and come back in through reception. The air conditioner was very loud at times so I found myself having to turn it off. The noise from the corridor was also really loud. It wasn’t that anyone was doing anything wrong, but the sound of other guests/residents just opening their door or greeting someone was enough to wake me up at night (and I’m not usually a light sleeper).

    Hotel is in a great location! A beautiful walk down the street and through the park and you’re in the city. The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall the property was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo on the website did not represent the room. Check that the room description matches the photo. I had to clarify if there was an oven as the room description said there wasn’t but the photo has an oven, also the room was a lot smaller than the photo. Our request for twin beds didn’t happen, we were supplied sheets from reception and we had to separate and make our own beds up.

    The bed was comfortable. The location was good for exploring the city and close to transport. The full kitchen was really handy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Location, resturants , Hyde park, public transport basically...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it was us, but the somes lights ,lamps and power points only worked if the big main light was on. A little inconvenient when you wanted to read by the night lamp or stumble to the loo very late at night.

    Location, resturants , Hyde park, public transport basically at your door. Nothing a bother to staff, especially the young lady on Friday and Monday morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great value hotel on the edge of Sydney's Hyde Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FREE internet was only for 30 minutes. Many other hotels have 24hours as a standard FREE wifi.

    Excellent location on the edge of Hyde Park and couple blocks from St Marys Cathedral and Australian Museum. Lots of eating places and supermarket outside hotel. Great value for money. Considerate and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness is always a big thing for me.I found long dark hairs on the shower floor and on the wall.After that I felt that it had not been cleaned properly after the previous guests.Windows were dirty as well.Aircon was very noisy. We were happy that we got the already renovated room but we weren't too sure how qualified those people had been as lot of things seemed not properly done or finished😐

    Loved the bed and the clean,crisp linen on it..Carpet seemed to be fairly new as well.Liked the fact as well that the hotel was so centrally located with easy access to where we wanted to go😊It was handy to have the kitchen there as we stayed for 5 nights and were able to make our own breakfast before going out😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location - both walking distance and via public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing was very noisy and furniture was a little old. Felt like we inconvenienced staff when asking a query.

    Excellent location - both walking distance and via public transport. Quiet spot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    great base camp for Sydney R & R
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    traffic noise was an issue but understandable , not sure how would be alleviated, other than that no other negatives

    location , location. Friendly staff, reception and house keeping. Room size and views over Hyde Park. Excellent heated pool and gym on top floor , sighted but not used due to time constraints , but will keep in mind for next Sydney foray

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked here as it had a roof top spa which unfortunately we couldn't use as it was undergoing maintenance.

    Comfortable bed and pillows. Super quiet. Warm welcome and explained everything very clearly. Lovely roof top swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bath with complimentary Roaches, the foul Cigarette Smell permeated in the room, the feel of a funeral parlour ambience, the air con/heat blowing directly in your face in bed, the "for-ever" wait for the lifts. The restaurant that takes 35 minutes (no other guests but us) to scramble two eggs... The missing deadbolt on entry door, the maid that knocks so lightly you need a satellite to hear her before she barges in on you to snicker and say "sorry". And free internet? JOKE. 30 minutes. The list is endless.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely room, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet did not have a good flash and the car park is very small and hairy ...to get into and out of.

    Central location and very clean and comfort room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value, location and comfortable room. Not a hotel room. But spacious. HUGE balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight staff a bit miserable Bathroom a bit pokey Light switches were annoying and the globes were white- light cheap. Yuk

    Studio apartment are a great size with a huge balcony. 13th floor a great aspect up oxford street and down to cbd.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark was not ideal for a large car,very narrow and tight spots.

    Good service...staff were helpful. Nice Thai restaurant downstairs and decent sized rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and having a kitchenette was a great addition...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently refurbishing several rooms causing noise. It is well sign posted when you arrive and it happenings during working hours, but wasn’t aware during booking.

    Great location and having a kitchenette was a great addition if you didn’t want to eat out every night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    It was central to everything, clean, well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction work in the building, the drilling vibrating through. The traffic, the dogs barking across the road at the park. The windows are not sound proof. See photo for more details.

    It was central to everything, clean, well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, great location - will be great when renovations are complete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was really noisy... everything clanged and banged in the room - we ended up turning the heater off because it was annoying. The hotel is also being renovated, so that did not help the noise levels. Also VERY EXPENSIVE paid wifi - boo.

    Very friendly and accomodating staff who go above and beyond to make sure you're happy and comfortable. When I had troubles with my room the staff were quick to fix it and very kind. I was able to check out of my room late (bonus!).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Very Nice for Price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not clean. Service at Counter took a while due to Low staff. Iron was Broken.

    Comfy Bed Great Location !!! Amazing Staff Members. Bathroom very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed overall. Mix of apartments and hotel guests does not work. Smell of cooked food not gd
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room by the road. Kept awake all night. Changed room to a higher floor. Then hand pipes banging behind the wall. Seemed to be caused by hot water taps.

    Staff were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, plenty of space in room, and gym handy on a rainy night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Automatic lights that come on when go out on level 16 to the gym and pool level would be good

    Great location, friendly staff, plenty of space in room, and gym handy on a rainy night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Highly Recommend - Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My review is for room 1305. The only thing we would have liked better was the shower. The water pressure is excellent however the hand held shower rose holder was stuck so we could not move the shower head other than up or down. Water spraying directly into face is not pleasant 😆. The water drained into the drain outside the shower rather than inside which means you need to strategically place the foot towel.

    The apartment is lovely! Kitchenette is well stocked with cooking implements. The non-stick fry pan was excellent. The furnishing is very comfortable. The view GREAT. Good size TV etc. A home away from home. The position of the hotel is EXCELLENT. For those who enjoy walking, it's an easy walk to Darling Harbour (15 -20 mins) and Circular Quay (25 mins). Museum Station 5 mins away. Bus to Bondi 4 minutes away. Taxi to Newtown was around $20.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    having just stayed at Rydges the experience was slightly less, however, it was not a bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in wrong position Shower head leaked down the wall and other taps leaking, wasting water. coffee awful

    comfortable bed security in lift areas and staff very attentive from the desk, especially helpful with directions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Quality motel that needs to start being updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    just little things like dirty lights and covers missing off power points . also did not like that it was two single beds pushed together made it a very uncomfortable sleep. Also though $50 a night for parking was a bit steep and the parking was very difficult to park in!!

    Really liked the location , the staff were very helpful and the rooms was fairly clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Clean , Big room , well mannered staffs, complete Kitchen Utensil , nice Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Free Champagne

    Big room nice bedcomplete Kichen Utensil, reasonable price , well mannered staffs. Beside Hyde Park and can walk town Hall, St Mary and Circular Quay, Good thai restaurant below the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    I would stay again. Close to supermarkets, bottle shop and chemist and pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower head needs O ring- got wet hair- no choice due to how water sparayed Water leaks sink tap Stove not secured Very tight for parking bit hard to get out. should open up outside roof for better mobility. Hit wall

    Bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay = happy customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds aren't too comfortable because they join two beds together. If that's fixed then I cant fault this place.

    Everything really, friendly staff, spacious room, clean room and the use of the kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and spacious 2 bedroom apartment but for the weekend we stayed not great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could be additional utensils in the kitchen; for a two bedroom apartment there were absolute minimal utensils e.g no vegetable peeler. No fan or ventilation in the (tiny) bathroom. Noisy - for a so-called 4-star property would expect double-glazed windows facing a Sydney main street.

    the living area (dining, lounge) of the apartment was very spacious. location very close to a train station could open windows handy to a supermarket, specialist grocer and bottle shop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    good location, staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel room is a bit outdated when you compare it to the appearance of the lobby, cleanliness of the room could’ve been a lot better, car park was very small

    good location, staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    comfortable and pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise of traffic very noticeable with lots of sirens and horns. Would be helpful to have a small round dish with lid to cook food in microwave e.g. casserole type dish

    Very comfortable. Nice to be able to go out onto the balcony for fresh air.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    We will book our accommodation here again next time we come to Sydney as the service was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints I just found the weather very cold showery and windy.

    We had a accommodation at the front of the complex which was a bit noisy but as requested we needed single beds not a double it was no trouble for the staff and they moved us to a twin share room at the back of the building and it was a perfect move the staff were mega friendly and helpful in every way as we were from interstate. How centrally located the Quest Hyde Park Plaza is when you have a good map you can travel on public transport all over the city as the public transport is fantastic. We used the Plaza as our base, we went up to Richmond, Wollongong and Kiama on business it might have been a very stressful time for us if we were driving but as I said the public transport was fantastic you couldn’t fault it. We would recommend the accommodation to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The room on the top floor was newly refurbished and had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area on the roof was a little run down but it was winter so no need for its use. The front of the hotel isn’t extravagant or flash but more than comfortable

    The room on the top floor was newly refurbished and had a massive outdoor balcony with views overlooking Hyde Park!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location close to park and supermarket kitchen...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym wasn't open at 6am and the could not find a key to open it. Could not open my dishwasher. Salt and pepper would have been a good idea

    Great location close to park and supermarket kitchen relatively well set up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    Didn't get what was advertised, on-line showed a walk in shower, got a bath with shower in it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed with the Pool Area, really old pool furniture it absolutely turned us off. The Spa was broken, with planks in it and the floor around it had a hole in it. The Sauna was old. The shower in the bathroom leaked out onto the floor.

    The beds weren't too bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location but a bit noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking rather tired. I was hoping to use the gym, but it was cold and smelly. While the location is great, the traffic noises were terrible. Probably about time the hotel invested in double glazing their windows

    Comfortable room and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Probably would not return unless they had serious renovations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a view of a dirty landing. Opened the blinds expecting a view and instead saw an old broom, bird crap, cigarette butts, broken bottles and dirt. The room was very poorly lit, requiring the blinds to see the mess. No very well appointed rooms. No restaurant available on Sunday. No room service. No free wifi.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Great location. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    All fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with this stay . However when I tried to book on Wednesday 17/5 prices had increased substantially hence I stayed some where else. I would like to lock into a fixed rate for 6/12 months for all bookings. I could use your facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Reception staff were very helpful and the housekeeping staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff were very helpful and the housekeeping staff did a great job. Would recommend for business stays and holiday travel as well. Superb location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.3
    Location is great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room stunk and the air con didn’t work. So I asked to change rooms. The second room was much better. But. Apart from the lobby the halls and rooms are very tired. Stains on chairs and couch, broken furniture, peeling paint, parts of oven missing, perfect view of neighbours, gross carpet that I would touch with bare feet.

    Location is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Bigger than expected & convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little “fluffy?” (like sweat in bed that hasn’t been cleaned for a day or two? kind of feeling). The curtains, carpet and even the table outside, all seemed to have stains on them... red ones, and the carpet and I’m not too sure. The bathtub still had short hair at the bottom of the tub, so it seemed to be not clean. They did not provide much toiletries like a shower cap, cotton ear cleaners, tooth brush and tooth paste. The security guard seemed to be a little stern, and off-putting as we tried to call reception to open the door, and this security guard was inside starring at us and just played on his phone. Literally! And then we screamed inside to tell him we were checking in, he finally let us in! I found that a little rude.

    It was very convenient (location-wise) as it just faces Hyde Park. It’s 24/7 reception which was lovely. The room was bigger than expected and had a balcony! I always appreciate a balcony. The kitchenette was actually beautiful in the way it was furnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Great sized room with a kitchen.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was a bit sad, all the equipment worked but you can’t really call a tiny room with 5 machines crammed into it a gym. Also wifi was only free for 30 minutes, after that expensive for low speeds.

    Great sized room with a kitchen. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Great Value, perfect position, will definitely book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furnishings were a little run down

    Great amount of space, kitchen was perfectly set up, Bedrooms were spacious, bathroom was clean. All in all, great value fo rmoney!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Room 414 needs a major facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp smell in hallway to room. In bathroom tap leaking, tiles cracked, bathroom poor, power point next to bed faulty, fridge leaked, and leg adjustment out of alignment, kitchen outdated, curtains old & broken drapes, no view from balcony, no dishwashing cloths, no cable channels, room in need of overhaul , bed uncomfortable. Very disappointed in quality & would advise to look elsewhere.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, balcony a bonus, studio apartment spacious and roomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping was a little haphazard. Some days face washers were not replenished the beds were made but the pillows left laying on the floor. Things were clean but no real care taken to finish off.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location and restaurant but definately not a 4 Star Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was large but very tired with everything needing a total refurbishment. The pictures on the website do not reflect the tired old rooms. Cleaning needs to be improved as well especially the bathroom.

    Great location for us as we were going to the Anzac dawn service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Not a happy overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 301 was next to the fire stair that people used all night to go to level 2 to smoke. Their smoke and voices trailed directly into the room......At 3am someone locked themselves out of the fire stair and knocked for an hour to be let back in, so no sleep for me. Not happy Jan

    Room was equipped and met standards

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Will definetly be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the property was on one of the busiest streets in Sydney I couldn't hear any noise from the traffic etc. The staff were very helpful. beds comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great. Would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car park felt almost dangerous with he narrow driveway and small parking spaces. I do understand that this isn't changeable though.

    Staff were friendly. Room was nicely decorated and presented well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Room with a view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was serviced very late in the afternoon, only 2 towels, no hand towel or facecloth & we ran out of toilet paper. Stayed for 4 nights & only got 30mins free WIFI.

    Clean, tidy, great size room with full kitchen and amazing views of Hyde Park from the large balcony. Perfect spot to go on adventures around the city & Eastern Suburbs. Also on the train line from the airport so easy to get to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok except for the above .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Atrocious water pressure in shower . hard to even get wet !!! Road and traffic noise very high ...Sydney siders must think they are in Bangkok the way they all blast their car horns . used cups and wrappers from tea and coffee just left on bench . Pretty average ....but mainly the shower ...horrendous.

    Room was spacious and bed comfy .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    Very old and over due some TLC, beyond the foyers it's a hostel with a bad make over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once past the Foyer and lifts You are in another world, the property is well over due a proper make over, re-fit and the spa, pool and gym are so tired your better off using local private/council facilities in the area at a cost. Our 2 bed room apt was dirty, un-vacuumed, inside of the windows were dirty and most had some sort of spilt drink or liquid product streaking over them, the curtains were sun damaged and in the bedrooms they were torn and had holes, the TV, microwave, glass picture frames and mirrors all had dried streak marks from a cleaning cloth all over them. It would appear that the unit had a half way attempt at painting it white, but the painter did not cover the carpet and some furniture Thus white paint splashes over the carpet and a lot of hard surfaces. Bathroom ok, but very small, one person at a time, shower head useless and no pressure. The hall ways reminded us of long factory office corridors with no warmth or decor. In general the location saved the 5 days we stayed, everything else was just a pass, nothing else...

    Location and access to public transport great... Front counter staff good... Foyer and lifts give the impression, one is staying at a nice 3-4 star hotel... Nice clean bath towels...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Had a horrible experience and I would not recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was atrocious. I found old chewing gum on the bathroom window sill. The room was dusty that our allergies started working up and the ceiling board was falling off at the edges

    There was little to like about the hotel !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Foyer nice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and spa were out of order. Fridge kept freezing everything. Air conditioner is so loud and only works for about 30 mins then starts blowing air. Had to turn off and back on all the time. No windows to open or balcony to get fresh air. Windows in the room had poor ain con.. Worst Oaks I've stayed in but ok for what we paid.

    Foyer nice. Bedroom furnitute looked clean and upgraded.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Oaks Hyde Park Plaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: