Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of iStay River City 3.5 stars

79 Albert Street, Brisbane CBD, 4000 Brisbane, Australia

#95 of 142 Holiday rentals in Brisbane

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1116 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tumbler is too noisy when used.

    The bed was super comfortable... The location is walking distance to Queen Street. Mall. The staffs are super friendly..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for damage to the carpet which we didn’t do Having the cost of cleaning taken out of our bank card with out us being able to defend ourselves Had we caused the stain we would have told the staff and been quite happy to pay, however we are being categorised as being dishonest and it doesn’t sit well Unless this is resolved, we would find it hard to recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a stale smell, signs for swipe exit from car park not clear. No information in room for controlling TV etc.

    Location was great. Staff excellent at check in. Unit was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fridge did not work. Bedding was uncomfortable - too soft and whatever was underneath sheets made us hot. Apartment smelled damp.

    Great location and apartment was nicely set up

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An oven tray to cook in the oven with

    Wasn't expecting such a spacious room in a good location for the price I paid. Great view from the balcony, reasonable quiet and a wonderful location. Staff were helpful and friendly. Great pool and spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a bottle opener. The ad said free wifi but it is only free wifi for 30 minutes for the stay. I think that is false advertising. It is the reason I booked this place over another. Next time will reconsider based on this. But overall was a good stay.

    Great value for money, locations was great. the balcony was wonderful too. We had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom let the whole visit down - mould on walls - strange layout of toilet v basin v vanity - loo holder ??? Bathrooms need a makeover everything else was right on the money.Cupboards in bethrooms were broken.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from street level traffic, even in this apartment on the 21st floor, meant I couldn’t sleep with the windows or patio doors open. Bathroom accessories were pretty minimal.

    It as convenient, roomy and served as a good base for my schedule in Brisbane. Close to good restaurants and public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited kitchen inclusions for an extended stay when cooking in house. Toilet location in the bathroom is bizarre.

    Great location. Comfy beds. Good storage space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was clean however little ant type insects everywhere in the bathroom and extra bedding in wardrobe not clean.

    Great location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entry to the room next door 3102 was right next to my entry door. The guests had children & were v noisy going in and out, lingering in the hallway. There was also a lot of noise from the upstairs apartment on the Saturday arvo and early sunday am - lots of scraping of furniture on the balcony & young people returning from an evening out.. The kitchen work surface did not have sufficient power points to plug in the kettle & toaster - the microwave was in the way.

    The bed & pillows were v comfortable. Overall the apartment was v spacious. When I complained to reception one evening about the noise from the apartment next door a security person was sent up quite promptly. This fixed the issue. Reception staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of parking (but that’s the city), slight smell in hallway of refuse disposal but I’ve had same thing at other hotels. Bathroom could do with a Reno. Old looking compared to rest of apartment

    Location. Close to Botanical Gardens, bars, restaurants. Apartment was nice with big balcony. City and some river views. Super comfy bed. Nice pillows. And very important for me it was clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head isn’t the best. Wasn’t very high either, had to duck under it to wet my head. Parking was $30 a night which is a bit steep

    Very spacious rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift was slow. Didn't like how you check in at one door and enter foyer in another door and parked in another door! Checking in was difficult with nowhere to park on a busy street.

    Staff were great. Rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location that was close to shopping, coffee shops and restaurants. For a one bedroom apartment was very roomy, bonus of laundry facilities and large balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Upgrade Special - Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view. The hallway on level 24 was quite smelly.A couple of parties going on on both nights somewhere around our level meant it was quite noisy throughout night.

    The beds were extremely comfortable. Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not view some of the FOXTELS channels. By the second day complimentary tea and milks ran out. Card keys are more convenient for access

    The room was quite good and appropriate for my stay. Though there was no aircon in the room, the main airconditioning allowed me to sleep long hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two king single put together so was rather uncomfortable to sleep and the pillows were shocking

    Great location. Room had an amazing view of the whole city with the river on either side of the balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to recommend coffee mugs in rooms instead of tea cups

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and great view from the balcony. Location is good close to everything. Good value for money, definitely stay there next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tired looking and in need of maintenance. No air conditioning in the bedroom, only in the living room. The floor foyer was stuffy and smelly. No ventilation. Disappointing

    The location was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put on lowest floor with views of other buildings. No privacy on balcony.

    Location is excellent, short stroll to most places including Queen Street Mall. Coffee shop at entrance is a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been cleaner and the smell in the foyer of the floor we were staying was pretty bad.

    Nice location in the CBD. Close to everything especially coffee and food!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift was very slow, takes a long time to arrive, residents and guests piling up in the lobby and then only one lift is operating all the time we're there, so every time the lift is packed. Not convenient if you're carrying your bags and luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time I stay at an Oaks apartment I am let down by the lack of free WiFi. All you get is 30 minutes. I have continuously posted in my ratings that it's time for Oaks to catch up with the rest of accomodation providers big and small who give unlimited free WiFi.

    Great location, easy access to and from car park. Staff very obliging

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great friendly customer service. I requested a higher floor and it was not a problem. I stayed on the 35th floor with a wonderful view. I had a long report to write in the morning and asked if I could check out a little later. It wasn’t a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost $30 per night, which bought the price of the apartment price to be on par with the boutique hotels, but with less inclusions such as breakfast & daily service. Our room was next to the garbage chute & it stunk, especially in the humidity. The toilet / bathroom didn't have fans either - not good.

    The location could not be faulted - in the heart of the city!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to heat a pizza in the oven, the oven smoked immediately due to existing burnt food on the bottom and oven cleaner still in the oven. It set the smoke alarm off and we turned it off. We couldnt use the oven. The beds were great size but without a mattress topped over the adjoined twin beds it was quite uncomfortable.

    The view was exactly what we had hoped for. The apartment size was good, they layout was excellent. The bathrooms were great. It was great for one night in the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found these Oaks apartments not to the standard we have come to expect of the Oaks Brand. We often choose them to stay in Brisbane. However on this occasion, the apartment was quite tired, the bathroom needed redecorating, the soap dispenser was hanging off the wall. The pool was quite dirty with cigarette butts in it and a layer of scum around the pool above the water line.

    Location was great. Apartment well equipped and bonus to have Foxtel TV in room. The gym was convenient and good for a standard workout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emergency evacuation in middle of night - not their fault! However some compensation would be appreciated. Eg reduction on price for next booking Bathroom surfaces and cupboards a bit tired.

    Location, facilities such as kitchen and lounge and balcony. Excellent staff. Excellent price for CBD location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great to have an aircon in bed room as well. Shower head is really low, I’m 174cm tall and I was struggling washing my hair. Shower has a really good pressure tho.

    Great location - only two blocks away from Queens st., a lot of different restaurants/cafes nearby. Friendly staff. Clean rooms, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dryer was broken and the washing machine (rubber) was mouldy and smelt bad. I would have liked aircon in the bedroom so the door could be shut.

    Loved the location and view from the balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lifts were just plain dangerous, The was mold in the bathroom the units are getting a bit worn and damaged

    The staff were helpful, The location was great,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception office is practically 2 doors down from the lifts & entrance to units, as there is a very big area before the lifts I'm sure could be used for a reception. Very little street parking for checking in & we had to go around the block to also park our car.

    Anna made sure we were well taken care of with unit up-grade from 2803 to 3705 due to the cleanliness & broken facilities within the first unit. We welcomed her service which had encouraged us to stay another night & we notified her of any issues we had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was extra, the towels were extra, I didn’t like to pay for extra towels when I went to the pool, in booking was one price and then I got charge more

    The pool was really nice an outdoor pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi really needs to be free.

    The location is perfect for business, really close to the centre of town, parking is available if pre-arranged. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped and the room I was in was easy to work from in between meetings. It would be ideal to have free wifi as plenty of other Brisbane hotels have it, that would really make this spot work. I recovered from not seeing a coffee machine once I had a taste of the coffees from not one but two cafes right near the main entrance. Very conveniently situated near a bottle shop with a great range and a short walk to the supermarket at the bottom of the Myer Centre. Lots of clothes shops nearby if you're into shopping and you're spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were disgusting with Black Mold growing everywhere and stuff on the counters that I do not want to know what it is. The staff were nice but did not tell us anything about the place or the facilities we had or even where we could eat. The carpark price was ridiculous for staying there. I will be reporting the cleanliness.

    The location was ok and the staff were nice. The place was a good size

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the large balcony even though it didn't have a great view I could imagine living there and having lots of pot plants on the balcony. It was a great one bedroom apartment with all modern facilities and people in the complex were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not working 100%. Exhaust fan didn't work in bathroom. Mould in shower. Smelly/stuffy corridors.

    Location. Comfortable bed. Great shower pressure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Upgrade Special - Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    PARKING SHOULD BE FREE WIHEN YOU BOOK A ROOM AT THE HOTEL, AND SOMETIMES ITS HARD TO FIND A PARK ANYWHERE ON THE STREET TO CHECK IN.

    AWESOME LOCATION, AND I HAD A GREAT VIEW, I WAS ON FLOOR 34.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallway smelt funny - perhaps from long term residents.

    Friendly staff, spacious rooms, really good value for money and nice pool. I arrived at night and left early-mid morning and just used street parking on nearby Margaret Street which was a much cheaper option.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldn't get the TV to work- it said no signal on all channels very noisy air conditioner that we had to turn off because of this

    great location and good size apartment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool! On one of the hottest days in Brisbane it only has a lap pool, and the surrounding building noise very hard to sleep

    The furnishings were new and lovely, it was very clean and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Upgrade Special - Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym was not air conditioned but had one little pedestal fan so it was very hot and humid in there; the bedroom fans rattled, one air con in the lounge area, just had carpets and lounges cleaned (should have waited another day though as were still damp), kettle doesn't switch off, TV remote missing battery and HDMI cable was missing. all of these things were attended to happily by staff (except gym - they couldn't do anything)

    It was very good value. it was a good size with fantastic view and great location. staff were very helpful and prompt to respond with queries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic apartment with lots of space in a perfect location. Very clean with a big balcony. Outdoor pool too. Would definitely recommend. And not too expensive either!! Staff were brilliant. Very helpful and happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff didn’t care for any complaints or offer assistance. Room looked ok when we first arrived but then we quickly noticed it was old and dirty. Was extremely disappointed due to the cost. There was old mouldy food stuck in the garbage disposal which attracted lots of midgy flies. Hotel staff member wasn’t able to supply fly spray without supervision (as it is a chemical???) and not able to have maintenance attend due to time of year. Bathrooms mouldy and gruby, not great for young children. HUGE gap in glass on balcony, completely unsafe for children, glass on blanch was flithy. Washing machine stank and was a waste of time as didn’t get clothes clean - annoying as we had been on a road trip from central qld for a week! Blinds in the bedroom where broken and woke us all up at dawn, beds uneven causing uncomfortable sleep, fans in bedroom also made sleeping uncomfortable. We were almost not “allowed” to have friends in our room on NYE in case we made too much noise. As it was we had to inform staff of our intent to have guests over, to which she screwed her nose up while contemplating approving (we had a 8mth old and 5 yo with us so it was hardly going to be a unruly gathering!!!). Unhappy that everything was an extra cost ie $30 p/n parking, $20 p/n for cot hire (even though baby was included in booking), cleaning, wifi hardly worth mentioning as the offer was ridiculously small. I could go on but based on the response of hotel staff at the time there is probably no point.

    The location was good. We could walk to all of our holiday events and shopping was close by. Kitchen was well stocked with crockery etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very disappointed that there was a charge for the parking and that the charge was so high. $30 a night was up to 6 times higher than nearby carparks but when you have a leg disability and luggage to carry you have little choice especially when even in the very secure residents car park there were no Trolleys to assist and save multiple trips up and down in the lifts

    The lack of inter apartment noise the cleanliness of the whole building and the helpfulness and courtesy of all the staff we met. The size of the apartment and it's layout including a very good size balcony which was well sheltered from all but the worst of weather

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the fittings in the bathroom are quite dated & the toilet was only flushing very slowly, which at times was inconvenient. Kitchen supplies such as tea towels & dish washing liquid were quickly exhausted, necessitating requests from front desk to replenish. Bathroom did not seem 100% clean on arrival. One lift was out of commission on arrival, requiring more time waiting for the remaining lift & crowding in the lift.

    I like that the Apartments are near the Botanical Gardens & Brisbane River. It is a beautiful precinct to walk or bike ride in. Also love being right in the CBD, near shops & cafes. The Apartments are spacious & well appointed generally speaking. Staff were quite helpful in helping with special requests, such as storing my hired bike in their store room adjacent to the office. I am also pleased that the property has a zero tolerance to heavy drinking & partying which could disturb other guests. I stay River City is a wonderful place to have a restful holiday in Brisbane & to have all good amenities nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows uncomfortable, air con needed to be in the bedroom, got hot in there. Only 1 loft working so took a long time to wait. Someone was drilling into bedroom wall on other side and couldn’t sleep and weren’t told.

    Location was good. Pictures in room were nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird and uncomfortable vibe to the hotel. Not very clean or modern.. over-priced check out and nightly fees... had to take rubbish with us or cop a fine...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Upgrade Special - Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were told there was a 'no party' policy, however we got little to no sleep on the Friday night due to parties above us and next door.

    Location was great, easy access to restaurants, shopping, parks etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 22nd floor and the lifts x 2 were extremely slow, not to mention the smell on the floor coming from the refuse shute was disappointing.

    Easy to get into the city close to Albert st Mall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was broken which meant it took 30mins after check in to get up to the room. It was very hot and this was frustrating.

    Lots of Space and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfotable it was 2 single beds pushed together to make a king 1 was higher than the other and we kept slipping in between the two The lift took too long had to wait a long time There was no microwave containers to use

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift working to service 40 floors.

    Location is great. Receptionist was really helpful and very welcoming. Apartment was great. Very clean and well equipped. Lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just sitting and talking on the balcony with a few friends and being told we were too noisy and had to take it inside, this was a Friday night, , not a happy customer here,it’s a Friday night, if they did not want you to use the balcony they should have them locked to not be in use or be told upon check in or booking that the balconies cannot be used

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good sized apartments with all you need to self cater. Liked having a balcony even if it was only a view of the city. Great location with cafes, bars and restaurants all around. Parking is a bit of a hassle but at least it's onsite. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not off bedroom, would prefer fresh milk in fridge, only 1 lift operating. Only minor problems.

    I liked the spacious apartment, the speed of the lift, the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 lift was operating for 42 floors and the motel was booked out due to a concert. Wait times for lift were frustrating and I hate being packed in like sardines. The shower in the ensuite had hairs in it, yuck! I was also fully charged for the room weeks before arriving but booking site said I didn't have to pay till I stayed. Then I was charged a $75 security bond on arriving but was told on checkout that $300 would be held!! Very disappointing and I won't be staying here again or recommending it to friends.

    I was glad of the onsite car parking and access was easy. The location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they didn’t have some of the cleaning needs that I was expecting & the carpet quality.

    The outdoor pool & Spar , The view, kitchen & room designs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only air-con in lounge room not in bedrooms. Only 1 lift working so queues to access lift were slow, especially on Friday afternoon/evening. Booked a 2 bedroom and upon arriving into room (after lengthy wait for lift to get up to room) the master bedroom was locked so had to call reception and get someone to come unlock it for us. Then went to toilet in the ensuite and when tying to get out the door handle fell off. Luckily we were no stuck inside. Didn't bother calling to get it fixed as we were heading out to a function and didn't need anymore delays. This was my second stay at this property and had none of these issues the first time.

    Location and price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift a little slow but it didn't effect us

    Very central to everything. Shops, restaurants Botanical Gardens transport. Room was comfy for the price. It also had a balcony not much of a view as you looked at other high rises but at least there was fresh air. Bed comfy enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking with a car was a real hassle and not a pleasant experience at all. The room which I had was musty smelling, had mold on the shower facilities. It was a single room apartment type room. Decor looked worn and old.

    Ideal location, if you’re not traveling with a car. Close to city and transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't as clear as it should have been that free wifi was only for 1/2 hour, then $18 for 24 hours and it was an unsecured network. As I had selected the hotel thinking the inclusions were free wifi and I was there for work this was a problem. Just being clearer is needed.

    Location was good, roomy apartment and clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are 2 elevators in the apartment. one of the elevators was out of order. It was so inconvenience to wait long time :(

    The apartment have a good location which means everything I need was nearby. And very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything I didn't like, would certainly go back again if I wanted to stay in the city.

    It was wonderful and close to everything we wanted to do. The view was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was not very nice. The bathroom was dirty. The room was extremely small. The parking was hard to locate. Operating elevators were very slow and difficult to use.

    The balcony was extremely spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rubbish area had stuff left in it and stank, the showers are for people vertically challenged and you were able to hear a lot of banging from the apartment above you.

    Good location, the apartments were quite large and well maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room was fantastic, you couldn't ask for anything better. I bedroom unit with full kitchen, laudrey, 2 tvs,which was wonderful as my husband had an eye operation and needed quiet so I was able to go into lounge/dining area. Also a great balcony overlooking the city, :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was INCREDIBLY UNCOMFORTABLE! Probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. I told the staff about this but they said all the beds are the same. There are only 2 lifts and 1 was out of order for most of my stay. The lift was always packed and would take forever.

    Good central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great for Queen Street, lots of restaurants nearby. Nice spacy 2 bedroom suite, ideal also for long term stay, and large balcony. Nice pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hallways, rooms and bathrooms all have strange smells. I also overheard another group in the elevator complain of the same issue.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Upgrade Special - Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was not clean with tissue paper and cigarette butt. the top level (level 41) is a bit noisy, from the airconditioning either from the building itself or from the next door building.

    Right near South bank and botanical garden and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't look anything like the photos on the website. The hallways smell of old stale cooking. The lifts were a complete nightmare. One wasn't working so it took forever to get a lift up or down which meant having to plan when going out as to not be late for certain appointments. There was a dead squashed lizard in the bedroom and the bathroom wasn't very clean.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was wet when I arrived because it had been cleaned that day. I arrived late and was so tired after the flight that I couldn't be bothered moving

    The property was ok and central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee, tea satchets etc... enough for 1 cup of coffee each and not enough milk. Went down to reception to get more to find out we had to pay more. Would we have to pay for extra toilet paper?

    Location fine, parking easy, room was fine

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse iStay River City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: