Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4 stars

55 George Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#45 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1463 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    A fun night enjoying the Rocks markets and the Bastille festival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower. Could not control the temperature.

    We were surprised to see a beautiful view of the opera house and part view of the harbour bridge when we entered the room. A comfortable room and pleasant staff. Would return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Have stayed here before and will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff all very helpful. Breakfast is excellant,lots of variety. View from room (6th floor) amazing -Opera House right in front of us and in the morning a ship was in port. View from rooftop even more amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were roadworks and it was a tad noisy.

    I like its position at the Rocks. I liked the scenery, I liked the location. The room was fine, the room service was good too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower water pressure was very low and only used hot water tap, toilet buttons were broken, and the car parking is expensive ($45/night).

    Nice big room, comfy bed, fast WiFi. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The above

    Not much Photo shoot took priority over guests and fire place was not available so I felt cold in lobby . Parking was ridiculously priced for guests $45 dollars 😡I could of got parking cheaper elsewhere I will stay somewhere else next time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, location, stall. Definately willl stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were fabulous, very friendly and helpful. Nothing to much trouble. The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable. Water hot for the shower. Fantastic location. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.0
    Old Sydney Rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not the least bit disabled friendly no ramps, heavy fire doors broke my chairs taillight. Difficult to get in and out of room stretching to hold open door and manoeuvre chair with other hand. Very difficult with my shoulder dislocation. Couldn’t access pool or spa area lift only went to level 8 then had to take firestairs up another flight?!! So I had to miss evening drinks up there before we went to Vivid and I was a guest!! I felt very discriminated against. The only reason I chose Holiday In was due to the pool area and view of bridge and opera house.

    In the middle of authentic old Rocks area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Experience! Windows need to be upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows doesn't fully isolates street noise, can be really tricky specially if there's events in the area, we could listen the cleaning of the streets all night long due to Vivid Sydney. The solution for the hotel windows to keep the original facade was not very elegant and you could see that the outside windows were completely unclean. Maybe the hotel should try replacing the internal window from wooden based to double glazed PVC, which leads to a better temperature inside the room, save energy consumption and isolate the street noise. It was just a minor problem and this is a suggestion.

    Amazing experience, the hotel is absolutely amazing! Location is perfect, the building is one of a kind and the rooftop is breathtaking! Thank you guys for the special treatment due to our honeymoon suit! It was memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great location, roof top pop up bar with pool and spa and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, roof top pop up bar with pool and spa and spectacular views. The service was great and the breakfast was delicious. Best value for money hotel in Sydney 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing and trouble free with very helpful and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely the location!! And the very helpful understanding staff - particularly Yolanda at the front desk upon booking in. A lovely addition was the included breakfast which had a great selection to choose from. An added bonus for us was the rooftop view of the harbour, particularly because Vivid was on. The fire in the lobby seating area was also thoroughly enjoyed and had a relaxing atmosphere with the tea/coffee station nearby. All over a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, but we will pay a little extra for an enhanced service next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked an info sheet of some sort - perhaps as a welcome flyer in the room - to highlight local activities eg fireworks which we were sorry to have missed as we hadn’t known they were on.

    The beds were luxuriously comfortable, we did notice food trays which were left outside 2 other rooms that we walked past in the morning we’re still there when we returned in the afternoon. Also, the in-room movie selection was rather limited.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The aircondiioning was abominable extremely noisy even with the fan turned right down and unfortunately its needed 24/7

    The bed was comfy the staff very pleasant and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great location great staff would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    nothing

    The staff were great ,anything you needed they an they where there ,bed was so nice,water was hot in shower,heaps of towels . room was a good size Breakfast was great , View on the roof awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    It was mediocre and not a 4 star experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a Superior Room which aside from the king size bed was no such thing. The bathroom was dated and very cramped. The shower over the bath was dreadful as it was too cramped and the water pressure was poor. Showers over a bath with soggy shower curtains ARE NOT SUITABLE in a Superior room. Bottled water in the fridge is essential please even if there's no mini-bar.

    Location was great and generally the hotel was a pleasant. Staff were very efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    I would happily stay again for the location and the overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was almost unusable. The water pressure was poor and it was impossible to properly regulate the temperature.

    the breakfast exceeded expectations and the staff were efficient, friendly but unobtrusive. the room size and fittings were excellent for the price point.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Looking forward to my next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ....although would have liked The Telegraph

    The location for Vivid/ The Rocks / the Quay is exceptional ...near many cafes as well .....walks to the Sydney Theatre Company .......breakfast was okay but a great Food Store cafe out the door ........pool area is special for views .....would like to have had a swim but raining

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Heart breaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to book in through out the day but our room was not ready!! We finally got to enter our room at 5:40pm, the purpose of our trip was to meet friends and enjoy the turning on of vivid. Unfortunately we travelled 3 hours and missed it.. our friends meet us up with us once we had showered and changed but as for dinner and seeing the lights come on for vivid.. we missed it. $340 and room not ready til 5:40pm, never would I consider recommending this motel..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fixtures and fittings but to be expected at the hotels age and price range. Evering was very clean and comfy though

    Really good location to visit Vivid and breakfast was superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant dinner service could have been a bit more attentive- not enough staff maybe.

    Perfect location for visiting Sydney. Great relaxing atmosphere. Helpful friendly staff. Pool deck ideal views over Sydney Harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Will be going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were overly helpful and pleasant. Roof top spa was lovely and relaxing.Kids loved the pool. Amazing views from up there of Vivid. Breakfast was very good, so much variety. Comfy beds and nice city view from our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is terrible. To get the balance between scalding hot and freezing cold is near impossible and then it was just a trickle.

    Great location and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Most comfortable bed in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have been warned there are stairs to traverse in order to get to your room. Difficult for those with disabilities. Air conditioning quite noisy.

    Very cosy comfortable bed with the best pillows ever. Good breakfast buffet. Great roof top area - with excellent views over the harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. The hot water pressure overwhelmed the cold water as a result the shower couldn’t be adjusted to a comfortable temperature and there was hardly any stream. The 2 rooms we had on the same level both experienced the same issue.

    Location in the midst of Vivid Light Show

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried the cheese platter from their menu. The presentation was dull and the serving felt it was for children’s sizes. Better guidance/instructions would have been great from he hotel since it was very hard to get into with all the road closures, with Vivid lights.

    Great location, especially for Vivid Lights. Staff were all friendly. Valet parking was prompt. It was nice to have an evening drink -on the rooftop and to see the views before heading out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    it was ok, somewhere to sleep
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom is tight and confined, the water pressure and water flow was poor. It's difficult to adjust the water to desired temperature because the poor water pressure (hot or cold, not something in between)

    The views, the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Why would you look anywhere else for a night in the City?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow, I am impressed what a fantastic experience at this hotel. Staff were amazing - helpful and extremely friendly. Could not rate my experience more highly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay! Value for money in an amazing area! Impressive once inside, we liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was wonderful. It's walking distance to Circular Quay, Opera House, Harbour Bridge, bars and restaurants. The view from the roof-top pools was amazing. The foyer of the hotel was amazing too, all the way to the roof, with flags that were interesting to us. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Our stay was cut short because of our late arrival due to our flight being cancelled so we didn't have enough time to explore. I'd like to come again and stay. I'm sure I would enjoy more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    I liked this hotel a lot mostly because of the views and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do avoid the convenience shop if you can and choose one of the supermarkets (woolsworth is a stone's throw away) if you want better value for money. If you're looking for room views, do check as the rooms facing the landmark you'd like may have its view obstructed.

    It was a functional and nice-looking hotel with a great view of the opera house and the harbour bridge from the rooftops, as well as accessible by public transport and ideal location in The Rocks, which provided great ambience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice, clean, friendly & helpful staffed hotel in great location of The Rock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean hotel in great location of The Rocks with very nice, friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed it enough to come back. Only a 10 to 15 minute walk along the port from the Central Quay train station from the airport. Beautiful view of the Opera House and the Bridge from the roof terrace/pool. Hotel breakfasts are very very good. Wonderful restaurants in very close proximity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic value for money. Would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More facilities or tables on the roof upstairs

    Beds were larger than I thought in twin share room and the view even from the third floor was of the whole city, including much daylight and sky! Unreal location and incredible value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    The
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believed I booked two rooms for 3 nights from booking.com with breakfast, but as we checked in to the hotel, the reception told to me that there was no breakfast included from the room that I booked.

    The earlier checking in was great and granted 12pm late check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Rated as 4 star, but more like a 3 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor and interior design is very dated. The bathroom is small and plumbing is very dated and poor. It was difficult to get the water temperature right, and the water pressure was too light. At 1am, we were awakened by what sounded like a gas powered leaf blower. Also, I felt it unprofessional to furnish the final bill itemizing the additional charge for breakfast as an "upsale". For the price and poor infrastructure, breakfast should be included. Better yet, invest in upgrading the rooms. The retro look is fun, and while the lobby is spacious and comfortable, the rooms are not well appointed.

    The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The location is awesome. The breakfast buffet is very good. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Hope to be back to Sydney some day (we live in Canada) and would stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    So close to everything, Could walk to port, boat tours, bridge, hop on and off bus tour pick up was right outside, close to great restaurants. Breakfast was included with our price and it was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything, everyone was very accommodating.

    Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful, Breakfast was great. A very enjoyable stay overall. The location is great and handy to everything including our Cruise Ship.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything exceeded expectations apart from the shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower - either really hot or really cold and no pressure at all. Not sure what they've done to the showers but no good at all.

    The staff were really friendly and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice place but a better bed would be good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little sacked out and left me feeling somewhat uncomfortable

    The location was excellent for looking at the arts in Sydney. Also convenient to the ferries and the marketplace. The rooftop pool was nice and the view from the roof is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Top location, fantastically comfortable and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was really good value

    Fantastically well located with a lovely roof area with good views, a friendly staff and rooms with good facilities such as a guest laundry room and ironing board - which is great if you have been travelling for some time as we have and have gathered a lot of laundry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.0
    The staff are wonderful, very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The could have had more variety at the breakfast buffet

    This hotel is conveniently located in the Rocks with easy access to the ferries, opera house andCruise terminal. We have stayed here every time we come to Sydney, since 1989, at least 5 times

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Awesome stay in an awesome part of Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like but not particularly value for money but I guess you pay for the location when in Sydney.

    Loved the location. Stayed to go on a cruise so being close to the international cruise terminal was awesome. The Rocks area is an amazing place to stay. Staff were friendly and checked in early which was great. Room was standard hotel type accommodation very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay close to city, cruise terminal, opera house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was s bit small, but suited us, as was only there overnight, and the wall with the window was slanted, so when got out of bed, hit my head.

    The person, who checked us in was very chatty and made us feel very welcome. Gave us ideas of what to do for the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    A short but pleasant stay.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could say against our stay.

    Position. We were cruising next morning & great to see cruise ship in your ‘front yard’. So convenient Staff were very friendly & helpful. Definitely stay there again. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    great location very convenient for lots of activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    loved the location as the trip was to join a cruise. hotel is only a few steps from cruise terminal. lots of nice restaurants in the area. hop on hop off bus has a stop directly in front of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Location of this hotel is perfect. Had very helpful reception staff, especially when checking in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop pool is a bit small, but with so much to soak in in Sydney it didn't bother us. The cruise liners covered the view of the opera house, but in the evenings it was possible to get a glimpse of the iconic site.

    Location, location, location. The best sites Sydney has to offer are in close proximity. From the rooftop you get a good view of harbour bridge and the Opera House. The breakfast was abundant and the selection of delicious fresh fruit is a treat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved the place so nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    We stayed here after our cruise and it was perfect. The hotel is really nice and it is walkable to the quay and opera house. The area is in the Rocks and we also walked up to the Sydney Bridge. Loved it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Location is amazing but property itself is basic and dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing for the quality is out of line. The property is basic and dated. If it weren’t for the location I likely would not have stayed and would not recommend.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Great way to start a holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best thing was being so close to the Overseas Terminal which made getting to our cruise a breeze. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and the room was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The holiday inn met our needs and expectations

    Location was perfect. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Room were upgraded for a small cost to a room with a view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The position and the wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The position and the wonderful staff. We went to Sydney for my daughter's 18th birthday and when management and staff realised they delivered a bottle of bubbly to the room to celebrate. Kind and generous gesture thank you 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located close to The Rocks where our cruise ship departed, fabulous view from the top pool area and exciting to see cruise ship leave and know we would be on the next ship. Comfortable room & amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    good cruise ship hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heritage building ,so windows were old single pane .lots of outside noise in my room . rooms a little tired .

    great location for cruise ships out of circular quay . close to train station and opera house . room was big .reasonable rates by Sydney standards

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.0
    I opted for the continental breakfast, usual fruits juices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I opted for the continental breakfast, usual fruits juices cereals, there was a sign for fresh pastry, the platter was empty at 9am, the one type of bread roll was stale, the croissants were overbaked and only 6 on dish, went back to see if the pastries had been topped up, NO,also croissants were all gone, questioned a staff member and she went to check the situation, the chef came out and asked what type of pastry would I like, well I don't know if I cant see what is available, and was told that he would put some in the oven, I only had to say what I would like ????? for $22.00 I thought it was a very poor choice, also the cold meats looked less than desirable, discoloured and curling edges, quite toxic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Awesome location, surrounded by historic sites and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a superior room- but couldn’t see what was superior over the standard room- level 1, no view. There was No hot water on 2 occasions. We only stayed one night! But to their credit they gave us complimentary parking for the inconvenience. We would probably stay again

    Location was amazing, Easy checkin, room was clean, valet parking was a huge bonus-$45 per night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Amazing location - will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and basic, but they are clean and functional, and the beds are so comfortable! The bathroom tiles could do with an upgrade, but these negatives are certainly made up for in other ways at this hotel.

    This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring all that Sydney has to offer. A short walk to trains and ferries, aswell as lots of restaurants and cafes. The rooftop pool has an amazing view, an added bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    We were going on a cruise so the location was perfect , 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment here we had a wonderful stay

    We were going on a cruise so the location was perfect , 2 minutes and we were there. Very close to the opera house & harbour bridge. Highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay, perfect breakfast and position but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really expensive. Possible to find more comfortable hotels with a better price.

    Breakfast amazing with lots of choices. Internet good. Small swimming pool at the top with view at the opera house.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value given the location and inclusive breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor a bit dated & tired looking.

    Have just completed a 5 week trip around Australia from the UK. On arrival in Sydney stayed at a more upmarket hotel in the CBD. On our return for last couple of nights before flying home stayed here & enjoyed it just as much. Location is superb with wonderful views from roof terrace over Opera House & Circular Quays and in the heart of the Rocks area. Request a room on the 8th floor for no noise & best views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, good overall but small things let it down for price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, no room to move in shower over the bath. Small sink meant water went everywhere when using. No socket near a mirror to use hairdryer. Not enough toileteries for 2 people to have 2 showers a day. Expected better from a top hotel.

    Large comfy bed. Excellent location. Quiet even though in central location for the Rocks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sold on a view of the opera house, which you could never see as there was always a series of cruise liners blocking the view, even from the roof.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    We did enjoy our brief stay overall though felt that what we paid for could hv been a little better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed surprisingly had no top sheet which was a bit uncomfortable. The aircon was quite loud and we had to request for more sugar as there were only 2 sachets of sugar provided. Upon trying to checkin it at the hotel it took some time for the staff to find our booking even upon showing confirmation on my phone. I was a little anxious as this was the first time I’ve booked accommodation. It was eventually found and was sitting in limbo. The staff were lovely though.

    The staff were lovely, the view was wonderful from the room looking out at the harbour and the bed was mostly comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    All guests had a good time and liked the motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of the woman I charge of parking in pm. I had booked 5 rooms and I was doing my best.

    Cleanliness, pool, ability to open window , breakfast, am staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Conveniently located at the Rocks, just a very short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room would have needed a renovation badly. It’s okay if you don’t have too many expectations. Nevertheless much to expensive for what you get. The chair in front of the desk in the middle of the room left hardly any space to get around the bed. We stored it under the desk to have a bit more space.

    Conveniently located at the Rocks, just a very short walk to Circular Quai. I guess that makes up for the relatively high price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    We love the Holiday Inn Old Sydney !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 6 nights in room with 2 double beds (2 adults 2kids) .It was the perfect location to explore Sydney . Very comfortable and clean room ,well maintained and suppiled with clean linen and towels daily. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good value for money and plenty of choice. Evening meal was very tasty . Views on roof were amazing . Pool was very cold but would be great in very hot weather. Spa was lovely though. Lovely view of Sydney skyline from our balcony. Highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff were wonderful, very helpful & kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were wonderful, very helpful & kind. Also there is fantastic views of the Opera House, Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay from the roof top pool area. Great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean, convent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is smaller than I expected. My room was ungraded on arrival but this meant I was on floor 1 with the view of a brick wall outside my window. I’d have rather been on a higher floor to have a better view.

    Great location, good view of the Bridge and Opera house from the roof top pool. Easy to walk to Darling harbour and Circular Quay, where you can catch a ferry or train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Just two days and so much to see, I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Good location on "Big Bus" route. George St is easy to find from anywhere in the city, so easy to find your way back. Pre book breakfast, wide choice and good value for money, get chef to cook you an egg rather than take the standard scrambled on the buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed, very expensive, never again will I stay there and I would not and will never reco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold and soulless. Breakfast was no better than a works canteen. The room was ok, thank God we got up graded!

    Five star prices for a three star (at best) hotel. Very disappointed, very expensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    We highly recommend staying at this property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave on our cruise.

    The hot breakfast was excellent! The rooms with a view are a real plus. The room was clean and very comfortable. The front desk staff went out of their way to provide service excellence.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Great, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little too expensive. Due to the heritage features of the building, you could not open the windows to get fresh air-had to rely on the Aircon.

    Great, friendly staff. Comfortable bed and a superb location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Super convenient fro cruisers. Our second stay here and after the view you will forget the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Super close to Overseas Cruise terminal and from floor 6 on the George Street side the view of Sydney Harbour is extraordinary. Room was very comfortable, quiet and breakfast was great. Highly recommend spending that little extra for a view room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    We were booked on a cruise and the proximity of the Hotel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were booked on a cruise and the proximity of the Hotel to the Passenger Terminal was a bonus. Have stayed at the Holiday Inn twice before and enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Good location but expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get. The photos online are somewhat deceptive- the rooftop pool is tiny and the rooms were small as well.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was awesome, I would definitely stay again, next time we visit Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From when we arrived we found the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was really clean, the bed’s were very comfortable, the pool area was great and the views were amazing. I would recommend having the breakfast, the food was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will suggest to others in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know I did this backwards. We liked the front desk staff, the lobby seating, location, room was clean. We stayed a day between cruises and then again 2 days at the end of the second cruise. I will recommend it to others.

    Our room was not serviced during our stay. We asked in person for a cleaning and it was not done. It was a young trainee I saw in the elevator and he said it would be taken care of. Then later I called to the desk and a girl brought clean towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonder why there was a baby bed in the room when I arrived at 5:00 am. Not only I did not ask for but it was occupying the whole room space. Had to move it out of the room myself to access my bed to get some rest (not ready to call and wait for assistance). 3h later the bed was still laying in the corridor.

    Location is really great. Room was ok w/o any outstanding aspect. Bathroom could be a bit more modern style. For the rest I have to say I did not use any hotel amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Great central location for the Sydney Opera House, trains and buses
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small with an office chair that did not go under the table so used up space $45 a day to park is steep

    Very central location, friendly staff. Very comfortable beds and pillows. No noise on third floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: