Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pacific Hotel Cairns 4.5 stars

43 The Esplanade, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#9 of 74 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1289 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    A lovely location. Proximity to the city and harbour front is ideal
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A couple of times we had to call for fresh towels as they had been forgotten. The same with the in room coffee and milks.

    The location is stunning and suited us in terms of access to everywhere

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    View from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being disturbed by housekeeping who unlocked my door with their room card on two occasions and tried to enter my room while I was sleeping I felt I was being pressured to check out early

    View from room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, near the Reef fleet pier. Clean, spacious and comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant with delicious dinner offerings.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    Confirmed with the hotel to preserve a high floor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confirmed with the hotel to preserve a high floor room. But it turned out we only got a room in a public sector ( floor 3rd), which was not safe for us. Besides, the room was freshly decorated and had terrible smell. But we dare not to open the door(there is no window) because the door connected to the outside public space without any door protection! This experience really sabotage our trip in Cairns.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    services and location are overweighted than facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the facilities a little bit old but well-functioned basically personal advice : (maybe only the room I stayed) the shower could be stronger and easy control the temperature the mattress is too soft for me and a little be unbalanced the balcony door cannot cancel the noise outside so a bit noisy during the night

    fantastic location, you can go to the fleet, casino and town centre with tons of restaurants in mins, if you book high level you could have a sea view, highly recommend you book the high level, won't be disappointed very clean and big room, good room service very helpful staff , thanks for helping me change the room to the higher level , Donnie btw, the longest history hotel in Cairns

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    We loved staying because of location view and convenience👍🏼 but the rooms need a refurbishment👎🏼
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terribly dated the tv had none of the current programs eg Foxtel etc the remote control didn’t work efficiently because of the age of the room it was musty even though the cleaner did her best the bathroom didn’t have a toilet brush seriously first time in all my travels 😔

    The view and location was excellent as was the facilities and so was the staff very helpful and great service from the reception to the cleaning staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wifi ... we experienced disconnections and problems to go online. even on 7th floor one can hear the construction works below 5 am ... breakfast - dont pay the full price. for 10 A$ it is ok, they didn't hear about hot coffee .... and the scrambled eggs too.

    good value for money. big rooms, clean , nice staff. very nice bathroom big and comfortable. close to harbour and center but it is a small town anyway.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Our room was very spacious with a panoramic view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was very spacious with a panoramic view from the balcony. The bathroom was also bigger than han most hotel bathrooms. They also gave an unexpected 25% discount to hotel residents at the adjacent Aussie style Brazilian restaurant Bushfire!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Good price but that's about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was fixed pretty quickly, but we booked a king bed and got three singles. The beds were really awful - the mattresses were so old that they visually "dipped" down in the middle, they were rock hard and very lumpy. The TV didn't work. The towel rail fell off the wall. Shower was impossible to adjust warm - alternately spat out breathtakingly cold to boiling hot water. Finger and head prints on the window glass.

    It was a good price for the period in Cairns. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Average all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had to change room because of toilet and shower problems from 303 to 302, repack all my clothes, toiletries etc. and then start all over again. Thought I might have got some compensation for that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    STAY BEFORE AND AFTER THE CRUISE WITH THE CORAL DISCOVERY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the hotel several times,always liked this hotel because of excellent location. Very nice lady receptionist,helped even to carry my luggage!Very relaxed atmosphere,nice view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Thank you for the Welcome via the screen and also for extra...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room - Tropical Luxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you for the Welcome via the screen and also for extra 1 hour until 12pm to check out when I requested as I needed to be at Kundu-Cains Papua New Guinea Consul office to complete what I was sent to do.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    I stayed in a new room this time, and yes it was better than...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a new room this time, and yes it was better than the other rooms, it was first class, but the other rooms are good as well, and i usually stay in them. last time I said there wasn't anywhere quite for a meeting, but i did find a guest lounge. very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    An excellent value for money hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers could have been better. the flow rate and shower heads meant a slow flow of water and not overly hot

    Location. bed was comfortable (but a little soft). Staff were excellent. Breakfast was good value for money and excellent quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, very comfortable room - it is brand new!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of clothes rack right above toilet.. meant you banged your head when you stood up. Told reception and they said they’d let management know.

    Excellent location, very comfortable room - it is brand new! Bed very comfy and room decorated beautifully.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Lovely central hotel on The Esplanade with a warm service team and nicely styled rooms :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be busy in lobby with big touring groups, but to be expected for this popular region :)

    Wonderful warm front desk team, coffee machine in deluxe rooms, lovely oversized terrace and paperless rooms [in-room dining info etc on the TV] that also encourages environmental awareness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    The room and beds were very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night in a room overlooking the road and then when we came back we stayed in a room looking out to the beach both rooms had a lot of noise from the street and band playing in the park other than very little sleep it was a good stay

    The room and beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    good to stay as a base, but could be better for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a business traveler two things could be better. 1. I need a table and chair, not a coffee table. So I can get some work done. 2. a few tables in reception, that are welcoming. the tables and chairs off to the side area is weird and dimly lit. Sometimes you want to meet a colleague to go through something without them coming to your room. i find other hotels better for this.

    Overall this is a nice refurbishment. and the staff are helpful. I would stay here again, and have a few times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was old, the hotel is in the process of refurbishment the rooms. Bed was not the most comfortable one.

    Great location. Big room with balcony. You get 50% off on the breakfast buffet which is a very good deal. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Fab staff & location. Accommodation had a bit of a budget feel though price didn't reflect this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although clean and well-presented overall, our room was pretty tired and lacked a few basics like wine glasses and a coffee plunger. When we asked for the former, they were delivered to our room no problem at all! The carpet is stained and so needs a good steam clean. There are warning signs that the bathroom tiles are slippery when wet. Although we took the required care, I really think this needs addressing. You can't just waive your responsibility with a warning sign.

    This hotel is in a great location; within easy walking distance to the Esplanade Boardwalk and so to a range of great cafes & restaurants. It sits within a shopping precinct with a range of designer boutiques at hand, and is close to the art gallery. All of our interactions with staff were positive and helpful ones.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soundproofing in the room, so it was noisy from the traffic and people in town

    The bed was huge and extremely comfortable The hotel upgraded our room after a stuff up with the booking company

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, exceeded our expectations. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work was being completed during our stay which was noisy in day but complimentary drinks vouchers were given to each customer on arrival to use in bar.

    Room was spacious and very clean! Balcony had a great view. Our room was modern and the bathroom was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and the car park was easy to access. Location is perfect for bustling activities and near all the good restraints and the outdoor pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pedestrian and vehicle noise was constant in the room especially in Friday and Saturday night's. The windows need to be tinted and double glazed to block out the glare and noise.

    Location is central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    excellent restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the address is not the street which one enters from - it is on a corner! It is time for all travel attractions, hotels etc to give the address of their entrance not their postal address.

    excellent restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast. Best high level view amongst all Cairns hotels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Rooms a bit dated but would definitely stay again as it is in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with an upgrade. No ventilation in the bathroom. Refurb work was going on during our stay and i hope this was not just the public area but the rooms too. If so then this will be a great hotel.

    Great central location. Near the night markets and the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need to provide more pool chairs and get ones with adjustable backs. The pool is nothing flash but its inviting with a nice little sunbaking area. The buffet breakfast was very good, especially the streaky bacon, but they ran out of coddled eggs! Big let down for a bacon and eggs fan

    The location really is the best thing. Step out and you're in it all. Room was well laid out, inspiring and very contemporary, Nice touches like lovely smelling hand wash, Egyptian cotton flannels and hand towels, comfy bed. I was in room 1017 with a north facing window/balcony - beautiful view from the tenth floor. Loved the view by day and night (looking out at all the lights across Cairns). The Bruschetta was fantastic - ordered room service - reckon it was the best I ever had. Oh and the reception staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Great stay would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy from outside and new beds would be a recommendation

    Great big room lovely and very friendly staff as the restaurant too , lovey upgrade would definetly recommend deluxe rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Was great all in all great rooms great location friendly staff and would stay again we stayed 5 nigh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok construction was a little bit annoying but nearly finished

    Great location 5 minute walk to the jetty for all of your boating trips and waterfront restaurants great dinner at bushfire do the 6 o’clock to save a few dollars if you whish still fantastic go hungry 😋😋😋 big rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dated, they are doing renovations. Breakfast buffet was a bit average we had received vouchers for 50% off so that was ok but not sure I would have been happy paying full price for it.

    Great location, around the corner from esplanade. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    The location was ideal & our room was a good size, we would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Shower wash in Shower wash dispensers. No complimentary water in Fridge. Only one option for Breakfast. Only felt like toast & juice but had to pay $17 which was half price with voucher.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Laura at the front desk was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laura at the front desk was amazing. I would recommend this hotel just because of her professionalism and friendliness. Make sure she is working on the day you are checking in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Could not recommend because of the bed and pillows, other than that, an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was that both my husband and myself did not like the bed or pillows. Did not get much sleep and woke up with aches and pains

    Very nice big room with a lovely outlook of a park and the coastline, very good service and easy access to in-hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Great central location but going through renovations, so could be hit or miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little outdated and because of that you could hear a lot of road noise. They are in the process of renovating the hotel so I’m sure the renovated rooms look amazing, unlike ours, which was a little drab and utilitarian. I’m actually really hoping when they redo this room they add some nice tile, patio furniture and some plants/greenery out there because that room could be amazing. Also, there was parking behind the building but it is where a lot of the construction equipment is and the debris bin, so when we came out our car was covered in a thin layer of dirt/drywall dust.

    We somehow got upgraded to the only room that had a huge, and I mean huge, balcony. You could go out there and do gymnastics it was so large. The room was also very large and had tons of natural light, and seemed very clean, even though it was a little outdated. The views were very nice with a view of the harbor on one side and you see the rainforest on the other behind some of the other resorts. The bathroom was large and they had free coffee in the room as well. The location was also good, with the esplanade only a short walk away as well as. Wing close to the harbor. We had a great time walking around and then slept like babies in the big king bed that night. They also had a washer and dryer down the hall that we used which was a little old but seemed to work fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    excellent location for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom would have been a bit small for a stay longer than one or two days.

    This was an excellent location for us. We were just staying one night and then taking the ferry to Fitzroy Island. We were close to the Central Shopping Mall and the ferry pier.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location good breakfast the view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of construction noise outside our room as well as noise from air conditioner systems from surrounding buildings

    Excellent location good breakfast the view from the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location that is quiet and close to the action with a short walk to Woolworths
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Change in height level between bathroom and hallway

    Perfect location just out of the high density zone and close to Woolworths. Uncluttered room with just the right amount of furniture. Additional $10 for foregoing service of room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Good service, clean and in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A temporary thing only I know, but they were doing renovations whilst I was there so there was construction noise at times.

    The location. Close to all restaurants and markets

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant enough, but needs some updating. Great location
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet seat needed replacing, old, painted and wobbly. The balcony door needs attention. I could not open it, my husband struggled. Hence only going on the balcony once in a 3 night stay. It was very noisy too, we were on the 10th floor.

    Beds were comfy & clean, room was a good size. Good view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street noise could be heard even on the 9th floor all night and the noise from other rooms could be heard.

    The price was good for the location of the hotel. Renovations are on at present so there is a little inconvenience with noise between 9 and 4. The hotel has a pool (not heated). service is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No austar we couldn't watch the nrl didn't get much sleep people in rooms near us were very loud until early hours of the morning could hear showers running in adjourning rooms very late at night obviously rooms not very sound proof & no car parking we had to park away & walk & it was raining

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place to start your tropical vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sum renovations going on and could have picked some better times to test PA system and fire escape pressurization tests - after 0800 wold have been better.

    Love the location and will always try for the Pacific whenever we drop into CNS.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location close to waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise started at 5am. We were only there for one night but it might be a problem for a longer stay. Soap and shampoo detergents in bathroom are hard on skin and hair.

    Great location close to waterfront. Lovely view of sea and yachts and mountains from our room on the 10th floor. Comfy bed. Cane armchairs looked good and were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Prob had high expectations based on photos but it delivered a comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple rooms, small and quite pricey for what you get. Not sure if the quality meets price but not aware of quality of Cairns standards of accommodation in general.

    Location and convenience. Bar and restaurant food very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay with wonderful staff and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although there were renovations being conducted we didn't notice any noise or inconvenience!

    The location was superb, right on the esplanade close to restaurants and shopping. We asked for help with bike storage (we were travelling for Ironman) and the staff were always able to help. No request was too hard. We will stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    You won't be disappointed if you book this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would ask to have the room that was not next to the elevators. Although they were not very loud at all, I am just incredibly light sleeper.

    We have stayed in Cairns a number of times and were disappointed to find the hotels we had chosen were all in need of renovating but The Pacific Hotel turned out to be the exception. It was lovely and so close to everything. We were given a North facing room that had an outstanding view of the water and beautiful pink sunset.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Good stay in top location with great view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly dated, noise from street below in room.

    Great location and great view from floor 10. Brazilian BBQ restaurant tasty and something different. Price good for location and view, but probably due to ongoing renovations (not obtrusive).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress and bedding

    Loved the location and the view from our room was fantastic ! The $10 voucher towards food and drinks for every day you opt not to have your room serviced is a great idea. We stayed in a deluxe room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The room was refurbished, it looked good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needed to leave super early, and no early room service, so had to have McDonald's for breakfast. Not really their fault i was leaving at 6am, so would have needed breaky at 5.30am.. McDonald's was walking distance and another breaky place looked open as I drove past further down the esplinade.

    The room was refurbished, it looked good. Bed was comfortable. I was actually pretty happy, the price was very good for the quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant value for money, top location, recommended for a central Cairns stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a one night stopover before a fight but I would not hesitate to return. The hotel is undergoing renovations but that was not a problem for us at all. The staff were excellent, the bar was lively, the bed was comfortable and the location was the best, walking distance to everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Tolerable but not good value by any stretch.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had single pane doors/windows and no flyscreen (so let a lot of noise in from outside and couldn't be left open due to mosquitos), AC was set to what felt like 16 degrees and could only have fan speed changed, some black mould found in the bathroom (near ceiling, cleaners must be short?).

    Staff on arrival were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    This Hotel is in a great spot handy to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A female staff member at the front desk was not very pleasant and unhelpful. She needs some training in customer service. However, the two male staff members i dealt with were excellent.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location if you want access to the shops or convention centre
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was bit of noise as they are doing up some of the rooms however didn't bother us as we were out all day.

    Really good sized rooms with a comfortable beds. Easy 5 minute walk to the convention centre. 1 minute to shops, restaurants, waterfront. Really friendly staff on reception and housekeeping kept the room spotless during our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed and embarrassed!
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow were not comfortable and I ended having a stiff neck. What’s really uncalled for is, a guy staff just knocked on my door 2 twice at 11am during my check out day and came in... I was still in my pyjamas! I was shocked that he just stayed at the door and He asked me what time I’m checking out! Fair enough, I didn’t know it’s 11am but I didn’t expect someone to dash in, they could have give me a call... totally rude and I felt embarrassed as I was in my pyjamas! What if I’m not dressed??!!

    Location is good, most of the staff were really friendly especially the staff that assist check in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location close to everything but noise from the street...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisey from the street and also from other rooms and patrons through the walls. Couldn't change channels on the tv.

    Good location close to everything but noise from the street meant no sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Very handy location right on the Espalande - close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very handy location right on the Espalande - close to restaurants and shops. Quick check in and check out procedures which was great as we had an early flight to catch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    A nice quick get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and quite uncomfortable - two singles joined and the join could be felt.

    The friendly, accommodating staff who were keen to keep the guests satisfied. Most rooms have a lovely view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel, well located in Cairns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff we interacted with in the short time we stayed at the hotel were all friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean, very comfortable beds! The location was excellent to the marina, restaurants and shops. The hotel is undergoing some renovations but we did not experience any noise or inconvenience because of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    I slept well, overlooking pool and esplanade, in a moderately priced room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed a nutritious breakfast. Bircher muesli, delicious Swiss cheese ham lettuce on toasted bread, tropical fruits Laura and Denni were extremely helpful during my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    The view was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was good. The bed could have been better - it was a premium room, and while the view was nice, the comfort of the bed is frankly more important. I couldn't understand why the bathroom was fitted with a short bath - there was almost a metre of wasted space at the end of the bath, and the tiles were raised making it uncomfortable to relax in the bath. It was a strange design. They are renovating the hotel - I hope that the room was not a renovated one.

    The view was excellent! The staff were helpful. The rooms were clean and the location was brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and very interesting to see how Cairns has grown in the 9 years since our last visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts are a little slow.

    Reception was very friendly and welcoming. Winnie gave us vouchers for the bar, which was lovely after arriving early evening. The room was very comfortable and just perfect for an overnight stay. We also got a late check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be more variety for buffet breakfast (include variety for vegetarian).

    The staff was very friendly and co operative. The location was excellent with fleet terminal just across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    When you combine a perfect hotel with a perfect location and a excellent staff it's like heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad question we liked everything the worst thing everything is in walking distance and if you're in the right room you can see it

    The breakfast varied daily but still a good buffet but closed too early 9:30

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Convenient, I traveled to Cairns for a dinner and decided at the last minute to stay overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was easy to use coupled with movies, news etc and many other features but it was unable to get all local free to air TV channels.

    1. Staff activated the room air conditioner prior to my check-in. 2. I liked an empty bar fridge which contained only milk - this saves a lot of issues on check-out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location very close to the marina, also the view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although they’re making an effort to renovate, it still needs a lot of work and everything looks outdated like from the 80’s

    Great location very close to the marina, also the view from our room was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, refreshing flavorful chilled water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation and wasn’t informed at time of booking by booking .com And was woken up by noises traduced at 7am then drilling and hammering Front desk said renovation work wouldn’t start until 9am So the gave us an early check in room near the works because we thought noise wouldn’t start until 9!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    The room is clean, staff helpful, and the hotel has a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proof is not good since on 7th floor we still could hear traffic on the road.

    The room is clean, staff helpful, and the hotel has a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    It was very good & I will certainly come again & I will be recommending it to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For me, nothing.

    I loved this hotel for many reasons. All the staff (including the women who did room service) I was in touch with, were not only polite & helpful but were so happy. Rooms were cleaned & always looked fresh & the linen changed every day. The bed was very comfortable & the room spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Would recommend this venue to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite noisy with traffic noise intruding to at least the 6th floor but it was bearable.

    All of our comforts were met. The view was excellent. A very enjoyable stay. The restaurant was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put in a room directly next to the building work. Builders dropping debris from a height (5th floor maybe) from about 6am. I had to ask to be moved at 7am which they did but I don’t understand why they put me there in the first place.

    Staff were friendly enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    2.9
    it was to noisy to use the pool or stay in the roomi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the renovations that we could hear in our room although we were told that we wouldn’t and the arrogant manager who made no offer of compensation. Because it was in the very small print in bookings.com he felt that he needed to do nothing. Very non customer friendly.

    Leaving

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Room is big enough to put 3 single beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel undergoing renovation. Noisy at reception area. Ok day of check out, the guest lounge was locked and had to leave early for the airport as it was unbearable to stay in the lobby with the noise and seemingly no air conditioned lobby.

    Room is big enough to put 3 single beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom need a shower curtain or full glass door to stop the water from coming out.

    The location is very good and convenient to shops, restaurants, lagoon and mariner. The harbour view from our room is very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also like to breakfast buffet there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is dated, but OK. I will however try another hotel on my return to Cairns.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is getting tired with the rooms being very basic and sparse. Bed was not super comfy but did the job. Although there was nothing that went really wrong during my stay at this hotel, it is the little things that make business travel bearable and sadly, this hotel did not have any of them.

    Location was great, short walk to the Esplanade where there are plenty of places to find a good dinner or breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location for marina and esplanade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for marina and esplanade... good selection of bars,restaurants and shops nearby... the breakfast in hotel was excellent with a good selection

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Quick and last minute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t usually complain about hotels but the lighting in the bathroom was horrible, the lighting in the room wasn’t much better. So it made it very hard to do my makeup. The rooms wouldn’t suit a female. Even my husband found the lighting very bad. A mirror closer to the tv with better lighting would have been beneficial. The balcony door also didn’t close securely, and rattled at night. We had to fold some paper up and stick it into the spaces. Only option for breakfast was the buffet at $34. It would have been good if we could have ordered just tea and toast, or bacon and eggs. We ended up eating at the airport. The pictures of the hotel look better than what it is in reality. It’s a very basic budget hotel. But was ok for one nights stay.

    Comfortable bed, we were able to book a room last minute. Check in and check out staff were very friendly and ordered us a taxi when needed. Hotel was centrally located so we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to at ease.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: