Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palms Bed & Breakfast 3.5 stars

24 Dorchester Avenue, 6024 Perth, Australia

#30 of 50 B&Bs and Inns in Perth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 77 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    We were impressed by the friendly welcome and the efforts to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were impressed by the friendly welcome and the efforts to make sure we could get breakfast even though we had to leave too early for the official breakfast hours to start.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Far exceeded my expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Times for breakfast were too late and limited. Couch was slippery and base cushion slipped off

    Very good value for the price. Location was close to my work. Very clean and no mould in shower. 5 star hotels rarely achieve this. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great accommodation just where we needed it.
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the room wasn't very good. Not bright enough to read in bed. There was no hot water at the basin.

    The hospitality. It was great to have pancakes cooked just as you wanted them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedroom was very cramped and showed signs of requiring general maintenance, particularly in the bathroom (e.g. the shower rail is not securely attached to the wall). The windows didn't appear to be lockable and the frames were dusty. The breakfasts had a choice of cereal but the hostess just served the hot course without asking what one might like. E.g. she served hard-boiled eggs without giving the option for soft, and maybe we didn't even want boiled eggs. The toast was always underdone - barely more than hot bread!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The host Teresa was wonderful.
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host Teresa was wonderful. The feeling of being private excellent, Teresa is always available and extremely entertaining, an absolute delight as a host. The room and facility excellent. And breakfast is included as well. Highly recommend for either business or a place for relatives to stay on visits when you don't have enough room. I would not hesitate to return. I extended my stay a few days. Thanks Tesesa, I was very stressed with moving house. Cherie

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Warm friendly welcome comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remote for TV, few stains on foyer carpet. But otherwise very comfortable and clean.

    It was like home away from home with a real friendly feel. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, close to local shopping centre and freeway, friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked the location for what I planned to do in Perth. Easy access. Close to local shopping centre. Loved the roomy shower. Theresa accommodated our late arrival due to other hiccups at the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Very plesent
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hostesss Terrasa was very friendley and it was like being in a nice home,the delux room was very clean and everything we needed,there is a beautiful swimming pool , but we were very tired after a long 7 hour drive so did not use it. but would have if we had stayed longer.The breakfast of orange juice, Fresh Fruit & ,Boiled egg and Toast and Jam was very nice ,but no real coffee!! which was a shame, had a cup of Tea. There is also a toster ,kettle and microwave in the room & tea & coffee packets and a nice little fridge. a very comfy Room. Great shower.. A nice private room. great for couples.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    An experience to say the least! House is extremely eclectic and but the owner is just so lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who runs this B&B is very warm and friendly. If you’re looking for a hotel style accommodation then this isn’t for you but if you want to feel like your staying at your friends Asian grandmas house this is the place. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable bed, great and helpful hospitality, 5 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed, great and helpful hospitality, 5 minute walk from shopping centre, numerous and varied dining facilities and a cinema. Short walk to train station to go into Perth.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable, great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The water pressure and temperature in the shower

    The host is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Great value for money. Rooms are clean with all amenities. Very convenient location to all parts of Perth and local shopping centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean and safe place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely comfortable bed. This is not my first time staying here and Theresa replaces the beds regularly. Theresa is friendly and very flexible with breakfast times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable but could be easily improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 6 nights

    TV was not easily visible. I would suggest that it be relocated onto a wall fitting at seated eye height. Smaller bed could be replaced by a convertable sofa/divan. Glass shelf in bathroom could be dangerous. I suggest that it be replaced by a thinner wooden shelf with no sharp edges. The window could be soundproofed/ double glazed to lessen road noise. Having said that, I would stay there again.

    Bed was comfortable and owners were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Exceptional stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was that there was no hot water the morning of my stay. A continuous flow hot water service would be beneficial to the property.

    The whole experience was amazing. Well done guys keep up the good work!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.9
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Double room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is quite average and is served too late (8:30am). If I knew that before I wouldn't book this place. The facilities are quite old (although clean). The acoustic in the house is interesting: you can hear every noise made in the other rooms.

    The host is very friendly and the facilities are clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great place! Very nice family owned B&B. Best place my partner and I have ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Double room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very very friendly staff. The rooms were very nicely kept and in quite good condition with all necessary amenities. Could not have chosen a better plave to stay. It was the nicest place my partner and I have stay at. We just can't praise this place highly enough. Just such a nice family run Bed and Breakfast. A pure joy to stay at.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, homely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming, comfortable and homely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    A cosy and great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel like staying at home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable with all the facilities I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable with all the facilities I needed. Walking distance to shops and cinema.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Staff amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Their was excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Met our needs perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like

    Met our needs perfectly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    My stay at the Palms bed and breakfast was amazing and I'll deffently go back and stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I loved the whole stay.

    The service was excellent, the room was a great size, the bed was so comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    extra comfy bed and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra comfy bed and pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the city, but manageable

    Feels like home... and the pool is a blessing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Great accomodation and host
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Lovey host in Teresa very clean and comfortable, fresh breakfast, close to a lot of amenities and freeway,free wifi, very good value for money .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    A great place to stay shame about the bad weather on arrival that night
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall presentation and cleanliness

    The owners were very friendly and a ideal location for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Good breakfast. Fantastic pool. Very nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.5
    Perfect location. Comfortable room. Friendly and helpful hostess.
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to complain about. Suited all our needsPerfect location

    The very friendly attitude of proprietor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    The place was fine and adequate for our sudden overnight trip to Perth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Had to park on the street

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Will be back one day, and also recommend to others.
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good, bonus, shops and dance venue all within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Proximal to beach, shopping centre and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated.

    Close to our friends and family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Excellence at the Palm Beach Bed and Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Teresa was the most excellent host. Definitely will come here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    happy with all

    Hospitality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Bedroom was very small and road noise was a problem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was very small and road noise was a problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Not far from Perth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not far from Perth

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    It was amazing and I'm coming back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, Everything was perfect!

    The pancakes were delicious! The owner is the sweetest lady, I'm definitely coming again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Great friendly atmosphere, very close to amenties.
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Queen room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast menu could have been better.

    A very friendly place that made you feel welcome. There was everything you needed in a room. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Teresa was so very helpful and friendly- made our stay very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En-suite Twin room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Teresa was so very helpful and friendly- made our stay very welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Cheap accomodation, clean facilities with friendly staff. Not fancy get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • En-suite Double room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Clean accommodation. Met all my requirements.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    An excellent value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • En-suite Single room -with breakfast
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff Very convenient location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    7.5
    Nice that the place is empty in terms od visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could be a bit more varied. Not just jam toast and milk and cornflakes (sometimes as many as ONE WHOLE egg). The area around the house needs a bit od tidying up as it looks slightly messy with lots of things left behind.

    Nice that the place is empty in terms od visitors. Loads od place to swim and have a sunbath. The aircon in the room works great. The place is close to lots pd shops and restaurants and the owner is nice and helpful in terms kf where to go and what to see.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.8
    Lovely place, excellent customer service and warm and...
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about from us!

    Lovely place, excellent customer service and warm and friendly owner makes you feel relaxed and comfortable from the moment you get through the door! Thank you we'll be sure to recommend :)

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    The location was great!
    • Solo traveller

    The location was great! Walking distance to Warwick shopping centre, near the freeway and coastal areas. Not far from Reid Highway and access to the airport. Friendly host.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    I picked this place for the location.
    • Solo traveller

    I picked this place for the location. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Only a short stay but was very happy.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The owner is a really nice friendly Lady and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault anything.

    The owner is a really nice friendly Lady and very helpful. The location is central to everything and it was perfect for what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    3.3
    The weather was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed not made for five days. Being woken by builders at 6.30a. No cleaning done. Special requirements not met.. Had to request necessities, eg coffee, toilet rolls, shampoo, blanket, extra coat hangers. Microwave broken.

    The weather was great

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    9.6
    Teresa a wonderful hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only entrance for everybody was the front door - I found guests and owners coming and going - sometimes late at night then slamming the door a bit disruptive.

    Teresa a wonderful hostess. Beautifully clean. A cooked breakfast. Fantastic bed. Walking distance to a plaza type shopping centre. Beach not far away.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    5.4
    Owner,breakfast and wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All rather shabby needs TLC. Looks as if all the old furniture has been dumped in the room. House position in suburbia isn't ideal.

    Owner,breakfast and wifi

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    10
    Teresa is a gracious, friendly, & helpful hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing realy

    Teresa is a gracious, friendly, & helpful hostess. The accommodation is excellent, without the glitz & glamour - an old world charm, very comfortable for our short stay - breakfast plentiful & nourishing, accompanied by chit chat. Very favourably located for our trip - close to shopping, train,bus, freeway.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.5
    Very homely environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very homely environment

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Very pleasant welcoming hostess
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A little more space in the room would have been welcome

    Very pleasant welcoming hostess

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.3
    Friendly and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and warm

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.8
    Loction
    • Couple

    Loction

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.8
    lady owner was kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rubbish outside bedroom window, place needs updating

    lady owner was kind

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.6
    We were made to feel like honoured members of the family
    • Couple

    Parking was a little bit tight

    We were made to feel like honoured members of the family

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.8
    The hostess was so welcoming, warm and friendly
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like

    The hostess was so welcoming, warm and friendly

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Couple

    Everything. We both love our host theresa she is so fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff. Perfect accomodation for what I needed

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed linen and towels smell of food in room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    7.9
    Next to the cinema complex where we went.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Next to the cinema complex where we went. Easy to get to.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.3
    Convenient to were we were going and nice friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient to were we were going and nice friendly people.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    The host, Teresa really makes sure all her guests are well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to report.

    The host, Teresa really makes sure all her guests are well looked after. She really cares which is nice to see these days.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    the owner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the pillow

    the owner

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    The owner/operator being helpful in re-booking a date...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner/operator being helpful in re-booking a date change. The location being convenient. Very clean and well presented.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Teresa the owner beautiful person very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Teresa the owner beautiful person very helpful

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.3
    The people,where very helpful and friendly, great breakfast.
    • Family with older children

    Not much, only we had one mug for coffee, and there was two of us, that was fine..

    The people,where very helpful and friendly, great breakfast..

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Very welcoming with a homely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very welcoming with a homely atmosphere. Thank you to Teresa, a lovely host.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    3.3
    Dislike the whole setup.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room , bathroom need pain. the bathroom had a bad smell.

    Dislike the whole setup.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.5
    Friendly host and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have liked a bigger breakfast and more variety

    Friendly host and comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    8.8
    The owner know to speech Chinese!
    • Couple

    The owner know to speech Chinese! And very helpful!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    5.0
    Bed but no Breakfast & the fridge was very noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed but no Breakfast & the fridge was very noise.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    Lovely personal service.
    • Couple

    Nil.

    Lovely personal service. Would recommend.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: