Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palms City Resort 3.5 stars

64 The Esplanade, Darwin CBD, 0800 Darwin, Australia

#23 of 85 hotels in Darwin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 823 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Attractive, comfortable, central accommodation. Villas probably better choice over rooms at back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sports bar behind us was loud and raucous until 2 AM, due a soccer match. May be a one-time thing. Room did not have a sitting area inside, just a small table and chairs. Had to wash our own glasses and cups, as housekeeping did not replace them. Parking spaces a bit cramped and limited.

    Lovely swimming pool although small, pleasant tropical garden landscaping, easy access to many Darwin attractions and restaurants. We didn't need to drive anywhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Mid-range accommodation with beautiful location at a reasonable cost.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bungalow room wasn't as nice as pictured. Have seen one before, and I thought that's what i was booking for a nice night away with my partner. Was disappointing. Had i known which room i would get, I simply would have paid more.

    Lovely staff, nice pool and well kept grounds. Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and peaceful place to stay in the middle of the CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Garden Bungalow at Palm City Resort was the perfect place to relax and unwind after a week away camping in Kakadu. Complete with a comfy bed, hot shower and well maintained tropical garden just off the verandah, I couldn't have asked for anymore. The staff were extremely helpful in assisting me to make plans to explore local attractions and events and ensured that the last few days of my holiday were fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Palm City is in an excellent location for sightseeing in Darwin. We found the staff very welcoming and attentive. Our room was available at 12 pm so we could check in early without extra payment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tropical Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like being so close to the road, traffic and passers by, we kept the windows closed all the time. Next time I will ask to be away from the road.

    We liked the way we had our own villa and kitchen area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, pleasant and helpful staff. Comfortable room for a few days stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small glass shelves in the bathroom were really narrow. There was no room to put your own toiletries because of the this. The bathroom door opened onto the shower door, so was a bit awkward; this is more of a design issue. The plastic rubbish bag was left on the floor in the room after cleaning on one occasion.

    The location was great. Central to the bus terminal, town, Deckchair cinema and waterfront. The room was a good size and it was a bonus to have a microwave, toaster and kettle as well as some tea and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was delightful after a hot day of walking and touring. Staff was polite and very helpful with places to see and how to get there. We were able to walk or take the bus wherever we wanted to go. Shuttle to the airport was reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Pool and staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would prefer a bungalow as you have your own space outside ypur room.

    Pool and staff were excellent. Location to centre of town made getting to Greek Festival and restaurants easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad. wouldn't stay there again personally been a local I expected a little more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park system needs to be looked out. Getting out to be let in in not on. . No air con in reception staff in reception a little rude. No friendly hospitality no warmth.

    Location. Comfy bed.. good shower pressure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Rudely woken up by builders on our patio, but a comfy stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that we were checked into a room where the following morning we were woken up by builders drilling the gate right by our patio! We had no warning about this by the reception staff (until 40 minutes after the builders had started working) and were rudely woken up by this on my wife and my wedding anniversary! Very disappointed. If the staff knew workers would be drilling outside our room in the early morning then I can’t understand why they would allow that room to be used by paying guests. Although this was an annoyance, the staff did offer us a free upgrade to another room and a bottle of cheap sparkling red wine, so they redeemed themselves.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for a few days in Darwin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant, only breakfast available.

    Very good situation on the Esplanade in Darwin. Room very comfortable with fridge and tea/coffee. Shady garden setting and pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.6
    overall stay is great, close to the city, but the cleaners are very rude and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the cleaning services ware rude and quite disappointed. when we asked them to come back later for cleaning, they were angry and smash the hotel door. I guess they are Filipinos. once again they were very rude with during we stayed.

    the hotel is very close to the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Smoking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking. We are non smokers and to find our nice cosy verandah was shared with the next door verandah only separated by a lattice screen with two smokers sitting out most of the time meant we couldn't enjoy sitting outside. It would be nice to be asked if you are a smoker or non smoker and have bungalows that are smoke free. We also had to keep our windows closed due to the smell of cigarettes. We couldn't help notice all the ashtrays around the property. Whilst we enjoyed our stay we won't be staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable. Another light blanket in the cupboard would have been handy. A shelf in the shower to place shampoo/conditioner. Smokers on adjoining bungalows verandah.

    Good location. Tropical gardens and bungalow with own verandah. Close to restaurants in the city and the Darwin waterfront just a short walk away. Laundry facilities available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Rooms were good /comfortable and nice outlook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tropical Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gate noise was terrible!!!! If you want to get a decent nights sleep do not accept one of the rooms near the gate! Was woken at 6am to a horrible noise of gates opening and closing all morning!

    Rooms were good /comfortable and nice outlook

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is convenient to stores and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a real shortage of horizontal spaces -- very little room to place your stuff, and no desk for working on the laptop.

    The people working at the desk were very helpful in getting information for tours and coordinating the tours with us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again but request another room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 281 backed on to the Hotel Darwin behind and the noise from the hotel was disturbing. Also the heat pump (?) outside the back window was very noisy.

    Location and Pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Palms City Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to the Centre of town and an attractive location on the Esplanade.

    It also had a laundry and in an attractive setting amongst native gardens and mostly single storey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    nice, very friendly staff, perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bungalow was perfect. WiFi a bit on the slow side. they should really organize a nice breakfast and everything would be nice

    i was lucky and go upgraded in one of the bungalows. Beuatiful. Thank you staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Quite uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely small room with no table space.... no 2 tub/lounge chairs as requested on booking. Very noisy Fri. and Sat nights. Not a comfortable room. Not recommended.

    Only positive was the position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    great location, nice trees and garden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are overpriced avoid buying the breakfast: for 18.5 dollars, there were no eggs, no juice, no bread ... all this is a fairly sad room. With a little effort, much better service could be achieved!

    great location, nice trees and garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay - central yet private, lovely pool + rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing find! Great location near restaurants and in the main city, yet feels very private and tucked away from the city with all the palm trees. Pool was amazing - very warm so lovely to swim even after sunset (lights come on so it's very beautiful too). Huge and very nice room, with lovely terrace overlooking the palms and pool. Definitely recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Parked on street two of the three nites. Unable to park at the rear of reception and not offered any other parking spaces.

    Plenty of room. Had our adult daughter with us as well. Very comfortable, plenty of seating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind

    Great hotel in a brilliant location. Our garden facing room was clean and well equiped and wifi was quick. Resort is well located and everything was a short walk away. The parking was also useful. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay again and would happily recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly. Lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast is disappointing for the price. Would recommend walking out to Mitchell Street, Alley Cats for a more Melbourne style experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Dissappointing and not as good as previous visits - standards have slipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some (but not all) staff members were difficult to deal with. Nigh time noise levels in the bungalows was an issue and staff were reluctant to do anything about it. On site car parking was quite difficult with staff parking taking up too many spaces.

    The hotel is very well located for our purposes and the pool was very much appreciated in the Darwin climate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    good location, basic rooms, perfect place for those spending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good location, basic rooms, perfect place for those spending the day exploring the national parks. The pool was relaxing after a long day of travelling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    First and last time here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's like staying in a $25 backpackers sharing room with strangers, we had a bungalow, pretty small and cramped room, you can hear everything from the room next to you, including their mobile phone vibrating in their side table at 3am, I thought it was mine. I don't get why the sink and fridge [noisy] near to the bed head, the balcony feels same size as the room, plenty of parking spots inside but still the staff don't care and make you park in the street. Do yourself a favor and use that $ and go somewhere else.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely perfect
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more parking

    The hotel and its staff were great. The have fantastic facilities excluding a laundry and beautiful swimming pool. The location is central to the city and walking distance to just about anything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect and the price was really affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Room (Triple)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little hard, but I think that's because I'm used to a very soft bed.

    The location, rooms, pool and staff were great! I loved the gardens and the feel of a little paradise. Much better than staying in a big concrete multilevel building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Darwin is a great place unfortunately the landscape has been devastated by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there when cyclone Marcis hit and I think the resort should have checked on guests and provided two fresh towels to each room once it was over. The paths were not cleared and there was no focus on guest safety which was disappointing.

    We got upgraded to a fantastic bungalow that was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    After cyclone Marcus the hotel did not have clean water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After cyclone Marcus the hotel did not have clean water. The water was brown in colour and we were informed it was unsafe to drink the water by hotel staff. We were given one bottle of water per person and that was it. When I asked if we could have more drinking water we were told by Jason that we had to purchase any additional water. Clean drinking water is a necessity and the hotel should have some available free of charge to the guests. When I conveyed this to Jason he raised his voice and said I was “being unreasonable” and “drinking water is a luxury. It was 45+ degrees and having one bottle of water for guests is grossly inadequate. Jason said “you’ve come to Darwin it’s going to be hot. What do you expect?” The hotel was charging a ridiculous amount for water and Jason said we should just go to the grocery store if we had an issue with the price (it was 9:30pm on a Sunday, all stores were closed). The lack of customer service was appalling. Jason informed us the “hotel did not have a responsibility to provide water with the room and that the toilet water was equivalent to the tap water.” Moreover, the room was dirty and ants were everywhere. You could not leave food out for 2 minutes without it being covered with ants. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Great 4 star Resort in centre of Darwin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good resort hotel, 2 min walk to the bars ,restaurants & main cbd , nice deep pool ,coin laundry onsite bed comfort is good , garden bungalows have bbq on patio , small kitchenette with microwave ,kettle , sink & utensils for cooking & eating , nice tropical garden setting, take the free shuttle to & from Parap market on Saturday

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location Newly Refurbished resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , good value for money , bungalows have small BBQ on patio , comfortable beds , rooms have microwave, kettle , tea & coffe , aircon fan , nice deep pool , coin op laundry onsite , can't fault 'this resort .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, clean, nice balcony, comfy bed, can open...
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the street and lots of morning noise

    Friendly staff, clean, nice balcony, comfy bed, can open windows for fresh air. More personality than a standard hotel room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff were all lovely. They were really helpful and fruendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t overly impressed with the breakfasts. Perhaps more fresh fruits would have been nice. Also my partner witnessed one man in the kitchen being rude to another guest. I did find the rooms quite a bit smaller than expected.

    Lovely tropical garden surrounding the chalets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get our air con to work and it was stifling hot

    The hotel is surrounded by lush green forests and is very private. The rooms are spacious and feel very private. Super close to the centre of town beds comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    It was well located, basic but clean and everything worked and is value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing wrong.

    The facility is very well located for my business contacts and is close enough to the Waterfront and Mall but away from more raucous budget stays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    short stay during wet season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very cramped room

    stayed in a garden pavilion ,it was far too small,no room for suitcases and the kitchen facilities may as well have not been there,just not enough room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    City oasis - perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all great!

    Excellent all round. Booked a quick weekend flying visit to take a break from a new job training in the city. Palms City provided much needed peace, quiet and privacy, with a touch of luxury. So good I'm coming back for a long weekend . Thanks PCR !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    3.8
    requested a room with a spa that was outside and upon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    requested a room with a spa that was outside and upon arrival was only provided with inside spa. was meant to stay two nights, but ended up only staying for one, I wasn't happy paying for a room that didn't have what I requested, wont be staying there again. nothing flash about the room facilities when its meant to be top of the range room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Everything that we needed was there, or it was within...
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything that we needed was there, or it was within walking distance, l would differently stay here again and l wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Just thought by the pictures it seemed a lot smaller in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Hotel Room (Triple)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the price

    Just thought by the pictures it seemed a lot smaller in our room and bathroom. Honestly thought that l had read that breakfast was included.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t affect me, but if I drove I think the lack of secure car spaces would be an issue

    All staff were friendly and welcoming, room was comfortable and sound proof

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    The room and facility were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning is not working well; it took a long time to cool down the room but still not cool enough. The room did not have enough place to put luggages.

    The room and facility were clean. One of the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to Parliment House and Waterside and town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A Luxury Jungle Resort in the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an amazing boutique hotel. Located on the Esplanade park, next to Parliament House. A city block is filled with palms,bushes and other tropical plants, in which are 'hidden' octagonal chalets and a couple of two-storey blocks of rooms. Although it looks and feels as if one is in the jungle, the chalets are built and equipped to a high standard and are very comfortable. The hotel is very close to the main shopping area and is very quiet and peaceful. I very much enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing & enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with out side fan on porch.

    Grat location close to shops & restaurants. Has an awesome pool. Very private with own decent size porch to relax on

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    more than happy with all asects,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    possibly more car parking spots

    we were very happy with every thing. We did however think we had booked the villa style room but we probably presumed and this was not the case.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but make sure you get a decent size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    All 4 pillows were the same. If you have so many please vary the firmness so you get a choice. Housekeeping could have been better. They emptied my bin and made my bed. Touched nothing else for 6 days. Also when I left each day I locked both door and screen door. I came back and only the door was locked. Also even though the garden room had a lovely view it was tiny. Nowhere to put my suitcase so I stood it up next to the bed.

    The reception staff were very helpful. I loved the tropical feel of the whole place. The pool was lovely at night, very pretty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, tropical feel, comfortable and unique rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike about this property.

    This is our favourite place to stay in Darwin. The villas are very private due to clever use of space and foliage. The guest certainly gets a taste of staying in the tropics.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    Won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was a problem which was OK for the first two days when reception staff opened the cable gate to allow access to car park space in front of bungalow. Third day, lady at reception point blank refused access despite space being vacant. Had to park way around back and lug heavy belongings quite some distance. Space remained vacant all that night and was still vacant next morning. It was all too hard for her apparently. Cigarette smoke from adjoining balcony drifted straight into our room so, shutters had to remain closed for the entire stay. On reporting this to reception, I was cheerfully informed..."well, that's Darwin for you". Actually, no...that's secondary cigarette smoke inhalation and is an acknowledged health hazard. We travel to Darwin regularly and have stayed extensively in other establishments. No smoking policies don't seem to be a problem elsewhere. NOT good enough. Now...cockroaches. In the bathroom. In and on the bed. On the carpet. On the walls. Now, as regular visitors to the NT we understand that cockroaches can be endemic and a part of life, but maybe some rudimentary attempt at pest control might be in order? Lastly, we accept that this is rated as above average accommodation, principally to it's location, and therefore we were prepared to pay the above average tariff. We didn't expect, for our above average tariff, to be provided with undersized crappy plastic wine glasses in the cupboard. Plastic. Really?? Sort of rounded the whole experience off...

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Awesome place to stay with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbouring buildings' airconditioner was noisy. Had to carry suitcases up a flight of stairs.

    Fantastic location. Comfortable room. Loved the option of the ceiling fan. Very friendly staff. Great pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator made getting heavy suitcases upstairs to 2nd floor room difficult for two older women. Staff did not offer any assistance. Room had a musty smell when entered after AC had been off. Kitchenette and bath are maintained but older. There was no place for toiletries in bathroom.

    The hotel is in a convenient location. It is just across street to esplanade. Easy walk to restaurants and wharf area. Tour bus picks you up at the door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Great Location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon was abit temperamental either freezing or warm. TV's are way to high in the rooms.

    Comfortable room, for price is well worth it and in a super convenient spot in darwin. Pool area is nice also

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Housekeeping needs a good overhaul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned for the first two days, it was cleaned on request the last two. The dishes used on day 1 were not done during our entire stay. We went out all day got back at 5 and room still not done, the staff come late hoping the guests just want clean towels. People smoking in the pool and around the pool with smoke coming into our balcony while we were trying to eat. The gate says no smoking, should be managed.

    Location, bungalow and pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Uncomfortable
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the room. Having to park away from the room. Smallness of the room.Price difference from the booking site and the hotel site note to self always check dorectly with hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    A good place to stay with nothing to really complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is fairly limited.

    The garden bungalows are small but comfortable. The location at the CBD end of the Esplanade is very convenient for accessing most of the downtown attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Awesome - Darwin is an amazing place and Palm Resort is just the right place to explore it from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. Accept would have been good to have a toaster and more utensils for making a quick meal.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The location is excellent. Room clean and comfortable. Good value for money. Pool area lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Great little tropical inner city gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room (a garden bungalow) was right next to the sliding car gate which was quite noisy. Request a room away from there.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We extended our stay and our friends liked it so much that they booked there too. Great pool area, open 6am to 10pm. Gardens were beautiful and tropical, so much nicer than staying in a boxy hotel! I would definitely recommend the garden bungalows over the hotel rooms, just to have your own private patio/deck area and bbq. Location is superb, just around the corner from Mitchell Street. We will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but good facilities

    Great location. Very nice pool area really nice balcony with chairs and BBQ so abke to sit outside. Surrounded by attractive plants and trees..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Over Priced Will never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was full of ants. For the cost it was small. $295 for the night What they call a hot tub we would call it a bath with bubbles. Noisy from all the drunk people in the park over the road and other guest arguing.. The council cleaning the street with a noisy blower at 8am on a Sunday morning. The aircon was not on when we arrived (36 Degree Day) Fridge not even turned on

    They gave us a late check out. They supplied spray for the ants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay - convenient for the wharf and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi really poor - unable to connect in the room - had to go to reception to use the wifi. Don't whatever you do, use the phone in the room to make short local calls - $5 a time!

    Great place to stay - convenient for the wharf and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Ideal location. Would recommend spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fridge didn't keep things cold.

    Bed comfy. Air conditioner worked well. Great spa & swimming pool. Ideal location close to town. Very good service to room i.e. cleaning of BBQ

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking for all the cars so we decided to stay in for the evening so as not to lose our space in the car park

    We didn't have breakfast included in the booking but great facilities in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value in a perfect lication to explore Darwin.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not working in my room, due to the location.

    Excellent value in a perfect lication to explore Darwin. The staff is wonderful, super friendly and helpful. Room was clean, pool area very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    The location in town, and the location within the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tropical Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy fans in the bathroom and kitchen must be on to use the lights or kettle. I had read this in other reviews but didn't fully appreciate until I got there.

    The location in town, and the location within the resort. Private but not far from the pool etc. if you have any interest in geology you will appreciate the fossilised stromatolites used in the rockery part of the pool! The lovely tropical garden setting was also a highlight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely gardens in very central position, near sea, park, main streets. Excellent staff. best choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entirely happy with whole place.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful. The setting and position are perfect for city centre. Lovely garden and very nice small pool. If coming again this place would be my first choice in Darwin.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    3.0
    Would recommend. Found it helpful you could exit from secure back gate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at reception was amazing and went out of his way to give information and advice and it was helpful that my case was able to be looked after for a couple of hours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, Terrible shower head
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst shower in Darwin (water saving needle point) if your paying good money to stay at least provide a decent shower head. I went home for a shower instead.

    Great garden setting, nice pool and close to CBD

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Good budget accomodation for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool irritated my eyes for hours afterwards Breakfast facilities felt like a school camp

    The palms gave it a nice atmosphere Room clean and functional but basic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovey hotel but my room was noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a superior room, which was convenient as there was a kitchenette. But this type of room is located next to the reception, in a very passing area, so it was quite noisy. I would rather have chosen a bungalow if I had known.

    The hotel is very well kept and confortable. It is well located: close to the main street, the esplanade and the waterfront.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Darwin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To be honest there was nothing I disliked.

    We loved the resort especially the bungalow. We felt we were in a true resort. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff. The location was great across the road from the spectacular view and close enough to restaurants. The pool area was good and never had a problem securing a place to sit. Cannot speak highly enough of the resort and look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    Position was excellent, staff very efficient and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When you pay $245 per night I would expect GLASS wine glasses and GLASS water glasses NOT PLASTIC "glasses"!!!!!!!!!!!!!! VERY disappointed. It also would have been nice to have a view of something other than ten green roofs!!!!!!

    Position was excellent, staff very efficient and helpful, service of rooms very good but .......

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely small tropical hotel/perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Hotel Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real complaints, except that the pool, pretty though it was, was on the small side and could get crowded in the afternoons. Then again, Darwin has a fabulous wave pool just a few blocks away that's great for swimming, and is totally affordable, accessible, and really fun.

    This was a surprisingly lovely hotel, perfectly located in the heart of Darwin, across from the beautiful Esplanade, yet with the feel of a small tropical resort filled with palm trees and garden walkways. There are plenty of fancier places to stay in town (though many look like standard-issue business hotels), but this one had just a bit more character -- perhaps because of its historical roots in the city -- and a nice, welcoming vibe. The rooms are fairly basic but very comfortable, with tons of closet space, a spacious terrace, and a small kitchen area. Again, it's not the Four Seasons. But I enjoyed it more than some of the fancier places I've stayed on this and other trips to Australia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Palms City Resort Darwin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tropical Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be noisy if you stayed near the Mitchell Street pub end of property. No food or drink other than the cafe in the morning. But your close to all that and everyone delivers to your door.

    After three hectic days clambering up and down Kakadu escarpments and living the endless crocodile horrors of the region arriving at Palms City Resort was a total relief. Calming gardens, super friendly helpful staff and a lovely pool were exactly what we needed. Well located on the esplanade .

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palms City Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: