Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 1831 Boutique Hotel (formerly Pensione Hotel Sydney) 3.5 stars

631-635 George Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#114 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1152 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were not good, think an lumpy and the rooms were paper thin so it was very noisy. Rooms are very tiny and the tvs are so high up your neck hurt to watch them in the bed.

    Staff were all quite lovely. The places are very small and clean although they forgot to clean my tea mugs so I just had to wash them in the bathroom sink. They had black out curtains so that was helpful, despite the noise in the corridors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Trio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly Reception , easy check in and out we left our bags there as we were early and when we came back they had put them in our room very obliging staff pleasant happy staff close to everything that we wanted to do

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit hard to find at first - made worse by the roadworks on George.

    The room, whilst the smallest I have ever stayed in (and advertised as such), was spotless and had everything you needed for a comfortable overnight stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there is a good bar and a great informal street-style Asian restaurant downstairs which I'd recommend checking out. For a business trip this suited me perfectly, even though I usually prefer somewhere closer to the Martin Place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not 100% clean. The bedsheets were very thin and the duvet cover came off the quilt very easily making it an uncomfortable night's sleep.

    The location is perfect with Market City, Chinatown and the World Tower Centre round the corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night

    all the roadworks but that is not the Hotels fault

    room was small and comfy just what we needed for only one night. the hotel was surprisingly clean! Everyone was really nice. really good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The structure is suitable for small baggage to be appreciated 100% being structured with long corridors and to be able to reach the central station by walking at the arrival; differently, you need anyway a taxi (15AUD) because of under construction light rail and several detours. Same for the airport which is better to be reached by train (17 AUD in 15 minutes) than by taxi (50-60AUD in 45-60 minutes)

    Perfect location in the downtown at 10 minutes walking to the central station, so as to other landmarks and in the middle of the district of Chinatown, so very well served in terms of restaurants and take away from any possible Asiatic kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue was that it was close to the air-cond on the roof and on the first night that I stayed this was quite noisy but it was fine on the second.

    The room was lovely and very comfortable. The bed was the best I have slept in - better than at home. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Duo
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was getting old, the heater sometimes struggled to function. Bed was two singles joined together, but each side was comfy. Just need to keep way from the middle.

    Clean, modern room. Well stocked amenities. Nice blockout curtains. Decently priced in a nice central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was as hard as a rock! The walls are paper thin and could hear people talking in the room next to us, they woke us up very early.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift was broken during my stay so I had to climb up and down a few floors to get to my room. There was an alternative lift but that was also quite an effort to find. Shower pressure kept going back and forth from practically nothing to very strong pressure and made loud noises.

    The location was excellent, close to everything in Sydney CBD - food, shopping, transport etc. Staff were friendly and willing to help. The room itself was quite small but relatively clean and comfortable nonetheless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night

    No desk in the room but later found the guest lounge

    Great option for guest lounge and eating/cooking/fridge-freezer storage. Could also use space for reading and working. NEar to food (restuarant or purchase) and transport. Good security too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no room for a desk but a desk is the room would be great for business travel. Maybe something that fold up or down??

    Good midweek price. Small room but comfy and quiet. Close to food, central station, Surry hills and darling harbour. No desk if you are travelling for business but sitting up in bed with the laptop can be done! Albeit not for long! Great value room! And comfy big bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small basin with no space to put toiletries. Could easily be fixed with a small shelf on adjacent wall. Desk very wobbly. Power point above desk not working.

    Comfortable bed. Great lication. My room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to fill the kettle under the tap.

    Great location, competitive pricing, hospitable staff, and a very comfortable bed. What more could you want?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First Lift was not working. Bathrooms were not clean. Shower was really bad as hardly any water pressure.

    Just the location is good in the centre of the Sydney City.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY Disappointed ~TERRIBLE hotel 1. Stay 4D3N , first day the old lift no function , second day out of service. Facility too too old 2. No daily cleaning job perfectly, no change bed mattress even dirty already, totally no vacuum the map everyday still egg shell on the map.but change towel everyday 3. Noise barrier totally can hear Beside room talking , not limestone soil only 【Partition Board】 4. No any drinking water, room service answer if want free please boil yourself! 5. Booking under 1831 boutique room display all under 8hotel , but outside signboard under Pensione hotel. Very confusing 6. Noise Wood stair! Very step u up and down the sound YI AH YI AH must come out 7. The bed too soft , uncomfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matchbox
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sensor of the door lock did not work sometime. There was no closet and even no hook to hung clothes on the wall. Air conditioner did not work so that I was forced to wear more clothes at night. No table, no desk...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matchbox
    • Stayed 3 nights

    helpful staff. I had a fall (outside of the hotel while jogging) and required first aid. The staff was responsive and helpful to provide that. Adds a bit of human touch to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door closing at nine pm. I enjoyed the bar downstairs and was worried that the number code would not work? Very petty I know.

    It was a good location, book early and you will get a better price. Staff were friendly and willing to go the extra yard,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft for me . Woke up with a sore back. Aircon was horrendous - noisy and useless but room was stuffy and airless without it on so awake half the night listening to it starting up and shutting down, wheezing. Needs some space in the bathroom to place things on please.

    Staff were really helpful and warm. Location was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Duo
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe double room was smaller than expected but as we got it on a sale rate, value for money was still good. Looks better/newer in the photos than it is. Lift needs an upgrade... wasn't working first day then really slow once it was.

    The location is excellent for public transport access and walkability to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay. Common kitchen/ lounge area is a good space to hang out/ eat dinner. Charlie Chan's bar great staff and good prices and the takeaway Vietnamese/Thai is cheap and good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When staying there with two bigger baggages the room has nearly no space left but we didn't mind much. The only thing that bothered us was the cold air in the room and in the bathroom that came through a vent slot. We also noticed that one of the elevators was out of order twice during our stay.

    The hotel was nicely decorated and we liked staying in the Asian district with its exceptional food and drink offers. Also, the staff easily extended our stay when we asked for it spontaneously.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in the room was very dusty. The bathroom as also small. The shower had no door so it wet the toilet floor. Also, the lift in George St. was not working on the first day of our stay.

    The staff were really nice and accommodating. We got room 102 and it was a decent size for a shoebox room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my room was nothing like the photos on the website. Not sure if i was given and old room that had not been renovated but this was defintely not as adverticed. Nothing boutique about the room. Dirty carpet, very sparse furnishing. No nightstand, just an old chair next to the bed. Reading light abd alarm clock useless as at the other end of the room (no plug anywhere near the bed). Not the modern glossy room as they advertise and definitely not worth what i paid. If they have rooms that have not been updated yet they should make that clear and charge less

    Great location. Train station very close and if you dont mind a bit of walking you can walk up all the way to the opera house in about 20 -30 mins. Staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not as pleasant an experience as last time I stayed. The water pressure in my room this time was woeful, as in was literally drips if I tried to get anything hotter than lukewarm - this wasn't the case last time I stayed, so might just have been the particular room. Also specific to the room - the air conditioner made a loud whistling noise...

    Clean room, well equipped. Friendly staff and very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Table in the room was slightly damaged when checking in, the power outlets were not in the right places for use with electrical appliances. Pass code for the main door at night weren't working.

    Staff were very knowledgeable & helpful with recommendations & directions. They were also very friendly & accomodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't open window. Need to rely on aircon. In general is fine, but in this case the room was small and you could feel a little bit claustrophobic after few hours. I asked for extra chair and did not get one.

    Location Variety of restaurants nearby Possibility for early check in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water would turn on and off by itself. Nothing to fuss about

    Room was nice, bed was comfy and hotel was walking distance to markets and china town. Room was dark which is what you want when sleeping. Staff were lovely!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty Airconditioners which had loads of dust in the vents. Slightly sleazy location. Lots of heavy south east asian cooking smells. Dark decor and tiny rooms and bathrooms. Not the best hotel I ve stayed at.

    Only the central and convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matchbox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty Airconditioners which had loads of dust in the vents. Slightly sleazy location. Lots of heavy south east asian cooking smells. Dark decor and tiny rooms and bathrooms. Not the best hotel I ve stayed at.

    Only the convenience of the central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had only one window, a small window looking out at a communal verandah. It didn't worry me too much as I was only staying one night. Also the mess with the George Street repairs was a slight inconvenience but obviously unavoidable.

    I liked the atmosphere of the hotel and I found the bed very comfortable. It was convenient to everything I wished to attend and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the room space it’s a little bit smaller than we used to stay in other hotels.

    The safety and location of the place. Very convenient to most things in the cbd.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Fantastic staff. Fantastic price! Staff were so friendly and helpful. Rooms and beds were very comfortable, and for the price and location it really is fantastic value for money. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower room with no curtain after shower the bathroom floor almost wet. of course, the mat can be used only single time. the room is quiet just annoy about access’s sounds of next doors.

    kitchen area is convenient and quiet which is very good in the centre of city. The location is very convenient for everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The confined space of the room (shoebox) was a bit too small.

    The windows that could open and let fresh air in was a rare find in city hotels. Also free wifi was fantastic. The lounge was perfect for relaxation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No receptionist or security to welcome guests as you enter the hotel premises

    Accesibility, its location is ideal for 1st timers to Sydney.. Despite the absence of a traditional hotel setting, security is good.. Frontdesk staff are courteous & very accomodating... will definitely be back!♥️♥️♥️

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a hard “piece” right down the very middle. There was no counter in the bathroom to place any toiletries. And it was a wet bathroom that I wasn’t aware of. Also the lighting was very dim which left a gloomy impression of the room.

    Location was great except for the construction on George.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Trio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the convention centre 10 min walk.. and darling harbour. Very helpful staff. Basic rooms but comfortable and clean. The family room sleeps six and this great. We also had room for a cot. Bar fridge was a nice touch! Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matchbox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. When they say “single”room it means a king single bed with bedside table & wardrobe and no room for anything else. However, the bathroom was about the same size as the bedroom and quite roomy.

    The staff were great. The room was clean. Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Trio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow wifi :( although it was good to have free wifi throughout our stay. The air-conditioning was a little faulty but it was fixed on the same day we reported it to the receptionist. The room was a little small but cosy! Fit 3 people just fine.

    The bunk bed was surprisingly comfortable and was clean. The room came with very basic facilities; hairdryer, soaps, iron, electric kettle, but as it's a budget hotel, don't expect bath robes, hotel slippers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matchbox
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very very bad. Disconnections, slow speed, The matchbox is very very small room. If you keep you luggage, you don't have enough space to walk around. The cost for this room was too much considering I booked few months in advance. This hotel is not worth.

    Only the location. It's right across my office building on Sussex Street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was very high but that would have been because of the weekend we picked. I will look at booking again for myself and my husband hopefully on a cheaper weekend!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful! The hotel was very central to all that our group were doing. We were able to store our luggage until we caught our bus which was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a Queen bed as my daughter is very tall and the bed was too smallgreat

    Position was excellent and staff very helpful great stay would recommend to friends and family

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Photos of the property online were not accurate. Loud guests throughout the halls. Amex not accepted at check-out and when asked the staff member unable to say if the hotel accepted Amex or if it was an issue with the terminal.

    The staircase...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the air conditioning drove me crazy. like have tinnitus and couldn't turn it off because would have died from lack of air! the exhaust in bathroom provided the background noise as accompaniment. unfortunately the road upgrades made George street a depressing location. have stayed before for location to theatre etc. but not again.

    hmmmm staff were ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi, though free did not work, our room was a black spot

    Well located to venue, restaurants and public transportation Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keys to get into the room. They were tricky lol. But the staff were lovely and helped me out with that.

    The bed is so nice and cumfy. Shower is awesome. Location is great so close to everything. I stayed on the weekend I thought i would hear the night life and u didn't it was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have a car, the location does not have parking and you can't park out the front of the building due to road works on George Street. The other entrance in Sussex street is terrible for parking to do the drop off. Be careful as there is hardly anywhere to park and parking inspectors are ready to pounce in you park in a loading zone. We got a ticket because we werent warned by the staff when we called. You then have to park your car in a car park many streets away at the Novotel car park. The room was very small but comfortable enough.

    It was in a convenient location for being close to the CBD, cinemas etc. The rooms were OK, but they were small. The place is a bit run down, but overall it wasnt too bad. I am not sure it is worth the money we paid for a night though. The staff were very friendly. It is OK for a one night stay for a business trip etc, but not sure about anything else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked that it was close to the Capital Theatre, Darling Harbour and Paddy's markets. My room was better than I expected, lots of room and a great shower. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the air-conditioning unit in my room to be quite noisy and I would have had difficulty sleeping with this running. Fortunately, as it was not hot during the time of my stay I could turn it off and enjoy a good night's sleep.

    The location in George Street was very convenient, a short walk from Central Station. The room was very clean and there was no noise from the street below or from other guests. Some remaining features of the old building e.g. the lift well and stairs, are interesting and atmospheric.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, however lift was broken, small room perfect for passing by.

    Great location, however lift was broken, small room perfect for passing by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Duo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong location within city as construction works going on re upcoming tram line. Too many homeless/ beggars in area. Lifts didn't always work as cards didn't always work to get access. Worst place I have ever stayed and $300 per night was ridiculous. Many overseas people were there for an upcoming cruise and it was embarrassing being an Australian. Am happy to debate this with any representative

    There was nothing to like. Rabbit warren trying to get to rooms ? Up and down stairs within each floor. Rooms too small as no where to place 2 bags.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt cigarette smoke in hallways. Carpets need a good clean. The lift broke when we arrived. Wife and kids were stuck. Staff did their best.

    Room did not smell. Good air conditioning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the room. Open the door with it hitting the bed. Little room to move. Aircon sprayed water out. Bed was as hard as a rock. Floor was creeky.

    Nothing about the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Duo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately only one tiny rest room at the guest lounge, that was not clean. The guest lounge could have been more clean.

    The room was very nice and clean, the staff is great and the location is really central. Only a few minutes walk to central station and to the QVB.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had an odour when we first entered, after awhile it was gone. The lift was very small, 2 trips for all of us but not a big deal.

    The size of our room was great, we had 5 in our room and the beds and bunks were comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Duo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful entry esp with roadworks in George St, pokey reception area. Guest lounge smelt very strongly of cooking odours. Room was ok.

    The handy position to Central Station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a bad back so a firmer mattress would have been appreciated. Thats a personal choice, not a recommendation.

    To find a family room is vey hard at the best of times. The hotel was great, easy to find, lovely staff. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Trio
    • Stayed 1 night

    A trio room for extra $ and only towels for two. Common areas hot & stuffy. Breakfasts treats for 'special' guests. Yelled at for helping myself (no sign)The cost of room justifies a simple breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building, stairs, and the towels were small and there were only two tiny towels in a room with a double bed AND bunk beds. Also, there is massive construction going on so finding the parking was impossible...

    The location is perfect as it's RIGHT ACROSS THE ROAD from Murphy's (they do Karaoke on Wednesdays) It's easy to get to and walking distance from the harbour, the hotel is also very quiet and it's a good sleep. The room was massive and I loved the bathroom amenities! Good quality shampoo/soap/etc makes such a difference!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls VERY thin - heard next door's water tapping, hear movements upstairs - was really bothersome. Also, the mattress has sagged.

    Centrally located

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Duo
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a room for someone with a disability ( wheelchair) and the shower was too small to accommodate them we were told it was an easy access room and entrance on George street not good for wheelchair needs a ramp

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the hospitality and the practicality of the room was absolutely worth the money. Hotel is in a heritage building and I just loved the whole quaintness of it. You walk out and can find restaurants, cafes etc. Metro is about 8 mins walk. Will definitely recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    close to Central train station so easy to reach from airport and out of Sydney trains. Nice room with air con but also windows we could open for fresh air. Very close to China town and easy walk to Darling Harbour. Very pleasant helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was inadequate, dropped out continually - I advised one other international customer to walk up the street to the QVB which had a generouse wifi system and multiple power outlets for recharging phones etc for all people in the (shopping centre) huge building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matchbox
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi dropped in and out but not an issue for me.

    Great room for one person. In a really good spot with Central and Town Hall train stations very close by. Air conditioner was great for the hot weather. Good value for money for a private room in CBD.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con was very noisy and the bathroom was large BUT not functional at all. The shower was right next to the toilet with no divider, so you had to wipe everything down before going to the toilet. There was no vanity,but a silly little basin in the corner that was so low and had a long mixer lever that you poked your eye out with. No hooks to hang clothes on. One tiny little shelf on wall.

    Bed was comfortable and the room was big enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleanliness, comfortable bed, good linen, friendly and co operative staff. Parking close by at Capitol square and reasonable cost. Hotel great value for money in middle of city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though public transport 10 minutes walk away, it was not always so easy due to roadworks and crowds.

    It was a cosy little room, but very comfortable. Nice shower. Good bed, good air conditioning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Duo
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was broken but was fixed next day. Did loose one night sleep bcoz of tat. Wifi was not satisfactory too. But not complaining. Receptionist was curious to take feedback which we appreciate.

    Service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food served. Is really just a chilled and comfortable base to stay but there's lots of nice cafes and take aways so it's no issue!!

    Nice and chilled

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front lift is a shocker, and access to rooms a bit confusing.

    Overall very comfortable....external look not encouraging, but facilities good once inside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much not to like. The elevator was a bit shaky and old.

    The location and the architecture of the hotel. The room we had was the "Trio" the room was big and comfortable and there was plenty of room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Shoebox
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odd smell in our room but after opening the windows for 8 hours most of the smell went away. Also the water in the shower was either cold or super hot.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn't Very nice, lots of homeless, smelled very bad of urine, didn't feel safe walking around at night.

    Hotel was beautiful inside, lots of character. They have done a lovely job with the place. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: