Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Tasmania hotel reviews
  4. Cradle Mountain hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Reviews of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

4038 Cradle Mountain Road, 7306 Cradle Mountain, Australia

#3 of 5 hotels in Cradle Mountain

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1972 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meal at the more casual restaurant wasn’t particularly pleasant. We didn’t eat there again.

    Everything! Wombats wandering around the grounds on the edge of a national park, our cabin, location, wombats, the food in the main restaurant, wombats - it was amazing! Did I mention the wombats??

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    9.2
    Highly recomended. Take some basic food supplies yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant at lodge variable. Some meals good. A few really terrible (eg fennel soup).. They need fewer dishes but high quality at all times. The bar food was only passable. On site general store overstocked with useless tourist items and understocked with basic food items.

    Convenience ro fantastic scenery. Roomy accomodation.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    6.3
    The location of the property is fantastic and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, we felt that the property was very tired and run down and in desperate need of refurbishment. The per night price did not represent value for money and the rooms that we stayed in both had cob webs and exceptionally dirty windows. Cleanliness is one thing that cannot be compromised or excused. In comparison to the standard of accommodation across the country, Cradle Mountain Lodge is falling behind.

    The location of the property is fantastic and the staff were attentive, friendly and pro active. We had an issue with our first room and were shifted on our 2nd day. The manager and staff dealt with this accordingly and compensated us to our expectations.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    7.5
    Beautiful location but a bit tired and overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The very high room rate did not equate with the very tired decor of the chalet and a significant need for refurbishment, eg old rather grubby carpet, torn flyscreen, badly blocked bathroom sink, broken iron. There were little of the personal touches or added comforts that you would expect, eg bathrobes would have been very welcome.

    The location is beautiful, lovely nearby short walks. The fireplace in the room was very welcome on a cold day, and set up for easy lighting. Good sized room (tradional spa chalet) with a big bath. It was also handy having facilities on hand for eating and drinking.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.6
    Terrific family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Looking a bit dated

    Great location, abundance of wildlife, heaps of surrounding walking tracks, great food, superb staff, in particular Steve, great as a guide around Dove lake and for an introduction to fly fishing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfriendly & unhelpful staff. The buildings need a serious facelift. Dirty dishes at the breakfast buffet. It is a 3.5 star charging 5 star prices.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.6
    Fabulous scenery , perfect accomodation - the highlight of our Tasmanian Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    Amazing scenery & wildlife - both Tasmanian Pademelons (very small wallabies) & wombats right outside our chalet & also lucky enough to see an echidna on one of our walks. Wonderful & varied walks to suit all abilities followed by a very welcome afternoon tea with the manager - a very personal touch - both extremely enjoyable & interesting - thank you so much. We stayed in the pencil pine chalets with balconies which were perfect - rustic/ in keeping with the surroundings but with all the modern facilities. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Tasmania!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi didn’t work in the lodges.

    Excellent location. Food was incredible. A great layout during breakfast. Also, the staff were really accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    4.6
    Overpriced and not well managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were mostly sterile and not very attentive to the guests with the exception of a handful of wait staff. Place lacked atmosphere, the lounge area was cold and needs more livening up. The tours and the accomodation was way overpriced - just not worth it. Accomodation of that price is usually accompanied with personal touches, friendly trained staff and a warm atmosphere-all of which were lacking.

    The location was good and so was the fireplace in the room.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.2
    AMAZING! Easily my favorite Hotel experience in Tasmania!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices in the restaurant were pretty expensive.

    AMAZING Breakfast was included, it was super busy though but they kept re stocking items on the buffet. Check in staff were friendly and helpful. Also there IS no better place to stay at Cradle Mountain! It is the closest to the national park AND they have an abundance of wildlife to see.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    6.7
    Location 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    the floor was VERY creaky. NO TV?!?!?! the fly screen didn't actually fit the window so you can't open the window without flies coming in

    Location 10/10

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor value for money, expensive and not worth what they charge for. The food in the Tavern is poor, take away quality at fine dining prices. No bathrobes provided even though we asked, it is a cold climate and they would be welcome. I felt they catered for the masses as it is busy with foreign visitors, what a poor impression they must have of this lodge and hopefully not of Australia as a whole. The coffee is terrible, the cheapest machine they could have bought. In fairness we did not eat in the fine dining restaurant, but after what we experienced in the Tavern we were not game and cancelled our Christmas lunch and went for a beautiful walk instead. The Nationa Park is absolutely beautiful, pity about the Lodge.

    The staff and the service provided by them. The position and the beauty of the park.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    8.8
    I like its close proximity to the visitors ‘s Centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No WiFi in the rooms and free wifi at public area is bad. We had to turn on our own private WiFi

    I like its close proximity to the visitors ‘s Centre and the short hikes. Plenty of wildlife around . I love the “fireplace “ in the room!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    5.0
    Peppers this property is a disgrace. Fix it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pick a different property. It was so bad for the star rating. We upgraded to the better room, my goodness would hate to see the basic. The bed was a double at best and so old the springs were coming through. We left after one of our two night stay. Definitely would not recommend for $400 per night.

    The area is beautiful and the wildlife amazing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    6.7
    The atmosphere is nice but they need better service to justify the cost of your stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the bar and both restaurants were terrible. At the bar, there was never anyone there for service. In the restaurant, we were served the wrong food for the first course and my second course arrived uncooked. In the The front desk staff gave us the wrong information about what we needed to go to Dove Lake. We showed up at the shuttle stop without shuttle tickets which meant we had to get back in our car and drive to the visitor's center to purchase them, which we were not informed of when we asked the front desk staff how to get to Dove Lake. The front desk staff did not relay my request to the spa and when I called the spa in the morning to confirm I was told all of the appointment times were taken. I came to Cradle Mountain in part to experience the spa. The pub restaurant forgot to put in our order and when we asked about it after an hour they informed us the kitchen was closed and we would need to eat something off the menu from the other restaurant. There was never an apology or an offer of a discount for our food. It took another 40 minutes before we received something to eat. For the amount they are charging per stay, the food and the service needs to be significantly improved.

    The devil's bar was warm and cozy. The breakfast in the morning was well appointed. Our gas fireplace was wonderful in the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    5.0
    Average location beautiful staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking information in my guests name & was not corrected up grade useless made my stay more difficult and further away from my family requests not met

    Quiet clean Loved the nature surrounding some staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The choice of food is rather limited.

    Great location and the room was clean and comfortable. Nice fire place in the room. Very close to nature. Wombat and echidna and pademelon were spotted near our cabin. What a bonus !

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    Lodge was an excellent place to stay in the amazing Cradle Mountain. Great walks around the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa bath was difficult to operate. Bed was too hard.

    We were upgraded to pencil pine spa cabin. The walks around the lodge were excellent. GM had an afternoon tea which was a lovely gesture and a way to meet other guests.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi is only available at the main reception building.

    Amazing! Location is great, there is a few walks that you can take right beside the reception building. We saw wombat & wallaby right outside our lodge! Great selections at the breakfast buffet with very fresh ingredients. Room is clean and well maintained, the fire place kept us warm during the cold weather. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Really lovely accommodation in the perfect location right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really lovely accommodation in the perfect location right next to a bus stop to take you directly to the walks. We also saw lots of wallabies and wombats around the accommodation which was a bonus! Highly recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture in room could use an upgrade.

    Perfect location for visiting the national park. Wombats just outside the window! Great breakfast. Had dinner at the Taverna twice, good quality food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    Nice and friendly staff, comfortable spaceous room, high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and friendly staff, comfortable spaceous room, high quality food and service in the restaurant and in the tavern, a lot of wombats and wallabies within the lodge area, the vicinity to Dove Lake - a fantastic and unique place!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    I stayed in a spa room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have started at 6:30 am for the benefit of those who wanted to get on the trail earlier.

    I stayed in a spa room. The forest view from the private Jacuzzi was amazing. The balcony was great!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    did not enjoy and will not return to this lodge when i visit cradle mountain again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi in the main restaurant. Even wifi in the lounge area was poor signal and I could not check my email or setup my new phone. expensive lodge for what it provides. the rooms are dated with very basic shower facilities. poor facilities for what you pay for a premium lodge. the spa facilities were extremely expensive 120 dollars for a couple for 1 hour of bath ? that's a rip off overall too expensive for what it offers

    the breakfast and location was excellent the enchanted garden walk was good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.7
    Location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Billy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I understand you are paying for the location and a nature experience, but for the price basic maintenance and cleanliness should be better.

    Location is amazing. You are in the middle of one of the most well known natural places and it never disappoints.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing time at Cradle Mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing time at Cradle Mountain. Lodge is great. Good breakfast. Meals in tavern good standard. View from our room was great. Lots of beautiful walks to do straight from the lodge.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    5.4
    I felt very disappointed with the value of the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cabin location, very worn out curtains, very dirty windows and fly screens, front steps full of bird droppings and badly worn (damaged) both coffee tables were damaged, cushions flat and very smelly, floor boards creaking very loudly through most of the cabin, felt the room was over priced for the age and date of the complex!

    Location, breakfast, meals OK not brilliant...

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.1
    Position, comfort, staff went out of their way to assist,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was most expensive accommodation of the trip. Would stay again though only for a few days

    Position, comfort, staff went out of their way to assist, all amenities u needed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    The pencil pine cottage with spa upgrade was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The pencil pine cottage with spa upgrade was excellent. Location so near to the park. Facility was excellent and cosy. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Everything was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The day bed wasn’t made up, (the assumption that two people were going to be sharing the double bed) I’m sure however if I had said something the staff would have arranged for it be made - but I made do with the spare doona and pillows that I found in the cupboard.

    Everything was amazing. The food, the surroundings, the employees.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    6.7
    Great location but average facilities and service - expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charged 2 dollars for washing powder - free at peppers in Launceston. Bar staff - not helpful about gin forgot lemon in both didn’t bring to table Bar closed for a wedding one night Expensive and needs to up the standards of service Popular with large groups on coach tours

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed, luxurious atmosphere and close to nature. Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little high in price, and it would have been nice if the fire was going in the room upon arrival, but these are minor things and understandable for the location and safety.

    The balcony looking out onto the trickling lake was divine. Very relaxing atmosphere and felt luxurious and needed after a long hike at Cradle. Couldn't be closer to the park entry gate! The nature walks around the resort are gorgeous!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Comfortable haven in Cradle Mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) location - close to the park and the walking tracks 2) very good facilities - comfortable and clean rooms, good food options3) warm and helpful staff. Would specifically mention Avi and Simon whi were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    Glad we stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'm short and found the bathroom basin was too high. It rained and there was no umbrella so had to drive to reception/restaurant from our chalet.

    Loved the chalet and the location. Enjoyed the cd and warmth and ambience of the gas heater. The Lodge was warm and welcoming with lovely staff and large open fires. Peppers food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.5
    It wasn't long enough. Only had 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The nature outside our cabin, staff on arrival and check out,beautiful cabin, ate at bistro which was excellent with great service, freaky in restaurant was great too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Loved this place. Wombats galore and beautiful scenery. Definitely worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I could fault was the room got too hot with the wood fire.

    Loved the wild life and cabin was really nice. Staff were very friendly and they even sent up a staff member with chocolates as it was our Wedding Anniversary the day we checked in. They also booked on the "Dine with the Devils" after dark tour for us.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Location is fantastic after a long walk around the Cradle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor would do with an update. For the price I would’ve expected more upmarket bathrooms in the pine cabins. wifi is only on the main lobby and is quite slow.

    Location is fantastic after a long walk around the Cradle Mountain National Park. Food in the Highlands restaurant was lovely and staff pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.8
    Good and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink in the bathroom was rectangular and a bit too high even I am 5"4

    Staffs are friendly, environment is cosy, food is nice, room is clean and the shower is good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.9
    Was lovely the walks were amazing and the wild life amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a little bit tired starting to show their age. Balcony wood needs attention!

    Location was amazing but by the pics we thought it was on a lake, a little bit deceiving ,loved the music in the room!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced & overated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very close to each other, meaning you could hear both rooms on either side. You felt like you had to talk quiet otherwise they could hear you, lots of banging around. The spa was a 1 person spa... considering we paid extra for a spa cabin we were not happy. The price for the room is quite extravagent for the condition.. no wow factor and lots of things to improve on. The shower head was not sturdy and kept falling off whilst showering, the shower door was not made properly to allow for the shower mat to sit outside the shower. No cutlery in the room to allow us to cut up cheese for our platter we wanted to have. The mattress was quite springy. The car parking outside the rooms was squishy for 4 cars for the 4 rooms. One room was forced to park right in the bushes to allow room to get out.

    The room was cute & cosy with the warm fire.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    The staff are friendly, Aimie the waitress was great, food was great. Excellent washing facilities!😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No microwave

    The location was perfect for the purpose of our stay. The rooms don't have any cooking facilities not even a microwave. As I have a two year old this proved difficult when it came time to hear her food.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    Loved being within nature & serenity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Billy Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gift shop was a little disappointing. Thought they’d have more souvenir stuff.

    Celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. The complimentary bubbles & goodies were a treat. Great room, great set up. Will need to bring kids. They’ll love the walks around the precinct.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.3
    Stunning location and lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For families - the place was full of families yet no room had more than a single child’s bed. The second bed was a budget 10 year old creaky thin fold up stretcher bed. With families constantly staying here, it is time to get some permanent real beds for the room. No sleep for the family from creaking.

    Stunning location and view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.6
    The cabin is clean & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My friend stayed in cabin 80, inconvenient with long wooden stairs before entering the cabin. No good for big luggage.

    The cabin is clean & comfortable. We went with our daughter, total 3 persons, got upgraded to a bigger cabin. We saw a wallaby watching us at my cabin door twice. So lovely & cute. We also met a wombat. Breakfast very good. Staff helpful & friendly. Food in Highlands average but staff very polite & cheerful. If I visit cradle mountain next time, I will stay here again. .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.9
    Stuff service n hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was so dirty n cleaner wasn’t clean properly left dirty towels in the room No wifi in the room was so sad

    Stuff service n hospitality Afternoon tea and breakfast was great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, a bit too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The got a good deal on my room compared to what I saw on other sites, but I still think it was overpriced. The fridges are stocked with a bunch of their stuff for you to buy and no microwaves available.

    The location was great. I enjoyed the trails through the property. The fireplace is a nice touch. The breakfast had a lot of options. For people that cannot be without their phones, use Telstra service while here. I was told I wouldn't have any service, but I had 3G almost the entire time. Free laundry services was awesome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location but looking a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the amount you pay each night, facilities need to be upgraded & you should not have to pay extra for a cappuccino when breakfast included in room rate!

    Location was perfect with wombats at your front door

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpful, polite and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very helpful, polite and cheerful. The facilities were very good. The area was absolutely mind blowing. I loved the fact there were no tv's in the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Had a great time and the facilities at the lodge were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The cabin was quiet and easy to access. The wallaby with a joey in her pouch on the back porch was a bonus. The log fire was very romantic and better than watching TV.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Loved the wombats.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was in need of an update. Curtains need replacing and many cracks in basin in bathroom. Very disappointing for a Peppers Resort.

    This property was set in a wonderful position with great walks and an abundance of wildlife.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.6
    Cosy Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bring a good book to read and enjoy the opportunity for a digital detox! We were slightly surprised by the lack of TV and wifi, but there are so many beautiful walks that it's easy to forget about. The room is beautiful - spacious and cosy, with a lovely gas fire. Bathroom was nice and functional, food at the Tavern was also nice. The beef cheek penne comes highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    An amazing stay, would recommend it to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing location, atmosphere at the lodge, little extras at no cost, champagne and nibbles on arrival, chocolates on the pillow, complimentary port, plunger coffee. Beautiful well constructed walks around the lodge, plus the beautiful wildlife.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    6.7
    For the price paid it certainly wasn’t up to the standard I was expecting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mini fridge was ridiculous. Only 6 inches deep, absolutely no room to put anything. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable.

    Close to some very beautiful tracks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our stay at Cradle Mountain and will certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fireplace didn't draw, possibly because it is not being properly cleaned between guests or between days to keep the cabin warm. Better attention to cleaning as we found one of the side tables covered in dust and the area near the port sticky from a previous guest.

    The seclusion of the cabins was wonderful. The location of the resort is without comparison and the services, if you choose to select them, offer a wide range of ranger and personal excursions and activities. The setting is simply amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly creatures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The man who checked us in.

    The close proximity to Cradle Mountain. The fake fire a nice touch when you arrive to your room. The native animals wandering around. The laundry facilities great especially the dryer. The two ladies at reception after I had checked it were helpful and friendly unlike the man who checked us in. I found him to be quiet rude and not very informative about what the place had to offer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot water - need a bit of time to get hot water No wifi in the cabin

    Staff are friendly, Cabin is spacious Location is good Few tracking spot around Love the environment Breakfast is excellent Spa is good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.5
    enjoyable but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    very expensive, did not like that hotel wanted to charge exorbitant surcharge on credit card payment - not pleasant for a self pro-claimed "luxury" experience.

    fantastic location, good food in restaurant, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    7.1
    The location and walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in cabin no 57. spa bath is for single person only, which was disappointing. In room amenities excluded knives, forks and plates, so when you buy food from the store, you’ve got nothing in the room that’s useful. No outdoor table. We spent most our room time outside, chalets next to us had them. There were many new staff, and many staff who couldn’t put a smile on their face. Tours and event info is difficult to find unless you see reception - leaving out flyers or making better info online would be good. I think there’s an underinvestment in the rooms.

    The location and walks. Bar man was lovely in the tavern, food there was ok too, as were the breakfasts. Bed and linen was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.8
    Picturesque location next to nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understand that due to remoteness Cradle Mountain Lodge is located, it was not advisable to have electric blankets in the cabin. I was not sure how else you can improve on this. But, as a parent, I always love to have my children warm - thanks for the additional blankets nonetheless. Again, because for the children, I will like to suggest that you could add another shower head instead of rain shower head type, just a suggestion.

    Located near the Cradle Mountain Reserve was one of the bonus on why we chose this place. There had been mixed reviews and thus we took our chance. I had a total of 6 of us traveling in group - two elderly parents and a family of four. The lodge did not have a 3 room unit; but they were able to arrange us not too far from each other. The staff was superb positive and helpful despite the crowd too. In the evening, we realised we had not had enough blankets as the children room did not have electric blankets - the staff walked all the way over to bring us two thick blankets. The family pine cabin was excellent place too - we caught sight of rainbows twice after some slight drizzle. We ever had wallabies visiting us right out our cabin! My parents in law's cabin had wombats crawling around. What a wonderful way to be close to nature.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.9
    The location near the park entrance was a bonus and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi is shocking. We knew it was not available in the rooms but in the main lodge areas, the reception was extremely poor even by Tasmanian standards. Down the road in another lodge the reception was much better and so it shows that Peppers needs to upgrade their system. Coach parties us this lodge and so in the evening, the lounges tend to get swamped. The menu of the tavern needs to be improved with more choice and variety, including healthier options. Wine in the mini bar and shop is disproportionally expensive.

    The location near the park entrance was a bonus and there are also short walks with wildlife around the lodge . The traditional cabin with spa bath works well and you have views into the forest and can see wildlife. The breakfast buffet was very good with European and Asian options.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    6.7
    Great location near Cradle Mountain - good cabins which were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few things: Thought we were ripped off re price. When we booked through booking.com we payed over $400 a night. As we found out from the staff we could have rang up or driven in and booked the same room for $275! Over 3 nights that is substantial. Breakfast menu was outstanding - couldn’t fault it but dinner menu at bistro was limited in regards to any healthy choices. Great meals if you needed to put on weight or hadn’t eaten all day! Definitely gave you plenty of food which was good for what you paid. Staff were really friendly and overall tried really hard to please. When you employ some overseas tourists, backpackers that have limited time in the country - it is extremely difficult to have the expertise to inform re a wilderness area. This is very important when dealing with tourists or visitors. The staff who lived in the area and knew the area were great. Good example of a question which justifies my point. ‘ What would you recommend as the best way to travel by car back to Launceston?’ Obviously locals know - backpacking jobseekers have little idea!

    Great location near Cradle Mountain - good cabins which were very spacious but are getting s little tired. Views of lake, bush land and flora and fauna was brilliant. Loved the walks around the lodge.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.4
    Location great, food very expensive but delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lodge and rooms are quite dated with cheap finishes (unexpected for price point). Rollaway bed was horrid to the point that we needed to remove the mattress and place on the floor. We went with expectation of fishing and biking - neither of which were available on the days we were there (bikes all under maintenance?!).

    Location great, food very expensive but delicious. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was really uncomfortable and accomodations was really expensive, certainly not luxury cabins, clearly limited accomodation in the area and taking advantage of this.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    10
    Absolutely beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the room over looking the Forrest. The electric fireplace was a nice touch and having no tv was really nice. The tavern was nice for dinner and breakfast was very yummy!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    8.8
    Memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location! Loved the huge roaring fires in the lodge and the fireplace in our room.Loved the location and its accessibility to walking trails. . Is a little pricy though.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.8
    Great location, but I wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is tired. I paid $560 for a night and it was just ok. Seriously, it needs some work.

    I liked Dove Lake and I liked my steak in the restaurant. The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Loved the fire in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Loved the fire in the room Loved the spa bath Loved the location Loved the food Loved the Serenity Spa package The walks were amazing. The whole experience was brilliant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    An amazing place in the middle of pristine wilderness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some prices of simple foods (eg burgers and sandwiches) were too much.

    The happy, friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast. Great log fires with cosy lounges.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    The accommodation was great, loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One meal in the main restaurant wasn’t particular enjoyable. It was our 30th wedding anniversary and we felt a little let down. I expected a fine dining experience given the cost of the meal but it was less than fine dining with service and the meal. Breakfast was ok but only scrambled eggs offered. The bistro food and service however was great and we enjoyed lunch and dinner the next day and enjoyed the atmosphere.

    The accommodation was great, loved the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay at Cradle Mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a negative, as it was expected for a lodge in a wilderness area, but the dining options are very limited. There are two restaurants onsite - the Highland Restaurant was a little expensive, although the portion sizes were large; the pub food at the Tavern Bar and Bistro was more reasonably priced.

    Very clean and comfortable cabin overlooking the lake, with arm chairs in front of the gas fireplace, a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. The lodge is a lovely place to hang out, with two big fireplaces and lots of armchairs and sofas in which to relax and read a book, or use the wifi. Wombats and pademelons roam all around the lodge and the cabins, which makes for some lovely close encounters. Overall a very good digital escape (no mobile signal, no TV, etc). We arrived during sunshine, we awoke the next day to rain which turned to sleet, then snow, and then awoke the second morning to 15-20cms of snow.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing. Restoring and will definately visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Contemporary Chalet with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tavern environment was out dated and unpleasant to be in. The food for dinner on offer in the resturant and the tavern was disappointing. Limited and overpriced

    Great breakfast. Amazing staff. Restoring and energising environment

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    Absolutely exquisite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    The staff were lovely and really went above and beyond to make our honeymoon stay just perfect. The Highlander Restairanr was incredible, and so was the breakfast the next day, which was included in our stay. The surrounds are absolutely breathtaking with walks leaving from basically our front door! The room was exquisite with a gorgeous fireplace and spa bath. Thank you for the bottle of champagne and complementary upgrade for our honeymoon!! The chef also wrote "congratulations" on our dessert plates :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cradle Mt Lodge had everything we needed only thing was the rain but it was the season for it.

    Breakfast was delicious. Our room and bed were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.1
    It was a beautiful piece of the wilderness environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furnishings of our pencil pine cabin were tired and appeared to be in need of an upgrade.

    It was a beautiful piece of the wilderness environment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location, the grounds were stunning with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pencil Pine Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit pricey, especially the restaurant but to be fair the food was delicious - the tavern was a bit overpriced however for what it was

    Beautiful location, the grounds were stunning with lots of nice walks and couldn't get closer to the national park. Staff were lovely, had the fire on in our room for our arrival which was much appreciated and a lovely touch as very cold out! Food was excellent, bed was really comfy, perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: