Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pinctada McAlpine House Broome 4 stars

55 Herbert Street, 6725 Broome, Australia

#10 of 24 hotels in Broome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old pearler captain’s house with lovely furnishings, amazing breakfast, just round corner from good eating options (Matso’s)..so far removed from other big standard hotel options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff up with one extra night booking.com bookings due to mis-commuication- ended up with an over-payment for one room night.

    Great place to stay for our group of 12 friends to round off a 3 week Kimberley trip. Close to the airport and easy walking distance to Town Beach, Chinatown and other attractions. Town bus stop at the end of the street was also useful for getting to Cable Beach and around town. Wonderful breakfast each morning at the big table - felt like staying with old friends. Wonderful service from Renaldo and Marilynne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Loved the character of the house and all interesting paintings and furniture. Ronnie was a lovely helpful smiling host who cooked yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Lovely & quiet as there's only 8 rooms.Beautiful breakfast room with a delicious breakfast and great coffee served each morning.Our host, Marlynne was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some areas of the house are looking a bit tired but it is a very tough environment in Broome.

    This really is what one expects from a B&B. Breakfast at the table with the other guests, sitting around the pool with your own drinks in your fridge. The owners dog is so well behaved that you cant help but love him & free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving

    Loved the old house and sharing its history. Fabulous rooms/pool/breakfast. Staff were unbelievable, and genuinely interested in their guests and needs. Service could not be faulted, and the best we have encountered over many years of visiting Broome. Our only disappointment was not finding this place 15 years ago--we will be back. Thanks to Marilynne and Ronaldo. Rating in excess of 10.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to have tissues in the bathroom.

    Very warm welcome, small intimate property, excellent breakfast, dining with other guests, general ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does need a little maintenance

    Such a pleasant change from all those hotels with the same stark firnishings. Charming boutique hotel feels like stepping back into the past. Such a pleasant environment to while away some time out of the midday heat. Thank you Marilynne and Rinaldo for making us feel so welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • McAlpine Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A wonderful stay and the owner and staff were 5 star, very helpful and breakfast was a special time of the day , meeting others and hearing their holiday stories. It was a great way to start our Kimberley trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shutters broken, no tissues, very tired, sheets old. I'm am aware property is very old & maintenance is difficult & expensive but room rate is very expensive for what you get here. Pillowcases not ironed. Outside of property very tired. Non friendly welcome by one staff member. Other friendly. I seemed to be a bother. Are my expectations too high? I had always wanted to stay here but should have read reviews.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have towels changed once during our four night stay. Water took a long time to get to hot in the bathroom.

    Staff, location and own balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The greeting from the owner on arrival, very abrupt and unhelpful, suggested that we should pay for an extra 3 hours as we wanted to book in before 3pm even though our room was ready. The room was poorly furnished, dirty bathroom, no carpets or rugs on the floor, only one bedside cabinet, creaking floor boards. Very overpriced for what you got. The breakfast was listed as continental, all we got was a choice of 2 cereals and a fried egg on toast, no fruit as you would expect, second morning mushrooms on toast. However the lad on duty at breakfast was very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in bathroom

    The boutique nature. Having breakfast at same table wuith other guests as only 8 rooms. Share tales of adventures ETC. Meal prepared by staff always excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • McAlpine Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet was rather slower than we are used to?

    Breakfasts were wonderful! A real old world feel - mixing with the other guests over breakfast was fascinating, to find out where they were from, what they were doing, who they were. A really interesting bunch of people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pinctada is a boutique, historic property, but with a unique blend of excellent modern facilities, set in a lush tranquil garden in the centre of Broome, on the edge of the Kimberley desert. The owner and staff are superb and went out of their way to make us feel quite at home. The meals were delicious, too and we tasted pearl meat for the first time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • McAlpine Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor- the end post of the four poster bed interrupted the line of vision to TV.

    * The personal interest shown to us by the owner. * The interaction with other guests during the shared breakfast. * The history of the accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This property is unique. Any change would be a retrograde step.Old world charm

    Quiet relaxing site. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were never just a "room number" but were treated as individuals, almost like family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The owners and Manager (Ronaldo) make this the best place to stay in Broome. Nothing is too much trouble and your stay will be so unique. This little gem is like a home away from home. If you want to feel part of the area and feel relaxed and welcomed then this us for you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    McAlpine House has a lovely relaxed ambience and Marilyn and Gary look after you very well. We were there just before the main season started so it was very quiet. The property is a little way out of town for easy walking in warm weather, but taxis are available reasonably easily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Marilynne, Garry and Ronaldo are just so accommodating. It's by far the best place to stay in Broome, intimate, unique, comfy beds, really central and private. I just love it!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very nice hotel, beautiful settings. Please note this is not for people who want five star modern, this is "old school" rustic luxury. The gardens with the parrots are divine, breakfast is amazing, ideal location, personalized service all the way!!! You will feel at home the instant you set foot on the property.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there one night

    The whole experience was wonderful! Like stepping into a tranquil colonial oasis where time has stood still. Breakfast was stunning and we so wished we were there for more than one night.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The proprietor and her staff were so hospitable and helpful - so good even after we had checked out. Comfy room, very much a tribute to a commitment to Broomes heritage - really did enjoy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marilyn, the host and Manager, was so knowledgeable and went out of her way to make recommendations for places for us to eat, drink and visit. She even gave us her tips for best dishes on the menu!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many lights left on overnight on the verandah (shining into room)

    Breakfast prepared so we could take it to the beach with us for our early morning walk & swim. It was fantastic. Relaxed & comfortable atmosphere & such friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extremely friendly staff who had wonderful local knowledge of events and community happenings. Advice given where needed and happy to book tours or enquire about anything we were interested in. Attention to detail with everything, more like staying at somebodies home than accommodation, Genuinely interested in our day and if all service provided was OK. Breakfast provided lovely and more than enough to keep us going during the day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This was our fifth stay in seven years and every time we are so appreciative of the lovely rooms and beautiful gardens - nothing to dislike!

    Ronaldo, Marilyn and Gary are incredibly welcoming and accommodating. Their suggestions for tours (e.g. mangroves, Jetty to Jetty app) and shopping (Indigenous textiles) helped to make our holiday even more memorable. Healthy, light, cooked breakfast dishes supplement the yoghurt and fruit pots every morning and we loved being able to walk into town every evening to try different restaurants in Broome. We enjoyed meeting some interesting people amongst the other guests - one of the many benefits of this small establishment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Decore

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners & staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing a perfect hotel

    Great breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no mosquito/insect netting to room and French doors did not fit tight so insects easily got in the room even if we kept doors and windows closed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very helpful staff, really helped us make the most out of our trip to Broome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The calm ambience.; shady pool; great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    breakfast was lovely and catered well, managers were very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great ambiance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small,intimate,attracting a good calibre of guests. Excellent breakfast. Decor reflected local historic character.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Ambience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was freezing! And please top up the tea bags in the room every day

    the architecture, the breakfasts, the history, the corrugated iron

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You felt like you were staying in your own home. Everyone went out of there way to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • McAlpine Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the ambience of the old building. A small intimate lodge with a friendly relaxed feel. The bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everthing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    It is like a home from home to us. They know what customer service is all about

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful home cooked gourmet breakfasts each day and lots of wonderful advice about the town and what to visit and where to eat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, management and property are second to none, a unique, special place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were amazing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warmth and intimacy. Beautiful breakfast. A remarkable private oasis.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of Laundry facilities

    Green garden setting , peace and quiet , local knowledge , yummie breakfast , heritage house and furniture

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful service from helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all brilliant..wonderful, private, relaxing, welcoming..could not ask for more...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and accommodating hostess Broome ambiance was what we were after.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 1 night

    Throughout the entire evening the shade sails over the pool were rattling in the breeze. We were kept awake all night. Dreadful sleep

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pearler Verandah
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Helpfulness of Marilyn, Greg and Ronaldo. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very charming house with lovely furnishings and decor. Excellent staff - friendly and helpful. Engaged, charming and friendly owner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Library Retreat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    VERY WARM WELCOMING,ICONIC BROOME.WE'LL BE BACK!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool is icy!

    Everything - the welcome, the helpfulness with everything from arranging whale watching to laundry and making us lunch the day we left. It was relaxing and beautiful & we would love to stay again.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Missing out on high tea, cakes and scones amongst the garden and trees with some of the local folk...apparently they do this regularly. My fault though, I was told about this in advance!

    The staff are the icing on the cake amongst a very relaxing and beautiful setting. I wanted to stay longer, maybe live there! Haha

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely welcoming staff, very obliging and friendly. We were given excellent information about what to do in Broome especially interesting places to go for lunch and dinner

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A hot breakfast would have been appreciated, but a minor issue.

    The quiet ambiance in an old style broome house with heaps of history and friendly,helpfully staff made it a memorable stay,thank you very much.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility was not as described requiring us to check out early. The proprietor behaved in a most unreasonable manner and charged us the full amount notwithstanding that we stayed only one night out of 5.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Phone in room didn't work. We were the only guests one night and no staff on premises meant no way to call in emergency. Bathroom tiny and poorly maintained- in need of renewal. Lack of staff. Wrinkled sheets!

    The connection with McAlpine. The staff on duty very willing and helpful when asked.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Couple

    I had booked a ground floor room and was not available when we arrived so had to have 1st floor room with stairs, which were challenging for my husband.

    Breakfast was excellent with Host Marilyn giving us personal service. My husband was unwell while we were there and they went out of there way to help in any way they could.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The girl hotel sitting, didn't know I was coming my room wasn't ready, my breakfast was a container with fruit and a loaf if bread from woolworths, she didn't know how to work coffee machine, no shampoo or soap in shower, the hotel was pretty much closed and for the money never ever again

    The girl hotel sitting, the hotel was not a hotel it was pretty much closed never staying again

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great staff, breakfast and very quiet. Traditional Broome style

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff added personal touches. They are pet friendly also. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super friendly and accommodating management.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Made to feel very welcome, relaxing and quite place with all your needs cared for by wonderful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Home away from home. Sophisticated, friendly, stylish Broome architecture.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The history of this house is fascinating. also it is centrally located allowing easy foot or car access to Broome township, and restaraunts.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly service and feeling that our floor was all ours.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The old colonial ambiance and the friendliness

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet,unusual style.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ambience! Very calm, comfortable with wonderful hosts. Particularly Rocky.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the extensive out door but shaded areas where I could sit under the trees and listen to birds.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience.

    Looked after, good spot, tastie breakfast, Ronaldo was great.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nik

    The ambience

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: