Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Port Douglas Retreat 3.5 stars

31-33 Mowbray Street, 4871 Port Douglas, Australia

#36 of 101 hotels in Port Douglas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 520 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Managers were helpful and friendly and readily available to answer questions or give advice. Rooms had everything we needed. We could walk to everywhere about town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because there were 2 of us and we had a lot of stuff, an extra suitcase stand in the room would have come in handy.

    Fantastic location - close to the marina, beach and restaurants. Really helpful owners with some great tips for our trip to Daintree. Rooms spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I booked for 10 days, I didn't need parking until my son (local) dropped in to go to dinner and drinks together and not wanting to drive wanted to leave his car with me for the night and me to use the next day. Denied parking though there were 4-6 vacant spots. The attitude to my son was less than friendly and downright non co-operative. Seeing my booking was longer than most on average I would have thought some sense of support should have been forthcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Terrific location, 5 minute walk to the beach, a 5 minute walk to the shops, very clean unit with a comfortable bed and with the pool heated a wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was being woken up by drilling (some kind of maintenance in the room next to ours) at about half 7 in the morning with no prior warning. Other than that is was a great place to stay.

    Really quiet, lovely pool, the staff were really nice and helpful. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a bit small and cramped

    Spacious, well- equipped unit with balcony to the pool area. Quiet yet close to town centre with beach and marina within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The kitchenette was very small. The shower was also small a larger framed person would struggle to fit. The air conditioner was noisy.

    The beds were very comfortable. The room looked freshly painted and clean. Our room was located close to the pool and felt very private. The resort has a great location close enough to walk to the beach and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    David and Joyce so helpful and pleasant and friendly. Room spic and span and excellent appointments. Lots of channels on the TV! Really close to the village of Port Douglas and beach. Best holiday ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small with nowhere to put your personal products. Be prepared for no elevator (this is pretty much the norm for Port Douglas I think)

    Great location and property was really good. Our second floor room had a lovely outlook over the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner. Bathroom had a damp smell when first arriving, this cleared up after the first shower.

    The pool area was excellent. Extremely close to everything in Port Douglas. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen plug needs a good clean No kitchen bench space. Air conditioner noisy and old. Greeting host very rushed and not paticularly welcoming , however upon leaving very smiley and friendly ?

    Excellent sized bathroom, great parking, lovely pool area and barbecue facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, owners were helpful in recommending and booking tours, the swimming pool was excellent, the overall appearance of the property was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioners are very noisy and we would have preferred a queen bed instead of 2 singles and the taps over the vanity in the bathroom on the wrong way and bar fridge not freezing up very well

    The salt water pool and position and the quiet of the hotel a lot like home feel about it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some minor inconveniences- shower nozzle kept popping out, one light wasn't working. some small bugs and ants.

    Beautiful pool area. Good location walking distance to shops, beach, and marina.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of toiletries.

    Owners, David & Joyce, gave us a very warm greeting and were excellent in helping us with our holiday interests. Lovely room view over the pool from our balcony. Only a short walk to the Main Street where there were plenty of restaurants, including The Little Larder for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool OK but seating area out of action as decking being replaced. 7 night stay and no change of towels or sheets.

    Location was fantastic. Host was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con needs cleaning. I cleaned the filter but the inside was gross and mouldy. Matresses were a bit saggy. Blanket had a funky smell. Pool needed cleaning. Lots of vegetation on bottom.

    All necessary utensils and cooking things. Great bbq. Lovelly shady pool area. Very close to town. Great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative would be that the shower was too small.

    Everything about port douglas retreat was perfect, room 20 was cool and comfortable with pool views very quiet with a private balcony, staff were very friendly and welcoming, the tropical gardens are beautiful and the pool absolutely amazing and refreshing, only a short walk to the shops and the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the pictures didn’t do this property justice! It was such a lovely place to stay and I honestly didn’t want to leave! The pool was my favorite part and sitting on my balcony listening to the birds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was the perfect temperature and refreshing. The location was perfect! So close to walk to Four Mile Beach - which we did to capture sunrise. We also walked to town on multiple occasions - literally a couple of minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn’t stay longer on holiday!

    We were met by the owner as soon as the shuttle dropped us off. The room was clean and tidy, lovely BBQ facilities at the swimming pool! Easy walk to the town centre and the local taxi service we can highly recommend! 10/10 we had a lovely stay and very memorable trip!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This place seems primed to nickel & dime you to death. I've been to 20 countries and I've never been told to wash the room towels if I wanted another one. And they wanted $8 for the wash & dry. Really?!

    Very close to Four Mile Beach, and to restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our room's balcony was situated facing the street. Noisy at night with passersby and cars. Have coins on hand to pay $3 for beach towels. The wifi is limited to 7GB for 7 days so no streaming Netfix but two movie channels run 24/7.

    Location was great- short walk to the main street, the marina and the beach. The room was clean and has everything you need. Pool area is great with BBQ facilities should you choose to use it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds where not comfy as we could feel the bed frame under the mattress. Only 6 lounges around the pool - 36 rooms The man at reception was rude when you asked him questions - wasn’t very pleasant at all.

    The pool here was perfect. The lady at reception was very lovely. BBQ area was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a vent in the bathroom so the exhaust fan is more efficient but it’s minor didn’t affect our stay I would recommend for the price

    Perfect location we could walk to anywhere in Port Douglas and the pool was a nice pool after a hot day, comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fridge was slightly broken at the bottom on arrival, which was annoying. Otherwise no complaints!

    Fantastic staff, pool area and bbq had a great atmosphere. Comfortable and easy to access. Very close to town - walking distance. Would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with a refresh and being two girls we would have loved a full length mirror and two extra towels but this is only very minor and didn’t ruin our stay.

    Ideal location- walking distance to the Main Street, the beach and the marina. The pool area was lovely and the management was nice and helpful! They gave us an umbrella for our stay while it was raining!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds in the 3 units we booked were all very comfortable, pool area amazing even for small children, BBQ area was great and the staff great. Rooms very clean and very well positioned.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was ideal.

    Very clean and comfortable, ideal location. The communal barbecue was well looked after and a great way to meet other guests. The swimming pool was big enough to never feel crowded. We were lucky enough to get an undercover parking spot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too big.

    Excellent location, close to patrolled & netted beach, town and marina. Hosts, Joyce & David are extra friendly and helpful. The pool was big and a lovely setting, the BBQ area was clean. The bed comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area a little tired.

    The stylish design of the building, all the lush vegetation, the peacefulness and ease of access to the town's main facilities. Also a very spacious, well laid out apartment, perfect for two.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Our particular room was very run down.

    Bed very comfortable. Perfect location to beach and shops. Car not needed. Pool a good size and nice and warm, also very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to pay for an additional towel. In the tropics the towels get very smelly but every time you requested a clean towel you had to pay. Also a suggestion for late arrivals ( we arrived at 1am) would be a breakfast basket ( maybe 2 small pkts cereal & 2 pieces fresh fruit) rather than just 4 teabags.

    The unit was clean & comfortable, Very close access to main street. The staff were friendly & accommodating. The pool was great. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are trees in the area that drop large round seeds on the ground. I stood on one and ended up at the hospital emergency dept ($50 taxi ride) with a suspected fractured wrist. The staff told me I'm not the first guest this happened to. Don't be put off - just watch where you are walking!

    Port Douglas is a very safe place to walk around and the beach, town centre and marina are all easy walking distance from the property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the rooms are starting to look a little tired.

    A very relaxing place to stay. Close to town and the beach and the pool is always clean and inviting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were outdated and had a strange smell. We asked to move rooms as it was dark and quite gloomy, and were charged $80!

    The pool area was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I found the bed in my room 3 very uncomfortable and believe it needs to be replaced. I also found the fridge very noisy.

    I loved the location and the pool and the whole resort. the bbq area was fantastic. everything was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and approachable. I would recommend it and stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The beds were far too soft, just no support for "bad" backs. Management did not make any effort to do anything about it.

    Great location, just a short walk to beach, main street shops etc. Excellent Tourist information display Great Barbeque area - Kept spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony faced into the side road which was busy and often noisy at night. Also when staying for 6 nights I thought we should be able to get clean towels once,without an extra charge.

    The location was good, close to both the beach and main shops and restaurants. The pool and bbq area is pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they could have refilled the sugar and coffee, it would have been awesome instead of getting refills from reception.

    Location was excellent. The staff at the front desk were really helpful. They are always ready to help. The staff received us very well and felt like really cared us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have stayed here before and although the studio rooms are a little small they are ideal for us. Property is in an excellent location, off the main street in a very quiet area but only a 10 minute gentle stroll to the main street

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very comfy, room size quite ok and facilities good. We had breakfasts on the balcony from our own supplies. The staff were very helpful in organizing a tour of the outer reef for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the pool next door.

    There was a spring sticking through the mattress which made for a very uncomfortable night but the lady on reception in the morning was lovely and took care of it straight away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were friendly, male staff not so, impatient Linen gets changed after 8 days (!!) No nice little touches, mean with charging for everything

    Great location to shops, restaurants and beach Room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small kitchen and bench area swimming pool good size and temp but area received very little sun as trees blocked this

    Location excellent owners great room clean and tidy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was not clean were there for 6 days and had to pay $3 for each extra bath towel as no room service at all unless staying for 8 days and then clean towels after 4 days. Towels were very old and thin

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The pool area was great, but there was very limited sunlight. If some of the trees above the pool had been trimmed, it would have been a perfect experience. A big part of a holiday for us is being able to lie in the sun, and it was a bit frustrating if the beach was windy, that we weren't able to lie in the sun back at our accommodation. A first world problem I know, but it would be a key factor for us in choosing this accommodation again.

    This was real value for money, and perfect walking distance from both the beach and the town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Shared BBQ area was useful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation could do with a bit of a face lift, rooms looking a bit dated.

    Bed comfortable enough, facilities good, good BBQ area. Excellent position close to main shopping area and activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly basic accommodations, with no maid service or even the possibility of getting clean sheets/towels, unless you washed yourself in small laundry room. Didn't appreciate several small things like being charged for use of beach towels, even when they were returned to hotel after use.

    Excellent location; as central to everything as one could get. Pool and surrounding gardens very pretty. Affordable prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hired a car for a few days and couldn't reserve a car park. Would have preferred linen change more than once a week but to be fair we could have paid for clean linen and towels as often as we liked.

    Brilliant location. Close to beach shopping and restaurants . Lovely pool, very pleasant managers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room was studio apartment, this was not clear in booking information. Picture of room and facilities deceptive. cooking facilities very poor, beds and kitchen all in the one room. Small balcony with no view.

    Close proximity to main street , restaurants and entertainment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom needs a cleaning overhaul. It wasn't filthy but there were areas that a bit more attention is needed. The shower stall is very small.

    The room was a good size and the verandah area sufficient for two people. The location was good, close to the main street but far enough away from the busyness of tourists.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities were inadequate.No room to move and badly positioned in passageway. Constant road noise and from adjoining property did not make this property a quiet retreat! Also the conrol for the fan should have been by the bedhead and not on the opposite wall!

    The pool area was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was falling apart, and there were remnants of a past ant infestation

    Walking distance into the village, air conditioning and a fan made the heat bearable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable , hubby had a sore back after sleeping there , we had stayed st Sebel Palm Cove before we arrived with a awesome bed

    Nice poool & BBQ area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit small but the water pressure was fine. Rooms are only refreshed every 8 days so If you need fresh towels you pay $3 per towel or pay $4 to throw them in the dryer. Things don't dry well in the tropics but you can use a clothes rack on the balcony. Bring your own shampoo.

    We loved nearly everything about the property and will certainly revisit if in Port Douglas again. We didn't use all the facilities but it was great having a little kitchen and I saw people using the barbecues. It was close to the main shopping street but in a quiet area. I swam in the pool once as the weather was initially rainy and overcast but it was very pretty to look out over, particularly at night when they lit the pool with blue lights and torches around the deck. It's a very deep pool and a good size. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pillows too hard and uncomfortable. Location could be better. No change of towels even for a 5 nights reservation (only if you stay min. 8 nights and then they change your towels on day 4) If you want a towel for the swimming pool it's $3/towel. Only 7 GB of Wi-Fi per 7 days booking (which wasn't enough for 6 days). Backpackers have unlimited Wi-Fi !....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the garage door which was noisy every time it opened

    Location is good. Close to everything but far enough away to be a bit more quite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I really enjoyed my 6 night stay at Port Douglas Retreat and will book again for my next trip to PD but if I was to give advice to fellow travellers based on my visit, it is: 1. whilst the bathroom was a good size the shower was very small: a triangle which was fine once in it, has little wriggle room getting in and out and someone larger than myself may have issues. I know not all the rooms have the same shower but if you are a plus size or plan on sharing a shower, ask David or Joyce for a room with a larger shower. 2. If you are a smoker, this is (like many others in Port Douglas) a non-smoking accommodation. ie not only in rooms (as everywhere in accommodation in Australia) but also on balconies and around the pool etc. I'm a smoker and expected this but met with a couple who didn't realise so I'm letting future guests know. You can smoke outside, away from the building but if you are thinking you can sneak a ciggie, don't. It's not fair to other non-smoking guests, so book elsewhere. 3. The pool is beautiful. However, the palm trees dapple shade the area most of the day during the winter months and if you are sun-baking, have to move around to catch the rays. NB Almost all resorts have palms around the pool area. Fellow travellers must think about the time they are staying in FNQ. Remember in the winter months the sun is low on the horizon and the palm trees impede sun-baking except at around 12noon. But if you are in FNQ at this time, you can go to the beach and catch the sun - and swim with no stingers! In the summer/wet months the sun-bathing around the pool would be spot-on. These points are not "what I didn't like"; I loved Port Douglas Retreat and will stay there again, they are just observations for others.

    David and Joyce are terrific hosts. They can answer any questions you have about PD and surrounds, book all of your tours and are lovely to deal with. The retreat itself is just that: it's quiet and relaxed whilst being a short walk (literally 2-5 minutes) to Macrossan St, the marina and the beach - it's in the perfect position in Port Douglas. Great for the solo traveller, couples or people just wanting to relax without the noise of a busy hotel. The pool is lovely and just like it is in the pics. It's enough if you want to do a few laps but also wade around. The room had a small fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and stove top. Small space but it's a kitchenette and adequate for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More compact room than we expected but still comfortable.

    Delightful surroundings, pool area, BBQ as well as very helpful staff. Very easy to walk to shops or marina or 4 mile beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right beside the road so traffic noise and noise of young people coming back late from the beach was not good. The floor of our room needed a good mop and the fridge intermittent toy made loud cracking noises.

    The pool was wonderful as were the barbecue facilities. Location was ideal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The towels very thin, and too many trees around the pool, not letting enough sun through to sunbake.

    Being very close to the main street with plenty of shops. Also the beach within walking distance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The corner shower was quite small considering the large bathroom area. Linen service mid week would have been nice.

    Accommodation & room facilities great, pool and outdoor areas beautifully maintained, prefect location when travelling without a car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was NOT SERVICED daily, for high humidity climate, we thought this was poor. The Room was NOT throughly cleaned, before we arrived ( long dark hair in the shower, where as we both have short blonde hair ) the kitchen area was NOT CLEAN, we had to scrub fry pan, that had obviously been put away dirty.

    This accomodation was in an EXCELLENT LOCATION, very quiet streets, walking distance to shops, markets and marina. The atmosphere was very relaxed and super friendly, reception staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were super comfy and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach towels are not provided to each room

    Ideal location. Has everything you need, some things a little dated but overall the accomodation is value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although we were lucky to get a parking space, this property has limited parking available on a first come first served basis. To be fair, the property clearly states this on their listing however having limited parking

    The hotel is at a walking distance to most attractions in Port Douglas like the Marina, the beach or the main town centre where most of the shops and restaurants are located.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made a genuine mistake and booked 2 rooms instead of 1. My partner held our hands up for the mistake but instead of discussing the situation calmly the hotel owners shouted at my partner! Quote "This is a family run business. What do you expect us to do? We could have filled that room"! The shouting went on! It meant that they just had to refund us the $102 deposit. It says a lot when $102 is a make or break on their business! There were some rooms available so if someone wanted a room they could have had one. Even when my partner asked the owners to calm down (because he didn't rise to their immature behaviour) they continued to do so. It was a bad start to what ended up being a lovely weekend. I guess it could only improve from there!

    Walking distance to most activities, beach, restaurants etc. I would recommend the hotel on its location but customer service was disgraceful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could definitely be a degree or two warmer. The entire week we were there, i only saw my 5 yr old in it. It was too cold for me. The drain in the shower was clogged with hair but the staff immediately fixed it when i mentioned it to them. Recommendation would be for a zero-liability communal fridge/pantry for sharing left over cooking supplies. I threw away many staples (olive oil, salt n pepper, soy sauce etc). My 5 year old says she didnt like that there was no bath. I have to agree, but acknowledge it has basic facilities at an affordable price, and in a great location.

    Great value for money. Helpful staff and adequate (basic) cooking facilities (tree view Double studio). A very easy walk to shops and restaurants, including post office, chemists, and super markets. The pool was beautiful and somewhat heated, although it really was too cold in June for a comfortable swim (unless you're 5 and dont care). I booked a tree-view room to avoid pool noise (as reviewers had suggested). This was totally unnecessary.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rusty nozzle over shower Hairdryer Cord ridiculously short. Nearly dislocated shoulder whilst trying to stretch cord to dry hair. Couldn't see yourself in mirror. Microwave positioned too high for easy use- very dangerous. Minimum bench space. Very dusty behind tv. Pillows very hard. We left our soft one behind by accident.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given the treetop room. Balcony was overlooking the road. There is a rubbish truck depot on the corner and they started at 6am. Very noisy in the morning from 6am. Do not book this room.

    In walking distance to shops, marina, beach and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the non pool side of the resort so looked at the wall of the building next door and a bit of greenery. No great problem really as I was only sleeping there. I would not hold it against anyone, just a comment.

    Excellent helpful staff, allowed early check in no problem. Pretty setting, easy walking distance to everything. Too cool for me to use the pool but it looked good. Really comfortable beds. Room clean ++ , Everything you need on holidays in the room. Would go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a thorough clean. Paperwork from previous guests left on floor under cabinet. Owner/staff not particularly friendly. No smoking rule needs policing.

    Location was within easy access of all we wanted to do.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette is a bit small to accommodate the kettle, toaster and plunger in the morning...but overall...not a big issue.

    We liked the situation...in the middle of Port Douglas....so we could walk to the beach, the Marina and the shops. swimming in the pool makes you think you are in the middle of a rainforest....we loved that. Breakfast on the balcony was a delight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms look a little tired and could do with a little refurbishment.

    The atmosphere of Port Douglas Retreat really reflects what Port Douglas is all about...it is great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio Apartment with Tree View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean, although the lamp shades and the corners of the room needed dusting.

    The retreat is quiet, you have everything you need within easy reach.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Port Douglas Retreat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: