Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Potters Hotel Brewery Resort 3.5 stars

Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, 2325 Cessnock, Australia

#10 of 18 hotels in Cessnock

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 721 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Facilities seemed to have fallen since we last stayed there. Room was nice and clean, but no chairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities - We had a family of 4 stay but only enough cutlery/plates/cups for 3 so very minimal. There were also no chairs at all. so with the sofa bed in use, we all had to sit on the floor to eat our meals.

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great Location for the Wine Country!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the comfy beds, the spacious rooms. the ease of check in and out! I wish we stayed longer to utilize the facilities! I would recommend for singles, couples or families.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, with a Brewery on hand and close to wineries...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro staff were quite rude and unhelpful when we were trying to collect the meals we’d ordered from our room.

    Good location, with a Brewery on hand and close to wineries and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Would come back, liked the pub and restaurant within walking distance of accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For privacy you need to draw the blinds once in the room and leave the down so no one can see in which makes the room dull/dark.

    Friendliness, location, the pork belly at the restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Rooms are fine, quite tired which is fine, keeps them from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of food at the restaurant is exorbitant, the food was terrible. Oysters were actually inedible. This was dinner, breakfast was the same.

    Rooms are fine, quite tired which is fine, keeps them from charging too much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Great Haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    PB is a haven to my 12 yr old daughter and I since we lost my husband last year. We love the location. The rural setting is very relaxing and private. Close to cessnock and HVG which we love the Christmas lights and Snowtime. Car can be parked at your door. Food is amazing and we love the hot breakfasts. Have recommended it to many friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude lacked positivity and enthusiasm. Rooms had no curtains and only one vertical blind so for privacy you had to keep the blind down as your room was openly exposed otherwise to neighboring rooms. Wifi didn’t open on any of our multiple devices. Private patios weren’t so private. You could actually see and here neighboring guests.

    Great location. Nice size room. Private patios however weren’t so private as they looked on to neighboring suites. Only had one vertical blind for privacy and no curtains so you had to keep the blind down for privacy sake. Which was annoying because your whole room was exposed otherwise. Staff had zero enthusiasm or help with sorting out things to do. Especially when signs say we can you book or plan. It was like, a really flat attitude which was a bit of a letdown for the overall stay. Also wifi didn’t connect as said on any of our devices. We stayed for 2 nights and our tv wouldn’t go the second night. Kept saying no signal and with our already experience with the staff and their zero interest, we just let it be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean, comfy generous rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was huge & comfy. Great place to base yourself while exploring the region, & having onsite dining options was handy. Staff were incredibly helpful & went above & beyond helping us out with a last minute glitch - special shout out to Kasey at Reception!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed and couch, walls were very thin could hear our neighbours conversations and turning off light switches.

    Location was ideal. Grounds looked nice has plenty of potential.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Average accommodation but good location
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for villa with kitchen but oven had a broken knob so couldn’t use it. Room felt grimy. Food drips down oven front and kitchen cupboards, hand prints on furniture etc, Toilets near bbq section looked like they hadn’t been cleaned in awhile. Services didn’t match the book in room. Beds were very old and sagging in middle, bedspreads stained and old. Couch had springs jutting into your butt. Tv was tiny. No channel 10, no foxtel, no WiFi. No tissues in room. Basically needs a huge revamp but in the meantime an updated cleaning schedule would improve things.

    The potential of this place is huge as it’s in a perfect location just at the start of wine country drive. Grounds were great. We played tennis. Spa villa was very spacious. Pub hotel on site. Girls on bar warmed up to us and were friendly. Great potential there too but we didn’t eat there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Room disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfort Our room “king room” had large timber doors separating another room which literally provided no noise attenuation ar all. TV and conversation was easily heard from the adjoining room.

    Location Attached hotel/restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Accurate description, staff assisted with extra requirements.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar menu is quite limited, but there are other restaurants in the area.

    Accurate description, staff assisted with extra requirements. Easy parking directly outside the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable & quiet with well spread out accommodation. Pools 2 of tennis court & brewery tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be better if a small dining table & 2 chairs in room, also a luggage rack in room for unpacking, no hand towel provided.

    Closeness to winery's & away from Cessnock traffic & noise. Continental breakfast in onsite pub restaurant. Rooms good size comfortable. Parking at door convenient too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Was a good stay, but next time we'll prob look elsewhere - just to mix it up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff at the restaurant have some serious attitude - the rest were really nice though. Would be a lot more to do there during the hot seasons.

    Great location, great beer. Good accomodation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable and clean accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't really have any concerns but if I had to make a suggestion for improvement - the carpets are probably due for a good clean/update in a darker colour. Fly screens on the windows would also be handy but we didn't need to open windows anyway as the air con worked perfectly.

    Quiet, comfortable and clean accommodation. Great facilities, we loved the Brewery & hotel restaurant and the convenience of location to other great Hunter Valley hot spots!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brewery tour is very disappointing. The staff is very disorganised and we did not learn much about the brewery.

    The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location and having a restaurant and bar on site was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needed some maintenance, eg knob on oven broken off so had to use tongs to try to turn the oven on.

    Great location and having a restaurant and bar on site was handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    FLY SCREENS. No screen on door or windows. Lovely little area out back of room but couldn’t doors open due to insects. Such a shame. A beautiful day outside and we had to have air con at all times. Other than that everything was fine

    Comfortable quiet rooms .excellent Restaurant attached and very convenient for the Hunter attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Had a great experience would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little hard

    The restaurant has excellent food, bar staff are excellent, resort staff excellent and all friendly. Accommodation. the room was a good size and quiet location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of mildew, only one chair 2 people, noise from ajoining room shared door, no privacy can see in from other units, meals weren't very good, prices doubled from Thursday night to Friday night and was not worth the price

    Location out of town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    History, tranquility, and a perfect base when exploring the Hunter Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has refillable soap, shampoo, etc dispensers which I personally do not lik. But I always carry a small soap and shampoo and conditioner so not a problem. In every other way it was outstanding!

    Pictureque, peaceful, plenty to do with a tennis court, pool, brewery on site, and treed walks. Rooms spacious and each with a shaded outside area to have a relaxed cup of tea or other. Very conveniently placed to town, wineries, take-aways. Fabulous character in on-site restauarant. Fascinating historic brick kilns give the property its name.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    Consider staying somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude. The rooms were basic, unclean, ceiling covered in mosquitos. Not the resort it claimed to be. It's definitely over priced.

    Unfortunately the only thing i liked was the fact is was close to another venue i needed to be at.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.2
    Good restaurant, terrible accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly rock hard bed, bathroom desperately needed maintenance, not very clean, lumpy pillows, not value for money.

    Good location, good restaurant for dinner & breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.4
    Was itchy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of mosquitos , was bitten all night even while under the covers. Large gaps in & under the door.

    Location was good, easy access to pub etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Book a motel instead which will cost you half as much so that you have extra money to exlpore around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi commection. We paid $350 for 2 for 2 nights. I booked it Instead of a motel, but it was a motel from the inside. The room was outdated. Carpet felt cheap although clean. Wardrobe was also cheap and no bathrobes, no room slippers. Tv was very small and wall mounted, and I could barely see anything. No windows that could be opened except a big sliding door, which is safe no to open. A damp smell as soon as we entered the room. If you don't turn aircon, you feel like you're out of breath because of poor ventilation.

    The bed was comfortable. Nice location. Convenient parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Great venue for a wedding, but make sure to sample the meals first!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space in the shower (over the bath) was extremely narrow, especially with the soap dispensers on the wall. The shower curtain wrapped around us, the handheld showerhead needed some attention since it sprayed water everywhere, and the water pressure could have been stronger; the supplied hairdryer was an old wall unit (no real problem since I had my own). The carpet in our villa was stained. We were attending a wedding which was lovely, and the function room looked beautiful. The food, however, through no fault of our hosts, was no better than a cheap pub feed (over cooked steaks, and chicken schnitzel swimming in oil, served with chips and a weird medley of soggy vegetables), and guests were only allowed to purchase one alcoholic beverage at a time. I know the bride was very much less than impressed, as were most of the guests. In spite of my above gripes, which are small, personal grievances, I would still stay there again, as long as I ate elsewhere.

    The room upgrade was very welcome. Check in/out was quick and efficient. Parking at the door was perfect. Our villa was spacious for two adults, and whilst it was obviously older and a bit shabby, it was clean, as were the crockery and cutlery. The bed, though not a queen size, was comfortable and there were plenty of blankets and pillows. The bathroom was large and had great lighting. Flat grounds and close proximity of the accommodation to the on site function centre made the resort ideal for the wedding that we attended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I were to be picky, the WiFi didn’t work for us, though it wasn’t that big a deal as we weren’t on it that often. The restaurant serves the biggest portions of food I’ve ever seen, so make sure you’re hungry! My steak took up half my plate!

    Loved the location, we’ve stayed here before and it’s perfect for the hunter

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing missing was a pool of fountains outside the room. The water was covered with thick red algae. It doesn't look pretty.

    The holiday villa is very close to Hunter Valley Zoo. We love the location. Very nice beer they make themselves. We ordered a daily specital food pork belly in their restaurant, excellent foods.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Room was a little dated and could do with an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated and could do with an upgrade. New carpet and bedspread would go along way. The bistro onsite had a ice atmosphere and great pub food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    close to vineyards and brewery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cracked mirror and window. remote for television found under the bed after a 10 minute search and a walk to reception for a remote we thought was missing .floor in bathroom very slippery . rubbish and dirt beside the cupboard between the wall and tv.

    close to vineyards and brewery

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Clean and comfortable, but would stay elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was clean but dated. No clock. Power point for a cup of tea was in a cupboard under the TV. You had to get on your hands and knees and boil the jug on the floor. Only 1 bedside light. Room was very average for the price.

    close to the wineries. Hotel being adjacent to the motel. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fly screens or security door on patio. It was very hot weather so it would have been nice to have some fresh air at night. No handrails in bath as we are older travellers and would have liked to be a bit more secure getting in and out of bath to shower. No hand rails for enter and exit swimming pools.

    Quiet, convenient, near the pool. Kitchette ok and appliances worked. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Dirty bathroom tiles, stained carpet, poor lighting in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom tiles, stained carpet, poor lighting in rooms. Coffee sachet holder had biscuit crumbs and dirt filled at the bottom. Patio was dirty and very dusty. Couldn’t use the BBQ facilities as they were token operated and the front desk only had 2 tokens available for the entire hotel and were already in use with no idea of when they’d be returned so other guests can also use the facility. Overall, it felt like a very old style villa with a modern bed head at best.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Not all the TV channels worked, Foxtel would have been nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all the TV channels worked, Foxtel would have been nice. Curtains would have been good as the room copped a lot of sun through hte blind gaps. BBQ tools and case need to be upgraded.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little uncomfortable and carpet was old and dirty with a few dead bugs around. The power also went out in the room at around 9 pm but was quickly fixed.

    Love the brewery tour and the pool. Enjoyed dinner and well maintained grounds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    excellent value and close to zoo and vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very tired - carpet and chairs stained and some broken tiles etc - however having said that we will continue to stay there each year

    We stay there every year with our grandkids as the location is close to the hunter valley zoo and vineyards. love the pub and food very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    Location good, restaurant good but disappointed with cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above

    Have stayed here before and was very happy but this time felt cleaning was not up to standard and we found a dead mouse on the floor next to our bed which looked like it had been dead for some time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.0
    Lovely place but rooms were average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very clean. Looked like it hadn't been mopped or vacuumed properly in a while. Bed was not the most comfortable and the whole bedspread thing was just weird.

    The location and the property is stunning. Great atmosphere in the whole place. Staff where friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice location for wine tours & close enough to Cessnock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a few dinner plates & utensils in the room,

    Great location, nice to have the brewery, bar & restaurant onsite with nice food, beer & wine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    An historic, thoroughly comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting outside. Perhaps sensor lights as you walked along at night time. Our sensor light outside our room was excellent but only worked the first night.

    The room was excellent. A living area with kitchenette, a spacious bathroom and bedroom. The bathroom was very nice and very spacious. The grounds were beautiful with the fragrant magnolia trees, jasmine, gardenia bushes outside each room and the gorgeous olive grove and citrus orchard were lovely. A real credit to the groundskeeper.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was dirty, no fly screens, we booked a place with a corner bath and didn’t get one. It was extreamy dated and tired. Pretty grubby outside on the deck and we had to pay for botteled water?! Wasn’t particularly cheap either.

    The room was large and the brewery was cool! The restaraunt was pretty good too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    All the facilities, entertainment on Friday night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was grotty.The quilt cover and blanket were dusty and dirty.the bathroom stunk. The lounge had dirty white stains on it.My friend and i were both sneezing and congested as a result

    All the facilities, entertainment on Friday night. Quick response of staff to complaints. Great pub food, value for money breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    We enjoyed our stay but believe the room was over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and needed repairs. There was a rip in the carpet, the furniture wasn't clean, we were left with dirty mugs and glasses on a two day stay. The door didn't close properly unless you slammed it. The shower had poor hot water pressure, the taps on the sink were all loose and the floor was sticky.

    The location, the restaurant and the pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Potters hotel & brewery is excellent, but the accommodation standard needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The trundle bed was something out of a mid century mental asylum. The mattress was so bad our 12 year old daughter had to sleep in the king bed with mum & dad. There was no fly spray to combat the mosquitoes & none of the doors or windows were fitted with insect screens. Swimming pool was full of leaves & the bottom of the pool was full of debris. Pool needs a good clean & pump was not working at all. There was a smell of mold from the rotten window trim adjacent to the shower/bath. The ironing board cover was torn with a hole.

    Scrambled eggs are a breakfast treat. The King size bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.5
    I was let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite disappointed with the room & the breakfast. Little things make a big impression, there were no hand towels, you could not open the windows as there were no fly screens & for over $300 per night the room was very basic. The breakfast whilst edible was not great, the poached eggs were hard & there did not seem to be enough staff on, the 1st day we had to sit at a table that had not been cleared & was not ckeared the whole time we were there.

    It was nice & close to where we were going.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged what I suspect was an inflated rate as Cat Stevens was playing locally

    Good location in the Hunter Valley, the staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were well insulated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Very poor sound proofing between rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being able to hear your neighbours as if they are in the same room as you - no exaggeration. The place would be great if they invested in some sound proofing where they're passing off adjoining rooms as private ones.

    Nice size grounds, with pool and bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great brewery, would go elsewhere for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spa Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived towards the end of breakfast and for $12.50pp for a small choice of continental which looked very tired, it was over priced and they don't offer a cooked breakfast option. Staff were also not happy to see us and asked us if we were finished when we clearly weren't.

    The lunch was delicious and the man who served us was really helpful and had a good sense of humour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be loud with all the kids and entertainment. Prices were pushed up due to a concert in the area

    Pub restaurant on site and entertainment if you want that and good for kids. Picturesque surroundings. Room was nice. Comfy bed and good shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.4
    Passable for a one night, cant stay for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work, in fact couldnt find the Wifi on my phone, I couldnt bother asking. Breakfast could be more impressive

    Near heaps of vineyard and eating places

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.0
    Room felt unclean - dead bugs on the blinds, walls and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt unclean - dead bugs on the blinds, walls and ceiling. Tiles were sticky and the bed was very uncomfortable as it was two single beds pushed together not comfy to be able to cuddle up to my partner. We were also unaware cleaner would come in while we were over eating breakfast, that should be advised on check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.4
    Dissappointing value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price we paid for the accomadation it was very average. The room was very dated and not worth anything near the money we paid for the night.

    Location was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Would stay again in a pinch given the cost effectiveness - other accom in region nicer
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little noise protection from next room over (a simple thin door) - could clearly hear the next door neighbours conversation. Bed was a little firm and was twin beds put together. Eggs at breakfast were atrociously cooked. They should fix this.

    Good location and ease to get to wineries. Breakfast provided a lot of options. Decent value for money and easy to park on site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Two night stay to see Hunter Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet access in rooms.

    Nice unit, nice bathroom, could watch kangaroos from bedroom window. Liked swimming pool complex and brewery on premises.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stuffy room no screens to leave windows open . Aircon annoyed friend with me . Disappointed hot tub not clean and working .

    Easy access to local sights by car bus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    our stay was just fine. would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needed to open windows in the night. but no screens, not warm enough for air conditioner. so was a bit unsettled during the night. would suggest screens on the windows. like fresh air at night.

    we were upgraded to a queen suite. which was very nice. enjoyed the fact that we had a sitting room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    No sound proofing between rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing between rooms is non existent, which really spoilt the stay. I wouldn't return or recommend it purely for this reason.

    The resort complex is nice, with pool and bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Would it recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nothing like the photos on the website. The carpets and bed head were stained. Our room was on a road with no fence between the road and us. I went to get a token for the washing machine at the office and was paying cash, the girl asked my name and room number to make sure I wasn't washing my clothes without staying there. The staff member at the brewery was so rude that we left. The swimming pool needed revamping and what we think was the spa was full of leaves

    Central location in the Hunter Valley

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Would not recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in brasserie which was the only food place in whole so called “resort” was the worst we have ever eaten especially as it was my birthday and had hoped for a special meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Great location, but cleanliness a major issue. We wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with a better clean. The carpet was filthy, the shower curtain had Mold and the mattress could do with a replacement. Not to mention the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the neighbouring rooms.

    The location and ease of transport from the facility to other attractions within the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Pleasant and the staff made it easy as a single person.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids screaming at the pool so I didn't use it.!

    I was surprised it was not a room but a self contained. And I could park the car on the door step. Awsome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    overall great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool definetely needed maintaining as you couldn't swim in it, it was very dirty and had frogs in it

    The staff were very friendly and accomadating, room was nice and clean and the location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    would stay there again, close to some of the nice Winery.s also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pools were closed so cannot comment on them.Spa looked as though it was in need of repair. Otherwise A1.

    Room was quite spacious for 2 people.Outside seating area comfortable yet private.Bed was so comfy,what I liked was I got a soft pillow and a firmer one which was great as I like to sit up in bed to watch tv with a firm pillow behind me, yet a softer one to sleep on.Potters pub were we ate the food was excellent plenty of it very reasonably priced. The continental breakfast was brilliant, good healthy food.Was very happy with the price we paid for three nights accomodation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.0
    Friendly, informative and welcoming. I am 54 and my daughter 25, we both enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillars were very hard and the room (behind bed) could have been a little cleaner, but certainly didn’t interfere with the comfort

    The staff were exceptionally helpful. Michelle who worked in the restaurant/bar offered to take me and my 25 year old daughter to look for wild kangaroos when she finished her shift. The bar staff and restaurant staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Last time we stayed we had accommodation for the four of us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All adequate but nothing of particular note. It would be great if there was a courtesy bus at weekends

    Last time we stayed we had accommodation for the four of us which was fabulous. This time was certainly adequate. Great proximity to the wineries and we loved being able to have a quick meal on site after a big day out !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay for three nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like step-in baths for showers. Bedroom windows were difficult/impossible to lock.

    Good sized rooms. Quiet. Comfortable bed. Grounds of place were quite relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Good price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a mouldy whole lime under the couch - obviously the room had not been thoroughly cleaned. Also, the towels were slightly stained. Oh

    Good price and location. The tea, coffee, milk and hot chocolate supplied was a great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Clean, roomy and a lovely feel to this resort. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car park for our room hard to get into, parked in general parking.

    Room was a good size. Complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits, really nice to have the hot chocolate and biscuits as an extra to tea and coffee. Had a problem with lights and was fixed as soon as possible, very obliging staff. Bathroom a good size, no problems with hot water. Lovely to sit outside on the patio listen to the birds. Table and chairs was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced and outdated. Replace bedheads with something cleanable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy bed head and carpet. Light bulbs blew in bedside lamps and down lights. Moisturiser dispenser was dirty with chunks of old moisturiser coming away. Very outdated room. The bed head was by far the most disgusting i have ever encountered.

    Bed was comfortable and view from window was good. Brasserie food was great. Ploughmans lunch at brewery is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.2
    Bogans delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over populated with non guests that services were not available no parking, no tables available for dinner

    Close to better places to get the services that should be on offer at the venue and accomadation you have booked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Comfy Stay at The Hunter Valley & Close to Winerys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when you have a shower, it is in the narrow bath, the shower curtain is very annoying as there is not very much space. if you leave the curtain open water tends to go all over the bathroom floor. I would prefer a large shower recess, but understand families may need a bath to use.

    this was a nice comfortable space to unwind after driving for eight hours on the road. plenty of room and the simple but smart kitchen was great. The shower space could be improved but the bathroom was big and had lovely lighting fixtures, especially for the cool weather conditions. the staff rang me on my contact number to let us know where and how to pick up the room key. we arrived after office hours and the staff at the bar were more than helpful and friendly toward us settling in quickly. we had a very filling dinner onsite at the bar, it was great not to have to drive somewhere else to eat. we made our breakfast and hot cuppa before leaving in the morning. thank you, we have been here before and would come back to this place again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    not quiet what we had hoped for although lovely grounds and wonderful brewery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bistro - very noisy screaming kids everywhere even had some under our table playing cars food average not what we expected for a nice dinner after a long day on the road and no room service or hot breakfast available week days also carpet in rooms need to be cleaned and light shade right hand side of bed full of holes not very appealing

    loved the brewery space between rooms and grounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little tired. Clean and neat but just a little run down. The bed and pillows were really hard but a lovely outlook from our bedroom window!

    Location was great! We were close enough to the vineyards and at a iHop stop which made transport to and from the vineyards easy. Having the pub handy onsite was a bonus for easy access to food and drink on our first night there. The grounds were lovely (although with so much fruit growing would have been awesome to see something done with all the citrus fruits rather than see it rotting on the ground).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Well priced for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed by the standard of the room. The shower curtain was mouldy. There was no plug for the basin. When we arrived, there was a pair of dirty socks on one of the chairs which was pushed in at the desk. Questionable cleaning practices. Given there was a frost on the ground, electric blankets on the bed would be appropriate. The walls were like cardboard. Very loud noises from the adjacent room. We noticed that there were double doors leading to the adjacent room, but blocked with a desk in front. Perhaps this is the cause of the lack of soundproofing? As there was a large group staying, in surrounding rooms and it was a Friday night, perhaps we should have chosen to stay in a smaller, quieter hotel or guesthouse. To call Potters a resort is over-stretching the mark.

    Potters Hotel Brewery Resort is well located for easy access to wineries and other facilities. Having the option of a bath, though no time to use it, on this occasion. Kitchenette was adequately equipped with a toaster, microwave and two of everything. Though plates/bowls were not microwave safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Great stay. Great food. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above

    We would definitely come back to stay. We had a 2 night stay and the only negative is we thought our room would be serviced after the 1st night.... and the top of the bed heads had a layer of dust a cm thick. Otherwise cannot fault our stay. Staff were super friendly. Thanks :)

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: