Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Punthill Apartment Hotel - Manhattan 4 stars

57 Flinders Lane, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#96 of 474 Holiday rentals in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1107 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is rather unwhelming Bathrooms a bit ordinary

    As an interior Designer I loved the whatehose style of the apt and the paired back contemporary furniture Bed very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairwell was a little bit smelly. But that would be my only complaint.

    We loved the basement apartment, it was very spacious. The location was just perfect for us, it was very quiet and yet very close to the city. Great cafe Cumulous next door for breakfast and food hall over the road. Staff were helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was very tired for the price that was charged. e.g.the toilet seat would not stay up. As the apartment is right on a busy street, much of the outside noises could be heard inside the apartment, especially late at night and early in the morning, with deliveries. The blinds didn't fit the windows and light streamed into the bedrooms.

    The location was good and the overall size of our 3 bedroom apartment was very roomy. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst thing about this place is the noise from outside. Hotel is near shopping centre loading dock and the trucks start from 5am! Windows are not properly insulated and do not keep any noise out. Only 1 toilet/bathroom. Was OK as 1/2 of our group were kids but not sure how it would go with 6 adults. Aircon could have been bit better. Felt it did not reach bedrooms.

    Very roomy apartment. We stayed with 3 adults and 3 kids and did not feel crowded. Everything was clean and beds and lounge were comfy. Great location. Can walk or tram to everything in city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a ground floor apartment near the entrance & the lift and it was very noisy, I could hear everyone coming & going. I could also hear water running through the pipes a lot of the time. I only stayed one night so didn't get the chance to see if another apartment would have meant a more enjoyable stay.

    Apartment was very nice & location is also great. Bed was quite soft but comfortable & bathroom / shower were also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the staff members that helped us with the checking in (we arrived in the evening of the 20th of May) was very unhelpful, not to say rude. He was not up to date with the system to check who was primary guest in our booking, gave us incorrect advise for overnight parking of our vehicle and was definitely agitated when we asked him if he could help us with the air conditioning in our room (there was no remote for the air-con and the buttons on the display were all broken, it looked as if the heater did not work so we asked him to check....he did but in a very guest unfriendly manner). It would be in the best interest of your business to have a chat with this employee to make sure he treats the guests respectful in the future.

    The location was perfect, close by places we wanted to visit, mostly on walking distance. The accommodation itself tried to have an industrial look but it actually looked rather rough. The kitchen and bathroom could probably do with an upgrade (the stovetop was very dated and one of the hotplates did not work). Since we were there pretty much just to sleep, it was perfect for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated and the cleanliness of the room could have been better. Soap scum on the shower shelve. Bedside table was not clean.

    Good location and spacious appartment, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outlook. Room was a bit cold. But didn’t really matter to me.

    It was very quiet and location fantastic. Spacious apartment. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Great central location within walking distance to many good bars, restaurants and shopping.The apartment was spacious and very comfortable. We have stayed here several times as a couple, and also with our family and have always been more than happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy with trucks in the morning. Curtains did not block out light in morning.

    The beds & pillows were comfortable. Plenty of room for a family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good for us.

    Fantastic location for heading to the MCG for night footy. A great little apartment with all the comforts of home. Parking arrangements next door were also ideal. Plenty of cafes and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a group of friends - 3 couples and we had a 3 bedroom apartment. For 6 adults, to have only one bathroom, and one toilet, was insufficient. The room looked like the photos online, but in reality the walls were very scuffed terribly, and the general upkeep of the apartment was very poor. The welcoming lobby was untidy as well. The address # given by staff was incorrect for parking instructions.

    The location was great for local cafes, restaurants, graffiti laneways, close to the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website should really point out that the apartments do not have a 24 hour concierge as I called by accident to confirm my building and then found out I had to deal with a key safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub very dangerous, tubs should have been replaced in the make over, with showers. Bathtub very slippery! Shower head not able to be stabilised in any one place, kept dropping. Our apartment was not given a quick vacuum on any of our 4 days stay, beds appeared to be just pulled up daily. We have stayed in April for the past 4 yrs at least and both groups were disappointed in the obvious drop in standards this year. Thinking about what to book for April 2019 now

    Position, value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main difficulty was having a shower over a narrow bath with a fixed glass sheet and nowhere to put shampoo etc. This made it difficult and quite pecarious. I suggest getting a hanging caddy at least and if renovating in future just put in a proper shower. Also the large air con units or extractor fans were very noisy.

    The location was excellent. Having a large fridge and microwave were great. The spa was just right!!!! The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up with my booking...it wasnt in the system however staff were able to offer me an apartment as they were not full. Concerned what may have transpired had they been full.

    Location close to gardens and trams. Quiet on upper floors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired reception and staff seemed overwhelmed/ overworked. Maybe extra staff through busy times to give customers full service and attention!? 😊

    The property seemed a bit tired! Perhaps a new paint job as scratches and worn paint on doors etc... maybe new tiles or shower recess in bathroom etc Otherwise fabulously clean etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My gripe was that I wasn’t told I would have to lug heavy luggage down and up 2 flights of stairs to my room. There isn’t a lift to the lower floor rooms. Ok if you don’t have much with you but if you’re older and carrying large suitcase...exhausting. You might be able to get help from staff at front desk but not if you arrive late. No snacks in the mini bar. Well none in my room.

    In a fantastic area. Love the big airy rooms and washing / drying facility in room and kitchen. You are right across the road from Collins Place which has a cinema and super near the MCG, Federation Sq and so many cool bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy to find, parking close and good location

    rooms were spacious, very basic but the location was perfect for us and the apartment was clean. All we needed for the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that comes to mind that I did not like. The only down side to the trip was the amount paid for parking, in nearby locations to the hotel. I understand that is outside of the hotels control, however it was disappointing that we didn't see any way to obtain a discounted stay for being at the hotel.

    Great feel to the room. View was nothing special but the windows let in an amazing amount of light. Perfect location. Bathroom great size and clean. Beds about average comfort but what you would expect from any hotel. Climate control in room, very effective.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was two singles put together that sagged in the middle - very substandard

    great location for a 1 BR unit in the city. Top end of Flinders lane and easy to walk everywhere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in Room 103. Apartment was very spacious, quiet and clean. We had a full kitchen, a washing machine and drier. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large. Manhattan is close to Rod Laver Arena, restaurants and Tram stops. We would stay here again if we were going to the Rod Laver Arena but would ask for a room above the 4th floor, so we could get have more natural light in our room. Thank you staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps to reception non English speaking cleaners Dian.t understand what was being asked

    Comfortable beds good size area except for bedrooms, close to convention site staff helpful with steps

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed needs to be replaced horrible sleep

    The decor was very hip and modern a big difference from standard hotels faboulous fast internet staff were great very friendly and informative room was spacious a clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite a rail in the bathroom the step out of the bathtub was quite challenging - would have been very hard and potentially unsafe for an older or shorter person Lighting in the lounge area was on the low side - I was trying to sit and read and it wasn't very strong and found the lighting in the bedroom better.

    The space available was amazing, location was perfect for Rod Laver Arena and the amenities were all fabulous - from desk, fully stocked kitchen, washer and dryer - what more could you ask for.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no disabled access to the building so having to lift a pram up a decent set of stairs, wasn't ideal. The balcony was tiny and the room service food was horrible.Very noisy area to stay at.

    The room was a decent size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t really like showers over baths however I knew that this was the case when I booked and it wasn’t a desk breaker for me

    Bed was very comfortable as was the kitchen and living space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website states there is a pool spa, however there is not and it’s out of order. The air conditioning supposedly works if all windows are shut but even then it was nothing. Thus resulting in a hot box sauna.

    The location was great and the staff were friendly. It was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in the 2nd bedroom. Walls and doors were scuffed and looking tired. Mattresses were soft and probably need replacing.

    It was in a good location. There was enough space for all of us. The self contained kitchen was a great size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mention before the window blinds would have made our stay a lot better if blinds were blockout and people couldn’t see straight in from car park

    Location size off room all comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male staff at the reception, he was rude to me, he keeps on staring and shaking his head and I have seen him laughing a bit. Well, my friend warned me about your male staff and I found out it's very true. Sorry but I can't recommend your hotel at this point in time.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dishwasher was rather dated and not very efficient - but we only used it once for dirty dishes and once to rinse glasses/cups. The flush buttons on the lavatory needed some attention and the lid broke in half when 1 of our party leaned back against it when using the toilet!

    Location probably best point. Easy access to all the city highlights. Plenty of room for 6 in our apartment and beds very comfortable. The staff were helpful, friendly and looked after us very well - e.g. kept our baggage until the room was ready (we were early) and at the end of our stay kept it until we left for the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony door is locked. All walls and roofs are not furnished, you just see bricks directly. Some of the staff is not very friendly.

    Location is good, dining room and kitchen are large

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window looked out onto a wall of cement. Very dark & not that pleasant to look out.

    Front desk staff was lovely. Great position. Clean & lovely apartment inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loft like little appartment with comfortable size. The kitchen is very nice, also the sleeping room. The bathroom includes a washing machine and separate drier. The Rest of the bathroom is ok but should get some redecoration. The staff was very friendly and the WLAN very speedy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Great location with so many quality restaurants along Flinders Lane and just a short walk to heaps of action.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, especially the young man at reception, aren't very pleasant.

    Very nice apartments in the centre of the city. Stylish and comfortable with a decent kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpfull and friendly welcome. The room was very comfortable and clean. Location was perfect for AAMI Park and the CBD. In a Very nice part of town. They gave us a late checkout which was much appreciated. We would like to stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was not easy. I got multiple calls about the hotel not accepting Amex. Then they would not let me in the building until I updated my card. Then they forgot to give me the code for the lock box. Pretty average service

    The size of the room was great. Perfect for a family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet leaks, shower in the bath is an opportunity to break your neck. Light in the bathroom is very low. Bathrooms need a renovation.

    Location. Car park next door. Good size apartments.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needed renovating The third bedroom was a bit poky, noisy and let the light in.

    Great location Beds and pillows comfortable Good to find 3 bedroom apartment in such a great location for a reasonable price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appliances (e.g. oven) were old, gym was small and stuffy, there was a hiccup with the wifi for the while building so couldn't use wifi for one day (staff were unapologetic about this).

    Great spacious apartment with high ceilings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before you read what we didn’t like please remember that we still keep going back because the positives far outweigh the negatives........ The inadequate lighting in the kitchen and dining area has always been a downside and having only 1 elevator can be problematic when staff are servicing apartments. We also found the small decorative cushions on the lounge did not provide adequate back support when sitting to read or watch TV. We are a mature aged couple.

    We have stayed here for approx a week at a time many many times since 2004. The one bedroom apartment is very spacious and well equipped. Large bathroom has laundry facilities included so we can pack much more lightly. It is easy walking distance to Collins St tram lines and to Flinders St. Loads of local restaurants and shopping. Interesting laneways. Whilst it does not have wonderful views (building roofs mainly) it is VERY quiet and comfortable. And this time in particular, the young woman at the front desk was particularly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a super basic kitchen set up, the appliances and bathroom were outdated which for the price was a little disappointing.

    The staff were excellent and the apartment was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a little bit old but it was very clean. The entrance of the building had couple of steps and no disability access for that.

    what can i say ? It is the centre of melbourne, easy for shopping and sightseeing. The apartment was very spacious and self-contained. It even had washing machine and clothes drier.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it supplied all I required for a suitable cost.

    Perfect location allowed easy access to CBD and public transport. Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small flight of stairs at entrance may prove challenging for some visitors

    Quiet location in a repurposed industrial building close to trams sports retail restaurants dayspas and gardens

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the room, the apartment really needs an update urgently. Repaint walls, renovate bathroom, update appliances, add bluetooth stereo system, and coffee table. Third bedroom beds should be true single beds rather than a smaller size.

    The 3 bedroom apartment layout, natural light and above all the location !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No vacuum in the room. I know the rooms are serviced each day, but with five children, the floor can get a bit icky between hoovers. We were also on the first floor, and the busyness of the city below us was very noisy, particularly in the morning. Woken at 5am due to building works in the street. Not the venue's fault I understand, but if peace is what you're after, a floor higher up might be more suitable for your needs. Gym, spa etc all pretty good.

    This is a great venue for families. I have five children, and our family was very comfortable in the 3 bedroom apartment. Great kitchen facilities (although a strainer for pasta and rice would be useful), and bathroom very spacious with a bath and shower. Top laundry facilities too. I like that the sleeping areas are separate to the main living area, so that children can go to bed without being disturbed. Top access to local parks, shopping and restaurants. Convenience stores close by too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apartment was a bit tired - didn't look like the pics on the website. The spa was out of order for most of the period we were there - would have been great to relax in the spa after busy days site seeing. The roll out bed was like a saggy trampoline - had to put the mattress on the floor to have a descent night sleep. Wasn't as clean as one would expect - eg carpets not thoroughly cleaned.

    Convenient to trams, CBD, major attractions and South Bank. The staff were prompt in sending my mobile phone interstate which was accidentally left behind- big thank you. Towels were clean. a good small gym area down in the basement

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, we returned the rental car early as it was costing too mich with minimal use.

    Perfect apartment , loved the loft style and brick,concrete finish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls thin could hear the neighbours having a domestic argument and people making noise coming home late Bed too soft and a bit buggered

    Staff were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was such great value for money. The staff couldn't be more helpful, the location was great and it was spotlessly clean. I'll definitely be booking here again when I am in Melbourne.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs going down to the lower floor rooms are difficult to manage with heavy bags so this should be kept in mind if booking lower floor rooms but otherwise no problems.

    Spacious, clean and stylish room with large bathroom and kitchen. Very comfortable bed, great water pressure in shower and air conditioning worked well and was easy to adjust. Overall, excellent value for money and very close to some great restaurants and an easy walk to shops and train stations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. They only clean my bathroom and not the bed or the living room. There are also another property with the same name on the same street, which confusing.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bedroom was not fully separated from the living room (it was partially separated by a curtain), which didn't provide enough privacy when another person was sleeping in the living room

    great location in Melbourne CBD, walking distance to many restaurants, shops, sports venues and public transportation. the apartment was basic but nice and the receptionist was lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe.

    Location was excellent. Staff friendly. Apartment was a good size with everything we needed except a safe. Lots of restaurants close by. Trams only a block away. Quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a nice and comfortable place. In a wonderful location. Just need to be aware that you may be in a room that's basement-like without little natural light.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had requested an early check in. They didn't reply and then didn't alllw it as room wasn't ready. A mild inconvenience. We had flown in and really needed our room.

    Staff were helpful and allowed us to leave luggage at a sister hotel on our way to the railway station so we could go shopping. Very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some updating in the bathroom

    Beautiful and spacious rooms with fantastic facilities. Staff are helpful and location was very central. Highly recommended for all members of the family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful, comfortable apartment with all the amenities and at a budget price. Even though it was about as central as you could get in Melbourne, there was no street noise in our suite. Who could ask for more? Plus, Nikki at reception went to great effort to locate and return a jacket my wife left at the cafe next door!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of construction noise in the morning but nothing the hotel can do about it so I didn't take any points off

    I loved the lady at the front desk, she was so friendly and helpful and made it seem so easy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It appears cleaning and maintenance teams may not always communicate. 2 out of 4 hotplates didn't work (broken knobs), 2 kitchen cupboard doors off hinges. Mould in shower (which needs an upgrade), light in fridge didn't work, exterior side of fridge showed considerable damage, freezer needed defrosting (ridiculous appliance as cleaners don't have time to do that), no tongs or non-stick pans, no light on extractor fan above stove and sometimes the fan wouldn't turn off when you pushed it back in. Instructions for aircon didn't match what you actually have to do, all the buttons were missing and we figured out you just turn it on and off. Bar stools too high for the bench. Black-out blinds ineffective due to 2 inch gap around them. In one bedroom the side table didn't fit between the beds so was stuck next to the door, so no bedside light. View was awful from all 4 rooms (rooftop carpark and brick walls) and walls/doors need cleaning or a fresh coat of paint. Worst of all was the street noise, the noisiest place I have ever stayed, anywhere, and throughout the whole 7 days it didn't improve. Earplugs after the first night helped but didn't block it out. Surely these days double-glazed windows on apartments facing the street isn't a big ask.

    Staff were polite and welcoming. Beds/pillows were lovely and comfy, linen and towels were also nice. Ducted aircon worked well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is small for 4 people and shower over the bath is almost dangerous, narrow and no rails to help get in and out. The hot water system broke....we had a night with no showers but it was fixed the following day. The whole place needs a good clean and paint. Beds are not all that comfy and there is a general lack of storage sand space.

    The location is fantastic and staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy with skateboarders all night. Not enough supplies for a 6 person stay, eg not enough coffee or toilet paper, or other edibles but the actual facilities were great.

    Spacious, funky and great location and price. Comfortable and clean. Really loved the set out of the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa bath: Too cold for a spa for my liking. Smells mouldy. One set of jets did not work. Cannot go upstairs via staircase, have to use elevator which is a bit annoying.

    Super friendly staff. Interesting interior design with industrial style raw concrete. A bit too much for my liking (entire ceiling), but an interesting experience. Overall comfy and spacious apartment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We found the shower over the bath difficult to manage.

    Staff were outstanding when we arrived from an early flight in pouring rain and cold. Very helpful. The location was ideal for all we wanted to do.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skinny shower / bath recess - lose the bath and make a nice shower space.

    Simple layout, nicely styled, good living area, great to have washer and dryer. Comfortable beds , good lighting throughout. Location great, just a little removed from busiest downtown area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bed lamp next to head of bed in single room

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Facilities very clean Room quiet through the night Desk staff very helpful Close to everything we needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not overly sure how thorough house keeping is with cleaning. Seemed as if the floors were never vacuumed properly, we came into the room and there were dirty/ used tea towels in the kitchen, there were hairs (not ours) left in the spa tub, and the toilet seat had a little mound or black residue on it. I know they are just minor things, but it was enough to make me question the cleanliness of the apartment. The boiler also went out on the roof due to the storms, so we did not have hot water for a while, but that couldn't be helped. We just waited it out.

    Fully furnished apartment with super comfy beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a little trouble with the size of the shower being on the small side.

    I enjoyed being downstairs for a change, quite novel. It was spacious, and very comfortable. Everything i needed was in the room, including a decent television (not just a cheap one that can't even play a movie).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleanliness of the apartment was not very good at all, cobwebs everywhere and a lot dust, that has built up to big balls of dirt. Needs a good clean. Not self contained in kitchen well enough, 7 people in our apartment and only a small pan to cook, asked for bigger one, they did not have so gave me another 2 small ones. No tongs, had to ask for some, also should have more plates and cutlery. Blinds in the apartment do not join together with big gaps and sun shines right into bedrooms, some of the blinds have been cut by scissors to fit doors - not professionally done??? Very noisy from outside noise, need to double glaze for noise factor.

    Apartment was spacious enough and having washing machine and dryer was very handy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, clean, comfort couldn't ask for anything more. For the first time the pictures did nothing as far as advertising, have highly recommended this place to friends & next time we need a bed in Melbourne we will be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was dark, facing a car park wall (I would suggest avoiding level 1). Fairly sparse decor and a lot of exposed concrete.

    The location is very convenient for business and leisure activities. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Lower Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer a solid wall between living area & bedroom, but this is really only a little gripe, and didn't impact our stay at all.

    Generous sized apartment, well located. Booked 3 rooms independently, yet staff ensured rooms were next to each other without being asked. Living area coped with the chaos if getting ready for a wedding- wedding party, make up artist, photographer, etc! Would be suitable for a longer stay as well appointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Punthill Apartment Hotel - Manhattan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: