Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Q Station 4 stars

1 North Head Scenic Drive, Manly, Manly, 2095 Sydney, Australia

#73 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 925 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Such a great place for a Sydney stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a great place for a Sydney stay. Accessible to both manly and the city, fabulous views of the harbour, unique setting for a hotel with a wonderful and interesting history. Loads of space for the kids to run around, great breakfast and very very friendly and attentive staff. We have stayed 6 or 7 times now, it’s the only hotel to go to with kids for value and access ability to the city without paying extortionate prices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall enjoyed our stay there with other family members in various rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite (3 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold at night, needed more blankets. Can’t park near rooms, need shuttle bus to get from reception and car park. Poor signage, went past entrance and had to ask for directions. No bathroom facilities in some rooms.

    Beautiful location, handy to family wedding at North Head. Interesting history. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Location, location.
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small choices to where one can eat on site, food was excellent though.

    Location, location. Not your usual hotel accommodation but worth the expense/experience (A good pair of walking shoes are essential). Staff where all helpful and pleasant. Breakfast plentiful and excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Unique. Just a few kilometres from the city with amazing views, quirky facilities and friendly staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is NOT five star accommodation. They've done a great job of converting 19th century barracks into a hotel, but there are lots of rough edges.

    This place is unique. Amazingly beautiful setting. Quirky buildings. Fabulous views of Sydney Harbour. We even saw an echidna in the grounds!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Better than we imagined. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was awoken to a smack to the head when I was snoring, then felt a extremely cold sensation over. My wife swears she didn’t do it. I didn’t like that LOL

    We were upgraded for free because it was my wife’s birthday. We had the whole isolation area for ourselves one night which felt like a once in a lifetime experience. The ghost tour with Bob was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Great weekend away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heritage room bathrooms were not located in the room. We had our own bathroom, but you have to walk outside to get there. Not ideal and I am not sure that was clearly communicated when we made the booking.

    The location is fantastic. A getaway in a city. It is not a 'normal' hotel, so leave your hotel expectations at reception and open your mind for an excellent trip back in time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, enjoyed the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main gripe was that we paid extra for a harbour view but couldn’t see it because of the overgrown vegetation.from balcony. (Bldg P5, great Rm5). Accepted that this is a national park location, but some vegetation could have been cleared. Based on this experience, I would not have paid the extra fee. Other bldgs have clear vantage vistas of the harbour., but without some maintenance, I suspect these will be restricted view in time.

    The location is peaceful and relaxing. Accommodation is very nice and breakfast options were plentiful. Saw some native animals and we enjoyed the stroll around the grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Interesting location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle transport was inconvenient

    Accommodation was very comfortable, location interesting but would have been better if the weather is good. We chose very rainy cold weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Great, however management must ensure their trainee staff are competent and well supervised.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 25 minutes (7:32pm - 7:57pm) to arrive at my room from reception on a cold and wet Tuesday evening, especially after being told when making a dinner booking at The Pumphouse restraunt earlier in the day that the restraunt 'DID NOT TAKE BOOKINGS AFTER 7:30pm. Which at the time I thought really strange. The misinformation left us feeling rushed and angry by the time we got to the restaurant...Only to find out that the restaurant takes bookings up till 8:30pm.

    The peaceful location and the quality of the natural ecosystem in which Q Station is situated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall a pleasant stay. It was unfortunate that the weather on the Sunday was poor which linited wh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meals at the engine shed were a little disappointing. we felt the cost at $25 for a basic pizza was expensive

    Walking around the site was very interesting. We now have a greater understanding of the the historical significance of the q station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.5
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the station to check in to the room and ghost tour starting at 10pm. The service from the reception staff was disgusting. We stood at the counter for at least 10 minutes waiting to be greeted. The door behind the counter was open enough for the staff to see us, and they did. I understand if you're busy and understaffed but it's as simple as acknowledging the people waiting and letting them know you will be there in a moment. If she couldn't do that she was in the wrong job. Unfortunately people who came in after us experienced the same rudeness, but luckily didnt have to wait as long. The tour I booked was the extreme ghost tour... very disappointing. I have done the normal ghost tour in the past and that was excellent!! It is mentioned on the website experiments are conducted to encourage paranormal activity. That definitely did not happen, all we did was go in to different rooms and listen to stories that stopped sounding believable after a while. That doesn't sound like conducting experiments.. Which saddens me as the first tour I did was outstanding and cost a whole lot less, we even got to see a emf reader in use for the first one. Why don't they include this in the 'extreme' tour? The website is a lie and your extreme ghost tour was a waste of money.

    The room was great! Clean and cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    unique accomodation in walking distance to Manly and Harbourside beaches , quiet and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom access is not great on a cold windy wet night , the bath space is small , but I understand that is due to the limitation of the retrofitted buildings.

    loved the unique location . The weather was terrible , so the location can be a problem with the exposed position at North Head , ( cannot help this) but the rooms were warm and cosy and loved the walks around the site and the history. Would be fantastic in beautiful sydney weather

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Feel the serenity
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms with harbour views are not suitable for the elderly or disabled as the shower is over a the bath with no hand rails

    Fabulous location with fascinating history. Rooms nice With good heating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed at the timing of the shuttle bus -3 went past...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed at the timing of the shuttle bus -3 went past full before we could get on one for check out. Obviously need to improve this at check out time!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    1)Location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Considering it was the first day of winter I think it would be nice to have the rooms heated for guests , if they don’t like it they can switch it off on check in 2) I would have appreciated to know that there was a bulldozer in front of my room . I’m sure the whole property was not booked out and could have been given a different room 3) a general introduction of what was available around the building - eg csroentet room , general lounge area . This would have been handy to use knowing they were there without stumbling on them when it was too late as finding them on our exit .

    1)Location .. on a beautiful day it would change the scene completely and atmosphere of the place 2) late check out is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay, certainly worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average and we wouldn't bother again, better value in Manly

    Excellent location, great to experience the history associated with the property.... We were able to catch a Ferry from the front of the property which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff with 24/7 bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seperate outside bathroom you have to go outside to get to from your room.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff with 24/7 bus down to your rooms makes it fully accessible. Retreat feel as if you are far away from the city despite being so close to manly and the harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Retreat feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location over looking parts of the harbour. Beautiful place on acreage giving a total retreat feel away from the city life even though being 10mins from manly centre. Room 27 had amazing views!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    This was a unique experience which we loved & we will b back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything

    We loved how quiet it was at night lovely brekky at Views & lovely dinner at Boilerhouse Rest enjoyed shuttle service & loved the walks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Good but could have been excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite (3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited half an hour to get picked up from room to reception...driver insisted he had NOT been told of pick up request. He Was giving other guests a 'tour' of the property, and only by chance came by my location. Found this very strange as the purpose of the shuttle bus is not for sight tours but to pick up guests needing to get to locations around the property in a timely manner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    First class heritage accomodation
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First class heritage accommodation, lovely wide verandah to relax and take in the ambience of this wonderful property with excellent views of Sydney harbour. Private ensuite room, on site café, restaurant and bar, along with a 24 hour coffee machine. Informative and entertaining Heritage Tours. With the on-site parking permitted only at reception, privacy and noise was kept to a minimum. The shuttle bus an excellent idea. There was absolutely nothing about this property I did not like. Wonderful retreat, thank you Q Station Accor Group and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Recommend a stay at this place, a relaxing escape for large activity-loving groups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Suite (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Administrative and booking processes. Had an issue with requesting room and was overcharged. But staff acknowledged it was a systems issue and very quickly rectified it. Largely was minor issue and did not affect the positive experiences from our stay! Also take note if you have a large group you might have to spend some time waiting for their buses to come and take you back to the lobby (only way from suites to carpark).

    Location and scenic views, free facilities and many activities on site including games room, conference room, trail walk and private beach. Very relaxing, felt like we were away in the countryside but was surprisingly close to Sydney city. Really enjoyed the ghost tour as well, tour guide went above and beyond to make sure we had a good time. Suggest you do some experience about everything that is available because some things weren't told about and only found later when we didn't have much time left. Overall, I'd really recommend a stay at this place, particularly for large groups.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall, I'd really recommend a stay at this place, particularly for large activity loving groups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Suite (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Administrative and booking processes. Had an issue with requesting room and was overcharged. But staff acknowledged it was a systems issue and very quickly rectified it. Largely was minor issue and did not affect the positive experiences from our stay!

    Location and scenic views, free facilities and many activities on site including games room, conference room, trail walk and private beach. Very relaxing, felt like we were away in the countryside but was surprisingly close to Sydney city. Really enjoyed the ghost tour as well, tour guide went above and beyond to make sure we had a good time. Suggest you do some experience about everything that is available because some things weren't told about and only found later when we didn't have much time left. Overall, I'd really recommend a stay at this place, particularly for large groups.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous views, quiet and peaceful, great staff, excellent museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a two person suite. The sofa bed could have had more blankets. A small table for cups of tea etc would be good also. A greater variety of eateries on the premises, with a range of prices would be appreciated.

    Location was fabulous, the courtesy bus drivers were all fantastic- helpful, friendly and professional. The historical aspects and buildings were very good, tours were interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Above expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quaint and fitted in with the place we were in. The view magnificent, the meal at the boiler house was delious, breakfast more than we expected. Service and staff excellent , helpful. Enjoyed the ghost tour and learning the history of the QStation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    beautiful spot in a location full of an intriguing history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the food options are very limited and the restaurant food was not particularly good value for its quality

    great location overlooking the water, easy to get around and to get to the national park and beaches. A quirky site with a hugely interesting history

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Spooky stay
    • People with friends
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar isn’t open till late in the afternoon. While you can gat drinks and light food at the cafe it would have been great to have a bar meal or similar for lunch.

    The location is incredible and easy to get to via the fast ferry from either manly or circular quay. The views from the veranda around the rooms is spectacular. And a late night visit from the beyond was a bonus (if you like that sort of thing)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall a good break, lots of walks, but I'm glad we got a special I wouldn't pay full price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disrupted sleep. Room allocation was noisy due to business functions, wedding and birthday party. For example, before checking in we should have been told that we would be placed in the middle of a wedding party who congregated to talk, eat and drink on the verandah outside our door for 6 hours into the small hours of the morning before the wedding - after midnight I had to go out and ask them to move to a communal lounge in another building. The "quiet" afternoon relax disappeared when the wedding car and party arriving 20 metres from our door. The hot breakfasts each day worked hard to be luke warm.

    The location. The history - loved reading about it! The external views of the harbour were good,but not from the room (could mainly only see another building and roof- not the view we expected from the promotion - see picture).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    DISSAPOINTING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Staff checking in was unhelpful. Needed to move dinner booking back x30 minutes as booking in process and shuttle bus delay. No effort was made to do this and excuses made why they couldn’t. Made this request x4 times without any assistance. Disappointed as the request could have been easily accommodated as were not heavily booked and serving meals much later. *Service in Boilerhouse restaurant was PATHETIC! Waited 30mins for our wine after reminding. No cutlery when dinner arrived. One meal arrived, we were left sitting for 10minutes and had to remind them to bring my meal... husbands meal was the cold :-/ NOT HAPPY!!! PATHETIC SERVICE!!!!

    Historical significance and the views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The history within and around the hotel was wonderful however would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably a heritage issue but lack of aircon. Fan would unlikely suffice on a hot summer night. Breakfast was nice but only two staff who struggled to cope with cleaning and restocking.

    Lovely view. Comfortable rooms. Great history in the area made it worthwhile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappionted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were led to believe that the room we had booked had a view of the harbour.

    Very Disappointed We were in room P5 room 11 and the bathroom had Mould on the wall, above the Mirror.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Great history, lovely beach, beautiful views but don’t expect luxury!
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs screen. Water all over the bathroom not good. Very small room, quite warm without air con. Noisy in the morning with conference groups. Did not appreciate some fellow being interviewed for ages just near our room. Some reception staff were great, some were very unfriendly

    The views were magnificent and the location very special. Faris, one of the shuttle drivers made us feel very welcome and was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    It was great such a lovely, relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More power points in the room and better food at the Engine Room.i

    I loved the verandah along our accommodation. The breakfast at views was excellent. The ghost tour was fantastic, so interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Disappointing food ise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiler room restaurant menu. Limited mains choices. Not impressed with choices. Sides with fish was terrible. Steak was rare despite request for well done and sauce was lousy

    Old world

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing and hassle free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gutters on the majority of the buildings need cleaning. If not done soon, there is going to be a larger repair bill from water entering the buildings from the overflowing gutters.

    The serenity ! To be able to stroll around the grounds and look at what you wanted to look at was refreshing. Most people (other visitors) were friendly and polite. The shuttle busses were within a couple of minutes wait.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay overall, our first stay at Q station, love the location and beautiful surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast at 9 am a lot of the items on offer were very low, bread, scrambled eggs, ricotta cheese etc I feel not enough attention on keeping up the stock and each of our group had to repeatedly ask.

    Handy Location, lovely surroundings fora wedding we attended nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    The room was dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it. Room was filthy carpets and walls included

    The room was dirty. Staff unable to advise of transport around Manly and incorrect information given on Ferrys means we missed seeing friends and keeping appointments.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Stunning location with a wonderful past. A secret find for holidays or when attending a conference
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected air conditioning and as there is only one door there’s no cross breeze in the rooms. The overhead fan was actually more than adequate and I slept well but I was a bit taken aback to enter a stuffy room

    Stunning location, relaxed friendly staff and atmosphere. Able to take a swim post conference, awoke to bird song.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website did make room choices clear. We had to pay to upgrade because of stuffy room with no windows or air con. Do not understand how it gets 4 star rating. It's like luxury camping. Some of the staff need training in how to treat guests! Restaurant experience was NOT good. Non of the staff seemed to understand what was happening- the stove wasn't working - the very expensive side dish was served AFTER we had finished our meals. Accor breakfasts hark back to 1950s embarrassing! No wonder the breakfast room & the restaurant were both empty. Very disappointing ☹️

    Wonderful views from certain rooms. Comfortable beds. Good bathroom. Unique natural surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very Dangerous bath / shower Had to move bed to find a power point for CPAP machine and hence disconnect clock Main light in bedroom not working Sink blocked Very limited TV capability. Upgrade to HD required Need more visible warning of no vehicular access to room. Brought too many bags not knowing. v. stingy on tea bags sugar etc and all this for a $700 bill for 2 nights . preposterous!

    View

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instant decaf coffee in room and two tea bags per room Could do better on that I don’t know anyone who drinks decaf coffee or why anyone would

    Peaceful bush land Staff not saying “not a problem” when thanked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    We didn’t stay. Left and drove back to Blue Mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Promised views (with additional charge) were of adjacent building and other guests and only if you walked out of the room, otherwise a dark stuffy room with no aircon and no security if you wanted to leave door to room open. Bathroom windowless and dark. Shuttle service to and from carpark not frequent enough. For the price of $399 the facilities were completely inadequate and possibly a case of false advertising regarding ‘balcony with views’.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Location & views are magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Suite (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double sofa beds are NOT suitable for 3rd & 4th adults. Ceiling fans are slow, noisy & don't keep rooms cool or comfortable.

    Location & views are magnificent! Ghost tour was fun, something different. Engine room & bar, very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    A very different experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unaware that restricted motor activity on site meant that we wouldn’t be able to take our car in to unload our luggage. The shuttle buses provided were in very poor condition internally.

    Use of guest lounges and the interesting location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.5
    Peace and quiet in a beautiful and historic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    External bathroom - a bit inconvenient.

    The Boilerhouse dinner was excellent. Staff were friendly, well-presented and attentive. Food was delicious. Shuttle bus service was very convenient. Lot of lookouts to view the beauty of Sydney. Excellent information on the historical significance of Q Station. Quiet location for some R&R.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where did you state that the bathroom and toilet was detached! I’ve got kidney problems which made for a very unpleasant stay. No air conditioning, can’t drive your car in near your room. Was the first time I used Booking.com and at this stage the last. Ruined our last night in Sydney.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing day spent on the onsite harbour beach , delicious food and unlimited coffee on our verandah
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling Fan was very slow even on high, which, with no air conditioning option made for a slightly sweaty night. Would be good to have the option of leaving the french doors open for ventilation (maybe install a screen door for security?) or an air conditioner.

    Super friendly staff, great coffee machine, easy parking, big verandah outside our room, great food at the Boilerhouse restaurant and walk (using the funicular steps) to the beach and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.5
    Q station - what a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was that I didn't like it, I just wasn't aware that you had to leave your car at thr reception car park, and then needed to get the courtesy bus to your room. I would have packed lighter bags 😉

    We had such a wonderful stay and experience. We stayed in the deluxe harbourview room- the room was perfect for two and had lively glimpses of yhe harbour. We ate at the boilerhouse - the food was beautiful. We loved watching the chefs cooking in the kitchen. We also went on the ghost tour. We loved our tour guide and found the tour very interesting and informative. Definitely a must do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Excellent facility have enjoyed many great stays here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Request for early check in was declined and no option for any earlier check in provided by the staff member Also paid for a water view room and was allocated room 5 rather than between rooms 23-26 which I have previously been allocated Stay was disappointing this time around.

    Excellent facility have enjoyed many great stays here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Great location & amenities, and so peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having the bathroom at the end of the verandah was a bit inconveniencing at first, but actually turned into a positive during the stay - no unappealing smells or noises to deal with, as with other hotel rooms.

    Great location - being in the national park was so peaceful. And being so high on the headland meant there were some amazing views of the harbour. Staff were very friendly and helpful - being in the park meant that you couldn't park your car next to your accommodation but the shuttle service was excellent - never waited more than a few minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    What a refreshing change from traditional hotels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first the outside bathroom facilities was a put off but in the end it was a non-issue.

    I loved the tranquility, the wildlife, the unique location that offered loads of space and fresh air. The staff were amazing. The history of it all... Should keep going?!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Felt depressed in staying in the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a different room to the one we booked . We were booked into a disable room which we didn't ask for . . A ramp was straight outside the door.Bathroom with a horrible rusty disable chair . Water went all over the bathroom floor and toilet area , from the shower , and made floor slippery and bath mat soaking wet . Black marks on the toilet from being hit by a wheelchair . There was no fence divider between rooms ( because of the ramp ) so other guests unsupervised children kept running up and down the ramp screaming and shouting while we were trying to sit outside and relax . Hotel manager refused to move us to another room , saying that was the only room available . She did give us a free bottle of wine , but would've preferred to of moved rooms .We booked the room 5 weeks ago , so this didn't make sence why we couldn't move when there was spare rooms . I felt like I was staying in a residential home for OAP . The ceiling fan was making a squeaking noise on and off during the night . Not a luxury room that was advertised or we stayed in on our last visit four years ago for the same price . I work in disabilities and really wanted a break from residential homes .

    Being in the national park . Having a good restaurant on site . Having transport to drive us around the property . Away from hustle and bustle of traffic noise .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    The view was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had made a special request for water views - this did not happen. As we were staying for two nights my partner and I concluded that the water views must have been booked out, however this was not the case. There were several rooms that were unoccupied which boasted water views - this was disappointing. The breakfast was not worth what we were charged, it was cold and the scrambled eggs had been sitting for a while and were soggy the baked beans - were non existent with just the juice remaining as they had not been replenished. Listening to the wait staff talk loudly about their big night out the night before was also a turn off.

    The view was beautiful. Along with the private beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    I did enjoy the experience and u hope that it will be one for the memory bank for the kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Suite (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 4 of us, 3 kids and an adult, we only had 2 beds, I did expect that the kids would get their own beds and I would not being sharing with one of them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Suite (3 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Info about walking fr Manly wharf to quantitine in 20 mins. Need to cab it or best to get ferry fr quay to q station

    Ghost Tour and room comfort n verandah n view and free bottles of water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Amazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't great.

    Amazing location, so much history there which was fascinating to explore We came for a friends wedding and it was a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    We were very happy with all aspects of the complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms have no fly screens. Magpies can enter the rooms at will and do so to try to steal food particularly biscuits

    Standard of rooms Responsiveness of staff Other on site facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant alternative to suburban hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The private bathroom was several doors away along the outside verandah. It was large and adequate, but still a little more inconvenient than being "across the corridor" as the room was advertised. The need to ventilate the rooms by leaving doors and curtains ajar, combined with a secluded setting that seemed to have lulled some of our neighbouring guests into forgetting that others would be passing by, meant we saw more of them than we would have liked.

    The setting is unique and very pleasant, set far away from the bustle of the adjacent suburbs. Our rooms were amply sized and comfortably furnished. Although I anticipated delays, the shuttle service to and from our room and around the resort was quick and convenient. Similarly, the lack of air conditioning proved not to be an issue, but might be problematic in the peak of summer or for rooms without front-to-back flow through.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    A bit of History,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good for disabled person's, in our instance we had although private bathroom we had to go cross a walk way not to clever.

    Very good location, good History, bus collection and transfer. Food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Informative, peaceful, beautiful location but rooms were too stuffy and hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was extremely hot with a strong musty smell. There was mould spots on ceiling. No aircon or windows.

    Restaurant and breakfast were great. Location was amazing. Historical info was great and interesting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on an extremely hot day, could have done with air con in the rooms. Still an awesome place to stay.

    Free up grade to a room with a bath room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    disappointing stay in otherwise nice venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lousy location as long bunk style we got the worst room in the place.So often if i book early i get allocated the worst maybe booking reception should reward me rather than penalise by giving out unsellable rooms to early birders!!

    lovely property but sad as no view and next door to restaurant so noisy wake up and blocked exit when leaving poor location within property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Location history great accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Suite (3 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is beyond amazing. The history of the place is engrossing. The restaurant & bar area is a great place to hang out in the evening. Perfect place to explore. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    A short break with a difference!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation or air conditioning in the room would have been good. Can’t imagine staying there in summer. We kept our door open till late at night but the possums were always ready to come in! The casual dining area needed lighting and a bit of a facelift. The breakfast area does not make good use of the fantastic space and views you have around it!

    Loved the location, enjoying Bush and harbour. Loved learning about the history of the place. Enjoyed our casual dining experience and breakfast was lovely. We found the staff all very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and quiet at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    The setting is absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle bus service was very poor. We phoned for a shuttle bus and waited 25 mins. Not great if you need to get somewhere

    The setting is absolutely amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    We’d definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a beautiful location! The people went out their way to make sure we were comfortable and had all we needed. They gave us great suggestions for local travel and sites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.0
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guttering leaked badly over verandah to distant bathroom facility. No window to stuffy room. Unable to defer stay to meet deferred hospital stay - would have forfeited 100% of high tariff. No sign warning of voracious birds at outdoor dining area - pizza pilfered.

    Punctual morning bus and pleasant evening drinks spot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    i think i did that above... sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Suite (3 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and comfort of the Q Station is great!. I didn't realize though when I booked that we did not have our own ensuite, however, the bathroom we found down the verandah was very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay, the park is lovely and the shuttle bus a great service!. As are the staff lovely and food was great, we had breakfast at Views. Will definitely stay again in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our silver wedding anniversary wish we could of stayed longer!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 night inconsiderate guests

    We just love the history & location of the q station & loved the great advice from Wally in the North Fort visitor centre sent us off on a most wonderful walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    We will be back again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Suite (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes so long to get a bus. We had about 15 others people had to work down to our room with all our bags as it took to look but a staff member to the bus down the hill with no one in it ??? On the way back to the car on Sunday it was a 20 min wait and people on the stop down from us they had about 15 people at the bus stop and they said they had a 40 min wait has the bus was always full ....... you need for coffee and milk in the rooms as we had 4 people in our room with only 2 coffees. You need to put a underlay on all beds we are sleeping on a sheet then a mattress that a lot of people are sleeping on that’s not go hygienic .

    The view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    The closeness of suburbia and the bush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't open windows in room.

    The closeness of suburbia and the bush. The feeling of being far away from suburbia even though in reality it was very close. The wildlife.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Would never stay there again cause of the shuttle bus system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hated that we had to leave the car in the car park and get the shuttle bus to and from the room. Often a very long wait.

    The room was great with good views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Suite with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough milk in the fridge, hot in summer to sleep. Maybe screen doors would be good so you could leave the doors open for breeze?

    Location and great price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely - would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building & grounds maintenance a little tired but easy to fix. Eg outdoor furniture we sat in at the cafe overlooking the beach - well used and sagging. Bathroom was lovely but window paint was all peeling off on shower side. (Would have loved a touch of fresh Bush greenery in here). Breakfast cafe buffet was great, but environment was loud and clattery. We sat outside to enjoy the peace and environment but it was a bit spartan. Maybe put up open bird nets or similar and really commit to outdoor breakfast? Or soften indoors by opening windows to allow breeze and introduce something to soften & absorb sound? Bedroom got quite hot at night - any way to introduce airflow?

    Unique location & set up. Friendly staff. Room facilities great. Breakfast buffet interesting & healthy. Easy access.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location ideal for bike riding and having fun in Manly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An ice machine in the sitting room would have been handy. The room we occupied had a toilet and bathroom across the hallway and I would have preferred it to be in the bedroom.

    The location is excellent and it is a short Uber ride into town. Suggest requesting a room with a view.Staff responed quickly to a request for ice.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: