Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quality Hotel Gateway Inn Devonport 4 stars

16 Fenton Street, 7310 Devonport, Australia

#7 of 17 hotels in Devonport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 954 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, helpful, easy access, restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfortable. Hot water disappears during a shower. Rooms not at all soundproof.

    Friendly staff, helpful, easy access, restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass bathroom door with no seals, left alot to be desired with regards to privacy. Paper thin walls, extremely loud plumbing. Extensive noise from neighbouring area.

    Centrally located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice and quiet location, easy check in / out, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park to the left of the hotel could do with some signage to say that it's okay for hotel guests to park there. Better signage overall would be good actually - it was my second stay so roughly I knew where to go, but this might not be so obvious for those staying for the first time.

    Good location - walking distance to main retail and restaurant areas. Close to the Spirit of Tasmania if you're travelling via car to/from mainland. Needed to change my check in time with just under 24 hours notice. Had my call promptly returned to organise this and although I still had to wait upon arrival, my request was accommodated with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and very happy to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are clean, spacious and bright. The food in the hotel restaurant was good value for money, the service from all staff was friendly, quick and welcoming. Would stay there again for sure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location near the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable, the TV was outdated and not able to receive Foxtel or Netflix. And the room was quite small.

    Good proximity to the local centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice place - service was poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the restaurant was pretty poor - I waited for 50 minutes for a meal dining in then asked them to send it up to my room by which time it was quite cold and not very appetizing. The staff seemed indifferent to my presence. I ordered a coffee one morning only after I waited for a casual conversation between the two waitresses to finish.

    The rooms upstairs with spa are very comfortable and pleasant to stay in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    IT WAS A NICE PLACE TO STAY CLOSE TO MAIN STREET AND STAFF WERE LOVELY, WOULD STAY AGAIN
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE IS NO HEATING / COOLING EXCEPT FOR A FAN AND A MINI HEATER THAT DID NOT WORK, I WENT DOWN AND ASKED ABOUT IT AND WAS TOLD IT DOES NOT LIKE BEING ON THE FLOOR IT NEEDS TO BE UP ON THE BENCH (A HARD SURFACE), STILL DID NOT WORK, LUCKY THEY HAD ELECTRIC BLANKETS.

    THE ROOM WAS NICE BIT ODD THEY HAD THE KITCHENETTE AND A COFFEE STATION,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok but waiting for stuffput a downer on the stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went for breakfast which was part of the room deal one person eating breakfast in restaurant was seated for over 15 min no stuff come out so left wasn’t happy

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark had 4wd's with campervans parking across 6 parking spots at a time. It made it hard to find a parking spot. The flood lights from the carpark shone through the sides of the curtains.

    Easy check in. Nice and clean. Bathroom was tops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are old and outdated, no air conditioning or heating, a desk fan for keeping cool how old is that. I will no recommend this accommodation to any one, I was shocked that a Quest facility was so poor

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Was ok, bit over priced for old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window couldn't be shut/locked. No reverse cycle. Found random drunk girls on my motorbike at 11:30pm (lack of secure parking)

    Food was good & well presented, not hot enough though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel close to ferry and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue I can think of was the sink in the bathroom was leaking on the floor

    Close to the ferry, easy check in, very friendly staff and updated rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The rooms very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms very comfortable and clean. The Hotel is situated near the middle of the CBD, and the staff were very obliging - Overall great value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    I would highly recommended this hotel, especially if travelling on the Spirit of Tasmania, it is ver
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little noisy being next to the car park but not enough to interrupt our sleep.

    Having a kitchenette in the room was brilliant. The staff were extremely helpful and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a nice meal in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My oysters were not up to scratch but they realised and adjusted the bill. Noisy exhaust fan.

    Had a nice meal in the restaurant. Good parking facilities except that the birds picked my car to crap on😖, Conveniently close to Port to connect to Spirit of Tasmania

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    Poor and would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, the bed configuration was wrong. Paid for 1 large Double bed and a single. The room only contained 2 single beds pushed together to make one large double bed. No second bed was in the room. Then the duty manager came and pulled a bed down from the wall. This bed was a stretcher like bed and not comfortable, more like a bed for a child. When I advised I was not happy, she said "If you want me to, I can split the Large Double bed but it will take me 45 minutes". Very poor service. We were also given a room with a view of the large metal bins, which were emptied by a large noisy truck at 7am in the morning. We were very disappointed with the whole affair and to have paid $150 for the room. Very poor facilities and service response from the duty manager.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    Not likely to use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key card hadn't been coded so wouldn't open the door - no apology from staff member! Room temperature was 28C, but couldn't adjust in room. Staff member at desk said she had fixed from main panel (no apology), but temp didn't get below 26C and reception closed so had to put up with it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value family stopover prior to catching the Spirit of Tasmania
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suite set up well for family with a separate room for the kids. Good location to walk to shops and restaurants in Devonport and a quick 10 minute drive to the Spirit of Tasmania.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Good for those on the 4th floor, not so good for those on the 1st floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the 1st floor

    We had two rooms, One on the first floor, poor. One on the fourth floor, excelllent. Why can’t all rooms be like the 4th floor? Ask for a room on the 4th floor if booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel that is very close to restaurants and the waterfront
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up by garbage truck ( commercial bins outside my window )

    The rooms seem to have been upgraded since I last stayed at the hotel around 12 months ago . Mich better than my last stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect start to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard but the pros outweighed this was negative by far.

    The room was super clean, staff were friendly and breakfast was delicious. Perfect start to our Tasmanian holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 001 on the parking lot level should never be rented out because it is next to the hotel's air conditioner compressors, the Oasis Casino air conditioner compressors and the Gateway Bottle Shop drive through. The noise is loud and continues all night. The night clerk would not move me to another room. The next day I was offered another room on the 4th floor at a cost of an additional AUD 40. If one must stay in this hotel ask for a 4th floor room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Very Easy checkin, lovely staff and an all round great stay. Thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was great. Kids in another room meant that they could sleep and I could watch TV or read. The bed was comfy, I slept the best I have in months, the place was very quiet and had everything we needed. We ordered room service and the food was nice, kids meals were great, with ice cream and a drink for $9. They loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice location and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    However I do believe the customer service can be better.

    We booked a family room during the Easter holiday, somehow only realized that the pipe of the shower was broken when my wife started to take a shower. We had to wait for an hour firstly to wait for a handy man to fix it and some how this didn't work. Then we were advised to switch to two rooms and we accepted. The rooms were very clean and bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Simply magic after a week on motorcycles in Tasmanian weather, this was perfect way to end trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of noise from the street but the room made up for it.

    I booked the premium king room with spa and it was just awesome! The room, the view, the heated spa and heated bathroom floor, also the Easter eggs were a wonderful additional touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Devonport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Review of room 321 Executive king room was clean, nice bathroom but bed was well below standard of quality Inn hotel. Could feel steel springs in my back all nice. Please spend some money and replace mattresses it's the most important part of a travelers stay.

    Every thing but bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing value for money, wish we stayed here for our second night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One towel had old dried blood droplets

    24 hour reception, room service, excellent food, friendly staff. The room was big and neat, and newly upgraded. Bathroom was amazing. View of the harbor and the Spirit of Tasmania was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    It was not long enough.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More room there was an extra single bed and no table and chairs to eat on.

    The King bed was so comfortable and it was great to have a good hair dryer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    This was a night before catching a plane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy,

    This was a night before catching a plane. Adequate, clean, comfy bed and nice towels. Checked the boxes for location, closed the the city center and easy access to airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    GATEWAY INN DEVONPORT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the facilities of the Inn were very of to excellent. We arrived off the Ferry a little weary and with aid of the GPS easily found the Inn. I was a little surprised at the lighting in the car park which a little underwhelming. Overall, however we were impressed by the standard of the accommodation provided. We did have a problem with the Air Conditioning which was apparently malfunctioning but at that time of night it was too late for any corrective action to be taken. The food was very good and plated nicely, the room was clean and tidy. Apart from that we enjoyed the stay at the Inn and would stay again if and when we go back to Tasmania.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Restful overnight stay with easy access to on site facilities such as the restaurant & bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to carry multiple items of my luggage on multiple trips. A concierge service would have been helpful.

    Facilities including bar & restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    The Motel was neat and tidy and well presented.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was noisy with a compressor of some sort going all night. A couple of fellows decided to have a discussion in the car park at 2.00am. The garbage truck arrived early.

    The Motel was neat and tidy and well presented.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Thank you for all who assisted us during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The metal strip on the ground in the exit of the nearby bottle shop which was noisy when vehicles exited.

    Thank you for all who assisted us during our stay. We found the staff to be very helpful in all matters especially the staff at breakfast time - we were to catch the Ferry early so they made every effort to have breakfast ready for us with enough time left to catch the Ferry. The cleanliness of the facilities was exceptional. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Luxury accommodation at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road outside was a bit noisy at times.

    We were upgraded to a spa room which was gorgeous. The bed was large and comfortable, the bath was lovely, the automatic blinds and windows were great and the room had a lovely view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    The room was tidy,clean, good kitchen friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were on the lower ground floor and the view from our room was the car park. On 3 occasions the door would not open and had to go back to the main office to get the card fixed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.6
    Over priced uncomfortable, noisy & dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait 10 minutes to check in as there was only one staff member at the desk, asked the other customers if they would like to dine in and didn’t bother to ask me. The rooms weren’t clean, I had to clean the toilet before I used it. Beds were hard, couldn’t turn up the heat as it was locked on a certain temperature. Had to listen to noisy doors being slammed and people running up and down the stairs all hours of the night. Wouldn’t stay here again at all.

    Location that’s it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was too high. I like thin pillows. I made my own up as no thin ones in the cupboard.

    Loved the room, spa bath and lighting. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice Room, but no privacy, difficult access to building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Back stairs into building from car park that we had to pull upp heavy suitcases. Frosted glass door on bathroom that didn't seal giving no privacy

    Comfortable Bed, 2 good sized lounge chairs, good wifi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    A well located and well appointed property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was looking over the carpark. Noise coming from the carpark at a very early hour was disturbing and annoying. Guests leaving were thoughtless.

    Fittings and bathrooms in Refurbished rooms give a modern feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Its really a hotel for the business person who wants to be in the middle of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small for family of three. Seems they pulled out the cupboard doors to create extra apace for our room to accommodate the two single beds.

    Room was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Had a great time so near city centre & water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon (though we knew that when we booked and staff kindly had fan on for us). We had difficulty with blind - though that might have been because we were too stupid to work it out

    Room was large enough for the three of us. Beds were comfy and lighting quite good. Location was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    4.2
    lousey bedding these things that un zip in the middle so you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    want me to retype this again as above ,, there was nothing to like bottom floor 2am some blokes having a dissscusion both pissed,, no a/c,,, a fork lift at 6am outside said same window which had to be left open to cool the hot box costing $149 p/n ,,,.

    lousey bedding these things that un zip in the middle so you can have one king and a single or three singles , I booked a queen room ,, then was told by staff they don't have queen rooms thanks trivargo ,,, nothing good to say we just went up the road to Ulverstone booked into the wills an Patterson twice the value half the cost

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    the fridge in the room was super noisy and the air...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fridge in the room was super noisy and the air conditioner may be broken or needing a service, made a loud racket every 15min, think the compressor is dead. woke me all night long

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    We were only there for a one night stay, but overall we found it to be very clean and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a 2 bed apartment, which appeared to be a second apartment with connecting door. My sons room didn't have any bedside table or power point at bedside for them to plug in or place their phones or eye glasses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and very good accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking spaces small. Would be good if room had air conditioning.

    Really enjoyed the view from the 4th floor. Very convenient location and could walk around the city without taking the car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    a very pleasant stay and would have loved to stay another day unfortunately i had commitments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    AIr con set at 18 deg. too cold,

    The waiting staff at LA Pomme , they all were excellent. also was the food which was recommended to me by the waitress. .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door had no lock. There seemed to be little or no exhaust fan in the bathroom to suck away the steam from showers. Plus the vent where I assume the steam was supposed to exit was full of dust.

    Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom doors are not satisfactory. The sliding doors don't fully close and you can see almost everything from outside the glass doors.

    The location of the hotel is very central. The large double bed was very spacious and comfy. Great for a night stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value ideally situated property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing was the bathroom fans came on at different times of the day and night and were quite noisy.

    very friendly staff. Pleasant lounge bar where we were offered some very nice snacks for free. This property is very central with easy walking to eateries and shops. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Was disappointed that there was no air conditioning but fans...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning was non existent.

    Was disappointed that there was no air conditioning but fans were supplied. Ground floor and first floor did not have air-conditioning so if booking make sure what floor you are on. The staff were fantastic and offered to upgrade at a cost to an air conditioned room but we were already unpacked and only staying 2 nights so we bit the bullet. In this day and age you just assume the rooms are all air-conditioned Very central with the mall just 3 minutes walk away. There is a gaming room and bar and also another popular bar with great meals. Car parking is catered for at no charge and there is a lift to get you and your bags to the rear car park and an extensive bottle shop with a great choice of wines, beers and spirits. The bed was very comfortable and had a great night's sleep apart from the stuffiness even with the fan going. It sounded like a helicopter hovering even on low. My only complaint was the air-conditioning everything else was 100% amazing, especially the cleaning staff who did an amazing job. The cleaning staff rarely get mentioned in reviews but I feel pampered when you get your room made up each day thanks ladies.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Staff great and close to everything
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a carpark out the back, elevators, restaurant, bar, the large rooms are very nice and there's parking for unloading luggage right out the front. We booked for a group of cyclists from Brisbane and the staff were very accommodating on check-in. Jade, (the supervisor?) went above and beyond to help us set up a television in hte bar for playback of photos of our tour, even going out the back to get a second tv when we couldnt get the HDMI to connect! Our guests loved the breakfast and it's just a block from the mall and riverfront. We put our guests here every year and everyone is always pleased with their stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.4
    Great location but basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't bad but definitely not super comfortable. The bathroom is standard. We had problems closing our blind- which is needed as it overlooks straight on to the carpark and an emergency stairwell. The sun blasts through so we had to have it closed the whole trip as the room was not air conditioned and did not have a ceiling fan. I'd pay to upgrade if they spa suites include air conditioning.

    It's a great location but the hotel is just basic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    It was quiet,bed good,shower good and food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a table and chairs so you can have breakfast and dinner on .the blinds need to be able to close separately not all a once

    It was quiet,bed good,shower good and food good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    We liked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was over by 9. We missed it. I think for the price breakfast should be included.

    I was worried when I looked at it from the outside but inside it was clean and bright. A nice place to stay in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    An excellent place to stay for one night before boarding the Spirit of Tasmania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    When my sisters and I arrived, there were only 2 beds in the Family Studio as the King size bed had not been divided into 2. When I told reception, we were offered an extra room straightaway to accommodate us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest bathroom downstairs, last toilet cubicle people leaving their dirt not flushed, very unhygienic and disappointing as we are not in the third world country. I happen to use it twice and each time I use it, I find dirty toilet.

    Helpful and courteous staff. Place is central to everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean, modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given an accessible bathroom which was quite awkward to use (everything was low to the ground). There is no air conditioning. The ‘king’ bed is two singles pushed together, so you can feel a hard gap in the middle of the bed.

    Clean, modern. The hotel is close to shops and has its own restaurant, although I didn’t eat from there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a two for one continental breakfast deal on at the time we stayed. The front desk person told me about it when we checked in. On that basis my husband and I elected to have the breakfast and proceeded to have it in the morning. When I went to pay - I was told I had to pay the full amount because I hadn't booked in the night before when I was told about it. .??? I wasn't told that I had to book in - it was written on a small sign. So even though I discussed it with the staff member they did not advise me to book in to get the deal. I explained this on check out - but still was not able to get the deal. I thought this was extremely poor. I had the breakfast in good faith that it was a 2 for 1 deal. Very very disappointed. I thought the staff member who I checked out with was totally unreasonable. Would not recommend staying here. This could have been simply solved by showing good faith and giving me the deal. I was sitting next to people at breakfast who paid half of what I did. Terrible way to deal with a customer. This could have been easily resolved because up until that point I thought it was a great place. The staff member the night before was really helpful in a number of ways - she had simply forgotten to mention that I needed to book the breakfast to get the deal.

    The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The facilities were great. I was really impressed when we arrived.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    The location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 008 and 007 are not suitable for accommodation. The pump machine and AC vent are just outside the window. The humming noises kept me awake all night.

    The location is very convenient. Shopping, restaurants, parks are within walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    We loved the big bed, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How the toilet door was designed. You could see through pretty much. Also the keycard didn't always work, if someone wanted to stay at the motel you couldn't use the lift because they had the keycard for power in the room. You had to go the long way to the car, and walk up allot of stairs with the shopping.

    We loved the big bed, very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Great for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room provided great space for us to spread out. The view was great of the Spirit of Tasmania which was a highlight for the kids. Ample onsite parking and walking distance to eat and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Great overnight stay. Staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently the air con can't be changed from cooling to heating as they whole floor needs to stay the same, which meant i woke up cold that night. Blankets provided but i would have liked to warm the room first.

    Great room, close to Spirit of Tasmania, room service food was great. Only an overnight stay so didn't get much time to explore the property. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We were very pleased with our stay with Quality Hotel Inn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very pleased with our stay with Quality Hotel Inn Devonport but we didn't eat there as we were catching up with friends so did not sample the food or the coffee!! But everything else was just fine. Thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if rooms had aircon. Difficult carrying luggage up stairs when entering from rear of building, installing a ramp would resolve this.

    Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was superb..!! After spending a week touring Tasmania, this restaurant was by far the best. The food was awesome and the staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommend..!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Would stay again and the tarrif was good because we booked early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room was very luxurious, The bathroom was amazing with a lovely rain shower and tub. When travelling provision for toast would have been an asset. We stopped at the Raspberry Farm for an amazing coffee and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    Bathroom very nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con .. carpet needs a pep up .. noisy doors slam..

    Bathroom very nice ..staff obliging.. particularly wed night reception people parking convenient ..lift very speedy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Dungeon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV Remote was not functioning Grinding Noice from neighbouring room Two single beds joined to make king bed No aircon Car parking was the view from room ( 003)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    A mixed experience. Location suited us to get on the ferry the next day.
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful, avocado too oily and very slow service, all with no other people in the restaurant.

    Dinner in the restaurant was good. Good service and tasty food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, close to shops & cafes. Staff were very accommodating in extending our check out by an hour, which was great. Food at the restaurant, La Pomme was lovely and once again, the staff were very helpful & friendly. There was a nice selection of tea in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Basically a great place to stay except for thebright lights "Gizmo" effect and the lack if exhaust c
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun pouring in through the window at 5.30am in the morning. Blind to small for window, it sat in window recess and had gaps each side and fell short of window sill. Exhaust fan was extraction type and came on intermittently. Never when you were showering. Fogged up mirrors. Needs one that you can push a button to turn on when required

    Situated close to everything. Great staff. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel in devonport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have done with a bit less furniture as it didn't allow enough room to move items around as required

    Good location, clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    4.2
    Poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was the most uncomfortable in history, the two beds pushed together we either differing in height or hardness. Bath had hairs in it and the fridge was noisy and kept me awake. On top of all that I still haven't had my invoice emailed through yet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.3
    Value for money, but the facilities of the room could be better checked and maintained regularly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not expect the room not air-conditioned. The weather we had (Nov 30 to Dec 3 2017) were a bit windy, lots of rain. Opening windows (which are little loose) quite impossible, but turning on fan provided seemed silly as the temperature is still cold at night time. When wind comes, the windows are making a lot of noise. My friends stayed at next room with the curtain string malfunction, hence the room was dark all the times and hardly could open the windows because the curtain blocked the way. And, one thing we particular had opinion on. I booked the 4 rooms for the group and input guest names for each room. While checking in, the staff assured us we could pay by cash or credit card. So, while we checked out, the staff hardly changed the name printed on the receipt. And, one room was paid by credit card, and somehow they mixed up and charged into my account. Even though the customer service eventually fixed the problem after I had 3 emails with them, that kind of mistake should not have been happened IF the front desk staff was more careful in dealing with money matter. Other than that, I found the staff overall are friendly and helpful.

    Overall, clean and tidy; easy access; price is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel centrally located in Devonport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located within Devonport, the hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard. The staff are very helpful and the meals in the restaurant very nice. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    A 4 Star Hotel that falls short of the mark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property's website says it is a 4 Star hotel. My second level entry room (King Suite) was certainly not at this standard (3 Star at the best). Room is not air conditioned, the mattress needed replacement as the bed springs were coming through and the desk chair needed to go to the tip due to its ragged state.

    Adequate location with normal services. Restaurant and front desk staff very obliging and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: