Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Redan Apartments 3 stars

25 Redan Street, 3182 Melbourne, Australia

#473 of 474 Holiday rentals in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

3.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    3.2

  • Comfort

    3.5

  • Location

    5.3

  • Facilities

    3.3

  • Staff

    4.1

  • Value for money

    3.7

  • Free WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    The property wasn’t very clean, dirty used dish cloths left...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property wasn’t very clean, dirty used dish cloths left for us to ‘use’, dirty cups, dusty, broken things such as toilet roll holder hanging off the wall, shower water wouldn’t drain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.9
    Probably the worst place I have ever stayed.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway and rooms were noisy and the whole place had an unpleasant smell. The shower was full of mould. Didn't feel particularly safe. Not sure they would provide bent forks either (see pic).

    The best thing about this place was leaving knowing I would never be going back there!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    2.5
    Not a place for tourist who need a comfy room to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room smells mouldy, room full of cockroaches and ants, no change of towels despite calling to do so, no refilling of coffee, toiletries, reception staff sour face and not helpful at all, noisy neighbouring rooms occupants..

    NOTHING...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    2.5
    Very very bad place don't book here!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 28 nights

    I don't know why booking.com put such a place into their list? It's horrible horrible place the picture doesn't reflect what's in there! It's dirty dirty old and no service or even friendly staff! There is Indian guy at the reception with bad attitudes! This place is like a prank! I've seen few people checked in then left immediately they couldn't stay in such a place even though their booking was nonrefundable. Don't book here at all it's bad baaaaad place and like a trap! Also, people who live there are creepy and the place creepy as well! I've seen police come over a couple times but I don't know why!

    nothing at all!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.9
    Bugs, Dirty and gross
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishes were dirty and broken. Very unclean all over and worst of all it had a lot of bugs that looked like baby cockroaches. Would not stay there again or recommend the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould all through grout in shower, bathroom door wouldn't shut, shower door wouldn't stay shut! Service disinterested. U get what u pay for I guess

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Location suited our purpose and secured parking was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didn't drain and it was very inconvenient. Shower tap was loose. WiFi didn't work. The WiFi name they gave us was not even in the network. AC remote controller didn't work properly, may be the batteries were almost dead.

    Location suited our purpose and secured parking was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    2.5
    Moldy bathroom, uncleaned kitchen, door frame had been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Moldy bathroom, uncleaned kitchen, door frame had been kicked it. When we got to the room at night after going out there were police officers outside the building who told us never to stay here again. Bad sign if the police are there every night & advise you not to stay here....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.3
    Cleanliness, presentation, maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, presentation, maintenance. The shower was absolutely foul, the beds were beyond uncomfortable, and the room itself was barely passable. I was in the room for a total of 15 minutes, most of which was spent booking somewhere else before returning to reception to check back out only to find it already closed. I tried ringing the next morning to no avail and emailed another day later. As at this moment, a frrher 3 days later, no attempt at a response from the property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.3
    Absolutely disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was absolutely disgusting.i dont think the room had ever been cleaned in the last 5 years, there was dust 5cm thick on top of the shelves with a plane ticket that was 5 years old. The bathroom had mould , dirt and poo on tbe tiles.under the beds were disgusting.i was with 3 small children, there were loose bare wires next to the bed and broken power points. The fridge freezer was that iced up you couldnt shut the fridge properly. There were cockroachers and bed bugs.and even the light globes in the main light fitting was missing. The door had two door knobs but the lock on one was broken. Obviously i wished i had read the reviews before booking and paying my deposit and on arrival they make you pay before you see the rooms.But in saying all this i hold Bookings.Com responsible for not doing anything about removing this place from their site , reading their own customers reviews and for not looking after the health and safety of their customers by notifying the Victorian health department.shame on you Booking.com i wont be using you ever again and after this experience i will be telling everyone else not to trust you either.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.9
    Definitely don’t recommend this place
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible place, dirty, full of cockroaches and bed bugs, wifi terrible, reception terrible and most of time not hot water,m. Definitely don’t recommend this place.

    Parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.5
    I would not call this place a hotel. The worst ever experienced I had in my entire life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never ever seen this kind of hotel. They don’t provide house keeping service at all. The room they allocated to us seems to me they never clean that room in past one year. Facilities were so poor I found broken table, cupboard underneath were broken, no door on wardrobe, one gas stove doesn’t work out of 2, no hot water system. The people living there and the visitor were senseless. On our first night few people start fighting after few drinks at 1am in the corridor. Every night people smashed empty bottles from there window. The place didn’t feel comfortable at all.

    There were nothing that I like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.5
    There was nothing to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we rocked up two ambulance was out the front, speaking to one of the ambulances they suggested we stay somewhere else. As this hotel is not the safest

    There was nothing to like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    the guy at the reception was rude and arrogant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the guy at the reception was rude and arrogant. he mumbled, did not look me in the eye, did not try and help. He would have to be the worst hotel receptionist i have ever come across in my life.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    2.5
    Our stay was revolting and when we complained they wouldn’t give our money back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a disgrace. Mould in the bathroom cockroaches all over the beds. Dust everywhere. Broken windows. This place was disgusting!

    There was nothing I liked. This place is horrible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    2.5
    I would not ever stay again and if you put it on your website you are just as bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old furniture falling apart,stains in toilet and shower.Matress had cigarette burns and sheets had stains, 1 glass no cutleryonly received cups and spoons when I asked. tv did not work wifi kept coming in and out. The place was in a rating of 1-10 minus1.

    parking was good but nothing else

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    3.3
    Avoid at all costs - it should come with a health & safety warning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is disgusting, the rooms do not look anything like the photos and comes with a serious health warning. Grafitti on the walls, mould and wet patches on the floor, cockroaches everywhere, filthy bathroom and shower, noisy and management don't care and don't do anything about it

    The only good thing is the location, in a quiet back street. Leaving was the best thing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    2.9
    Like a scene from Trainspotting!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid extortionate price due to Grand Prix week. Door was broken and did not lock, toilet was filthy, avoided taking a shower, furniture broken, kitchen units broken, bed looked uninviting, and apartment dirty.

    Secure parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    2.5
    Public toilets are cleaner
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting.Revolting. Smelly. Foul. Gross. Horrid. Yucky. Sticky. Dirty. Moldy. Rank. Unhealthy. Smokey. Filthy. Noisy. Uncomfortable. Appalling...... I could go on but you get the idea

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    2.5
    Apartment is noisy and full of low life thieving scum.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Dirty. Unsafe area. Had our laptop stolen and staff were no help at all when we told them about it. Never stay here! Might be cheap but it's not worth losing your valuables in the process.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.6
    What should have been a wonderful time, turned into a nightmare!
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filthy, sides of beds, bathroom, so moldy, yuk. Dirtiest dive of a place have stayed in Australia. No fly screens on windows, hadn't even put a new toilet roll on, left the empty one there, cups chipped, no tea bags, only 1 towel, for 2 guests, had to ask for another. Filthy walls, windows, entrance to building, glass doors etc. Noisy neighbours kept us awake until approx 3am. COLD SHOWERS morning and night. DANGEROUS double power point, with broken switch partly hanging out. Big learning curve, booked first place that came up, will thoroughly research next time. Very embarrassed as took my best friend to what I thought would be a nice decent room.....

    Comfortable bed, happy staff, quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    2.9
    A place to sleep, but the rest was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgraceful customer service. Only got 1 towel for 3 people and when we asked for more, was told "no, wait until tomorrow and housekeeping will give you some". Housekeeping never came! The shower was full of mould and hair. There was dead flies and cockroaches in the kitchen. The mugs in the kitchen looked about 30 years old and one had been glued back together. And all the other kitchen stuff was old and dirty too. I would never want anyone to stay there!

    The only good thing was that the water in the shower was nice and hot and had good pressure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    2.5
    I hate it the place is disgusting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    dead cockroaches on bed, clean the floor, clean the wall remove the paint or clean them. Everything could be better, cleanness, staff etc...

    No debad cockroaches on bed, clean the floor, clean the wall remove the paint or clean them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    2.9
    A fairly decent walk to St Kilda.
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the apartments it was completely locked up, we phoned the number left on the door and someone came and let us in after quite a while of waiting and he was only up the stairs at reception. Once we were in he was very unfriendly and made us feel like we weren't welcome. The whole place smelt of stale cigarettes and when we walked down the corridor to our room there was a huge black bag of rubbish left outside our door, the door that we actually had to force open with full body weight (after unlocking) because it was too big for the frame and was well and truly stuck. A vey big fire risk as was so hard to open by either pulling from inside or pushing from the outside! Once we finally got in, we were greeted with such a smell, filthy crockery and a dead cockroach in the bathroom. We went out for the day and when arrived back in the evening found a couple more cockroaches climbing all over the beds!! In the morning there was a knock at the door, we were in the bathroom getting ready so didn't hear straight away. Then we heard someone just barging in our room. As I walked out the bathroom to see, they heard and quickly went back out and knocked again straight away!! I went to the door to see who it was and it was the same man who checked us in. Entering our room without permission, pretending he didn't at 8:50am demanding our key for check out even though check out was at 10am. A very standard time for check out. Baffled in the fact he wanted the key back an hour and ten minutes early than our check out! But he was adamant he was taking the key! And I feel that if he hadn't of heard me coming when he entered our room without permission, he would have just taken the key without our knowledge; which leaves me to think what else would he have taken? He told us we still had to check out at 10am, even though we had already given back the key. We left to go and check out at just before 10am and no one was even at the desk!

    A fairly decent walk to St Kilda. Around 30 mins and the trams around the same time so may as well walk. Only positive about the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    Location.
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Outside in the hall it was smelly and sometimes you could see dodgy looking people, I didn't feel very safe at times. The cutlery that was meant to be cleaned was dirty. staff wasnt very friendly, wouldn't even look you in the eye and sometimes it seemed like he didn't understand what we were asking, not very good communication / people skills

    Location. Inside the room it was ok but could be cleaner and nicer. Outside in the hall it was smelly and sometimes you could see dodgy looking people, I didn't feel very safe at times. Had parking which was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    2.9
    Wish I hadn’t stayed, wish I hadn’t booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The filth, dirt, cockroaches, bedbugs, no cleaning, dirty carpets, to keep on asking for essentials that were not replenished, like toilet paper. The fallacy of the pictures shown on Booking.com, all lies.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Cheap stay- you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was poor- staff barely grunted at us didnt say hello didnt smile once. We only got 2 towels for a booking for 8 people (2 rooms) and when asked for more he got grumpy with us and would only give one room 2 extras and the other 3 so we had to share a towel between two people 😏

    Price was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    2.5
    Burn this place to the ground and salt the earth. Don't wast your money or your life staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled of mould, the bed was ancient and had no support at all. The bathroom was dirty and had mouldy water stained art on the wall. There was no air conditioning and the fan only worked on high and made a lot of noise. The fly screens had holes in them so you couldn't have the windows open for a cool breeze or you would be eaten by mosquitoes. There was only one towel, no bathmat and there wasn't even a rubbish bin in the room. Oh, and the door looked and felt like someone had _almost_ successfully kicked it in.

    Nothing. There was nothing to like about this property. It should be condemned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    2.5
    Accommodation nightmare.
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Man at desk was rude and spent the whole time fiddling with his phone. Place was filthy. The coffee cups were chipped and filthy. Bathroom had mould on tiles. There was one towel in the room which had accommodation for three people. There was no tea towel or dishwashing liquid. The hallway carpet was putrid. There were cigarette buts on the back stairs. People arguing all night and banging doors. Rubbish strewn in the car park. There were people living permanently there. We paid for 2 nights but left after 1.I would not recommend these premises to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.9
    Dirty, unsafe and won't be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Indian man at reception (if that's what you even want to call it) was rude and unwelcoming when checking in and out. He knocked on our door at 9:30am to hand the keys over before we checked out which was an hour early and very unusual. The residents seem to be a problem at the property as an aboriginal man was arrested due to an argument with his friend/girlfriend within the first hour of our arrival. Other residents were loud , talking about drugs/dealing and abusing one another. The room was bad value for money, backpackers would be cleaner and cheaper. We didn't use the shower as there was mould growing from the shower walls and floor, and wearing thongs in the shower just doesn't cut it for a place that you've paid to stay at. Some of the furniture in the room shouldn't of been in there as it was falling apart, the roll out bed was old and the thin mattress was ripped. The bedroom window had no fly screen, although the bathroom window did but it was stuck on with sticky tape. The entrance to the property smelt like a mixture of body odour and smoke, also the carpet needed a good vacuum. There was no air conditioner/heating system in our room , although there was a dusty ceiling fan. Unsure how this property passed any kind of health inspection/s, the three of us all agreed that it was the worst place we have ever stayed at and will not be returning.

    Nothing was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    2.5
    Cheap....but you share your room with cockroaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dirty. The staff on the reception were not very welcoming. We had cockroaches in the room and even when we told staff they weren't bothered. It was only the second time we spoke to them we asked 'please do something ' that they offered to get the cleaner to spray some of the kitchen units. The apartment is noisy as lots of people come in and out. There seems to frequently be trouble. The police were regularly at the apartment. The kitchen facilities weren't clean ans we had no soap, sponges or tea towel provided. The room stunk of smoke and all that was done to resolve this was spraying the room so it was then overpowering with the spray smell. The smoke smell lingered for days and played havoc on our lungs. We tried to spend as much time as we could out of here. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and had springs popping out all over it. The carpet was dirty and not even fitted down so cockroaches crawl out from underneath it.

    It was a good price. The Internet worked well. Infact the Internet was the highlight of this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    2.5
    Awful and not worth the money and never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs bathroom. Heat in room from fridge and blind being down as neighbours can see in. Dirty bed covers. Dirty dishes left in cupboard for patrons use. Uneven floors from room to hall. Cracked and unhygenic tiles in bathroom, shower. Ceiling stained. Carpet yuk. It smelt.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    2.9
    Regrettable. Left after one night having paid for three. Unsafe and dirty. Do not stay here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager rude and disinterested. Locked out of main building, so had to ring a mobile number to be let in. Door to room did not lock so used couch to block door. Blood splatter on walls and blind, kitchen filthy and shower unusable. Toilet door stuck. Ceiling fan worked and sheets clean but duvet covered in sand. Would have left immediately but no available accomodation that night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    We slept ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe broken nowhere to hang clothes, tap handles loose, drawer handles missing, no A/C & hot, no hairdryer, no ironing board, had to ask for iron and wait, no-one at office when checking in, no vanity unit, few plates & cutlery Loose door handle -needs a

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.3
    Never stay at Redan
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. In disrepair. Cigarette burns in doona cover. One smelly towel was provided when 3 people were booked for the room. The requested roll out bed was not provided.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    3.8
    Disgusting. Filthy dirty apartment.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was disgustingly dirty. Mould growing in the shower. Stale mouldy food in the toaster. Dirty stove & fridge. No towels were supplied. The single bed had only 1 sheet and a threadbare blanket. The smoke alarm was covered in a plastic bag. Pretty sure that breaches regulations. Reception was closed and the after hours number unresponsive. I sent an email to complain about the state of the apartment and have not heard back.

    Location was great, in a quiet leafy street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.6
    The location was very good, convenient to Chapel St and not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was not very clean. In desperate need of renovation.

    The location was very good, convenient to Chapel St and not too far to drive to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black stains on side of the bed base, black mould in shower, chipped cups, mirrored glass wardrobe doors not on tracks leaning towards bed. Torn edges of mattress base,no fly screens. Congealed food on quilt. Man at reception very surly. Also room was very dusty and not very clean. (Particularly window sills) Foyer very dirty. We were actually contemplating sleeping in the car. Also had to ask for towels as we had 1 towel for 3 people. We had someone knocking on our door after midnight. A Health Department visit would be recommended. Assorted items of clothing hanging from trees outside our windows.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    2.5
    Very disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance Hall was dirty, Room had faulty power points, only a single bed lamp light in room, only 2 bath towels for four persons, the 2 single beds had a double sheet folded in half, the toilet was dirty, shower had mould on walls & ceiling. Only 2 drinking glasses in room

    Not much at all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    3.8
    A backpackers hostel would be cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean,strong stench of smoke not a cup in sight.had to swap batteries from remotes to even put tv on and the list goes on

    That it was easy to find and free parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    What you expect for a backpackers. Good location and room for parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not greeted well on arrival. The room was what you would expext at a backpackers. Bathrooms were very outdated and parts broken. Small wardrobe was broken.

    Location was good for what we needed.parking was free and pleanty available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    3.3
    Moldy shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moldy shower, broken door latch, no air conditioning, lack of customer service, unsavoury people that walked the halls .

    Location in relation to the spirit of Tasmania.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.9
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interconnecting Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a disgrace, I DO NOT recommend this to anyone, filthy bed sheets, dirty bathroom, smashed glass, junkys yelling out windows. This place is horrible.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Good if you're not fazed and just need a sleep
    • Group
    • Luxury Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit half way house-ish. A few ants and cockroaches, but clean sheets so all good for a cheap night in (wasn't super cheap, but was cheap for New Years Eve). The beds were comfy enough. If it wasn't NYE i wouldn't spend more than $80 a night for this place. Wouldn't shower without thongs, that's for sure. Receptionist was very rude, and for the 2 days we walked up and down the stairs to get to our room, there was an unwrapped tampon, a squashed water bottle and some scrunched up receipts that none of the cleaners decided were worthy of picking up haha. Stained roof and a nice brown splatter on the wall next to the bed to add to the decor - you would think someone would think to clean it up. Was fun to laugh at though

    Great location. Especially if you are on a budget. Nice bright room. Clean white sheets. Good for a sleep only and the location. Pretty quiet, too. Parking included behind locked gates

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Do not even bother. The place is disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking into this place there was a smell which was next to unbearable, the walls were disgusting and dirty, the shower was broken. The tv didn’t work. Staying here made us feel dirty, I’ve never experienced something so disgusting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    2.9
    Worst place ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay this place! Very Terrible!Bed bug make me can’t sleep at all, I slept in my car for the rest of two night. Cockroaches everywhere! Very disgusting! I’m a backpacker and stay many hotel before.This is the worst place I’ve stay ever!

    Parking space is fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    3.3
    Extremely disappointing. Do not book accommodation here, ever.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was substandard. Management was beyond rude. The room had a bad smell, we wouldn’t shower here. There was no air conditioning or flyscreens on the windows.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    2.5
    worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst place. Very dirty, i find almost 10 cockroach around my bed. Also very bad service. The man at counter always show a bad face. looks like bad guy. And he shows no intention to serve anyone.

    Worst place. Very dirty, i find almost 10 cockroach around my bed. Also very bad service. The man at counter always show a bad face. looks like bad guy. And he shows no intention to serve anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    2.5
    DISGUSTING PLACE, VERY WEIRD❗️
    • Group
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was stinky/smelling so bad. We were meant to check out between 10-10.30am & the staff kicked us out at 9am. So rude. The corridors are stinky. The car park is weird. There is nothing I liked about the apartment❗️❗️❗️

    There is NOTHING I liked about about Redan Apartment❗️❗️❗️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.3
    Most of the accommodation used for short and long term residents. Not a nice place for tourist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1/ rooms small single bedroom apartments not updated for overnight accommodation. 2/ No air conditioning only 1 ceiling fan 3/ The kitchenette was shabby; - couldn't use electric hot plates - microwave missing the round plastic ring - no sink plug, no dish washing detergent, no tea towel. 4/ Bathroom - mould in shower cubicle - toilet roll holder broken - only 1 towel for 2 people. 5/ Outside - very dirty - found a used syringe - broken glass - rubbish everywhere.

    The area was quiet at night. The bed and linen were ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    2.5
    Horrid.
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This establishment was a waste of money. It was gross, smelt terrible, the kitchen didn’t work and the staff were incredibly rude about it and everything else too. There were multiple hairs of other people all over the bathroom walls and the fridge made all our food smell rotten. We barely felt safe due to all the dodgy people and junkies and people on drugs who apparently lived there, there were huge fights and people yelling at 5am which made us jump up and start packing. We did not feel comfortable leaving our important / expensive personal belongings there while we were out. We literally counted down the days we had left before we could leave, and were incredibly happy to do so. This is a truly miserable place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.3
    Filthy, and terrifying stay. Almost left in the middle of the night, on day 1
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole motel was filthy, there was only 1 towel, no bath mat, no face washer. Fridge/freezer full of mould. Only 1 cup, no glasses. Only 1 fork that had bent prongs. Iron was full of rusty water. Shower was was of mould and shower head was so low that you had to bend to get under it. Permanent residences were very noisy and ran screaming and knocking on each door, also turned handle to try and open my door in the middle of the night. A/C didn’t work and room was very smelly. Unfortunately I had to stay there as too late to find something else, it was a terrifying and filthy experience, and I think that Redan Apartments should be closed down.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    4.2
    The booking of this property has done brand damage to your web site. I am hesitant to book wit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where do you start? a. appalling reception and greeting b. dirty bathroom. Not only does it need a clean it needs a rebuild c. mattress had springs poking into your back d. power points were loose and dangerous e. wardrobe doors jammed and dislodge. This property is also used by social security for emergency shelter. A very interesting mix of people.

    The only good thing about Redan Apartments is the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.9
    Terrible! Don't stay here, the average review is out of 10 not 5!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Asked for a cot twice, didn't get one. No towels supplied. No air conditioning, was really hot and no fly screens on windows so couldn't even open them.

    Absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.5
    Horrible, would not recommend this place to anyone ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything, the place & room was disgusting & should be assessed by a health & safety officer... It should be closed down until they meet satisfactory requirements... The only staff member I saw was incredibly ignorant & rude.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed, but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on our arrival there was a group discussion, another group booking in, regarding bed bugs?! A lady bug per manager. On a review of our room no evidence found. Probably affected our sleep though!! 😳 I believe the room was clean, but tired in appearance. Eg: lack of maintenance. Didn't feel entirely safe. Chain on door broken, no working smoke alarm, no fly screens on windows & it was hot, so needed them open. No aircon; however on hindsight not mentioned on facilities available.... Also noisy with the current clientele, doors banging & talking noted till 3pm.

    Affordability in Melbourne/St Kilda

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    3.3
    disgusting and filthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything. a clean room would have been nice

    the rooms were filthy with cockroaches. kettle was black as was utensils. we couldnt use shower because of mold. i would like my money back and the health department to take a look at the facility. we had to rely on family to use their bathroom. overall a very unpleasant stay and would not be recommended

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.2
    Won't go there again
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wardrobe doors hanging off. Fridge didn't work. Grafiti on wall. Door lock very dodgy. No screens on windows. A previous guest left dirty underwear in the wardrobe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    Do not stay here. Used condoms on the ground, drug dealings through out the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not stay here. Absolutely disgusting. Pretty positive this place is an actual drug den and sellers and users live here. Dirty disgusting room, graffiti in the room and outside. Spider webs everywhere. We found a used condom in our parking spot. The mattress was hard as a rock and all you could feel were springs. At night all you can hear are drug deals and fights, the cops drop people of here. We complained about the disgusting and unsafe premises and the guy didnt blink an eyelid, couldnt even look us in the eye. Absolutely rank, this place needs to be shut down. Poo marks on the walls and carpet behind the couch, the place clearly never gets cleaned. If youve heard about the gatwick then I believe this is the new place.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.9
    Did not feel safe in this place. DO NOT STAY HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING! Hallway smelled like smoke, reception staff was rude, mould in the bathroom, broken cupboards in the room. Only one towel provided and only one bed made for 3 people. When we asked for more sheets they only gave us a blanket and no pillow. Sheets were dirty. Booked for two nights but only stayed one. This place was disgusting!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.4
    Would not stay there again and would pay more for decent accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building needs thorough refurbishment. Our apartment was clean, but externally the windows are filthy with cobwebs. The building houses students/local workers but no night manager to deal with problems and disputes!

    Very little but the bedlinen was clean and fresh towels were supplied regularly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    2.5
    Terrible place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing.

    Worst place I have stayed. booked three nights stayed six hours. Dirty room no reception have to ring mobile to get some one to let you in . Foyer area filthy unfriendly staff no advice how to get to carpark . Could not wait to get out. Cannot believe you have this place on your site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.3
    Its a dung pile
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo's in the booking add are very deceptive!!! Its was an absolute mess, not cleaned properly and smelt bad. No towells and it took 2 phone calls the get them delivered. This is a run down hovel that you wouldn't put your dog in. My advice to Bookings would be to delist this place.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.8
    Horrible , bed bugs, roaches, dirty, syringes .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs, the rooms arent whats seen in pictures , had to change room 3 times due to black mould and my asthma . The 3rd room was a little better the first room had not been cleaned still had rubbish in draws from previous visitors and was covered in ants , bed bugs and roaches where also present including un cleaned partial vomit on the walls . Ended up sleeping in my car for the first night . They would also not refund me for the stay as wanted to not stay there after seeing the state of there rooms. Parking was one of the best things here but still had drug users lerking around asking for cigarette money and ciggarettes. A syringe was seen in the carpark bush so please be cautious in your stay.

    Nothing , the only good thing about this place is the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    2.5
    the worst room i have stayed in ! in all the 3 world counties and other countries i have ever visit
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    in rm 21 the smoke alarm hanging out the roof ,no cooling fan cupboard doors hanging off, torn bed base, mould in the shower moved to room 15 just as bad !!!!! but was woken up at 2am by somebody demaning i fill their water bottle and fighting all night kept me awake BUT DONT WORRY THE PICTURES I HAVE TAKEN AND THE PICTURE YOU HAVE ONLINE UNDER BOOKING.COM WILL BE DISPLAYED SHORTLY ONLINE FOR EVERYONE TO SEE HOW BOOKING.COM LIE ABOUT THESE PLACES AND HOW UNSAFE CLIENTEL ARE !!!! I WILL NEVER AGAIN USE YOUR COMPANY AND GET ALL MY FRIENDS TO POST THE REAL PICTURES ONLINE TO MAKE THEM GO VIRAL OK AND THIS WILL ALL BE DISPLAYED UNDER BOOKING.COM HEADING

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.5
    Worst place ever !!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!! Worst place ever. Room was dirty as. There was mould every where. Fecal matter smeared all over the couch. Junkies knocking on our door and a dirty unusable kitchenette. We were booked in for 2 nights only stayed one couldn't deal with another night in that place.would not recommend this place to anyone!!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had mould on the ceiling & wasn't clean. There was no light bulb in the bathroom or bedside lamp so needed to use phone light to use bathroom at night & couldn't read in bed. There was a double bed & single bed but only 1 towel provided. There was no spare toilet roll & only 1/4 of a roll on the holder. There was an open half used litre of milk in the fridge. The bed was not very comfortable. Some power points did not work.

    The location was good for our purpose

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    2.5
    Absolute disgrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The bed quilt was stained. The sofa was something that should not have been in the room. The cupboard was graffitied and in pieces on the floor. The table and chairs were broken and were not fit for a room where people are expected to stay. The bathroom was nothing less that absolutely disgusting with the smell of urine and mould everywhere. The cistern was broken and there was used gloves left on the vanity but I don’t think they were used for cleaning as it was far from clean. The kitchenette was filthy and not fit for human use as the plate and utensils were grubby and the state of the area for food preparation was woeful. I knew it wasn’t good when checking in the guy was rude and didn’t even make eye contact. I have a lot of photos that will be going to the health department and the regularity authority as this is a crime that this room was put up for people to stay in.

    Nothing. It was very terrible

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty! The bathroom had mould, & lots of it, higher than head height. I thought perhaps it was stained...investigation proved not. I also found a razor on the top of the shower door as I flung a towel...not our razor...eeeewww. The third pillow was, in fact, a pillow case filled with folded sheets! The light in the bathroom didn’t work and we couldn’t get the cover off to see about a globe. The person who checked is in, once we tackled the entry itself, didn’t speak except for the barked instructions. The kitchenette had no bowls, two dirty, mismatched cups and a couple of odd items of cutlery. We could not cook there effectively. To top it off, it appears it’s an apartment block that is rented out weekly or permanently and the odd rooms available then offered for short term accommodation. As you walk the hallway you can smell cigarette smoke from other apartments...didn’t make me feel safe at all.

    The parking was secure. The location was excellent and very close to many things without being right on the tram line.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    2.9
    Awful, don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of it!

    Dirty sheet, shower was dirty, peeling paint and broken, hanging down, water pouring everywhere, no shower curtain. One towel only, there were 3 guests booked. Sheets marked, not sure if clean!! Electric sockets hanging from wall, and smoke alarm kept bleeping; we climbed up to find there was no battery. dirt floors. altogether awful and the manager unhelpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    2.9
    terrible
    • Couple
    • Luxury Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was dirty and discussing, the staff did not make you feel welcome. Felt very uncomfortable while there. Would not recommend to anyone. The TV did not work and we had no light in bathroom and the room was so small and cluttered with furniture.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Cheap, but if you can't handle budget accommodation, you shouldn't book budget rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very unclean. Everything stained (including blood stain on bed?), fan dusty. Complementary milk expired. Only two of the four lights in the room had bulbs in them, and the place had a powerful mothball smell. The cockroaches made their presence known on the second night, when I turned over my pillow to find a pair hanging out. Look, you get what you pay for. I've stayed in worse, and as far as cheap places go, this one was average-to-fair.

    Situated in a nice area, a short walk to the beating heart of St. Kilda, and less than a minute from Melbourne's excellent public transport system, which will take you all over the city. For this price-point, you won't get better (or anything else) in this great area. The staff were quick and eager to correct a small error in the booking, and I found them generally helpful. Great new TV in room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    2.5
    Redan apartment is the most filthy accomodation and staff, I have ever experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy room and kitchen area, Cockroaches everywhere. Only one towel was provided for 4 person with no replacement for the whole stay. Cupboard door was broken. Insufficient lights. Unprofessional and rude staff (specially Mr. Bobby). Despite of complaints about the issues were simply ignored by the staff onsite. They will take all the payment in advance and then there is no one for help.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    2.9
    Awful , would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.Dirty mouldy shower, 2. bood stains behind the sliding bathroom door ,3 vanity unit did not drain properly and lot of facial hair came backup the drain, 4 toilet unit flushing toilet button broken, 5 the kitchen draws were falling apart/broken 6. TV did not work 7. No fly screen in window opening 8. At 9.30am we were woken up by the reception staff to be asked to hand the keys over...very unusual 9. dirty cutlery and out of date/wrec

    We had hot water and the mattress was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.6
    Not what I had in mind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do I start? Could not get a front door key on the first night, was not advised of this until I arrived. Had to come in through the car park after midnight which is not lit and then up the fire escape. Not ideal for a woman over 50. I had been assured the first floor door was always open, but ended up having to walk up another flight of stairs before the door was open and then had to walk the entire length of the premises to get back down. Got a key on Sunday morning but then to add insult to injury on Monday a staff member I had never seen before gets me out of bed to ask for the key back an hour before check out! Plenty of cockroaches to keep me company though

    Location is great, so close to Windsor Station

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: