Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Reef Palms 3.5 stars

41-47 Digger Street, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#7 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1114 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very friendly and overly welcoming. Just didnt have a bubbly personality required for a reception position.

    Motel was nice and very comfortable, everything we required in our room and within the facility.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy people next door - they started talking at 5.30am, had the TV on at the same time & this continued until 7.30am non-stop. Completely inconsiderate to other guests. There was a connecting door that was obviously not sound-proofed & this contributed to the problem. While everything else was great, the noise wasn't.

    The room was comfortable & had good facilities. Bonus was the balcony!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At about 6 am every morning we got woken by the plane flying over as motel is on flight path. The room we were in was dated and needed modernizing. There was a grate missing in the bathroom floor, the shower dripped the ceiling fan looked like it was about to fall off the ceiling. The room looked like it hadn't been dusted for a while. The bed wasn't made every day as stated.

    close to local eateries, and walking distance to promenade and town about a 15 min walk away. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally Cairns is not the place I would ever come back. Poor hotels, food nothing . Tourist service similar to Kenya.

    Breakfast horrible, below any acceptable standards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realize that the location was so far out of town. No close by restaurants or shopping.

    Very comfortable. Close to the beach. Good bed and comfortable sitting area. Kitchenette met our needs. Facility provided a set menu for dining to order that is delivered to your room. Free transport provided to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    We found the bed to be very comfortable. The fact that the courtesy run into town each morning was great, with us being taken to the door of where we wanted to go each time. GREAT SERVICE.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was essentially unusable! These days, that can ruin a whole experience. Shuttle to airport is VERY limited on times available - think it was twice in the morning.

    Ok location and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few things we had problems with on arrival but everything was sorted out fairly quickly once we told the staff. If we did not have these 3 minor problems our rating would have been higher.

    We liked the place overall and would consider going back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being close to the airport you do get the noise from the planes. You need to get a taxi to go to the CBD (about $8). Our room overlooked a lovely parked which was unfortunately inhabited by people sitting/camping all day there drinking & swearing.

    Loved that we could buy a beer or wine there and although we didn’t use the in house menu - it was handy to know it was available. The staff were excellent. The pool area is lovely too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the second time in a week that we stayed here, though only for a night, so we knew the place well. The staff, including Michelle, and others, were pleasant and friendly, as was the owner, Jay. The laundromat facility was very good (one of them had a jammed slot, which the staff quickly rectified and, in fact, gave us a complimentary wash cycle!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sugar substitute in the rooms would be welcome

    Check in was quick The room was very clean The white towels were spotless and looked new The air-conditioning was good The location is fabulous. And it is on the list of most tours for pickup and drop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel takes the first night deposit and then debited the full amount when we checked in. We didn't know this until we went to check out the night before we left-as per instructions in our room. However on the plus side I wasn't charged the 3% credit card fee. Just something worth checking if you want to avoid conversion charges etc on your bill back home.

    Staff were welcoming and very helpful, even though it was Easter they were available. Extra towels for the pool were a bonus. The hotel was in a quiet area a few minutes drive to the city centre. They run their own tours and have plenty of information available at reception. I'm

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are amazing. It's about 30 min walk to downtown. The property provides shuttle service for free twice a day to city. My family spent 3 days and 3 nights there. Also the price is very affordable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could do with upgrading but still very serviceable - had shower over bath.

    Large comfortable suite with comfy leather easy chairs. Had everything you needed. Cooking facilities etc. Large TV. Balcony and air conditioning. 2 ceiling fans. 2 large beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertisement was very misleading. No real shuttle service and spent a lot of money for just a continental breakfast. A lot of nickel and diming for extras.

    Room was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was kept at a minimum due to Easter weekend. This is completely understandable, but it turned out to be insufficient for the four days we stayed. Shower gel ran out and garbage bin filled up. We had to use Wooly carry bags instead.

    Cosy beds, great location (within a couple of minutes drive to CBD), didn't have to sweat for a parking space. Front desk was very informative about the local attractions, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room - Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the air con did not work very well.

    the room was spacious the beds were comfortable and the kitchen was a bonus as it had a some fridge with a freezer sink and cooking facility, also having private parking and free wiifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people in the next room up early making a cuppa. Not beinging able to leave ceiling fans on when out to keep room cool. Foxtel offered but only 4 channels available. Only other downside there was a $60 charge if you didnt wash and put away the dishes even though they housekeeping staff.

    Comfy..clean. Easy to find not far from centre of cairns but just far enough. Great info book for tourist with everything you needed to know about local places to eat, medical etc Pool great, staff friendly and helpful. Room cosy.. everything you needed was available. Housekeeping staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was weak - we were constantly “bumped off” and sometimes not able to connect at all. The wifi was the only negative that we had. Everything else was really good - thank you.

    It was convenient to the Esplanade and harbour. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The kitchenette was well stocked and we appreciated the milk carton. There were lots of towels including pool towels - thank you. The big shower and bath combo was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For first 24+ hrs the hotel internet connection & wifi wasn't working. This was a big problem for confirming tour reservations etc. It personally cost me $50 US in cellular/roaming charges. It was a 15-20 min walk to main town area & shopping & restaurants. Limited restaurant choices close to hotel. Limited shuttle service to town & airport by hotel van.

    Large room with 2 double beds, kitchenette & patio. Good continental breakfast for $12.50 AU. Nice staff particularly Allen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room temperature was not easily adjustable. The room was not serviced each day as booking stated. After 3 days I requested fresh towels and only bath and wash cloths were left. Bed remained unmade entire stay. Had to request additional toilet paper. Carpet beneath the ceiling height AC unit was always wet due to constant dripping. The location is remote from the town (a good 25-30 minute walk). Only shuttle service provided for tours booked at front desk. Restaurants within walking distance are acceptable but not great. I was not comfortable walking as the area seems to be of lower class.

    The room was relatively quiet - if you ignored the drip drip drip of the AC unit. Staff seemed friendly and was willing to request taxi. Approximately $10 - $15 AUD depending on when in town you are dropped off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Several reviews said that the hotel was too far from the center, but I enjoyed the 20 minute walk along the Esplanade to/from the hotel. Also, the airport shuttle was extremely convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like or feel valued from the part time female manager who dealt with us on arrival however special mention to Lucky & Debbie and the owner who we met on checking out. I may add that this is a temporary blip as new managers were in there process of being appointed. Overal standard of room needs upgraded to current standard however is clean and value for money.

    Boat trip and advice for tours ( from staff not part time overseeing managers )

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place located in the middle between the airport and downtown Cairns. The walk to downtown alongside the water is nice, and away from the downtown area help us to avoid hundreds of bats at night (you wont think it's cute when hundreds of bats are right outside of your balcony if you live in downtown). Front desk lady is very nice and she helped us to arrange shuttle to the airport. Very comfy place to stay with good price. We also stayed at another hotel at downtown Cairns booked by the tour the other nights but Palm Reef is definitely better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it is not fancy but is very good value for money... the bed was comfy, air con worked well and that is all I really needed. staff were good and non intrusive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited free transport options , complimentary shuttle only within the limited time frame

    Spacious appartment, comfy bed, clean and well equiped kitchen, good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit off the center, air condition is above the bed (no central solution) when you leave the room, it is off. Free airport shuttle is Only 4 times a day. Walls are thin, you hear door shutting.

    Staff was nice, helpful self service laundry was great for us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and comfortable stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel located in a quiet part of Cairns but not too far to walk into the town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff were excellent, my only problem was with one of the cleaning staff who was a bit rude.

    The hotel is well positioned between the airport and city centre of Cairns. Rooms have a small kitchens and breakfast is available in their cafe. They offer free shuttle into town twice a day, although the distance is walk-able and only a few dollars by taxi. There is a pool and plenty of parking on site. They have a tour desk and can book every excursion in the region you might want to take.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The property was easy to access from airport. Good parking we had a hire car and there was no issue with getting access to good parking at no extra cost. Property was well maintained clean and staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the small side and was obviously in the process of being refurbished as the electrics were difficult to comprehend, i.e. one of the fans and some of the lights did not work. Bags of rubbish remained outside the two other rooms on our floor all the time we were there. At night, none of the lights on our landing functioned at all making the stairs very difficult if not dangerous.

    Ideally placed for the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slow, despite the advertisement saying high speed internet. Also when we switched on the air conditioner, a live cockroach dropped out of it onto the bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older property located a little ways from the main downtown. Need to drive or take other transportation to get there.

    Good value. Nice bed and good staff at front desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the area, it felt a bit rough (drunk men, people on the streets, men whistling as you walk past) and there was nowhere nice to eat or shops to go to. The main hustle and bustle of cairns was about 30 minute walk, which I did late at night and wouldn’t advise to do.

    The bed was very comfy The room had everything I wanted / needed It was a large room so there was plenty of space The shuttle service was a bonus and easy to book WiFi was excellent The room was clean and had lots of towels I didn’t use the kitchenette but there was plenty of cutlery and plates / cups

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apparently there are better rooms upstairs with spa baths but, due to injuries, I could not carry my suitcase upstairs and there is no porter service.

    Free shuttle into city twice a day. Continental breakfast is good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast option for an extra 35 is for cereal only and wasn't clear on the booking, they wanted an extra 16 dollars to have eggs and bacon and that would have come to 51 dollars for breakfast... wasnt happy and ended up with no breakfast! Christ we can get a steak each at the pub for 50 dollars!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More information on how to work tv!!

    Spacious room for myself and teenage grandson. helpful staff always glad to answer queries and sort out problems ( which were not of their making)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly service with free upgrade. Ideal location to airport with free shuttle, yet quiet. Also very clean and everything one could wish for in a 3 star hotel for a short and not too pricey stay in Cairns.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking says that this hotel has an airport shuttle. Maybe I didn't read the fine print, but the shuttle only runs three times in the morning, all later than our flight. My husband and the staff talked the night before our flight and we were told that they would schedule a cab for the morning. I don't know if the cab wasn't scheduled or if the cab company made a mistake, but no cab appeared and we had to schlep our heavy luggage several blocks to find a street busy enough to hail one. Why not use our cell phones? The internet service in Cairns was terrible almost everywhere. Our phones kept switching to Vodafone and dropping our calls.

    The staff is friendly. The hotel is convenient to the airport and the rooms are large. We did not use the kitchen, but it appeared to be stocked better than most travel apartments. The hotel is a bit dated, but completely clean and comfortable. The bed linens were crisp and high quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazingly helpful staff! Great suggestions and kindness to show us kangaroos in the wild (on the side of the road), and take us to a spectacular beach...Palm Cove. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work for a whole day. Motel a long way from main tourist area, but I did walk to Reef Terminal. On 2nd floor not good lugging heavy suitcase up and down.

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location didn’t feel safe to walk at night ( confirmed by store employees). Room was never cleaned or the beds made in the three nights that we were there. Were there Christmas Eve, day and Boxing Day. The office had extremely limited hours. We had to get to the airport by 4:15 am, the woman behind the desk the prior morning said that she would make arrangements for a taxi to pick us up. It never came. ( I don’t know who’s oversight that was; hers or the taxi company)

    The room was a nice size and had good facilities. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the staff wasn’t available after 10:30am on holidays, and that the room services weren't available either on Sunday and holidays that we stayed.

    The staff was kind and helpful. The swimming pool was very clean. And the kitchen was nicely equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parts of the room and the facility needed some attending to: I appreciated the shampoo dispenser - but it was clogged. Little things in the rooms - very squeaky doors, sheets not long enough for the bed...and etc. Nothing that made us want to leave, but small things to be looked at.

    We really liked the size of the rooms! They were very spacious, had plenty of room and were not crowded. The people that worked at Reef Palms were so helpful, nice and accommodating - thank you very much!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was chosen on basis of free shuttle service to airport but this only ran during certain times. I even added that I would need a 3.30am ride when I made the booking but upon arrival was told I would have to get a taxi!

    Price was good but very basic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Preset airconditioning preset operates no lower than 22 degrees and nil exhaust fan in the bathroom. Being a hot summer day it took quite a while to make the room comfortable when we first arrived. The bathroom was a bit like a sauna after the first shower.

    Checkin was simple, friendly staff, room was spotless, motel facility well maintained and secure. Kids enjoyed the nice clean pool. Rack rate set to deliver high occupancy, particularly good for families who seek safe, clean & secure accommodation without massive expense.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was lovely and was easily found. The location situation was good to nice a close to the hub bub, we loved the comfy beds and the room was pleasant we also found that the reception staff were friendly too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We initially given dirty rooms, including one with urine on the carpet, then one that clearly hadn't been cleaned. Took a lot of convincing from a rude staff member to be given a new room. When we were eventualy given a new room it was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was extremely happy with my stay, there was nothing that I didn't like.

    The staff at the Reef Palms were excellent, they answered all my questions and were kind and friendly. In addition, I forgot a power adapter & bug spray and they provided both for me to use during my stay with no extra charge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unfortunately next to the night entrance. There is a sign to tell other guests to enter quietly, but not alot did.

    Beautiful location. Excellent facilities. Wonderful staff. Thank you for the most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the hallways was not working and quite dark coming back to the motel after dinner. Way too many stairs to get to our room and switches for electrical outlets/lights not easy to find

    Was good having kitchenette facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable place. Good location, not too far from cbd area. Kitchenette was well equipped, room was a good size, beds comfortable . Pool was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard pillows.

    lovely spacey rooms, quietish for a city, pillows hard and fridge a bit noisy...have stayed in others in the Cairns district and found them not to be as good for the price as Reef Palms and clean, thank you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike!

    Great family run hotel. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean room with everything you need, handy laundry facilities and good location. Only wish we had stayed longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valuable Motel with good facilities. Nice, helpful staff, my room was big and bathroom got a huge shower 🚿. Maybe if someone don't like to walk in town it's to far outside of town but for me it was good. Thx for all!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lost power of the sockets and did not get a response from caretaker. 24 hour or at least until 10 pm reception staff would be better.

    Clean and modern looking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had the use of a computer without the use of a printer. Unable to print boarding passes for air flights.

    Wonderful size room, laundry on site, location-walking distance to the ocean, wharf and restaurants. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet rubbish, took ages to check in for flight, their machine did not work, walked all over building with my iPad trying to get better contact, staff not very sympathetic, they don't seem to realise how important internet is

    lovely room with kitchenette, very comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit of a walk into town, but as I didn't enquire about this before I booked, this was my error.

    The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The pool and outdoor area was great, with everything you need for spending time there. The pool access could be improved though. Need some steps into the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a rail to help step in and out of the pool as the steps were very high.

    The room was comfortable and well equipped and the resort staff were very helpful, polite and friendly- great place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room key controlled all power in the room, and you only got one key. This was extremely inconvenient if you had one person that needed to leave the room for any reason, while other people were in the room. E.g. Husband needed to pick something up in evening. I needed to shower and get ready in the room during this time. It was a question of showering and getting ready in the dark with no AC, or being on call to let him back into the building (office was closed, so had to use side door) and room so I could continue to have light and AC. This would work fine in a hotel with a key card system, but not in this case with one physical key with the power key attached. Towel policy was a bit ridiculous. You were able to get 1 beach/pool towel per person for the duration of your stay. If you wanted to get a new towel, you could pay extra or launder them onsite at your cost. Towels did not dry well overnight, so it was a question of reusing the damp towel or being nickel and dimed for dry one. Breakfast prices could be communicated more efficiently. (e.g. on the form you're required to turn in the night before). Forms were dropped in our room, but prices were only listed on a corner of front desk. (Found this out during check-out) Eggs were overcooked and bacon was under, so we didn't eat much of either, and mainly stuck with the "continental" offering (which was decent). Was surprised and disappointed when settling the account because I didn't feel it was worth the cost.

    Room was clean and spacious. Patio was a nice option, but we didn't get to use it due to bad weather. Hotel does offer shuttle service to reef terminal - but you need to book your excursion through them. We were not aware of this offering until we had reached the hotel, and had booked through another source. Airport shuttle is also offered, but times were inconvenient with our flight schedule.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly efficient staff. Quiet location with cafes and restaurants within walking distance of the property. Free airport transfers are a welcome surprise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing......all good

    Room was neat and clean, well furnished, with modern furnishings and the staff were helpful and very friendly. Bonus to have the free airport transfer available. Good location too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed. The hotel was in a refurbishing status with a scaffolding indoors. Probably better by now.

    Nice welcoming host. Well equiped kitchen. Comfortable bed. Walking distance to center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk back from the city centre was a bit hot.

    Quite location within walking distance of the city centre. The drop off at the wharf for our cruise was an added bonus we didn’t expect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking attached to hotel. Poor insulation and large gap under room door. Super hot in hallways, no in room safe

    Friendly staff, good but slightly busy location, decent size room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really if I had to say anything it was just a little far from the main shopping areas of Cairns, but im not visiting Cairns for shopping so no complaints.

    Very comfortable clean rooms, nice and quiet, good size with a kitchenette which was very convenient. Nice pool area and the manager said just spent lots of money on the pool lighting, made a real-nice effect around pool. Enjoyed my dip in the Spa. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We also stayed from 11-15 October during which time the pool was not in working order which was a huge disappointment. While we understood this is sometimes unavoidable, we would have appreciated complimentary breakfast or similar to compensate as a pool is essential in this location. Also more courtesy drops from hotel bus into city centre would be recommended.

    The room was very comfortable with all the facilities we needed to make our stay great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have experienced credit card theft of two-time hotel fee payment from this hotel!!!I really hate the attitudes of the male staffs here!!! Everything terrible may start from a middle-aged male receptionist with dark short curve hair. Actually I didn't feel good when I want to check in. He showed a poker face and let us wait although they look not that busy with a cold voice. My parents cannot understand English but they also felt awkward. When I started to check in in Oct 13 2017 and used my Australian bank MasterCard to pay my hotel fee( it is the card that I used for my order guarantee from Booking), the poker face man asked to show my Chinese credit card and started to record my card detailed information!!!I felt soooo strange because I though I didn't have to show the card I don't want to use. I think I just need to instantly pay the fee so that I could have the right to live in the hotel. I used to have an instant transfer from my net accout when paying the bill by using Australian mastercard. Maybe there was net problem in Cairns(But it always works in Sydney,I can pay after an instant transfer), I successfully paid the fee until my third try and truly got a receipt. However, a bad thing suddenly happened after I check out in Oct 15 2017. There was a message from my Chinese credit card bank. It said there was an expense of AUD334.95 which is the same number of my hotel fee at 5:37 when I have just check out for flight to Melbourne. I thought I have paid the fee when checking in and there was no need to pay again by my another card(I still don't understand why I have to show my private information of the card that I don't use to pay. I have never ever met in any other Australian hotel!!!It is definetly unfair for our foreign customers if we don't know the lawful regulation of Australian hotels) At first, I thought it just a mistake of the poker face man. So I just called for the hotel and asked for the refund.

    Since its bad location far from CBD, I really appreciate the food delivery list so that I could ate something when I checked in at 7:30 pm. 幸好房间里有备外卖单,拯救了饥肠辘辘刚下飞机7点半才入住的我们。

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a shuttle available early and late but easy to get a taxi(and cheap)

    The room was clean and comfy. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was cereal and breads which was ok for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was nice, room was cosy had laundry nice pool staff were really great they have started doing the place up will be back in the near future

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wall sockets in 208 need to be replaced, some look very dangerous. Oh can I please make a suggestion , that the fridge is turned on before hand. Pool was out of action, which was a shame.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the lady. There were four of us and we found the room big enough for our two nights, any longer maybe not. Beds were comfy, clean . They had DVDs we could watch, which was brill after our busy days being tourists.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. Loved it !

    I loved the little outdoor terrace area with trees giving privacy. Everything here was super clean. A lovely little unit even though all one big room - cleverly laid out to seem more. Great to see their awards at Reception - well deserved.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cigarette smoke trickled through the (locked) dividing door next to the TV and the luggage rack, presumably coming from the managers apartment, as it was a non-smoking hotel.

    Room had high ceiling, lots of space, comfortable large beds and was very quiet. Unlike many hotel rooms in Cairns, humidity was well managed, so our swimsuits actually dried ok. Outside is quite attractive too, well maintained and nice palm trees.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very late arrival and the owner only notified us at 22.42 via email where to get the key and we had no WI fi. It took 30 mins of my partner going round the building. Asking if they have facilities for disabled and being put on first floor with no lift, although they rectified it by putting us in a disabled room which smelt like a poorly kept nursing home. At 3am we were rudely awoken by a group of people above who'd just got in, loud shouting, scraping of furniture, banging all continued until 4am. We were going to use the phone in the room but it said after hours emergency only. We'd had only a few hours of sleep and when passing comment to the owner he said he'd "have a word" with the people above. We produced our credit card to pay and were told it had already been done. No receipt given and a very expensive room for 11hrs at AU$125. Stayed at Palm Royale on the way back to Cairns, very clean, friendly and only AU$178 for 2 nights.

    Parking for disabled even though it was next to the rubbish skip.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Reef Palms traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: