Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Reef Resort Port Douglas 3 stars

121 Port Douglas Road, 4877 Port Douglas, Australia

#71 of 101 hotels in Port Douglas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed updating. Dripping taps and leaking toilet. Bedrooms smelled a bit like mould.

    The pool was excellent and heated. The apartment was fully self contained, everything you needed to make it feel like home. Staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Had a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa was a large disappointment! The couch was a tiny outdoor 2 seater which was uncomfortable. The beds were terrible, extremely dated and the cupboards smelled with mozzies everywhere

    Big outdoor heated pool which was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds where very comfortable, the lady that checked us in was lovely, the lady that made the coffee in the morning did not speak enough English and struggled with our order, and said the didn’t offer lactose free milk, and the floors in the room where quite dirty but otherwise lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed for dinner the entire stay as it was quiet at the resort. Cocktails at bar were over priced for what you were served. No room service available to your room. Kitchen was very basic with no oven and little utensils.

    Pools are great. Good sized apartment for families with two bathrooms. Laundry for washing (but you have to buy your own washing powder).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should've stayed longer

    The staff are so friendly the facilities are amazing ~ the kids loved the pools! It's the 2nd time we've stayed and definitely won't be the last 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I would suggest is to have more comfortable lounge chairs.

    The pools were fantastic, especially the main one. Friendly staff, tasty food and well priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit more tired looking than in the photos. We were also missing the tv remote control and the toiletries were very minimal for a two bedroom/two bathroom villa. We were also unimpressed that we had to pay for pool towels.

    Great staff, great pool, the restaurant was lovely and the breakfast very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Apartments need a desperate upgrade The side tables in the bedrooms wouldn’t close they kept opening The large drop down fan in the entry had about 400mm drop of cables showing The blue curtains need a decent clean and fixture as some don’t even shut properly The overall place needs a good clean, not basic The couches were so uncomfortable as was the chairs for dining.

    The Resort Pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No oven. Tv's outdated. Uncomfortable and impractical lounge suite. Couldn't call reception from rooms. Didn't like how reception was in a bar.

    The convenience of the pool outside the room. Happy hour and the pillows. Rooms were very spacious. BBQ area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of service Front reception and bar together only 1 person to do both When ordering meals only had 2 serves of fish left poor menu everything we order including drinks they had run out , beer hot People with kids were turned away when there was only 6 in restaurant told booked out no one else turned up No where to sit at breakfast not enough seating

    Roomy apartment , needs up dating uncomfortable lounge, comfy beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property had changed ownership/management pretty recently. The resort used to offer great happy hour specials/food and have exceptional service. The room was older style - beds were uncomfortable and due for replacement. Bathrooms had mould in all the seals and was not cleaned well. Shower heads were broken and had to be held to shower, in addition jets were also mouldy. Bar/Food service no longer happens you need to go inside to order and on 2 occassions our drinks were forgotten and on a third we were given other peoples drinks. There isn't the same professional service you used to receive here. In addition drinks especially cocktails were overpriced and not made well. Also no oven which you would expect when staying in a villa made for families.

    The property is located toward entrance of town which is a short shuttle to Macrossan St. The main pool was a great size. This place would be suitable for families looking to spend time by the pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    While the Reception, restaurant and pool area was lovely and modern, the villa was dated and tired. We had to move because our first villa smelled musty, the doors didn't shut properly and the carpet in one of the bedrooms was stained. In the villa they moved us to, the light switches were pushed in to the sockets, the stairwell lightbulb didn't work and the fans would only go on low or high, no medium and there were no flyscreens on the doors or windows so we had to sleep with them shut at night. The description of the property alluded to it being a holiday resort but half of the villas were owner occupied or rented out long term, which we weren't comfortable with. My cc was double charged by accident so I spent some time trying to sort this out with reception and my bank which was very frustrating. I also don't think it was clear on the booking site how far it really was from the town centre... you definitely need a car to get there. And the outdoor area of the villa was pretty grotty - the outdoor dining table was filthy and the chairs covered in dust.

    Loved the main swimming pool and size of the villa.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a bit tired and could do with some maintenance to freshen up. We had a meal in the restaurant one night and wasn't impressed with the meal.

    The pool areas were great. We were fortunate enough to have a room that opened up on to the smaller pool. Continental breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were not in a clean state Cutlery was not clean, majority of dishes were not clean. TV in 3rd bed room did not work TV in main bedroom was missing the control We left the accommodation cleaner then what was handed over to us in your more permanent accommodation area some drivers drove at excessive speeds

    Great to have pool right at our back door Great pool for the little one Family friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomadation, described as delux, it was below a standard room, awful. Fan hanging out of ceiling on safety chain, 1 saucepan only and that had no lid, for a family what a joke. There was no comfort in the lounge furniture, it was more like what you would expect in a cheap cabin in a caravan park, no have stayed in one it was sooo much better than what was advertised as delux room

    The pool was great, cocktails good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sun loungers around the pool were the most uncomfortable I have ever used. The Apartment had been refurbished with an awful, tiny outdoor sofa which was incredibly uncomfortable to sit on of an evening, but was nothing compared to the hideous old bed in Apartment 63. We also had no oven, only a practically useless microwave that made a mockery of having a "kitchen"

    The property reception building and pool area itself was great, the pool was fantastic the kids loved it and spent hours swimming. Having a laundry was very useful in the apartment, and a second toilet. Good air-conditioning and fans.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old apartments/villa in need of some tlc. Reception staff uninformed and not very helpful.

    Pool area was lovely and relaxing atmosphere , and breakfast buffet was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, but the weather. Still we have no control over that.

    A very special place from the receptionist to the restaurant staff, they were all helpful and made our stay extra special, the pools were great, food was good and loved the roomy apartment, quick trip by bus 🚌 to the town and enjoyed that bit of distance away from the Main Street, quick walk across the road to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was poor if any internet reception in the room, had to step outside to talk on phone. the air conditioners we turned off cause they were too noisy to run at night for sleeping and the fans though noisy , we got use to noise.

    the room was nice and tidy, if a bit on the old side. two bathrooms and toilets was handy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like they were cutting corners, didn’t even provide soap in every bathroom. One toilet not operational for half of stay. No apology or compensation

    Excellent interesting shaded pool kept kids entertained all week. Spacious apartments

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room air-conditioning wasn't working in our bedroom or our friends apartment, however the venue was quick to change our apartment when possible and upgraded breakfast. The telephone reception wasn't good in all the rooms, so made it tough when trying to get in contact with others, although I think port douglas in general has this issue. Also that we had to wash our beach Towels each time we used it got a little tricky to do for the whole family.

    Staff were lovely and always helpful, apartments were very spacious and clean. Great value for money. The pools were great and the free breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lacking. Bacon & eggs should be served by ordering as didn't last well on buffet

    The pools are lovely. Great location. Yummy cocktails by the pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable and is in need of replacing. The air conditioning in the main bedroom also needed to be serviced as it was not working effectively. Cleaner missed prev peoples items. We found a dirty bowl with food in it, left with the other bowls in the cupboard. Dish washer was not working and did not clean, leaving us to hand wash. Lounge was also small, unclean and uncomfortable. Accomodation is in need of a renovation which is starting, but a long way to go.

    The pool was good and the staff accomodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Very uncomfortable soggy saggy bed. Not great lighting for reading.

    Friendly and helpful staff. 5 stars for staff. Great pools. Lovely dining area overlooking main pool. Parking directly outside unit. Good size units for a family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishwasher, sound system and phone not working. Tired interior. Difficult to park.

    Proximity to pool, private, quiet, easy to get around, great staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced, ;we paid $250 for the night n rooms are old N u can see deterioated curtains as u drive in n old paint work. Fans are old and dusty n generally feels cheap. (There were 4 fans!) Presents well as main reception has been re done, along with main bathroom in unit. Which is deceiving and extremely disappointing. Especially as we stayed in a comparable unit the next night- it was cheaper($190) and far more what we expected. Parking was either far from room, or where we parked which was in the cup de sac. For the price, this was TERRIBLE!! Disappointing for a ridges, and room layout didn't make sense ( large 2 story room with kitchen n laundry n 2bathdoons which would be great for a family- however there wAs only 1bedroom?!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Units need upgrading Fans did not work properly Couches not comfortable

    The pool and bbq areas Family friendly Gym access good Good location if you have a car

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for pool towels, the property was a little dated. The tv antenna was blue tacked to the wall?? No wi fi in rooms. The restaurant price was a little high. Dryer filter was broken. And the showers had mould and soap scum.

    Pool was great for the kids

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Older apartments urgently need an upgrade - if you don't book directly that is what you get allocated. wifi appalling

    Good location, nice setting, great pool. Staff ok but not particularly helpful. wifi appalling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Servicing of Villa was poor.Linen changed weekly but no cleaning of unit in 28days .Carpets were extremely dusty and no vacuuming was done during our stay.No vacuum cleaner in unit. Wifi did not work.Told to go to QT.Lighting poor for reading.

    Friendliness of staff in reception and restaurant.Availability of local transport great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment needed a thorough deep clean. We did comment and cleaners were sent round. Dirty curtains, the upstairs cupboard was quite orange and sticky inside and light fittings and cooker fan hood were greasy. Overall, general surface cleaning was ok, clean bedding etc. With an upgrade, this could be a really lovely place. Unfortunately two enormous cockroaches found their way in to the bedroom on the last evening.

    Nice, spacious apartment. Lots of space. Lovely pool area. Parking right outside apartment. Helpful staff. Lane pool for adults, although it was quite cold. 5 mins drive to Port Douglas which was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 21 nights

    TV difficult to hear voices and clarity not good. Lovely pool area with rocks around it Didnt like children jumping off rocks concerned re their safety but parents didnt seem to be concerned!

    Like the lay out of resort,Spacious corner unit nice balcony each of 2 bedrooms and small garden area ground floor Bathroom downstairs in laudry ideal for after pool use . Didnt have to use aircon Big living area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 8 nights and only received fresh towels once in that time. For the money we paid I expected fresh towels at least every other day. The rooms could have been cleaner, the shower in the main bathroom was covered in soap scum.

    The villas are a good size. The pools are gorgeous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never accept a unit near the 'Moonlight cinema' as the pounding sound and blasts and gunfire sounds severely rattled our windows and doors!!!! So much for a quiet relaxing night!!!!! Out TV didnt work either and no maintenance/housekeeping or even reception answered our calls. Location is some distance from centre of town but shuttles offered.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At weekends there was nobody in authority to deal with problems so we had to wait from Friday to Monday to get anything sorted out. Not good. I would not like to have children staying where we were as the stairs and balcony over the lounge were very dangerous

    Everywhere was very clean.A good breakfast was provided There was a lap pool which was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was supposed to be free at the reception and paying in the villas. In fact there was no wifi in villa and st the reception IPhone were not allowed by the system. Direction did not offer any compensation nor apologies while this is a must have in our hotel selection

    Villa, swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids playground was in need of repair, broken railing to slide, broken step to slide & crack in the slide as the kids come off Better instruction as to where things are would have been good.

    It was good value for money I thought most of the staff were really nice Meals were good. It was in a pretty good spot, but glad we ended up hiring a car

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a revamp, it's looking old and the rooms were dirty, there seemed to be a lot of privately owned units which is never a good thing as the owners don't look after the room like a body corporate manager does. The beds were terrible as well. I won't be recommending this place to anyone.

    It was quite peaceful there and seemed to carry the traffic okay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had free wifi but only in the main lobby area and it kept dropping out and was very slow. If they improved the wifi and made it free throughout the property it would just be perfect

    Love the pools. Was very happy with the location of the villa to the bistro and main pool area. There is a bus that will pick u up and take you into town if you don't have a car or want to have a drink at one of the many locations and not drive. Tour buses will pick u up front the reception area. The villa was very clean and large. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Had 2 balconies that were very large and had seating on them. Also outside downstairs was a small open courtyard area with table and chairs. Plenty of cutlery and crockery. Had a dishwasher and induction cooktop along with a microwave and 3/4 size fridge. Plenty of bench space. Each bedroom had ceiling fans and air con. Living area have ceiling fans and air con also. There is 4 pools and a gym and tennis courts available for your use. Particularly liked the happy hours every afternoon

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its very outdated abd dirty with paint peeling, finger marks, unkempt untidy gardens and very dirty patio areas.

    The pool and facilities offered were fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was like a camp kitchen. Continental breakfast was very basic and extra charge for hot breakfast. Long queues to use the single toaster. Floor in the restaurant area was very dirty. Charge for pool towells. No free wifi in rooms. More staff needed at reception as there was one person answering phones and serving customers. The place did not quite live up to the reputation of a Rydges resort.

    Excellent clean pools. Spacious grounds.Access to gym and lap pool.Clean rooms.Good price if booked early and better value for money than some comparable places in Port Douglas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't any WiFi in the room. Furniture in sitting area really uncomfortable. No TV's in either of the 2 bedrooms. No foxtel. Expected a bit more for $380 a night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really couldn't find any negatives about this property.

    Comfort of unit was exceptional . Great facilities , very friendly staff. Only a short drive into town. Would highly recommend . Enjoyed Happy Hour each day and had some wonderful meals in the restaurant .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the town. No wifi in the room and it did not work very well at the pool. No bar snacks such as peanuts

    Great facilities - tired but clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, old units. Renovated well to a degree, but things weren't completely re-done (architraves missing or broken, mouldy old vents above brand new showers, carpet that was very dirty, cracks snd holes in walls) and the dining and living room furniture was sparse and very uncomfortable. Beds were comfy. Doubt I would stay again for the price charged. Staff not at all welcoming. A point to make to Concierge-Don't take on a customer service role if you don't like people and aren't interested in your job.

    Pool and bbq area-both excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was not great - continental not very good choice and kept running short - couldn't cope with the amount of people staying. Bar and restaurant closed far too early at night. Not as close to main area of Port Douglas as expected. Villa was not very well equipped only five/six of each item such as plates, glasses. No towel change mid week - had to wash our own.

    Spacious and clean villa. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lots of information for tourist trips at reception. Good restaurant. Lovely grounds and pools - very pretty. Good facilities such as gym.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Premium Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our room would have been a 5-10 minute walk from reception which was particularly difficult for my 80 year old mother. The shower screen didn't close which meant water would flood the bathroom floor. Wifi promised but then we found it would only work in reception and even when my son tried in reception it still didn't work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet reception on mobile is very poor compared to being in the centre of Port Douglas

    Pools were great for kids! Check name of room type alondside photos on website to be sure your booking a refurbished room. Reception and pool deck has all been renovated and is fantastic. Transformation is coming together! We will definitely book again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wi-fi wouldn't work on Apple devices... hence no free wi-fi!

    Pools were fabulous for the 6 year old. Plenty of space and 2 to choose from. Nice outlook from our unit, quiet at night, and the resort didn't feel 'crowded' even with so many units.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of sewage from the golf course in the evenings, the lack of fly screens, no oven, very dim lighting was frustrating, unfenced Creek right out the back door. No highchair in the rooms.

    Great pool, lots of space, nice breakfast, close to beach, lots of towels, great staff, moonlit cinema, cute train to town, not overcrowded even though mostly full.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The villa we had was really shabby and not at all the standard we were expecting. Apparently this is luck of the draw as all the villas are privately owned. Chipped plaster and flaking paint, ceiling fans collapsing in from the roof, missing bedside lamps, TV remote not working. We broke the can opener and it was never replaced despite asking twice. Phone and broadband not working and not fixed during our stay.

    The pool areas were lovely. The staff were friendly but generally without a clue.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the on site movies was intrusive. Fortunately this is not every night of the week.

    Good clean, if dated, accomodation. Continental breakfast included in the tariff was really good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The portacot had no mattress and there wasn't one available. We couldn't get extra blankets to pad it either as housekeeping had left for the day. Also no high chair available. We had to pay extra to a private company to hire equipment in the following day - not very family friendly

    the pool area was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lack of warning about the construction, we might still have decided to stay having been pre-warned, but got no choice. Just a noisy, disrupted 'break'. Staff were non-committal at best about hearing our concerns, saying that there is notification on the website, and not even apologetic when showed that there was no warning even in our early days of stay about the still ongoing construction work. In the end, after being very persistent, we got a small discount to compensate - but their policy is clearly Deny, deny, deny, then apologise.

    There were major renovations going on at the time of our stay, but with no warning on their own or any other booking website. The whole front entry to the reception and all of the decking area around the pool was fenced off and our peaceful relaxation time was full of loud construction noise. All of the value of staying in this type of resort was gone, we might have well just paid for an apartment somewhere else, since there was little peaceful time in the resort facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palm Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Works were being carried out, and we did not get any notification of this. Bedding configuration was not as requested. We had 3 small children and were initially placed in a villa that backed onto main road,there was no fencing to stop the children climbing up to the road.

    Breakfast included, good value. Swimming pool and resort feel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were dreadful & the bed was not so good either! The couch was not comfortable at all, cane settings went out along time ago. The apartments are due for a complete upgrade but by the look of the reception and restaurant area this was happening.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The price we paid was great The apartment was roomy with a bathroom downstairs and one upstairs, there were plenty of cooling options in the apartment. The 3 pools were all well looked after, the grounds were nicely kept and everything was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having our very active and adventurous 2year old boy with us we could only suggest for the villas you put toddlers in there should be a gate of some sort on the stairs. We were constantly worried he would fall down them.

    Staff were amazing and very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 tiered breakfast system was a bit weird (unless you pay more you can only eat some of the food) and the location is quite a long way out of the centre of Port Douglas (definitely driving not walking).

    Well-equipped and modern villas. The pools were great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were uncomfy and carpet upstairs rather outdated and old. The door locks on the back door was dodgy. Only one staff who served us breakfast was the only happy and warming staff towards us. The price for what you got.

    The pools

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Run down overall, the villa we were in had an unpleasant smell, I think from plumbing issues. Staff were generally unfriendly. A lot of small hidden costs (cot, pool towels etc). Overall we go to one of the other many options around next time.

    Good location generally, nice pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty expensive for a family - extra $50pn for really uncomfortable foldout bed

    Room good size and relatively close to town via car, pools at resort were excellent for kids and continental breakfast included (surprise to us)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was incredibly dated and the pictures were nothing like the reality. The couch was so uncomfortable!

    Pool facilities were fantastic for little kids. The BBQ area was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    pool was well used by lots of families and needed the water became a little murky at times.

    Breakfast was good. Unit was clean and great location for kids, near the pool and bbq.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work in the main reception area meant it was impossible to use the main pool owing to the loud noise all day. There is now no food served on site. As with most disappointing experiences this could have been avoided by honest communication from the resort in advance on their website. They blamed booking.com for not having it on their page when the resort didn't even have it on their own page.

    Value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy. Restaurant closed. Not what we expected at all nothing like advertised. We had booked for 7 nights so had to find other accomodation. Tried to get a refund and it wouldn't work so the lady ( who was lovely) got in touch with me later saying they had reached their refund limit and that's why it wouldn't work 😕 Our refund did go through 3 days later though. Not what we expected at all.

    Nothing. We only stayed half an hour then asked for a refund

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coral Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed could be more comfortable. Staff friendly but could provide more info for example we were not told there was a shuttle bus to town, even though we asked about taxi service.

    Pool area is lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pools were great and it is a fabulous family resort. *These are responses from my daughter. I gave her and her family a two night stay for her 40th birthday. The staff were so helpful in arranging this for me.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website said room service .. nope apparently never had room service here and the dining room was closed for reno. . This information should be disclosed ..who makes up the websites! !!

    The pools were nice but the maintenance staff did not ckean up in gardens around pool area. I seen the same litter in t house e gardens for many days and when the cleaning crew went thru Monday morning they also left it all there !!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    That at no time were we told the restaurant and bar would be closed for the duration of our visit, when the purpose of our trip was to stay at a resort and enjoy the facilities. We were told to "walk next door" except we could not do that as it was pouring with rain and it meant walking along the highway with a 3 and 8 year old. Extremely upset as it was for a special occasion but we could not do anything we had planned. Very disappointed that the hotel did not advertise on their webpage that the restaurant and bar would be closed otherwise we would not have booked. We all left very early on check out day and with very sad faces as it was not what we expected & the birthday weekend we planned was ruined all because the hotel did not communicate this closure to us.

    The beds were very comfy and lovely pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not busy so we didn't have anyone to make us drinks at the restaurant/ bar. Restaurant wasn't open for dinner. Not much of a choice of breakfast. No wifi was working at the villa only at the reception area. Kids were very itchy after swimming in the pool. Not sure if they were cleaning the pool. They didn't have housekeeping we had to maintain ourselves. We didn't have anyone to change the bedsheets very disappointed.

    The setup of the poolside with the coconut trees looked very tropical and the staff member was nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi output was not sufficient. Of the row villa's hired, one was really in need of new carpet and a touch of paint. Below par.

    Pool's and location were great, as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower door wouldn't close properly so water kept on spraying out while using it leaving bath mat very wet. At the end, we just didnt use the mat and letting the tiles dry overnight.

    The villas are comfy and pools and bbq pits are close by and clean. Air-condition was strong.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coral Deluxe Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choices for continental breakfast welcome, eg pepp tea, hot choc, fruit toast

    Basic breakfast included. Kids loved the pools. Heaps of space in 3 bed apt

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room internet was very poor, however they did have wifi at the main pool.

    It was a great place to relax by the pool and soak up the sunshine... and it is so family friendly..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Palm Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We couldn't access the WiFi at all which was disappointing. Only other issue is that the furniture was not comfortable.

    The facilities were great - pool, gym etc. The unit was well set out, well equipped and clean. Beds were comfy and air conditioning really good. A really great holiday.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Reef Resort Port Douglas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: