Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Richmond Hill Hotel 3 stars

353 Church Street, Richmond, 3121 Melbourne, Australia

#93 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 928 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathrooms were a little dated and cramped, but they weren't terrible.

    The breakfast inclusion was the best-included breakfast I've ever had. There was a range of poached and fresh fruits, porridge, toaster waffles, toast, cereal, teas, coffees, and milks. Definitely made it a stand out stay. The room was clean and quaint. I loved the remote for the fan and lights, it was such a nice little convenience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was there. Except for the bathroom being very small, it was enough for what we needed.

    Beds were comfy & amenities very well maintained. Great location - close to public transport, with quick train ride to Melbourne CBD. Value for money - with lovely breakfast included. Keen to come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was curt, 2 single beds pushed together is not a queen. Sheets had hairs in them. Bathroom was cold all the time. Carpet was stained.

    Not a lot, coffee at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was a wee bit small, but that is to be expected with such an old, but lovely old hotel.

    Great location with trams outside the door and shops just down the hill in either direction. Booked a room for 3, ended up with beds for 4. Breakfast was more than sufficient, with a good range of breads/cereals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some other guests were quite noisy til very late (3 am) May need to explain noise code to guests better on arrival

    Breakfasts were great! Staff were excellent! great location not too far from the main streets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place appears to be an old boarding house and it's a bit upstairs/downstairs

    Needed accomodation in a particular location and Richmond Hill was closest and suitable. Would be good for people holidaying in Melbourne who were spending the day out and not worried about to much time in the room. Close to public transport and plenty of places to eat nearby including a Coles supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have preferred own bath room

    being on the balcony service was excellent location was excellent the wait people were efficient and clean after people ate rooms were cleaned everything was great bathrooms were kept clean at all times

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't like was the bed was very firm and we wouldn't have liked it for more than a night.

    Almost everything was fantastic, staff were helpful and friendly. The room, ensuite and dining room were very clean. Breakfast and parking included was very much appreciated. Location was accesible to the CBD.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So convenient to the MCG. The breakfast was lovely and such a warm greeting when we arrived. Our room was very basic, but I did get the budget room. It was clean and bed comfy We are staying again in a couple of weeks but will upgrade to standard room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The general look of the establishment could do with a makeover. Lighten up the walls, rip up the carpets and give the rooms a much needed revamp. Breakfast makeover.

    fantastic location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms are small, and with shared facilities, but knew that before booking

    Lovely building, friendly staff, slightly out of the City but well placed for everything Melbourne has to offer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Warm water takes a long time to get out. What a waste of water. After the first night they did not maintain the room. No internet included with standard room.

    Breakfast is a buffet and one warm item. But it was three mornings creamy porridge. Parking on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few more snacks for sale at the bar would be good

    Fantastic location, lovely old building, great value, breakfast and parking included, staff were very helpful, offered to post my charger that I left in the room, nice cool drinks from the bar, short walk to great bars and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be worthwhile to have A/C installed - have stayed twice on different occasions to attend weddings and it has been quite warm. AC would have gone a long way to make a good stay a great stay. Also the hand basin in this particular room was very tiny and this was exaggerated by the soap dispenser mounted on the mirror right at tap/basin rim level which made it very difficult to use the basin efficiently. A slightly better configuration of beds/tables etc would also have helped out.

    Bed was comfy, breakfast was adequate, location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly helpful Staff, excellent breakfast. It was like travelling back in time to a more gentle time. Close to everything I needed with my sister being in Epworth Private Hospital only 1.3km away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the cost was still on the higher end, considering I had a shared toilet/shower, no free wifi and no air conditioning.

    I liked that it was a luxury hostel, room was private, bed comfy and venue easy to access. Free breakfast was a bonus, but I didn't need it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited bathroom facilities . Dim lighting. No free internet. No bottled water in the fridge.

    The breakfast was good and adequate. The property was beautiful and full of character due to its historical significance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1: Nightly frights from the local junkies shouting outside the room (Actually thought it was going to be a crime scene - but happened on the second night too) 2: The bugs in the drawers 3: The uncontrollable shower temperature

    The staff were awesome, the hotel is very quaint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is a big issue and I realise it is a “luxury item”, but the world relies on this axis to the net. I think the benefits free wifi would bring to the hotel would our way the costs.

    The room was just comfortable. I climbed into bed, fell asleep, woke up comfortable and relaxed. What more could I want and I got free breakfast which was simple and healthy. Good job Richmond Hill

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower area was a bit cramped and there could have been a lift as I have disabilities.

    The ceiling fan light stopped working for some reason. The staff were lovely. Old world charm. Great location. The fans were a great touch given there was no air cond. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am an ex carpenter therefore noticed that the property is ageing, requires increased maintenance!

    Airconditioning to the room was excellent! Ensuite good! Continental breakfast excellent! Parking facilities excellent! Considering the age of the property, it met my expectations! Public transport!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced for quality of bedding, etc. No air con on very hot day made for a sleepless night. Didn't like being a single female and being on the ground floor with only a window for fresh air but didn't feel safe enough to have window open as there were people in the courtyard abutting the window.

    Good location, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What wasn’t poor?! 90 dollars a night for a small room with no ac and shared showers is way too much. Internet you have to pay for (15 dollars for 3 days)... it’s 2018 and in a Western Country! Beds are small and noisy. Beds are in a small room. No place for any suitcase (and I was alone!) The room was not cleaned, although I put the sign on the door, because it was a Sunday? Breakfast is ok, but I suggest to not book it and eat out. All in all, the City East Motel, just around the corner, has way much better value for money, although they also have a poor breakfast.

    The girl behind the reception counter.... poor girl, she also can’t help it the hotel delivers a very poor price / quality ratio. She was very friendly and helped me out with as much questions as she could

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great as it is very close to where our relatives live. There is a tram stop almost outside the main door that takes you to the city or links up with other transport systems. The staff were very nice and accomodating with our 12midnight check in! The free breakfast is very nice and overall it's great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service. Was abrupt. When l was leaving the next morning I was told I hadn't paid, when I had, this was embarrassing . No air conditioner for the price, it was ridiculous.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave us was too small to sleep in.there was no manager to talk to. We had to drag bags up many steps to larger room, after we had to ring booking.com for help.

    That they found us a room at third try that was reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if Room had its own shower and toilet, but not a big deal as they where close and easy access

    The breakfast was very nice, great variety, even though the room was small , it was comfortable, would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ceiling fan only worked if the bedroom light was left on, which was terrible at 3am on a hot night!! The door to the balcony couldn't be left open as there was too much street noise, so there was no way to get fresh air in the room for a good night's sleep. When I rang reception (open 24 hours a day on weekends - not!) there was no answer the three times I called.

    The balcony was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn’t like but could suggest with fresh markets available the fresh fruit platter at breakfast could have more variety of fruits

    Room & ensuite clean and cozy Breakfast great for continental good variety of breads for toasting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing to criticize about this hotel

    The room was clean and comfortable with excellent pillows! The breakfast was pleasant with a wide choice of food and drink.. A good quiet location and good value for money, my second visit to this delightful hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the rooms, fan was just blowing hot air. Other people staying in hotel where loud and drunk, a fight broke out in the parking lot in the middle of the night.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maria at the front desk was wonderful. Very helpful and accommodating. We had a budget room, it was clean, bit small with shared bathroom. Plus free breakfast. For the price I have no complaints. I will be staying there again but will up grade next time. Perfect location for the tennis.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not in the center, although well connected by tram and train.

    Comfortable standard option in Richmond. Good service, beatiful place and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything old Too much written about the breakfast in the previous feedback however It was few cereals and toast with coffee.

    Friendly staff Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the queen bed was actually two singles pushed together with no overlay- a bit uncomfortable- also the breakfast hours were very early! I had paid for breakfast with my stay but never made it down on time!

    The location and quaintness were a plus- this is not a big generic hotel it is certainly boutique- it was possible to OPEN the window!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the lounge wasn't always accessible. The toilet wasn't accessible to the room. Wasn't sure what shared bathroom entailed. Presumed it was a bathroom between rooms. Should have realised that it was a communal bathroom . The room was stifling. It was warmer than normal. Not easy making a cup of coffee or tea. However it was just as easy going to the lounge for that, which was pleasant drinking in the lounge or terrace. The hotel being part of a chain of motels, my expectations were probably too high.

    The lounge area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a shared bathroom (which we knew before we booked). It was clean and always available when we needed it. It’s not air conditioned but has opening windows and a ceiling fan.

    Very clean and comfortable budget hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee making and clean towels, extra pillows and blankets were provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have an injury and struggled with the stairs. Breakfast was just ok. Not great coffee

    The location was very good. Close to a lot of public transport and many shops

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just toast and cereal. Terrible service, not friendly or even polite, in fact when we checked out the girl didn't even say anything, just signed some paper and didn't even make eye contact.

    Decent location and free parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny double room, pretty much only big enough for the bed. High ceilings kept it from being too stuffy, but it was very cramped for two people without any suitcases! No lift and lots of stairs, so pack light.

    Cute older building, nice clean shared bathrooms. Small car park on site, but it was free. Very good continental breakfast served in the dining room and friendly vibe with other guests. We enjoyed meeting people over breakfast and sharing travel tips.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi, you only get a little bit of data, it was gone in a jiffy, when I asked about it I was told there was nothing they could do to give me more. They should have unlimited. For $90 a night with only a shared bathroom its not dirt cheap so sufficient wifi data should be available

    The breakfast was very good, bathrooms clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor car parking, ,had to park in street second night Noisy fridge, , turned it off second night Trip to Laundry is an excursion in itself ;-)

    Would return if we didn't have the car as it's a Great Location ,Beautiful old building , friendly staff, ,Warm and quiet room, ,great breakfast, ,all day coffee !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have food intolerances and as one of us was lactose intolerant the only breakfast option left was toast. The tinned fruit at breakfast was also not an option because of fructose intolerance. We found food elsewhere. There was no hairdryer in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms aren't sound proof at all and as it is an old building the floors creek a lot. When the people upstairs walked it sounded like an elephant marching on top of our heads. The neighbours came in after midnight and we could hear their whole conversation. Only high carb breakfast foods.

    The location was good. The breakfast was included and if bread is what you like, there were a few different breads, however if you are after anything low carb, there were no options. No cheese, no eggs, no cold meats, only bread, jams and cereal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old people hogging the outside tables for breakfast, nursing their seventh cuppa when the weather is nice... #sharingiscaring

    All amenities, parking onsite, handy location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small but you get what you pay for.

    Always love coming back to Richmond Hill. Nothing flash but clean and value for money, and the complimentary buffet breakfast is always welcome! Even shared bathroom is no hassle as there is always one close to your room and never have to wait. Located easy walking distance to the many restaurants in Swan St. Free onsite parking is a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are not large and I would not recommend them for families.

    The location of the Hotel was just what I wanted - near where I needed to go. Great tram connections. Free parking at the Hotel was a Godsend as were the eateries in Swan Street. The Hotel has a welcoming feeling, even though it is a bit of a maze. Very clean room/ensuite with windows I could open for air. The bed was a bit firm - I am used to a much softer one at home, but there were lots of pillows and I slept OK. There was a wide choice of breads, preserves, tea, coffee and juices, cereals and fruits in the Continental breakfast included in the accommodation cost. I particularly enjoyed the hot, creamy porridge on offer - with a choice of honey, prune compote, yoghurt, pears and apricots in juice, several styles of milk as a topping. Or you could have them all!!! Four types of bread and waffles were also available together with a large selection of jams.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position Reasonable breakfast, We stayed in a room with shared bathroom,of which there are sufficient, and the stay was good value. Free on site parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was quite acceptable but I found the coffee was a little too cool and the breakfast selection was a little limited, although items that were available were good quality. I'm still undecided about the whole communal bathroom set up......

    Beds were comfy, room was clean, staff were friendly, off-street parking was good, breakfast was fine but a little limited, coffee was a little cool. I'm still undecided about the whole communal bathroom set up......

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff terrifc and helpful - we were able to assemble our bikes in a spare room and leave them there in the lock up. Loved the whole décor - comfy and old worldly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't find anything I disliked about the hotel.

    I have stayed in many hotels and generally give a negative review to especially to Australian hotels since their standards are low compared to the rest of the world. But this Hotel has surprised me and makes me want to come back. The service, friendliness and the amount of facilities offered for the price included is refreshing and made me believe that there are good Hotels in Australia, compared to the rest of the world. Upon my arrival, which was too early for most hotels, they ensured that I get to check in promptly, a wide range for continental breakfast, a bar with reasonable prices for drinks, and helpful staff. The hotel is old, so old it reminded me of my grandparents house, but it was very clean, safe, secure and very pleasant. Most hotels in Australia these days, tend to think if they get new stuff and renovate and look modern, they do not have to spend money on paying for good service, and charge for breakfast, and clean as much. And staying there is like a privilege, well sorry I do not think so. They call it the new system. I call it laziness. Unlike Richmond Hill Hotel where the service and my stay was 10/10. Thank you. If I come back to Melbourne, I will definitely rebook a stay with your establishment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small fridge and you could hear the upstairs guests moving around and their showers.

    Great area almost in the heart of Richmond-it was a nice walk to AAMI PARK. Cafes and bars everywhere. Room was adequate for what we needed: good bed, OK bathroom and good selection of continental breakfast items.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male staff were not very friendly. We paid for a room with it's own bathroom and the shower and very power water pressure. There is no noise cancellation between rooms and we could hear the couple next door telling, walking and snoring all night.

    The antiqueness and location were great for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was continental and was fine. The room was OK - parking was good. The stay was good definitely worth the money and almost exactly midway between Bridge and Swan Streets so plenty of restaurants etc around

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was upgraded to an ensuitw room but I hadnt underatood at booking that the amenities were shared. If I had know that I wouldnt have booked. As ir happens, I was upgraded so it didnt bother me.

    It was very easy. Everything functioned and there was no waiting. The location is convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We will not be staying there again. 1) Carpets smelt bad..stagnant tea. 2) not happy with the idea of shared bathroom 3)bad lighting 4) room too small to keep our bags, no desk, no table to place laptop 5) did not like the idea of going up stairs...did not look safe to me 6)picture used in the ad is deceiving.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some difficulty carrying luggage up the stairs on arrival and also locating the room .

    The staff where approachable and happy to help with any queries we had.The breakfast was amazing and so was the environment.The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathrooms however there's lots of them and they are very clean. Not really a complaint and considering the rooms are well priced it doesn't really bother me.

    Fantastic breakfast, neat and tidy room and I was lucky enough to have a little balcony with a view onto the street so I can watch the world go by. Very central location and lots of public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on the breakfast- as a type one diabetic there wasn’t a great range for me to choose from. We went there not Richmond and had breakfast at a coffee shop.

    Loved the location. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not very sound proof could hear people above and behind. At peak shower time our shower was warm not hot (own bathroom)

    Proximity to cbd excellent, staff lovely, breakfast great. Room was perfect for what we needed. Great location for MCG.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some of the furnishings in the room are a little tired. Some more shelves in bathroom for toiletries ect. Also don't like the plug in deodorisers in hall ways- annoying artificial smell. Have to pay for wifi

    staff great- location great- breakfast great. warm & cosy. free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free wifi, and its costly to pay.

    Wonderful and cute! Room was cozy and had such a nice little deck to sit and eat on. They provided us with a two for one drink at the bar and the breakfast was good. Onsite parking, close to Richmond restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I actually picked up a bacterial infection staying at the Richmond Hill Hotel. The bathroom had clearly not had anything but maybe bleach thrown around the toilet bowl for at least a month. The shower, toilet and bathroom was grimey and the blanket on my bed was at least 20yrs old, the spare blanket had a hole in it. Yuk!

    It was a great location to where I needed to be during the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the end of the day this is an older property. If you're looking for 5 star luxury with block out curtains and complete silence, look elsewhere. If however you're looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable place to crash then this is great. Whilst I may of wished that the rooms had a little more sound proofing, I really thought the location was amazing.

    Great location just a short walk from the hustle of Swan Street. The same short walk took you to the trams as well which made adventuring around Melbourne a breeze.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not find the remote for the Air Con. but the wall heater in the room was good. There were extra blankets in the cupboard which was handy.

    The location is perfect for football and shopping. Family live in Richmond so is perfect. Breakfast was excellent and the staff throughout the property were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and ensuit very basic.

    Hotel was a beautiful old terrace. Dining room was beautiful and inviting. Room was adequate for what we required, bed was comfortable and room was warm. Location was fantastic and we had a short walk to a beautiful Thai restaurant for tea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little antiquated in a few ways and lacking a few features. The room was very small and did not have an air conditioner. The room door needs to be locked manually with key when you leave which could be a problem. Not all rooms have bathrooms and have to pay extra if you prefer a private bathroom over a communal one.

    Location and value is great. Walking distance or a short tram to all of richmond and south yarra. Hotel also provides onsite parking which was really good considering how busy the area is. Complimentary breakfast is great added value also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated, esp. bathroom. bed too short. there was an old oven in the room (but no related cooking implements), the oven rattled whenever I took a step.

    24 hour reception was great, staff very friendly & helpful. Hotel is close to public transport and local restaurants. Room was well heated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property shows its age and upkeep is limited. Parking is really bad as you need to back out onto the main road. Bathroom is pretty small - no place to leave your toilet bag or clothes. Value for money is good but keep in mind the pictures don't tell the story.

    The staff were very customer focused. Good location. We did walk into the City (easy 45 minutes). Tram right in front and at each major intersection. Hotel also provides cards for the tram. Basic breakfast but included in price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We honestly could not fault anything.

    We loved the comfortable bed and the choices at breakfast were excelent and also loved the tea and coffee and biscuits available to guests and had some relaxing drinks from the bar saturday night when we returned from dinner we will be staying again and will recomend it to friends staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy having a room on the front of the building, heaters were small old gas ones so split systems would have been warmer

    Continental breakfast had great variety, max 10min walk from Richmond train station, not far from eateries on swan street. Perfect for max one night away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not applicable all was good:)

    cosy and friendly loved the bar reasonable prices comfy lounge friendly helpful staff lovely comfy warm.lounge good breakfast thanks :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a really strong cigarette smell. We were told that there was no other rooms available. They did do sometimes the room whilst we where out for dinner but the smell had returned by the morning.

    Location was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was basic but well presented. Some eggs would have been nice.

    Bed was comfy, Friendly reception, very helpful with special requests. 24 hour reception helped when we forgot our key.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard No toilet or bathroom in your room No complementuary shampoo or soaps

    It's a lovely old place it's actually really beutiful, they had a lovely personal balcony for me was great an Affordable and no deposit was needed which really made me feel trusted

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: