Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riverside Hotel South Bank 4 stars

20 Montague Rd, South Bank, South Brisbane, 4101 Brisbane, Australia

#96 of 148 hotels in Brisbane

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2629 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    Bed, pillows, linen was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was broken asked for another and didn’t get a response. Room was dusty, couldn’t fill jug from the tap.. furniture needs updating old and scratched.. had to buy a sewing kit.. staff were not friendly.. coffee was very expensive

    Bed, pillows, linen was good. Good shower. Did let me use the parking on the day that I was leaving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenience and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was happy with my stay. No negatives

    Brilliant location if you are spending time at the cultural precinct at Southbank. Clean, safe, comfortable, undercover security parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great location and exceptional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too soft and I felt l was sleeping on a slope.

    All the staff were friendly, smiley and helpful. Parking was a big plus and the location is excellent for the cultural centre and Southbank.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good for an overnight stay. A very helpful gentleman on reception and in the breakfast room.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the shower needed an upgrade. The sliding doors didnt feel safe.

    Welcoming staff member on the front desk. The room was on the first floor so easily accessible. Continental breakfast had a good choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    No sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was next to external door so was woken up throughout the night by drunk people struggling to get in or returning home. Room was cold, bed cover stained, bathroom was for people with mobility issues not suitable for me as water everywhere. Would not recommend or return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was right above the pool which is directly on a busy main road. It was quite noisy.

    The location was fabulous, 5 minutes walk to South Bank and directly opposite Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA). Plenty of quirky little restaurants around the hotel so no need to stray further afield. Parking was included which is always a bonus in Brisbane.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Other than the dinning this is A1 accomodation in the Brisbane area. Will use again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremly slow service & poor quality meals. This only applies to the Kitchen. The waitress was run of her feet trying to service the dinning area, bar & lounge.

    Excelent accomodation. Staff moore than helpful. Walking distance to Roma St Station and the CBD.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    We chose an apartment. The extra space meant we could have family visit during the day.
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to access lift from car park. Need to carry bags up two short flights of steps. Can park on reception level and leave them there while parking the car.

    Very convenient location. Good free car parking. Very close to the Dinosaur entrance to the museum so we took our nearly four year old grandson there. Quiet room despite closeness to busy road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Still good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 1 bed apartment rooms are dated and need upgrading. We had a room on the road side and the trafffic was noisy through to about 11pm at night.

    I like the free parking, the friendly staff, the free breakfast offer in June and the location close to the footbridge to Queen Street Mall; QPAC (the Lyric Theatre); the Queensland Museum; the Wheel and the Brisbane Museum of Modern Art; South Brisbane Station too. Lots of food venues. We tried the pub opposite the Parmalat milk depot - The Milk Factory??? which was great for lunch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Very clean rooms, great location - only a short walk into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pretty basic and coffee undrinkable. Definitely order off the menu rather than the basic continental if you are after something tasty!

    Very clean rooms, great location - only a short walk into Southbank. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Close to the city and Suncorp Stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not have paid $18 for the continental breakfast, but was included in our price. When booking on here, it said breakfast included. Maybe should have the option of the continental breakfast or a small hot breakfast, 2 eggs and 2 rasher of bacon and a piece of toast. (Considering there are eggs (boiled and cold) and ham on the continental buffet).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Close to where I needed to be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room what right on the entrance so people going in and out constantly. Faced out on to a walkway with people going right past my window - little privacy at all

    Close to where I needed to be

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    A great location but a poor night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blackout curtains in living area with sofa bed. Spoke to receptionist but he was unhelpful and said there was nothing they could do. No apology or attempt to rectify. The street lights were bright enough to keep me awake and there was no privacy. The thin day curtain did nothing.

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    good location, small room glad to be only staying 1 night, appalling srevice in restaurant
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff member in restaurant had very poor customer service, after we submitted orders during our function, clearly stating the food needed to be Gluten free, circled the GFO and wrote in the any allergies part on the order form GLUTEN FREE, when the meals came out and had croutons in the caesar salad, when told they had to be gluten free staff member sighed loudly, rolled his eyes and said well now we have a meal that is going to go to waste! it was an inconvenience for them to fix up both the meals which was due to their incompetence in the first place.

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    The view, the included parking, the public transfer to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi often failed, appartement is a little bit outdated.

    The view, the included parking, the public transfer to the city, the space within the appartement.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    We would stay there again because of the location and value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning needs refurbishing as it is inconsistent and noisy at times. The room could have been serviced more efficiently. The garbage was not emptied each day, nor was the bed made up.

    It was a quiet room and the bed was very comfortable.The location was excellent for sightseeing and access to where we needed to go. Staff were very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Will be back next year because it’s the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Burn mark in the kitchenette has been there for a least 12 months, was there last year that we stayed. Bathroom needs a revamp. Sofa bed needs a thicker mattress.

    Love the location. Close to all the amenities I need to access. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Otherwise it was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The late check in meant that I had to postpone a meeting to the next morning The staff were excellent in getting me in ASAP However I probably wouldn't stay there again for that reason unless it was for time off

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Sound proofed from road in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds shown in the pictures on the website are no even close to what is really there. Although 4 people were booked we were given a small queen bed and a folded out couch that had a 5cm thick mattress and could feel all the metal poles underneath and for $279 i would expect it to have decent bedding quality was terrible

    Sound proofed from road in good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Close to entertainment area, clean, friendly and helpful staff. What more could you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was less than we remembered. Not as big a choice. Restaurant was one of the reasons we stayed there as it meant we didn't have to go out again after a long day. 2 members were fussy eaters so had to have same meal both evenings. The specials didn't change. But overall it was ok.

    The cleanliness of the rooms and the helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    A fantastic location, very helpful staff, just a pity about the foldaway bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The foldaway bed that 2 of my children were to sleep on is in desperate need of replacing - it was ridiculously uncomforable. It was so uncomfortable we had to squash into the main (queen sized) bed.

    The location of this hotel to SouthBank and Suncorp Stadium is fantastic. The staff at check in were extremely helpful and informative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Staff were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing!! Very obliging, friendly, attentive and great attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like we were personal friends of all dining staff. Thanks to them for enhancing our enjoyment of our trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Convenient, clean, fantastic customer service, great meals, great position, convienient parking
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    secured undercover parking was available before our 2pm check in which was very convenient for us . Location was within walking distance to the Brisbane convention centre . Restaurant meals were delicious. Staff were very helpful and had fantastic customer service .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Compared to the booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to the booking.com scores I was very disappointed. Room was very dark, old, outdated and not overly clean.. staff was great however. Very disappointed as hotels I’ve stayed at in past with similar scores on booking.com have been much nicer hotels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely time staying at the hotel very convenient for what we were their for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy with the service it was a perfect location for us.

    The beds were super comfy the room was surprisingly quiet for being in such heavy traffic area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    We had two days in the hotel between moving out of our home...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had two days in the hotel between moving out of our home of 40 years, and moving into our brand new apartment, after a very stressful time selling, downsizing etc. We were very pleased to have a clean, comfortable place to sleep in during the hectic process. The evening happy hour meant we didn't have to leave the hotel which was another plus for us. The proximity to the William Jolly Bridge had worried us, but the soundproofing was excellent and we weren't bothered at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Location handy to south bank and the room we had good for a 1 night stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a bit hard to find and no outlook except into building opposite.

    Staff excellent and very friendly. Room was smaller than expected but was adequate for our one night short stay. Restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Great, no frills, hotel in a fantastic location for museums and art.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit bare-bones. Not much ambience or beauty in the building. But that’s fine for me (who just wanted a decent room in a nice location).

    Staff are great, location is awesome, rooms are comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Perfect! Would happily keep returning for future travels!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing dislikable to mention! - I can't even nitpick! Perfect place I would happily keep returning to! :)

    Friendly staff! Clean rooms! All working bathroom facilities! Everything was perfect as usual! (Extra points for consistency in cleanliness! My third time staying here with no regrets yet whatsoever! Worth every cent!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, great facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little distance to Coles/Woolies?

    Location to the city, Art Gallery/Museum & Library, restaurants & pubs, trains and buses is excellent, facilities are great, free parking & free strong wifi is a BIG bonus, great priced rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Great for proximity to city and medical appointments at Mater and free parking is great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facing bridge and traffic noise and there was a white chunky stain on the bed cover.

    Location to public transport is excellent and a very short pleasant walk to the city. Close to Mater and Childrens hospital which are also within walking distance along SouthBank. Clean and secure for my needs but a little small for a couple. Alright for somewhere to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very clean and tidy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely book again should i be in the area. very handy to QPAC and Southbank and also rail

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    When arrived early was able to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday morning disruption of a fire evacuation

    When arrived early was able to check in. Also was able to leave car in car park after checkout while going to South bank

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall was good just disappointing at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a rude female staff member at check in, put a dampner on the whole thing. The other male staff members were very polite.

    The price and location were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, bad mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was good except the mattress on one side of the bed was compressed and impossible to sleep on. It was only because there was an extra bed in the room that stopped us from demanding another room. I informed the staff at check out who said they would look into. Hope they do.

    The location was grear

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Good clean accommodation in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us as a couple the bed was too soft(we were rolling into the middle), but as there was a single bed as well one of us used that so that worked out ok.

    The location was very convenient for walkng to see the sights and across to the CBD. Our room 203 though facing a busy road wasn't noisy. We had a nice view of the city lights and the Hotels pool. Peel St Tavern just around the corner does cheap generous food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    thankyou the duty manager on Sunday was excellent - very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    thankyou the duty manager on Sunday was excellent - very courteous and helpful. My problem lies with the hairdryer in the room room 310 - it is a hazard . My suggestion is you turn it on an listen to the noise it makes - it is dangerous and needs replacing other wise al good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    Will not not be going back and staying there again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not clean and also outdated. Bathroom had mold and was very outdated. Was billed for a table that was not out damaged. Tried to talk to someone but no one phoned back then emailed but no one replied.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    double header footy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I have stayed here at this property for a number of years now I am seeing a slight downward turn in the furnishing but still a comfortable place for a short or long stay. I am sure it won't be long before these things are improved. As from past experience things are not left unfixed for long.

    I stay at this property every year. They do an excellent breakfast. Rooms are clean and fairly spacious how ever the units are better in size than the hotel rooms if you wish to stay for more than one night. I find the security to be excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, close to and from South Brisbane Station
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although I had already got acceptance in advance of my early early chceking-in around 7-9 am on May 1st, there was not a room ready for the two of us. We had to go around until it was available in the afternoon.

    Reception staffs are friendly. All facilities are also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating, the room and facilities were fabulous. We loved having a balcony to allow fresh air into the room and the location was perfect. 60 second walk to the river and a beautiful short leisurely walk along riverfront to Southbank Parklands. I recommend this hotel very highly and will definitely be staying there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Close to the Parklands and CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant let the stay down. Only 5 choices on the menu and 2 were not available. Like wise with deserts. We should have been made aware prior to ordering.

    Close to the Parklands and CBD

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed with the location and room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled, possibly the drains. The room was very small and we had a view of the bins. Luckily we only stayed one night.

    Drink prices were okay, and staff tried to be helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The location to Qpac is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and room was small. The furniture was out date, curtains were stained, tablet and carpet had iron marks on it from where someone had sat the hot iron.

    That the hotel was close to qpac which is why we were in Brisbane

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable with great facilities on offer.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not too much to dislike. I have stayed in many many hotels when traveling for work. This is the best standard for the type of accomodate.

    I have stayed at this Motel previously for work. I have always found the service to be very very good. Staff are friendly and eager to accomodate any requests where possible with a smile. Will be back for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay but would eat elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant meal the big disappointment. Two steaks overcooked and the two coq o vins were mediocre. Staff understaffed and very slow.

    Great location and good overall experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Awkward stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the smell and the restaurant being closed significantly impacted the stay. I didn't like the fact that the staff didn't have good service. I checked out and then paid $80.00 for parking at the transit centre considering the hotels carpark was empty and I had been a guest I think it would have reasonable to allow me to pick my car up in the evening. If I had've talked to staff this could wouldn't have been an issue. I don't have paid parking and I had no idea it would cost $80.00 unfortunately I only just made it safely home. Some of the pillows have duck feathers in them ( i think) so incorporating that with the bad smell made the whole bed stink of cum. I decided to take nice photos to show how we rocked the room, yes there are lots of grubby things I could have photographed but we are cool people and tried to make the most of it.

    I liked the parking and the location because I stayed specifically to go to qpac.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Was comfortable and had parking which was a big selling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact that the hand write credit card information and hold it on file for 3 months which I wasn’t happy about

    Was comfortable and had parking which was a big selling point for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Included breakfast is only continental and a very basic poor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy as it is right near the main highway.

    Included breakfast is only continental and a very basic poor one at that. Hotel is very dated but rooms were ok and has everything you need in them. Good location for south bank and the QPAC which is why I booked it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    A very enjoyable few days and a pleasant discovery.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu in restaurant was a little limited.

    Service was very good with friendly staff. Parking was convenient and secure. The position was excellent for our purpose. The room was very good, if a little dated and the bed was comfy. Free wi fi was appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, driven staff, free parking and fair rates make this an attractive option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning unit was old and noisy, remote didn't work. No computer facilities for those who had business requiring scanning documents or printing.

    The continental service offered was not in my opinion value for money. I would instead recommend ordering off the menu or eating elsewhere if you don't mind the inconvenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Close the south bank and only a walk one the bridge to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stove top did work, hardly any utensils and was woken up a few times by traffic and garbage trucks

    Close the south bank and only a walk one the bridge to get to queen street mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and location great for what we were doing, ie. attending QPAC Theatre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not told that restaurant would not be open until it was too late to cancel without costs involved, and as it was Easter long weekend many other restaurants in surrounding area where also closed.

    Comfortable beds. Close to Museum, Theatre and Southbank Parklands

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    I was in a noisy location near kiosk vending machine and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a noisy location near kiosk vending machine and entry. No other rooms were available i do not think. Bed was uncomfortable and I hardly slept.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been less thick. Filling the kettle was difficult. We could not get our early check in.

    The location and we had a room on ground level. All good. Good coffee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    I always enjoy my stay at Riverside Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always enjoy my stay at Riverside Hotel. It is a very convenient location, just walking distance to Southbank Parklands and QPAC. Another added bonus is the free secure undercover car parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    The location is great and the pool clean. Great that the parking was included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Their was mould in the bathtub & shower recess. The kids fold out bed was extremely uncomfortable, they could feel the springs through the mattress and both would roll into the middle of the mattress. Time to update the bedding. Also a quilt cover for the beds would be nice instead of just a sheet.

    Location was fantastic and the pool area was clean and tidy. Air conditioning worked really well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Location was perfect, 5mins from the train station and Queensland Musuem & Art Gallery & South Bank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nil.

    I arrived late in the evening, tired and hungry. Even though the restaurant was closing in 15mins, the restaurant staff was very hospitable and served up a wonderful meal, allowed me to take time to enjoy my dinner. I was very grateful for his kindness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Not The Best Stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the room was quite uncomfortable - the walls were paper thin so we heard guests coming and leaving at all hours as well as the traffic noise - our room looked right onto a bridge. There were also street lamps flooding our room with light so it felt like daylight all night! The bed was very uncomfortable too.

    The location is awesome if you're wanting to go to the convention centre. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. There was a vending machine on ground level, great for midnight snacks :P The shower was great too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff...room was very clean and bed comfortable....room was quiet....great facilities...location was excellent....and the free secure parking definitely a bonus....we would definitely stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service didn’t fill up the milk after the first night, and it was those horrible little tubs of long life milk. The room was a bit noisy with traffic at eye level. Don’t lose the key it cost me $250...seriously! While it was my fault, $250 seems like an exhortation.

    Location was great, room was very clean and comfortable. The room rate was commensurate with the value of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not impressed that the quilt on the bed had an obvious dirty mark on it. The mark could have been face cream but it looked like baby vomit.

    I liked the location. Very close walking distance to the cultural centre, South bank, even crossing the bridge into the city was an easy walk. Although it was close to city traffic, there was no noise to disturb our sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    We will deffintely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some background noise which I assume was from the air ducting system. It did not bother me but it might not be acceptable to everyone.

    Hotel was easy to find and in a great location. Having a car park space was great. Walk to QPAC was 5 mins. The restraint meal I has was expected excellent and not over priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Economical accomodation with relaxing breakfast and walking distance to art gallery / South Bank.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of power point for kettle near products

    Comfortable bed, tea and coffee products, relaxing breakfast area, walking distance to art gallery/ museum and no charge for car parking Pool area looked inviting but due to rain I didn’t get to try it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.8
    The location was good,within walking distance to the city. Not for someone who is a light sleeper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was very noisy. The room smelled old & dusty.

    The beds were comfortable. The location is very close to the city, but the room is right beside the main road, & quite noisy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt clear on what food was included for breakfast. Was disappointed that it was cold only as we only at cold croissants

    The location was fantastic. Close to south bank which was perfect for the evening we had

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Convenient but lacking any wow. Wouldn’t rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (espacially bathroom) dated, strange odour throughout building. Expensive breakfast for what was on offer. View and noise of room not very good - literally opposite William Jolly Bridge!

    Great parking facilities right on the south bank.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    See above
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The spacious rooms and kitchenette were not expected. I asked for a microwave and you gave me a kitchen,!!!! What an excellent over deliver!!!This made my stay exceedingly comfortable. I also noted the quality fixtures too...the ironing board was very stable , the sliding doors shut very well. And the location was only a 10-15 min walk to the convention centre. I will stay again if have cause to revisit Southbank.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Always a pleasure to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need a sign to tell people that the car park door is operated by motion sensors. We thought we were locked in until we parked, got out and walked up to check it! Also, not something you can control; it was sad and a little frightening to see homeless people camping under the walking bridge next to the GOMA.

    Free parking. Great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Bedding was very poor, no duvets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt value gor money! We asked for anroom close to the swimming pool. Got one on 6th level very far from pool!

    Bedding was very poor, no duvets! Aircon in lounge didnt work. Some ofbthe towels were dirty. Not value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.0
    Pretty Good. Good value for the location. Room was clean, bed and pillows comfy for a good sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room freshener used, was a little over powering when returning to a room which had been locked up all day. I advised reception that the electric jug for hot water was broken, they committed to replace it during the day. That either didn’t happen or they didn’t check the replacement - resulting in 2 nights with no hot water. Not a big deal. But a suggestion would be to leave a confirmation In the room advising what has occurred in response to a request.

    Incredibly close and convenient to access the Convention Centre. Quick access to South Bank.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    This hotel is located well, 2 blocks from the Southbank hub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were ‘upgraded’ to the directors suite as we had an early flight and arrived 5 hours before check in. My partner wanted to freshen up and pop our bags in a room, so asked if there were any other rooms available straight away. We were disappointed when we walked in. It was more a board room then a hotel room. Whiteboard and bulky furniture, uneven ground with divets carpeted over, someone’s undergarments had been left behind the bedroom door, the bathroom felt more like a public restroom with a paper towel dispenser, no privacy as the room was located right on the footpath with windows all around, the blinds were shut our whole stay for privacy.

    Good location. Excellent and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, we have stayed at Riverside Hotel on several occasions and will again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We feel the breakfast cost is too high.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful - as always, the bed was beautifully comfortable and nice clean room, also you could open the sliding door always an excellent attribute. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent for a stop over on south bank
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a continental breakfast via booking.com. This was more expensive than if we had booked when we arrived! Pre prepared coffee at breakfast was weak and grey looking.

    Excellent location for QPAC, museums and south bank. Very handy for south Brisbane station. Free parking is a great bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.5
    Location is fantastic- but only down side is that altho'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside facilities too near main road- a price you have to pay for good location I suppose.

    Location is fantastic- but only down side is that altho' Riverside can't see river and swimming pool small and below a main road. Plus side the staff were most friendly and helpful with clean facilities...made your stay worth while .......and great for lovely Brisbane. Brisbane is great. Why go to New York when you have Brisbane’s South Park, Botanical Gardens and beautiful /unique Roma Park- much better than Central Park. Fantastic climate, the beauty and variety of plants, the cleanliness of everywhere (no chewing gum or tramps on pavements!) and with plenty of culture facilities if wanted. For the perfect day walk along beautiful Brisbane Rivers’ South Park past the Streets Beach (free if you want a delightful swim), view the fantastic bridges and other architectural masterpieces up to Kangaroo Point. Take one of the ferries to north side – we popped over to Eagle Street terminal. Have a lazy coffee at Riparian Plaza Riverbar & Kitchen where Ruby (from Bedale) will serve you best coffee in town. Only problem we found was finding good coffee in Brisbane but not here-lovely creamy top. Then for a gorgeous lunch try George’s Paragon restaurant and the lovely views up & down river. There are plenty of restaurants on the river with fantastic views -some pricy but offering value for money. Again, far better than, for example, New York and with genuine Australian hospitality rather than rehearsed or false. End up for a stroll and a rest in the Botanical Gardens- truly spectacular even if you’re not into plants. Then of course you have Queen Street shopping area with plenty of activity and entertainment. Well done Brisbane and the Aussies.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: