Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove 4 stars

Coral Coast Drive, 4879 Palm Cove, Australia

#38 of 61 hotels in Palm Cove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 564 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Good location, friendly receptionists, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall mounted small shower head delivered very weak and thin spray. Not sure whether it's design was for saving water but, it makes you to use more than usual time to wash, so... TV signal seems some problems because pictures are a bit blur. Not sure if it was only my room or the whole area.

    Good location, friendly receptionists, clean room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    Tropical delight, needs a little TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are old and a little worn. Creaky taps, torn bug screens and fridges that won't close.

    Great location, spacious grounds and pool area, friendly staff and on-site parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic and very family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was brilliant to sleep on. The room was great. The water slide and pool was great for the kids, the location was very central and easy to go anywhere from. In all, we really enjoyed the stay. Thanks

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Close to town, clean rooms, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dark with inadequate lighting throughout. Television picture was of very low quality with very expensive and also minimal movies available on request. Could not adjust temperature in rooms, was either hot or freezing cold. No fans in bathroom which made it very stuffy during showering/toilet usage. I was unable to have a bath in the tub as there was no plug. No utensils or appliances for eating/cooking - all we had were 2 drinking glasses and 2 small coffee cups.

    Close to town, clean rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay for the money we paid. Room needed a revamp though. Pool area was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked a little tired. No microwave, no plates or cutlery. Why have a big kitchen sink and bench with no facilities. Also no dishcloth or tea towel. Mirror needed replacing in bathroom, it was all peeling around the edges.

    Good air conditioning, bed comfy, fridge was cold.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff were a little rude. Went to order she kept saying “mmm hmm” in a tone that didn’t feel friendly. Wasn’t happy with one of the things off the menu that we ordered and she asked how everything tasted and didn’t wait for me to answer just kept on walking.

    Great location. Pool was great. The kids had fun. Pretty happy with our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.0
    It was frustrating and I won’t be returning or recommending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Tv was extremely poor quality, no compensation back. Bath floor was breaking (soft parts). Shampoo/soap bottles were empty or half full. The lady at the front desk was rude and definitely didn’t make me feel welcome.

    The pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.4
    A bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was old and musty smelling. The 'balcony' that was advertised was a grubby ground floor area with 2 very old and cheap plastic chairs.

    Food and pool were nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were crap and the coffee in the room revolting! I also had the misfortune of sitting on a patio chair that was already broken, causing me to end up on the floor with a bruised hip! Manager made aware with little care factor. Had to make follow up calls to get it replaced so the next person did not have the same misfortune!

    The pool was great, but did not get a room with a view. Bar and restaurant on site. 4 min walk to beach and restaurants. Clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    4.6
    Average.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the room, there was no lock on the sliding door. The beds were broken, one of the beds even had a spring coming out of the mattress, also there was an ant problem, ants in the bathroom, on the floor, on the bedside table, on the kitchen sink. I was disappointed as it did look beautiful on the website.

    It’s a beautiful location, lovely pool. There were some friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    The location was good, the room was huge and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning had to be turned off a fair bit as it was too cold. Also the room was a bit tired. A fan in the bathroom would have been an asset as it kept fogging up when we showered.

    The location was good, the room was huge and the staff were friendly. The pool area was nice too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Stunning, affordable and a hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a good variety at breakfast the hot dishes were definitely not hot. The bacon, eggs, sausages and hashbrowns were cold to touch under heat lamp. Also dissapointed it was an extra $5 to get a decent cup of coffee, which, after tasting the horrible free coffee on offer, it was an obvious choice. Clever

    The hotel was picturesque, absolutely beautiful. Ideally located. We felt as if we were inside a rain forest. The staff made you feel welcomed and appreciated especially the lady at the bar. The pool was beautiful and kids enjoyed the slide. We will definitely stay again and reccomend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was great, the pool area is wonderful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit rundown. The photos do not accurately reflect what you eventually get.

    The breakfast was great, the pool area is wonderful, the staff is responsive. There is good parking just next to your room. The hotel is located about 30 min from Cairns, to the North, a terrific heads start if you are planning to keep on traveling up to the top.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom overall clean but tiles in bathroom on walls and floor could do with a good clean. never topped up the tea bags had to chase up each time. Couch uncomfortable and laying on banana lounges also uncomfortable.

    lovely surroundings, grounds etc. Staff quite nice and food good breakfast very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    With the exception of breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were not promoted You could order a meal but it was served more like a takeaway..

    Good breakfast selection. Food options were fresh and well displayed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    The bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room was Slightly mouldy with quite a musky aroma. The staff were apathetic, apart from the bar staff who were lovely. The breakfast was over priced for the quality.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The location was fantastic and had a lovely quaint rainforest walk down to the beach. The resort had a lovely pool for families.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Good value but I was hoping for more resort style facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minimal staff on during the day. Bar staff were very friendly but not always there as covering other areas. 15 min walk down to the beach & shops/cafes.

    Good value but I was hoping for more resort style facilities. Bar staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    For the price per night it was an ok stay but overall they need to give the hotel a refresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of some tlc. The towels are old and frayed at the ends and they don’t provide any cutlery in your room so you have to go to the bar yourself to get it. They also didn’t take away the dirty dishes the next morning when they serviced the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Palm Cove get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights

    While the bed was comfortable, it was on wheels on a tiled floor, every time you got on or off it moved. Staff did attempt to fix the problem with moderate success. Kitchenette, had no microwave, no cutlery or crockery. Bathroom was full of bull ants every night from 8 pm on, this was mentioned to staff but not fixed, found crack under vanity bowl and plugged with toilet paper, no more ants. Had breakfast in the dinning room only 1 morning, unfortunately because of the fans the eggs, hash browns, and bacon were all cold.

    Stayed 9 nights. Room was large and clean, very comfortable bed, comfortable room furniture and very quiet. Air conditioner was very cool, nice relaxing bath and very nice balcony. Swimming pool was very nice (both) unfortunately the recliners disappeared, after mentioning it to staff, they returned the next day. Staff were very friendly and polite. Excellent grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Delightful night away
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit dated. Beds old. No support Woke with back ache next day

    Fantastic location. Beautiful facilities. Tasty food and excellent buffet breakfast Staff were so friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location,Nice pool area,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was musty was ok after a couple of days of airing. Mould on lamp shades and in bathroom.needs exhaust fan. Bath with shower dangerous. My daughter slipped in the shower and injured herself on the bath tap below the shower head. Room service is not room service when you have to go and pick it from bar area.

    Good location,Nice pool area, Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location , friendly staff, great for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff would make the kids eat free for breaky then the next day we were charged full price....needs more consistency.

    Fantastic location , friendly staff, great for families

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small fridge and only cup, saucer and spoon x 2 in kitchen area, not even a dish cloth. Long way from car to our room.

    Spacious room - comfortable and clean, made up daily, plenty of toiletries, nice pool, great shower, beds quite comfortable. Restaurant was reasonably priced. 2 for 1 breakfast and drinks. Not too far away from the main street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Value for money and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, great location, great pools. Rooms little dated but didn’t bother us as room serviced it’s purpose plus your not in your room all the time. All the staff were really nice too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Very clean big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast could’ve been better but wasn’t bad

    Very clean big rooms. We had the 2 bedroom suite and there was plenty of room. Nice location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Lovely stay will stay again. Short walk to beach and main street to restaraunts etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms comfy but need a little updating Really can't complain about anything.

    The service from the staff. Breakfast was great. Gardens and pool areas lovely. Went for wedding food was great and they had done the reception area up really lovely. Very nice reception area and great bar

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent services and beautiful place.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope

    Awesome day to stay in the hotel grand chancellor palm cove very comptable, has nice view and clean surrounding is very nice accommodation with delicious breakfast. It's highly recommended to everyone. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    The bed was quite comfortable and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very old the tiles were cracked the toilet seat had a stain on it that wasn't nice to see aswell the tv had a loud sound every time you change channels so I would say it needs an upgrade.

    The bed was quite comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast there were inadequate staff of 2 people. Food was allowed to become cool and not fresh. Also had to pay extra for express coffee in a paper cup. Room was a bit tired - needs a freshen up with paint etc. There was (almost) a little kitchenette but no crockery or cutlery for self catering.

    It was very convenient and close to beaches. Pool are was very inviting. Lovely gardens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    The location, staff and facilities were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very limitedcrockery and cutlery in the room, not even a knife and fork. No microwave so made it a bit difficult to heat baby food. Also, a lot of stairs made it tricky with our luggage and pram.

    The location, staff and facilities were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub and shower area a bit run down. Moulds growing on the side. Place is clean but hotel rooms a bit outdated.

    Great location, walking distance to beach and palm cove restaurants. Good value for price, room was spacious, had two double beds, amenities in bathroom and small balcony. Good aircon at night. Complimentary parking. Hair dryer in bathroom. Kitchenette in the room. Pools looks good and clean but didn’t have the time to use it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Good value and close to Main Street in Palm Cove.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some foreign visitors were smoking in neighbouring room with total disregard to hotel rules,on our last night.

    The property is in a great location. A three minute walk and you are on the beach and Main Street with all shops, cafes and restaurants. The property has 2 great pools (one with a crocodile slide) which the kids loved. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay for a relaxed holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was very comfortable but a little dark.

    We loved the style of the hotel and found it was a very easy walk to the beach. The beach at Palm Cove is windy in the afternoons so we came back to the hotel and used the pool, which was very sheltered, clean and warm. The staff were very friendly and approachable. Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Location and the one staff member we dealt with was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was old and really needed a makeover bath/shower in one was very small bed was uncomfortable

    Location and the one staff member we dealt with was awesome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Suited short stay, prob wouldn’t stay for a long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken door handle in bathroom, rusted furnishings in bathroom, tv unit and other unit just looked old.

    Cheap Accommodation but a little outdated. Kids loved the pool and slide, and it was clean but just felt furnishings need to be updated and bathrooms refurbished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos in the pictures on the internet look like they’re from when it first opened, when I walked into my room I was very disappointed, obviously I know nothing is perfect but I was expecting something a little more luxurious from the photos. Also the mattress I slept on was horrible, it had massive sagging areas which meant I slept horribly. My TV was not working properly, it’s was extremely fuzzy so I didn’t bother watching anything anyway.

    The location was great and staff were lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall our stay was enjoyable and we would love to return, hope maintence of the room can be done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst we loved our holiday and our stay I think a few things could be improved upon. The rooms looked really run down, with furniture al worn and wood rotting around doorways. Mirrors in the bathroom were also rusting and the tvs were of poor quality, in a large room couldn’t enjoy family time watching a movie, only one couch per tv. The curtains in our room were broken and didn’t slide across for privacy. Bathroom toilets not cleaned each day, no way to clean them yourself.

    The staff at the hotel were amazing, after a mistake made by the hotel were we were double charged they fixed this and gave us complimentary breakfast for our stay. Rooms were large and close to everything we needed at palm cove. Reception desk was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Great Palm Cove value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a wee bit dated and are due for a makeover. Although we had a kitchenette in our room there were no utensils or plates etc. but the room was as described.

    An excellent value for money stay in Palm Cove. Excellent swimming pool and friendly staff. Buffet Breakfasts were good. Short walk to beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Won't stay again and would not recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mould on curtains in rooms and on pillows on bed......disgusting!!!. No face washers. Poor Tv reception. Mirrors need replacing. Ant problem in rooms. Most definitely not up to the standard marketed at. Other than the breakfast room the entire hotel needs a desperate make over. Breakfast was their saving grace.

    Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was value for money. Staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    2.5
    They ask you for a 100 $ deposit at the beginning but after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ask you for a 100 $ deposit at the beginning but after we left they did not return us back the deposit. We called and they confirmed us that the money was going to be returned but it didn’t. We have been sending them emails and they have even answer us. We do not recommend if you want to be stolen. We wanted to write well about the hotel but seeing what happened we are very angry, hope they will contact us and return the money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Pool and bar facilities were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Child’s outdoor area was very disappointing. Reception staff upon arrival were not very friendly. We called for towels that never arrived and the couch was a bit uncomfortable. Minor things in the over scheme of things as we will be back.

    Pool and bar facilities were great. Plenty of areas to relax and enjoy the break and sunshine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Very beautiful and affordable resort.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were always friendly and willing to help. Hotel was beautiful and affordable and everything was within walking distance unless you wanted to go to a larger supermarket in which you could catch a bus

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Would certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment

    The man at reception was very helpful, and as we are older people he helped bring our bags in from the car and took them to the room. The girl at the cafe where we had dinner was happy and cheerful and that is always a good sign about the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Nothing Grand about these rooms, was so disappointed with cleanliness. Luckily food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in took almost half an hour then when we got across road to our room with luggage and our baby the room key didn’t work and no portacot in the room as we had ordered. It was after 2pm and still no towels from house keeping. Room was dirty and mouldy smelling. Ants and little insects were in our room and when getting a staff member to spray he said this is a common occurrence. Bugs by back pool. Front reception never has anyone there hardly, had to ring the bell a few times each time. Portacot has big holes ripped in side, couldn’t possibly be safe. Overall resort lacks cleanliness and rooms were extremely overpriced for what you get. Won’t be back.

    Breakfast was excellent and a takeaway pizza we had. Pools were good too but that’s where it stopped.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Location and spacious comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The section we stayed in was only partly refurbished and public walkways, stairs etc were tired and appeared unclean.

    Location and spacious comfortable room. Excellent value for money. Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    Great staff and gardens but thats where it ends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was meant to be a king bed but was two king singles, not uncommon but they are normally zipped so they don’t separate..... our mattresses separated. One was really comfortable the other you could feel every spring. The blankets in the cupboard were stained and one had holes in it. The coating on the mirror is coming off, there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom (probably the cause of the mirror issue?), cracked tiles and mouldy silicone. We had a rollaway bed for our 2 year old daughter, we didn’t use it, the mattress was so thin you could feel the metal bar in the middle

    a new washer/dryer in the room, gardens are immaculate, staff are amazing, friendly and helpful. Walking distance to shops and beach! Pools were nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Beds in desperate need of upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were revolting. The linen see through so you could see how old and stained the sunken mattresses were through the sheet. Desperately in need of upgrade- was told the 500 rooms were being upgraded in October. The hotel was cheap so understand you get what you pay for but these beds didn’t belong in a backpackers. Couldn’t have spent another night there as didn’t sleep well at all knowing how filthy they were.

    Pool was fantastic ; staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. We enjoyed the board walk leading from accommodation to the beach and palm cove restaurants. Beds were comfy, staff were professional and friendly, plenty of car parks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Great position gave us good walks each day, excellent staff culture, tired facilities, price matched
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Noisy aircon, tv that I could not plug in an apple tv to watch the F1 on. And no Foxtel. And poor quality tv reception. Bed hard as a rock. But it was a cheap rate, and for the rate, it did represent value for money. You get what you pay for. Schnitty night was a highlight.

    Staff were brilliant, nothing was ever too much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good for what we needed.

    The room was a good size and had everything required for an overnight stay. Not too far to the carpark. Was surprised with a room service when only staying 2 nights. Nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall the stay was good, staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to use both double beds, one was extremely uncomfortable, resulting in a terrible sleep for two occupants. To turn on the shower you needed to be a contortionist!!!

    It had everything that we needed for our short stay in Cairns and close the function we were attending. Our room was right next the pool so a nice view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    A great enjoyable stay had by all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds...They werent bad, but just felt both beds and linen were cheap and could have been nicer?

    The pools are awesome, our children spent hours in there, while we relaxed by the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    We were out most of the days so didn't spend much time at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are half refurbished. It's a mix match of old and new. Could hear loud muffled conversations from people in the rooms on either side of us. Beds way too soft but if that's something you like, then you will love it.

    The pools were nice. The breakfast vouchers for the restaurant 2 for 1 were a bonus which wasn't expected. Staff at reception very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was a bit too firm. Room needs some work, celling peeling and has moisture stains.

    Pool was great, parking easy to access. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and accessible holidayat Grand Chanecellor Resort is also value for money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was a little run down, but it was not a big deal.

    While a little tired and in need of a make over, the hotel/resort was comfortable, clean and the the staff friendly and helpful. Access to the beach was easy and while it a resort we were not disturbed by noise. Would recommend Grand Chancellor for any one staying at Palm Cove looking for comfortable mid range accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice rooms, reasonable price, kangaroos coming to the garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from beach. Broken refrigerator in room (our ice cream melt)

    Nice rooms, reasonable price, kangaroos coming to the garden from the golf field.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good buffet breakfast, and add spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No door mat at either door, had been raining when we got there, floors were slippery as there was nothing to wipe it feet on.

    Very good buffet breakfast, and add spacious rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Over 60s
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning left a little to be desired - sometimes no washer, towel not replaced etc etc - just minor stuff. And we struggled with big suitcases up stairs which we were unaware of.

    Great breakfasts, excellent service there, very good reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    It’ll do but if we hadn’t of had bargain deal we certainly would have been angry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are ripe for total renovation. We were in a dull room down the back overlooking garden but also a drainage swamp. Balcony areas are not cleaned routinely I would guess. Wifi was crap everywhere but they told us it was being addressed currently. No option to prepare light snacks/meals in your room although the sink area could indeed lend itself to this.

    Breakfast and dinner catering was great- no need to leave for restaurants. Pool area looks great for kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Accomodation was cheap , Location was ok , Little things made the stay average at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The fridge did not work . It took two days to get it fixed , by then we had to throw our food away . Bed was vey uncomfortable. Breakfast for $25 WAS NOT GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was great. We really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The steps

    We liked the location which was not on the main drag but close enough to the beach and restaurants. We enjoyed the pizza we had in house. Breakfast was good. We were on level one would have preferred lower level due to steps.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Great for kids, safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In very poor condition, beds are very old and need an upgrade, very unpleasant if you downstairs due to lack of insulation can hear everything , none of the games machines worked in the games room, pool table was missing balls ect. Booked a room for family and had to ask for knives, forks and spoons

    Great for kids, safe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The darkness of the room. Not enough lights. I like to read but could not sit on lounge to read as there was no light in that corner. Bed would take off across the floor if you sat where the light was (above one side of the bed. 😕The air conditioning not having controls. Was freezing. Towel racks way too high.

    The location was great. Nice and peaceful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    we enjoyed our stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 11 nights

    we had a room that was facing the track to the beach , which could have been a bit more shielded visually e.g with plantation bathroom was a tiny bit run down, but otherwise all right

    Great hotel for trip with kids, well situated, great pools, good value very good service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Okay... not amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lock on the screen door was broken so we had to have the glass door closed to lock the room up at night. No temperature control on the air conditioner - it was freezing! (And we couldn’t have the glass door open as the screen door latch was broken...)

    Location - easy access to Palm Cove Esplanade restaurants and beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Room seemed clean but dirty bathroom ledges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took half an hour to check in and the staff member could not care less. hotel took $100 security deposit and 5 days later still no refund

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    Staff were lovely always smiling happy to help
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was filthy soap scum all over bathroom bench shower was mouldy an the bathroom door didn’t close was swollen from previous damage

    Staff were lovely always smiling happy to help

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice, quiet and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room only at reception. Pool was too cold for me.

    My 5 year old absolutely loved the pool with the slide. Nice easy walk to the main strip, without being in the middle of it all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    I loved my large room with balcony & bath tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sun chairs by the pool.

    I loved my large room with balcony & bath tub. Amber, the bar tender was lovely & answered all my questions & looked after me while I was there. The facilities were excellent. I definitely think this hotel was value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Cheap and cheerful in Palm Cove
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s age is showing and could do with some upgrades. On saying that, this is compensated through price.

    The price! Super cheap for Palm Cove. Great pool area too. Rooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Skip this roach-motel and stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were absolutely appalling - both for cleanliness, quality of linens/bedding, as well as the overall furniture and fittings. (Not at all what one expects when booking in a prestigious “luxury spa” location like PalmCove is Renowned for). The bed in our room was actually broken - split all the way through so that if you sat on one end, the entire other end lifted off the ground! Never mind the disgusting grubby mattresses which looked more than 10yrs old, or the old pillows they stuff into multiple quilt-protectors for illusion of some volume!! This place is a pure cringe - makes one wonder why they even operate if such a level of neglect/disinterest? We travel extensively and have NEVER seen such a shameless state of disrepair being allowed by any other establishment. A real disgrace for the poor staff who have to try their best to compensate!

    Good location, easy walk to beautiful beach, and to get to main attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Very ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were past their useby date and need replacing. Room service was below par to the point that our towels were refolded while still damp and no milk was replaced without asking and wifi was nonexistent even in reception area.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, staff & swimming area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located opposite a children’s day care. Woke up with screaming children. No WiFi in the rooms. Very dusty under & on top of furniture.

    Good location, staff & swimming area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Not a luxury 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very run down. Blocked sink, front door that was falling apart, smelt like mould, air con full of dust. Transfered to another room after that. The other room smelt worse, had to buy a smelly thing to make room smell better. Hairdryer fell apart in my hand, could have electrocuted me. Sliding door could hardly be opened to go outside. TV didn't work, pillows were lumpy, air conditioner full of dust and smelt really bad. Didn't have enough towels or facewashers supplied. Front door wouldn't lock all the time.

    The pool was nice, but not heated. The location was great. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Bed wasn't the most comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't the most comfortable bed Would like the opportunity to decide whether to sleep with an aircon or a fan. was not able to turn the aircon off or down. (didn't know how to if I could)

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: