Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ross Motel 4 stars

2 High Street, 7209 Ross, Australia

#3 of 7 hotels in Ross

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 246 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great.

    The location is a good stop over between Hobart and Launceston. Ross is a lovely quaint old world tourist stop. Good at pub and bakery delicious, friendly people. Staff at Ross motel lovely and gave me a late checkout which was very much appreciated. Also they supply fresh rainwater and a buffet breakfast!😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very roomy, but adequate for our stay.

    Nice position by the river, and a short walk to the main street, and the Ross Bridge. Microwave in kitchen area was handy for reheating some meals we bought in town. Clean, tidy and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is pretty outdated and the staff were impersonal. It lacked a bit of friendly service. For the price, it left a lot to be desired.

    It was well located and pretty clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable, parking great night sleep

    Comfortable bed, beautiful location even though it rained, nice walk, friendly pub with good menu, nice cafe and bakery well worth a visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No living area for family suite. The continental breakfast (few slices of bread, cereal...) is refrigerated. No dining restaurant nearby.

    The overall cleanliness is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one thing I found a little peculiar. The light in the ceiling fan had to be turned on before the fan would work. I struggle with the wiring logic involved here. Fortunately I didn’t need the fan on when I went to bed.

    I was amazed at the level of comfort of the unit overall. Presentation was was perfect. I did not expect to find cooking facilities in a motel room but was surprised to find not only a toaster but also a microwave to heat things up. And if that’s not enough, even a thoughtful item like a tea towel to wipe your teaspoon dry. A substantial continental breakfast was waiting for me in the fridge. I wish now that I had planned a longer stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area to make breakfast crowded. Chairs to sit at table too low to eat. TV instructions hard work. Check in and out least friendly of all places in Tassie

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just about everything was perfect there was just 1 one thing the fan was very noisy when turned on otherwise perfect

    Very clean, nice and quiet very good location walking distance to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was the most uncomfortable piece of crap I have ever slept on. The breakfast was described as 'continental'. It was two pieces of bread with jam and some cereal in a box! The shower head was so low it didn't actually wet my head. By the way I'm not tall. Finally the guy 'welcoming' us to Ross Motel would be more suited to working in an industry without any form of hospitality at all.

    Leaving

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated interior (though very clean). We expected better breakfast food. Free wifi didn’t last long enough.

    Excellent management, went far beyond normal level of assistance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to get wine glasses all dirty, sink was sticky, also we were asked to take of shoes at door so as not to stain carpet the carpet was so stained already it mad me feel uncomfortable about not having shoes on. On one fly screen on property? Not a very nice experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect for an overnight stay

    Great staff, comfy room and only a short walk to this historic town. A real surprise in finding this little gem during a stop after a day sail from the mainland. I'll definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a pleasure to stay at!! All credit to the owners and staff. Not knowing what to expect from such a small town, we were overjoyed with the quaint, exceptionally well appointed (brand new carpet) and fresh and clean little house we had. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Ross Motel to anyone wishing to stay. Great location right by the river and the bridge and for any city slickers,go out and look at the stars, the Milky Way was awesome. Cheryl & Darren

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom had not been properly cleaned. Office closed at 6:00pm and very difficult to get a response from the "after hours" phone number. I had to ring it non-stop six times to get an answer at 9:15pm for help with a significant problem with our room.

    Well appointed room, with enough space and good use of space. Comfortable bed. Continental breakfast in the fridge a bonus. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Good location near the river, but there are many other places closer to the main street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the dearest accommodation we stayed in on our trip, however it was peak season, included breakfast and the standard they achieve is really second to none.

    This property was immaculate inside and out. Such a beautiful setting, with perfectly maintained gardens right at your door and the tranquil river out front. A really lovely spot. This was my father's favourite property on our whole trip. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly and have such a high standard they should be very proud. Harry the dog also deserves a mention as he was absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not as well lit and airy as the previous property at which we had stayed but was comfortable and definitely up to comfortable motel standard.

    Most friendly obliging owners in Peter & Helen. No problem to provide ice for drinks as needed. The excellent guest laundry on site was so welcome after much travelling. Outside table & chairs on a patio area a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern room with good facilities and comfortable bed. Parking at door. Good breakfast included. A nice location in a very historic town, easy walk to the pub for dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we could not stay longer

    separate areas.e.g. lobby,coffee,tea fridge. lovely decor and peaceful surroundings.Continental breakfast was a lovely surprise included in price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, comfy bed and close to everything. The resident pooch was loads of fun. Would highly recommend Ross Motel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only fault was the bed was a but sagged and felt like I was rolling off and the two bedroom units probably would be nicer as a one bedroom with a lounge in other as there was no where to sit relax except on your bed

    Very clean, probably the cleanest we have ever stayed in, and handy to everything and nice to sit by river and relax...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when i booked several weeks before it was showing as only 2 rooms left. Turned out it looked like only 3 of the rooms were occupied that night and about 10 plus empty

    Over priced

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stopped here to allow us time to enjoy Ross and its surrounds. We were made very welcome with dinner booked for us at the hotel and advice on the local sights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised breakfast with the offer on booking.com.Continental or hot breakfast should be stated. The breakfast was given in a small plastic basket on arrival & consisted of 3 small cereal packets 2 poppa size juices & 2 pieces of toast with small containers of butter jam & Vegemite. One of the dearer accomodation we stayed in & unfortunately breakfast was disappointing.

    Room well presented .Appears new.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    UHT skim milk should be available as full fat does not agree with me but that's personal choice. BEdspreads too heavy and cumbersome

    Very clean easy parking out the front. The reception lady very helpful. Breakfast adequate

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. Stay was fantastic

    Friendly staff, comfortable beds and room, close to pub which serves the most amazing lamb shanks. Great walk around the town to the wool museum with clothes at great prices.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I loved the elegance of the furnishings and the small TV and the quietness at night yet only a short walk to Church Street. I have recommended it to my travel agent And would certainly stay again if we come to Tasmania.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners where ever so helpful. Gardens beautiful, nice and quiet, rooms clean and so comfortable. Very short walk to town centre and Ross is a great historic town to stay in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfy, in a quiet location near the banks of the river. Situated just a short walk from town and the local tourist attractions. Facilities were great, as were the staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout of separate "cottages" was friendly; visually very welcoming with very tidy landscaping; exceptional cleanliness; very comfortable bed. An excellent location from which to explore an historic area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi access could have been explained more clearly. Could not connect to Pay TV. Only discovered the water from tap was drinkable as we were leaving. The wording in their info indicated we could get more water from the office, giving us the impression the tap water was undrinkable. Office only opened from 9am-6pm so we were unable to clarify questions.

    The housekeeping staff were friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing the whole experience was lovely

    We actually stayed 3 nights and were so glad we did. Staff were amazing nothing was ever a bother and they went over and above even calling me on our way to check in to let me know what time restaurants were closing in town as we were late checking in. Units were so well presented and we had two teenage kids so to have them in their own room with their own TV and us to have such space, breakfast supplied in our fridge when we arrived - even the kettle had been filled up. Kitchenette had a microwave and toaster which was perfect and a really good sized fridge biggest we had in any of the places we stayed in. Lovely little table and chairs out front and the whole place was so clean and peaceful. Washing machine available and free use of clothes dryer! Arriving there after a full day of bushwalking was an absolute delight for the entire family!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only very tiny continental breakfast left in fridge, so note of accomodation with breakfast wasn't entirely accurate. Fortunately plenty of places to go & buy breakfast.

    Quiet location within walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were due to arrive after 6pm and the owner kindly called us to see if we wanted dinner and made some recommendations for vegetarian food in the area, which was very thoughtful. The room was immaculate and had all we needed. Ross is a lovely little town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kichnette a bit small but was not a problem for us as we stayed only one night.

    Comfortable bed, both the bedrooms a good size, clean linen, fluffy white towels, breakfast provided. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it is over priced because the continental breakfast was poor (meagre and of low quality)

    The motel units live up to the website in appearance and are comfy. Nice location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep in mind hat Ross is a little town and meals may not be available. We had to travel to the next town for tea as the hotel was booked out for meals the night we stayed. Not the Motel's fault just a little inconvenience.

    Loved the setting and the little gardens in front of the units. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clever blend of old and new . Comfortable bed and good quality linen . Lazy walk around the corner to a great country pub ! A great find - mid way between Hobart and Launceston

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable neat clean cosy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely quiet location within walking distance to the historical main street of Ross.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay long enough to fully appreciate. We will be back one day soon (hopefully this year) to finish in more detail

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean and tidy, attention to detail was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CLEAN, QUIET AND COMFY. STAFF VERY HELPFUL. MANY THANKS,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable single beds and bedding

    Very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric blanket! Prompt and friendly attention. Quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed a bit small. Lighting was not very good. Kitchenette had no sink.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom heater on timer

    Very clean - terrific location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Clean, Comfortable, all round Good service, great stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the motel

    Was very clean comfortable and well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hair in shower and vanity unit

    quiet, friendly and just the right size for a overnight stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be done better

    Great accomodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Bed, breakfast, ease of access, friendly staff. Just love the whole area, as Tasmanian gem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the small tv.

    i felt like i was walking into a brand new 1 bedroom apartment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Quiet, pleasant motel in a secluded spot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Convenient for Ross and very comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have a cozy bed, well bathroom equipment. Overall is beautiful~

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so friendly we felt like Family!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great clean little motel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a comfortable experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the motel was overpriced and breakfast was very basic. Had to go up the street for more food.

    Nice quiet location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely country motel with everything you need for overnight stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean attractive property with friendly hosts. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Bed comfy & Bathroom looked new

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very pretty and peaceful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    great location. Quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is perfect the room is old. I wouldn’t say it’s a four star. The staff was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute little motel in Ross, walking distance to everything. Our hostess was lovely!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small

    Staff were excellent. Very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean and tidy, comfortable bed and good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: