Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mantra Bell City 4.5 stars

215 Bell Street, Preston, 3072 Melbourne, Australia

#259 of 474 Holiday rentals in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1256 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my 3-day stay, as per a post-booking txt prompt, l provided my dietary need for lactose-free milk in my room. This apparently was too far out of their regular requests so l didn’t get it. The carpet in the 4th floor corridor and my room, needs restretching. There was also great gaps in the flooring under the carpet The key-card doesn’t indicate which direction to put it into the code-locks.it was also extremely sensitive to being near a mobile phone and had to be re-coded twice.

    The decor of the room was very good. Very comfortable and quiet. Easy parking access in basement car park. James on the front desk was quite helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn’t like was my stay was too short.

    Reception staff all friendly, nothing too much trouble, they were kind and always smiling. Room was absolutely amazing with spectacular views, clean facilities and wonderful room, 100% comfort in tasteful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large picture on the wall fell off the wall onto my partner when he got up during the night. The problem was the bracket holding it up was not adequate enough for the size of the painting and the space for moving beside the wall and the bed too narrow. The scuffs on the flooring and walls seemed to indicate this has happened before. It is an accident waiting to happen and next time it could injure someone. Could easily be fixed by stronger brackets or smaller picture . The picture was rehung by maintinence but attention should be paid to ensuring it is securely hung on the wall.

    It was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough toiletries for days stay, when there was no room service. Even coffee or suger. Kept only 4 packets of each for 2 people n kid for days. There was a kitchenette but no cooking vessels.

    Reasonable. Cant comments, as we did not enjoy anything particular. Very below average hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sauna needs update!!! Room wasn't 100% clean and at Queens day there was no cleaning at all!!!

    Staff was friendly and lobby area was clean enough. Gym was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room booked for 4 people only 2 towels provided and only 3 chairs set around a table???

    Bedding was comfortable and bigger fridge was a great addition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two singles pushed together - very uncomfortable to sleep in the middle. Mini bar was expensive and the Pringles were stale! The café doesn’t open on weekends so couldn’t get a decent coffee in the morning.

    The location was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are looking a bit tired, but were clean and a good size.

    Excellent rooms, great staff, an opening window is always a bonus and you regulate the temperature of your own room which is great.! Good value for money and I would return should I be in Melbourne again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice and clean, but severely lacking in the little things i.e no teabags, only 1 drinking glass apart from wine glasses- very much lacked finesse and at $129 per night and being a Mantra I was not impressed!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the basin drawer blocks the door, supply of coffee, milk pods inadequate for guest's length of stay, guest parking is expensive, reception staff are friendly and helpful but others don't say a word or do not smile

    the self contained studio is well designed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Placement of towel racks in bathroom could have been better. Only one elevator servicing North section. There was another set of elevators but it was in the back and somewhat hidden.

    Clean rooms with comfy bed. All amenities that one would require were present and accounted for. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only two lifts for West Wing and one was out of order whole time. We were told it had been out for several weeks. Group of international guests arriving at 3.00am were very noisy. Passageway carpet badly worn. Room carpet had 'waves' in it. Strange glass door to bathroom. Layout of hotel difficult to understand with several wings and entrances. Our pick up driver couldn't find main entrance.

    Very large room with basic kitchenette. Good value for money, esp if opting for no daily room service. Location near public transport to city. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position TV:- was not visible on one side of the bed due to column in middle if the room

    The room very comfy and practical,good amenities The staff very helpful and friendly Layout of room provided plenty of space for relaxation and moving around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terrible. Awkward shape.The shower curtain was dirty, 20cm off the floor and as the shower was recessed only a few cms, most of the floor got wet. No extra blankets provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets had stains on them. The kitchen fan was disgusting and dripping grease. We also found a soy sauce packet from the people who stayed before us.

    The location and the staff were so friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 of 2 lifts out of service very frustrating especially with volume of tourists at this hotel. Lack of parking for drop off and pick up.

    Clean functional rooms. Was modern and came with all the usual hotel offerings. Bed comfortable and I had no issue with noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the 2 lifts in eastern block was out of service and there was 2 others not operating between 8 pm and after 8 am . So waiting for a lift was seriously extended !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked in after 5 pm and one of our room wasn't ready took an extra 15 minutes to get key The mattress was downhill on the door side of room and should be replaced also there was a step in the room about 600 mm from where you get out of bed nearly tripped during the night going to toilet, room 524

    restaurant CHILL was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to get someone to come and fix the Tv..and it was just that it wasn't turned on. I couldn't have done it myself as too high up. These things should be checked all ok when room has been cleaned after last guest. lamps all working etc. also didn't like that I couldn't get a glass of wine with my room service order . I get why..( want us to buy the bottle in the mini bar!) but all I need was one glass !

    I very much appreciated the lift to the rail station. An unexpected surprise when offered to me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough towels were supplied for the number of guests, staff pleasant but had to wait 45 minutes for the towels to be delivered. Parking ticket didn't work at one stage.

    Easy access to parking. Was convenient location for the purpose of our visit. Staff very courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too far from town. a lot of things doesn't work e.g shower drain doesn't drain properly. lift doesn't work.

    nothing i like about this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saw a silverfish when entering room. View was straight into another building/rooms. Foyer & restaurant etc downstairs looked fancy, then go up to rooms & was quite underwelmed. Especially the carpet.

    Nice hot shower. Big comfy bed. Overall for the price we paid. Reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was sinking and couldn't have a good night sleep. They also need extra charge for cleaning even we booked two night stay. Besides, the parking was full most of the time.

    The location is not too bad for driving distance to city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Premium Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was shut with a small curtain that was freezing every time you touched it. Had the highest floor however only had views of other apartments. Went to make breakfast but no knifes were supplied. People one floor down kept complaining about noise which has never happened before.

    Really beautiful modern look to the hotel. The back wall behind the bed was entirely made of mirrors giving the room and nice and roomy feel to it. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, no privacy with the light on...it may only be shadows but too riske for me! Milk in the fridge was making my coffee go funny.

    The view was amazing, the bed was soo comfortable. Really comfortable accommodation 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt mouldy. Tv and blind broken, repeatedly asked them to fix it however they never did. House keeping forgot to make up our room when we had placed the sign out and the bottle of wine in the mini bar was open already.

    Comfy bed and pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decorationshowing a little wear in places. Very large building somewhat confusing to navigate

    comfortable king sized bed, cooking facilities and basic bathroom. Upgraded to a room with an additional QS bed because the smoke alarm in my room needed a new battery. On site restaurant served excellent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fridge froze my food even on the lowest settings so that I had to throw some salad out, tv remote didn't work and even though I informed reception who said someone would come to change batteries, that didn't happen so it was stuck to one channel for two days. There is something wrong with the bathroom plumbing as the carpet outside the bathroom was wet on arrival and stayed wet during the two day stay.

    Chill was fantastic, easy walking distance to woolworths, and tram into city, aust post on site made purchasing a myki card a sinch, fairly close to the airport,room was spacious and a nice distance from the lifts, so corridors were quiet. bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was close to the lifts which is not ideal on a saturday night with noisy revellers arriving. There was only one cup in the kitchentte and no tea towel. But at least the tv remote worked which it didn't in the room i was in earlier in the week. Preferred the layout of this room to the one I had previously, and at least the carpet wasn't wet from the bathroom like the first room was.

    loved the comfy spacious bed, although it was very close to a wall. The onsite restauarant Chill was fantastic. Quick check in and out. Close to airport and easy walk to woolworths too. The receptionist was very nice and remembered me from my previous stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping is hands down the worst I’ve ever experienced. I did speak to a manager about it last time I stayed, but if anything this stay was worse. First up, the only cleaning that is done is making the bed and even that wasn’t done well. And Nothing is actually cleaned – the bathroom basin isn’t wiped down, the toilet isn’t cleaned (and there is no brush available to do it yourself) and dirty dishes are just left in the room. I stayed four nights and every night without exception I had to ring and request towels that simply hadn’t been replaced, as well as toilet paper and toiletries!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the hall could use a up date, very raggedy.

    the parking is easy, the room was great, shower was huge, and it was quiet. The tram is just around the corner, we had a great hot breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather poorly maintained, badly cracked and chipped tile area in front of sink area, stained carpets and heavily marked walls. There was no kettle in the room and the four 30ml PC milks were pretty average for the room rate. I know I am a booking.com booking but I stay in this property often and it looks like things are slipping. The express larder in the lobby never seems to be open and if you want a decent amount of milk for tea/coffee you cannot get it from anywhere on the property. The location of the property is not conducive to walking to a shop which is not handy.

    Good registration process and friendly staff. JD's is a good outlet for a counter meal and good value for dinner. Breakfast at Chill was very good with a wide variety and well cooked hot buffet choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ageing furniture (bedside tables) could do with a spruce up & the ceiling in the bathroom needs a paint touch-up!

    The bed was excellent. I usually have a lot of trouble sleeping on the first night of a new hotel stay, but I slept like a baby the first night! :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was horrific. Totally worn out, springs poking, bounce when someone moved, sagging. Kitchenette didn't have all the supplies. Called reception and they sent "kitchen pack" which didn't have cutlery. Man was to bring cutlery but never returned. Hairs in bathroom.

    Good location for where I needed to be (north of cbd). Check in staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff not very friendly, no smile at all. The air conditioner terrible, we put it on warm, then the whole room smelled like fish. So we have to close it and open the window. However, thats a very cold day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replace the filthy, raised iron burned carpet. Replace the dirty shower curtain. Clean and regrout the shower. Replace broken tiles. Kept awake by noisy lift near room. Tiny bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comment cards in the room were purely in Chinese. I know we are a multicultural country however that includes English speaking people.

    Very clean and convenient to the cbd. The staff at reception as well as hospitality were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Group
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    numerous dark blue plates supplied for breakfast were poorly cleaned with quite noticeable food remnants stuck to them, I found an acceptably clean white plate to use, the hot breakfast food was not hot enough

    bed comfortable, no comfortable chairs, and did not find a teaspoon, shower good, but the taps take a little experimentation to master, general navigation from building to building and basement car park challenging for the first time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking well the lack of, the whole place seemed dirty like it needed a deep scrub. There was a container on the 4th floor catching water from the ceiling which wasn't very appealing. The walls are very thin so you can hear other guests as they walk around or shower.

    The restraunt the food was lovely. The views are incredible. The staff go out of trheir way to help you in any way q

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better information about the WiFi service.

    The room and beds were really comfortable and the buffet breakfast a great way to start the day. The location was super convenient as we were visiting family in the Thornbury area. Really good access to public transport into Melbourne CBD.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing around the area but there was a large group of tourists making business travelers uncomfortable. And WiFi was not free for even travelers, and charging A$3 if you’d ask for something else other than lukewarm crappy coffee in a jar.

    Very modern service apartment with a full kitchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an ex hospital the layout is such. My room was noisy. Small showers and pokey layout with ineffective use of space due to existing layout. Television swivel is impractical and does not really allow proper viewing in bed.

    Close access to airport. The area is much better than it used to be and there are plenty of places to eat in high street etc. ample parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was DISMAL coming from the lift to the room. The carpet was worn& had holes in it between lifts and the room- it looked like a cheap run-down place- on arrival I was very afraid the hotel was going to be a horrible place to stay. The brown walls& doors & carpet made the WHOLE place seem dirty& cheap. Why not just have brighter lighting in the corridors so it feels more inviting? But inside the room the lighting was bright so it seemed less dismal. Need more power points- had to use the one in kitchen area to charge mobile- would have been much more convenient to have it by the bed. Corridors are like a maze- I was afraid of getting lost trying to get out if there was a fire. Think the kettle should have been out- I didn’t find it so unable to use it. Bathroom- bottom storage drawer is rotten- water must have dropped onto it& made it disintegrate.

    The bed was extremely comfortable & I slept very well. I liked the toiletries provided- I also liked that the tubes were sealed so I was sure nobody else had used them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Premium Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should be included if your staying there!! I couldn’t find the mini bar prices anywhere

    The room was great as were the staff!! Was in the perfect are for what I needed! Loved the toiletries and the fact there were two restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpets in the rooms and hallways were in bad condition. The water pressure in the shower was poor.

    The facilities were good. Location was perfect for us. Staff were very helpful and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some drawers/doors in the room had damage and wouldnt open or close without force. Kitchen facilities (fridge, hob, microwave. Sink but no draining area so overflow onto desk) crammed next to desk, with TV in the middle with visible damage on cupboards where it must have been hit repeatedly. Breakfast buffet was awful selection and overpriced.

    Comfy bed and really friendly staff, free gym and sauna great addition to stay. Good location - easy to get to the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room was not serviced during the day despite the signs in the bathroom saying otherwise. One of the towels had brown marks on it when i arrived.

    The Room was comfortable with plenty of space and amenities. The windows open slightly to allow fresh air into the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. The carpet is ruined, coming off the floor, smells dusty/moldy, the first room was dirty, damaged, had stains all over the curtains and a moldy smell. The room hears everything- doors opening/closing, elevator going up and down, car engines. As a Mantra brand, very poor hotel.

    Muhammad Ali- receptionist. How he went about the complaint that was made about the room very well/professionally. The upgraded room was great, clean good view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from roof during high winds lack of instructions of a) how to get to and from by public transport b) how to use card in lift c) how to use cooker fan and light

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TERRIBLE ROOM UPGRADE. NEVER TAKE UP A ROOM UPGRADE , it’s really a downgrade Their actual rooms were good, but they trend to overbook and throw you into their horrible rooms, and call it an upgrade. Wish I had taken photos to describe how horrible this was, so many the room number 122 (level one, east wing room), might assist. It was allegedly an upgrade to what we booked, and by the sound of “we are upgrading you to a two bedroom suite with a huge private open space” I was certainly excited. we checked in around 8-9pm and we had already notified of our late check in earlier that day. The two beds that we were told were certainly there, however all in a single room which had a weird structure (but in one room), and the ceiling was holes, and marks of some structures removed off it. And private balcony / space, was basically an open space in the middle of the buildings which all offices / other rooms overlooked down to (nothing anyone would every really use). Toilet - very mouldy Ceiling - holes and structures falling off Carpet - horrible Location - near the laundry / cleaners space Either way, the upgrade was certainly useless for us, we didn’t need two beds, neither a private balcony but by the way they made it sound it was amazing! Because the feature walls and mirrors did replicate the ones per photo I thought maybe the photos were taken professionally, and all the rooms were perhaps this crap. Then we went to the reception the next day to change us back the room we originally booked in level 5, and they said they will do that after 3pm, because it’s all booked out. We went through Through the trouble of having to pack everything and leave our bag in the reception before we left and pick up our bag to the new room when we return. The room, which we had originally booked turned out to be per picture and would have got a 9/10 review from us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle and sachets of tea and coffee good - but no decaf or hot chocolate, and no complimentary bikkies! My milk sachets were frozen - and seemed a bit past their use-by date - but they were replaced readily and cheerily by housekeeping. There was no mini-bar. The door to the bathroom seems to be hung or hinged on the wrong side. It was hard to get into the bathroom. (It should open out the opposite way, so you don't have to negotiate furniture in the middle of the night or when half-alseep or in a rush.) Air-conditioner rattles a bit. But it worked well, so that was good.

    Good blinds - white mesh for day-time privacy and lets in day-light, additional blind for evening which then keeps out the dawn-light and street light very effectively. Good amenities. Good safe. Good Chill Bar. Bed very comfy and sheets crisp and clean. Good air-conditioning. Lovely shower, and tap controls are not directly under the water flow, so that was great (& safe). Nice table and couch. Quiet hotel, easy to sleep. Staff friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room comfortable. Bed comfortable Very quiet. Very small bathroom. Fabulous restaurant right beside Good location for my needs and for nearby hospital

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Group
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen door almost came off when opened. Couple of draws didn’t open. Air conditioner was excessively loud. Mould in shower. Could hear elevators going up and down all night. And you offer late night room service but when I rang to order it was not available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was in the BreakFree Bell City next door and not actually the Mantra Bell City so needed a separate key to access the pool. There seemed to be a lot of people enquiring when their taxi was going to arrive.

    It was a nice suburban hotel around 1 hr by tram from the City. It was a well priced hotel. Great if you have a car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    The room was roomy, great facilities and the staff were very friendly. The location is on the North side of Melbourne which is great for those travelling North. Also there is a good run to the Airport from this location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed said it was a double but it was 2 singles pushed together and uneven. Very uncomfortable. Bathroom was disabled facilities and shower had poor pressure. Tv was tiny and not all channels worked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed kept splitting apart, the bathroom was small, there was no oven when it was shown on the website the room came with an oven. We were placed next to the elevator which we could hear all night long and heard people continuously. There seemed to be some type of red stains on the carpet not sure if it was wine or something else.

    The shower was nice. The fact there was a couch. And the decorations of frames and paintings in the room. The staff were friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue would be the swipe for the gym. Unfortunately the door doesn't automatically open. You need to step back once you swipe your card to activate the sensor. Dish washing liquid wasn't topped up in our room so we did have to buy our own at the supermarket and pots and pans only on request.

    The staff are friendly and welcoming. This is the second time we've stayed here and we would recommend this place to anyone. Tiffany at reception was super friendly and professional - she took the time to make sure we knew our way around and confirmed everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was comfy and the room had plenty of space. The bathroom was well stocked each day. The fridge was a great size for a few days stay. There are plenty of places to eat in the near vicinity too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property provided rooms that weren’t true to photos, manager argued when I asked to move due to the bathroom being wide open hospital style and the bed was like a pillow which was extremely unsupportive. There was minimal signage so you knew were you were going from carpark to hotel to pool in a different hotel. When asked for a frying pan and cutlery as the drawers didn’t contain what was needed this took more than a day and the cutlery never arrived.

    Location was perfect and the place was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Premium Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy Air Conditioner - The hotel restaurant is over priced and servings are ridiculously small ! Bathrooms are some of the smallest I've ever experienced around the world. Rooms facing Bell Street can noisy due to traffic.

    Suitable for the staying in the northern outer suburbs - rooms can be spacious with handy facilities for self catering. Reception staff were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the reception, who was checking us in, did not tell us how to find a room and use the card for the lift. As it is a big building it might be difficult for the first time stayers to navigate.

    The bed was extremely comfortable compare to other places i have stayed in. Had such a great sleep with a wonderful view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was installed with only a 230mm space between the edge of the toilet bowl and the wall and because of my height I was unable to access the toilet and the only alternative was to use the toilet from the side. After a google search the recommended distance from the edge of the toilet to the wall is 525mm and I just wonder how it was allowed to be approved [I have a photo to prove the space if required]. After all my years of travelling I have never see anything that gets close to this The room was 647 Regards Geoff

    Everything was great except for the positioning of the toilet which was not installed in a usable position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude, abrupt staff. Way too much noise. There is no point advertising a price then telling us on arrival “there’s just a flat rate of $16 per day to park here”, which was actually $17 and paying was a debacle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My request for split beds was missed so had to wait for that, the room smelled bad, didn't realise that parking was now extra $16 per day where in the past it was included

    Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed on level four. The carpets in the hallway were below par, ripped, stained and worn. Wall scruff marks etc. Looks tired. Worst bed ever. Two singles pushed together. Little sleep as uncomfortable and felt like each of us were sleeping in a ditch.

    Location convenient for where we were and needed to be. Overall, the hotel was fine. Room was pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking was full could not find parking spot Saturday night.for interstate travellers there should be booked car park spaces.other thant that all could.would not stop me from booking again.

    the room was comfortable connecting to wifi was problem breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpolite staff. Gave us the wrong room. The elevator button was broken so coulndt get to our level's room. Used condom on the edge of the swimmingpool ...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at check was obnoxious and rude. Needs an attitude adjustment. Paid for a kind Size bed to find it was two king singles pushed together. Bed separated all night was really disappointing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was lovely, with the exception of one reception team member who looked at me like I was a filthy animal.

    The glass partition for the bathroom was cute. The banana bread at breakfast was heavenly. Food provided for the EQ Events people’s was yummy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 4 nights

    with hospital appointments are various times during those 4 days was able to come and go back to room without worry and will make use of breakfast and other services

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room 435 was not very clean, the bathroom had mold, and the aircon hadn't been cleaned, so we had to move to room 749. Room 435 had me coughing all night, plus I'm allergic to mold.

    In the first room 435, there was mold in the bathroom. The second room 749 was cleaner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was poor. We were not told that you could order eggs, that only happened when i asked the question. No coffee machine offered.

    The check in was really smooth and easy. They provided all necessary information quickly and succinctly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card for the lift/room was not working each morning so was a royal pain to have to get it reset each day before returning back up to the room, apparently you can’t put the card near a wallet or phone (first I’ve ever heard of that)

    Great location and view of the city, great having the cafe downstairs and a Dan Murphys about 700metres up the road, also next to a Subway

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bed Studio Manhattan
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay additional for parking. No housekeeping service to room on 4-night stay. Had to go down to reception each time for new towels. Staff weren’t that helpful or friendly.

    Clean room. Comfy bed. Strong shower pressure. Big room space.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mantra Bell City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: