Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4 stars

Cnr Canberra Ave & National Cct, Forrest, 2603 Canberra, Australia

#64 of 100 hotels in Canberra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1507 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    it was adequate for our purpose- as we were there to visit the sights etc - taxi services were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absence of help with bags - for 2 elderly ladies we found this difficult Could have been more tea bags only allocating 2 per room not everyone drinks coffee and there was an oversupply of this . Girl in restaurant was kind enough to give us a few but the room supply was never increased

    Restaurant meals were plentiful but after a long day travel we would have appreciated something lighter - and smaller

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable beds and a lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tomato juice available for bloody Mary’s Bar didn’t open until 4 Couldn’t get a drink via room service ( alcohol) No real cream for coffee Not enough choice of food for lunch menu (sat 1-30 ish

    Beds in particular however the shower tended to flood the bathroom. Wanted s Bloody Mary- was told “no tomato juice in the entire hotel??? No real cream available for coffee- lack of staff and food choices available at our arrival- 12-45pm and bar not open till 4 pm on a Saturday?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area carpets had not been vacuumed for some time - food dropped, crumbs, lint across the whole area. Breakfast ridiculously expensive for what was on offer. Air conditioning in room too hot even on the lowest setting, but no air circulation when it was off. Very disappointing for a Rydges

    Convenient location for my purpose Reception staff professional and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Showers terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were terrible and this is the main reason for my dissatisfaction. A shower in the morning starts the day but the showers at the Rydes have no water pressure and are either freezing cold or scalding hot. There’s no in between. It’s nkt a nice experience

    Bed and pillows were comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing, fun filled stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower glass too small resulting in the floor getting saturated each time the shower was used. The shower head could not be moved to prevent yhe spray going beyond the glass

    Bed was very comfortable. Two twin beds in the room was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    2 nights and was lovely. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Once in the right side lift it wouldn't move. Not good for me! Took the stairs from there on every time. Extra blanket in our room was torn and scorched? Shower head was too high for the type it is. A more direct powerful smaller head would have been more appropriate with being so high.

    Food was very nice. Bed was amazing. TV easy to use. Needed a quieter room which was obliged without an issue.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    It was ok. I thought the price was very good but was a little let down by the overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vibe. The bar was closed. The food was average. The pool table chalk was missing. It seems to have lost its spark. It took forever to check out. Your Computers were playing up again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The beds at the Rydges are exceptionally comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was overcharged for my stay - something I would not have realised if I hadn't checked my receipt.

    The beds at the Rydges are exceptionally comfortable. The rooms are quiet and well heated in the cold Canberra winters.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar we had a drink at was a little cold. However the temperature outside on that night was -3 deg. So all the glass windows didn't assist with climatizing the room. overall nice bar

    We enjoyed our stay. Check in was relatively easy Rooms were lovely Access was great Car park was great and easily accessible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant. Easy to get to city and Manuka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walk in shower a disaster. Water wen all over the bathroom floor. Floor uncomfortably wet. TV limited to a few channels only. Water temperature in shower fluctuated from hot to very hot to cool all the time. Parking was free according to Booking.com but Hotel wanted to charge $12 per day. Dropped charge for us.

    modern spacious room - good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Most things.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold at night and the air conditioner couldn't be adjusted. There weren't any duvets to use to mitigate that.

    Most things. Sizeable Gym, bed, room size, dining, staff, amenities, location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable room and great restaurant on-site.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park - it's pay parking, so a little more room to get the car in and out would have been appreciated.

    Large room with huge bathroom, and very comfortable beds. Nice bar downstairs, and very attractive leafy courtyard atrium in the middle. The restaurant service and food were both excellent (we had dinner there).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    The buffet breakfast is discussing almost raw bacon, dried...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast is discussing almost raw bacon, dried out cold tomatoes. Worst buffet breakfast I have ever seen. We left and didn’t eat and they charge over 30 bucks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Great location , close to bars restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , close to bars restaurants. Staff were very friendly, buffet breakfast was amazing and the king size bed so comfortable. Would recommend to anyone. 👌

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fob key kept on defaulting , our room was far away from reception, and every time we came back , we had to go back and get a new key. It was annoying. The room had limited lighting and was too dim.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Not all that I had hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Embassy Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of heating in the lounge area of an embassy suite. Poor heating in dining area. Menu did not include prices. Heating was noisy even when turned off. Poor water temperature regulation in shower.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    The rooms are nice and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were speaking to the girl at the Restaurant about getting a drink and we had heard of Relm bar that we wanted to try. She told us to ask at reception. Which we did, but the manager got the wrong end of the stick and made it clear to us that she shouldn't have 'recommended somewhere other than here' (even though their bar was actually closed). We thought the service of the girl at the Restaurant was fantastic and had planned to come back to eat there because of her. The manager shouldn't have got angry about it, nor let the customer know she was angry at another staff member. The water in the shower goes EVERYWHERE all over the toilet and floor.

    The rooms are nice and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    A nice stay at Rydges
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have done with a small microwave oven for reheating food and drinks.

    The room upgrade was very welcome and appreciated. Lots of space and very comfortable. Good for meeting with friends too. Nice to adjourn to the bar later in the afternoon. Would definitely recommend to friends!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was a bit lazy not making bed properly. Only pulled up the existing sheets. Didn't even get creases out of sheets or straighten fitted underblanket. Balcony height of the Embassy Suite & also the Atrium areas was very low & dangerous. An accident waiting to happen. Disappointed that I was not informed of the hot tub/spa not working before arriving there. Tv was very quiet could barely hear it when turned up to full volume. Overall very disappointing. I would not stay here again or recommend this place to anyone. Overpriced & underdone!!

    Comfort of beds, some staff were friendly & helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Room was lovely, pool an spa was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to charge me for dinner that they said was booked to room. I had paid cash an had to go through my bin to find receipt to prove them wrong.

    Bed was EXTREMELY comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold and had to pay extra for coffee when I paid 28$

    Staff were great Rooms large and comfy Our tv wouldn’t work but that was minor Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall great and I’ll stay there again when in Canberra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front counter staff just needed to be a little warmer.

    Everything was lovely, bed very comfy, clean room, front desk staff could have been a little more friendly. Pleasant but not friendly. Hotel interior in very relaxing. Bartender was very nice and even asked how my cocktail was on my leaving the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    When we checked in to our room, got up to it and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in to our room, got up to it and it wasn't the room i had booked (exective king bath suite ) there was no bath . I call reception and they try to tell me it was and there was a bath in the room i was in ( there wasn't a bath ). I told the guy to 'come and have a look like i know what a bath looks like ' then he said all them suites have baths for a couple minutes this went on then he apologised and said he would give us a free upgrade to the Embassy Suite & he would bring the key up . I got excited we were getting a nicer room with a bath but when he got to the room he said that he was just moving us down door to the same room . It was just an inconvenience and then to be told you were getting something better and not be delivered was dissapointing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and safe environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at the front desk the staff were pleasant enough but I felt they were in a hurry to get back to their computer and for instance later in the day had to ask about breakfast arrangements. Initially I found the directions to my room not clear enough. I parked my car in the Hotel and had to locate the lift...signage would have helped.

    Comfortable safe accommodation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.8
    Worst experience I’ve ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Embassy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They stuffed around with our room. They didn’t inform us we had an upgraded room until we said something about it. Didn’t get the room we booked, staff told us this wasn’t their fault but to take the matter up with booking.com, spent 2 hours on the phone speaking to a man explaining what happened. Staff just palmed is off and weren’t helpful which resulted in us being very stressed. Staff had very poor communication skills and we had to ask for cutlery plates and wine glasses as there was nothing in kitchenette on arrival. They thought giving us a bottle of wine would make everything better. There was still filth from the people from the night before like muck on the walls and silly string sprayed on walls. Carpet was disgusting and the man at reception also told us that it would be $20 per day for parking when the website says $12. Very disappointed with how we were treated and left to sort all of this in our own time when we were meant to be “stress free and relaxed”.

    The bed was the only good thing about our stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    2.5
    Hotel hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Embassy Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything no heating no hot water rude staff

    Never again no working hot water and heating broke down and was told they won’t fix it cos maintenance doesn’t work on the weekend very rude staff wouldn’t believe us until I dragged the manger up to the room to show them it got to minus 5 degree while we stayed there and they gave us a little 10$ heater that was 15cm in size to heat the two room a joke never again will stay there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Although the price was very reasonable, we will pay a bit more and go elsewhere on our next trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Totally disorganized breakfast. Bathroom basins are ridiculously small and shower sprays water everywhere.

    Room air con very good, we could make the room lovely and warm on a cold day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet had not been cleaned properly - still had previous guest's urine all over the underside of the toilet seat. However, room and bathroom were otherwise very clean. Bar fridge was not very cold (drinks were barely chilled). Didn't appear to have a setting to change the temperature. Hotel lift needs maintenance - door starts to open prematurely, before the lift actually comes to a complete stop (hazard). There's also a significant bounce / jerking motion as it comes to a stop, which could easily unbalance an elderly person who isn't expecting it (hazard).

    Room was good for the price. Comfortable and clean (except for the toilet) with modern decor. Good location. Helpful staff. Secure parking. 24 hour reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very mediocre and chaotic. The room needs a thorough cleanup and house keeping was very so-so. The windows need cleaning too...full of cobwebs! The room had a vague sewage smell. Very short staffed in the reception and restaurants.

    The dinner at the restaurants was very good on both days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything was pretty perfect, apart from the below (see...
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the only hotel room I’ve ever stayed in with NO drawers or cupboards for guests. TV stand cupboard was full from minibar and goodies; shelf at top of wardrobe too high. Not even a drawer, cupboard or hook in the bathroom, no drawers in bedside tables ... Not good enough! Also, power points near beds too low to accommodate phone charger plug. Had to go out and buy power board.

    Everything was pretty perfect, apart from the below (see next section). Food was wonderful. Cousin’s party on 23rd was beautifully decorated and catered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Great position, very clean and comfortable. Eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel need refurbishing. The shower went from hot to cold over and over again, which was unpleasant. Breakfast was a disaster. No staff, tables full of dirty plates, cold food, cold coffee, long wait for cold plates and cutlery. Thankfully at checkout the cost was reduced. I was extremely surprised at such dreadful service at a Ridges. Very disappointing.

    The room was a great size and was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was new. It was good to be able to park the car undercover.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heated pool wasn’t warm, rooms are small. We were over charged by $50 and when we approached the staff they immediately apologised and rectified the situation.

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delays at checkin and check out. Other available staff on desk appeared to prioritise other tasks over assisting guests. One left was not working the other plummeting upon descent obviously some overdue maitenance issues. Luggage trolleys were difficult to navigate in and out of lifts as the lift foyer in basement very tight and access from doors from carpark bafly designed. Sofa bed was the worst!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested to be near other friends staying there several times and confirmed the week before. We were told by email that we would all be together but upon arrival we all ended up on three different floors. When saying we were all meant to be together the lady who checked us in was rude and said 'oh, bad luck'.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed as this is our one night of family luxury a year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not at all clean! The carpet in our room was wet. There were long hairs all over it and in the bathroom. One decorative pillow had slime on it. The kettle and tissue holder were dirty. A teaspoon in the room had old food on it. There were no towels in the pool area. There were not enough staff on a busy Saturday morning and a family at the table next to us had to clear and clean their own table for breakfast.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and comfortable, several staff not very welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking

    Very clean and comfortable, several staff not very welcoming however lovely young guy upon checking out whom even gave us great suggestions what to do, see etc. Beautiful buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing for a Rydges hotel and for a Rydges supporter
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were dirty and I told the staff this and sent an email with photo to management with no response

    The staff were nice the shower was good and there was a gym it was in a good location to Duntroon and the markets and glass museum .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    For the price think I could do better elsewhere..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath very small Mouldy tiles around bath & shower Floor soiled around toilet Bathroom mirror not clean Hair on sheets Restaurant menu very basic & uninviting No atmosphere throughout the hotel

    Room spacious Bed comfortable Indoor gardens Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Great position to see and do everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing I didn't like are the pillows a bit lumpy but bed was great and that's the only thing I would change.

    Location is great, just a few minutes away from great attractions in Canberra. Staff very helpful with everything you asked for, would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The staff are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dark and the lighting is so poor that it is even difficult to read with the bedside reading lamps at night. The design of the showers is ridiculous. It is impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom floor.

    The staff are lovely. The location is very good. The pool is nice. The parking is excellent. The breakfasts were a good standard hotel buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    I expected much more, but it’s well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful, everything tasted artificial, from the eggs to the orange “juice”. The heater was not working so I had to report it and change room when they couldn’t fix it.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, quiet and affordable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hairdryer in the room. We had a room with two double beds but as we are a family of 3 it would of been great to have a queen size bed for one of them for extra room. The full breakfast was a little bit disappointing as the food was only just warm.

    The beds & pillows where very comfortable and the room was very dark so it was very easy to sleep in. I loved that there was the mini bar. The ease of use for the heating. Undercover parking Being able to park at the entry to check in/out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Tired property,but convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long check in time, as quite busy and 1 of the two staff members was on the phone the whole time- it extended the waiting time to check in. Lightning in Rooms very poor and tv old and difficult to turn on-called reception, who was going to send someone to fix it . They never arrived. Bathroom had been renovatedd, but room , foyer and exterior of Hotel needs a spruce up

    It was close to my destination

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.3
    Will never go back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot room and air conditioning turned off in the hotel. We could not leave the sliding door open because it was a shared balcony. They did send up a fan to help circulate the air. Shower handle was broken. Water over bedroom sink bench, power point, and on carpet. One of the elevators not working correctly and would not go up. Had to wait over an hour for our meal at the restaurant when we ordered just a chicken salad and chicken parmigiana. We ordered just when they opened at 6.00pm and they still forgot the chips. They did apologise after I complained.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.0
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The doors of adjacent rooms closing is very loud and disturbing. The traffic noise was loud and disturbing . The sheets on one bed had bloodstains. The toilet seat and bathroom floor get wet every time the shower is used. Being a frequent guest and having to pay an extra for parking

    Bed was Comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Average Hotel for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is a little old and outdated. The is no lively feel to the place. Room needed a revamp to feel comfortable. breakfast was terrible especially when I had to pay $80 for a family of 4. Limited selection of food, which was all cold. Not like the other 4 start hotel Ive stayed in, however it was okay for an over night stay.

    The location is good. Near Capitol Hill and other attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee was awful, very weak. Pillows not comfortable. There is no safe in the room.

    Descent size room. Liked the location. Glad to have undercover parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    below average room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Embassy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i arrived there was no record of my booking, even though i had the confirmation, staff told me this was the third time this week that had happened, the rooms were almost booked out so they stuck me in a "spare" room they had, it was not nice, ground level, noisy, hair in the bathroom, although I had booked a king room i got 2 double beds, all round below average experience I wouldnt stay there again

    Good location and parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, and great proximity to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rydges Capital Hill was in a great location, close enough to walk (about 20 mins) to Parliament House, and to restaurants in the area. It was clean, had a very comfortable bed and the staff were really helpful. It also had safe parking (at $12.00 per day, worth it) and reliable Wifi. If we travel to Canberra again we will definitely stay at Rydges.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    Whole hotel needs revamping, Staff need a lot more training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very low lighting, No Microwave. Fridge in middle of Room, Tea & Coffee hidden away near bathroom. No fan in Bathroom. Shower head was made for a 7 foot tall giant. Do not stay here.

    Bed Comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely property with lots of room with nice indoor pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We eat at the restaurant twice. First time was great second time was horrible. Turn up with 7 people but despite the restaurant being half empty couldn’t find a table for us. We ended up negotiating 2 seperate tables. There was so much room. So easy to put 2 tables together but it all seemed to hard for the staff. Also a little pricey for the food and ambiance completely lacking

    Lovely property with lots of room with nice indoor pool and family friendly bar area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Location is a bit far from city and any other restaurants. Good location to the parliamant house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking was confused (booked a queen and receieved a twin room). Had to change to a disability room because nothing was available.

    Price and facilities within the hotel are good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall, good facility.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self flushing toilet was disruptive to our sleep.

    The room was good, very clean, however, right through the night the toilet would flush intermittently, very annoying.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff not very helpful we ask if they was a table available for 7 people l was told no the restaurant.it was not very busy with alot of empty tables l asked if they could push two table together which would of taked seconds and would not of disrupted any other customers in the restaurant and there was plenty space to make a larger table this was not an option by the restaurant staff and we're happy to turn us away when I asked if I could have two tables that was ok so our friends have to sit separately total Madness there was plenty of room plenty of tables with very little effort we could of all to sit together

    Clean good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tissue box had one tissue in it and was not replenished despite calling reception. The vent in the bathroom was filthy ( very visible as it was directly behind the toilet on the wall). Booking was made fir 2 adults and 1 child, but bedlinen for the foldout couch was missing and male at reception was standoffish when this was queried.

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Modern bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was unable to hold the temperature. It was cold and then inexplicably hot without making any changes. Was extremely frustrating.

    Modern bathroom. Comfortable mattress. Excellent location for manuka and central canberra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant & would stay there again nice view into a central garden space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner not working only cold air and it is Winter. Wednesday night special $20 Parmi was at the Bar section but there was a function in a room close by and no where to have it.

    Helpful Reception Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay at the Rydges Capital Hill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay at the Rydges Capital Hill! Room was clean and tidy. Plenty of space for the 2 of us. The staff were very friendly. Definitely recommend +++

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    The staff and food were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was meant to have a bath in room but there was no one. We then had to change rooms the bath was tiny and the shower was small and sprayed water everywhere. There were also no details in room for internet

    The staff and food were amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely time with my Mum visiting Canberra and the superb Cartier exhibition. Rydges was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been designed better. First night water overflowed shower room floor onto main floor as shower glass too small and shower floor not deep enough. Second night didn’t put the shower water on so hard and put towels on floor to stop it going onto main floor. Worked better. Also needs more towel hangers outside of shower area so don’t get feet wet putting towel on rack.

    The cinnamon scrolls were really yummy. The brand of tea “Pickwick” was really nice. Scent of real flowers in the reception area beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    The location was good, and the property is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night we ate in the restaurant it was understaffed, and the scarce waitpeople had a habit of disappearing, so hungry guests had to go and track them down every 15-20 minutes! Reception staff were efficient but not especially welcoming. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke, but although we reported it, we weren’t offered a change of room.

    The location is good for access to government buildings in Barton, Parliament House, Manuka dining area and the lake, which are all walkable. Rooms are a good size, and the property is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Not up to standard. No running water when I returned to my room. Car park is very difficult to negot
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was noisy, moved and second room was not well prepared. Asked for late check out and when returning to my room the cleaner was there

    girl at reception was very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, very convenient and well priced usually
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Embassy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outlined above

    I almost always use the Rydges Capital when I visit Canberra. Great location for my purposes. Good value and generally helpful staff. Some of the facilities are a little dated and the lifts are not up to current standards. Breakfast needs some considerable attention, a wider variety of fruit would be good and the area and tables are too bare and cheerless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    The restaurant, the staff's lack of attentiveness, value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant, the staff's lack of attentiveness, value for money non-existent. The manager's lack of interest at my complaint even though I was told I would get a call, still waiting. Room service doesn't answer the phone so you have to go to the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Location was quite good. Lucky we went with friends so we could laugh when things went wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a large hotel with Australian and international guests and the facilities and service should have reflected this. I am not talking 5 star. Bathroom was not supplied with vanity products. Had to ask even though the room had been made up. Could not get a cup of coffee/afternoon tea at either restaurant or bar in the afternoon. They were closed! Breakfast was so expensive and of very poor quality. We ate at a local cafe the 2nd morning where the food was delicious for half the price. The restaurant floor had not been vacuumed before breakfast. There were so few staff that tables were not cleared. Reception staff were pleasant but the whole place was obviously understaffed.

    The rooms were very large and roomy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Stayed many times but breakfast is becoming woeful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This time and the time before breakfast experience ...clear your own table of dirty dishes .Then have to clean the table and set,greasy so called bacon,hard and cold eggs 1 piece of cold dried out tomato. Not everyone comes down for breakfast by 8 in the morning,is it to much to expect to find some. eatable food and a clean table. The price of the so called hot breakfast is to expensive for what you get. The last morning we ate out.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant, good sleep, I'd stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner was very noisy when it shut on and off (I guess it does this for temperature control). I had to turn it off through the night as it kept waking me up! Breakfast was way too expensive!! Really $28 and $35 pp you have to be kidding, I think they (as many places do) put people who book through booking.com or other such platforms in the less than desirable rooms. I was directly over reception looking out on to the street. It was quiet and I was happy however this is the feeling I get from using platforms like this in the past.

    Comfy beds, quiet,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    In a nice suburb near lovely shops, cafes and restuarants
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated hotel. Spa in pool area hardly worked. Room was freezing and very dated. Whole hotel needs a make over.

    In a nice suburb near lovely shops, cafes and restuarants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous spacious room with comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fig restaurant was great food but so slow in serving. Took nearly an hour for our meal and another 40 mins for desert which ended up being sent to the room because we just couldn’t wait any longer

    The bed was sooo comfortable and the room just lovely and spacious. Loved everything about our stay but especially the staff who were so helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Worth it 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s worth the money... I like the facilities especially the indoor pool, Sauna and Spa. Bed is pretty comfortable with lots of pillows. Really close to bus stop, and surrounding suburb like kingston, manuka and city is not far.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean and peaceful, but needs some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No movie channels :(, which is odd for a large hotel chain like Rydges. Several years ago I came to this hotel and the lifts needed fixing; they still do! They jump when they reach a floor, and the doors open before each floor. The Hotel is looking a little tired; time for a QT-style revamp I think.

    Quiet and peaceful location. Close to some big attractions, NGA, Parliament House. Has a lovely indoor atrium to sit under with a cuppa. Free parking with plenty of spaces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets old and need replacing. Huge cobwebs in areas, covered in dust.

    Dated. Needs some major renovations. Room was comfy. Breakfast expensive for choice. Good location as Manuka is within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    The bed was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to unpack and there were no drawers. Also the lighting was not great.

    The bed was great. The rooms were very clean and the cafe/bar was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service was overcharged by $70 staff need to be friendly and smile not look like they going to kill you. There shouldn't be cleaners vacuuming around you while your checking in very un professional

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    The speed of food service was too long during dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The speed of food service was too long during dinner. Bar was closed on Sundays and was not informed by staff to use the welcome drink voucher before that.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: