Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Australian Capital Territory hotel reviews
  4. Canberra hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Reviews of Rydges Capital Hill Canberra This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Cnr Canberra Ave & National Cct, Forrest, 2603 Canberra, Australia

#59 of 103 hotels in Canberra

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1524 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    8.8
    The staff were amazing and the room was comfortable and very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazing and the room was comfortable and very clean. Room service meal quality was excellent and delivered with a smile. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    9.2
    Great value, lovely room, very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The charges appearing on our credit card could have been better explained

    Good size room, very comfortable bed, amazing value for a one night stay and full breakfast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    7.5
    Well-priced accommodation close to Parliament.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning in my room appeared to be broken and this was not ideal during a week of late 30 temperatures. I could not get the temperature below about 25.

    The property is spacious and the bed was comfortable. While it is not situated close to Canberra CBD, it is very close to Parliament and the Manuka precinct which has a supermarket and plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    7.1
    The property is a bit dated now , but if you can get breakfast included , it's value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air con in the room wasn't very effective in cooling on a hot weekend in summer , the shower - while it was refurbished bathroom - still leaked all over the floor as there was no door to close

    The breakfast buffet food was very good , smokey bacon , crunchy crisp hash browns , warm fresh pastries Coffee was ordinary service and seating on a Sunday morning was a bit disorganised, so weekends are not the best time

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.5
    Television was difficult to operate (reluctant to switch on)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television was difficult to operate (reluctant to switch on) and minimal channels. No instructions, duplicated stations interspersed with non functional ones. For a hotel of this class one would expect a full range of cable stations.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.1
    Good location and nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was dreadful and water went everywhere all over the floor and near the toilet. Very poorly designed. The coffee area at the buffet needs to be reconfigured as there is no-where to put your coffee down so you can pour the milk into your cup. There were only 2 cups in the room when we booked for 3 people. I think there should be 4 cups considering there's 2 double beds in the room.

    Good location and pool was nice. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.2
    Overall the stay was very enjoyable with excellent facilities (pool, underground parking).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The soft mattress in the bed & lack of extra pillows in the room. The TV screen was too small & it’s remote difficult to use.

    Good choice of breakfast foods in the buffet. Staff were very helpful as well. The room rate was very good value for money as it included breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.5
    Nice hotel, enjoyed our short stay just expected more for rydges and $170 a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t live up the rydges expectation we thought it had. Room wasnt very special even though it was listed as a honeymoon suit. Felt like a standard room just with a extra bathroom. Which even the spa bath was small compared to the size of the room. Again the room was listed as a spa bath in an outdoor setting however i dont feel 2 plants and a skylight count as outdoor... but self opinion. A little more cleaning and fresher feel and we are definitely onto something.

    Nice room Nice facilities Good location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent hotel. Nice location . Easily accessible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The television was not working but I did not bother to contact front desk as I was there only for the night

    Added buffet breakfast was really nice and excellent value for money

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.5
    Great stay, clean room, happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The indoor pool was very cold so it was lucky it was a 40c day, we all cooled off. I felt the restaurant could've been cleaner, it seemed grotty, and all the glass was dirty, and sticky floors at juice bar. If they did the cleaning like the rooms, it would be great.

    The rooms were clean and our room was nice and cool as it was very hot when we spent the week there. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    2.9
    Crap never again at RYDGES CAPITAL HILL CANBERRA.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cold water for 2 days in our rooms only to be told use thr Gym shower. Nearly tripping down a set of stairs from an extension lead lying across the top of the walkway, Then potentially getting electrocuted from the lead as it had exposed wires from it and partly melted plug. Timber structure falling apart in hotel dining area and left for everyone to see.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.8
    Amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The channel selection on the tv. Had to go to the bar to watch sport as no fox sports in the room and very limited channels on the tv.

    Amazing staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    6.3
    The location was great but the rest has problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unfortunate to have no hot water for 12 hours until the next day. No compensation for the inconvenience. We ate in the restaurant the first night - restaurant was so cold we couldn't leave quick enough. Food selection was poor. Did not eat there again. Air conditioning could not be altered - it was either on or off and no window could be opened. It certainly has it's problems.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Amazing food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A/C was poor - but everything else being good meant that it didn’t effect the trip.

    Amazing food! Can’t believe the quality and taste, we would return just for the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Enjoyed very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was a little too cold and the parking spaces are quite tight.

    Staff were friendly, room was amazing and comfortable with plenty of room to set up our porta cot, facilities were great, plenty of safe parking, great location not to far from the city and easy access with the elevator I didn't have to carry a baby up and down stairs. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and will be back.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    5.4
    NOT IMPRESSED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    #1 The meals and service was the worst I have ever come across , we had to go and find a waiter to get service 40 mints after we sat down ,they had no bred to offer us witch was on the menu, the beer I had was at room temperature . #2 We were told that the bar was closed on a Thursday and the only thing that was valuable was bottle beer or sprits at the coffee bar ( i booked this motels due to seeing your advertising broacher that showed a cocktail bar and somewhere nice to eat #3 Very disappointed. Due to the demand for accommodation that weekend because of summer nats being on ,all pricers went up by 50 dollars per night .but the service went down 50% IF I WANTED ROADHOUSE SERVICE I WOULD HAVE GONE TO THE 711 DOWN THE ROAD.

    check in service only

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.3
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very unorganised Waited 25 minutes for scrambled eggs. No spoons available. The fact the bar was close was unexceptable, we would of enjoyed a night cap.

    Pool Comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.5
    Relaxing stay in a great sized room that felt empty some what.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows to soft. Curtains very dirty/faded. Room size very big but felt empty due to missing tale & chairs. Pizza had no basil as per menu (was fixed by reduced charges). Balcony was great but being on top floor it felt dangerous due to hight of balcony railing, should be higher at least on upper levels. The snacks in room are very expensive especially when nut bar is out of multi pack and should not be sold seperatley as it states on package, your charges are $3.95. Last I checked it was illegal to do this. ( I have a video for proof if required)

    Room size, facilities and breakfast. Staff were very helpful at all times.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.9
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of hotel directory in room Had to go and check with reception with all queries.There was not enough staff to get bar service.No one walked around the atrium to check the area so glasses plates etc. we're left lying on tables for HOURS

    Hotel open spaces were very attractive lovely air conditioning to sit and chat.Very comfortable room Shower glass should have marker on it or there will be an accident soon I nearly walked into it on several occasions

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    3.3
    Extremely disappointing. Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for a total of 3 nights. The key card routinely did not work. We were down at reception every day to get them to give us access to our room. 2 of the reception staff were extremely rude, one of these staff members’ excuse for our key card not working was ‘your checking out tomorrow anyway’. The last reception lady we spoke to was the only polite reception person we encountered. She let us know that our door was infact broken and offered to let us into the room by the master key. The toilet was positioned in front of the shower entrance, meaning everytime we showered there was nowhere to put the bathmat and not only would the toilet get sprayed with water as soon as the shower went on but the bathroom floor was flooded. Unfortunately these things ruined our stay and we would never recommend staying here to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.5
    Stayed in room 370.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Embassy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in room 370. Bed was so comfy. The bath is huge. And good water pressure. Carpet not very clean. travelling with 9 yr old she was to sleep on sofa bed what they dont tell u is its $50 extra to make it up with sheets! Sauna was closed . We got turned away from the resturant for dinner cause it "was full". Staff lovely tho the manager on was very nice . Considering it was new years eve! Brekkie wasnt anything special. We still enjoyed our stay tho. Thanks

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.0
    Mixed results ...not really a 4 star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar not open. Pool needed cleaning - tissue and band aids on floor. Bathroom needed cleaning especially back of door and floor. Food very ordinary.

    Atrium with trees. Very comfortable bed. Secure parking on site.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As it was over 40 degrees the night we stayed air Con did not work properly in the room. TV in the main room did not work, the swipe card into room had to be recoded 3 times, once being when we came back from dinner with friends and only got into the car park cause they had their swipe card. They said they would refund $37 plus the $12 car park fee. They did refund $27. All up not impressed.

    Bed was awesome

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    6.3
    Except for the size of the room , there is not much to the credit of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The checkin was speedy but we were allocated a room where a family was already in the room. The breakfast experience was terrible.Nothing left on the buffet to eat!!!! The Gymnasium is really old and number of equipment were not working. Clearly it is a badly managed property where is the staff is not keen to make a difference.

    The room was spacious and clean. Though we booked a garden view room , we were actually given a road facing room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sink above the bar was too high. The lighting in the room was quite dim. Newspapers should be available at the front desk.

    The room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant and professionally run hotel with quiet rooms that promote a restful night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower area is a poor design because the water splashes beyond the glass screen and onto the toilet, etc. The pillows weren't very good and I will remember to bring my own in future (I admit that I'm a bit pedantic about pillows!)

    The room was very pleasant and the mattress was comfortable. The curtains blocked out the light and allowed for a bit of a sleep-in. The toiletries provided were of good quality.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was an adjoining door between our room and the next. It was locked but it meant we could hear our neighbour very clearly

    Staff were friendly, bed comfortable

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That all facilities were not open. It was a weekend and the bar area was completely closed. The exit swipe card box was overflowing and needed emptying. The bottles from our beverages, which were a hassle to procure, were still out on the table the following morning.

    All staff were very friendly and helpful. When the iron didn't work, they promptly brought another upon request. The beds and the pillows were soooo very comfortable. The rooms were clean and a good size. Parking downstate is worth the extra.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.5
    December 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do not like the fact had to pay for parking.

    Proximity to a range of areas in Canberra and rooms were clean and smelt fresh. Front desk staff friendly as was barman.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.9
    It was a lovely little getaway for my husband's 40th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were either too high or too low. The hallways were a little dated. The rooms were a little dated. Buffet breakfast didn't have enough food. Not enough information about what to do or restaurants around the area.

    The wonderful lady who checked us in had fantastic customer service. She was very polite and made our stay really enjoyable. It was nice to sit in the spa after a day climbing Mount Kosciusko.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower design outdated but was adequate.

    Enjoyed the pool. Loved the Fig cafe space surrounded by greenery. Breakfast was great - good variety and dishes constantly replenished. Location very good for pleasant walks. Manuka shops not far away.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    5.0
    Location and food were good and staff was friendly
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was noisey and l believe because it was through a booking site that is booking.com. Tv was extremely frustrating very slow to page through channels along with lots of channels listed but you couldn’t get

    Location and food were good and staff was friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.3
    Parking should come free with the hotel rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking should come free with the hotel rooms. The limited numbers of outdoor parking lots are never enough, meaning hotel guests will most certainly need to pay for the overnight parking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    8.8
    Neat and tidy with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a very minor thing, but I noticed the bin in the bedroom and bathroom was emptied every day even in our short 3-night stay, and I wondered if room service staff were changing the whole plastic bag bin liner (even when there might just be a single tissue in the bin) or just tipping out the rubbish and reusing the same bin liner. I hope it is the latter, because it’s a big waste of plastic bags otherwise!

    The included breakfast was great! And all staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a warm night & the air conditioner heated the room rather than cooling. Despite letting the staff know about this twice, nothing was done even though we were told by the staff member as we checked out in the morning that it was a very easy issue to resolve. We were offered no compensation for a very uncomfortable night.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    We had a ground floor inside room which gave an extra access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a ground floor inside room which gave an extra access to the interior garden foyer. The bed was really comfortable and large. Clean and modern. Great food and bar. Central to Canberra. They also have Doug the car rental guy on site who gave us a great deal and drove us back to the airport. Highly recommended hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of staff at breakfast time, need more than 3 on. Food needs to be refilled quicker. Need better toasters

    Nice and quiet, spacious room, very clean, beds very comfy

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, comfortable and clean. Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Television needs updating and the view is pretty ordinary and not particularly private.

    The bed. Like sleeping on a cloud. The location is great too. I walked to the foreshore and National Library.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    4.2
    Virtually every single thing we tried was shut, unavailable, or broken
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at 11pm local time because we were travelling from the West Coast, and we were hungry. We asked the girl on the front desk - "Can we order room service" "Nuh. Shut" (this is what they sounded like) … we responded … "So, is there anywhere we could order from?" She continued : "There's a servo bout 600 metres up the road, its probably your best bet." Google searches revealed some open restaurants. We retreated to the room to put our clothes in drawers... no drawers. There was no ventilation in the bathroom, which in a shared room is an issue. The next day, went to get a coffee in the afternoon… the restaurant was shut. Go to the bar, there's a beer advertised as being on special. "Can I have one?" "Nuh. We're out. We're closing for a month and a half next week." Go to check out : "Can you do our flight registration?" The manager advises - "No, we don't do that, get online, its easy" … the one helpful staff member interjects and offers - "Hang on, there's a business computer around the corner"... go to it, no printer for tickets. The song of the Rydges Canberra.

    There was one staff member (Ariel?) who was friendly, welcoming, professional and helpful. Others were stoney faced and abrupt. The breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.9
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor in bar and meal service, Mains before entree and messed the bill up completely. Was billed to one room while we had asked for was 3 rooms and 1 cash , Couldn’t even find someone to pay cash too, To top it off the service was so poor they missed charging for some drinks . Following night the staff were too busy chatting in the sports bar to clean tables and remove glasses and plates, We ended up clearing them ourselves. We won’t be returning to This place !!!

    Wonderful modern rooms and clean

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    3.8
    Very very very very disappointing and upsetting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff levels were terrible, our bill is so confusing we can’t understand it, we couldn’t get a print out of the charges or get it explained to us, we are waiting for our credit card statement to even know how much we have paid, there are so many credit and recharges we just don’t know what we were charged and for what. it’s a discrace for a hotel of this name and our friends who came with us are this disappointed too. Sofa bed for the extra bed was not comfortable and could feel all the springs through the rubbish mattress. No TV guide. I would love a phone call on this.

    It was quiet and the room was clean. Food was nice tasting.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, would reccomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were super comfy. Room was modern, bathroom was very clean and had great lighting. Great location, walking distance (around 10mins) from Manuka shops.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.3
    It was a gift for my sister & her husband (who has been ill) We all enjoyed our time in Canberra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing that was not so good and what was meant to be a special occasion dinner in the restaurant. Food was great but the service was pretty poor. Didn't offer us another drink or bring the dessert menu, too busy clearing empty tables to worry about the guests still dining.

    Location, breakfast & the bar. Lovely housekeeping & mini bar staff. Check in/out nice and easy with friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.4
    Room was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff couldn’t be bothered to help us, appeared to be an effort to check us in. Parking is the lower ceiling we have stayed in within NSW and ACT Overall ok but wouldn’t rush back

    Room was clean and comfortable Indoor pond behind our room was nice Breakfast was decent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.5
    Was overall a really good place to stay, would definitely stay there again and would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast staying open till 11 instead of 10:30

    The ability to get room service at early hours of the morning Beds were extremely comfortable I enjoyed the showers

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place for a business trip close to all facilities. The room was spacious and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. Easy check in and out, staff very pleasing. The perfect hotel for a short business trip and definitely value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location close to Kingston and Manuka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location close to Kingston and Manuka. Was able to book very last minute for a busy weekend. Staff were accommodating and gave us early access to our room when we arrived ahead of schedule.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not get a warm and friendly greeting at reception when checking in and out.

    Buffet breakfast was excellent. Spacious room. Prce including breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    4.2
    Very dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't like being told deposit wasn't taken,we had proof. Go and get a later statement. Her words. We had two units. Different names. My card was used for payment on friends unit. No apology. Very embarrassing as there was a line up of people. Coffee cup had lipstick. Kettle was dirty mould on shower walls. Not happy at all.

    Clean sheets. That's about it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Loved the location,the room, the public spaces and the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the gym equipment needed a bit of TLC maintenance

    Loved the location,the room, the public spaces and the pool.....They staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast really good....Overall we loved it....we'll be back soon...B-) l

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.3
    Pretty could but not happy that i could not use my benifet card.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was not happy that i booked through booking.com and could not use my benifet card

    It was value for money..... and they have happy hour on friday night..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Great rooms, clean, great location , lock up parking, spa 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool needs to be heated too cold for Canberra. The restaurant front person was very new and needed support he didn’t know the difference between a credit card and debit card

    Great rooms, great location, clean, lock up parking, spa.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.6
    It was value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at reception made me wait at check in while she was on a personal call.

    I loked how comfy the bed was. The hotel locations was good as it was near Manuka shops

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, we stayed 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, possibly bottle water should be free/complimentary.

    We had a car so location was not a problem for us, would be a little distance to restaurants if you had no car. Restaurant on site though. Very close to Parliament House. Room was good size, bed was comfy. We started off in a room that had some awful noise going on in it's ceiling we told reception they came to check and then happily moved us to another room. Staff where very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in our deal and very plentiful, fancy coffees were extra!!! Bottle water was extra in our room. There is a car park at the front which is free or you can park under the hotel for $12.00 if front carpark is full, we actually on our second night parked on the street with no problem.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was too cold the food had minimal size portions and limited choice same menu as the room service menu. Food itself was good.

    Pool and gym

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff was lovely offered me bottle of water and cup of tea after getting food poising from a steak I had nite before couldn’t have brisk fast I paid for as was too I’ll also had to come down and order room service as did other people was told by reception there must have been a problem with phone but as I was waiting ten min to order the phones were ringing also asked for extra lemon with the meal got a 1/4 piece only overall a very disappointing visit and not sure I would stay here again

    Close to what I needed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.3
    Nice quiet hotel with a swimming pool and spa, rooms are clean, decent size, breakfast is nice too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, maybe vacuuming the floor during the main breakfast time (9AM) is not the best idea. I am sure people would like to listen to some background music and not the sound of the vacuum cleaner while they are eating. Thanks.

    Nice quiet hotel with a swimming pool and spa. Great location if you are visiting Parliament House or National Gallery... Rooms are clean, decent size, buffet breakfast is nice too. I like Rydges chain as they are very consistent with their service. I would stay there again. Ta

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Our stay made our trip to our Nation's capital memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we had to leave!

    the reserved and unimposing nature of the staff who met each request with confidence and no fuss, the coffee in the cafe was extremely good. Parking spaces generous and no hassle on entry and exit to the garage. Room service as if the house-keeping fairy had swept by with absolutely no imposition on our privacy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed in reception, feel have been overcharged, on what started as reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting for buffet to be refilled, limited coffee making, or offering The non heated pool, in Canberra? In October? Was looking forward to a nice swim.

    Menu and quality were good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    only stayed one night so it was ok for that. Would pay more for a modern version of room.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside room, limited parking space, distance from lift We have stayed at this motel since it first opened and found the fixtures and fittings in the rom have not changed very much since its first opening. Needs to be lighter and more friendlier feeling. Needs a comfy chair to sit in to watch tv. Brighter lighting

    Location was good, large room, comfy bed. Bathroom and shower was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay would happily recommend to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Motel style coffee in room despite being a King Executive Suite. No filtered coffee at breakfast and being charged for a cappuccino.

    Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Apart from that it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thing that put a real downer on the time was on the Sat afternoon. We had been out all day, and came back around 5pm for a little nap before dinner. But the people next door couldn't get into their room, after about 10 minutes of hearing the couple getting annoyed and frustrated - suddenly they must have tried our door - and it opened and they started to come in whilst we were naked in bed. They apologised and then we could here staff outside for the next half an hour or so trying to get things working. Well we didn't get our nap after that :-(

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    6.7
    For the money it was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No open windows Dusty shelf above bed Tired bathroom No toilet brush or toilet spray Crap milk and minimal amount each day (4 little cups)

    Location Comfy bed and heaps of pillows

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No steak knivess given for steak ... sent steak back 3 times . Still wasn’t able to eat it ... too raw.. ate nothing .. waitress decided not to charge for meal..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    8.8
    A good central location, a comfortable room and a very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tea & coffee making facilities in our room left something to be desired. I would have expected more attention to this.

    The bed was very comfy and the blockout curtains did a brilliant job.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    5.4
    I stay at Rydges alot i will not be staying at this one again due to the rude staff.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sophie on check in on the reservation desk was rude and arrogant. When i asked why i would not get points as i have a rewards card with Rydges i was told because you booked through Booking .com. When we got to our room our electronic room key didnt work on returning to the front desk she said well if you have it near a mobile phone of course it wont work. I informed her i didnt have my phone anywhere near it. We also were offered no help with our luggage even though i have a disability and use a walking stick where my partner was made to struggle with our baggage up 3 levels. In the mini bar you were only offered 4 milk 2 teabags bad luck if you wanted a couple cups of tea after a long drive.

    The $5 happy hour. The conservatory garden i couldnt believe they were all real plants and trees.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    7.1
    Ease of check in / staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room key worked only intermittently so after re program didn’t fix it - was advised housekeeping would check the battery in the lock. Still failed to work consistently even after this. Very frustrating when I would stand at the door and keep trying up to 20 times all hours of the day and night.

    Ease of check in / staff helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great position and reasonably priced for a big hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our main complaint was the difficulty entering and exiting the car park with the keycard. It took about five minutes each time trying to get the machine to accept and read the card and open the gate. Also we would have welcomed a toaster in the room. Breakfast was very expensive in the hotel so as pensioners, having the option to cook toast would have been handy.

    Great position and beautifully clean and well serviced. Lovely king sized bed. We liked the budget priced dinner meals served by the bar and eating in the garden area was very pleasant. Loved the revolving door at the front entrance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant but temperature of pool and room needs monitoring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fruit was soggy and off at breakfast., asked for a quiet room with a window that opened and we were given a room that opened to the atrium. The room was very warm with no a/c on

    All good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    very good, I will recommend to my friends and will definitely stay again at Rydges on my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a proper bed rather then a sofa bed at Embassy suite,

    the staff are friendly, customer focus, Dinner menu is excellent, food arrived on time. The girl who served us is very helpful and provided excelent service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable. Shame the spa was not working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It never ceases to amaze me ... the Restaurant experience was great but surely Chefs know the difference between Medium and Medium Rare. Both my wife and I left thew raw center of our steaks. Apart from that the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    6.3
    First time back in years not very impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Why was there a big blank wall where a window should be? The air conditioning had no temperature gauge and cooling not work properly And the uphill slant to the bathroom is a trip hazard And you can't shower without flooding the bathroom floor Tv terrible - old, picture terrible, slow, needs updating.

    Beds ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    4.2
    The free coffee offer was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Day 1, I couldnt sleep all night as my whole body was itchy. The linen including the pillows didnt smell fresh. Day 2 was fine. The side tables and other pl around the room was not dusted at all. There wasnt any complementary water. The in room service attracted a $4 tray service charge. I havent seen this before in other hotels.

    The free coffee offer was good. We tried the pl and coffee was great. The online breakfast deal sounded reasonable. The additional sink in the room was nicer than using the hand basin in the bathroom's.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.8
    The property is quite dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is quite dated. The lift is old and shakey. The ‘buffet’ breakfast was not organised properly, rather chaotic with a lot of waiting around. No guidance when we arrived at the breakfast, no one checking room numbers. Was not impressed at the only egg options being hard boiled or scrambled.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    2.5
    I didn't realise this room had been confirmed - I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't realise this room had been confirmed - I thought it was a temporary booking. My fault. But when we didn't arrive on the Sunday, because I had actually confirmed somewhere else, we were contacted by Rydges on the Monday evening and I explained that I had thought it was only a temporary booking. The woman I spoke to didn't tell me I still had to pay for the other nights, otherwise we would have come and stayed at Rydges as we were staying at The Vibe and catching Ubers into the city. I am very disappointed I was not made aware of the situation by the woman on the phone. I guess it must have been a good opportunity to claim the money from me and still rent out the room. I will be discouraging anyone I talk to from staying at Rydges.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: