Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rydges On Swanston 4 stars

701 Swanston St, Carlton, 3053 Melbourne, Australia

#116 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 799 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tooth brush kit No microwave No iron box Washroom tiles were cold . Need to have bathroom carpet. Full glass barrier need to b thr in shower room .

    Room was really spacious .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for the receipt to be emailed for tax purposes and although they said they would it never happened and booking.com don't send one

    breakfast gluten free easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None to speak of. Next time but I would probably stay in the City itself, not that Swanston street isn't.

    This was our first night in Melbourne on a week trip. Initial impressions where great (and remain so). The bed was HUGE, I felt like I needed to send a telegram to my partner. There was a nice bar and restaurant downstairs and all facilities were good and the room very clean. We booked there to get to Lygon Street (which was a bit of bust, old memories eh?) and the Museum (also a bust, time limitations) with the bonus of the Imax. No complaints to speak of.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet was not clean, beds were uncomfortable

    The two girls we dealt with at reception were faultless, pleasant and very helpful unlike the male on the check out desk when we departed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet didn't look super clean so bring slippers perhaps?

    The location of the hotel is great, with a tram stop just across the road to go straight to the city. The room was large enough with a king size bed that was extra comfy. The room was reasonably clean, although the carpet looked dated. The bathroom had really hot water but again a little dated. However, this didn't affect the overall trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was $20 pp for continental- rather expensive! Pillows were too firm for my liking.

    Location - very easy to get to and the room we had was at the back of the building so didn’t hear any traffic noise. All the staff were lovely to deal with.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work. Had to get staff to my room twice to get it going. The staff were lovely, but it ( room ) looked like it hadn’t been maintained in a while. Soap dish in shower was hanging sideways, fan screen on wall was dirty.

    Staff were lovely and location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a cold shower but not blaming staff, these things happen. The morning manergment were giving me apologies for no hot water, and went out of there way to make up for the problem, I left the hotel knowing that I will be back thanks to the manergment and staff, if I was to give them a score out of (10) ten they would all get an (11) eleven so thank you to everyone.

    The staff could not have done anymore they were so good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a refurbishment. Bathrooms were tired. The toilet ran continually if you didn’t jiggle it. Part of the shower door appeared to be missing. There was no hot water on the morning I checked out; however, Manager was very apologetic and offered to pay for an Uber as we were unable to stay for breakfast. Aircon button was very bright of a night, Collecting of a $10 mini bar fee up front and advised it would not be funded for 5 days after checkout is ridiculous.

    The bed was comfortable and room was quiet. The location was great and right near a tram stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom outdated, hot water can take quite long. Noise insulation average. Lift outdated. Parking a bit expensive but lots of free parking (7pm-7:30) streetside next to hotel.

    About 20min walling to heart of city with great driving access to North Melbourne suburbs & the Citylink tollway. Nice bar/pub on peremises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit run down and in need of a facelift. There was no extra blanket or doona in the cupboard and was a little cold.

    Bed was ok. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nothing like what you advwrtisted in the pics online. Mouldy strong smell in lifts and hallway, stained light coloured suede couches in room, horrible place to stay in, staff very dismissive and unhelpful. Also had to pay $25 for parking. This is not stipulated on the website. Much nicer places to stay which are close by. Way overpriced dor what you get! And apparently I had their "best room- the spa suite"...just horrible!

    Location only..the hotel waa disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were uncomfortable Corridors and lift were dated, worn and smelled Poor ventilation

    Check in and out was easy and staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to be able to open the window, especially at night. Found this frustrating that staff were unable to do this, or offer a room where this was possible... I also left my charger in the room. This was not handed in...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were glad of our small vehicle in the squishy car park ... and the lift seemed to be on permanent "Go Slow" mode.

    Loved the location - short walk to Lygon St food! ... tram at the door to CBD! And such a bonus to have a room overlooking beautiful Lincoln Square (and beyond, the CBD) through a veil of colourful autumn leaves.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking facility terrible. 2 pm check in time far too late. It would be so easy to pay and book online,room, car parking etc... Too much time wasted checking in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could definitely do with more hooks and perhaps even a shelf to put things down (rather than on the floor). The Wi-Fi connection wasn't stable.

    Spacious room with ample pillows on the bed which I like. Reception were kind enough to offer us another room which was available as we arrived a few hours before check-in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needed maintenance on taps which caused a minor injury to my partner. The shower is very poorly positioned over the centre of the bathroom.

    The bathroom left quite a bit to be desired, shower was over the middle of the room which required negotiation to the basin thru water from the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above and large gap at bottom of door which made hearing hallway noises very easy.

    The room had a funny smell about it and the tiles in the bathroom where not clean. Our fridge was very noisy and had to shut door over it to muffle the sound.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy from other rooms, fittings are a bit dated, missing knobs on cupboards, no hairdryer, tap froze on in bath had a repairman in room for ages.

    Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers are pretty tired but it’s not the end of the world for the price in melbourne

    Always clean, nice crisp white sheets and towels. Simple things done well. No dramas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very dated. The desk was tiny and no coffee table was provided next to the armchair. In a room with two queen beds, one would expect a slightly better seating/working area. Very small bathroom. The view from the window onto the back of some grim building nearby.

    Comfortable beds, extremely convenient location in Carlton within walking distance from excellent eateries and sightseeing, availability of parking, helpful staff, very good price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was very stretched and a trip hazard. The bathroom was in need of a good clean. Skirting boards were dirty as was the back of the bathroom door. The bath/shower needs to be replaced along with tiles.

    Bed was very comfortable and meals and bar lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in desperate need for refurb. Torn carpet, ripped bed frame, shower door was not properly hung. Room was serviced each day, but forgot to refill tea, coffee, sugar everyday. Left our bedroom door open after service. Luckily nothing stolen. They offered to reimburse two coffees we had purchased from bar, by way of compensation.

    Good location for CBD and University

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it suited our needs

    It was close to where we had an appointment and the staff let us leave our car in the parking lot while we went to our appointment, very convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As expected from Rydges. Crisp white bedding and fluffy towels. The bathrooms are getting a bit retro but they do the job and it’s all good. Super helpful and friendly staff. No stupid deposits or hidden extras.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disappointment was that the room we got looked nothing like the pictures on the website- and we got a free upgrade too so would have hated to see the room we were suppose to get.

    stocked mini bar and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room facilities are a little on the short side and the shower over the floor in the bathroom leaves little to be desired.

    Staff were particularly helpful & the location with the tram at the front door was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such small issues. Didnt see the reason why a speaker was in the room when it cant be used.

    Beds were comfy. Loved location of the room (right near the elevator)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really smelly in the hallway and the elevator was very old and slow. Pillows were uncomfortable.

    The room was freshly renovated and the air conditioner was nice and quiet. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing i disliked

    I especially liked the room. I was upgraded to an executive room that was spacious and comfortable without being fussy and over done. The view was on to Swanston Street, the sound proofing was perfect and I had a better night's sleep than I normally have at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty in the bath and the toilet would keep running after you flush we kept on having the jiggle it to stop

    Cost was good a great service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room was a little dim, as I wear glasses.

    It was great close to great resturants, and it was the venue of the conference that I attended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very small and door not easy to close completely.

    Comfortable bed, Quiet room. great to get wine vouchers on check in even though we had a great priced room for just 1 night. Short walk to favourite café for Brekkie - Woodside Green in Queanberry St

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cancellation of my booking on day of arrival & moved me to the city centre which was long way from where I wanted to be. After a lot of negotiation they paid for a taxi but taxi late so late to meeting. City centre room was not the king I had paid for in Swanson & was noisy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the Rydges thinking if I pay a bit more I would get a bit more. I normally stay at the Ibis.. The Ibis room are quite small but they are clean and well maintained. I am not sure if this is a standard room at the Rydges or maybe when you book with Booking.com they give you their crap rooms, if not I rate this hotel as a very poor quality under maintained establishment.

    Not Much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fantastic location staff were the most friendly and helpful i have ever encountered traveled with a four year old and he was made feel very special true value for money room was comfortable will be using the RYDGES as my go to accommodation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small.

    The bed was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good value, with good range of food and beverages available Service at reception was prompt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very old stain in the bath mould in grout and not clean at all plus no plug but I would not have put my son in the bath anyway it was so unclean

    The staff were absolutely amazing in particular the lady on reception when we arrived

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The power point in our room near the table/ mirror was broken The parking was horrendous! This was the only thing that we didn’t like.. such a small amount of parking, a couple of guests had taken up two parks intentionally (to protect their precious cars 😡😡) There was literally two parks left one which we got and one other that the other car took. They had to get out of their car to move tables and stuff to be able to get into the park!! Ours took at least 15 attempts to get in, 3 of us standing outside the car to make sure she didn’t crash into another car or pole!! We (people in my room and the people in the other car) think it was a little rough paying $25 for parking with such a horrible park. We had to squeeze in to get in and out of the car :(

    Such a beautiful room with lovely staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift wasn’t working for a day so glad we were only on the 2nd floor.

    Location is excellent with tram stops at the door. For anyone working at Melbourne Uni it’s the perfect location. Close to restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift out of action. Air con remote wouldnt work so very stuffy and warm. Toilet flush so hard almost break fingers getting to flush. Smoke alarm out of action.Paid cash this time upfront for room so was then asked for bond..I am in 60 s never been asked for bond so dont understand why cash is penalised..have enjoyed previous stays but tbis stay very ordinary. Did inform staff of issues so facilities could be checked.

    Central to major facilities and attractions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fan

    Staffs was very helpful and kind Good size room with sofa on window side Comfy bed Walking distance to surround suburbs Tram and park next to it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have a TV guide in the room.

    The shower! I loved the shower. Plus walking distance to shops and food places. Not noisy, and right alongside the tram line.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was placed in a great location for a short walk to the restaurant strip in Carlton. The hotel itself was in a quiet position for a good nights sleep. The bar downstairs was in a good position looking out towards the park area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower and water on compact bathroom floor was tricky and could be a liability .... Bit grubby. Needs a solid clean and wipe to all surfaces.

    Location and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms definitely need an upgrade, the shower tiles had mould on them. We got to breakfast at 9.30am on Sunday and the hot food was pretty dry. Burnt mushrooms? Not sure how you can burn mushrooms. Friends waffle dry. Just needed to be restocked with freshly cooked food. A tad disappointed. If you paid $25 you’d be pissed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioning unit made a strange noise every 60 seconds which was very annoying. The pool and rooftop area could hardly be used as they always had events on - so I don't know why they even show on the website that this is available. The room was dated and only one of the shower heads worked - the temperature control on the shower was very sensitive too.

    The staff were friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. I also have these answers in the oposite section but lm sure you can figure that out.

    The walls are so thin l could hear a man yawning in the room next to us. There was a party in another which was extremely noisy on occasion and could constantly hear a noise like someone moving and then a banging noise. Also the airconditioner did not cool the room down no matter what we did with the settings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left behind a brand new special Tasmanian Bridestowe Lavender Shower and Bath Gel product in the shower, and although I followed it up that same day/afternoon, on the day I checked out - they claimed they didn't have it. Assuming they clean a bathroom between each guest (you would hope so??) they definitely had the product but they didn't return it to me, and they also didn't admit to throwing it out either. So was not at all impressed with this - Left-behind Property should surely be kept in a hotel for at least a day in case the client returns for it !!!

    Great location and comfortable room and great swimming pool to use at end of the hot day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cistern in our bathroom was running constantly as soon as we got there (it was broken) - we notified reception straight away and were told it would be fixed but it wasn't. I had to rip the elastic off a shower cap to tie around the float to hold it up so the noise would stop as it was too loud to sleep even with the door closed.

    We were attending a function in the building so it was convenient to stay here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stain on the couch which was awful, the toilet door didint close all the way and then still sat half open. And it was in the middle of nowhere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite old and it was a family room but very small so quite not comfortable with 4 people.

    The bed were comfortable and air con worked wonderfully it was really hot weather

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a strong smell of cigarette smoke. It lingered in the room. I was only there from 22:00 til 0600, 8 Hours. It stank. Very tired building. Carpets needed vacuuming, lift in particular.

    Staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in took about half an hour, we had to wait in line for 20 minutes before even getting served! They only had one person on the desk, and then when they put a second on after the 20 minutes he was training. Also the elevator was extremely slow.

    Location was in a quieter area than in the middle of the city, near shopping and supermarket. Was easy to get around. The beds were really comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Next to a tram stop. Walking distance to the city and free tram zone. SKYBUS pick-up and drop-off available. Clean. Spacious. Friendly staff. Quick check-in and out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Whilst the shower head was brilliant, the water in the bottom of the shower didn't drain well. I am glad I had my thongs with me, to wear on my feet!!!

    The staff went out of their way to make sure that my window opened in the room, and sent the maintenance man up to unlock it for me. Also, I am allergic to a lot of cleaning chemicals, and they prepared my room to my specifications. I booked the hotel because it was where the professional training I was attending was being held. For that purpose, it was adequate, but I probably would stay somewhere else if I was in Melbourne for another reason. Not because of anything being wrong, but just because I would have preferred some other venues had I not been committed to this venue for other reasons.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process. It took the receptionist 5 attempts to find our name. We were not the only one's to have trouble checking in.

    Close to Lygon street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers are impractical and a bit dangerous as water goes everywhere I didn’t really appreciate having to correct my final bill as I was being charged for things I didn’t order. Getting to my room and then having to request an immediate change due to water leaking through a light in the bathroom. It took a very very long time for someone at reception to answer my call. Couches in the room really need a good steam clean the stains make them look icky.

    The room was very spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pigeons nesting in exhaust fan - frightened the heck out of me - very noisy! No room compendium - didn’t know where hairdryer was, or if there was a hairdryer. Then didn’t know how to call reception as not written on phone anywhere and no compendium. Made me aware that if was an emergency could be a factor. No compendium also means I can’t learn about whether you have a restaurant, pool or other facilities.

    Comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had not stayed there before, staff did not take the time to tell me how to get to the room, where to find the restaurants etc. I was overcharged (initially for breakfast, and currently for spirits I didn't drink from the minibar). There were disgusting bits of another guests food all around the edges of the room - the cleaners obviously only vacuum the centre of the room and don't notice anything else.

    Bathroom clean, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't say I didn't like it but the rooms could do with some minor fixes - more hooks, shower kept flooding (drain might be blocked??) fridge (very loud)

    The staff, cleanliness of the room, location, the benefits of becoming a member

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt revolting (like old cigarette smoke). The room itself was dirty - there was a significant amount of dirt/debris (not just dust) on the windowsill, the carpets needed replacing, the whole room needed a fresh coat of paint given the amount of dirt/scuffing on the walls. Definitely not worth the cost for the night.

    Location convenience. The bathroom was clearly newly renovated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and very run down. Rydges normally have dream beds but this Rydges sadly did not, the mattresses were awful. The rooms and hallways smelt old and stale. The elevator took forever to get to floors and move between floors. There was a 21st on at Rydges so we were asked to move from the bar at 11pm so the 21st could move from the rooftop to the bar which was inconvenient as we hadn’t even finished our drinks. The 21st guests then moved from the rooftop to the ground door via the fire escape stairwell! It sounded exactly what a 21st party on the move would sound like, unacceptable to all the other guests. I’ve always relied on the brand Rydges to be a lovely place to stay but Rydges on Swanston is a real let down and a place I would never stay again!

    Located right next to the train line

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drainage in the shower was bad when using the rain-shower and the rubber bathmat provided was a safety hazard and extremely slippery.

    Great location and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our 3 & 5 year old's were turned away from the pool because of a private function we were not informed about, the private function was above our room with loud music until 11pm before a Royal Children's Hospital appointment for our sick 3 year old son the following morning. We were also evacuated from the building @ 3am because of a false fire alarm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping was a bit inconsistent - would take some dirty dishes and towels and leave others? Also accidentally left the bar fridge ajar one day which caused our milk to go off. Some sun lounges in the pool area and extra towels for the pool wouldn't go astray.

    This is a classy, quiet hotel that's perfect for the discerning traveler. The guy at the front desk offered to upgrade us to a spa suite, with early check-in, for only an extra $20 a night, bargain! Big comfy bed and spacious room. Really good a/c which is invaluable in Melbourne summer. We had the rooftop pool to ourselves on two occasions. Location is perfect - two blocks from Lygon St restaurants and tram to Fed Square/Flinders St Station stops right out the front.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting wasn’t great, a little dim, also a light had blown over the desk mirror making it difficult to see.

    The bed was very comfy, and room spacious and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very tight, hotel general areas needs refurbishment, breakfast just OK; not enough staff.

    Room good size, bed and furniture OK, A/C good (42C on the day), staff friendly, good location to PT.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was run down, bathroom was a patch job, shower leaking, no proper door on bathroom, wet area covered in mold, outdated, unclean. Fridge leaking, hear people in adjoining rooms, carpet worn, wardrobe space makeshift.

    Staff were friendly and efficient. Fast room service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite bad, selection was very limited and the scrambled eggs tasted not good at all. Expensive - paid 140 € for one night, might be because of the Australian open, but still a very high price. Charged me 100 AUD as security deposit because I do not own a credit card - so when staying at the hotel, make sure you have enough money ready so you do not need to go to an ATM just for that security deposit.

    Very nice and big room. Nice shower, but smelly when first turned on. Good Location, many restaurants nearby. Free and good WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the hallway needs replacing

    Hotel is in a good central position.the room was spacious clean and tidy.the stall very very pleasant and extremely helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and facilities . This hotel has obviously been around for quite some time, however we rate it very highly and we generally stay at places like Novotel on Collins & the Interconntinental

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue is the lack of wheelchair /pram access at the entrance. You must enter through the locked car park in the basement to access the lift if you require that access. A ramp out front would be much better.

    The staff are warm and welcoming, willing to go the extra mile to help. The room was clean, nicely furnished and had a lovely bathroom. The location is great. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar fridge and air conditioner very loud. TV remote didn't work on arrival but had a good response when reported (new batteries), however half the buttons still didn't work properly.

    Bed comfortable, friendly service, good location and clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: