Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rydges Plaza Cairns 4 stars

Cnr Spence & Grafton Streets, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#57 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 700 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold. The heat on the air conditioner did not work. A fluorescent blew in the bathroom. The fan did not work in the bathroom. The TV reception was extremely poor. Mould on ceiling and walls.

    Bed was good. Hot shower was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a problem with a leak in the bathroom but front desk got the plumber up to chek it out and did offer us another room. We really wanted a room with a view so put up with the inconvenience.

    the beds were lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old style. Everything needs to be bought into the 21st century. Very dated decor & bathrooms need a total refit.

    Comfy beds, close to the Convention Centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a king room and spent most of the night trying to get myself out from in between two single beds put together that obviously was not made properly. Apart from that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New sheets when room was cleaned

    Loved the outdoor area pool bar and deck . Beds were super comfortable and everything just wanted fresh sheets when it was cleabed 🙂

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was checking in a group of people from Victoria, Australia. As a local, from Cape York and Cairns, I chose this hotel, because of my previous stays with you. We arrived later than expected and had a very short turn around time before our next performance, the duty manager at reception when we arrived was insensitive, rude, dismissive, belittling and sarcastic, he did not care about who he was dealing with nor did he try to clarify why we were anxious to get into the rooms. His behaviour towards us was frankly so bad that I will not be using you or your chains services again, a shame as I have stayed in Rydges hotels all over Australia on my travels. when I waited for him to finish several other guests to clarify if my out of state guests would need to deal with him, again, he did not seek any explanation from me as to the reason for my questions regarding his shifts for the next days The service clerk on sunday morning for check put was very helpful, kind and a delight to deal with, matching all my previous experiences, however, this great assistance was too late to rescue our saturday afternoon experience.

    the rooms were as always very clean and neat, the beds comfortable and the costs reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terrible, not clean, tap in the bathroom was leaking all night. Stains on ceiling. I took my family out for the night for a one off family night. And was so disappointed with the unclean room for our kids. The money we paid was not worth the room.

    Shae the receptionist was wonderful. She was polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a slight update, but overall layout and cleanliness was good.

    It’s a great spot for a stop over - the pool deck was nice and big and very quiet. Great proximity to the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is filthy and run down. Thick layer of dried soap scum on shower wall. Mini bar was not restocked after previous guest left.

    Great receptionist who served me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very poor quality. Bad lighting, unhygienic & untidy. Complained about broken appliances during our stay and nothing was fixed. (Broken lights & tv)

    Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some fittings , esp in bathroom , are a little bit worn

    Excellent central location , value for money, pleasant pool area and bar /restaurant area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and hallways were dated and a bit dirty. Lots of paint peeling off the walls. The pool deck was littered with pool supply bags and broken umbrellas. The facility may have been dated and weary however the staff were amazing in every department despite the condition of the hotel.

    The bed was awesome! Very big and comfy. The staff were amazing in every department

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv signal was shocking and very limited channels.

    Comfy beds, clean all around the hotel and in the room, excellent location, lovely pool with the little shade houses. Staff were really polite and helpful. Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member who was a grey headed, middle aged man - he shouldn’t be in this profession.

    The staff member was an incredibly rude man. We needed a hotel last minute as we had driven 12 hours to cairns before a flight in the morning. We booked just before midnight for that evening and checked in just after midnight. The man stated because it was a new day that our booking was invalid and there was no room for us. He didn’t even try to help. My partner went in as I had to go tend to our baby and managed to get our room for us at an increased cost. I was really looking forward to getting a few hours rest there because I’ve heard the Rydges hotels are wonderful but this man ruined my whole experience. The parking was very easy, the room was large and had everything we needed. The beds were appalling though - mine had a massive crater in the middle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is definitely one of the older ones in Cairns as evidence by the wear-and-tear on the rooms/grounds. The night audit staff who checked us in at 1am could not have been any more of a condescending and rude individual (the day staff were terrific).

    The location was amazing, literally maximum 5 minute walk to whatever you may need. 10 Minutes via taxi from the airport. The hotel restaurant/bar was spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room meeds uodated, the furniture was very old fashioned, the bathroom mustve been about 30 years old and looked it and the aircon didnt work

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet smelled very musty could not turn down air conditioner had to turn it off.

    Room was a goid size with tea and coffee making facilities. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I paid just to stay one night, I’m not impressed. Room was majorly outdated, tiles were coming loose on the tiny balcony, breakfast the next morning was average. Please update your rooms and fix general maintenance stuff.

    Great location, adequate staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was supposed to be deluxe. Parts of the popcorn ceiling were falling off. The carpet was sticky and dirty. The balcony is a ledge and calling it a balcony is misleading. Overall, the room felt dirty and obviously, the hotel needs to be updated. Although the bathroom has been updated the bath looked like it was the original and felt dirty. The advertising for the hotel is misleading. The fire alarm in the morning was a joke. There was no staff to inform guests what was going on and had it been a real fire would have been a disaster. So unprofessional. I would never stay at this hotel again.

    The view from the room and the reception staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on one night we had a false fire alert and we were forced to evacuate the hotel. I know what can we do but it was annoying.

    The hotel is located in the center. 10 minutes walking distance from the bay area and the reef terminal. 20 minutes taxi drive from the airport. and very close to the walking area. The staff is awesome, they are friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was okay, I had there what I need. Clean and comfortable bed. They serve a nice breakfast. Hot dishes like bean, bacon, tomato, different cakes and cookies. The surrounding area is busy if you look after shops or restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horribly dusty and torn carpets in corridors. Sagging ceiling panels in the ensuite, various large bits of dirt etc in the light fixture in the ceiling. Shower was old and didn't work well, tiles broken, mould stains in the shower recess and rust on the ceiling panels, bottom of ensuite door eaten away so much that there was a actual hole right through it, most of the bottom of the door was worn away. Shower curtain old and worn. Clothes line in shower old and mould stained. Curtains in room were old and tattered and did not hang on hooks or cover the window when closed. Housekeeping was not the best. Did not make the beds fresh, just pulled the top sheet over and smoothed it out. Made up the beds but didn't put all the cushions back on, just left them on the floor where we had put them along with the runner that sits on the bed usually. These details are important when staying in any hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, despite the very lackluster condition of the hotel and room. Always a smile, though maybe sometimes abrupt but there were some that were very accommodating and always had a smile.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from my balcony wasn't the greatest but that's not why I was there anyway.

    The size of the room was much larger than I expected it to be. The bathroom was modern in style and had recently been refurbished. I really liked the Comfortable bed and soft pillows. Central location in the CBD, a little distance from the main esplanade but that just made it more quiet at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rust & mould on the bathroom ceiling. The ceiling near entrance of door was warped as if the ceiling was going to fall in. I paid good money I expect better living conditons. Mould free!

    The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The waffles with golden syrup was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning system is set too cold. Balcony sliding window does open for fresh air, but when you do that in Cairns wet season the condensation in the room is excessive and a real problem. It means you can’t leave the window open for natural air and temperature and have to cope with very cold air conditioning.

    Very good comfortable and quality rooms; excellent location in mid Cairns city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Comfy beds, a lack of choice of tea in room, poor not to cater for customers that like green, camomile, peppermint etc. Elevator is like a ride at amusment park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was outdated, the air con couldn’t be altered, the bathroom was outdated and had rust and mould and when the room was ‘made up’ they only changed towels

    The pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place.....very run down and very very dirty

    The whole place was disgusting so dirty and gross definitely not worth the money we paid The best part was the pool area and one staff member was very friendly the rest didn’t look like they wanted to be there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed & was no way value for money. Corridor carpet was ripped, room door had large sections of paint peeling, fridge was rusty, curtains did not close properly. If u pulled one way it would let light in from other end. The toilet roll holder was old & pitted. Three different colour white tiles in shower where they have fixed cracked tiles but not matched. The room also smelt. We are not fussy people & stay in accomodation often but I would only pay $75- $100 for a room like this & I don't understand how they get away with charging $155.

    Position

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and overall hotel was old & rundown the couch was very uncomfortable in our room the bathroom was old, paint chipped every where, the room had nothing to eat with in it ...it was the 2nd part of our honeymoon & we were very disappointed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying an extra $10 for parking, should mention it when you book or at least include it in the overall price before arriving.

    Good location, close to everything especially restaurants or bars. Easy to get to, and the staff were helpful. Room was clean and the beds were actually comfortable considering the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Completely ripped off. Stayed there New Years Eve - the bar was closed all night and even in the afternoon. No breakfast included and they expected us to pay a further $37 each on top of the $329 for the room. Parking was not free and even the water was an extra 50 cents per bottle at check out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture showing their age. Maybe time for an upgrade...

    Very friendly staff, warm and welcoming. Good clean facilities. Great location great views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould all over the room, air con didn't work so we couldn't sleep in the heat, the lifts to go up and down are extremely slow and you have to wait in the really hot and sweaty hall way, breakfast was extremely average

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was very loud. Bathroom door did not close. Shower head was next to useless. Wifi did not work.

    Location. Room was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was very old and used, and the room was a bit dirty and needed a renovation. Every wall had black spots, the drawers had marks from a water damage, the fridge rust on the outside. The bathroom looked like it was from the 80s.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was light and spacious. The breakfast was very nice and the staff was friendly and welcoming. With the room you can see that they try hard, but can't really reach their goal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C is well below par. This (like the other Rydges in Cairna) has a pre-set A/C temperature. Not good enough. Not nearly cool enough and it struggled against the humidity

    Not a lot. This property needs a comprehensive redevelopment. Staff friendly and courteous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not look like anything like the pictures I saw online, old property hence pricey. The hotel charged my card twice and had to deal with it with utmost inconvenience. Would never stay in this Hotel again.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very outdated and scruffy and had a funny smell to it! Definitely in need of some desperate renovation. However it wasn't too bad for a quick overnight stay. Cant really say anything on the hotel facilities as we didn't use them.

    It was near the marina - only a five minute walk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated, Adult shop in view from pool, not a good look with children, received a baby cot, not roll away bed for 10 year old

    Beds were really comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy room. Mould on curtains, tired and run down room with cracked tiles and mould in bathroom. Disgusting grime in face washer basket and on cupboards. Air con blew hot air in first room and froze us in second room.

    The reception area was classy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival car park was full, which meant we had to park on the street, which meant as we were planning a late night, we had to be up early the next morning to feed the parking meter. Very disappointed as we always pick places with off street parking, which we are happy to pay for, fir this reason and also security of our vehicle.

    Staff were very polite, also very quick to change our room and apologise when the tv would not work. Also gave us a couple of free drink tickets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in like always. I go to Woolworth and pay with my own money, why they don’t ask for my ID or passport? Why then to stay over for a sleep?? This procedure should be simplied for god sake

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't in the best condition rust in and around taps and tiles in the bathroom. Door to balcony was very hard to move. The doors had marks on them and the wardrobe doors had marks and cuts on them.

    Staff were very freindly and approachable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light was broken and couldn’t be fixed for 2 more days. We were getting ready in pitch black and going to toilet from a torch light off our phone.

    The view was good and the aircon works like a gem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel needs to be renovated. There’s rust around taps and on ceiling in bathroom. The room looks tired in that it needs a good paint and new curtains that don’t stick to the tracks. Also need to have wine glasses not just water glasses and maybe a bowl or plate and cutlery.

    I didn’t have breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its an old bulding and you can see that everywhere... despite the non smoking plolicy there where lots of cigarette buts on our balkony, they should put some sort of a protection shield over these balconies

    close to Esplanade

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent, the place was clean and felt fresh, the location perfect walking distance from everything; the air conditioning was set at a perfect temperature and wasn't too noisy. The parking was a challenge, however security felt excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 409 was awful, Ridges generally have great comfortable beds, this room was not the case. The mouldy curtains and wet smell didn't help the situation as well as the broken cold shower tap! I think they need to shut this room down and renovate immediately

    Not much this time

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is run down and needs some TLC. Breakfast wasn't great value.

    The bed was comfy. All linen was clean and fresh. Staff were all very helpful and polite. Handy location for Cairns City.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is too high for a room that seems budget these days. The bathroom needs updating and a better clean. Would of been happier if it were cheaper. No lunch time menu or bar

    It was close to everything. 11am check out was good. They let us check in early which was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a huge disappointment! We have had breakfast there before and really enjoyed it but this time was a total rip off. We left feeling extremely unhappy with the whole thing. Will think twice before having breakfast there again.. $27.50 you'd expect a decent feed

    The bed was amazing the room was clean and comfy. The service friendly and helpful. Have stayed before.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms looked old outdated and unkept. There was even large chunks of paint missing from the front door as we entered. Needs a lot of money to update units

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible. Rooms are old fashioned and need renovating. Bathroom roof mouldy and rusty. Staff weren't clear at all about payment or tell me where my room was etc

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, cleanliness, sauna didn't work and was filthy I was given key to check it because staff at front counter "didn't know anything about sauna as she has never used one",room smelt , and overall hotel is in bad condition.

    Pool was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central air conditioning - aircon was freezing!! Couldn't adjust-only option was 'Off' or 'ON'. Slept with jeans, socks and jumper!!!!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got denied access to my room after hours. Friend attempted to come in. Told room is booked for 2 and someone is already in the room. Pay extra or don't come in. Felt like a child or a back packer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem about the payment thru the epos machine at receptionist. The internet lines were hopeless kept saying my card declined wasnt happy with this. Had to wait and pay for my account when checking out - not good. Felt annoyed at this - need better connection lines.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs upgrade. Carpet badly stained. Second time I have booked accommodation with online discount firms and have been given poor quality accommodation. The advertising of these products doesn’t live up to the reality. Reduced price seems to equal worst rooms. Will book directly with Accommodation from now on.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote held together with blue tack problem switching on. Coffee table had broken leg took three days to change it. Some wooden Boards around swimming pool coming away from side of pool,and the staff cleaning rooms need to know how to use a vacuum cleaner we had some tissue on the floor in bathroom for 8 of our 9 day stay.In sort hotel could do with serious make over

    Very little if it not been for reception would have walked out

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    asked for an measly extra half hour stay for time after the official 11amr checkout and got standard "NO" reply so felt rushed and just another worthless client . so no i wouldn't rush back to stay here again

    carpets were so old and smelly outside the rooms and bathrooms are worn and dated. not worth the rating shown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Curtins on shower weren't great and ended up with water all over the floor. And the toilet leaked.

    Very close to everything in town. All within working distance to market and the esplanade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is so old and bad,y in need of a Reno in the rooms. Mismatched tiles in bathroom...dirty carpet, chipped paint on walls. On,y there for one night...enough!!

    Beds are fantastic!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the cost, not a lot.

    Very helpful staff, good location for town and surroundings, excellent and pristine swimming pool. Excellent value for money for Cairns.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely dirty. Mould in Bathroom Tiles in Bathroom dirty. Carpets filthy. Noisy aircon. Hotel needs major cleaning and revamp. Would not recommend. Stayed in better motels.

    Location. But Hotel a disgrace for the Rydges Brand.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and needs to have major refurbish Mold ! Paint peeling in bathroom Noisy Would never stay here again Not value for money Star rating should be 2 at best

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment in need of update. Carpet stained and old... needs replacing. Toilet cracked.

    Clean and comfortable. Close to everything. Nice balcony but too small to sit and have a glass of wine. Pool area is really lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very old and dated with broken tiles etc (clean but needs a facelift)

    The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. the foyer is a smart and friendly space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pictures on the internet look completely different. It was worn and old from outside and rooms were especially bathroom. We did get moved however were disappointed overall with the stay. We paid alot of money and don't feel we got the value.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night manager was rude and too busy watching movies to let the hotel guests inside. Last time i stayed here, he tried to ask a visitor of mine for 50$ or he would not let him in the door. Doesnt sound like proper protocol to me. Definitely wont be staying here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dingy, bathroom mouldy and ceiling had mould and dirt around the air con. Would not recommend this hotel as the room was not to an acceptable standard, it was dated and poorly maintained.

    The staff were polite and helpful. Pool area lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed rolled to the middle, mold everywhere (cupboards, shower curtains on the walls) no temperature control on air conditioner so either have it freezing cold or not on my partner got sick from it. Rooms definitely did not match pictures on booking.com

    Great shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The disgusting mould on the ceiling and the air-conditioning that sounded as loud as a motor mower idling...to the point I had no air con on, otherwise I couldn't sleep, and I woke up with my asthma triggered by the mould. DISGUSTING and a serious beach of health conditions.

    Staff were lovely and helpful...or tried to be. They couldn't fix the mould on the ceiling! Location was great. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its a very old building bathroom fixtures very old I had a loose shower head and it was very noisy one night as there was a pool party booking lots of young people in the hotel around lobby etc.

    the bed was very comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 11pm we were told to evacuate because of fire over the internal speaker system When we went into the hallway to proceed to the exit another couple staying on the same floor got out of the lift and told us it was a false alarm and to go back to our room. At no time did any of the staff contact us.Next morning I complianed to the receptioist and was told it was a false alarm in the kitchen and she appologised.Not good enough.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't really anything that we didn't like. The rooms are a little tired looking and could do with a refurb, but didn't stop us from enjoying our stay. Basically, if you wanted 5 star, then you would probably go elsewhere, but we weren't after 5 star, so suited us fine. We were after location.

    Location was great, staff very friendly, bed super comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: