Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rydges Sydney Central 4.5 stars

28 Albion Street, Surry Hills, Sydney CBD, 2010 Sydney, Australia

#116 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1758 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    The food in Sydney.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in Sydney. Competes on the world stage for gastronomy. The Risotto here, and the rich chocolate mousse after were magnificent. Considering I had lunch at “chiswick”. That’s a bold statement....!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The bed was amazing, room service food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms got a bit stuffy as I could not seem to get a window open.

    The bed was amazing, room service food was delicious. The breakfast buffet was cheap and included a barista coffee which was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Convenient, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in our room had no power. We were told about this but it might have been nice of be offered compensation, as I paid to upgrade to that room. It was very noisy, lots of banging and loud guests checking out at 6:30am.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    Nothing great about it overpriced
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was overcharged on my credit card for stay which I had to pay fee then they refunded the money and I was charged again loud noise in room from renovations like sum 1 was jack hammering the wall in the room at 8 in the morning

    Nothing great about it overpriced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great comfortable bed was awesome room comfortable and just what we needed. Easy walk to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy due to reno going on but that can be overlooked. Someone's room service tray stayed in the corridor for nearly a night and full day that was a bit foul.

    Fantastic bed omg the comfort A+. Great location easy walk to everything the city has to offer. Restaurant a bit disappointing very limited menu and for winter not much on offer. In all though we would most definitely be staying again Thanks to all the great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Was great because I got a good rate ($100-120?)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathroom Took 40!minutes to fill bath Awful shower head. Terrible water pressure. Either boiling HOT or freezing COLD. Pretty annoying really

    Great king bed, AV and lighting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    I was very happy with my stay and will be staying again
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the cafe could have more variety of a menu. Everything else was great.

    Variety menu for breakfast and dinner. Friendliness. Facilities available to guest spa, pool, gym and even a cafe to have lunch. Room were a great size and a good size bathroom. Peaceful night sleep. Very pleased.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being told about the discount breakfast rate on arrival. When we found out about it we went elsewhere.

    Very clean and comfortable. Always does the job.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing as have stayed several times before and have been happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty carpet, sheets did not fit bed so wouldn't tuck in, air conditioning wouldn't cool below 19.

    Friendly staff and restaurant on level 1 was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    The room and location were fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff ruined our stay The hotel offers discount on full breakfast if you book and pay on checkin The full breakfast is 32 dollars but is 25 dollars if you pay at the check in It is on the large sliding sign behind the check in desk We accepted the offer but the next morning the woman at the restaurant denied any knowledge of the deal interrupted our breakfast constantly Asked me to pay the difference of the discount which I refused We were supposed to have barista coffee which also wasn't given In the end we didn't finish breakfast as our appetite was gone We complained at the check out desk but nothing was done I suggested they educate the other staff on what the hotel was offering I was so disappointed as our stay had been fine until then The woman only had to ring the desk if she didn't know but kept questioning us like we were criminals She had our booking but still was confused 😩

    The room and location were fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location great as to walking distance from Central Railway Station and Murrays Bus arrival /departure point. Was able to check in at 8am to our room when booking condition was 2pm, reception staff extremely customer focused, friendly and informative of facilities of hotel and surrounding area. Sauna and pool facilities very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Poor, un-Australian and unwelcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, we were charged $4.00 for the room key. This was not refunded on return of the key, nor was it taken from or included in the cost of the room. The staff were abrupt at the front desk. The welcome at the restaurant was cold and there was no-one to greet us on arrival. After checkout the following morning, we were no longer allowed to access the restaurant for lunch, whilst we waited for our onward travel - we had to eat elsewhere, being guests to the city, this was most unwelcome and un-Australian. Would not recommend this facility to others, unless they change their bedside manner.

    The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We were allowed a late checkout to accommodate our onward travel, and they minded the bags (as they should anyway).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    I stayed in the accessibility suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the accessibility suite. With only a handheld shower head, the layout of the bathroom and slope of the floor meant the the floor of the bathroom was flooded after a shower making getting dried and dressed in the bathroom difficult. Using the bathroom afterwards felt unsafe due to the excess of water on the floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.8
    Very unpleasant with bad customer service and uncomfortable stay with room beside very loud lifts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on the desk was so rude. I forgot my drivers license checking in and she made such a scene. Not the nicest welcome, thankfully there was a lovely gentleman who looked after us. Our room was beside the lift which was so loud. It was very hard to sleep and was woken up first thing in the morning with people leaving/going for breakfast. Reception area has an awful smell.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    The mould damp needs to be rectified. It’s a shame as the staff were efficient and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was damp and mouldy. It was disappointing that you had to pay for extra car parking after 1pm particularly as you’d paid $44 for the night already. Very expensive in comparison to other properties. In comparison to other properties it was over priced.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    My sister & I had a great time & would stay again... the buffet breakfast was great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer area had fluff, dirt & dust on the floor, plants & piano & what appeared the be half swept floors & the pile collected left.

    Great bed, fantastic decor & super friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our time with Rydges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was the two elevators catering for all floors. You could be waiting patiently for a few minutes especially during peak times. But nothing you couldn't plan around.

    The hotel catered for everything we needed. Super comfy bed and very clean spacious rooms. Only a 5 minute walk from the train station or China Town, or 5 minute cab/uber ride to the waterfront. We even joined the loyalty program and received a complimentary drink. Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Best location in Sydney, short walk back from the SCG after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Best location in Sydney, short walk back from the SCG after the swans game, great eateries within walking distance, newly refurbished pool and spa which we didn’t get to use this time but definitely next time, as well as the micro brewery which will hopefully be open!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Excellent and would not stay anywhere else if in Sydney again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem that we had was that the room was very warm at night - we are used to cooler temperatures. Many folk may appreciate it.

    We loved the location close to Central Station and also easy walk to all the tourist sites that we wanted to visit. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed our stay ad would certainly stay again if we return to Sydney.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall not bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets were bumpy and Bathroom items were not complete for eg; No cotton buds, No body cream etc. ICC was not walkable distance.

    Staff were helpful and internet was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    It was good close to central station and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hmmm there mould on the walls of the shower, been there a while and the floor was cleaned but not up to the skirting board as such, so I think the cleaning could be improved

    It was good close to central station and convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great location, comfy beds and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was advertised on booking.com as having a bath in room and no bath. Discussed with reception who said they would look into it after showing them pic of booking with bath listed.

    Great location, comfy beds and pillows

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great location and service
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults with this motel

    We loved everything about this motel , the staff were very professional and friendly , the service was fantastic the room was comfortable and very clean we cant wait to stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Minor inconveniences, but overall pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no bath in our room even though baths were advertised, and there was extensive loud construction noises early in the morning. I did make a complaint about this and the lovely staff moved us to a room further from the construction and into a room with a bath, as well us giving us free breakfast. They also advertise 24hr room service, but after 9pm the only thing you can order are fries, one curry and like one flavour of pizza.

    The breakfast buffet was so luxurious and had a wide range of hot food, pastries, fruit, and beverages. Would definitely recommend grabbing breakfast here rather than going to a restaurant. The bed very comfy and the hair dryer was very good quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom had mould in the tiles where you showered , as well as the windows. the carpet had lumps and bumps where it did not sit properly. I understand that the hotel was going through refurbish but someone should had made a inspection to make certain that it was of a high standard.

    we where central to the city . access to the Darling harbour was excellent ;to walk there was a enjoyable experience ; knowing shops where open to 7 pm was great. I really enjoyed my stay . the staff very informative, friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall Convenient and Comfy! I enjoyed my stay and would return!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the meals were a little overpriced for what they were... But the burger meal was delicious :) The dirty dishes were sat outside my door for a bit long that it made it feel a bit dirty when i was coming back to my room and them still being present from the night before on the following day.

    Bed was comfy. Loved the welcome greeting on the tv as I entered my room! Check In staff were lovely, check out staff were professional but could have been a little more friendlier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great sized room, heaps of space for ten two of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great sized room, heaps of space for ten two of us. Underground parking. Great indoor pool and spa. Location was perfect as we were in town to watch Priscilla and just a short walk from the Capitol Theatre. Great little brew pub down the street and Chur burger right next door!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.5
    Extremely dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not clean particularly bathroom in need of refurbishment and not very clean. I have photographs of the state of the bathroom. Room was smelly.Air conditioning used as heater took hours to heat up room.Fire alarm went off at two o clock in the night and evacuation of hotel necessary. No explanation of reason for alarm from staff. The only reason we booked this hotel was because we stayed at the Rydges in Brisbane which was excellent.This hotel needs a thorough refurbishment to improve the standard. We paid twenty five dollars for a breakfast which was not very good. We were told that if we required a second cup of tea or coffee we would have to pay extra for it. Night staff unhelpful re fire alarm scenario. Very dissapointed with this hotel. I am now going to complain to the Rydges management.

    Very little

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Quiet and comfortable room. Good gym and pool. Very close to central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conference room now built on communal outdoor area. No property outdoor smoking area. Must now relocate to street to smoke.

    Quiet room. Very little traffic noise. Comfortable bed. Slept well! 5 min walk to central station. Foxtel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Poor mattress and bad sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad mattress. We used sigle beds and the mattress were too soft and weak that it felt like the body sink in the mattress. Truly worst mattress ever.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, close to the station, easy walking distance for nice restaurants etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels provided, but asked for extra so that was fine, same with milk for tea making.

    Staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Nice pool area, had it to ourselves. Comfy beds, slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    the pool was heaps pretty and relaxing and the beds were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i wish it was abit closer to darling harbour but still not too far

    the pool was heaps pretty and relaxing and the beds were so comfy could sleep the whole stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location but not worth the money paid. Glad we were only staying overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t cleaned properly, The whole place was a bit dirty and smelt bad. I Called housekeeping to get some fresh towels to the room, They never came. I don’t think it was worth the money we paid. Unfortunately We Won’t stay at Rydges central again.

    The location was great. The staff on the front desk were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk between the hotel and darling harbour ! Although , I am a bit of a slow walker! About a 15-20min total

    We loved the staff ! Our tv had some sensor issues and they were quick to get it fixed for us in a matter of minutes! They also have me complementary desert for my birthday! Loved it!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Well priced and attractive room close to Central station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise on the Albion/ Elizabeth side. I would request a quieter room next time. Also, the door looked like it had been kicked in: it was slightly buckled and was a little difficult to open (521). I Also requested 'green'housekeeping but found my room made up and towels replaced even after leaving the label on the door.

    The refurbishment and particularly the upholstery fabric. The bed was super comfortable and the bar/restaurant on the first floor was convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Trip around Austrailia last let syd.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great locstion a five min walk from north concourse at central station. You cross road and walk down hill and first turn right and its there .trains and bus system brilliant .no need for a car as parking very expensive in city .hotel 44 dlrs a night steep.

    Resturant and bar was great .limited food menu but it was good. Pool was good to have after sightseeing all day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay with easy transport access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Discount on meals bought at the attached restaurant was not applied at check out. Did not notice until after we had left. However it was resolved within 8 hours of contact by email. Suggest you check off the mini bar list on arrival and each day as we were charged for items we had not used. Again this was resolved promptly.

    Friendly helpful staff, very big comfortable bed, view of Central Station, easy access to Central Station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a wheelchair user the beds were extraordinarily high! Plus with two singles there wasn’t much room for wheelchair in main room.

    Friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were immediately pleased as soon as we checked in, the staff (Poppy in particular!) were so helpful, kind and supportive. My sister and I were so pleased and could not have asked for a better experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Other than the bad info given on Anzac day, we enjoyed out stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were advised by staff on Anzac day that the bar/restaurant would not be open due to licencing laws. We went out in the morning and returned at lunch time to see the bar was open but there was a sign announcing a function for servicemen etc. We were not worried about that, thinking the girl had just made a mistake about the reasons the bar was not open to the public. We went out again later, WALKING FOREVER, to find a decent bar/restaurant only to return to the hotel later and the bar there WAS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC. We were extremely cross and angry about this as we had enjoyed the last two nights there and would have been much happier to have gone there instead of traipsing around the streets of Sydney. Definitely not happy about this.

    Good location and we loved the adjoining bar/restaurant/gaming room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    The guy that checked us in was delightful bubbly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy that checked us in was delightful bubbly and very friendly. The guy at the desk when we checked out was very rude no personality, no smile no nothing did not even say thank you or have a good day, we got nothing out of him he was very abrupt when talking. Think his name started with a U. He is enough for me to not want to stay at the Rydges again. Especially after just traveling America for 4 weeks and staying at 7 hotels including a night at the Rydges airport before we left, we have not once experienced bad customer service like we did at the Rydges Sydney Central. Grout in bathroom needs a good scrub otherwise the room was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    I would go there again, the staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the restaurant could have a better menu, not much of a choice. The breakfast was not hotand we had to ask a couple of times for food that had run out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street noise pretty heavy Friday night and lots of banging from doors Sat morning, not good for a sleep in, but who wants to anyway! Sat night much better.

    Great location. Lots of lovely little hidden cafes near by, including a really nice Vegan café. Easy access to public transport. Room very spacious and comfy. Went for the Footy and found the bus to get there super easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing, 5/10 even though the very good personnel+cleanliness make Booking give a higher grade
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Taxis refuse to drive between the station and the Rydges as they are very close. When we booked a taxi at the reception desk for the next day, the lady told us that there was no guarantee the driver would accept to drive us to the station. My mother and I were very uncomfortable walking at night around a neighborhood that we did not know, especially as they are people sleeping in the street not far from the hotel. We felt that a 4-star hotel should ensure its guests that taxis drive them where needed, or provide for a driving service. - Our room had a very strong musty smell and we could not switch off the air-conditioning, so my mother could not sleep. The musty smell was unbearable and dangerous for allergic people, we could not have stayed one more night. - Also, stairs and no help in front of the entrance make it difficult when you have luggage.

    We are travelling by train around Australia to see the landscapes and we stayed one night at the Rydges. - Our room and towels were very clean. - We arrived around 9 p.m. and ate at the hotel restaurant where the personnel was very nice. - After check-out the man at the reception desk was also very helpful and went to talk to our taxi to make sure the driver would take us to the station, even though it was close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Across the road from central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of parking. Dirty shower that leaked. Rotten door in bathroom. Price of breakfast was too much at $32 per person. No windows opened. A/c made a loud noise.

    Across the road from central station. Bed and pillows were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    staff are great, rooms clean, bathrooms need work, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grouting in bathroom awful, black and green, bathed with lights off and hallway light on room was fine Very strange and strong smell in lobby and lifts...some kind of air freshener....not very nice really...not very nice

    staff very professional responsive and polite. we had some food delivered and it sat at reception for over an hour, but discovered it was courier not hotel staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.2
    Very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super noisy, the room faces a road with lots of traffic. I am usually a hard sleeper and my room was on the third floor, but I was woken up by the loud noise both nights

    Very comfty bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is ideally situated for visiting all the attractions of Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to say on this

    The bed was wonderful, large and very comfortable and given we had come off a flight from the UK just what was needed. The staff were helpful answered all our queries and there was a comprehensive breakfast when required. The location of the hotel is great as it is easy to travel into the city, take the train or the light railway from central station, just up the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room, great gym, pool and sauna. The reception were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on 4th floor but noise from street level and balconies on the first floor sounded like the persons were standing outside our window. Both window and main door could do with better sound insulation. Bed though large was not very comfortable and the sheets didn’t fit well and kept rising up.

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Great stay at Rydges Central Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. If anything, one of the bath towels was a little worn and thin, but that is very minor.

    Good, central location. Excellent staff, who were very attentive. Nice little restaurant/bar with good value meals. Very comfortable king size bed and room. Would definitely return and recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Warm, comfortable with only short walk to dinner. Pleased my "friend" quite a lot too ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath? I couldn't find it? Hahhahaha. Drop the price 10% like a Bunnings match please

    Extra cozy room, quite large. Super comfortable bed, an overall great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    looking forward to come back
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good no complaints

    bed was lovely room had lots of space . pool and sauna great. location convenient. Will stay there when I do another course in Sydney. restaurant next door had great food. Lovely part of Sydney. lunch at course was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a taxi as front desk staff member said that uber have surge prices, shame we were not told it would cost $50 for a 15 minute ride!

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    We'll most definitely return😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    We were very happy with facilities overall, and particularly happy with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff - made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    paid $20 for an upgrade & pleased with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on the 10th floor. The entire length of our stay, one of only two lifts was not working. Always had to wait for the one working lift. the one lift was always packed with people etc. Needed better lighting in the room.

    paid $20 for an upgrade & pleased with the room. Very comfortable king size bed The location was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Sydney, great price for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The exterior windows are poorly soundproofed - beakfast and parking are expensive

    Great hotel close of central station + price for value + equipments in the room + great staff + shops and restaurant in the proximity + pool and sauna free + very clean + cofee in the room, fridge and hairdresser + airco

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    It was cute but frustrating for the budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was inconsistent. I called to enquirer about parking where I was told it was free and upon checkout I was told I owed $44. If I was given proper information I could have caught the train or parked on the street.

    I enjoyed the breakfast and the bed itself

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and efficient and willing to go...
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there only overnight so we didn't find anything to not like, but if our experience of the staff, room and breakfast was the normal than I don't think we would find anything to not like.

    The staff were very friendly and efficient and willing to go the extra mile to help us. The room was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed, the buffet breakfast was very good an abundance of food and a very good variety including a gluten free selection. The hotel is close to the Central Station and to other transportation and the other attractions of Sydney.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Just a short stroll from Central Station and public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a short stroll from Central Station and public transport to anywhere. Staff excellent. Lovely pool and spotless gym facilities. Beds in rooms set up just as requested. Looked after our bags for the day when we checked out, until we returned to catch the train to home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    It was OK overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to hotel difficult for after hours entry made it difficult to check in. Front desk staff provided less than the bare minimum service. Opening the front door seemed like a chore. No greeting, welcome or a smile. Confusion with payment, mistake with bed type selected online added to poor initial experience. Check out staff were great.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Check out staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    The only negative was that our room was on the second floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that our room was on the second floor and we were kept up by trucks driving passed the whole night. For $365 per night this was disgraceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    After initial hiccup of being given a room that hadn’t been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I think breakfast should have been included and the mini bar items were quite expensive so we didn’t use any of those...even the bottled water.

    After initial hiccup of being given a room that hadn’t been cleaned from previous guest we were upgraded to a suite....which was very nice, spacious and very clean. Staff were very apologetic for the mix up. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, not city centre but close enough to walk...we even walked to the Opera House...quite a walk, but lovely. Train station and bus stops close by, small grocery store on the corner of the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.3
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, unclean, kettle but no cups, service was appalling - valet parking required us to go inside and organise it - not exactly valet. Very disappointed and would not recommend or stay there again

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The fact I was given a $10 good and bevearge voucher in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I was given a $10 good and bevearge voucher in the middle of the night while I was asleep and checking out the next morning saying I could redeem it, when I went to use it on check out for breakfast they said I couldn't use it for that only for the bar and mini bar. Well why give me the voucher in the first place knowing I was not staying another night. Was not happy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable & Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room keys didnt work but was rectified quickly

    The room facilties & service were all vety goid I would stay again and would recommended to friends

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location but wished I had gotten more sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone had purposefully set our room alarm to 12:00am and woke us up. The front desk staff never apologised but said they would “look into it”. There was also a tray of dirty room service plates sitting in the hallway for over 24 hours.

    The bed was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Compfy bed and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noice level of the surroundings and possibly other guests. Reception staff didn't direct us where to go to find our room, just put our card on the desk and said we could go to our room.

    Compfy bed and pillows

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    A great stay central to what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a superior room on our return from the cruise we did not mind twin beds but they were so narrow I was scared of falling out I have never seen such narrow beds. That was the only dissapointment.

    Clean and quiet. Our room was ready really early which was a great surprise as we had come off a cruise ship early morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Great Easter Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room temperature of 22 was a bit too warm for our liking and no matter how much we tried to adjust the thermostat it kept defaulting to 22

    The location of the hotel and the comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel if want something close enough to the city but also out of the mayhem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had wonderful service from Ben at the front desk. I arrived very early on March 29th. I inquired about a early check in. Not only was I given a room, I was given a upgrade. All done with the most pleasant attitude. Over the 4 nights I stayed every inquiry I asked about at the front desk was met with a professional attitude and no question was too small. I also received help from the concierge. When I had trouble contacting Air Canada in Sydney the concierge used her phone in which I was able to speak directly to Air Canada and resolve my question. As far as the room...I was very happy with it. It was large and will equipped with all the things you need when traveling. Wonderful black out curtains. The only comment I could suggest is that a fan be installed over the elliptical machines in the work out room as the air con does not seem to cool the room from that far away. For me it was a perfect place to stay ....close enough to Sydney to walk, but even closer to the train station if you choose to get in quick, and handy when you need to go to the airport. Also, the outside of the hotel is mostly quiet because you are out of the center of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great. All the hotels in Sydney are quite pricey and i feel like this was good value for money based on the alternatives. The location by the train station was very handy. Most the major destinations are very easy to get to from here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Signed up to be a member with extra privileges and will include Rydges in 'My Favourites"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the light rail constructions going on in the district but should improve when completed.

    A few minutes walk to Central Station and then onto Capitol Theatre, China Town and Darling Harbour. Staff (especially Mara) was so helpful, and the bed, Very, very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Will Come Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, two minutes walk to train station. Also walk to all of Surry Hills great pubs and cafes. Larger than usual room with plenty of room for two people to spread their gear out. They even held our bags in storage as we had things to do after check out. will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall Great place is a little expensive but nice for a treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To send my small piece of lost property home, local to NSW was going to cost me. I've opted to go and collect or pay but maybe that a an unfair judgment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were excellent. They were so friendly and understanding and met all my requests. The reception desk had someone on it 24 hours which was very helpful. I stayed during Mardi Gras and the hotel was very busy but when you were in your room you couldn't hear any outside noise which was great for catching up on well needed sleep. Beds were also very comfortable and having black out blinds in the room was a great bonus! The location was ideal, close to public transport or a short uber/taxi ride away from everything. Would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rydges Sydney Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: