1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Northern Territory hotel reviews
  4. Ayers Rock hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Sails in the Desert

Reviews of Sails in the Desert This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Yulara Drive, Yulara, 0872 Ayers Rock, Australia

#4 of 5 hotels in Ayers Rock

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 638 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2021

    7.0
    Over rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s overpriced , the breakfast and dinner are only buffets and the room service presents problems. My breakfast order never arrived and my dinner order was incorrect .

    All accomodation at Ayers Rock resort are in close proximity to the town centre . Sails is closer than most and has a pool. The staff are friendly and helpful but it’s obviously suffered from Covid -19 as it has some issues .

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2021

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small pool .

    Design and gardens and rooms were beautifully done.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2021

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small problem but my room key card did not work at first instance. That's nitpicking but I don't have any other noticeable issue.

    Stay was comfortable. Staff was good.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2021

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was slow/ staff had to be prompted to bring food/drinks. Do appreciate however that covid-19 has had an impact.

    Fantastic room. Close to Uluru. Lots of activities.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was slow despite a lot of staff around. Pretty expensive but expected because of the isolation

    Sails is the centre of all the action. I m glad we paid the extra to stay here as its where all the facilities are such as bar, restaurant, spa etc

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2021

    8.0
    Great to experience the Rock again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were left without toilet paper on the second day....very unimpressive. the tea that we were using was not replenished and we had to ring down to reception to get some. The food at the buffet was very very basic and dry. Not a 4-star dining experience. I doubt it would have passed 1-star rating. That the bar was shut at 10pm. Given it was the only bar at the resort at the moment and there was no minibar this made the stay feel much more barren than the price tag required.

    I have been many times to the resort and choose Sails for the pool with bar, which was still nice. This time because of COVID there were no alternative accommodations so it didn't feel like a luxury upgrade compared to staying at the apartments.

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2020

    9.0
    We enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Flies

    Very nice facilities. Well decorated

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2020

    8.0
    on the whole a fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There needs to be a more in-depth notice board re pick ups for trips and transport to airport to avoid having to go outside with all the FLIES! It would have been nice that there was some sort of 'spray' upon entering the hotel that would have killed off the flies that travelled into the hotel with each person as many people were not vigilant at swatting them away before entering the hotel

    The hotel was lovely and the staff very attentive from booking in to the cleaning staff. The choice at breakfast was amazing. The cleanliness of the rooms was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2020

    6.7
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room cleaning service waking us at 7.30 two mornings and the one morning we went to the rock for sunrise our room was not cleaned

    The pool

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2020

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst we didn't have breakfast included in our package, we did have one morning where we paid $88 for the full breakfast. I found it a little dissapointing that the tea was stewed and when I asked for a latte it was going to be charged in addition to the $ 88, so I declined.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2020

    8.0
    Great place to stay !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The drink prices were a little excessive . The restaurant bill was incomplete both nights and then added to our rooms . Second night not contacted about mistake and just added to bill .

    Room was large with 2 double beds , Food exceeded expectations , The Buffet Tea was excellent . All the staff we encountered were well presented and more than willing to go the extra mile . Pool area was clean and very well presented.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2020

    8.0
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only criticism is that the corridors, rooms and fittings are a little old and tired.

    The staff are fabulous - very helpful. The reception staff were great at helping with booking trips and making restaurant reservations, and the poolside barman was attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2020

    7.0
    I had a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress needs replacing. We didn’t mention it to the guest services so we didn’t really provide an opportunity for rectification however they do definitely require replacing as it was no longer flat. The hotel was rated 5 star however I feel it is probably more in line with 4 star.

    The room was larger than expected

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2020

    7.0
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs for shelter around pool.

    Rooms were large and comfortable, and air conditioner quiet

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2020

    8.0
    A good base to visit the Red Desert sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Sails was a good place to stay in Yulara as a base to see the great sights of the Red Desert. Good facilities, both in the room and in / around the pool. Excellent choice of food in the restaurant. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2020

    9.0
    Loved our visit to Uluru
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel facilities very good. Certain parts of the hotel, in my opinion, not 5 star. Hotel access to rooms were a bit tired and sometimes untidy.

    Great location, exceptionally clean, good food, slightly expensive.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2020

    7.0
    Served it’s purpose of accommodation to visit Uluru.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No separate shower cubicle. Could pose a safety issue having to step in and out of bath to shower.

    Staff very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2020

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant is just OK and the breakfast buffet is expensive. The pool is functional but not resort quality.

    The room was pleasant, modern and clean. Entirely comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No gym !!!

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cockroaches was in the room.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2020

    9.0
    It was a comfortable stay and we were well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better balcony area and seating. Shorter wait for my room on arrival or at least a definite time it would be ready by

    Location great in the resort, staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2020

    9.0
    Perfect base to explore the uluru national park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pricey but justifiable given location.

    Friendly professional service. Comfortable bed. Excellent bedding. Quality towels.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2020

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Closed Bar at 10PM, sun-bed very uncomfortable, no topper for the sun-bed, no shower at the pool

    Breakfast, clean rooms, atmosphere, friendly staff, free parking,

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2020

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel seems very old! Especially the area around the pool where the chairs were almost broken ! The food was not that good

    The room was very spacious and clean! It was very comfortable. The whole resort is good. The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in January 2020

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: