Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Northern Territory hotel reviews
  4. Ayers Rock hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Sails in the Desert

Reviews of Sails in the Desert This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Yulara Drive, Yulara, 0872 Ayers Rock, Australia

#2 of 6 hotels in Ayers Rock

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1512 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience where we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved everything however the quality of coffee througout the hotel was poor in comparison to Melbourne cafe's.

    Being greeted with a bottle of Champagne upon our arrival in recognition of my wife's 50th birthday was a wonderful surprise.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    10
    Great place, easy access to everything, great food there and nearby. Everyone was amazingly friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the one restaurant we really wanted to try on Sunday was closed for emergency maintenance. It was very disappointing - on the positive, we did have a good meal elsewhere.

    The staff were amazingly friendly. We really enjoyed the amenities and the restaurants around the resort were excellent. We loved the variety of different food to try out.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There defiantly needs to be umberellas around the pool, it’s so hot in the afternoon to be out at the rock or the sights but it’s just as hot by the pool with no shade ... please put umberellas by the pool in the hotter months

    All the local art and the tour where great , very efficient

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    5.8
    Ideal for visiting Uluru area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff were unenthusiastic and looked miserable. Some were bordering on rude. High security presence around the resort to "police" the entertainment!

    Ideal for visiting Uluru area. Restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    6.3
    A nice looking hotel with plenty of facilities but very overpriced and the rooms are outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is certainly not a 5 star hotel and is very overpriced. Breakfast was 42 AUD pp and Diner (buffet) 75 AUD pp. For 3 nights/2 people, this makes 702 AUD which to us is totally outrageous. The staff didn't connect with guests at all, they were just doing their work. Furthermore, we found a long hair in our diner and when we complained to the waiter, he only said that that was weird as no one in the kitchen had long hair (neither did we) and he didn't appologize or offer any kind of compansation (later on, we saw that the filters of the airco in the restaurant were full of long hairs). Also, the hotelrooms (at least, ours) were very outdated and definately could use a new fresh modern interior (later that week we stayed at Desert Gardens Hotel and there we had a modernized fresh room). TIP: go to the grocery store at the town centre and get plenty of food/drinks at reasonable prices!

    Of all the hotels at Ayers Rock Resort, this one had the most facilities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.1
    Location was great and the room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet kept going down after storm The staff didn't pass on information eg the reception asked us if we wanted the breakfast deal which we said yes too and when we went to breakfast they hadn't passed that on

    Location was great and the room was nice

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Extremely happy with our stay and could of easily stayed longer it was so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shade over the pool which made it hard when taking young kids into the pool area in the middle of the day when the ground had heated up and the sun was at its hottest.

    Bed was very comfort and was very roomy even with two beds and a cot. The staff were extremely helpful with planning day activities and letting us know about things to do with the kids

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expected a bit more from the room for 5 star accommodation.

    Staff were friendly and helpful,especially in trying circumstances when the resort lost internet and phone services for 24hrs . Food was great and rooms were clean .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    A lovely happy hotel staff wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to wait until 2.30 for our room we would have been happy to pay half day as we arrived st 9.30 T

    We loved the wonderful service everyone so efficient

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    Great location great views that you can experience something you will never forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lock on the sliding door was broken so did not lock so did not feel very secure in the room

    The pillows very soft . The staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.2
    We were very happy we stayed here. It was the perfect location and offering to visit Ulura etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was very expensive in the hotel restaurants. The buffet dinner in particular given the offering. Fortunately there were other more affordable options around the resort, although these are fairly ordinary. Not delicious.

    The location and surrounding amenities were perfect. This is a visually beautiful hotel. Elegant, clean, friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great service, comfy beds, large tv, lots of amenities in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little tired eg fly screen sliding door was wonky and bathroom door could do with a paint. Bathroom didn’t have ventilation and I felt we were put in a disabled room with the handrails.

    Great service, comfy beds, large tv, lots of amenities in the room, 3 areas to eat with delicious meals. Pool was very refreshing. Missed out on the massage because it was booked out sadly. Great location close to the town square with shuttle bus pickup out the front. We loved our stay and our Uluru experience.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.2
    Loved the whole experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool loungers were rather hard and the lobby was a bit of a mess in that there was always comings and goings so that supper/drinks at Walpa were interrupted.

    The staff were super friendly and very obliging both at breakfast, for room servicing, queries and supper at Walpa Bar

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    Uluru is a great place to visit and Sails a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. Having said that we were very comfortable, beds were great just the bathroom in need of repairs and updating. Only had the one buffet in the Sails restaurant and we found it a fairly average meal for $75 pp.

    The venue and location were excellent, amenities pretty good and the pool wonderful. People were all very obliging and generally very happy with our stay there. They make a great Bloody Mary cocktail

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.3
    Staff at restaurants and spa was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff is not very helpful and there is no concierge or introduction to the property. Amenities and property condition for the price are very basic. Nothing is included!!

    Staff at restaurants and spa was excellent. Location is incredible.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    Loved it wanted to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked the pool ,gardens beautiful food lovely ,fantastic with the free transport around the resorts enjoyed my stay I just want you to be there for a long time so people can enjoy the beautiful atmosphere and the culture.

    I must admit I visited 15 years ago,it was much nicer,I think you have done major changers it’s more for families now still nice,there was one girl that needed more training on the computer she tried booking a few things in for us,by the time she booked them in we miss the time we wanted.we missed the sound of silence due to the weather should invest in a structure to be built so you don’t miss out financially& for your visitors.Loved the culture center & all the free things that were available were fabulous the bush tucker experience in the art center was wonderful.Leonard was fabulous beautifully presented.The field of lights was disappointing ,very dark small groups would be better & a tour guide with a touch so you could see where you are going nearly hurt myself.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    6.7
    Seeing Uluru and Kata Tjuta is a must do!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet was not thoroughly vacuumed, the toilet didn't flush particularly well (may be due to water saving which is understandable in the desert), the curtain had a tear in it - a few things were just a bit worn out. Another restaurant (Desert Gardens Hotel Bistro) in the resort offered free food for under 2s but not Sails. We will never eat at or recommend the Borough House at the Outback Pioneer Hotel (also in the Ayers Rock resort) again - expensive buffet (roast of the day inc. Buffet $46+) for really terrible food (mismatched flavours, cheap salads and deserts) covered in flies.

    The rooms are spacious and the balcony great but there is no view of Uluru from the rooms or the hotel lookout. The restaurant is lovely, has great food but at a great cost - $75 per head for buffet dinner. The day spa was fantastic!!! The pool was refreshing. We loved the didgeridoo and welcome drinks on arrival and the free activities around the resort. We liked that we could use the facilities of all the hotels in the resort and also made use of the town square. The resort is a training place for Indigenous people in the hospitality industry, which is really awesome, but just means things are not always perfect. We loved the indigenous decor, flavours, products and sharing of culture.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    We booked also the breakfast option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked also the breakfast option. As we did regular very early trip to admire sunrise, we asked the lunch pack. In our opinion, the value for money of this one is very questionable... especially if you compare to the real breakfast in the hotel: that one was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    4.6
    Definitely not worth the money. Captured market, operated like a battery hen factory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel rooms are tired. Dirty tiles in the shower and bad air-conditioning. No mattress protectors. Toiletries are sub-standard and state Made in Australasia. Is that a country? Staff are not engaging and there is misinformation provided. Breakfast is overpriced @ $44, unless you buy breakfast for every day in bulk @ $35, despite taking tours that leave the hotel at 4am and include breakfast.

    Not far from the rock

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.9
    Amenities were great staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price we paid per night breakfast should have been included, to pay an additional $44 per person per day is not reasonable.

    Amenities were great staff were friendly and helpful. The day spa was amazing. Food options in restaurants and bar were good. The location was also good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.5
    Eventually nice....but quite expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was phoned @ 2.30pm to say room was ready...then it wasn't ready we were told at check-in counter...they apoligised. We came back later & was given wrong room....so back to check in. They finally got it right...& delivered a bottle of nice sparkling wine as a "sorry" gesture...was nice. Would've loved a King bed. Would've liked a gym. Accommodation cost... expensive. In house breakfast $44 each... buffet dinner $75 each - expensive (.. but top notch)

    Comfortable room. Great outdoor pool. Very nice food. Friendly attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the area and the Hotel was fine but a bit expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The price was very steep and the room looked a little tired. For 5 start hotel expected a bit more. The staff come either too early 8am to change towels/sheets or too late ie not done by 2pm. The price of breakfast is a rip off at $45 per head. And there aren't much better options available. Dinner was also very expensive at $75 per head. They do have another option for dinner but not for breakfast. More al a carte options would be better.

    The bed was amazing it was so comfortable and it was the best thing about this resort. The air conditioner was going none stop which was great when coming in from the 40c heat.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    Worth the money and the trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was everything you can expect from the best hotel of the resort. The breakfast was incredible but expensive. ONLY BUY IT WHEN YOU ARRIVE! If you buy for the whole stay, they will make a nice discount. Go to the free cultural events you have there. They are really worth it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.2
    The room was excellent, comfortable, clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all good.

    The room was excellent, comfortable, clean and spacious. Staff are all very polite, attentive. Restaurant is excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner fabulous meals.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    5.0
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large, sprawling complex more like a holiday camp than a luxury resort. The restaurant is quite limited, offering a buffet dinner which I dislike intensely and a poor a la carte menu.

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.8
    the way the resort spread out and allowed the surrounds to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    customer service in both the bar restaurant and the smorgasboard restaurant. in the bar our entrée was served the same time a s main.Our daughters main was wrong.she had to wait another 10 mins. in the smorgasboard restaurant,all mains where ordered together.our daughter received hers first,10mins later our son receceived his.then we waited another half an hour before we asked our waiter where our lamb cutlets where.they arrived another 10mins later blue inside charded on the outside an very fatty,half was inedible.

    the way the resort spread out and allowed the surrounds to filter through the hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Accommodation cost could have been a bit more realistic rather than $400 per night

    The location to Uluru. The hop on hop off bus. Close proximity to Town Square. The staff food and pool

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    All staff we encountered were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost of breakfast. At $44 each if not pre booked, we decided to support the Kulata cafe in town centre.

    All staff we encountered were fantastic. Lots of information around the hotel for tours etc. Walpa bar excellent for light eats and drinks. Desert Fusion cocktail was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    6.3
    The facility was clean, in a good location and reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were unorganized, not always friendly, had NO idea what was going on. Our booking was muddled up, the hotel wasn't able to tell me what had been booked, the story kept changing. The tours were all muddled up. Customer service and knowledge of staff was just appalling!!!!!! Everyone seemed to be incompetent.

    The facility was clean, in a good location and reasonably well fitted out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.5
    Our stay was memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More car parking! We often needed to park 'in the scrub' after a day out.

    The bed was very comfy, and the air-conditioning was super cold. All of the staff were super helpful. The foyer, including gift shop / gallery was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent resort for the location, some maintenance issues with room but eventually resolved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had continual problems, the left hand sink leaked. I had maintenance come fix it and it was not fixed and had to call them again a second time. Also, the hot water kettle looked as if someone heated chicken soup in it, I asked it be replaced and it was...but get this...with a kettle that leaked. SO, I had to call again to get a new kettle and this one was fine. Too much maintenance for a resort of this caliber and the price paid. Also, restaurant staff are unaware that Americans expect a bottomless cup of coffee. Sorry (as you folks say) that is our culture. We expect a friendly staff person to continually rotate through the restaurant area filling our coffee cups. After two days of waving my hands and asking for more coffee I gave up as it was giving me a sour disposition. One last thing that MAKES NO SENSE. The last night there I called for a reservation at the restaurant at Sails, Sorry (as you people say) no room at the inn, nothing available for 6:30 and 6:45, 7:00 possible. I had front desk call other restaurants at resort and same response, nothing available til 7:00 or later. So we ate in the bar. I was VERY suspicious of this and walked to the restaurant at 6:30 and 6:45 and it was less than 1/3 full. What gives? Why was the restaurant telling folks no tables available. Lastly, the restaurant at the City Center, Gecko, does not start serving dinner til 6:00. That is a bit late for those of us who want to eat at 5:30.

    Buffet meals thought the dinner was pricy, the all resort bus, the overlook and the watchtower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    Too expensive but the facilities are wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very, very expensive. Restaurant is also very expensive which forces you to find different options in other hotels.

    Swimming pool is great. Privacy of the room which is comfortable, clean and spacious. Staff is really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Loved the place it was an oasis in the desert!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't like the shower over the bath set up, prefer separate shower

    The room was a good size and had everything you needed, loved the patio area as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude waiter in the bar - Australian woman of Japanese (?) descent. Also, it was expensive and time-consuming to take the shuttle into the park. Check out time was too early (10 am) but they did let us hang out by the pool til our shuttle left for the airport.

    Nice big room with balcony and outdoor furniture. We loved the pool area to relax with drinks after hiking and biking in the park. A didgeridoo player entertained us as we checked in and out. Great job with the architecture, interior design and artworks on display. Best of all, we were able to do our laundry for free! They even provided detergent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.1
    Check with hotel regarding bed type.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to fight to get a twin room which was booked and paid for two months in advance. The hotel initially gave us a king bed ckaiming ved preference was not guaranteed.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.0
    Paying over a $1000 to sleep on a camp bed for two nights is appalling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attitude of the Assistant Manager to the fact that the hotel made a mistake with our booking despite my prior phone calls was dreadful. To be told that after all I had done to ensure a correct booking that his hotel did not guarantee to ensure the prepaid customer that he would receive what was ordered despite paying $1060 Aus for a two night stay is unprofessional and unforgiveable This type of response is not acceptable from a 2* hotel let alone one purporting to be 5*. As for compensation, forget it...…. a complimentary breakfast which we didn't want in the first place....I hope Booking.com looks into my complaint and gets adequate compensation for me and an apology.

    The public rooms were of a 4* standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced and confusing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apon check in they gave me a standard room instead of a twin room which I had booked. It was fixed and we changed rooms but it took a long time and was a bit disappointing. The price of the buffet breakfast was not value for money it was basic and cost 55$ per person. The opening and closing times of the Restaurant in sails of the desert varied and wasn't according to the trading hours provided in the information booklet in the room. The menus where basic foods not much variety. There was no alcohol service to the room only mini bar even though it had a wine list in the in room dining menu. And the bars closed at 9pm. When waiting for buses to go on tours it's a small area with no seating and we had missed The sunset booking with no refund because they don't call your names out for each tour and the signs and buses don't match up the staff didn't really help much with the tours. The pool wasn't heated. The pool bar was not value for money And there was no table service for drinks and meals and the bar staff where quite angsty. Some of the staff where really friendly but some of them where snobby and where in training and couldn't help answer any questions. When you call the sails in the desert resort you go around in circles with transfers and the voicemail service is super confusing it's hard to get through to ask a question about your tours or bookings.

    The cleanliness of the rooms was immaculate. The field of light tour and dinner was amazing and great value for money. The staff on that tour where incredible. The arnguli restuarant in the garden desert resort was amazing the staff are so welcoming and hospitable the food and service was worth every cent. The red ochre spa was a lovely experience however when booking the woman made a rude comment asking if my friend was my mother we only have 6 years ago difference and spelt mine and my friends wrong and got our treatments we booked wrong but it was quickly changed and sorted out The beauty therapist from New Zealand was lovely and did an amazing job.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    All of us had a great and memorable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the Ayers Rock Resort area was more than I expected and the Sails in the Desert hotel was the best in the area. We really enjoyed our stay in every way.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed seeing Uluru, but did not enjoy our stay at the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant is a madhouse. Returned to room at 3 PM after being out since 5 AM and room was not made up. Bathrooms need updating.

    Location to visit Uluru.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    2.9
    Very poor, not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were rude and poorly trained

    Property is very run down. There is nothing luxury about the property, facilities are old and staff are rude and poorly trained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.7
    Great location and okay for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They hotel is dated and definitely not at a 5 star standard. Bathroom wasn't very clean either. The toilet was on the 'yikes' side.

    The location of the hotel is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1.Breakfast costs $42 and one shouldn't have to pay $5 extra for a proper coffee. 2.Pool was verrry cold. 3.Our plane was delayed so we waited 2.5 hours at airport. The transfer from hotel should have been delayed so we could have stayed at hotel and eaten lunch there, rather than crammed into the airport.

    Staff very attentive and kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    7.9
    Great location with very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was an expensive stay and the minibar prices were pretty ridiculous - $8 per litre for water. Be mindful of the step up into the bath and shower. Pool temperature was very cold. Even on warm afternoons there wasn’t anyone swimming.

    Great location with very friendly and helpful staff. Voyages are very organised and every tour runs smoothly. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a good view of Uluru. We stayed in room 369 for our anniversary and received complimentary champagne. The restaurant was expensive but service and food were good. We cannot fault the service from the staff at Sails. We had an amazing time!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.6
    Sails is perfectly located near Uluru.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to not like.

    Sails is perfectly located near Uluru. The facilities are wonderful. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Don’t sign up for breakfast until you’re checking in; it is offered at a cheaper rate when you check in. Red Octe Spa was wonderfully relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    extremely helpful and friendly reception staff at all times. they did more than they were asked in being helpful with tours, technology with mobile phone bookings

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were fantastic, particularly reception and porters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park too far away from rooms, major issue when wife disabled. Charges and costs far to expensive even allowing for transport. Cheapest cost for breakfast $36.00, even drinks expensive.

    Staff were fantastic, particularly reception and porters. Made it very easy for disabled wife to get to various functions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    A good place to stay even with the couple of small complaints...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had coffee in the lobby (while waiting for the room to be ready) and my husband was going to order a slice of chocolate cake until we were told that was $18! The barista recommended to get it at the coffee shop in the Town Square (a 2 minute walk) and there it was $7! Also, our request on booking.com for a king bed somehow never made it to the hotel.

    The hotel is very comfortable and well organized. A free bus picks up every incoming flight and returns passengers to every outgoing flight. We arrived at about 10 in the morning and although check in isn't officially till 3pm we could check in immediately and our room was ready before 12 noon. There's also a free laundromat with 2 washers and 2 dryers for guest use.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was an enjoyable experience, however for the cost I would expect better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Firstly I would have liked to see more indigenous employees at the hotel. The hotel is tired, the swimming pool should be heated and basic cleanliness on verandas and walk ways was below average.

    The beds were comfortable and the restaurant experience was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.1
    The location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very uncomfortable and because there is nothing else there the price of things is massively inflated for example a dinner for 2 at the hotel would cost you a minimum of $150.

    The location is amazing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    We had a very nice 3 days at this hotel. Staff are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The distance our first room was from everything, walking a problem due to my age or mobility . They moved me to a closer room when I requested it. This may not be possible if they have nothing else available. It needs to be possible to request a room near the front or lobby area.

    The room and patio . The gardens are very nice and good areas to sit outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    If you haven't been to this place.......Do yourself a favour and go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was adequate but could have been cleaner. A bit more attention to the bar would be nice for solo travellers and some relaxing background music especially in the weekends.

    From the moment I arrived, I loved this place. It was the great attitude of the staff that made it truly welcoming - yet not over the top - but what I noticed the most was the reception and concierge staff were happy in their positions. Loved the rabbits in the garden. Hotel is handy to most things. Thank you all and I can't wait to return :-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Sail in the desert hotel is part of Ayers Rock resort,,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is really too expensive, breakfast no sense how much it cost.

    Sail in the desert hotel is part of Ayers Rock resort,, that's the only possibility to stay relatively close to the Rock. Of course everything is lot turistic, even if well organized, overall the transportation from and to airport and for the excursions. Nice room, nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.8
    Massively overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was all right but the carpet was old and a bit torn, the bathroom was badly set up, (taps spread water all over the counter), the beds on the terrace were old and not that clean, the umbrella on the terrace was broken.

    Food at the cafe/bar was good. At the restaurant it was very expensive and not so special to justify the bill.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing for the price that you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Completely over-priced and not particularly comfortable beds. Sheets over-starched and mattress's were too soft. Bathroom totally unsuitable for people with disabilities (my mother has macular degeneration and it was a real challenge for her to shower).

    Breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard. Some friendly and helpful staff members.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price No breakfast included No complimentary bottled water Room very far out at the back of the property

    Very friendly reception and housekeeping staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.3
    Still the best place to stay at Yulara, but not 5-star... and please heat the pool!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool should be solar heated. We had 30 degree September days but couldn't swim as the pool was freezing (I reckon, about 20 degrees). Reception staff could have been a bit more genuine - sounded like they were reading from a script when they served you. Overall, I wouldn't say this place is 5-star... it's getting a little jaded... but it's still nice.

    Beds were super comfy, room spacious and up to date. Close to everything at Yulara. Nice relaxed feel around the resort. Ilkari restaurant buffet was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.1
    The staff are the standout of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is touted as high-end luxury but is really no different to Desert Gardens in quality.

    The staff are the standout of this hotel. Always happy to help, friendly and accommodating - from the people working at the desks, to the food and beverage staff and maintenance (when I had a slight A/C issue).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, staff are lovely but well over priced standard of rooms are more 3 1/2 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a real let down shower head that did not work or sit properly. Leaking tap discoloured tiles. Really the rooms were very dated not 5 star, that was disappointing considering the cost of it all. So basically I feel it is way over priced in every way included food restaurants etc.

    Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent for exploring the surrounding area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was clean but slightly dated and needs refurbishment.

    The location is excellent for exploring the surrounding area, the overall facilities are excellent and the breakfast had both variety and was first class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    6.3
    It wasn’t a grand stay but okay as it’s only walking distance to the shops and eateries nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed is way too soft, the room is in need of updates from the carpet way up, color scheme is too bland! Bathroom has shown it’s wear and tear!

    Spacious room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Had a brilliant few days at Ayres Rock ( Uluru ) Resort. Not much to fault at such a remote location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ok well $60 per couple for breakfast was a bit steep but the selection and quality was very good. Paying extra for, lets be honest , decent coffee is ridiculous. Plus it was $6!! For us it was a minor irritation on an otherwise fantastic few days. Can only assume you are trying to discourage Fresh coffee because of volume demand. If that is the case then charge $3 not 6. On a positive note a shout out the the young chef cooking in the buffet breakfast kitchen. Watched him getting slammed one morning and he was calm friendly and efficient the whole time. Brilliant ( sorry should have been in the what we liked section lol ).

    Staff were very good across the board. Room was good beds were great!! Food at Sails was of a high standard to match the service! Transfers , tour info etc were also very efficient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    The paradise in the Australian desert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant closed down too early in the evening (9:00): it is not very practical if you go watching the sunset at 7:00 at the end of the Kata Tjuta park

    The paradise in the desert: large room with terrace to enjoy after walking in Uluru park, with all facilities including washing/drying machines to clean your clothes from the dust of the desert.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    10
    An incredibly enjoyable experience we would recommend to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - the whole experience of staying in Sails in the Desert at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort was incredible. 11 out of 10 ✅

    The staff were amazing - so friendly and helpful. The trainee staff were absolutely terrific and could not do enough for us. The buffet dinner was outstanding and the breakfast buffet was one of the best we have experienced for choice of food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Staff lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over priced and badly described. I travel extensively and this is a 4 star hotel not 5 as advertised. It’s dated, bathrooms very ordinary and lacking quality.

    Staff lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    5.8
    Not a 5-star property by any standard or measure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    pub quality food, tiny bathtub, mouldy bath tiles, one day room not cleaned at all, on arrival room phone totally discharged and could not be used

    Majestic Uluru, exotic landscape, pleasant weather, impressive list of sightseeing tours

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    6.7
    Overall, very disappointing for a 3 star let alone 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing issues in room, pipes made noises when running, toilet hardly enough pressure to flush, shower head loose so water sprayed everywhere, sink poor design, water sprays. Constant humming from bathroom fan that could not be turned off and made sleeping difficult. Power point in bathroom didn't work. Bed very uncomfortable. Kitchen had no plates, cutlery, toaster or microwave. Water damage in corner of room bubbling the plaster.

    Staff were excellent, only part of our accommodation we liked

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice accommodation but need a heated pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool side area was very nice however there was no point having a pool because it was freezing cold and you couldn’t go in there

    The food was very nice and had a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.1
    Once in a life time 'Bucket List" destination. Travel only in Winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities at Yulara (Ayers Rock Resort) are a classic Monopoly - everything run by the one company - Although there are a choice of differing styles of Hotels - they are all old, 1980's style and many areas need upgrading. Everything is super expensive !

    Ayers Rock and The Olgas is a mystical place of great spiritual and cultural significance to the Indigenous people of Australia. Great place to go to chill out and get back in touch with yourself. Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable, visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance and walkways to the hotel rooms do not match the standard of the rest of the hotel. The guest rooms are in separate buildings to the reception and dining areas and whilst walkways are covered they are not internal hallways. Access areas to the guest rooms have a motel feel to them and are not in keeping with the standard of the rooms themselves. However, once in the room, the standard is as expected. Swimming pool looked very inviting, but was absolutely freezing! Too cold to swim in, it needs to be heated. Nobody remained in the pool for more than 2 minutes during our stay although there were many people sitting or lying around it. My son was very disappointed.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Room was available earlier than the check-in time. Spacious, clean room, adequate space for a family sharing. Good breakfast and easy to arrange trips to Uluru/The Olgas and transfers to the airport. Good size balcony and comfortable beds. Overall an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    9.6
    We advised the staff of our dissatisfaction of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We given a room right at the back of the resort with no view. We oaid quite a lot fir 4 nights so expected to get a much better room.

    We advised the staff of our dissatisfaction of our room and was upgradef to a much better room with a spacious balcony and good views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.6
    An oasis in the desert of the Red Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A great facility! Yulara has been tastefully designed to sympathetically blend in with the fragile desert ecosystem. There are good spots to view sunrise & sunset over both Uluru & Kata Tjuta. Excellent breakfasts, good room service, excellent à la carte restaurant. Quality aboriginal art on display & for sale in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drinks service at the bar was consistently slow every day that we were there.

    Well appointed modern rooms. VERY comfortable beds. Restaurant food was very good. Staff were very helpful and professional in general.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    8.5
    Excellent bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building fittings looking a bit tired e.g. doors and windows

    Excellent bed. Very helpful and friendly staff. All transport and tours come right to your hotel door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay there again, wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Taps over the vanity basin in the bathroom could have been fitted over the centre of the basin instead of edge of the basin. Not enough room between the water tap & the edge of the basin to wash your hands, ended up with water all over the vanity & mirror. Just a small thing!

    The service from staff was excellent. Bed was extra cosy & comfortable. Location is central to Town Square & other resorts within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great journey with comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I understand the situation there, but we couldn't help feeling "everything was crazy expensive!"...

    The Japanese stuff guts were so smart and clever. It was easy to book tours (camels, star gazing...) and restaurants thanks to them. And the beds were so comfortable, compared with our beds in my house.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Sails in the Desert Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: