Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sir Stamford Circular Quay 5 stars

93 Macquarie Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#11 of 316 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2277 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Perfect location in the heart of Sydney, stylish „royal“ interieor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opera House and ferries 5 min on foot. Very easy to reach with public transportation (T8) if you are coming from the airport. Very nice stylish interieur, spacious room. Very polite and gracious staff. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Stay here if you like old world charm. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no tv guide and the remote didn't work well. Some of the wallpaper was peeling at the seams, a minor detail in a period hotel such as this.

    Loved the beautiful period charm of this hotel and received a warm welcome when we arrived (good old fashioned service). The location was perfect, an easy walk to Circular Quay, the Rocks and the city. We had amazing views of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House from our room. The hotel was very quiet & the bed was comfortable. Loved the marble bathroom. One of the best hotel stays I've had, highly recomended!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    because of the shape of the junior suite i found for two people watching TV the loungeroom setting was not that comfortable

    love the luxurious large marble bathroom and seperate toilet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    A very good location staff are the best
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. Close to the quay and everything

    The staff were excellent everyone was so nice to us that we would definitely come back to stay. The room was so nice and clean . The view of the botanical gardens was so relaxing as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    I’m confused about price I paid much more booking direct...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m confused about price I paid much more booking direct than online. I booked some friends in that I encouraged to stay using booking.com and it was half the price I paid. I stay at the Stamford regularly and always tell friends how much I love it but that disappointed me

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very pleasant stay and convenient location to local attractions. Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was noisy at times as right next door to the air conditioning unit. Door rails in the Mini Bar fridge were broken causing items to fall out each time the door was opened - easily fixed though once items were removed. Lighting could have been better in main room - basically just 2 bed lamps and a table lamp.

    Room was a good size, bed was comfortable, pre theatre dinner in the Dining Room was very good value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great location with helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our food in the bar area took a long time to come

    Great sized room. Fantastic location for our show at the opera house. Great ambience withe the fireplace in the guest lounge area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Good value clean but the location is very hard to beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu needs improvement. That said it has no view so I suppose most guest go out to any of the many nearby with great views

    Good breakfast and great central location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Velvet parking. Was expensive and doesn't work well. Nowhere to stop the car comfortably when we arrived, and a long wait for the when we left.

    Location, decor, comfortable beds and large bedrooms and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location if you want to be near circular quay and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed, was actually twin beds pushed together which I don’t like as much.

    Great location if you want to be near circular quay and the opera house.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Beautifully presented room with a view towards the Botanical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible pillows, 4 x flat pillows making for a bad night’s sleep. Loud vibration sound of the lift cables continually going up & down day & night, very loud in the room we were in.

    Beautifully presented room with a view towards the Botanical Gardens. Easy secure parking. Staff were excellent. Fantastic location within easy walking distance to the Opera House, Botanical Gardens, The Rocks, the Quay, anywhere in the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Every staff member we dealt with - from reception to concierge, cleaners and waiters - was friendly and helpful. We liked the heated outdoor pool - warm enough to swim in even though the weather wasn't great. Excellent location, close to public transport both road and water-based. This is a hotel with lots of character and the views over the park are lovely. The rooms was quiet and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    Nice but not spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a dated feel; the decor was going for old English, but didn't quite work and so looked dated and tired instead. Our attempts to borrow an iPhone charger were rebuffed, and we were told we would have to leave the phone with reception to charge. Finally the walls were quite thin; we were easily able to overhear our neighbor

    The place was nice enough. Nothing stood out in particular. The staff were generally friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Superb old world property, beautifully maintained with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little underwhelming and hard to stand under (offset shower head), but adequate for showering and in keeping with the decor

    Superb old world property, beautifully maintained with exceptional staff and amenities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and probably the best place to stay in Sydney. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect for us.

    The location was perfect for us. A 2 minute walk to the harbour. It was the ideal place to base ourselves for our time in Sydney. Close to the train station too which made it easy get to and from the airport. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend the Sir Stamford as the best place to stay if you are visiting Sydney.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel are quite dated and would benefit from a facelift. But still great overall.

    Affordable hot breakfast and great choices. Amazing location. Loved the lobby and open fire place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic location within walking distance of Cafes, train station, ferry. Opera house and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found no problems with our stay.

    Very comfortable bed, lovely and clean . The room was large with plenty of room to move. Dining room served beautiful food and drinks. The valet parking was great. Didn't have to use your Car as everything is within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    The concierge, David Reynolds, was so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge, David Reynolds, was so friendly and helpful. Willing to do anything. The waitresses were very attentive in the dining room and the front of house staff were extremely helpful when my husband was taken ill and needed a doctor. Their concern for his welfare was much appreciated. Location was brilliant! Catching the train from the airport was also very convenient and easy. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not well constructed to block out sound. I could hear people walking and bathing from the floor above me, and every time the next room guest goes in and out of the room, it is very audible which disturbed my rest. It doesn't help that I am a light sleeper. Doesn't provide bedside master light control. Bottled water provided are not replenished on a daily basis. The dirty towel which I placed in the bath tube was found on the toilet floor after house keeping. The checkout time is at 11 am instead of 12 pm. I couldn't even extend it till 12.30 pm. For AUD340 per night for the lowest category room which doesn't include breakfast, I would have expected more.

    Location. Although you need to walk up a slight slope to reach the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite noisy.

    The staff were very welcoming The room was much larger than most we have had before in Sydney. We liked the old world decor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    Generally the junior unit was pleasant with enough space for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointment with the complete lack of any kitchen space in a unit of that size , There was some confusion on how they required us to pay and it required a photo of our passport even after checking my account,before they appeared to be satisfied that we was able to pay on leaving .

    Generally the junior unit was pleasant with enough space for the three night's stay we had in Sydney and it made a pleasant returning to base spot after a show or a full day tripping about generally of a good standard if a little aged .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Old World Charm and Comfort with Modern Facilities and Friendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I put the green card on the bed because I thought it meant they didn’t need to change the sheets, however I didn’t read the small print as it also meant the room wasn’t serviced at all. I was told when I checked out that you can call reception to arrange a service.

    The hotel is lovely. It has old world charm and comfort with modern facilities. The rooms are very comfortable with super comfy beds and modern, clean and spacious bathrooms. We even had a swim in the pool while we were there. The breakfast had everything you needed to start your day and the staff were very attentive. The concierge and reception staff are very friendly and helpful and there is free wifi, which I think should be standard in every hotel. I won’t book a hotel without free wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    the stay is good, but there are some mistakes for the fee payment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel got more money from my credit card. after my communication with booking, the hotel admits that they made a mistake. It took a long time to repay my money.

    the breakfast is excellent. and the living facilities are the best. It is very close to the Sydney Opera House ,and you can walk only five minutes to visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    AM ALREADY PLANNING A NEXT VISIT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't have any complaints

    The hotel was very central to Opera House and Rocks area. Staff were very helpful. Room and bathroom were large, very clean and comfortable. My room was located near elevator but amazingly quiet. It was great not to hear loud banging doors as have been my experience in many 5 star hotels. I very much look forward to my next visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, great location, great food & service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The only phrase we were give to the students executive suite was amazing. The view was lovely. Staff went above and beyond. Very posh. I will have special memories of my stay. Will come again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Very good except for the bed issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with two beds. The king bed was unsuitable as we were not partners. I reminded them of this at check in and the porter also rang back down to reception. A rollaway bed for a middle age woman was unsuitable.

    We were upgraded to a suite which was just lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the old school charm and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable and I felt settled. The location is very conveniently located, especially to Circular Key Train Station. I would certainly come and stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Having stayed at the Sir Stamford I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Sydney. It’s just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like.

    Excellent location; superbly comfy beds, helpful and friendly staff, tea/coffee in room, amazing bathroom with robes and slippers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Pamper yourself at the Sir Stamford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing - all great.

    Fabulous location, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast - one of the few places with a juicer for breakfast. The room has everything you need, tea and coffee, ironing board, slippers etc. The offer of a water while we went through check in was also appreciated on a day that reached over 30 degrees.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Just a wonderful place to stay when you are in Sydney.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not say a bad thing about this hotel.

    This is one of the most beautiful places I have stayed at. The Staff are so lovely and very attentive to all details. The food just fabulous. Our room was gorgeous. Thankyou for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single thing

    The staff were wonderful. Professional, friendly and seemed to really like working there. Nothing was too much trouble and I felt very spoilt by the extra attention. Both the bedroom and bathroom were lovely, generous size in classic style. The $40 parking charge for 24 hrs was great given the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should've stayed longer.!

    Service was exceptional from the minute we walked through the door. Staff are so polite friendly and helpful always smiling. The hotel is magnificent old world era, the rooms are so clean with those little extras, robes and slippers..room service was delicious. Could not fault anything at all. Parking was extremely reasonable. We had a wonderful stay and will definately be back.. Thank you especially Nicholas on reception and David at concierge..😉

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    In my booking notes I mentioned the occasion was for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my booking notes I mentioned the occasion was for a birthday. On arrival we noticed our room had a water view and complimentary bubbly and choc dipped strawberries! Lovely thoughtful touches.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Good, comfortable hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A coffee machine in the room would have been useful.

    Stayed for two weeks, the larger room made the longer stay more comfortable. Comfortable room, good natural light, great staff, great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really liked everything this visit, except on my booking it said $60.00 for valet parking and I was charged $69.00, I did question this and she insisted $69.00. I will scan the booking today and call reception as I would like a refund for the $9.00. I can not send clients to your hotel if you advise one thing and charge another, so we need to sort this cost out.

    I have been to your hotel many many times the visit before this one was not good, and had to give a bad review. For years no one came out front for luggage, staff could not understand room service orders, breakfast was way below the cost charged. But This time was amazing, we noticed all the standards have lifted, the staff were very good. It was like when we first started coming to your hotel, I am from the The Smart Traveller and I am in a lot of hotels and your hotel has made some great staff changes. I did not try the breakfast this time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Historic and full of charm, spacious rooms and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults with our stay.

    Historic and full of charm, spacious rooms and great bathroom. Much better than large hotels. Hard to beat location and service. thanks again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Dirty room, poor room service and cleaners woke us up to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, poor room service and cleaners woke us up to clean our room before our check out time. Room was large and location was great, maybe not the best for a romantic weekend but convenient for a quick stay over.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    I booked 2 x suites (one for us and one for her Godparents)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather - it was windy and cold! I would not change a thing about the hotel itself!

    I booked 2 x suites (one for us and one for her Godparents) for my daughter's 18th birthday - it was the best birthday experience she has had!!! I love the old-world feel and the friendliness of the staff - nothing was a bother to them. We are looking forward to staying here again and would recommend this location to anyone who loves elegance, value for money and a wonderful weekend away!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    An excellent hotel- quiet, well located, great staff and satisfactory breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small problems with the open fire- tended to get a bit smokey in the lobby. However it was a delight to see a warm, natural open fire place. Breakfast selection was very comprehensive but could have been a little more adventurous.

    The property is well located for the Opera and Circular Quay and very quiet. The facilities are excellent but getting a bit old. However, if the furnishings are replaced they should be replaced by those of a similar standard and quality- often in Sydney hotels they are replaced by cheaper minimalist furniture. Staff are excellent, helpful and very friendly. I will recommend the Stamford to my family and friends and will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    A fabulous relaxing, reviving stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the old world charm of this hotel, with modern efficient staff. The decor and ambience is wonderful and one always feels to relaxed in this environment. With a five minute stroll to the Quay, who could ask for more?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Variable, great location but bar staff need more training in customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had booked dinner at hotel restaurant, mistakenly went to the bar/ restaurant, said we had a booking The girl looked vague, never said there was another restaurant so we had an awful meal in the bar/ restaurant It was a very disappointing wedding anniversary dinner

    Friendly service, Harbour views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location and atmosphere with service you dont find much anymore. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Atmosphere was excellent, extremely helpful and polite concierge (Oliver) and bar staff (Cameron), comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, cruelty free bath products and the best hollandaise sauce with breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a early check in, when we got there room wasn't ready (and friends who came with who didn't ask for early check in room was ready for them) and when check in staff called housekeeping on two way radio to ask if they can get our room ready the housekeeping person made a remark that we could all hear about people always having to hurry hurry hurry, which I think was in bad taste.

    Very nice hotel, rooms were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    The Junior Suite had a lot of space including separate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door to the balcony didn't close properly so some road noise. High pitched buzzing in the bathroom but partner (male) couldn't hear it. Air conditioning was a bit fickle.

    The Junior Suite had a lot of space including separate bathroom vanities. Very comfortable. Good views. Excellent location for the ferries and the train, quick to the airport. Secret deal made it great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Superb location and outstanding customer service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like stepping back in time, the rooms are huge and the lobby (which could pass for a set in Downton Abbey) has a functioning fireplace with comfortable couches. Location is excellent with the Quay, botantic gardens and CBD all very close. The real standout, however, was the seamlessly superb culture of customer service - attentive, efficient and friendly from the moment of arrival til the moment of departure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Would have been good if the room had had sufficient beds for the number of people I booked for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room for one adult and 2 children over age 10. I selected a room on booking.com that stated it had beds for this. However, when I got there, the room had two beds only and I was told that provision of an extra bed would cost a substantial amount extra per day. I was very upset about this, and eventually they agreed to provide the extra bed for one night's charge rather than three. According to the manager, the booking.com site had caveats explaining in the fine print that there would be this extra charge. I read the text with them, and the words did not mean that to me, though they interpreted them that way. They and Booking.com should provide clearer text and information, to make it clear that the charge will be higher. I was shown a lower charge than I ended up paying, even though I believed I was booking a room for the number of people I specified.

    Nice atmosphere, bar was excellent with piano player/singer. Good location for cental Sydney

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Loved everything about our stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All perfect

    The Staff, facilities, location & rooms were excellent, I will be recommending Sir Stamford to all my friends and family Thank you to all Sir Stamford staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Quiet and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure could be improved. I was promised a text message after trying to check in early. Was also promised that we would find our bags in the room. Neither happened

    Quiet and peaceful. Spacious room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location close to the Quay and restaurants etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very expensive and very average. Rooms were very dated and smelt musty. Had a beautiful room initially and the people next door decided to have their music blaring. Rather than address it with them we were moved to a smaller, not very nice room on another floor. Not child friendly And the breakfast was ridiculously expensive and not nice

    Good location close to the Quay and restaurants etc. lobby and bar was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furnishings are looking a little worn, but it almost adds to the charm! 😄

    Extra large rooms, great size bathrooms and very comfortable beds. A great sized room if you're staying in Sydney for a few days!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Central location and a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Had a fantastic 2 day break here - the location cannot be bettered the service was top notch and very friendly and helpful - would certainly recommend and will use again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Elegant, Caring and Comfotable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In bathroom an extra or extension mirror would be helpful.

    Loved the old world feel, roaring fireplace, classical music in background, Wombats to greet us in lounge, historical bar with great Singaporean food selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Charming weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out, a little long

    The ambience and location. The staff were great. The rooms spacious and bed comfortable. The hotel had a lovely fragrance. The charm of the hotel. Very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic service and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were going to a show at The Opera House midweek and decided to treat ourselves to a night at your hotel. Because there was night roadwork outside our original king delux room we requested to change rooms to a quieter spot. Within minutes new keys were delivered and we were whisked away to a gorgeous suite. What a lovely thing to do for us. We had a fantastic stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Huge comfortable rooms in a prime location near Circular Quay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a smoky smell in reception, I think due to the fire. But everything else was great.

    The room was absolutely huge! And staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the experience and I would recommend it to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about this elegant hotel you would dislike, clean & quiet right next to the expressway.

    The overall size of the room, it's comfortable, cosy & the comfortable bed, the food was good but average at the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Christmas in July meal could have been more traditional

    Suite extremely comfortable and generous size. Position excellent with great views of Circular Quay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Old Sydney charm in very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little

    The room was very quite, no noise from other rooms noted,all facilities were in good condition, room service excellent. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Close to perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although tea was provided there was no coffee provided.

    Location was great. The room was huge and comfortable. The concierge service was very friendly and helpful. Overall service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of choice for breakfast. Your parking cost incorrect on site. Hotel honoured your price because I had copy of site info

    Location location location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely perfect location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't working so it was very hot in the room unfortunately they had a system issue that night, the bed wasn't very comfortable

    The view and location were absolutely perfect, the bathroom was clean and comfortable to use. There was a comfortable arm chair to sit in and relax looking out over the harbor. The staff were absolutley lovely, even though there were a couple of little things that weren't quite right it was still a fantastic stay. I was able to park easily, check in early and received a text when my room was ready two hours early! The lovely lady at the front desk also helped me out so easily with a request for a later check out time, the extra hour was just what I needed. It was great to walk in and have friendly faces smiling every time you walk through the lobby. The little touches were great aswell, cold iced water in the lobby, fruit bowls on every floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A special place for a special occasion!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids were eager to try out the heated pool! As it was winter and a really miserable weekend they were a little disheartened it was not hotter, but they got over it!

    The service was fabulous, we celebrated my sons 18th with a night in the city with just our family. The staff sent up a complimentary bottle of wine to his room. He was delighted with that gesture of kindness and felt so grown up!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our experience of just staying overnight and not using the restaurant nothing of note to dislike.

    Attractive property, good size rooms, staff pleasant and helpful. Happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and very helpful staff, and a large room with a little view of the Opera House from the balcony. The location was perfect with Circular Quay and trains only a few minutes walk. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Full of Charm and Staff warm and freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrival at the hotel on a cold winter day, was greeted with a smile, helpful service and an amazing open wood fire. Check-in was quick and easy, hotel lobby lounge was charming, lifts small but ok and room looked out towards the water and Sydney harbor bridge. My family and I enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, the bar, restaurant and the easy going staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite was dark and under furnished. It had lots of room with nothing in it. One remote for two TV’s. No offer of a newspaper, two bottles of water on check-in but none on second day. Breakfast was excellent and staff were helpful. Been wanting to stay for a while but no hurry to return.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Our second visit to this beautiful Hotel and we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu could use an update and room service food was terrible.

    Old world English charm, relaxing and calm environment in an unbelievably fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is exquisite and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Comfiest bed. Breakfast was the best I’ve ever had in a formal dining room. In love with this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Quality, old world charm in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sir Stamford's old world charm makes this hotel something special. Unbeatable location. Staff are exceptionally helpful. Rooms are well spacious and the marble bathroom is a highlight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Excellent all round!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! This has to be one of the loveliest hotels we have stayed in.

    Loved the decor and furnishings of the public aeas and the room was spacious, comfortable and well thought out. Great size bath too! We will definitely be staying here next time we have a night out in the city!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Exceeded our expectations. Sir Stamford oozes ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave at the end of our holiday.

    Exceeded our expectations on every level. We chose the Sir Stamford for its ambience and its location. All the staff were welcoming and professional. We had breakfast in the dining room each morning enjoying menu based hot choices and buffet style continental fruit, cereal and fresh squeezed juices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Reliable hotel, but please, more bed cover in winter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was cold in bed at night! Very cold winter nights in Sydney winter. There were only 2 blankets available in the room. I woke at 3 am feeling cold. I couldn’t adjust the aircon upwards. I would have appreciated a Donna in winter.

    The position of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.5
    Excellent location staff were helpful, furnishings need an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dark furnishings, lighting, carpet which was quite tired. The chairs in the dining room - the fabric was quite worn

    Location and marble bathroom! Plus double beds!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel in an excellent location and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all to dislike

    Location is fantastic. Staff are the friendliest. Access and handiness to public transport couldn't be better. Just an overall great hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay, but for the money I expected the minor details to be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was lacking, bar staff ignored us for a pre dinner drink to the point where we left and went elsewhere. Room servicing was lazy, toilet brush left on the carpet, mini bar not restocked.

    Fantastic location, beautiful old building, and very comfy rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sir Stamford Circular Quay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: