Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Skycity Darwin 5 stars

Gilruth Avenue, Mindil Beach, The Gardens, 0801 Darwin, Australia

#34 of 87 hotels in Darwin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 774 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    The place was a bit expensive, but glad we had seniors discount for food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked two rooms and when we arrived they had our friends on a different floor altogether! If I book two rooms then I expect the two rooms next to each other or at least the same floor. Considering that you can't usually use your room card to get off on a different floor then how to you go to each other's rooms to meet before going out. They did change us to the same floor, but said that it isn't a normal practice!!! Also the rooms had a very musty smell. Gave me a headache so I had to leave the balcony door open during the night.

    We came on a Monday and it has discounted food for seniors on Monday and Tuesdays, so everything was really cheap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Loved our lagoon room! We were visiting family in Darwin, so we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely loved everything! We stayed in a lagoon room, beautiful views over the lagoon pool and the ocean was to the right. I felt safe at Skycity. Security everywhere! Service was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    Great view to ocean and good entertainment in casion but you find better value elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room, mini bar pretty little range

    The room we had for 249$ was pretty old school and small . You could see this hotel has its years and It would need a renovation here and there .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and plenty to keep ourselves busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast service was a little average. Outside facilities closed so had to visit main complex. Didn't appreciate the heavies on my case telling me to get a shirt on. There should be clear advice posted prior to entering the building.

    Excellent location and plenty to keep ourselves busy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    By far the best pools in Darwin, with a beautiful outlook...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested an early check in, unfortunately this could not be met, due to being a busy period, but in compensation for this we were allowed to use the pool and facilities whilst we were waiting.

    By far the best pools in Darwin, with a beautiful outlook over the beach where you could watch the sunset. The room was presented immaculately, and very friendly staff. A variety of eateries, something to please everyone.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Our room was lovely and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the resort to be tied. The lounge beds by the infinity pool, most were broken. The pool staff were fabulous

    Our room was lovely and very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff, restaurants and bars, comfortable room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restricted access way to the pool from our room due to locked gates and upgrades to the gym.

    The staff, restaurants and bars, comfortable room and the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.5
    Great place to relax and get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some more choices of beer in the fridge. The swim up bar could be a little bigger to accommodate more people to sit at.

    Room was clean and cool when we arrived. Love the lagoon pool and swim up bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Pool area was really nice. Room was clean. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast to be included in the price. The television wasn't working for normal tv. A map of the hotel would have been helpful in the room to know where the pool etc was. Spare toothbrush in the room would have been handy if travellers forgot their toothbrush. Fruit bowl should be optional with the room/included with simple selection of 2 apples 2 bananas 2 mandarins etc.

    The pool area was very good . Room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in the Top end
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great experience overall. The food in il Piato was very ordinary.

    Comfortable rooms, great facilities, clean and well maintained. I would recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Darwin's Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't soundproof due to the connecting door - we could hear the neighbouring guests and no doubt vice versa.

    The kingsize bed was very comfortable and the lovely bathroom well equipped. Our room with balcony had a beautiful relaxing view of the ocean and beach beyond the tropical gardens. Such a pleasure to watch the yachts sail by. We loved the gigantic lagoon pool. The grounds and facilities are top class. To sit at the Sandbar with cocktail in hand while being caressed by a balmy light breeze and watching the sun go down over the ocean was a delight I will remember for the rest of my days. We dined at il Piatto Restaurant, again with beautiful ocean and sunset views. Every single morsel of food was mouth-wateringly delicious. It was the best meal I have ever had. Bravo chef! Service was great too. Our security bond was released promptly (unlike Mantra who deem it acceptable policy to retain bond money for 2 weeks!). Sky City's friendly, helpful, professional staff are exceptional at every level and a real credit to the resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Food in the buffet was amazing for 30 dollars per person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was flickering often. Minimal shade in the pool bar to sit and enjoy.

    Food in the buffet was amazing for 30 dollars per person. Unfortunately reserving seats was a must at all restaurants in the hotel. The lagoon was amazing but be prepared with lots of sunscreen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Other than the disappointing restaurant experience I did enjoy my first stay at the casino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Vue restaurant had lovely food but sadly the service was extremely poor. Limited staff. Many Empty Tables were not cleared. No cutlery available to eat food. No glasses to poor drinks. The place was very disorganised at both dinner and breakfast. Would not bother to eat there again.

    Bed super comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Great stay very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stop climatisation in the bedroom on the groundfloor.

    The 2 swimming pools, the spa, the 4 restaurants. The view, the calm. We were 5 minutes walking from mindil beach sunset market.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    We would stay again and recommend to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner was ordinary. We paid $35 each and most of the main course dishes had insufficient food left in trays.

    Loved being able to use BOTH pools. Next door to Mindil markets, stroll to Cullen Bay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing, everything we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spotless and smelled divine. All the staff from reception, restaurant staff, house keeping and ground staff, were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay but you pay for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt over priced. They charged us $65 for one night to swap a portacot for a trundle bed for our toddler daughter which I thought was ridiculous. Another hotel in Cairns did it for free.

    Loved the Lagoon pool and the room was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Location was amazing and the room very comfortable even if a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was super expensive for what you received and was pretty tasteless so eat elsewhere.

    Location was amazing and the room very comfortable even if a bit dated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    This is not a luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A horrible night in water damaged and mouldy room with a noisy air conditioner that could not be turned off circulating the stench. I became physically ill and was forced to abandon the planned 6 nights at hotel. The staff tried hard to improve the situation but I did not want to spoil my holiday through illness caused by the unsatisfactory room. The hotel did not offer a discount or refund for the night and this added insult to my injury.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Its pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area could have been staffed better. People were just walking in off the beach & using the pool. They werent even staying at Skycity.

    It was handy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Holiday heaven with super sunsets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices were a bit limited. Pastries were not home made.

    The infinity pool was perfect. Crystal clean, great tunes playing and a gorgeous view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The room was great, bed was comfy and plenty of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food from the room service. Definitely not worth $30, was terrible. And we had construction out side our window which was pretty annoying - workers standing outside our room and noise of the machines.

    The room was great, bed was comfy and plenty of space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Pathetic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is way outdated, bedding was poor, room service was a joke, just really really over priced for what is available in Darwin . Room was noisy, could hear everything from floor above, and beside. We stayed here before 2 years ago and was told they were doing major renovations then and as we liked the pools we stayed again. Wrong choice . Food at casino is crap too

    The pools are ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Pools nice, can’t swim in the beach but lovely view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got an upset stomach 20minutes after eating in the buffet (so did my friend we both ate the mussels) and again later that night after ordering room service.

    Pools nice, can’t swim in the beach but lovely view from the pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Best to only go mid week if you want to enjoy a peaceful stay and swim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weekends a nightmare with extremely loud music from events taking place in hotel grounds. Access to main pool was frustrating as it was blocked from hotel and staff were not informed about guests access-so lots of conflicting information.

    Hotel has the best swimming pool in Darwin with stunning sea views from the old part of the hotel- new part of the hotel is very different with interior looking rooms and lagoon style pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Great stay, food and resteraunt s were great , the place just fell back a little on appearance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get s coffee around the pool And could only use one gate to exit pool area

    It looked very tired Needs a paint, the whole building was a bit dated . The first room we had was so basic I was really upset but they up graded us to a better room for minimal extra which was really good and then we had a great time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff were friendly, I would return for the pool/food not the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The older rooms ( not lagoon rooms ) are so dated and small. They are 3 star at best, Balcony tiny.

    The facilities outdoors are great, Food was lovely we attended an event there so did not try a specific restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff lack of training except the concierge, who was knowledgeable . The reception staff needs training because they couldn't find my reservation, delayed me, also didn't give me a receipt for cash deposit unless I requested them to do so. Check out was also time consuming process. Moreover, I chose a package including breakfast; however, I my reservation came with that if breakfast is needed then an extra to be paid.

    Modern room and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast needs improvement, otherwise great stay, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast buffet was average and for what it was too expensive

    Breakfast needs improvement, otherwise great stay, good location, great amenities. I'd recommend a stay there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    LOVED IT!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super! The sunset over the infinity pool was just amazing with cocktails served to you by the pool. Rooms are extremely clean and staff are amazing. Cant fault this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Not a stay or a location I woud want to repeat again. When I pay $300 a night one expects quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I was provided with a very noisy room after specifically requesting a quiet room I asked to be moved. I was refused a move, refused a refund and had to stay the night in a noisy environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Uncomfortable and over priced for what as offered
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, old falling apart parts in the stairwell to the room, expensive and poor quality, view to the carpark, again expensive and terrible tv, soaps/hair products smelt terrible

    Location, tidy room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    Bad, given we were so looking forward to our Darwin break at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid $319 each for three rooms , two for two nights. We did not want the outlook over the driveway and carpark. We knew it would not be an ocean view. We booked in March 2018. We were told the hotel was completely booked out (which it clearly was not). We were told that because we had booked with “booking.com” we could not be moved to any other room. There were flash sales for $189 on the internet for available rooms. (We did not want a refund just a different outlook. The room was noisy overlooking the front driveway.) We were lied to, repeatedly. I would not recommend this hotel. We were very disappointed with the lack of professionalism and failure to understand what “customer service” is. The hotel were disparaging about “booking.com”

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massage was to expensive. Person wasn't So friendly. At the Bar where the pool is, It took too long to get served when wanting a Drink.

    Good Comfortable room and nice resort with A bar at the pool. Bus stop out the front was handy To go into town. Nice view of the water from resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    We love the pool and the close proximity of it to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is dated and needs renovations. Air conditioning is poor. I woke up everynight sweating due to poor ventilations in the room. No ceiling fans as well.

    We love the pool and the close proximity of it to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Dissatisfied with the facilities and breakfast
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is run down and could really do with an upgrade, the price of the room was extremely high concidering other options around Darwin The Buffet breakfast at nearly $30 each is just poor value for what is provided, a so bad in fact we couldn’t eat the bacon and eggs, so we paid nearly $60 for a bowl of cereal and a cup of tea!

    Beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant enough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not very good and price for buffet 28 dollars with real coffee extra for this sort of venue very disappointing.You are pretty stuck having to have breakfast as hotel is away fro cbd and you would have to drive there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room tired and dated. Bathroom door damaged and the cabinet where the fridge is was damaged on the inside. Overpriced ,@ $340.00, as there are better hotels elsewhere. Would not stay again and if attending a function would pay for a cab from a better hotel in the CBD. The hotel also takes $100.00 from your account for damage. OK but they do not put that money back for 2-3 working days later. I guess they are getting the interest. Also a $15.00 charge to have the use of their hotel carpark.

    The casino area looked nice and roomy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    I loved it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion over my bill when I left. Was being charged for something I didn’t have. A small Breakfast could have been included. I would have liked a couple of biscuits in room to have with tea. This seems to have gone out of fashion

    Liked view from my room. The two pools were magnificent. The Italian restaurant. Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Pool bar staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Lagoon rooms large and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't so easily access a couple of the restaurants with my daughter as had to enter through the casino. Some noisy, fairly inebriated patrons in the swim up bar at the lagoon pool which you could see and hear from the room if you had the balcony doors open.

    We stayed in the Lagoon room and got a great rate - the facilities were clean, new, fresh and lagoon pool was good to look out on and also to swim for my daughter. Staff were friendly and helpful and we got an early check in and late check out which was much appreciated as our flight was leaving later that day. Buggy service to room a bonus. Great access to Mindil markets, Parap and Cullen Bay. Beautiful sunset could be watched by the pool at front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    The pool was clean, the scenery was good and the water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water leaked and smelled moldy in the bathroom, which made me very distressed to stay.

    The pool was clean, the scenery was good and the water temperature was good enough to swim.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice, could do with an update to the decor soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon wasn't working brilliantly in the night which made sleeping a little uncomfortable Room was nice, maybe a little dated now and the plants on the patio meant there was no view as such. I had 2 cards stolen in the casino. Keep an eye on your belongings.

    Nice size room The pools are amazing and so are the restaurants. The aircon wasn't working brilliantly in the night which made sleeping a little uncomfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged $5 for breakfast to be delivered to room. Attempted charges for movies that we didn't view.

    Service good and friendly, nice restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay will look at my options next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked online and was charged $80 extra i am a terriotorin and was charged extra to stay in the carpark have stayed with you before and have not had this problem The lady behind the desk told us that i didnt book on your website

    Great bar and gaming staff Great food brilliant food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    OK not 5 star and not worth €400+
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have cleaned the room properly. Remenants of previous guests in the bathroom. Still there after room serviced.

    Comfy bed, fridge in room, nice views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    The pool area, the balcony and the restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was looking a little worse for wear, paint peeling off, pool dirty, wooden banisters cracking.

    The pool area, the balcony and the restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    The location and Lagoon is fabulous.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old and in need of a revamp. We didn’t pay a lot for the room but there is definitely better value for money in other accommodation around town.

    The location and Lagoon is fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    The air conditioner dripped all over the desk, just missing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner dripped all over the desk, just missing my phone. ... The room stunk of wet carpet, we had to leave the door open all night so we could sleep. We reported it to the desk the next morning, in hindsight, I should not have accepted the room. Dissapointed that I did not even get a discount. I may not choose this place again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for a nights stay. Close enough to CBD, nice Mindil Beach walk and park close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning did not turn off or down, but it was very humid so perhaps they had it set not to turn off? Parking of you car outside, away from rooms was interesting in the rain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    The room I got was not the room I thought I had booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I got was not the room I thought I had booked online. It was a disappointment as it was meant for our anniversary. I also wasn't offered the locals rate that they have.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar at the lagoon pool was poorly staffed (one person) resulting in long waits for drinks

    The lagoon was amazing and the room was clean and comfortable. Restaurant was great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Good but could easily be a lot better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in room late and cold, Cove restaurant poor, chef had 3 goes at getting it correct., could not eat it in end, but no refund as it was a prepaid Valentines dinner.

    Location in general.. Lagoon rooms nice , little things could make it a lot better , but nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great accommodation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to buffet roast for dinner and was not that impressed roast beef was tough and not a great variety not a great variety of sweets however noticed more came out as we left

    Staff friendly would walk an extra mile for you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Staff are very welcome and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cannot adjust aircon fan speed or temp, the controller is useless. One of wall light wasn't working. Room had musty smell.

    Staff are very welcome and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    The location and facilities were good, the service was terrible and it was completely over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was raining and took over 30 mins for a buggy to collect us from the room to reception, it took over 45 mins for our coffee order to come and it was cold. Then I called 45 mins in advance to get the car from valet, then mentioned it during check out and they said the car was on its way... we stood outside for 20 more mins waiting in the rain for the car only to go in and find the valet standing at his desk watching us through the window because he forgot to get the car... 3 times... In an hour.

    The pool and location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    Pool was great. Room was crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wind whistling through the gaps in the door of our room. I couldn’t sleep all night. Then we had some of your staff arguing among themselves outside our door at 8am

    Great lagoon pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate at Dragon Court and the meals took so long we had a banquet and from the time we ordered to the time we left was 3hours it took way too long and the food was nothing special!

    The swim up pool to our room was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place to take in the tropical beauty and get R&R
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for room service and food, drinks around the pool too steep. Avoided the casino.

    The infinity pool, gardens and sunsets from the beach made this stay really special. Bonus points for cricket on the big screen in the garden.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing New Year’s Eve stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m sure the reception staff remember the VIP’s however everyone wants to be treated like a VIP. We have stayed at SkyCity every three to four weeks in the last couple of months & the reception staff don’t remember us each time. One male staff member at the lagoon bar remembers us, and we don’t even go there every time we stay! Maybe a computer generated reminder for reception staff to ask how our last visit was would be helpful. It would also be nice for the cleaning staff to leave more than half a roll of toilet paper when they make up the room, when there is 3 of us staying in the room! (No spare roll was left for us!) It’s a small thing but can make a big difference when you run out!!

    Lovely place to relax with my husband & son by the pool. Great restaurants & other facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Order food to our room and it was terrible. Our room was very small and old .

    Rooms were quick old but clean . Order food to our room and it was terrible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    Some staff really negatively affected our experience of the resort. Such a shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reservation staff were extremely unhelpful. However, the manager tried his best to make up for it. The room service staff were great.

    The pool was exceptional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Best Holiday ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was super big & comfy. The room was serviced daily & spotless.We had an awesome view from our balcony & there was no noise during the night. Complimentary paper was delivered each day but we were not disturbed by this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking was out in the sun, car was boiling hot and valet didn’t put up our sun visor. Also no offer to collect bags on checkout

    The pool and swim up bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    vegans werent catered for very well at all restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    vegans werent catered for very well at all restaurants. was a bit isolated to the city becuase buses didnt run frequent enough so had to catch taxis..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    The Air conditioning didn't work very well I found it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Air conditioning didn't work very well I found it warm through the night.rooms are looking a little tired. Definitely has a bit overpriced. As we stay each year and alleys the air con struggles.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Great stay but some areas need to be looked at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We normally give a 7 star rating & always highly recommend Dragon Court but this time round totally disappointed & shocked to receive room service order within 10minutes of ordering it was like it had been pulled out from a freezer and quickly reheated in the microwave. Unfortunately this gave us both an upset stomach so where up all night & then at about 2am we where awoken by someone banging very loudly on our door not impressed with our first night

    We love this hotel and the friendly staff but is looking run down & not cared for in some areas. Highly recommend il Piatto for room service 10/10 our meals where sensational, fresh & devine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell of mildew which we had to open the door for a while and let the room get some fresh air, the bathroom had not been cleaned as there was the previous persons facial hair on the basin

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    SkyCity Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Delux Room was average in need of bathroom update but functional and comfortable 😊 Time to update imitation marble benches.

    I found the Staff Service to be excellent including Valet Service. The grounds and pool areas are well maintained and beautiful. The food was excellent. Ocean view from our room was gorgeous 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    Second class resort, third class service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is totally outdated, you feel super ripped off when you get to your room - its like stepping into a time warp - wait until you see the carpet! Staff couldn't tell us what time the bars/restaurants opened at and couldn't provide a wine bottle cooler for the room. Don't be too upset after checking in though, go down to one of the pools and everything is ok again, they are amazing! the service at the swim up bar is bad enough to make you cry -SO slow and SO unfriendly, but unfortunately its the only swim up bar in Darwin at the moment so I guess they don't care. It also closes at 5pm.

    The swimming pools are the only reason we stay here. They are absolutely beautiful - one a lagoon with a swim up bar and sand on the bottom, the other and infinity pool overlooking the beach with amazing sunsets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    My partner and I loved our stay in November.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My partner and I loved our stay in November. We had a comfy room looking over Mindil beach, which was lovely for watching sunsets. The pools at the hotel are excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Rather expensive for the quality of the room but otherwise not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was extremely noisey & parking is terrible - had to park a long way away and no cover when raining to get to the car

    staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    I would recommend Skycity to m friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary cold water in room would have been perfect.

    The bed was comfy, atmosphere is great, staff are friendly, Food was delicious, the property was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    We stay here usually 2/3 time's a year for 3/4 nights, love the resort feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV Control, changing channels/ volume was frustratingly painful!! Have management attempted to move up/down on the remote. Why does it take HOLDING the button for a number of seconds for it to move !!!! Please look at the pool side service. We had a party of 14 staying from jnterstate for my partner's birthday, unfortunately as much as the pool area is absolutely gorgeous, the service was extremely poor🤔😮

    Comfy bed😀 spa bath very relaxing, but not impressed that we are required to pay $6.00 for the bath balls, how about one complimentary 😊 being on the ground floor was really pleasant with the outdoor setting/ verandah. The Infinity pool was like being at any luxurious resort in the world, looking out over the ocean was truely magnificent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive but that’s just Darwin.

    Lagoon pool is amazing and the facilities/grounds/rooms were very well kept. Great location near Mindil Beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Awesome place to chill out or if you feel lucky you can have a gamble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is a little far from the rooms.

    The room was spotless and well equipped. Nice spa bath. Friendly staff and good food. Nice pool with large TV screen to watch the Rugby League World Cup. All and all this is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: