Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BreakFree Bell City 3.5 stars

205 Bell Street, Preston, 3072 Melbourne, Australia

#147 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3875 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Paid WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At night it was a bit cold, but asked staff to turn up heating and this issue was resolved. No other complaints.

    Friendly staff & helpful, Location of accomodation. Car parking, Immediate taxi service. Proximity to Austin Hospital. Breakfast was Good. Housekeeping was good. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough power points in room. Heater not on when arrived so room very cold. No hair conditioner or shower caps provided. Only 1 plate and set of cutlery offered at breakfast so no option to go back to get more on a clean plate. Could offer other egg choice than only scrambled. Should be a compendium in room, didn't know breakfast times or other food options within complex.

    Great value for money, great location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating. 5 degrees in room. No blankets or doona, only sheets. Shower was cold water. Room looked like a teenage party had happened the night before.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Housekeeping was terrible. Stayed there for 13 nights, went out during the day. Every day, when I returned, something was wrong in the room, e.g. not cleaned properly, tea cups not cleaned, tea/coffee not replaced, missing towels etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit draughty around window and under door, had to put towels to stop, fine after that.

    Tiny budget room, great value, very comfy bed, had everything I needed, staff very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very cold just sitting there otherwise all other aspects very good, had to ask for a heater and that was obviously not in stock and took quite some time to arrive.

    Great breakfast, clean facilities bed ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My heater broke down and made obnoxiously loud buzzing noises. But I won't blame the hotel for that. However the spare blanket was unwashed as it was covered with various hairs and it was quite gross.... I suggest cleaning staff washes every type of linen after each guest stays.

    Comfortable bed. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff need to use the phone in the room to get untouch with you rather than knocking on the the door also aircon did not work in the room

    The breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t have a heater. Queen rooms don’t have microwaves. Smoke director in my room was wrapped in plastic, but I didn’t noticed it as it was my first night and it was only a few hours after I checked in. A security guard banged on my door at 11 pm and accused me of smoking marijuana in the room. I was just laying on my bed and watching tv. Extremely disappointed. He was rude, arrogant and intimidating and didn’t want to listed to me .

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant needs a facelift. Not at all appealing.Food was okay but surroundings were horrible. We took our food to our room to eat.

    The bed was very comfy..rooms really quiet and cosy. We were only there for a short time but would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning controller was dangerous the adjustment buttons were not covered and alive. In the first room and I got a electric shock from it. i Turned it off and there was no extra blankets in the room so it was very cold. We were moved to a second room the next night and the controller was in the same condition. that was two night we could not sleep as the aircon was locked on 32c and it was to hot to sleep properly

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need housekeeping to pay more attention to detail Couldn’t make outgoing call as phone not connected

    Friendly and helpful staff Close to public transport Location Good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bald security wanker cut my neck and punched me in the throat after evicting me 3 days early, charged me $200 bond for SMOKING and I don't even smoke. Police report filed against that imbecile.

    Everything was bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accomodation is a mixture of short and long term and some of the characters around from the long term accomodation were a touch unsavoury.

    This place is a little oddball but undeniably incredible value for a very comfortable, well appointed room. The service was excellent and the buffet breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to renew security cards when they didn't work. Inconvenient, but no problem to do it. Really good choice of breakfast but the bacon and eggs weren't hot and the cold plates made it colder ☹️cooking and taste were good though.

    Great location for ease of access, Tram/Train/Free shuttle bus to city. Great value for money. Friendly, helpful staff. Good security.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke and fumes entering my room. Noise late at night. Reception asking me to pay twice for the same booking. Slamming doors often. Irregular housekeeping, who don't clean the bathroom and rush the vacuuming.

    Digital key locks and self contained room. Also good prices sometimes as prices vary greatly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The aircon was not working correctly and you had to ring up to adjust the room temp.

    For us it was a good location. Food & drink service was great. Clean and we got a good nights sleep. Not to far from the Tram & Train stations into the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked drinking glasses, a tea towel, and cutlery besides teaspoons available in the room. Reception offered us a free upgrade to a Queen room, but with no microwave. Great, we could live without the microwave, but the bed was not a Queen.

    Fabulous view over the city! Convenience, value for money and location. Terrific to have Happy Hour downstairs - good chance to relax with a drink and the daily papers. Pity it was too cold for a dip in the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cards for room and elevator didn't work sometimes and found them very temperamental!

    Found the rooms comfortable and staff friendly and helpful! Breakfast was fresh and a large variety of food to pick from!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift access diffcult with keycard pass not working successfully each time, ants in one of the rooms which had to be changed, a little tired and run down

    Breakfast included was quite good quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extra small but I knew that when I booked so nothing unexpected!

    Great value for money - don't stay here if you're expecting a luxury stay, but if you just need a roof over your head, a comfy bed, a decent brekkie and don't mind having a toilet in the shower, then this is for you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 30 nights

    housekeeping was shoddy, linens were not regularly changed, cold shouldered front office reception staff specially TANVIR, poor insufficient heating, problematic access card and was troublesome in using it,

    nothing specifically worth mentioning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is extra cost on room price

    typical rack hotel catering for Asian students and short visit guests. Nothing special or extra services, but the room prices reflect that. A basic place to sleep. Thin wall high rise building means noise from adjoining rooms, plumbing etc. Central, secure and polite, no problems

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like that the smoke from smokers filtered into my room somehow even though my window was closed. It also was noticeable in the dining area at times too.

    I stayed in here because my daughter and her baby were at the Austin Hospital and I needed to be close. The room I had was good for my needs & the breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating - it was freezing in my room and the heater did not work/ worked intermittently. The entire building was also out of $1coins to do washing and it was a big inconvenience to go out of the hotel to get coins for the washing. The staff helped in any way they could to get my room warmer and in the end she gave me a little portable heater and cos of her I was able to stay in my room.

    Love the staff and the ease of access. Seriously very awesome and the staff were magnificent and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There had been no power in the room on arrival.once this was fixed i found out later this was due to the power shutting down as broken hairdryer. ofcourse the power swtiched off again once the hair dryer was used. The remote did not work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very student accom feel. Corridor on my floor smelled of cigarette smoke. The silicon around the shower base was mouldy and black. The doona was far too light and I had to turn up the air-con.

    Location good for my purposes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the new female receptionists was very sarcastic and rude when I went to reception - left a very sour taste in my mouth. All other staff were pleasant. Heating didn't work, cups were not replaced daily and one of the lifts was always malfunctioning.

    Ok for a short stay. Private room and within reach of public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room walls were filthy. and the pillow was right against the wall. seriously - clean the walls or repaint them. its gross. the carpet was dark but if the wall looked like that, then for sure the carpet was also gross --- which meant a whole room of gross.

    location good though for just 20$ more you can get city central. i like being in preston near friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude incompetent staff. Had to pay extra $20 to get a room. Tv had no remote . Smoke alarm and sprinklers were covered with plastic shopping bags tied on!! Windows dirty and draughty. Coffee bitter, breakfast awful.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That a worker walked in my room while I was asleep naked and the assistant manager couldn’t do anything about it suck as a refund uograde or explanation. Invasion of privacy at work there.

    Breakfast was yummy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are thin, do noise was occasionally a problem. My room card did not always work the first few times in the elevator. Sixteen dollar flat rate for parking overnight in Preston seems pricey.

    Great price, good location. You get exactly what you pay for- a small basic room and ensuite that was dated but comfortable. My room was clean. Perfect for business trips.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were badly lit with old windows and very thin walls. When I was upgraded the shower looked great but was badly installed so flooded the bathroom after every shower.

    The staff were very helpful and understanding. I had an accident when I arrived (my fault) and the staff were very quick to respond. I also had trouble one night with someone snoring loudly and although they couldn't change the room that night they actually upgraded me the next day. The also have great food in the canteen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets slid off the bed when you moved. No hairdryer in the room let alone one that could be hired or requested from reception.

    Close to the arts centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was cold there was no extra blankets in the cupboard. I don't like having the heater on all night as it dries the air out and l get a headache.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was very close to the wall and vanity. I'm a small woman and found it difficult to use.

    Comfortable and clean. Was in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and out was quick and easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel was filthy, broken lifts, carpet was revolting, bits of paint from walls sitting all over the floor, rubbish in hallway in front of room, smell was foul, vending machines in hallway were out from the wall not leaving much room to get past, hair dryer got boiling hot, sparked and stopped working, the state of the room was disgusting, there were belongings and rubbish from the previous guest in the room, the bed had fluff and hairs in it, there were stains and burn marks in the bedroom, the breakfast was horrible.

    Nothing, the place was revolting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When extending stay in the same room, their booking system or staff seems to book people in the same room. On a number of occasions I have been woken late at night when people have entered my room as they were also given it. Very annoying and possibly dangerous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Window didn't close properly and wind effected all night. Unusual for this site. Free Wi-Fi would help these days not an optional extra

    I always stay here when visiting Melbourne on business. Half way between the airport and the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Grotty facilities. Terrible buffet breakfast. Concierge are useless. Disgusting place.

    Dreadful customer service, asked dozens of times for heater to be turned on over two weeks and the same old 'maintenance will do it' was recycled, they never do it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cards to use lifts and room keys did not work properly. Had to go back to desk 4 times during a 2 night stay. Staff were becoming more unfriendly each time I went back and even looked as though they didn't believe me. If I were a visitor to Melbourne I would be horrified as there was no help as regards facilities around the area. $16 a day for parking is way to expensive as most of the time the car was out of the car park, was only parked overnight. Food service in cafe slow. Took 5 minutes to get served in the first place and then 40 minutes to receive food which was a snack plate only. Need to hire more staff to cover the demand in this area. Vaccumm cleaner started outside bedroom door at 8 am in the morning. Really a bit much!!!!!

    Staff were mostly friendly but did not direct you to your room or state where the lifts were. Was cheap but will not stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Multiple stained carpet, rundown and chipped painted furnishings, no additional blankets for warmth during the night and an overall impression of a hotel in dire need of renovation. Key pass cards had to be recoded frequently. Lucky I was given 2, as often 1 didn’t work. These delays in getting into lifts and my room, didn’t make me feel safe as a woman traveling alone. Other guests in lifts & hallways, said it happens all the time. More lighting required between this building and Mantra next door for when moving buildings to use the gym would make it safer.

    Next door to my conference venue with great parking. Friendly and helpful staff at the desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was freezing- you can't adjust the heater settings. You would have to call maintenance to come & adjust the settings. Hardly no bedding- no quilt or doona. Just sheets with a thin blanket & pillows

    The view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful older male reception

    I booked this hotel for my sister and was told she can request a hairdryer from reception so she didn't have to bring hers from sydbey. Thebguys at reception was rude and unhelpful told her to go google and get one from kmart Disappointed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maybe breakfast can be changed up for instead of scrambled eggs maybe could have fried eggs or even a Omelette Re water in the foyer maybe Ice and fresh lime or lemons in the water Maybe the games room could have special discounts for children rather than so expensive for each games The pool Table could be free which would incur more of an interaction within the guests

    bed was extra comfy i will want more pillows next time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was extremely noisy and unable to be regulated by myself, the walls inside the room and the hallways are filthy and need a freshen up, it was cheap to stay but I’ve stayed at better for a similar price.

    The staff were very accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had mould down the bottom that was pretty thick Key cards for rooms kept failing and the pass to the car park expired after 1 day

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy in the corners of the room, spiderwebs dirt on ealls. My room was under an engineering room and it sounded like being on an aeroplane- i asked to swap rooms but fully booked so i had to pull mattress on the floor as even with earplugs room was noisy. Shower pressure rubbish. But cheap so you get what u pay for.

    The front desk lady was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Group
    • Sleep & Go Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit concerned about the loose lock on our door. We had 1 incident when 1 of the front dest staff was rude and dismissive

    The room was spotless, only had breakfast 1 morning as for what we ate it wasn't economical. The choice was very good, large variety of hot or cold Some of the guests on our floor had no consideration for others - this was not the fault of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room didn’t work and we asked several times to have it looked at, which nobody followed up on. On the last night the staff offered to move to another room (which also was unairconditioned).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, I can see some hairs on my bed when I first entered the room. The cup was not cleaned, and many dust at the exhaust fan. The bed is not long enough for a 6 feet person.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unable to use the air con to your level of comfort. It was a set and couldn't be changed. Was way too hot for me. The card system was the worst we have had. If it got near our phones, keys or wallet it would reset itself.. very annoying going down to reception to get it reset... the bed was bad as suck into middle. But for location it was right near where we needed to be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had no soundproofing, all you could hear were constant slamming doors and the screeching of pipes when people turned on taps in neighbouring rooms

    Bed was reasonably comfy but not good if you're tall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was an extra cost of $20 for 7 days. Breakfast was too expensive so didn't have it -$20 per person, per day. About half an hour train ride from the city. And the lift wouldn't work without the room key, and being on the 6th meant we called at every floor each time we used the lift.

    Nice room with a view of Melbourne CBD. A comfy bed with good facilities in the room. Friendly staff and allowed us late check out and use of facilities whilst we waited for our flight. A nice pool with sun loungers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested air conditioner temp be increased, can’t do in individual rooms, nothing happened. Next morning requested another blanket as room too cold, had to ring housekeeping 4 times over an hr, each time told would be straight there, nothing.... was told left at door, not there, had to go and find staff and get one for myself. Smoke alarm went off, everyone needed to go to lobby, woman with walking frame on 5th floor couldn’t get down, no staff checked or helped in any way.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing much to like the room was too hot and you couldnt regulate the temperature and there were not enough blankets to keep warm if you turned it off . Parking was $ 16 each car with no mention of that before arrival and there was nowhere else to park. The cards wouldnt work in the lift or the room so you were constantly going back to reception obviously the system doesnt work well

    The bathroom needs serious renovation . the tap on the sink was too big it almost came over the edge of the sink the bath and shower taps both came on at the same time and you couldnt regulate the temperature. It was very tired and noisey and we had been given an upgrade!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left my iPhone charger. Rang up, said they’d contact housekeeping who hadn’t handed it it, and no reply. Didn’t like the checkin procedure where I felt I was being treated like I was a second class,I assume because I was wearing F1 gear. Room was super tiny.

    Reasonable distance to the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poky and not as it appeared in the photos. The heater didn’t work, and I reported it, being told that someone would check it, no one came. The room key didn’t work on several occasions, for the price it was disappointing, parking was hard to get in the carpark, with several unregistered vehicles full of belongings in the car park. I would not stay again.

    I liked the location and the restaurant facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually i wasn’t happy at all the room it was not clean the bed smelled I don’t know what!! the basic thing in motel i couldn’t found it there..also the car parking is too expensive... but the stuff is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was dirty, parking was expensive which it didn’t tell us about went up $9 from last time , no hair dryer in room and my pillows had hair on them so lucky I brought my own as I wasn’t going to use them

    I got it for a great price at the time and the location was close to where we wanted to go

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows to flat also coat hangers would be good. Parking terrible. I book into the Break Free not Mantra and I want to park my car near my accommodation, That is what I pay $16 per day parking fee for. I am an older female and don’t feel safe walking from underground parking at Mantra to Breakfree at night. This parking problem needs fixing.

    Love the bed, very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a basic room, number 251, and it was nothing like the picture that comes up when you book online. The bathroom floor was filthy, the furniture looked like it had been in a fight and the wardrobe shelves were so dusty we asked for the cleaners to come back and clean them. In fact before that we asked to move to another basic room and was told that "they are all like that". This hotel is in dire need of investment and maintenance. I would never recommend it to anyone

    The bed and pillows were comfy and there was plenty of hot water. The bedding and towels were clean and replaced regularly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked in to was tiny, the walls were paper thin, and we spent a very uncomfortable night in a freezer, due to not being able to adjust the temperature on the air con. When we tried to ring reception, the phone simply rang out. Despite the boom gates stating that guests could park for free, we were charged for parking.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is too small . Mattress was not of good quality and both me and my wife got back pain.no plates or cuttleries in the room. Room did not have iron or hair dryer. Staff behavior was rubbish. Only keep eyes on money nothing else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that I couldn't control the air con and that the number shown to arrange for someone to change the temperature of it was not available.

    bed and pillows

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a convenient, affordable place to stay. My room was perfect for my needs, clean and tidy. The public transport was wonderfully convenient as well. Will definitely consider staying here for any further upcoming trips to Melbourne.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a big saggy hole in it and hurt my back, the room cards wouldn't work properly but staff fixed it pretty quickly for me

    The view wasn't too bad even thou it was over the car park lol staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping not done in a daily basis even you put sign on the door. Only once house keeping done on our three nights stay. Face and hand towels were not given eventough I have requested to the house keeping ladies on my way out.

    Convenient location to trams and train station. Parking on-site availability. (But should be free)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Sleep & Go Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and neede restoring. Paint coming off doors No plugs in the bath or sink. Lack of sugar in the room Carpets were dirty

    View was excellent. Room was large and beds were extra comfy. Good value for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated, tired decor, not very clean in bathroom, metered electricity that when set for 3 hours went off after 2 minutes had to keep resetting. When asked for room to be made up, sheets were not changed for 5 days. View was of the scrap heap heap for the hotel, WiFi had to be paid for and the quality was not good, kept dropping out. Parking is charged at $16 dollars a day. Found the breakfast a bit expensive at $20 per person.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the rooms require major maintenance and cleaning !!!!!

    Nothing really, the room was very old and dirty, the bathroom was just as bad. The only thing that I liked was the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold,not enough blanket.shower leaked.i spent $2:50 x4 at atm cause they couldn't take out the $1 bond so I paid $200 cash bond leaving me with no money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget One Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Burnt food inside the kettle so I was unable to have a morning cup of tea/coffee and no hotel tea/coffee service before 7am. I was given complimentary overnight parking which was a good gesture. The refrigerator was being defrosted and leaked onto the carpet in spite of the towel that was left inside the fridge, which was turned off. Generally, from both of my overnight stays on separate trips, the carpets were unclean. They need steam cleaning or in most cases, replacing. Don’t stay here if hygiene is important to you.

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep & Go Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking, also the room was very cold, the air con heating didn’t work, there wasn’t much shampoo & body wash to use for 2 people & not great quality

    The apartment was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget One Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con control panel didn’t work. It was blowing cool air. We asked reception to have a look. Nothing had changed and the air con dropped cold water on the bed.

    Lovely bar staff

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse BreakFree Bell City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: