Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Melbourne On Collins 5 stars

25 Collins Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#14 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1641 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrendous attitude and often incompetence from administrative staff. No free Wi Fi - even if a Le Club member. You have to climb into a bath to have a shower.

    Great Breakfast and comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free internet in the room. The bar closed too early

    Very well located, excellent views from the room, very comfortable. Everyone was very nice to us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with City View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we booked, I was to believe we were to get two double beds, this was not the case, and we ended up with a king bed and a roll a away. The roll a way wasn't very nice to sleep on (my daughter hated it!) Booking.com need to confirm what is actually available at these expensive hotels

    Great location to the MCG and city. Mainly went for the State of Origin game (did in 2015 as well), really enjoyed our room and it's view of the MCG, got some awesome photo's (4424) good room. We ate out downstairs (Roosevelts is awesome, so is Laurent) both under the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at your hotel every year and never had a problem . We paid for and up grade and got a room with the paint peeling off the ceiling . i didn't expect that when you pay for an up grade . poor maintenance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just beat the breakfast rush which was lucky because there was a very very large queue from about 8.30am

    Polite and Professional Staff. Great views from room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do think the in room coffee could be more fitting of a 5 star. Nescafe satchets? Overall the place is so lovely but I do think a refurb/tidy up of walls etc should be sooner rather than later.

    superb bed. lovely in room toiletries (Lanvin). wonderful views from the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Club Lounge was well worth the extra cost. The staff there were unbelievably professional, friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and Sofitel Melbourne should be very proud of these people. We look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some dust on the cabinet that the TV sits on.

    I found the staff went out of their way to assist me and make me feel welcome. Views of Melbourne from my room were wonderful. A small thing, but I liked the shower head e.g. pressure of the water and how it ran.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby with banged up furniture and bubbling and peeling paint and plaster overall i think at over 3 hundred dollars a night and supposedly a five star hotel i found it disappointing as did my friend

    The staff are wonderful The bed was comfortable and the shower had excellent pressure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no dinner option besides 1 restaurant which is always booked. Check out was inconvenient . Rooms are very old and need an upgrade. Facilities are lacking and not of a 5 star standard. breakfast is limited , WiFI is charged at $5 per hour which is totally unacceptable , it should be included.

    Great location Bar staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marked down the amenities for 2 reasons: 1. The extortionate charge for wifi - I think they were charging about $30 a day!! Its 2018 for gods sake, even backpacker hostels offer free wifi. 2. No complimentary parking. Again, $55 per day which isnt cheap competitively speaking

    The location was perfect, very convenient for exploring the city. The room was spotless and i wanted to take the bed with us. The view of the river and the bay was spectacular especially at night or on a blue sky day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was cold and emotionless arriving to the front desk, trying to sale higher cat room when check in. Promised to call us when the room is ready but never happened. Bathroom not cleaned properly and left hair on the floor. The concierge took our car key when we tried to park the car for few minutes at the driveway, but when we come back all staff are off and took a long while to get our key back, and they even tried to charge us for “valet”.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds so comfy ... 48 floor and very quiet ... Smiles from the staff , but a delay at checking in. Due to room not yet ready ... 2.5 hours after checkin ... 430 arrival in room ... Sofitel king club is a added bonus and pleasant experience ... Will Come again ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets weren’t very soft or comfortable on the bed, but it wasn’t a huge deal and didn’t detract from the experience

    The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The front reception staff were extremely rude upon check in, mainly Suzanne Duce, they refused to acknowledge my accore membership and checked me into a room where the paint was peeling on the ceiling due to water damage and there was mould all through the room, I have never, ever been treated so poorly or spoken to so disgustingly be staff at a 5 star hotel and I stay at them twice a month, I will never, ever stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs upgrading to reflect the Magnificient position and commitment that Sofitel on Collins is in. I went to Order breakfast in the morning and the kitchen was closed which caused me to have to look elsewhere for my special diet. Sofitel has been long recognised "as a wonderful place", and there should be an opportunity for breakfast to be running until 11am (at the very least) to accommodate guests that have come from afar or from outer areas to be visiting guests ..

    The bed was luxuriously fitted which had the effect of a beautiful nights sleep. I had special dietary requirements and it was lovely to see the hotel staff deliver that so delightfully ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings were scuffed and not of a standard that you would expect from a hotel of this rating. Air conditioning temperature could not be adjusted so became very cold at times.

    Location on Collins St was good with a tram stop very close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work for me, but as I’m a local that didn’t matter to me.

    The views were amazing. The bar served excellent cocktails, exceptional ambience and lovely crowd.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience with a Club room was perfect. From the attentive check-in to the all day access to the club lounge, including pre dinner drinks and nibbles (which was actually enough for dinner!) we could find no fault. Beautiful room with exceptionally clean amenities, city view and comfortable bed. Highly recommend for a romantic stay-cation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I payed it was small and the lights didn’t work The lights had to be turned off by moving the beds out and switching it off at the wall. It couldn’t be fixed till the next day but I was leaving by then

    Location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed wasn't good and broken and felt like I was falling off the bed Didn't get gift as requested for child on Easter. Sofitel went above and beyond for Christmas at Darling Harbour, Sydney. Here, received nothing Food was average and not much selection Value for money was below average

    Staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bars are quiet. Not much to do after hours without leaving the hotel.

    Location is great, food is great, views are great.. generally a fantastic hotel in Melbourne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No swimming pool, no massage, lacks in-house facilities. Would rather go to other 5 star hotels with more in-house facilities.

    Staff and restaurants are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found bed and pillows too soft for our liking but most people would love their plushness. Room was clean and serviced everyday yet it was dusty I think because of the a/c unit probably needs cleaning. Some finishes in the room aren’t up to standard, ceiling was peeling near a/c vents. Paint work looked like I did it not a tradesman same with caulking in wet area

    Staff were superb , good knowledge of places to go for dinner especially Chinatown. Views were amazing and accessibility to free transport at your doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    facilities were excellent - convenient for a range of activities: Melbourne International Flower and Garden show: Footy, Food and Wine Festival and maybe the Grand Prix.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. One lovely gentleman not only organised a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate my 50th birthday but it came with a personalised card.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally I would have expected a lot more for the price I had to pay to stay here. The elevators were abysmal, slow to arrive, and seemed to have a mind of their own (smart touch screen control panels and finicky card access made for a really bad experience). Only instant coffee available in the room (I hate instant coffee). Breakfast was outrageously priced, but happily there are many alternatives close by. My bed was extremely plush...maybe most people like that, but I found it quite uncomfortable.

    The gym facilities were good and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure not to be on the side looking towards the MCG. There is a brand new apartment block next door, with a very bright and flashing aviation light. You will not be able to sleep without closing the blinds fully. Being high up, will also mean your phone will NOT work. Internet and phone costs are a joke. A 10 minute call to Sydney cost $50 dollars. Internet is $25 per device, per 24 hours (no joke).

    You are high up. So enjoy the views.......but

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked luxury club room but were put into a normal room. 3 staff lied and told us room was luxury club until ae escalated to manager who moved us to the room we had booked for. Hotel also lost booking. Manager did do great job of turning the experience around though once we complained

    View

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    I loved everything about this hotel. I loved the street it is located in, it felt like the Champs-Elysees. Lovely cafes across the road. Close to many restaurants in Bourke Street and The Tram at the door. Great location. Beautiful 5 Star Hotel. Loved the design. Our bedroom was on the 46th floor a ‘Classic King Room’. The room was very nice and clean and had great views looking down on St Patrick’s Church, which is worth a visit, stunning! If you are up at 6.30am you get to see all the hot air balloons out in full force. I loved the special treatment from room service calling in to turn down our bed at night and they gave you a nice lavender oil spray for your pillow. The toiletries were lovely. The breakfast was a highlight on the 35th floor, beautiful food and views. The staff in the restaurant spoilt us, they really looked after me as I was on crutches, very kind. After 10 tens days I felt like I knew them and had a goodbye hug from them. A lot of the staff were French. Concierge was excellent a nice young man. We enjoyed an evening meal at the hotel, very nice and wonderful service. Looking forward to staying again at this lovely hotel and visiting this vibrant city in the future!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no negative

    We were very impressed from the moment of arrival at the front desk to departure all staff give a 100 percent effort to meet all expectations .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the bathrooms, required to completely leave the premises and smoke on the street, standard rooms, shower over bathtub, no balconies or access to fresh air.

    Comfy bed, fantastic location, main areas of the hotel are beautiful, room service is impeccable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place. Staff were extremely accomodating and respectful, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely clean room and very comfortable bed. Fantastic views of the city, great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel of this standard the gym was not well equipped.

    Good location in the CBD. As part of a complex it gives many options for good food. Service was great. The lobby bar was very relaxing and inviting

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Club Sofitel King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the fittings and decor in the room were dated.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good sized suite with overall high quality products. Excellent Club facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms (and the hotel in general), although smart and functional, are a little uninspiring.

    Very good location, nice part of town and easy walk to the key downtown areas. Efficient friendly staff. Good views (hotel is from the 35th floor). Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic King Room with City View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini bar was way overpriced. $7 for a 6OOml water was a bit much. The pillows were way too soft

    Location was great. View from the room was awesome. On site restaurant no 35 was fabulous . Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Club Sofitel King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were forgotten a couple of time in the club lounge had to re order drinks etc. TV was broken in suite - was resolved in a timely manner just disappointing.

    Check in was very efficient and the service was excellent - staff were pleasant and informative. Was upgraded to a suite which gave us beautiful views from the 50th floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool although able to use Novotel, but not as convenient as 'in house'.

    Convenient city location. Informative & impressive staff & ease of check in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid almost aud 300 , no complimentary water bottle, force to pay 7 dollar per bottle, my partner order hot choclate the price is7 dollar and service charge bringing the drink is 7 dollars, never heard this kind of charge any part it world except this hotel

    Nothing great for the money they charge

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Staff didnt put the soft mattress on top. I didnt know all rooms were meant to have soft beds. Staff gave a discount but id rather a goid night sleep. Not sure how you can forget to make the bed properly????

    Always love this hotel but they forgot to put the mattress topper on my bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    Easy answer.. There's nothing we didn't like about the Sofitel Melb. From the room, to the staff, the service, No.35 was amazing. So comfortable and a relaxing experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 beds pushed together to make one ,no parking available ,very over priced mini bar items, no ventilation in room, bathroom lighting very poor.

    The view is nice ,nice and handy to attractions .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a terrible experience, Our room was dirty , even the glasses we had to wash,our room was next to the lift & the laundry room, lucked out all over, even went to the restaurant at 5.35pm were told as we did not book we had to leave by 7.15pm, we wanted the seafood Platter $165, we were told this would not be ready till 7.30pm, so we could not have it, so we left there and had macdonalds from across the road. Grr

    The view & location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Group
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As soon as the receptionist identified that I booked it through a third party we felt the welcome was not the same as when we booked it through the accor group / direct with the hotel. No welcome pack, no welcome drinks. Even when you are a gold member with accor.

    The hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior King Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything good except i couldn't sleeep all nite :((( the pillows were huge , way too big to sleep,

    friendly staff at counter , clean , good room service etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi included in the room price would be a good improvement. Didn’t matter so much for us, we have 4G, but it must be a frustration for tourists.

    We stayed at the Sofitel in our wedding night and it was amazing. They staff were so lovely. The bottle of champagne and sweets went down a treat! And the view is incredible. Great hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could hear the Elevators "ding" from our room, which was just a bit annoying. And sounds a bit funny, but the sheets on the bed were of a material, that rustled, or were loud if you moved, hard to explain.

    Great location - staff are always friendly, helpful and professional

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is the best! The Club Lounge is an added bonus. We stayed for 4 days, and can't fault a thing. We go to Melbourne every year and we'll be staying at the Sofitel from now on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nickel-and-dimed on just about everything. For example, the wifi is $29 per day (Sofitel must be one of the last hotels in the world that doesn't have free wifi). There is no free paper delivery any more so you are advised to read the paper on the provided tablet. But you can't read the paper on the tablet unless you pay for the wifi!! Price of paper has gone up from free to $29!!

    Proximity to the Australian Open, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this for my parents and they absolutely loved their stay. If you enjoy a great view, then do yourself a favour and stay one of the hotel's Luxury King Rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was only one level above the bar, would of liked to be higher. The bar was closed at 11pm one night, and I couldn't have a nightcap after dinner before bed.

    The receptionist was extremely handsome, first impression was brilliant! I stay here all the time, I don't stay anywhere else. Love the location, and the level 35 bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their service was outstanding. And the 49th Floor was remarkable and the views were breathtaking. Also what a pleasure it was to sleep in the clouds. As an international traveler this was world class.....!.!.! Au dessus et au-delà Accor Sofitel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with City View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were uncomfortable and the room was too warm even when we adjusted the cooling. We both had minimal sleep. $7 tray service charge was excessive for them to bring us up some ice cream, $50 valet parking excessive when places like the Langham are much cheaper, and had to pay extra for WiFi (which we opted not to have).

    Views are amazing, staff very friendly and was very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Over priced. Not a value for money option 2) walls are thin. The loud chatter in the next room were disturbing till past midnight

    The breakfast was great. Concierge was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet would drop out everynow and again but mostly fine.

    Everything was wonderful- bed was super comfortable and the food was incredible and our room had an awesome view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room only had instant coffee available this time. Previously we have enjoyed the Nespresso machine in our room.

    We have stayed at this hotel on several previous occasions. Notes about our previous comments and requests are on file, which means staff are aware of what we like. Eg the soft topper is removed from our bed and we do not need to ask for this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Club Sofitel King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food buffet not up to expectations..... not enough choice / not replenished in Club Sofitel - strange, highest paying customer with below par Club food service

    Great location Quality hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Most of staff in everywhere at the hotel were less friendly, especially at the club. 2) The foods at the club weren't that great as expected, especially the foods for lunch were bad - the pasta didn't taste nice In general, it's not really worth for money.

    The housekeeping was great to service the room everyday and evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait a long time to check out, seemed to be no order people just walking to front desk and staff didn't care if people had been waiting to be served.

    Large bed and view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room and furnishings tired.air con.too warm even after trying to adjust.food prices particularly continental breakfast outrageous .then a seven dollar delivery.the range of teas in room terrible .like drinking dishwater. not even a small plate or a knife in the room or abiscuit. hotel is very tired and needs an overhaul.stayed at hyatt recently.leaves Sofitel way behind.would not recommend. much better hotels in city

    very little.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complex room lighting control. What happened to simple on/off switches? Lack of privacy with much see through bathroom surrounds

    Jessie, manager Atrium Bar most helpful & remembered our previous visit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was a little tired, could be improved with a walk in shower instead of a shower over the bath.

    The breakfast was brilliant. The duty managers were superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our breakfast was missing items was looking forward to spinach and hash browns and they were not added to my brekky

    How quick the lifts came and lots of them

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap scum visible on tiles above bathtub.

    Excellent views of city. Comfortable chairs with footrest pouffe. Comfortable bed with great selection of pillows.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The quality of food was not great for the price

    Building, nice view, very comfortable and clean, very friendly staff, perfect location and easy access to CBD, small neat shopping centre in lower levels, very good venue for conferences and courses

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did note on the booking it mentioned a bath but sadly we only had a shower..as nice as the shower was a bath would have been ideal. I also requested a 'surprise' for my fiances birthday but unfortunaltely it wasn't ready - so the surprise factor was lost. However we did check in slightly earlier so this could have been why..We did have it brought up though and a big thanks to Terence for this.

    The bed was very comfy, the room was spacious and the views were outstanding. Location was really nice as well with lots of bars, shopping and restaurants close by. We also enjoyed a cocktail at the Atrium bar which was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Club Sofitel King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff forgot to give us details on club lounge, wifi didn't work well at all, AC leaked in room (dripped all night) and wasn't cold enough,

    It's a decent location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Club King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet at the club lounge had very strange tasting scrambled eggs, which didnt taste like scrambled eggs - possibly powdered eggs? Upon complaining, the staff at the lounge advised that we could get eggs made any way we liked. My wife and I ordered a couple of omelettes which came out hard and overcooked. That's about my only complaint - which was a very minor thing.

    All the staff were extremely attentive and hospitable. We stayed one night for our wedding anniversary and received a complementary upgrade. We also received a bottle of sparkling wine as a gift from the hotel for our anniversary. Staying on the top floor at suites on level 50 was amazing and I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a very sound proof room. Could quite clearly hear the people in the next room unfortunately. Bed could have been a bit more comfortable for my liking.

    Fabulous view from our room on the 38th floor. Our meal at restaurant 35 was spectacular as was the wine selection & staff very attentive. Room service was also excellent. Perfect location within walking distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was a bit noisy i could hear it from our room

    The view was amazing, the bed and pillows were perfect. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our anniversary was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Club Sofitel King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the check in to the check out the staff was amazing, helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean always water provided. Had everything and more than what we needed for our stay, breakfast at club lounge was amazing. The canapés and before dinner drinks was my favourite great selection. Is to get around from there tram stops right outside the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging to use the wi-fi, we stayed at six different hotels on our holiday to New Zealand and Australia and did not have to pay for wi-fi. Even the cafe down the road was free! For a hotel to charge what it does to stay, I think it is totally wrong, the first 30mins is free but that's it for 24hrs unless you pay.

    Comfy bed, good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could freshen up the interior.

    Pillows were very good, very clean and comfortable. Also the bed was very good. The location of this hotel is excellent. The Front desk people were very nice, especially Theo, who did his best to make my stay more comfortable, with sending me toothbrush and face wipes for free, to the room, ( The airline I flew in to Melbourne has lost my luggage. I only got my luggage the next day.) Buffet breakfast was very good! The Bell-men were very helpful and nice, especially as I got one terrible taxi driver, the Bellmen tried to explain in length using the map, where to drop me off, then they went on to talk to two more other taxi's, the third one who immediately know the place I want to go to. The Bellmen made sure that I will be dropped of at my destination properly. Everybody in the hotel was very polite!! Excellent service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The interior of the hotel was comfortable and ascetic making it a pleasant stay. Close to what Melbourne CBD has to offer.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sofitel Melbourne On Collins traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: