Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quest Gordon Place 4.5 stars

24 Little Bourke Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#363 of 474 Holiday rentals in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be refurbished. Door was broken, had to lift it back into its hinges everytime we opened the door. Staff couldn't offer anything to change the situation. Tops of things were very dusty.

    Location was great. Also a very pleasant surprise when the size of the apartment was discovered and the pool out back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place was dirty, there were wires hanging from the wall at the power point, so I didn't use for fear of being electrocuted. The aircon was broken (again with wires hanging out and a piece of gaffer tape across to secure) so the room was stifling hot. the room was dirty, curtains torn, and the wife was ridiculously slow.

    very little

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the front one bedroom apartment a little noisy with pick up trucks. Water hammer noise in 33 annoying with night use

    the different environment ie non hotel room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com failed to advise that Reception was on Lonsdale st however the address of venue is Little Bourke St.

    Upgraded to 2bedroom suite from studio!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception is a block away and we had to drag our luggage all the way there. Staff was rude, inattentive, and utterly unhelpful. We made a booking for two rooms that were not at all near one another, which was fine if only a bit annoying. However, one of the rooms were absolutely unacceptable: it was extremely dusty, the walls were falling apart, lights were flickering, and it was altogether claustrophobic and unpleasant. Now, we did not expect much at this price, but I live in Melbourne (the booking is for my family) and know for a fact that this poor excuse of a room should cost no more than 100AUD a week, but we were being charged that price per night. Management only agreed to move us to another room after multiple complaints and negotiations. The new room was ok but had some kind of loud water flushing sound at 7am that woke my family up every morning. All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel, not even to my worst enemy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    FEES: We specifically requested to pay via debit card on check in due to the fees associated with using a credit card. But the staff charged my credit card anyway the night prior to checking out and then applied a 0.9% fee for using my credit card associated to booking.com. We were unaware of this until we went to check out of the establishment. At check out I was informed that the fee would be refunded asap. Although only a small amount, we am still waiting for this fee to be credited back to our account accordingly. THE ACCOMMODATION: Although a heritage listed building with a wonderful history, the internal rooms are looking tired and grimy. Our room had only part of the curtain covering the window, the bathroom had mould evident, carpet in room gathering in spots and looks like it needed a clean.

    The size of the room considering the price and proximity to the CBD. The closeness to a large choice of food options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Studio room was small, claustrophobic and dark, no aircon, not very clean, stairs and lift only big enough for one or two people that was noisy and didn't seem safe. The family's room had portable aircon on 4th floor with hose out of open window with noticeably dirty carpets and dryer and washing machine that did not work properly, noticeably broken and which would not even be found for sale at Salvation Army. The family had 3 children under the age of 5yrs with them.

    The welcome, assistance, professionalism and dedication of the staff was outstanding :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy guests in another apartment came out to party in the courtyard around 1am each night for three nights running. Ignored it the first night, spoke directly with them the second, spoke with Reception the third night. Had to push to get a satisfactory replacement room (an initial option suggested was the room directly above the problem guests! and no help to shift our bags as there was no room service over Easter). No room cleaning/paper delivery over Good Friday - Easter Monday.

    Tidy, spacious apartment, with easy access to the CBD.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating/cooling system appeared to be broken... would heat but would not cool... only a fan was supplied to keep us cool, this had to be on during the night as it was quite stuffy and as you can imagine a loud fan wasn't going to allow proper sleep. Check in process quite confusing..

    The location was great. Very quiet place. The pool was also an added bonus, however would have been better if it was heated as doesn't receive all day sun. Bed was also very comfortable! Overall good stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we booked in a high season time and paid 4 times more for the room, which was our decision anyway. if you a used to a convenient place - this place is not recommandable. reception was on a different place, parking place somewhere else as the hotel rooms! all in all no value for money and a bit of a hazzle to get organized.

    location is very central and our room was very quiet!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stove was faulty, shower had mould. Very noisy late Friday night as close to restaurant. Had to walk around the block to book in as reception is in landscape St.

    Location is close to everything. Restaurants at the doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The map to actually find the accommodation was a bit vague and we weren't the only ones who had trouble.

    As a whole it was very comfortable and right in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, nothing like photos on website, no help with luggage or clear directions, poor signage. Property very shabby.

    Great location and excellent cafe attached.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was up an alleyway off the main rooms we were next to the fire exit which had been propped open with empty milk cartons obviously for someone to get back in, we removed them and closed the fire door and did tell reception we would like a different room. the room looked out on a back alley with steps up to units our window was not locked!!!!!the kitchen did not have much 2 tiny milk 2 teabags no water nothing!!!!!Very disappointing it looked like the place was tenanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Very old and dated, no air con in room, dreadful for the price. - Whole building has been let go, I stayed there about 15 years ago and it was fabulous, its a shame. - Staff were very ordinary. Wasn't told there was no reception, when we arrived we then had to load all our luggage back in the car and go to a different location. Staff scoffed when I told them we had booked through booking.com, more or less saying that they are not good. Staff were not very welcoming. - OMG.......the car parking. Firstly the car hardly made it through the entrance and then through all the small driving ramps but the cost was ridiculous. $50 for the night, and that was the REDUCED rate. Every other hotel we have stayed at in Melbourne has an agreement and the cost is usually around $25. - Will never stay there again. Would rather pay the extra to stay at Rydges if going to the theatre.

    Because we had a one bedroom apartment then the extra room was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no air con Pool very cold so did not want to swim but a heated pool would have been lovely

    What croissants? Air conditioning was not working which was not ideal. We were just lucky that temp that week was in mid to low 20s unlike the week before and the week after, both in the mid 30s. We definitely would have made an issue of this if it had been that hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn’t get the room size I booked, smaller bed, room and furniture smelt of stale cigarettes. Air conditioning didn’t work, windows painted shut. I requested another room , it was bigger but no air con.A fee of $150 was charged to my card, I was not told it would come out of my account and be released in 3-5 days, I found this out when I complained the next day, they were going to email me a letter to take to my bank to release the money, that didn’t happen. I don’t think this is fair. I have never experienced this before.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was on the bottom floor down 2 lots of steps not able to use the lift. We were given false information by the man that checked us in about getting to the room. Being over 70 it was not safe getting our bags down the steps. As i had a bad back & knee it was not suitable to be walking up& down the steps for the 4 days we were there. We complained and our room was changed by another young man who also came &helped get our bags up to the new room.

    It was central to transport, restaurants and the city. The bed was the best i had slept in in 5 weeks of travel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. The room was hot and stuffy and they didn’t air out the room before my arrival. There were lights outside my room flickering as bright as a camera flash. I put a towel down at the base of the door so I didn’t have to see it. The fan in the bathroom sounded like a plane engine. Taking $150 security deposit is ridiculous and holding it for 3 days is outrageous. Most hotels take a dollar and charge you if they have to. Still waiting for my money to arrive back in my account.

    The location and comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner did not work at all and clearly this has been a long term problem and the property has not been maintained adequately to fix this problem. The room on arrival was extremely hot and stuffy (outside / street facing). The internal phone did not work so unable to contact reception to report or rectify it. No fan made available. Room extremely stuffy. Unable to open windows to ventilate except bedroom but due to street noise and building lights/signage unable to leave window/curtain open. Subsequently did not get any sleep. On returning to our room early sat morning the electronic card did not allow us into our room despite being able to access the property. (Rectified by us going to reception). No exhaust fan in the bathroom adding to hot/stuffy conditions. Paying over $200 for this room ventilation and cooling is a basic expectation. Extremely disappointed, completely ruined our weekend, total waste of money, won’t stay again. This was our 3rd stay being our preferred city hotel, it will be our last. We will be taking this further with management/owners

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.half the lights needed replacing 2.bar across the street - very noisy an loud(offered another room 6 doors down would have made no diff) 3.werent aware that you had to check in at quest on lonsdale - reminder would have been helpful 4.no air conditioning fans werent great 5.apartment was old 6.taps and shower need replacing

    comfy bed hot water

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, aircon didn’t work, no reception in the building you had to walk through a complicated hallway system to get to it and on check in had to walk round the block to check in with my bags & not told this

    The room rate was good but then you pay for what u get

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception being around in Lonsdale St and no internal access to room from reception. It was not clear on booking that you need to checkin at Lonsdale St entrance

    Location and privacy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The apartment could have done with a bit of TLC, but only superficial stuff, it was cleaned daily.

    staff were great. apartment was well laid out & very comfortable. location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately with no air-con in the unit, we found the unit hot and uncomfortable all the time.

    Location was fantastic and liked the quirkiness of the building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds of different heights do not make for s comfortable sleep in a small room with a bathroom of equal size to the mail room. A room next to the breakfast area with a table outside my window next to the bed didn’t help. An ironing board that had bare metal exposed through the rag said to be an ironing board cover in a room that has seen better days.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt like sewerage, the a/c didnt work, tv reception didnt work, room wasnt cleaned for 6 days, washing machine never completed washing cycle, smells like smoke in common areas, and the bed which was kingsize, had a queensize top sheet instead of a kingsize fitted sheet. I was moved to another room where the a/c also didnt work, there was no washing machine, and the dish washer had not been emptied from the previous occupants. I was given two bottles of clean skin red wine when i made a complaint to management which was of no use at all as i was checking out early the next morning.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was mobile on floor ,accomodation a street from check in point,poor directions from girl at desk

    Accommodation close to theatres , restaurants and trams

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartments were tired and needed renovation. We stayed with friends and their apartment was better than the one we had. One of the apartments was on Lt Bourke Street and was quite noisy and the curtains didn't cover the window so the room was bright at night which made sleeping difficult. Cleaners do their best but because the apartments are old, the carpets were stained and there was an old smell about the room. I would say you would take pot luck when staying here. For the price we paid per night it wasn't worth the money we spent.

    The location of this property is fantastic. It is a beautiful old building with lots of charm. Rooms are spacious. Trams and restaurants close by and a nice stroll through China Town gets you to Bourke Street Mall. The heritage and the story behind the building is also interesting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff offered an upgrade and the following day when going to take up the offer they said we could not have it. The room was not cleaned properly and kitchen benches were left uncleaned for the whole 5 night stay. Carpets were dirty. Could not open the curtains as there were only backing curtains, no sheers and the room looked onto a thoroughfare. Generally not a well maintained room.

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is in the other Quest complex behind Gordon Place which is fine but the staff seemed very hurried and not particularly friendly. Bathroom feeling a bit past it's prime and the shower was an odd shape with a shower-curtain not a screen.

    Nice modern fit out in an old, almost heritage, building. Great location at the top end of Chinatown with the Italian quarter nearby. 1 bedroom apartment was great. Kitchen and living area were really nice. Comfy bed. Good choice of 2 cafes right in the building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hot weather and no effective air conditioning in the room. Room was in need of repair, including broken glass in bathroom window covered by cardboard - very dangerous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Musty smell to room. Bed was uncomfortable. Wifi password didn't work and when I rang reception to get correct password they said I must be making a mistake. Two of the lights in the room flickered all the time.

    Location was amazing, extremely close to lots of great attractions such as China Town, Her Majesty's theatre and the Princess theatre. Building was nice and full of character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner during s spell of very hot weather.

    The building itself is very special. It is a good location for us. We look the Turkish bakery that share the site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in process; having to drive from Bourke St accommodation to Lonsdale St to park car then walk back up to Lonsdale St Quest to check in then around to Bourke St for accommodation. Room; smelt of cigarette smoke. First room checked in to at paid rate didn't have air-conditioning so downgraded to other room but haven't been refunded extra price paid. No curtains on room, just louvre shutters that were broken and had a cafe literally at our bedhead so woke to people eating breakfast right at our window.

    The location. Mitch in reception was understanding and helpful though had his hands tied as far as helping us with any issues.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning . Went to reception soon after arrival stating there is no air conditioning. They sent person to our room who could not fix it. They said no other rooms available and they could only give us a fan. The rooms have no openable Windows on a 30 degree day. We had a great night at " Book of Mormons" then came back to a horrible room. No sleep. We asked for some form of refund but they said a manager would call. I also asked why they do not have a Maintainance person available for these type of issues, and this was reported in working hours but they said due to body corporate issues it could not be done. No Manager has called us and they charged full rates. Very disappointed with Quest Appartments. I think they have taken advantage of local traveller to look after international guests as I bet they knew it had no air conditioning .

    Location close to theatres and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was not great and the rooms were a little dated. I think they are updating them though

    Good location and quaint building with lots of historical value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are due for refurbishment so some elements a little tied.

    Beautiful historic building, easy access from our room to the pool, great part of the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception actually at Quest Lonsdale St on the other side of the block, a bit inconvenient when initially getting dropped off and getting picked up at the end by the jet bus. Lower Ground floor inaccessible by lift.

    Location good in Little Bourke St, close to the theatre and restaurants. Self contained unit with laundry facilities a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I still haven’t got my bond back into my account after 3 weeks or so. I called in to try and sort it out but the staff was not helpful at all. I was to get a phone call the next day about it and that didn’t happen either. I will not stay in this place again

    Not much I will never stay in this place again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was serviced once over a four day stay - I know it’s written on their site that public holidays they don’t service the rooms but it was a pain having no clean towels the second day each time. There is construction on a site beside he hotel - 8:30am it started Tuesday morning after melbourne cup night ... the ol kango hammer was greaaaaat to wake up to :(

    Location at the top of China town is great - your close to all the sites of Melbourne and tram lines

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the front desk staff the car park is really confusing & instead of helping me they belittled me in front of the other customers who were checking in who also found the car park confusing. maybe an email needs to be sent before checking in with clear instructions on where to park, we where told to phone before our arrival , which we did & told to go past reception & park in the car park , we should have been told its on the right hand side down another block. to be told half a dozen times I'd made a mistake in front of the other customers like I was a 2yr old wasn't very good customer service. Probably won't stay there again & nether will our group of 20.

    Central location , value for Money , lovely old building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room

    The apartment was spacious and clean, with appliances such as washing machine, microwave, etc. The beds were very clean, but had no mattress protector on. Unfortunately the apartment overlooked the student residences so was subjected to full frontal nudity on arrival, which meant we had to keep the blackout curtains closed. Made the reception staff aware. The apartments are in a very central location which made walking to places of interest easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their booking page is misleading! We arrived at 11.45 pm from an international flight only to find the checkin was at a different address. The details were in fine print in a difficult place to read at night on the front door in little Bourke street. A kind person let us in with their key and escorted us in via difficult to navigate corridors to the the reception that was in Lonsdale street. If they did not help we would have had to walk around the block. These were 2 very poor security matters and made our stay very uncomfortable and a security risk. The check in details should have been up front on the booking page.

    The only reason we booked was it was in the city and we were getting in very late from a flight and the said the had 24 hour reception when I rang to speak to them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that when I tried to check in, there was a sign on the locked entrance door instructing you to go to another entrance of another property around the block, was enough to put me off. I could not even read the map clearly as it didn't actually show where I was standing in relation to where I needed to go. After checking in and again when checking out you had to go through a maze of corridors up and down stairs, outside and into another building (with your suitcases). It was ridiculous and very frustrating. The building is a beautiful heritage listed one designed by William Pitt, and as such when being converted into apartments and studios there would have been certain structural limitations. Having a bed in a room that you can hardly walk around, and can't even open the two doors to the wardrobe fully is annoying. I even had to close the bedroom door so I could access the light on my bedside table (otherwise the door was half way across the table). Admittedly according to the laminated notice stuck up on the bedroom wall (very tacky and cheap), the property is about to be refurbished with heating and air-conditioning installed. But please could someone with proper interior knowledge assess the existing room layouts for the different apartments and implement in better layouts. Its not a a place for elderly to stay as there are too many trip hazards, and its very difficult as mentioned to navigate your way to or from your room. Having said all of this, the price I paid was good for the area, and the hot water was lovely and hot, even if I could hardly turn in my shower without hitting something (and I am slim). The friendly and helpful staff are the saving grace for this property and why it gets a good rating from myself.

    The beautiful old building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in process was very slow and the car parking arrangements was a bit of a disaster. We were booked, by the staff, into a carpark 4 big city blocks away.

    Room was good value for money, clean and reasonably spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit hard to access to the reception. We had to walk all the way to the other side of the hotel through public street. It must be just temporary though.

    We liked this hotel because of their classic style design of building. It was like a hiding place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception has been relocated to and neighboring Quest property - a sign with very fine print and poor directions direct you there with arrows on the walls that lead you on a wild goose chase to a locked door. I eventually rang the property for more instructions - the staff member answering the phone was not helpful and difficult to understand. Upon arriving at the reception it took 30 minutes to check in - there were two reception staff and 3 check-ins at the time. Adding parking to my reservation was a further challenge for the staff who were difficult at times to understand. I was handed my key and instructions (in size 8 font on a printer that was on its last drop of ink) and my parking code scrawled on a piece of paper. A poor welcome to a property I had chosen to return after previous good experiences,

    Great location for theatre end of Melbourne. Close to public transport and restaurants including Chinatown. return visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    'Check-in' needs to be better, especially when there's parking involved. This is mainly because the website we used (when booking the Hotel) was not the same website that the Hotel referred too, which meant there was a discrepancy in some prices. I must say however the the staff were polite, patient and accommodating and honored our prices, it just took a bit longer than expected! Only downfalls in our room... Shower recess was very small, and... Blinds were in disrepair and didn't cover the windows properly.

    Location is the number one thing about the Hotel and that it is an old style (1880's) property. We were in a one bedroom apartment on the top floor overlooking Lt Bourke Street. It had loads of space for 2 people and it was clean. Our bed was super comfortable and large. Loved the indoor courtyards and the pool looked great. We would say there again :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that I was going to get charged for linen for the fold out bed when I actually called the hotel to advise my requirements, it was never mentioned that I had to pay extra for this. The keys to our room kept not working. Can't put them close to your phone or other credit cards. We were locked out of our apartment one night, luckily someone was at reception however you need your key to get to reception! The cost of the apartment was quite expensive for what you got. The rooms were very dated and old and didn't like the fact that there was no reception area within the complex. That was located on Lonsdale St.

    The location is awesome. Apartment was very spacious but dated and old. The little patisserie café - awesome crepes!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival I felt quite pressured into upgrading my room. Was ridiculous as I was travelling alone, and all the upgrade gave me was a massive 2 bedroom apartment and living area. Totally unnecessary

    Staff were very friendly. Excellent location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest worst place I have ever stayed at. Water Tap makes so much noise that people next to our room asked us about it the next morning, next got notified about the reception staff not at 23 little bourke. Worst

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible bed. Been given 2 singles stuck together! Small bedroom with an unnecessarily large ensuite. No room for 2 suitcases. When arriving late,checking in through Lonsdale from the Gordan Place entrance was tiring.

    Lots of meal options. Handy if you're heading to a theatre performance before or after

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING

    I LIKED NOTHING ABOUT MY STAY. THE MANAGER WAS DISGUSTING, VERY DISRESPECTFUL. WAS LIED TO BY HIM. NO HEATING IN BOTH ROOMS. I WOULD NEVER STAY AT QUEST - ANY QUEST HOTEL FOR THAT MATTER AGAIN IN MY LIFE AND I WILL BE TELLING EVERY AND ANYONE ABOUT YOUR POOR, DISGUSTING SERVICE

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. In dire need of a facelift. No heating in the room so they'd put a portable fan heater which was useless. Thin old pillows, only 2 towels. Whole place felt grimy.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well controlled room heating not warm enough

    The location was close to Chinatown, restaurants, Latin dance clubs. Short walk to art and shopping district, etc. friendly staff went out of their way to help us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view out of the room into the courtyard, was not private enough

    Loved the access to Melbourne's paris precint and China Town as well as the lovely La Petit Pattiserie access.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the middle of winter and when I arrived the room was freezing. There was no central heating and the electric heaters on the floor and wall took ages to heat up the space. They should have been turned on before I checked in. The power kept going off (5 or 6 times). I only had on one small light and one heater on but every time I turned on the kettle it would trip the switch. I had to find my way through the apartment in the dark to find the power board in the wardrobe to keep turning the switch back on. I tried for ages to call reception to ask for help but they didn't answer so in the end I had to go down to reception to find someone. To do so I had to go out of the building, through the courtyard in the freezing cold, and back through another door using a key card that rarely worked! The general attitude was that this power problem was to be expected in a building of this age. One staff member, Josh, came to my room and tried his best to be helpful but there wasn't much he could do and at this stage the power was back on. This was at around 12.30pm. There was also a problem with the wifi so I wasn't able to connect. The staff said they were trying to fix it but I gather this was not an unusual problem for this establishment. I was given two door cards, neither of which worked very well. A couple of times I had to get someone to open my door for me and to ask one of the guests to use their key to open the door that led to the reception area. I mentioned the problem with the keys a few times but no one offered to replace them with cards that worked properly. The lady checking checking out behind me said she had had all the same problems as myself and was extremely unhappy.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    But we wanted an apartment kitchenette being there from Friday to Sunday. Unfortunately, the room was too small and only one chair was available with a desk...The bed was comfortable and apartment clean, but I would not stay there unless I was given a more spacious room which appears advertised through Booking.com

    We loved the location and the staff were very friendly...The bed was comfortable and apartment fairly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually Quest properties are very good. This property has some real problems, and I wouldn't stay there again: the reception was located a block away (indicated in the confirmation email but basically in the fine print), the reception staff were unhelpful on check in, it's a large old building and there were no internal maps to indicate where the room was; other guests or residents were extremely noisy - amplified by the buildings atrium, it was cold because the atrium wasn't air conditioned, the room was a bit rundown and small touches: you could call reception to advise you were leaving but no phone number was provided on the documents.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ducted heating didn't work. Room clearly wasn't vacuumed before our arrival. The key cards were faulty and my partner had to get in through the cage, we had to get them swapped.

    Location. The bed was comfortable. Our little kitchenette was handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and there was one toilet which could only be accessed by going through another bedroom, walk in robe and a bathroom. The accomodation were extremely noisy from other residents and it was difficult to sleep. I contacted the accomodation the day before to discuss parking options and I was told Gordan Place had over booked and therefore I had been moved to Quest on Lonsdale, after an argument with staff they said they would call other guests and try to move them. I was not notified of any changes via mobile.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise, double glazing of external windows?

    Loved the architecture and the building having the inside courtyard and massive palm tree, truly classic piece of old Melbourne!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going down all those stairs with heavy suitcases, glad the porter helped, please please please get the disgusting carpet cleaned it really detracts from the lovely room

    Comfy beds, great location, quiet room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At checkin on Sat 10 June, we requested a quiet room, and the female receptionist suggested no one would hear us 'screaming' in the room we were allocated. As in inferring to our 'sexual activity'. She was also very curt, and unfriendly. Not at all welcoming. We also had a TV in our apartment on which we were unable to watch any movies on the Movie Channels (as advertised) or Free to Air Channels. We called Reception several times to lodge our complaint and they wouldn't swap or fix the TV and tried to move us to a smaller apartment. We are very disappointed with our stay, we will not be staying with at Gordon Place again, and we will not be recommending this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was a bit patchy. Some staff really helpful, others did the minimum and took ages to complete tasks eg booking in, responding to requests. Housekeeping and maintenance staff great. Only real down side was that they hadn't configured the beds correctly for us on either of our bookings.

    The location is fantastic! Everything we wanted was an easy walk. Would stay here again for that reason.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing rear entry point, broken control on heater, toilet door didn't close, tired and worn presentation.

    Location was great, parking in local car park was very close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was really stained and the apartment needed a bit of TCL (cracks in the wall, blinds not fitting properly to the window, bed wasn't made with correct sheets)

    Location was great! Close to theaters.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The studio #63 was small and the bed was not comfortable at all. If the bed was comfortable I would have been ok with the studio. The only suggestion re the one bedroom apartments was they would have liked a tv in the bedroom

    In our party we had rented 2 one bedroom suites and one studio. The suites were large and had very comfortable beds. We did like the history of the building. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to pay full cost on arrival. Once reluctantly paid, then asked for a $100 bond. I declined the latter. Prefer to pay after satisfied with the service not before. Safe didn't work.

    Comfy bed and pillow.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn't work well in our room and only one window opened with no security once it was opened. The hot water ran out during the second persons shower. No cleaning on Sundays.

    The building is really lovely and quiet. The access to two cafes within the complex is a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty towlels in the shower, shower door was held together with a hair elastic and was off the tracks so it wouldn't open or close The shower was mouldy and dirty and the place was noisy during the early hours of the morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking, the rooms ceiling was so low in parts especially the bathroom, my partner had to duck to get through the rooms entrance and he couldn't stand up straight in the shower. Room #68.

    Location, pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were pleasant. Asked for air con but found 3 fans in our room and the room was extremely hot. Pointed this out to the staff and we asked for another room. It was an upgrade and lower down and not as hot but the aircon didn't work there either. If the weather had continued to be as hot as the 1st day 37 deg we would have asked for room with working aircon. Later we discovered the TV did not work very well and all we heard of an evening was the door to the building slamming. Half the lights didn't work, and the kitchen and bathroom were clean but could have paid a bit more attention to detail ie wiped under microwave, got the mould out of the shower, balanced the washing machine. When we pointed this out to the staff on the last day they seemed surprised.

    Location was good, lovely old building with history

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basil Fawlty would be proud of this place. Address is Little Lonsdale Street. If you enter there you will find signs directing you to the reception. These signs will lead you to a dusty courtyard where you will be imprisoned, unable to get out, because y0u do not have a pass card because you have not yet checked in. You will have to telephone the hotel for help and if you are lucky someone will unlock the door and let you in.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Quest Gordon Place traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: