Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Salamanca Suites 4 stars

8 Salamanca Place, 7000 Hobart, Australia

#55 of 83 Holiday rentals in Hobart

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 366 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for access to Salamanca market and restaurants and wharf area. Limited parking but if full was offered access to Lena car park across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    All perfect.

    The bed was soooo comfy. The view from the verandah looking toward the dock (Sydney to Hobart) is sensational. The room size was fantastic. Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate the shower the bath , it is not easy for anyone who is a over a certain age or with any disability.

    We have stayed there 3 times now and love the location. The staff are very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the check in at a different place up the hill and we had to drag our suitcases up and back the hill.

    Such a central location and spacious room- we had a two bedroom apartment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The windy weather (didn't need to use the hair dryer mother nature did the drying for me)

    Had all the facilities we required for our holiday, the room being big so we were not sitting on each other, and 5 min walk to Salamanca Place for the markets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    View could have been better, but could have been a lot worse too. Looking into windows of University. Didn't bother us though as we were out sightseeing during the day.

    Comfortable, king size beds. Good little kitchen, we chose to eat out, but would be fine for making meals. Perfect size apartment for two couples travelling together. Very clean facilities. Bath in main bathroom. Had no trouble getting a car space in their car park out the front. Two ladies who came to clean the apartment were lovely, a credit to Salamanca Suites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A view would have been a bonus but we had a quiet room

    We had a huge one bedroom apartment which was great for entertaining my family. It was easy walking distance to all the restaurants in Salamanca Place and into the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't that I didn't like but it was a bit odd that the joined king singles were different cushioning; one side was very firm, the other side was very soft.

    The location was perfect, easy walking around Salamanca Market Place and the Wharf. The room was spacious, clean and has excellent sound proofing; and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Container of milk provided only on arrival. No additional milk provided when the staff made up our room.

    Overall setting, room, deck, ambience, good parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame the view is blocked by the relatively new university building. Could have had extra hanging space in the bathroom for wet towels. When we arrived our room was made up as a double even though we'd requested a twin. Reception staff were very apologetic and got onto it immediately.

    The room was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was also large and included a washing machine, dryer and iron/ironing board. Had everything we needed (except a full-length mirror).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very dark, mini courtyard was not usable & very little natural light. Also water leaked from dishwasher so floor was wet

    Location is great, right next to Salamanca place, restaurants, markets etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 107 no screens on the windows, all curtains water-stained, ensuite shower-head poor, toaster quite old (a 4 slicer would be appreciated), toilet-roll holder in the ensuite needs replacing.

    Lovely comfortable beds, nice lounge room, loved having two bathrooms. Good compact kitchen. Security was excellent. Overflow parking very smoothly organised. Fantastic location. Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking provided outside suites or in the hotel close by. Good room size, very comfortable bed and good shower. Kitchenette facilities consisted of microwave/grill and fridge. Location and accessibility to shops and restaurants made it a perfect base for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to call twice for coffee and then tea bags. Not well stocked in that department considering apartment for 4.

    Position. Easy walk to everywhere we wanted to go. Comfortable beds, not too noisy considering position. Reception up the road at a different property but had things left there for a hike and someone called me to say it was there for collection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This unit was very “tired” and worn. The carpets were a disgrace and we all had bad alergy responses whilst we stayed here. Most of the room facilities are old and just about worn out, ie dishwasher & oven

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some elements of the property were a little tired, eg dishwasher did not swirlth on essily... it could do with a facelift.

    The property was spacious and comfortable and located in a terrific locatiom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms decor is dated and a bit tired. Kitchen and bathrooms are still functional but need to be updated. Some of the appliances need to be replaced.

    The location was excellent! And the staff were also excellent, always friendly and very helpful. Gteat beds also. A very comfortable apartment for 2 couples. We loved our stay here and will go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Probably being able to check in at the suites instead of having to check in at a different location.

    Great Location. Close to restaurants , shops, Battery Point and Salamanca markets. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The unit was very clean and was serviced every day. Plenty of tea and coffee provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our rooms had the King beds that are the 2 singles put together. They were too soft and the hump in to the middle between the beds was really large. Would have preferred Queen beds.

    The location was excellent and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't have replacement of kitchen towel for one night.

    Rooms are spacious and comfortable, heaters are very efficient, the size of dinning table is very impressive. The location of the suites is ideal to go to shopping and bars. Parking spot is excellent and secure, etc. all good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in room a little dull, some rot around kitchen skirting and carpet needs replacing as runs in several places.

    Fantastic location, spacious apartment, quick check in/checkout. So close to Salamanca market, shops & cafes , small view of water

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I personally don't like the king bed that is made up of two single beds zipped together. I understand that most places do this, but it really frustrates me and if I can find somewhere that offers a proper queen or king bed I sleep much better.

    The location of this apartment was perfect. You really couldn't ask for a better position in Hobart. We walked everywhere all day and out to dinners and to the ferry terminal. The Salamanca markets are at your door step and you can spend hours there on a Saturday. The size of the apartment was also fantastic - large bedrooms and bathrooms and although the balcony was narrow it did run the length of the apartment so it was spacious enough. The staff were lovely too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower head and taps are worn out and need updating.

    great location although check in was up a hill in different building so don't recommend taking bags up there if your walking up from the bottom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment was a really good size, simple but very well presented. It seemed to be in a complex where there were a few different hotels and apartments on offer. This was very helpful, because there was one reception that covered all of them, and we were told we could use the carparks of the others if ours was full. The room and bathroom were very big and well presented. A wonderful selection of tea was available, and a very nice Australian made natural brand of bathroom products. The balcony was a really good size and it was really great to do yoga on in the mornings. It had a view of the harbour (I don't think all the rooms would though, because there is one building in the way - but only one though, this was right on the pier pretty much!) The location was absolutely awesome. Only a 30 second walk to the Salamanca market and square area, and a few minutes walk to the Mona pier. We were very very happy here and I highly recommend this for a trip to Hobart. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds joined together, could feel the hard middle section

    The location, staff, open space and balcony, Handy to have a fridge, washing machine and drier

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was weak and disconnected frequently.

    The room is spacious with washing machine. The bed is comfy. The suites are at the Salamanca Area and close to everything. Checkout is easy and fast. We will definitely choose it again forour next trip to Hobart.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of this apartment was perfect, easy walking to restaurants, Salamanca markets, the Taste of Tasmania festival and Constitution Dock. Perfect for a New Year in Hobart.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent, including the view. There was some noise from other guests ( voices and doors ) but it wasn't excessive, just guests going about normal activities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont book hear if you need wifi . It doesn't work . I rang reception to be told that too many people are using it and nothing they could do about it . I booked this place as I needed wifi to do my work so very disapinting

    Dont book hear if you need wifi . It doesn't work . I rang reception to be told that too many people are using it and nothing they could do about it . I booked this place as I needed wifi to do my work so very disapinting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little over priced..but I guess that’s because of the time of year ....and an empty stubble half full of cigarette butts on the balcony.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff forgot to refil items such as milk, sugar, salt, pepper ect. There was a bit of spiderweb on the inside of the balcony doors (it was a negative factor as we both are terrified of spiders of all sorts).

    We had a washing machine and a dryer with washing powder available. Kitchenette supplies were excellent and the place was properly cleaned on regular basis. And location was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is a bit dated and for the price could do with some maintenance.eg. Kitchen bench is worn out and curtains in 2nd bedroom need replacing. Bathroom tiles need to be replaced or thoroughly cleaned

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is fabulous, close to everything! Easy access, good sized, clean apartment with a well stocked bar fridge The apartment we were in is also set up to cater for people with a disability. Nice to have a balcony to sit on and look over Salamanca.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk uphill to checkin, confusion over where to check in, didn’t go back to reception during trip

    Best location. Handy to eateries, travel info centre, pier

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was full on site and would have to park in a hotel next to the Suites. Check in was done in that hotel as well.

    Amazing location. Great value for money and very clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed More coat hangers for clothes. Would like air conditioning in bedroom.

    Bed comfortable. Plenty of hanging space. Body wash and moisturiser great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room has not been reburbished or updated in grater than 10 years and some furniture damaged. The kitchen was NOT equipped to use for the most basic meal. There were 3 forks and 2 spoons between 4 people ( 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment). For the $900 we were charged for the 2 nights, we were very very disappointed :-( I had stayed at these VERY same apartments several times ~ 10 years ago and had no quarms. Will not recommend nor be able to stay again with the way it now is

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    We choise this hotel as it offered a 2 bedroom appartment suitable for us and our adult children and was close to Salamnca which was fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was at a separate location

    Perfect location to explore Salamanca precinct, or Battery Point, or step off to the MONA ferry. Only a 10 minute walk to CBD

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only inconvenience is having to pick up and return the keys to a different location.

    It was very conveniently located with a lovely view from the balcony. The room was spacious and comfortable. There are many restaurants, coffee shops and shops within easy access. The parking was easy, situated right outside the units.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view has been built out by a very uninteresting building but this is probably reflected in the reasonable room rates which applied when we stayed.

    The location is great. Close to Salamanca Place and easy walk to the CBD and Battery Point. Great choice of restaurants and cafes close by. Close to Mona ferry terminal. Rooms are large and having a washing machine and dryer in the room a huge bonus when travelling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little surprising that the view was blocked by a building in front and that the curtains needed to be closed most of the time for privacy as the office block was at same level We were on level 2.

    I liked the apartment and the location very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only very minor turn offs were the shower in the ensuite, lack of pressure, and the heater in the bedrooms could not get them right. Either too hot or not hot enough

    It was a very clean and neat apartment with good appointments. Very close to the Salamanca Market and warf

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to see the water. Next time we will go up a level.

    In a great location. Car parking easy. No hassles. Just call reception before leaving. Leave keys in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little to complain about. Couldn't get the microwave in the kitchen to work and difficult to stop water from the shower wetting the bathroom floor.

    Brilliant location. Quiet and peaceful yet right in the heart of the city. Spacious and tidy room with all facilities. Bed was huge and unbelievably comfortable. Staff were superb and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. A big cheerio to Emma in particular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only thing I could fault was no wine bottle opener.

    bed was excellent, room size very large darkness of room for sleep in perfect and no outside noise. the best place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the view out the front doors.

    Comfortable bed. Spacious. Very close to everything which was the most valued aspect of this apartment. The view of the work shed in front not all that great. Room was a bit cold.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping attention to detail unfortunately lacking. No walls were sound proofed. Condensation in bathrooms a problem as no fan to switch on.

    Lovely and spacious rooms, friendly staff although seemed very over staffed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable Two king single beds joined together couldn't get a good nights sleep When we asked for a room with a standard queen bed were told none available and only option was to move to the other Somerset property for an extra $20.00 per night The only other thing they offered was a topper which did little to change the comfort of the bed Also in the apartment details the room had a balcony view Unfortunately our view was directly opposite an office block with windows facing our room so not much privacy

    Close to cafes,city and pier

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was freezing with no heating there was a little fan heater in the wardrobe but it was broken and no fan in the bathroom. We had not requested a disabled bathroom but had one and trying to keep the water from the water from the shower within the small curtain was very hard and then the water was all over the floor and very slippery. The bed is very uncomfortable!!!! Probably the worst I have ever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the business took $100 bond on top of full payment and took too long to return the $100 bond. 😧

    Clean comfortable beds and the spacious apartment worked well for us with young children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing everything was as expected position,comfort and cleanliness as well as room was serviced daily

    The unit had a stove top,dishwasher,washing machine, dryer all used for a stay of 4 nights which made it easier

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That unless you read reviews you would not know where to check in as at another location. Not an issue but better to be forewarned i think.

    Location....clean. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to complain about!!!

    The Somerset on Salamanca is in an excellent location, great restaurants and markets all within short walking distance. Nice and quiet and comfy beds. Would recommend this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff described the location by visual cues from the pier reception point but both staff couldnt give me a street name for the property. Being very weiry after a long day that seemed frustrating when you rely on your hotel to assist you. They have also removed cable tv and the view is very limited. A few damaged pieces of furniture and broken skirting board which could have been a problem if travelling with children. Shower heads in master suites almost unusable and need to be changed.

    Very clean. Fantastic location and parking was always easy and very accesible with no extra charge. Extremely close to Salamanca Market. Having balcony doors to open a bonus. Also very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not having reception on site was a bit tricky but good service from their office

    Very good central position for walking to all Hobart's waterfront areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issue was the location of the check in office which is located on a Pier some distance from the venue. But the staff decided to meet me at the apartment which was very thoughtful. After that there were no other issues.

    Great location. And a very very spacious apartment. The largest I have stayed in Australia for the price and I travel every month on business to Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne. And the check out process was very easy. Sign a form, leave the room keys and depart. Too easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent accommodation, everything that you needed and close to everything that we needed to attend, quite location, staff excellent and helpful, would certainly stay again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its dosent have any view of outside.sad.

    before i book i think can have a view of river or night view but last nothing view i had.its pretty disappointed.and is the most expensive i pay but is the most disappoint.room is bigger.bed is comfort.and supprise is had washing machine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Replacement of sugar was only done 50% of the time. Coffee without sugar is not so good!!

    Bed was comfy, great to have personal safe in room, great reverse cycle air conditioner, quiet location, convenient to shops and eateries

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far too overpriced. For over $300 a night the room was basic and out-dated. Beds and pillows were like rocks. The terrace at front of living room and bedrooms had huge piles of dead leaves around the door which needed removing. TV in one bedroom didn't work and could not be retuned. Walls are like paper, can hear everyone else in the building and outside. Free parking was a bonus, however needed two people so you could be guided in on 10-point turn - very tight! Worst of all was the smart arse nature e of the guy who checked us in at their main reception. We stay in Hobart regularly, and chose this hotel as our regular hotel was fully booked. Definitely will not be returning to Somerset and overall very dissatisfied with our stay and the price we paid for the room.

    Location was excellent, we could leave the car and walk around Salamanca etc

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception - must go to Somerset on Pier Room was old & did not feel clean 3.3% Amex surcharge (and 1.1% VISA/MasterCard) was not mentioned until charged

    Good location - right by the markets area Nice view out onto wharf from balcony

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was very dated but it was big.

    The rooms were really big with all you need for a short stay. We had a fantastic view over the Harbour. Parking was available for us but is first come first serve. Value for money for the location is amazing. We were right at the end of Salamanca Place with all the bars and restaurants and the Saturday Market close by. Battery point was a short walk away and Brooke Street Pier to get to MONA was only five minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to advise at booking that you need to check in at Sommerset on the Pier and then they will take you a 2min drive to Sommerset on Salamanca. I only became aware of this when I phoned to confirm our booking.

    The 2 single beds were very comfy bed and studio apartment was perfect for my dad and I having completed the Three Capes walk that day. It was great to have a shower/bath (nice shampoo, soap and moisturising cream), washing machine (with washing powder provided!) and kitchenette. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great location, right on Salamanca Place and the waterfront. Very convenient to restaurants and the city. The staff members were super friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable. Can't ask for more, except for light bulbs in the bedside lamps ( they were all missing, did someone take them? 😉).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The two single beds put together to make a king size bed. Kitchen did not have a hotplate, only a microwave oven and fridge.

    Good location and spacious studio apartment close to all facilities. Off street parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not connect my ipad to the net and I rang IT for assistance. Someone said they would ring back, but they never did. I had no problem connecting my phone however.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was wonderful that they collected our luggage for us from the room and took it to the Pier for collection later on the last day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to visit Salamanca Markets, this is the place to stay. Big Red bus passes the apartments. Easy walking distance to the waterfront areas. Arrived early on Saturday morning and was allowed to park at the apartments.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The little studio turned out to be a lovely apartment with every thing you could possibly need from oven to washer dryer! The bed was comfortable and location amazing, a short stroll to the port and all the good restaurants. Also two minutes from Salamanca market on Saturdays. Also brilliant on site free parking was a real bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was having to check in at their other site. Having said that, I had missed this information on my booking confirmation, but the manager was good enough to drive up and check us in on site. I was impressed with that.

    I enjoyed my night here very much, I was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a late checkout would be helpful, especially on a Saturday when the markets are on. Having a facility/bin to do recycling would be great.

    Beds were very comfortable and Apartment was very roomy. The location is fantastic as was having outdoor free parking onsite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not very friendly, Katrina at check-in snapped back at me when I asked if the room had a view saying "Somerset doesn't have views" when it clearly did. Got over it but certainly not the best welcome!

    Amazing city and perfect location, walked to everything. Clean, great beds and great all round.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have a reception desk. One needs to go to their hotel (about 500 mts) from the apartments to collect the key. However, a staff member did come over to give us the key but not happy about it. They should digitise the entry with a code to avoid this issue

    Great facilities and location. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff checking in and out very poor staff rude and unhelpful.emergency phone no no one ever answered you just got music the same to check in etc.had to wait outside for 20 minutes

    Location was very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff on arrival extremely rude I wouldn't bother to go thru the hassle of staying here again... very busy with traffic not much parking available

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Salamanca Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: