Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Springfield Lodge 3.5 stars

9 Springfield Avenue, Kings Cross, Potts Point, 2011 Sydney, Australia

#170 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1618 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.

    Springfield Lodge is part of the Sydney Hotels chain. It is located centrally in Kings Cross, less than a minutes walk from the train station. It is surrounded by a large variety of shops and restaurants, but is set back on a quiet street. It is around a twenty minute walk from Sydney CBD. The area feels safe and friendly. The room was great and had everything offered. The bathroom was nicely finished and everything was exceptionally clean. Staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, and were available to provide support and assistance when necessary. I was very pleased with my stay and look forward to visiting again. I would not hesitate to recommend Springfield Lodge to any travellers visiting for a relaxing city break.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    I always enjoy staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a friendly boutique hotel in an excellent location in Kings Cross. Despite it's old reputation there is a lovely village atmosphere in The Cross during the day. Very close to the station for trains into the CBD. They are doing a complete refurbishment at the moment so will be even fresher and more comfortable when next I visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Homely, comfortable and very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is presently renovating happening at this hotel which I found at times in morning slightly annoying.

    The lodge was in a very interesting location in Sydney, lots of little cafes, restaurants and amenities. Although we were essentially in the heart of the city it was lovely and quiet, everything was at your front door most importantly public transport. The room was clean comfortable and it had a homely feeling. The bathroom was small however very efficient. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Will be back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.8
    I didn't like it when everytime we went out people would ask for money at night felt very unsafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed, no power point wear the kettle was placed, bathroom was very small if in the shower you couldn't use the toilet, walls are paper thin, asked for wake up call 5am never came then as we where leaving saw a red light flashing at 5.30,If I new about renovations being carried out, I wouldn't have stayed. Rooms are round down.

    How close it was to Train station,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, convenient location & comfortable accommodation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room. Bathroom a trifle squeezy though the shower was great.

    Great location for trains, buses and plenty of food options nearby. Market directly across the road is excellent and offers cooked food as well as all expected supermarket lines. Rooms comfortable. Security good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Very noisy could hear upstairs residents through the night...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy could hear upstairs residents through the night also workers on the site using jack hammers at 7.30 am I had just had surgery so was not impressed! The location and room was ok for the price but just so noisy and no where to even park to drop of or pick up

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed that we had not been told about renovations in the building or that next door were pulling down a fire escape. I wish they’d had the foresight to give us earplugs. We went down specifically for vivid and wanted to nap in the afternoons. Impossible.

    Location is perfect. Rooms although small are just perfect for quick stays. Access to trains, meals and coffee is perfect. All of the staff are fabulous. Overall I am happy to give 9/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    A clean and convenient place to drop your things if you have a few days in the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The construction in the building next door that started from 7am!! The lighting was hard on the eyes - recommend incandescent light bulbs,

    The room was simple and sufficient for my requirements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    I only slept there, the rest if the time i was out, so not much to tell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not the fault of the Lodge, but i was very disappointed to be woken early by construction workers, especially after a very late night taking in the sights of the Sydney Vivid Festival. They didnt actually start using tools until 7.30am, but their loud voices woke me at 7am. It is just as well I was checking out that day. If i had been staying longer, i would have moved to another hotel. Over the weekend it was very quiet.

    Reception desk open late until 11pm. Comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    A good base in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was smaller than I expected (after referencing the images) and that was a bit surprising, though not bad.

    It was well located, with easy access to a train station and a grocery store. The staff were nice. The bed was comfortable and the room maintained well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double bed a bit small for 2 adults. Next door waste water pipe split making a noisy waterfall in the light well.

    Staff very helpful & pleasant. Close to transport, eateries etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lock for the window, either in the bath room and the major room.I should concerned about the possible break-in from this unsafe windows. And living in 4th floor is trouble because there is no elevator from 3th to 4th floor.

    The room is big and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in a well-priced, convenient hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in-room free wi-fi was unusable most of the time. It was slow to connect initially, slow to use and continually dropped out, regardless of time of day. This is typical of hotels in the cheaper price ranges but should not be so when reliable free wi-fi is available universally in so many places from cafes to NSW Rail. Get a better supplier. My room was good and clean, although a little drab. No iron or ironing board. At night, nearby Darlinghurst Road is a grimy and seedy strip of strip joints, takeaway food outlets and empty shops. Head to Macleay Street instead.

    Attractive and convenient location. More than adequate facilities (except wi-fi). Helpful and friendly reception staff. Cafe at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were so small the door could not open as it hit the bed. The bathroom was tiny and narrow, in need of work as the shower leaked profusely and couldn't change trajectory. 'Free' WiFi never worked .

    The location is great and the staff were helpful to a point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with No Housekeeping Service
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some night clubs on the way to the place from railway station. Not recommended for solo travellers.

    Clean and comfortable. Got all we needed. 3 mins walk to Kings Cross Station. Staff members are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    the room was really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms were small but for two nights it was great.

    the room was really clean. the front desk staff was amazing. was able to drop off bags and enjoy sydney until room was ready.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Casual, friendly bespoke and simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Casual, friendly bespoke and simple. Love being able to open the window in the room. Only 3 mins from the train so very convenient. Delightful cafe at front of the lodge. Winning😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around the hotel didn't feel as safe as other parts of Potts Point (Challis avenue), there were some strange people around. Room was a bit old looking, seemed to be in need of renovation.

    It is close to Kings Cross station, has the necessary amenities, staff were nice. The price was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable and clean room in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noisy child jumping around in the room above at 7am on Sunday morning. Thought that the GC2018 marathon had been rerouted.

    Pretty much everything about the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Very close to shops, pubs and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bright street light right outside our room. Parking was a little far away.

    Very close to shops, pubs and train station. Lovely place to have breakfast attached to property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel choice in fascinating area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a little small but adequate. Breakfast options were limited with better value available in a multitude of cafes close by.

    Location superb. Room and bed and bathroom were clean. TV worked fine. Kettle was small but worked well. Fridge had complimentary milk for the coffee/tea on offer. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, very professional and clean. I will stay there again for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit noisy, lack of proper insulation on the walls and floor and as a result, I could hear a lot (...) from other rooms, but not from outside, which is good. The bathroom is quite small.

    Clean room, nice staff. Comfortable bed, high-pressure shower with hot water. Very well maintained, stylish and nice overall. Very professional, I was helped when needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect so I was delighted to find a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but I didn't expect more for the price I paid!

    The location was perfect so I was delighted to find a quiet room with everything I would want...and more. (It actually had a window you could open!) It had airconditioning, a fresh bathroom, bedside lamps, tea and coffee facilities, daily cleaning and best of all those nice white pressed sheets that cover the blankets! The staff were pleasant and helpful too. But best of all, it was a nice quiet neighbourhood with lots of interesting cafe's and even a brilliant supermarket across the road!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is great and the staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had been painted recently and not aired properly. The hotel was full so there was no option to move us to another room. Luckily we were there for only one night, as we wouldn't have stood the smell for an additional night. The bathroom is tiny, and if you are on the fourth floor you need to ascend a steep set of stairs, which is fine except when you carry all your luggage.

    The location is great and the staff is very friendly. we stayed in a king room and it was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Location convenient but less than clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor standard of cleaning, I'm not sure my room was ever hoovered. Lift out of order and we were on the third floor with heavy suitcases. Horrible view out of my window

    Interesting look to the front of building. Good receptionist. Very good cafe for breakfast at the front of the hotel (but not owned by the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Value for money and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More food options, only morroccon on site which was a sepereate company not part of springfield, would have been nice to have some regular food, eggs/toast etc.

    The staff at springfield were so helpful, i initially had a few issues but they were quick to sort them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a street light directly at my window that of course was on all night. There was no way of blocking laser like light from coming into the room. Blind was not enough. Hotel should consider putting some kind of blockout shutters on the windows of this room. That was the only thing that I marked down for comfort. Otherwise, it was good. Little bit of mould in the bathroom, nothing major.

    Great location. Good inexpensive hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Quiet bed amidst the buzz and colour of the Cross
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism given the great location was that my room didn’t have a bathtub.

    Great location, cute room, excellent shower, nice little plaster features on the ceiling. The bloke on reception helped me out with a bottle opener

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful cosy and friendly hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful cosy and friendly hostel. The layout of the two communal areas and the kitchen made it really sociable and all the other guests were really friendly. They offer towels and cake and water on a basis of donation to charity, which was lovely. Thanks so much for a great stay, sorry it wasn't longer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend, friendly, clean and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a strange smell in the room, not sure what it could have been.

    Staff very friendly and helpful on check-in, room clean, bed comfy, shower small but clean and loved the high power shower! Location is perfect for everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.0
    The room was pokey, very basic and just not what I would call boutique in style or intent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken lift and three flights of stairs with heavy luggage. When I suggested that it would have been appropriate to assist guests in this unfortunate situation by providing a porter when they knew people were checking in or out of rooms, it came a bit of a surprise to the staff.

    Very friendly staff. Quick check in check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    One of our rooms was given away and they offered to put my...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms was given away and they offered to put my coworker up in another lodge which was not acceptable- after some discussion they managed to get another room for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Liked the closeness of the property to Kings Cross station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed that there were some renovation going on. So it’s a bit noisy in the morning. May I suggest that the works should start after 9am

    Liked the closeness of the property to Kings Cross station -‘d the food supermarket opposite it. There are many good eateries to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Great central location, however nothing to write home about, 5 out of 10
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spring bed was very uncomfortable, the room could do warmer lights in the rooms to make it cosier, very thin walls, could not open the window to let natural light in

    Location was good - a minute walk to Kings Cross station, sheets were clean, above average quality shampoo/conditioner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Great value, pleasant simple room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom seemed to have drainage smell and we kept door closed and fan running. Room a bit tired and bathroom tiny but given location and price so what.

    Met our needs at a very fair price for a one night stay. All the basics you need for a short stop over. Great location, pre dinner cheese and biscuits from wonderful selection at Harris Farm. Front room was roomy but a little noisy. Man at reception very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    A very affordable and classy base for a Sydney visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to 'not like'.

    It looked charming from the outside and lived up to it's promise once inside. A lovely oasis in the heart of Kings Cross. It was inviting, so very comfortable, clean, quiet, secure...had everything we needed, everything worked as it should, has the BEST fresh food market across the quiet road and is just a skip to the train station. Would most definitely choose to stay again and recommend without reservation..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    Happy with location, bed, TV and air con. Not happy with very small ensuite small narrow staircase 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was way too small, stairs going up to our room on level 4 was too small and narrow and steep and no help from staff to carry heavy suitcases up the stairs.

    Location was good, bed was clean and comfortable, air con and tv all good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    barking dog at 6.30 am Renovations going on next door at 8am

    easy to find near railway station café attached has great brunch Harris Farmers market across the street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.6
    Ruined by the staff on reception, not taking my accident seriously and behaving in a rude manner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed on 4th floor, which as per booking I knew had a few stairs. It did not state that they were narrower than a world travellers suitcase. I managed to pull up my luggage as I was offered no assistance. Howver on the way down , i fell over my suitcase , hurt my ankle and narrowly avoided a very dangerous and serious accident. The receptionist could not have been less bothered and kept referring to the fact it stated they had stairs... Avoid the fourth floor at all costs unless travelling with just a backpack !!!

    Central Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Small double
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small. I know I booked a small double but I was shocked how small it was. Also overlooked a brick wall the had leaking pipes so all night all you could hear was running water and you could see into the neighbours room if blind and windows were open.

    The location was good. Right next to the train station and half hour walk to opera house

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff were attentive and helpful during check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small, and we found a bug in the bed when we first arrived (no issues after that). Bathroom door hardly opened because of the size of the room, and walls were very thin (got a call in the middle of the night from the front desk about noise complaints from other room, while we could hear everything going on around us).

    Staff were attentive and helpful during check-in. We got to the lodge early and were able to leave our bags in a secure location, then take some of the recommendations of the staff to spend the morning searching around the city. When we got in after the recommended check-in time, there was a staff member available to get us into our room quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location and staff but facilities could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window frame in my room was loose so I was kept awake all night as the window was banging against the frame very loudly and it was very draughty. I told the man at reception in the morning and he simply said he'd get someone to look at it. No acknowledgement or apology about how this affected my stay, which was disappointing.

    Comfy beds, really friendly staff, really good location (5 min walk from Kings Cross station), good tea/coffee making facilities, fairly basic but had everything I needed for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    This was a return visit after 40 years and we refused to allow our last night dampen our experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were there for four nights so thought initially we might have been given a slightly larger room. We were also woken on our last night by a cascade of water from the a/c unit onto us and our bedding! We were rather lucky that staff were still there and able to react quickly to change our bedding because the direct line to reception did not function. Perhaps breakfast or something could have been offered on the house as a gesture of goodwill over this?

    The location was wonderful. We are from interstate and wanted to do mostly touristy things and found we were within walking distance of all we wanted to see in Sydney and environs. Even though we were close to busy, lively streets and a great hotel, the property was calm and very quiet! Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful, will be back, was a last minute booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was slightly cramped, the WiFi was very slow so I was unable to share anything on my social accounts for the entire trip.

    The king beds in the room which was provided when it only stated in the description that there would be a double bed, the ultra modern new bathroom and the location was great for the trains were nearby and the downtown area was within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    I would probably stay there again for the price, but would look for a nicer neighborhood 1st.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area the hotel is in is seedy with lots of strip clubs on the next block. But I never felt unsafe and the subway station is right there!

    The restaurant was on the patio, not part of the hotel, but it was fantastic, although pricey!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely people, great location a tad small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was outrageously small. The person who first called me about the check-in didn't have good English and was in correct in a matter about the reservation which caused confusion.

    I was very cheap, which is why we stayed there. The area around it was lively and buzzing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    comfort, great value and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in mind

    big room, good value for money. Great location which is easier to access central, Coles. A few small restaurants (Thai, dumplings etc.) you could find for quick dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location.....but hotel could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom was ridiculous! Your knees hit the wall when sitting on the toilet! We were on the top floor and there was a certain smell to the rooms. Everything is a bit dated and is such a shame because from the outside it looks beautiful. The restaurant next to the hotel was ok however the guy serving was far from happy and it’s rather expensive.

    The bed was comfy and the location is suitable for a short city break. Close to train station and nice walk into the harbour. Dani on reception desk was a pleasure to speak with. The restaurants in the lane way next to hotel were lovely and we found an affordable little place for breakfast and the staff there were delightful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean and great staff.
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location to parking and hospital we needed to attend. Room was basic but comfortable and would definitely use again. Staff were super helpful and nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    fine place - but don't use the shuttle bus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shuttle bus: We ordered from reception a shuttle bus to the airport for 4:30am for 7am flight, we paid for it in advance, we waited from 4:20 until 5:30 (!!!), and the shuttle did not show up! The phone on the ticket was never answered, despite statement it was available from 5am. The hotel manager-on-duty (fortunately!) answered and called us a taxi, that we had to pay ourselves of course. We were promised a refund for the shuttle cost that we still have not received (after 1 week). We had enormous stress worrying to miss our flight (but we did not) and no explanation even on what happened. I understand this is not the hotel's direct responsibility, but they selected this company as a partner and they were our middle-man that we trusted (and paid to). This incident spoiled the whole experience, the be honest. To the hotel itself: No elevator to the 4th floor - not very handy with 20kg luggage on narrow staircase. Small and dark bathroom, and the started soap was taken away - we had to open a new pack (why?..).

    We had King suite, it was nice. Clean, spacious, comfortable bed, A/C. There are plenty of lovely food places around. Train station close by to take you to the city in minutes. Walking also possible (but takes ca. half an hour).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, really helpful staff, good shower and hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a shelf and better lighting in bathroom but overall it was a good place to stay and would recommend it to friends.

    Great location, really helpful staff, good shower and hot water. Nice clean towels and sheets. Tea and coffee facilities in room also fridge and air conditioning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Springfield lodge was one of the most lovely places I have stayed at in Sydney it was so clean and the bed was really comfy. Staff were very helpful and most of all it is so close to everything, we will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Great location but we didn't get much sleep due to terrible, small, lumpy mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, with a view at garbage bins, the bathroom was tiny and the bed was also tiny and lumpy. The mattresses springs were digging into us and we are two small women! I can't imagine a man even fitting on that size bed, those mattresses are in desperate need of burning and replacing.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    good place to stay and will stay again if in the area
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a bit small for uncle with his bad knee. but he managed for a couple of days.

    clean room, location, excellent accommodating staff, efficient staff who looked after my uncle alan has he couldn' climb the stairs. Cleaner friendly . air conditioner worked well and the fridge, good jug and clean cups with tea, coffee and milk provided Ample supplie of bathroom shampoo and soaps . clean linen Good location easy toget there and train station. close to main city by train and buses close by. would stay again if in the area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location and vbery comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mattresses need a topper, as you can feel the springs. This comment also relates to my stay here a year ago.

    Room was quiet, clean and towels regularly changed. Reasonably close to Kings Cross railway station, and a major supermarket is several blocks away - so location for me is terrific. On arrival, the staff changed my room at my request, which was really helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    Very very very basic considering the charge. I have stayed in cheaper hotels in Sydney and been
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet space was so cramped it was almost impossible to sit on the toilet. I am not a large person but anyone who is overweight would have trouble. Plus the television didn't work. It was an overnight stay only so I didn't bother to report it.

    The position the hotel was in for the purpose of our visit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the experience, friendly people, interesting area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com's information

    The old heritage building needs some TLC but was adequate for a short stay. I didn't eat there because there were many great eating places near by. Very quite for such a busy area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.4
    OK for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests upstairs, very small bathroom.

    It’s ok for a short stay, couple of days. Very close to the train station which was a plus. Staff at check in were very nice and accommodating, we were able to store our luggage and go out and explore the city. They made arrangements for tour to the Blue Mountains for us and booked airport shuttle. Not in the nicest of locations, but the price was reflective of this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.0
    Just except what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was so small and almost not clean but the worst thing was the electricity went out for almost whole day.

    Just the location and staff behaviour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, pretty outside. Standard clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window in room and overlooked the restaurant bins. Also got food smell in the room. The road leading to the lodge was a bit rough.

    Friendly staff. Room was clean. Pretty outside.Easy access to train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    We are happy with our two nights stay at Springfield lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we’re trying to sleep, we r disturbed by the occupant on level 2, they were stomping the floor the whole night. Too tired to make a complaint after a whole day of adventure.

    The bed. Toiletries

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    The manager very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to 3rd floor and pretty narrow stairs with a suitcase.

    The air conditioner was quiet and made sleeping so comfortable. Parking is subsidised at the nearby parking garage. Top supermarket across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and well priced, handy for transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Have booked to stay there again.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, good amenities. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 201 - TV remote needs replacing as the on/off button does not work and a few basic movie channels would be enjoyable. The cafe downstairs not so good, despite a quiet morning getting coffee too far too long and the table wasn't cleared despite having several repat orders

    The location excellent. the bed comfy and clean. Plenty of linen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and reasonable price considering it is Pott Point, somewhat bias as i lived here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well, i asked for quiet room and got it but overlooking a grubby courtyard (but this is prime city residence and i suppose not completely avoidable)

    I arrived late and the instructions to gain access were accurate that foiled any misunderstandings. Location is great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV set on standby, and will automatically shut off if you don't press a button within a few seconds. Annoying!! Nothing else to complain about this time. I've stayed at the Springfield a few times.

    Airconditioning - such a nice thing to have during hot, humid Sydney days & nights. Bed was large & comfortable. The room I had this time was very, very clean. Gent who was working at the front desk in the afternoons & evenings is a lovely guy. Harris Farm supermarket is across the plaza, literally a 10 second walk from the hotel's front door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is so small. A spot to put my suitcase would be nice. Although the rooms are quite people walking through the hall was very loud in room.

    Comfy bed, great shower pressure, location and close to train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    8.5/10 for price and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The height of the shower head was way too low

    The bed was extremely comfortable!!! Best bed I’ve ever slept in!! Only problem was that it was two bed joined together.. so would sometimes split apart slightly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    It worked very well for all we needed to do and wouldn’t hesitate to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small and the shower/bathroom even smaller! However, that’s sort of what you expect in a converted older establishment.

    The location was fantastic. The coffee was delicious. The rooms were clean. The staff attentive and helpful. The Kings Cross Station is also conveniently located around the corner with one stop to the city or two to Bondi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for our stay as within easy walk to circular quay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our window was over the rear of the property but didn't spoil our stay .

    The room was clean comfortable and the sheets were excellent quality ..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.3
    Bad start.. turned into a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would advise that you check whether you are completely satisfied with your room before you settle in. The room that I stayed in had a leaking shower and as a result the carpet adjacent to the bathroom was wet and the whole room smelt musty. A few of the fittings were also worn out. After notifying reception of the situation they advised that all the rooms were full and there was only a possibility of switching rooms the next day. I would have appreciated more attention from reception in this regard, but the next day they pulled through and organised a new room. The second room was in a much better condition than the first room, which leads me to think there is a certain level of inconsistency in terms of what you will get. I was told that they are in the process of upgrading the rooms which is great news.

    Close proximity to public transport & entertainment, easy to find, quick bus/train ride to or from the city centre and beautiful setting of the lodge in quiet street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Value for money. And very close to eveything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small. One of the pillows was a bit smelly. Luckily we didn't have to use it, as there were enough pillows. We were on the 1st. floor and someone on the floor above us was a bit noisy for a little while.

    It was close to where we had to go. It was very close to King Cross Station. The bed was very comfy. The staff were very friendly. The style and age of the building was great. A bit of Sydney history.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Just the right place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy access to city 25 min walk or train 2 min walk lots of nice restaurants around and nice pub on corner of street room comfortable bed very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.7
    The website pictures make it look better than it actually is, it was somewhere to stay thats all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from plumbing, ventilation fans and foot traffic from room above sound transmission was terrible, woken every morning by early rising persons above using shower and vent fans, screeching noise at 6.10 am every morning for 6 nights.

    Daily cleaning and replacement towels not necessary but was done anyway. Convenient for tourist 'hop on hop off' buses, and places to eat especially in near by Ave across the road, good varied choice of nice bars and restaurants as against thos on main road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, uncomfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin so we had many disturbed nights sleep during our week's stay here. We could even hear our neighbours using their bathroom!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Springfield Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: