Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stonewell Cottages and Vineyards 4.5 stars

Stonewell Road, Barossa Valley, 5352 Tanunda, Australia

#1 of 5 hotels in Tanunda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that we didn’t like but could be small improvements Would of been great to have an ice maker , as we needed more ice each day for the 4 of us. Could also do with a light on front seating area & a door stop for side door.

    Nice outlook, quiet, private and with a fireplace . The bed was comfy, good hot showers & lots of beautiful local produce awaiting us on arrival for our breakfasts ( yum bacon, eggs , haloumi & great bread, relish & more) & some cheese too. Rachael that manages the property & bookings couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much really, we has a really lovely time there.

    We had the Spa chalet. The location is incredible: right in the centre of the vineyard, but still isolated enough to have a lovely romantic few days. The breakfast food provided was excellent, the availability of local wine amazing. The spa was really nice, in particular after a day spent cycling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No, everything is perfect!

    The cottage is well located at Stonewell Road which is easy to find and close to many famous wineries and fine dining restaurants. It is a property with a beautiful pond and vineyard which is just around the cottages.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay could've been longer!

    Everything, the privacy the view, the ease of finding it... the luxurious bathroom products, the yummy breakfasts.. the visit from Nev and his mates... the list goes on!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the mattress on the bed. Nothing worse than sinking into the middle and getting stuck together.

    The cottage as a whole was amazing. I would definitely recommend to anyone that Stonewell Cottages are a great place to stay. My partner and I had a fantastic weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about!

    Everything about our cottage was 5star. It was absolutely immaculate with plenty of breakfast options supplied, not to mention savoury nibbles/cheese/olives, etc. They also supplied a stunning red wine from Two Hands Winery & an offer of a vertical tasting experience at the winery that would normally cost aprox $30 pp. The bed & pillows were extremely comfortable. There was also a gas barbecue so we opted to stay in every night dining on locally sourced produce. We intend to return next year!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    The property has spectacular views over a lake and the vineyard. It was well provisioned with local produce and most comfortable stay. We loved the ducks who visited us every morning for their breakfast. Whilst the weather was pleasant it was great to see flames from a wood stove.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Arriving to find the fridge was stocked up for breakfast for every day of our stay. Also the apartment is finished to a high level with them thinking of everything you will need for your stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. A great stay

    The attention to detail by the property owners is second to none. The cottage is beautifully presented and the setting is lovely. The breakfast provisions are top quality ( all local produce) and the quantity is very generous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Everything about this property is brilliant. From the excellent directions on how to get there, the reverse cycle air conditioner being on when we arrived which took the chill out of the air (it was cold!!), to the complimentary bottle of wine and biscuits and chocolates on arrival - this place is something else. Loved being woken up at 8.30 in the morning by ducks at the front door too - very cute!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!!!

    The decor was country cottage style and everything was modern and in excellent working condition from the comfy beds to the spar bath. The combustion fire place was well stocked with wood and kept us warm and toasty. The cottage was emaculately clean and well stocked with complimentary provisions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed needs replacing - for over $500 a night, I didn't expect to have such terrible nights sleep. Small bed (a double!?) with an old mattress which rolled into the centre. No good.

    food provisions, location, availability of "provisions"

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cupids Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the serenity and the lovely little gifts, wine, port and chocolates were an added surprise. Being on the lake was so relaxing and having all the facilities to cook our own dinner was great.

    Trip on the harvester with Evan at sunset was a real bonus. Loved the spa bath as well, shower was lovely too. All the appliances looked brand new. We even enjoyed rowing the boat, not something you do in city life.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Location was absolutely beautiful and set the mood for a wonderful and relaxing get away with my partner and her family! Would recommend highly to friends and family, couldn't have asked for better service!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't stay long enough.

    Everything!!! Was an awesome place to stay. Everything you need is at the cottages along with some friendly ducks with personality. Close to the shops and many vineyards. Tina was excellent and attentive to any needs necessary.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cupids Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location to the Barossa was fantastic! Also the hosts left us a basket of goodies all local produce, just beautiful! Definitely stay here if visiting the Barossa. Taxis easy too to get into Tanunda.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cupids Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved EVERYTHING!!

    What was there not too like! This place is amazing, gorgeous little cottage with everything you could need plus more!! It isn't far from town at all (5-8 mins) The lake and boat facilities just make this place magic! So relaxing, i wish we could've stayed for much much longer. I cannot WAIT to go back!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette was a little cosy for 2 people to comfortably cook a full breakfast in

    Location was great and cottage very warm and cosy in winter. Loved the ducks who visit each day. Breakfast provisions were generous and showcased the Barossa region well. Would definitely revisit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better lighter to light the candles ... that's it !!

    All the condiments and little extras were so well thought of. Wonderfully warm dressing gowns and overall ambience was excellent. It would be nice to sit on the front verandah on a sunny day with food and wine, but as it was cold we had the spa as our other option !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and wood box restock each day was handy. Cosy cottage left us feeling wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generous brekky and awsome produce

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought a pool would be nice for the summer

    Loved the food. How the bath had its own separate room. The dam and row boat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The calm the cosy and all the services

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to rate staff or check out as done remotely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night!

    Beautiful little cottage with a view of the lake. Very smooth staffless checkin. Bbq facilities were great too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 toilet and bath. Cleanliness can be improved

    Quiet and very relaxing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cupids Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    The property, the cottage, the serenity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    incredible location, one of the best places. The lake the vineyard works treat

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Breakfast, very relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    need some maintenance.

    surround by nature. specialized spa room in the cottage. beautiful lake view. Netflix prescribed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cupids Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The property was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    We were surrounded by vines and felt like we were in the country. The location was close proximity to everything. It was so relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We had a great stay & the accommodation was terrific.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hideaway Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of goodies to enjoy from the local area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cupids Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi,often disconnected,had to reconnect often

    Scenery

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could not figure out how to work the coffee machine.

    One high back chair would add to the comfort but, unfortunately, there is no room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, private and comfortable with a fantastic outlook. Close to Wineries and Restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast supplies were excellent. Cottage was peaceful and beautifully located

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is fantastic. Facilities are faultless.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we bad was the coffee machine leaked.

    Very comfortable with everything you need

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Haven Spa Retreat 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Larger couch to relax on. Robe for the man had loops very high. think it might have been for a woman

    Just about everything. loved the ducks!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The peaceful surroundings, the lovely cottage and extras provided for you, and the greeting party of ducks that were happy to see you come every time.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the cottage is actually a semi and you could hear the people next door.

    very relaxing and peaceful, the cottage was very well furnished modern but keeping the cottage feel, loved the little extra touches....

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't realize how small the place we were staying at was going to be and were very dissapointed, definitely not good value for money. Very low supply of wood and the gentleman who owns the property was very blunt and not very approachable. We found we had no privacy and struggled to stay in the cottage for longer then 2 hours.

    Although we weren't very happy with the accomodation, tina was very kind and tried to make our stay as good as possible.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cannot say that there was anything we didn't like. It was really a piece of paradise

    The attention to detail and the generous extras ..wine chocolates etc. The ducks the view the lake was beautiful. Good to reflect

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We loved all the little extra touches throughout the cottage. The décor was lovely and the views fabulous. The ducks waiting at the door was really nice too. Would definitely recommend to friends and family travelling to the Barossa.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When you are travelling you don't have food, so a lack of dinner food can be a tad painful. You can order a 'basket', but it's not really dinner and you need to notify by 10am if required.. again difficult when travelling. Suggest you pick up dinner food on the way, be prepared to go out for dinner, or order Pizza which is really the only take away that will deliver to the cottages. Also, the Wifi kept dropping out which eventually became so annoying that I just used my phone as a Hotspot instead.

    The cottage is a very cosy and convenient place to stay. The ammenities are great and the Spa is a great size for 2 people to sit in and enjoy a drink comfortably. Probably the most comfortable bed we stayed in on our 3 week trip. A VERY substantial choice of breakfast foods was great. Very close to Seppeltsfield Rd which gives you access too all of the attractions in the Barossa. It's very close to 2 towns for supplies or dinner out if needed.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all amazing

    Great view perfect location amazing double spa

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and the facilities and provision supplied where above and beyond excellent

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fantastic, very private, and the food provided for cooking breakfast was excellent! A beautiful place! We will definitely go back!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to detail, location and welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Get real

    Location on a working vineyard with it's own lake.Great provisions all locally sourced.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cupids Cottage has a great unique country feel

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, cottage architecture, seclusion, excellent facilities

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cabin a little dark at times.

    Beautiful location. Loved the local wildlife. Very cozy, food available for us was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    The cottage, breakfast supplies, serenity, ducks, all the little extras eg port and chocolates, coffee pods etc

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful , secluded location.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Privacy Accessibility Facilities Environment Proximity

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the whole stay was great. the row boat is a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Needed more yabbie bait

    Hosts had thought of everything

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought living area a bit small and couch was not overly comfortable

    Location was excellent and provisions provided were ample and excellent

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: