Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunmoon Boutique Resort 4 stars

200 West Coast Highway, Scarborough, 6019 Perth, Australia

#73 of 107 hotels in Perth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 724 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Obviously a change of management between my booking and our stay (booking made approximately one month before our stay) - the Restaurant was closed (permanently) when we arrived and the Reception hours had changed (were less). Mini bar was empty and mid-stay our small fridge stopped working. Shower screen was a half screen, hence every time you showered the floor became a lake. Property needs a refurbishment.

    Room and bathroom was clean, bed was comfortable, shower was hot and water pressure good. Location was convenient to beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked they claimed there was a restaurant on site, signs stated there was but as we came in a small sign stated the restaurant was permanently closed. No refund offered. There was a spa but the noise of the traffic was not relaxing. Only one water feature in the garden was functioning; four or so others were off. The cable / streaming / TV did not work correctly and the signal was breaking up. The toilet seat was broken. Tiny view of the ocean over the top of a building. The entry security gate could be opened by hand without the use of the key-card. They wanted $20 extra to use the secure parking. Water bottle beside the bed was tiny and they wanted $4 for it. We had to ask how to find our room. The queen bed was two single beds joined.

    Plenty of space inside our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too expensive, we thought we were self contained and could cook a meal. restaurant was closed. lift was locked at 6pm, Stairs were a problem for my husband.

    close to beach, but we did not know there was a national surf lifesaving event on during this period.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for a week and room service never vacuumed the room or cleaned the bathroom. Had a leak in the bathroom ceiling which meant the floor was covered with water. Restaurant has closed so no breakfast facility or room food service.

    Only a block back from beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no reception outside 8-6:30, what would happen if you get locked out for example wait an hour or so on the emergency number. The restaurant was closed so no breakfast/food available. For what they claim as a four star hotel the cleaners should wash up any tea cups and replace, surfaces etc.

    Price, a third of the price of the Rendezvous opposite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    To have cooking facilities I had to climb 36 stairs into a 'loft' apartment from the second floor lift and found it very difficult with a bad knee condition. Had to climb into a bath to have a shower. I don't believe the floor was vacuumed daily. I thought cooking facilities would be the provision of a microwave but only a cook top.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    I’ve booked the 2 bedroom executive and it was not cheap. However, We were thoroughly disappointed as there was only 1 toilet and the upstairs was open with no privacy and looked no like a teen’s loft.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the room was very poor, grubby and very outdated. We were not informed when we booked that the restaurant and bar would be closed over the Easter period until we went to our rooms when we found a note that informed us that the bar/restaurant was closed until 6th April. Saturday it didn’t open and neither on Sunday. Pretty poor hospitality management. $20 per night added to the price for use of the car park

    Easy access to the centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    TV did not work, was fixed on request. Generally deteriorated and minimal maintainence. There was no restaurant, only notified after arrival - That meant we had to eat out when we had chosen this venue because of eat-in facilities. Not even breakfast. Haphazard room cleaning service

    there was a pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was abit musty smelling but otherwise good, beds were good. Secure carparking & key box made checkout quicker

    Comfy robes, good noise reducition sliding doors on the balcony to reduce the traffic noise

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin, could hear everything! Facilities were Clean but old, stairs were noisy floors in loft were noisy. If I book a 2 bed apartment I expect two seperate bedrooms.

    Convenient location. Tidy rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the lightbulbs in the room needed replacing . The electronic door locks are a pain in the arse as an alarm triggers sometimes if it's not properly latched. Not so handy as there's a delay so your half way up the stairs.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It lacked privacy.The weather was exquisite and I wanted to leave the curtains open and anyone walking by to see in.The pool is quite small.I feel like for the price they should provide free wifi.I hadn't experienced a "Boutique hotel" that charges for wifi .Kind of tacky if you ask me. Same thing with laundry facilities.Too expensive and no washers available.I believe the goal of a hotel should be to make things convenient for travelers.They do not do that.

    I liked the bed and the room was huge .Each staff I chatted with was incredibly kind,warm and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was right on the highway so sitting on the balcony was not that pleasant. The large bed had 2 mattresses with a split down the middle and wasn't comfortable. Walking through the restaurant to the first floor room was not pleasant. The lack of car parking and extra charge of $20/night was not expected.

    The spa in the bathroom was nice. There was an extra glass door to the balcony which blocked a bit of highway noise. Robes were supplied in the closet. The room was visually clean. There is a supermarket and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was way over rated for the quality of the property. It is old and tired. Something that management indicate once you make a complaint but not obvious by the property photos or description. The bathroom door can’t be left open which makes it impossible to do hair/make up after showering as he exhaust fan isn’t strong enough. The king bed we had made so much noise just even sitting on it let alone sleeping and sleeping/moving on it. I used the power points in the main bedroom for my hairdryer but the hair dryer plug kept falling out. Worst thing was the common area door or gate somewhere in the property that gets used from 5.30 (on a Sunday miring) and is relentless with its banging. Note I did give feedback when departing and then contacted the property via email afterwards. It took 2 days and 3 emails to get a response which was not sympathetic nor supportive of my feedback and complaint. They shouldn’t be in hospitality and have no idea of customer service.

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was hard. fish ponds needed a good clean they were green & would have felt more luxurious if the water features were going. we looking forward to buffet breakfast but when we got there we were told it was just a cold breakfast no hot food

    the location was great, Restaurant was nice for dinner , pool looked lovely & clean & the gentleman checking us in & out was very helpful & understanding 10 out of 10 for him

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive and described as a boutique resort so I had high expectations but I was very disappointed. The room was OK but not any better than a basic motel. The outside areas were scruffy. We did not use the restaurant as it was unattractive. There was a high charge for wifi and parking whereas all our other accommodation for the past 7 weeks included these at no charge. It certainly should not be described as boutique accommodation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is showing it’s age. The hand basin has bad cracks. The swing blades on the air conditioner were missing or broken off leaving a gaping hole. We unable to adjust the temperature setting low enough for our comfort. We asked for a room with a a view from the balcony and while I appreciate the fact that we were late booking a room, the view of the service station across the road was not great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    aircon poor condition needed filter cleaning and new batteries for remote having to pay for parking getting charged for items in minibar tyhat we did not consume

    nice size room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The default movie 1and 2 TV channels had sound issues especially towards the end of the movie.

    The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was immaculate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures displayed while booking my room were beautiful! Upon arrival i was told i had to pay 100 dollars security bond never told before. Then to be informed that parking is 20 bucks a night. More like a budget hotel than a resort!

    The beautiful gardens and pool are about all that do justice for this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still havent recieved my bond back in my account. No way was it a 4 start rated room. Cracks in the bathroom, tap leaked, no face washers or enough body washes and stuff like that. Fridge was hard to find and was jammed up with stuff from the mini bar so couldnt put our stuff in there. Was expecting a view of the ocean, not the service station or the rendezvous. The swimming pool was also out of order which was a bummer because it was hot and would have been nice.

    The spa bath and the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    you couldn't get a drink during the day are the bar was only open at breakfast times and dinner times need to get a drink during the day when siiting around the pool area NOTHING WAS OPEN Here NOT HAPPY

    the bath was good spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The traffic noise when the doors were open, the bathroom door wouldn't shut because the hinges were not in place properly, had to stand on the chair to close the curtains because the runners were in poor condition, getting into the spa bath to shower proved a challenge. Room 101

    The location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed for maintenance and staff maybe should have thought about putting us in an upper storey room as they weren’t full and the first floor is quite close to the loud busy street so makes balcony kind of useless.

    Comfy bed, late check out was free of charge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard as hell, tiny fridge in the rooms, best to get a room with a balcony otherwise your room is quite dark, house keeping is crap at taking your rubbish away, we were woken up multiple times by random loud noises, shower leaks all over the floor, whole property could do with a general update!

    Easy walking distance to restaurants and the beach and the pool area is cool.but needs updating. Aircon worked good too which is a must!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are tired & needing maintenance.For nearly $300 on a Sat night , I would have expected a higher standard of maintenance.Door knobs nearly falling off balcony door.Bathroom door looks like its been bashed a few times.

    Location.Bed comfy & nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view from my room was onto a wall and footpath, was extremely noisy! And one of the only rooms without a balcony or a view. Very overpriced for the standard of room. To me doesn’t really class as a boutique hotel..

    The hotel was across the beach from all the pubs cafes and the beach which was ideal. The pool at the hotel was extremely quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 105 had a distinct smoky smell to furnishings every time we went in there. We explained to the desk lass after check-in/arrival and she came and opened windows and doors for us. When in the room, we propped open doors with chairs to let fresh air in. It needs a proper carpet clean and new curtains to try and eliminate fug from past occupants smoke. At this level of accommodation, and in Western Australia, we should expect to have a smoke free room. No I didn't specifically ask, but it is expected to be smoke free. We would have liked to try breakfast in the resort but when on holiday would love choice of cooked breakfast and buffet, but as it was just cereals/breads etc, we went elsewhere.

    Gardens, pools, decking, stonework, appearance; size of room, privacy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress very uncomfortable. Needs replacing. Sleepless nights. Room paid wifi didn't work at all. Car parking allocation was first in first served for free parking, then daily paid parking at the rear of premises which was expensive. Very small fridge couldn't fit much in for our long stay. No microwave.

    Location was excellent distantance to the beach and restaurants. Rooms double doors to balcony were sound proof from the main road traffic noise. Towels were clean daily. Bed linen changed when ever the room was tidied. Large spa that fitted two people comfortably. Good shower water pressure hot and cold.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place could do with some upgrades as the paving around the pool is falling apart. Breakfast is only ser0ved to 9 so too bad if you have a sleep in, 1030 is more reasonable.

    The location of this property is exceptional easily walk to beach and cafe strip. Watched sunset from balcony and room was a good size and bed very comfy. Found it was like a Bali style accommodation so if you don't mind that you will love this place. Room was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for wifi, And the staff did not care less they just wanted you out of reception!!! Also asked for a late check out by 1 hour and wanted to charge me $40 per hour Disgraceful!!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is quite dated. The check in experience was a little slow - had to wait at the reception for a while as no one was there and no one was picking up the phone.

    The location is great, right across from the Scarbourough beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds pushed together to make a large bed :/ No microwave :( Tiny fridge. And worst of all not much parking :(

    Spa was good. Good size tv. Clean room. Good a/c. The in house dinner restaurant was superb!!! Continental breakfast was quite basic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not live up to its name ie 'boutique' . A little dated and tired and situated fronting a busy road. Room smelt a bit 'foisty'. Cost of Wi-fi access seemed excessive.

    Convenient location for visiting Scarborough . Simple but acceptable continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony faced the road and it was very noisy. The mini bar wasn’t completely stocked, bathroom needed renovation and a pair of men’s underwear was left near the bed that didn’t belong to us 🤦‍♂️ the pool needs renovation and the water was murky

    The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet vreakie was terrible value for money. Shower in our room flooded the whole bathroom! Reception staff weren't welcoming and not interested in being there (doodling whilst waiting for them to acknowledge us arrival) Didn't find it value for money unfortunately

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The after hour's check in was a disaster.After a delay and then diversion to perth from Melbourne via brisbane we were tired and running out of patience after calling the mobile and after hour's number displayed for over a hour!!! I had actually called the resort ftom brisbane informing them we would be due in after office hour's, which they took the credit card details for the $100 bond for the key card for our room.Which in return they would sms/email us the code for the safe outside with our key card. Guess what, it didn't happened. The after hour's lived on site and took her a hour and a very abusive message after a hour before they returned our call with a text message saying on my way down. We were exhausted and glad we got in our room. Gym was very minimal but enough to work out your body. Cutlery was collected every morning,had to wash them in bathroom. Resort could do with a tidy up looking a bit tired.

    Location location location, walking distance to shops,beach,bars and restaurants. Public transport close and very easy and affordable to use if your on a budget and don't mind using it. Pool was perfect,could do with a reno tho and more sun bed's. Most of the staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was ok but not as comfortable as home. Lack of expected toiletries; happy to bring my own but was expecting better due to the rev up online about conditions and standard of ‘resort’. Not being able to order food and drinks at the pool - more lounges would have been nice.

    Large room. Easy. Clean. Convenient location. Reasonable price. Pleasant cooperative staff. Daily newspapers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is very outdated. We had to request a change of room as there was mould in our ceiling. They changed out room but when the manager came over she said that it wasn't mould, it was the colour of the repair. Splashed black? The bedroom door was hard to close properly and the same thing applies to the bathroom door. There were stains in the courtains and the hand towel was ripped. We stayed at this hotel 5-7 years ago and we loved it. This time around it was really disappointing.

    There is a beautiful little pool which makes you really feel like you are in holidays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some general maintenance was required in our room (201- a loft type room) - holes in walls had been patched but not finished, sand in the carpet, dirty marks on the low pitched ceilings.

    Comfortable bed, free parking options as well as the paid parking. Lovely pool & location close to Scarborough Beach, supermarket & restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The counter staff. I feel they were not at all welcoming and I felt like they were annoyed with having to serve us. It was my daughter's birthday so that made things a little less than happy.

    Located a short walk across from the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bar facilities during the day so if you chose to be in pool area you couldn’t have a snack or drink. Breakfast very minimal and rendez vous we’re charging the same Amount per night. Not enough sun beds so stopped people using pool too

    It’s a quiet nice boutique hotel. We have stayed before.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was overpriced for the small size of the meal. Spa bath was a little outdated. Fridge was tiny and goods in mini bar were well overpriced. $20 per day for parking was a little steep and all free parking was taken.

    Very close to cafe strip and beach. Spacious room. Grounds were nice. My daughter enjoyed looking at all the fish and fountains. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no microwave, as i was travelling for work and have a budget i took my own meal to reheat however i couldn't as there was no microwave

    Comfy bed and nice location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a room with connecting doors into others (although we didn't know them) it was very noisy when a family got up at 5am. It was like they were in the room with us.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was dirty .maintenance was poor as toilet and toilet roll holder was broken .had to pay for parking .it was our annerversary and was offered nothing .breakfast was poor .toast and fruit .

    Bali style

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar fridge was too small. There was only 1 teaspoon,2 would have been better. Bin was too small. There was only 1 hand towel, a second one would have been handy or even a tea towel would have been nice to wash the cups. Missing privacy curtains near balcony, had to leave heavy curtains drawn and use lights. It would have been better to have privacy and natural light. Overall not real issues as the above did not effect our stay just suggestions for the Resort to think about.

    Location, clean room, spa bath and bathrobes were great! Staff were accomodating when we needed to change rooms due to too many stairs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The boutique resort does not offer any wifi (for free)! Not even in the common places around the lobby or pool.

    Great location, right behind Scarborough beach!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge wasn’t cold, bed was uncomfortable, the shower head needs to be fixed, we didn’t like that you can see into the next doors balcony. There was no privacy if you wanted to sit outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud closing doors. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, extra charge for decent coffee. Construction at Scarborough beach spoiling access & view.

    Lovely outdoor gardens with ponds & fish. Great pool & sun-baking area. Extra large comfy bed. Convenient location for beach & restuarants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special, this a money-making hotel, they won't try to understand you and help you out on anything... and wifi cost $20 for one night ! Good if you just want to sleep, and you are rich ...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear our neighbours through the walls, curtains didn't block out the lights outside the window which were on all night. The place is overdue a revamping, but you get what you pay for.

    The staff are great and the pool is nice to chill by. The location is convenient to Scarborough beach just 5 mins. The food was good had a couple of pizzas one night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have requested a great view from the balcony during our booking and Sunmoon have made it happen, really enjoyed the views from the balcony overlooking the pool and bit of the ocean. Overall very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Booked a room with garden views. The garden view was a walkway with a few potted plants. It was crowded and overlooked other rooms. 2. We booked a queen room. After complaining, we were shown another room with two seperate beds. Housekeeping had gone home so they were unable to provide us with a queen bed like we had paid for. 3. When we went to view the “new” room, the keys for our old room opened our old room as well as the new room. We quickly learnt that the locks on the door were unsafe and any room key would open our room. 4. Two hours later we tried to return to our room and our key no longer worked. We were locked out and reception was unattended. We waited at reception for 15 minutes and ended up letting other trapped guests into the reception area. We had to get a new room swipe card. 5. There were only 2 pieces of working gym equipment in the gym - 1 out of the 3 pieces was out of order. No treadmill. 6. The pool tiling was crumbling and falling apart. The tiles were coming away from the edge and wobbled when you stood on them. 7. There were only a few sun loungers for the hotel guests. 8. The pond water is black. 9. The room cupboard smelt very strongly of damp. 10. The toilet roll holder was broken and the toilet roll was left lying on the floor. 11. The restaurant was closed on the day that we booked. There was no warning beforehand so we had to find a takeout to eat at for both dinner and breakfast. 12. There were bugs in the room. 13. There was only one drinking glass, so we ended up drinking water out of wine glasses.

    The hotel was a short walking distance from the beach. There was secure under cover parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator only went up to the 2nd floor and we had a room on the 3rd so had to carry our suitcases up the stairs. The bed was not very comfortable. There is limited car parking on site and on the road at the front. I was not prepared to pay $20 a night for parking so parked one night on the foreshore. A $20 charge per day for wi-fi is exhorbitant.

    We had a room at the rear well away from the main road and noise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a room near a service door, aircon made noise, paying for parking was ridiculous, bed was horrible

    The resteraunt was good decent price food was awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came and went from the complex 3 times past the reception desk. Wasnt greeted by reception on any occasion either entering or leaving. TV was not working, toilet door wouldnt close for privacy, went to the restaurant for dinner and was told they were booked out for the evening. Had to eat elsewhere

    Room was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I stood on a little shard of glass in the room and a white tip spider graced us with its presence. All issues were easily taken care off.

    The place reminded me of Bali.. it was nice and comfortable, close to shops, beach, restaurants and entertainment. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was tired. Plumbing fittings loose and needed repair. Street noise was excessive. Lighting was poor. Tiles around pool loose and shabby. Noisy stairs in unit and also from rooms next door. Parking was charged for or on street which was a main road. Room poorly laid out - crampt and unwelcoming. Bathroom was hopeless. Water from shower over floor. Water pressure low and only warm. This property is marketed as Boutique Resort - it is really a budget accommodation and should be priced as such.

    Close to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only concern was that our bed mattress was extremely uncomfortable and hard (possibly too old?) - as in both of us (adult & child) being really uncomfortable during night and waking with sore backs. We even doubled up extra blanket & put under sheets to try & improve comfort. Wouldn't have been okay for more than the short 2 night stay. Also as resort was fully booked and lots of extra cars, we had to park out on street - luckily that seemed to be safe.

    Reception staff very professional and competent, dealing very politely and fairly with an extremely rude and verbally aggressive guest who was complaining at check in time. They managed him well and then apologised to the rest of us who had observed the scene, and continued to check us all in smoothly. Grace and professionalism under pressure, when fully booked - as several of us said at the time - well done !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist who check us in was very nonchalant, she does need to work on her smile and greeting customers which is all Customer Service 101. The shower pressure was great, I didn't get the shower screens which enabled the water to travel throughout the bathroom.

    The room and bathroom were clean, it is close to the beach and attractions, the bed is extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was for one night only and discovered there was a locked door between units. During the middle of the night, male and female voices were very audible. The male was in and out of the unit a few times which made for broken sleep. Lucky I was there only 1 night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I was upgraded to a front facing room with ocean views. Front staff exceptionally helpful. The room was spotlessly clean. Very impressed. would stay again definitely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked super run down and no where as nice as pictures. Toilet didnt flush properly as it seemed broken.. Aircon was run also broken so made a horendous noise all night..lift didnt go to top floor and no where in add was this mentioned. When i went to check out i walked down one 2 flights of stairs with suitcases to lift only to find it was closed!! I then had to walk down a few more flights right infront of reception where a lady watched me struggle to open the gate to get luggage out and then all my stuff went everywhere and she continued to just watch rather that offer assistance because their lifts were out order! Also on side note it would be nice if they mentioned there was construction going on for past year which forced alot of shops to close down and limit access walking to beach. As from google this place looked amazing but in reality its a construction site with maybe 4 eatery 3 surf shops and a coles....

    Location was super close to the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't seem to get hot. And be careful in the pool area as all the pavers are loose around pool edge. This should be fixed as its a health safety issue.

    It was clean and tidy in the room. Location was good close to Coles and the beach although that's all under construction atm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    its a great location to sit back and relax or to get out for a bot of a look around. You get a good breeze there to which keeps everything cooled down without needing aircon on

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very shabby décor. Noise from the road a problem. Fridge didn't get cold. I had a spa room with the shower over the spa. It was quite difficult getting in and out to have a shower. Grab rails would be helpful. Balcony didn't have any views. They advertise dinner for 2 at $59, but you have to make the dinner reservation through reception. We weren't told this, and went to dinner expecting the special, but were not able to have it. We were given the standard guest discount of 10%, but it's really misleading advertising.

    Housekeeping did an excellent job. Very spacious room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mirrors probably too big for the wall size.. The decor is maybe too bold.. Too much furniture for room size. The rooms great, it just needs less

    Great room, very comfy bed!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was ready for us on arrival. The complex was clean and had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The pool was clean and very enjoyable surrounds. The meals in the restaurant were delicious, fresh and different. Check out was quick and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the attic turned in to a room. The ceiling had lots of dropped frames, meaning you had to keep ducking to avoid hitting your head on the ceiling roof.

    I liked the location of the property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way over priced for the room we got, window wouldn't shut (rusted open) and it was a windy night so the wind was howling through all night. Shower leaked all over the bathroom floor and no where near as nice as the photos make it put to be. Place needs a good update

    Was easy to find and close to shops and the main highway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge a $100 bond on arrival then take 3 weeks to return your money even though contacted. To have to chase them up to make sure it is returned is completely unacceptable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I still don't like having to pay for onsite parking, especially early in the week which tend to be quieter times. Maybe consider a 50% parking discount (or even free parking) to hotel guests that are return stayers. A little more care towards room and bathroom cleaning would be appreciated and also fixing or replacing the little things that are missing or broken.

    I've always loved the location and the great value for money. The property is neat and tidy and generally fairly clean, that's why I've stayed there 4 times now and I know I'll be staying there again (maybe try a different room type though).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Spa Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room allocated was next to restaurant so a lot of banging noise we assume from kitchen. Little annoying as it was bed time

    Nice surroundings and room clean. Close to restaurants and beach

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunmoon Boutique Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: