Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5 stars

158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers' Paradise, 4217 Gold Coast, Australia

#7 of 128 hotels in Gold Coast

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 507 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had the Junior Suite for 3 nights. View from the master bathroom and living room were awesome. Huge jacuzzi in the master bedroom. Room was clean. Toiletries were replenished promptly. Great for a family of 4. Enjoyed stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is right next to a highway and traffic noise is loud in the rooms that are on that side - which happens to be also seaside!

    The seawater pool is great. Rooms are spacious and breakfast is good (but expensive).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have put us in a newly refurbished room for the price, considering we were offered this on the way out! Hire of swimming googles a little expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    That you had to order anything for the mini bar from room service, although this did give you the option of putting your own purchases in the fridge, but some nuts and crisps would have been good.

    Extra comfy bed, great coffee, mojitos and food in downstairs bar, outstanding Japanese Restaurant which is must DO if your staying in the hotel or not. Very quiet upmarket property with a beautiful swimming pool surround with sand and gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived around 10.30pm and the only staff member around at the time was a receptionist. My husband got the details of where to park the car from the receptionist but he was stuck in the car park as he wasn’t given a key for the lift to access the hotel again.

    The pool and surrounding area was amazing. The room size was a good with great views. Nice location to walk around and go to a local cafe. The WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy fridge. Breakfast was just OK for the price.SPA pool was cold.Wifi was not working all the time.

    Good Service and Staffs. Steak was really great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were amazing and comfortable - everything was perfect for our stay. The staff were incredible and helped out in any way they could. Brock, Mackenzie and Mack specifically were wonderful. The meals at Citrique were incredible - for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff did not have a kind manner, although most did. Also, there are no signs regarding depth of lagoon.

    The outdoor pool area was nice, especially with fish swimming around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and payment for bottled water in the room. At least a few free bottles should be available like most hotels. Beautician services unavailable.

    Pool area and service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the knowledge that there were new rooms on the floors above us with kitchens, but we booked an old room, if i knew, i would have booked the better rooms, our room was old and needed updating and fixing

    room service was flexible, pool area was beautiful, restaurant was high class and food great, services in foyer from Donna regarding points was outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the pillows. There were 4 on the bed but they were all the same so no choice except for feather ones.

    Loved everything about this place. From check on which included a glass of bubbly and chocolates to the friendly helpful staff. The facilities were amazing including the reef pool. Nothing was too much trouble and staf went out of their way to be friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ocean view room that I paid extra for is not really an ocean view. We looked out to a building with the ocean in the background. It’s a stretch to call these rooms ocean views and charge extra. The location is isolated and surrounded by roads.

    Friendly staff. Nice feel in lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All facilities working. Water shute by pool not working entire stay. Problems with internet access and movie channel.

    Great views, good sized double room, cleanliness, buffet breakfast, attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there over the long Easter weekend so 15%surcharge on everything you eat or do in the hotel. Breakfast was so-so considering breakfast buffets in other Marriott hotels outside Australia were exceptional!

    Swimming pool, slide, lagoon and spas were amazing! Hardly left the hotel and just lounged around the pool all day. We also got a gorgeous ocean view from our balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool started off clear and clean in the morning but by the afternoon was a bit murky.

    All staff so helpful and friendly. They are very well trained. My grandson loved the tropical fish pool and especially the water slide.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge staff upon check-in really set the mood for our stay - she was happy, helpful and really went out of her way to make sure our birthday celebration was significant. The pool with sandbank, waterfalls, slide and fish pond is a huge asset. The bar and extensive cocktail list is delightful and the buffet breakfast at Critique was delicious. The beds were extremely comfortable and staff only extremely happy to help. Genuinely felt like I was at a tropical destination and not the GC. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s too far from the Hub of surfers, rooms tired, bed not so comfortable and no mini bar First time I have complained at a hotel but standard has dropped as I’ve stayed in the past several times and enjoyed it

    The rooms are old tired and decor outdated. There is no minibar so everything has to be ordered to the room even a can of coke at a sir-charge No longer value for money would not stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows weren’t very comfortable. Every single time anyone moved it felt like the whole bed shook.

    The pool and function rooms were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkin in was the longest checkin I’ve ever had , with them trying to up sell and make plans for me ie breakfast / lunch / dinner when I said we were happy to look after ourselves. When I did the booking on line I requested a king bed and it got two double beds ☹️ Then I also on the booking asked for a high level and got the 7 th for which was alright but would of liked a king bed with a better view. I was taking my husband for a surprise as he has always wanted to swim in the pool with the fish well the pool was definitely the highlight and ticked all the boxes 🐠

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the room service had extra charged just for someone to bring it up to the room (we never ordered anything because it was too expensive). For the price of the Buffett ($40 per person) we walked a few blocks to a cafe with a view of the ocean and paid $38 for 2 decent sized breakfasts with coffees and juices. The lagoon pool was nice but there were a number of people standing around drinking in the lagoon. Also, it doesn’t look much like the pictures. The day beds that surround the pool and lagoon need to be paid for to be used which I thought was a bit odd.

    I loved the bed and snorkeling the lagoon pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was miscommunication amongst the staff and we nearly had to pay for breakfast twice.

    The pool is beyond amazing with poolside cocktails and scenery. The bed was comfy and the restaurants were very convenient and lovely. The cleaners were also very helpful and responsive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2405 there was some kind of metal bar sticking out on the floor about 3inc.Idid nearly tripped.it quite dangerous.

    Ambience, river views, the marina, pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't smile. Called several times to order room service no one ever picks up. The reception staff extremely slow and not happy cannot smile. Tried to book hairdresser their said all booked out for tomorrow but I went there to check and no one was there not even staff.... possibly the hair dresser is outsourced....

    I used to come to this place all the time. I love the decor and the pool as well as the gym... Parking staff- one in particular was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not sit around the pool because there were no umbrellas and each day was too hot to sit in the sun. I love the sun but not that much. Also bar service at pool is very slow

    Food and service and rooms were great. Very comfortable and pleasant stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No apartments. Would be good to have 2 bedroom apartments for families.

    Pool area is fantastic. Swim in the salt water pools with fish, caves, lagoon. So tropical, you don't need to go anywhere else

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont like the Room dated especially bathroom

    We loved the lagoon that have man made beach, waterfall and water cave. The foods were delicious and like the buffet idea. Kids minding was also a great idea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made us feel like royalty from the moment we walked in the door! Everyone was so friendly and helpful, the food was amazing!!i love everything about this hotel and will most definitely be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was a disappointment. We have stayed at the Marriott several times and lived on the coast many years, it was always known as a special place to go....not now! No atmosphere, money driven, pushing tours and holidays in the many foyer desks, no sense of relaxation. I couldn't order a drink or food without first signing for it! The food standard in the seafood restaurant, room service and hotel bar has dropped dramatically. The many staff members provide poor customer service and some are flippant. When you know how it used to be, it's so sad!! Won't be back!

    The car parking is good as other hotels on the GC don't have parking. The pool bar staff helpful and couteous. The receptionist on check out was lovely and understanding, really listened to my concerns and disappointment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It all adds up. Room upgrade for Seaview $40, 2 x cafe coffees with breakfast was $10, then extra charge of $10 per hour for my 1yr old to use the children’s play area... which we were there the whole time. Room Wifi is also extra, unless you sign up to be a member. Which I did as I wasn’t paying for internet in my room. Really all hotels should be providing free in-room WiFi as standard. Total bill over $450 for a night. It was great but it does sting... what you pay upfront in never the end amount.

    Bubble upon arrival was great. Staff and facilities were second to none.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed that, after paying $250 for a room plus $25 GST plus $15 parking, and supporting the Marriott by spending a further $160 on lunch, a continental breakfast was NOT included in the price.

    The main restaurant buffet was excellent. The staff were outstanding. The beds were absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all Ok

    Staff are friendly , good facilities , reception ok and breakfast staff were friendly & service was good ,foods was also Ok . i will recommend this hotel to my my friend and extended family

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The checkin/checkout person (same woman) was cranky and impatient. Didn't even thank us for staying at the Marriott, just said "next" as if I was at the supermarket.

    The pool is the best in the world. Staff bent over backward to help you. Lovely glass of bubbles when you check in. Gorgeous bath robes. Great bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five star hotel, the rooms & bathrooms are a little dated - I was expecting more for the price we paid. This being said, every other facility at the resort is out of this world fantastic.

    Citrique restaurant, the beautiful pool & lagoon area, best massage I’ve ever had at the beauty spa

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't that comfy and shook everytime someone moved. The aircon was noisy and vibrated so we had to adjust back tonthe original setting. We could hear a lot of noise from the room next to us as we had one with an adjoining door.

    The pools are absolutely beautiful and why we chose to stay there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was not to like.

    Fabulous room and service. Was there for a function and very convenient to simply go upstairs when it finished in the late evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was very comfortable, room service great, pool service great staff very friendly I would highly recommend. I was traveling by myself and they made feel very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra credit card fees for every transaction. No where to sit or put your towel near the pool if all the sun lounges are taken. No tissues or water near steam room and sauna. Guests staying at the hotel have to pay for parking.

    Good size rooms. Friendly staff. Nice location. Clean facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude bar staff.

    I used to stay there a lot. The bar staff were terrible and rude. I now stay on the coast at least three days a fortnight. Better rates would see me return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tour desk was terrible!! One day there was a young muscled guy there who wanted to get rid of you ASAP so he can look at his mobile phone! Asking him for advice, he just gave you the local activities book and said "it's all in there"! He wouldn't book things for you as "the wait on phones is always too long", he said "just book yourself online, there is a computer over there". When I tried the system for booking crashed and I could not do it. The next day, a lady there was more helpful. She booked our Tropical Reef Snorkeling activity but she made an error and failed to confirm it! When we got to Sea World there was no record of our booking. Thank god there was a later session available. All in all, the worst tour desk I have ever come across. Was much better last year. Hope they fix it up, because it is otherwise a great hotel.

    Nice comfortable room with great ocean views. Good free WiFi, great buffet restaurant, brilliant large pool with fish in it and snorkeling equipment available. Efficient reception desk. Good parking available, lots of courteous staff around to ask questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Very comfortable beds, wonderful staff, prefect location, amazing pools and food. The Cabana was so relaxing. The best resort we have stay in. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is amazing. Beautiful hotel and facilities but most of all the staff were incredible! They couldn't have made us feel more welcomed if they tried and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and had everything we needed! Would stay here again in a heartbeat

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not think the marketing the Vacation Club inside the Hotel was appropiate. And closing the pool bar at 3.00-3.30 was far too early. Always find the pillows too soft in these hotels lol.

    Everything was fantastic. Yummy breakfasts and gorgeous property. Happy, delightful and ever helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to go home to cold wet Melbourne

    Being able to relax in the sun Having someone look after the cooking & cleaning Having a massage Spa in the cave Swim with the tropical fish

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    booking a day bed by the pool was a bit of a chore..

    dinner was amazing, nice/lethal cocktails, the room got a bit mixed up and we ended up with two smaller beds and hotel was maxed out but no big deal, staff member at concierge was super nice about it.. breakfast was average but was pretty hungover so maybe that had something to do with it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the fact that when we had the buffet dinner on our first evening, apparently if you MENTIONED that there could be a $20.00 discount off the cost, no one told us. I think it is pretty unfair if you stay in the hotel that not one of the staff gave us the heads up. I didn't think the bathroom was cleaned the whole 5 nights we stayed, there was toothpaste left on the benches.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable my only complaint would be there was no top sheet on the bed. It appears that these apartments only use a quilt cover which is then changed out after a guest visit.

    The bed was comfortable my only complaint would be there was no top sheet on the bed. It appears that these apartments only use a quilt cover which is then changed out after a guest visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely amazing, Customer service was above and beyond. Hotel room was immaculate and beds were super comfy. Buffet breakfast was 10/10. Loved snorkelling with the fish and the heated pool and waterslide. Honestly the best hotel stay myself and my partner have ever had. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service pizza was terrible (but staff response to my complaint was excellent). No phone or power charging facilities near bed. Towels were a bit old and thin. Minibar only on request (with delivery charge)

    Excellent bed and bedlinen. Great view from 26th floor balcony. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Charges for parking when paying good price for accommodation. Needed an extra comfy chair to watch TV not just 0ne.

    Rooms were really lovely and comfy -

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get into kids club as it was fully booked and didn't operate on Sunday despite it being a long weekend.

    Pool with fish is amazing. Misono restaurant was so good we went back again the second night. CV bar is excellent. We had an amazing stay with my family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great if the kids activity room wasn't just 4 years and up, as We have a 3 year old and 10 month old couldn't take advantage of some things at the resort but that's not there fault we had our kids with us haha! Overall would definetly stay there again...

    Had an amazing time everything was pretty perfect the lagoon and spas are amazing, the service is great! Anything we needed help with was attended to straight away! Luggage was taken up when we got there and down when we left. Bed is very comfy! View off balcony was perfect.Reception are nice and friendly! Can't fault them really...would be great if drinks were cheaper but I guess that's expected.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning and were not informed of this malfunction till we actually inquired with front desk. Also house keeping was sub standard with sand on the bathroom floor despite the whole room being serviced.

    staff were very friendly, hotel services were good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little disappointed with the buffet breakfast, though there was a great selection the food was a little cold and overcooked

    Fantastic views from our room absolutely loved the pool area you felt like you were in a resort and enjoyed snorkeling with the fish.Highlight was finishing our holiday off with high tea overlooking the pool area which was exceptional, definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View (High Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a cot to be in our room but it wasn't when we arrived and wasn't put in there until 7pm. It meant our little one didn't have a sleep during the day which made our anniversary dinner pretty difficult. We asked multiple times.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they have resorted to time share but still charge 5 star prices. The rooms can do with an overhaul and at least one complimentary water would be expected. No finesse or attention to detail.

    Definitely not a 5 star hotel. But definitely a 5 star pool and views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few baby moths on the roof

    The bed was incredibly comfy and the view from the balcony was sensational. The pool is amazing and staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The prices for food and drinks were a little high, particularity the pool menu and the buffet breakfast. Quality of food from the pool was also not as good as the restaurant, my salad was drowning in dressing which really defeats the purpose of ordering a healthy salad and there were minimal healthy options for both adults and kids - my 9 year old doesn't always like to eat chips with every single meal.

    The decor of the resort is beautiful, you instantly feel relaxed upon arrival. Reception staff were very personable and made us feel very welcome right from the moment we checked in, offering us a room for early check in and sending a gift to the room for our daughter who's birthday it was. The pool facilities were incredible, the man made lagoon was breathtaking and even featured real fish that can be seen with snorkelling equipment. The kids slide was also a highlight with our 9 year old. Main restaurant and bar was lovely, food was at a high standard. Resort staff were very friendly and attentive. Gym facilities were basic but did the job for a quick workout.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love stay at the Marriott. It is our third time. We do it every year. The pool is amazing. The staff are so helpful. We can't recommend it enough!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was one issue it would be the quality of the food pool side (too greasy and fatty) and that the pool side chairs were often covered in bird poo. Surely could have been cleaned up through the day?

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in the rooms were disappointing- that's all I can fault!! If they could be upgraded that would be wonderful.

    The resort, facilities and service were amazing- my family and I had a beautiful break! It felt like s tropical getaway- one of the best experiences that we have had as a family!! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the pool staff - the staff seemed a bit unprofessional towards us and not as informative as they could have been considering the price of the hotel. I also wish there were more umbrellas for shade over the sun beds in the pool area... only 10% of the beds are in shade and in summer that's a huge bummer!!!

    The pool was amazing. The pool staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit 'tired' looking and needed refurbished/redecorated. It was dirty in parts ie. the ceiling from the aircon was very dusty, the blind had mould on it, the wall behind TV was very dusty and 2 significant patches of furry mould on the wall below TV.

    Foyer is fabulous!! Great pools. Massage was to die for. Breakfast and evening canapés were beautiful. Beds and pillows so clean and comfortable. Staff were superb - friendly, helpful and rectified issues appropriately.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of any.

    My kid enjoyed the swimming pools. Nice location, ocean view was great, buffet breakfast was great, quiet and parking was not a problem at all.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room, bathroom was not so good at all. !! Bathrooms needs too much cleaning !

    Location not bad. Lobby and facilities was good. The swimming pool as well ..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible access to shaded chairs at the pool. Children will want to spend all day here and without a shaded situation you are really limited to an hour in Summer. This is not sun safe or guest friendly. There were shaded hut areas to hire for $90 per 1/2 day which seemed outrageous when our interest was generated by lack of umbrellas over chairs.

    The pool area of this hotel is beautiful - waterfalls, fish to view through snorkelling, whirlpool pool and a great slide though the landscaped mountain. The room was good. We thought the mountain/hinterland view was actually nicer than the ocean view as there were a lot of high rises between the hotel and the beach. Easy access to Cavill Avenue with the tram. Staff consistently helpful and friendly and the decor is beautiful without being ostentatious. We only stayed a couple of days for a break and this was perfect as there was plenty of entertainment and relaxation to have within the resort.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad value for money. Booked an ocean view suite at a very high price. There was barely ocean glimpses and an incredibly small balcony that you couldn't entertain on. Overall paying a lot of money for a mediocre experience.

    Bar that was open late.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all friendly, smiling and very accommodating. One staff member smiled and said hello to us by name as she walked past us in the foyer. The only interaction we'd had with her beforehand was when we'd made our dinner reservation for the night before. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was immaculate. We had the seafood buffet for dinner and the breakfast buffet for breakfast. The food was delicious. The gym had a good selection of equipment and weights. The pool is amazing! The parking setup is easy and it's a flat, easy walk into Surfers Paradise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't made probably one day, tap in bathroom sprayed water everywhere, small shower. Room size is small for price you pay.

    Saltwater lagoon was amazing, receiving wine and chocolates on check in was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not comfortable at all.

    Staff were great, so friendly and courteous. They were nice and very approachable. Magnificent pool, pool bar staff were lovely. Great facilities at the hotel. Misono Japanese restaurant is a must. Very nice and entertaining. Highly recommended. The other restaurant on ground floor serves nice food but other pricy. Room was clean and room service was operational all the times.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit too soft for my liking.

    Facilities, location, food and staff all excellent...loved the pool. My son loved everything also...lagoon pool was his favorite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Hinterland View (High Floor)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More spa's/jacuzzi's are needed. Bubble bath, toilet brush and toilet spray are needed. More space to chill out in open space without a crowd.

    Layout & design of room and lobby

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room at The Marriot as a surprise for my wife on our 25th Wedding anniversary and from the moment we arrived Clarise at Reception treated us like Royalty. They upgraded our room to one on the 26th floor with a view looking straight down the centre of Surfers Paradise and could see all the way from the ocean to the mountains, and at night it was nothing short of spectacular. The King Size bed was extremely comfortable and when the complimentary bottle of wine with a lovely card attached arrived at our room we were lost for words. Thankyou to all involved in making this a wonderful Anniversary that we will not forget.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View (High Floor)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were very bad. It started raining and they turned off all the pools. When the rain stopped and about 30 people - mainly kids who wanted to swim after being cooped up in their rooms were whinging that they didn't turn the pools back on. I asked at reception but nothing happened. Didn't like $15 a day for parking considering to go anywhere you need a car as the resort location is not near surfers paradise (20+ minutes walk) $15 in room movies - nothing else for kids in the evening. All meals for 2 adults and 2 kids added to $80-$220 so I suggest go next door to Paradise resort for $15 all you can eat - BTW if your kids see that resort they'll beg you to stay there instead. Takes a bit of driving to get to any other food places - so all great if you have a 5 star budget. I was surprise at all the things you get stung for like $20 to hire some goggles at the pool for 2 hours. There is more but you get the point.

    Staff were 5 stars Pool was good but they turned it off to save a few minutes of electricity.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was well below average. Our poolside meal was completely inedible and for $100 for a basic family of four meal, it is completely unacceptable to serve a burnt crumbly mess. When we complained (because the kids were starving) we were told a note would be made to management - the Ibis birds ate our meal as we complained. Our evening meal came 10 minutes after ordering, the cheese on the pizza hadn't even melted! My husband and I ate because we were starving but the kids couldn't stomach their pizza - another $100 and we were so hungry. We were told at our buffet breakfast ($40 per adult) that our eggs could only be done one way....and the meals again average. We went grocery shopping the next day and ate up a storm...We complained again at checkout with the same response "thank you for your feedback, we will leave a note for management!". Such a shame, we were hoping for a go-to local resort to take short breaks but the food was so bad we couldn't possibly go back 😞 We have been to the Japanese restaurant before and it is excellent, not going again while we were there was our mistake!!

    We LOVED both pools and spent most of our trip here. Snorkeling with fish was certainly the highlight!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at the Japanese restaurant was very disorganized, they totally forgot we were celebrating a birthday and forgot our cake 😠

    Omg.... I love it all. Especially the lagoon pool with the fish.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: