Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Queensland hotel reviews
  4. Gold Coast hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviews of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5 stars

158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers' Paradise, 4217 Gold Coast, Australia

#14 of 127 hotels in Gold Coast

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 551 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2019

    9.6
    Pool and man made beach were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner was too expensive.

    Pool and man made beach were amazing. Buffet breakfast was huge and fresh. Views from room balcony were spectacular, love this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2019

    7.5
    Enjoyed it but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of water pressure in the shower, the fact that the check-in receptionist tried to up-sell me to a presidential suite even though we were paying for two rooms.

    The pool was amazing and the service was excellent however the shower had zero water pressure and honestly this style of accommodation just didn’t suit a family with two little ones all in the same room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was included in our room price. We had to pay $20 for parking, $15 if we wanted to watch a movie in our room. Prices were very expensive. Paid $50 extra for an ocean view which was very average.

    The staff were friendly and professional. The lagoon area was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful resort, great facilities ideal to relax & unwind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The hotel/resort is perfectly located the presentation, cleanliness and facilities are top notch. The room size was comfortable the view we fantastic & the room we extremely clean. The staff throughout our stay were always friendly, accommodating with a smile on their face. Overall we will certainly be back to the Marriot in surfers Paradise!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2019

    10
    We would love to have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay at the Marriott same time every year our grandchildren just love all the activities and food you , look forward to doing it again next January.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2019

    5.4
    Under whelming. Lackluster compared to other SPG hotels we have stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very tired and in need of a revamp. We had water leaking all over the bathroom floor from under the sink. The "tropical pool with live fish" looks amazing but I regret snorkelling as wish I hadn't seen underneath the water... might as well as swim in a dam for the amount of algae and rubbish sitting on the bottom. Also really disappointing we stated we were staying for our honeymoon but were allocated a room with an adjoining door to a family with kids who we could hear screaming and fighting. This was fixed immediately to the hotel's credit but didn't set a good first impression. Staff also could barely acknowledge guests, disappointing for a 5 star hotel.

    Bed and pillows were so comfy

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2019

    6.3
    It was ok, was nice to relax, Had higher expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stretch Class was cancelled and we were not told, bed uncomfortable, somones kids screamed down the corridor at 5am, staff tried to charge us for Breakfast even though it was part of our package.

    Liked the Pool Area and the Buffet Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs more food options beside Misono, Citrique and the CW bar. I know the Marriot vacation club is a sales endeavour but takes up so much of the room which could be utilised for more food outlet options. After 3 days, over the food and wanting to get out to sample other food options. Secondly everyone walking in with wet bodies from the pool and the walkway from the pool to the elevators wet. As you stand there waiting and there was a lot of waiting for the couple of working elevators you were standing in wet puddles. So not only unappealing but incredibly dangerous and a lawsuit waiting to happen. Thirdly the lifts were not all working so huuuuge wait and line ups for the elevators. Not what I expect from such an establishment. Fourthly I asked reception if Citrique open on Sunday night and was informed no it was not. Yet it is opened on Sunday nights during school holidays. It was too late for us to eat there as had made other arrangements by the time we had realised. So us much as we had a lovely time and was relaxing, it's the little things that make the difference.

    Pool was great and relaxing to be around. Fantastic breakfast options at Citrique.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    7.0
    Very nice hotel and pool area is amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was kids nocking my door every night at midnight. I call the reception every day complaining but they couldn’t do anything about it, they said that they didn’t have cameras to check. And also not enough shade in the pool area, they rent the cabanas for half day witch is not that cheap. We was in 4 in the room but only 2 mini bottle of water was left after the clean. Rooms were ok not great, not like a 5 star hotel room but very clean.

    Very nice hotel and pool area is amazing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    10
    Can’t wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chairs around the pool were all reserved with towels so was hard to find a spot even first thing in the morning. People must put their towels there to get a spot then go about their business not leaving much for people actually using the pool.

    We loved our stay! The staff were always happy and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2019

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee Didn’t hired water sports equipment but It charged with my room no. when I check out. Staff fixed that right away but It shouldn’t happened! Need to check room no and name carefully or make passwords (when we went to banyantree, they use a password. It was great!) Thansk

    Location Service Breakfast Swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    8.8
    Had a great time overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar located by the pools closes at 6pm (too early). Not enough chairs for all guests (staff told us the hotel had 800 guests for only 200 chairs). The brown chairs are the most uncomfortable chairs! These are unfortunately the only ones available by the salty water pool.

    Snorkel, waterfalls, DJ, breakfast was pretty good, tennis court. Reception staff was very courteous and accommodated our needs.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    6.7
    We still enjoyed our stay, the position of the hotel was perfect for us. The room was comfortable an
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    catered more for everyone, not just the kids. paying public holiday loading on everything - bar, food, room service , water activities. We paid premium rates to stay at this time of year already. There should not be a need to add 15% loading as well.

    hotel rooms are looking tired and need some refit. hotel was overrun with kids. hotel seemed to cater more for the kids than overall guests. bars were advertised as open late, but when ever we went of an evening they were closed. No consistency with room service and food. staff were friendly and most of them helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    8.8
    Size of the rooms and bathrooms, swimming pool with laguna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food for breakfast and buffet dinners is not the same quality as the facility, I expected much more.

    Size of the rooms and bathrooms, swimming pool with laguna. Fantastic view (if ocen view rooms).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    7.5
    Very good, but expected a little more from the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid full freight on the rooms at $600 a night and were a little disappointed to learn that we got a 4th floor room with a very limited view. The kids were excited all week in thinking they were going to have a high room with a view!. The pool was in need of a full makeover and had deteriorated alot since the last few times we had stayed there...

    Plenty of things to keep the kids occupied all day. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2018

    9.6
    We pleasurable stay. Exactly what I expected from a 5 start resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hard beach beds.

    We enjoyed the overall vibe of the hotel. There was always something happening and guests enjoying themselves. The short stroll to surfers was also very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    9.2
    Amazing. Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is a 5 min walk from the beach but about a 15 min walk from shops and restaurants which isn't ideal if you have young children. There is a tram right out the front though if you don't want to walk or drive.

    Everything! The pools are AMAZING, we loved the food in the restaurants (and room service!) and having a drink from the bar by the pool, the rooms are clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    8.8
    Overall very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little disappointed with the restaurant choices for dinner. The Japanese restaurant was full of very loud singing dinners and since we were on a romantic break , we decided against it . The only other option was a seafood buffet at $80 a head and I'm not a big seafood eater . We actually had to leave the hotel to get dinner and wasn't counting on that .

    The bed was super comfy . The staff were friendly and accommodating on requests

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities like the pool are not well maintained anymore and furnitures/ fixtures are already old. Definitely needs refurbishing / renovation!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    8.3
    Still one of our all time favourite hotels to stay at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet breakfast wasn't as good as usual. We usually love it! Lots of things dried out or had been sitting there a while and we were there at prime time (9:30 am) so really shouldn't be. Bacon and sausages dried out. Bircher muesli too. We also felt the buffet restaurant felt quite dirty and also need some renovation. With being such a gorgeous hotel, the restaurant is really lagging in appearance. Chairs all chipped. table tops and Floors very scratched and old. Just very dated which drew attention to the lack of cleanliness.

    Everything. Quiet rooms. Beautiful view. Service. Pool cabanas. Top floor and complimentary bottle of wine for my husband's bday visit.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    9.2
    Awesome
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything from the moment we got out of the car the valet parking the concierge the receptionists the presentation the beautiful staircase the view's the privacy the swimming pools bar music recreation free glass of champaign & chocolates.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff. There was a mixup with booking.com and the Marriott reservations team, which isn't the fault of the Mariott I suppose - the ladies at the front desk sorted everything out for us, wonderful service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    7.1
    We came to lay by the pool to relax . Which we did but your pool chairs were so uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge chairs by the pool were so uncomfortable that we opted to lay on the sand. And our whole purpose was to relax by the pool. It was disappointing

    We love dinner in Japanese restaurant

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    A memorable holiday in a fine hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    Great location near all the Gold Coast attractions, and easy access to Surfers Paradise Excellent standard hotel with marvellous, always helpful, staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    Great family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner buffet wasn't great value if you're not mad for seafood, but room service was really great.

    We loved the outdoor pool facilities and snorkelling with the lagoon fish - water temperature was great and nice for young kids. We also needed a kids club and the resort club was great (for a reasonable fee), secure, professional staff and a mix of activities. Breakfast buffet was good and we loved room service for dinner after a busy day - timely, tasty, hot and very good for room service! We had parking added in and was super easy to check in - reception offered refreshments while checking in which was a lovely welcome after a long drive. All the staff were lovely and turn down service at night was really lovely - refresh towels, water and of course kids loved the chocolates!! A really fun base to enjoy the Gold Coast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly surprised. Would definately come back if opportunity arrose and a good deal was presented
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the bar staff was quite rude. (Early Sat night shift) A shame because I could not fault any other staff member. I found the place to be a wonderful experience. My 3 boys loved it.

    The bed was comfy. The staff were very friendly and polite

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice spot, but a little overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel it is very overpriced for what it is and the rooms are starting to date. unfortunately for us the weather was not great and the main reason we like to stay here is because of the pool. Being a short trip we didn’t get much time to enjoy it!

    The view from our room was lovely and the food was great, especially the seafood buffet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Loved our stay at The Marriott!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the main shopping/restaurant strip was a little far for kids to walk.

    Loved our stay at The Marriott! Pool was amazing, as was the restaurant....buffet breakfast & dinner was one of the best we’ve had. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much to ask. Facilities were clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    It was a great location with a beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained and my room had a smell of wet carpet and the air con was not warm enough to heat my room entirely so I was still cold and had to ask for extra blankets

    It was a great location with a beautiful view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    T
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think Bathrooms need renovating--Spa bath well worn & marked

    Bed & Pillows excellent--Needed a flat pillow & extra Doona as like weight & delivered in under 10 mins of request

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    very good service and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the elevator is very noisy, it produces sounds to the nearby rooms, and this happens no matter which floor you are.

    very good service and very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was on point by far

    Loved the pool and pool side bar as well as the tepenyaki restaurant all round amazing stay at the Marriott we will be back for sure highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Lovely, relaxing with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air conditioning unit kept us up half the week - extremely noisy even after technician fixed. Dripping tap in the bathroom Powerpoint not working in the room Beds - a lot of movement Shower pressure was weak Paying for parking when you're a guest at hotel was a little rude.

    Lovely view Pillows Coffee at bar Great staff - very accommodating and understanding with issues with air conditioning unit. Offering fans for room, even though there didn't end up having any.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel for families lots of activities and pools to enjoy ur stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are comfortable Big tv for movies is great Beautiful views of the ocean and pool area upgraded with bottle of wine movie package pool viewes great for families sand beach pool feed the fish water slides big hit for kids friendly staff breakfast buffet is Amazing 👌😎

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service staff were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent customer service staff were awesome. Food was superb and can’t beat the service. We have already booked our next stay there. Good place for kids activities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good food and excellent weather..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall service at the resort was excellent except for the very poor service by a couple of the girls on more than one occasion in the verse and chapter bar ... otherwise it was great..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Great spot, great service, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.. everything was great.

    The staff are super helpful and very nice. The room was very comfortable (especially the bed). The pool was amazing. Room service was accurate and generous. Breakfast a la carte is totally worth it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely be back to stay, even just for a night, the next time we’re on the golf coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was exceptional, chocolates on check in and a glass of bubbly. The outdoor pools were kept warm enough to swim in even on a 19 degree day. Swimming with the fish was amazing, the pool area is the best!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had more publicity of the times and food offferd by various restaurants. For example barbecue food was available on one bar but not widely known

    Excellent facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Room was beautiful and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet dinner and breakfast was nothing like it used to be and i can understand why they do scoopon vouchers for it now. Very disappointed. Room service however was very good and could not fault it.

    Room was beautiful and view. 2 lamps were broken but didnt matter. Everything else was excellent. Comfortable, and worth the money. Service was great. Staff at dinner and breakfast were very helpful amd friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel and location but disappointing pricing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Disconnect between booking.com advertised price and the final price.

    Overall the room and hotel were to expectations. The fitness room was better than most. The main restaurant was extremely busy and service a bit on the slow, inattentive side. I was not happy that the booking.com quote grew during the booking process from $1295 to $1810 as the final bill!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Brief stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room was not working properly, but it could have been just faulty on this occasion, not a big issue.

    The service was impeccable, friendly, helpful. Been here before 20 years ago, enjoyed just as much then as now. The pool is great, relaxing, and enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Not my idea of 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in the bar fridge, single ply toilet paper and tissues. I booked a 'King Room with Hinterland view', which apparently was 'only indicative of what I might get' ???? So I got a room with two american doubles (so Queen), but for only and extra $100 I could upgrade to a junior suite.

    Seafood buffet was excellent, nice big rooms, comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady that checked me in at midnight thurs/fri 28/29 june was the most friendliest kindest person, check in was a breeze and she took care of all my requirements. Breakfast was good loved the options. Rooms were big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Awesome hotel with lots of family friendly facilities and close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The buffet breakfast could have had more international choices when it's value at $40 per person.

    The hotel lobby is very stylish and gave us the relax feeling when we arrived. The outdoor pools and hot springs are phenomenal. We can swim with the fish. The fitness center including the sauna & steam room is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren’t very comfortable 😬 no extra blankets in the room as the aircon was quite cool..if you turned it up it became too stuffy..

    Great staff very friendly very helpful Outstanding Service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pls adjust the room temperature according to your guests ,for us 19 o was too hot @ night,I know it’s our fault to not to report & gat fixed

    Everything & every employee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Should be a pillow menu similar to some of the other big...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should be a pillow menu similar to some of the other big hotel chains. The pillows were not comfortable, much too soft. Perhaps we should have asked reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Junior Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had the Junior Suite for 3 nights. View from the master bathroom and living room were awesome. Huge jacuzzi in the master bedroom. Room was clean. Toiletries were replenished promptly. Great for a family of 4. Enjoyed stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Used to be good (maybe) but is mediocre now.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is right next to a highway and traffic noise is loud in the rooms that are on that side - which happens to be also seaside!

    The seawater pool is great. Rooms are spacious and breakfast is good (but expensive).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing, staff fantastic, facilties good although pool heater broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have put us in a newly refurbished room for the price, considering we were offered this on the way out! Hire of swimming googles a little expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Totally enjoyable stay, look forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    That you had to order anything for the mini bar from room service, although this did give you the option of putting your own purchases in the fridge, but some nuts and crisps would have been good.

    Extra comfy bed, great coffee, mojitos and food in downstairs bar, outstanding Japanese Restaurant which is must DO if your staying in the hotel or not. Very quiet upmarket property with a beautiful swimming pool surround with sand and gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, amazing pool, it wasn’t the greatest welcome but it did improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived around 10.30pm and the only staff member around at the time was a receptionist. My husband got the details of where to park the car from the receptionist but he was stuck in the car park as he wasn’t given a key for the lift to access the hotel again.

    The pool and surrounding area was amazing. The room size was a good with great views. Nice location to walk around and go to a local cafe. The WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy fridge. Breakfast was just OK for the price.SPA pool was cold.Wifi was not working all the time.

    Good Service and Staffs. Steak was really great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Absolute bliss - celebrated my birthday there and everything was amazing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were amazing and comfortable - everything was perfect for our stay. The staff were incredible and helped out in any way they could. Brock, Mackenzie and Mack specifically were wonderful. The meals at Citrique were incredible - for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant stay with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff did not have a kind manner, although most did. Also, there are no signs regarding depth of lagoon.

    The outdoor pool area was nice, especially with fish swimming around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Great family holiday with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and payment for bottled water in the room. At least a few free bottles should be available like most hotels. Beautician services unavailable.

    Pool area and service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the knowledge that there were new rooms on the floors above us with kitchens, but we booked an old room, if i knew, i would have booked the better rooms, our room was old and needed updating and fixing

    room service was flexible, pool area was beautiful, restaurant was high class and food great, services in foyer from Donna regarding points was outstanding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Loved our stay at the Marriott. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the pillows. There were 4 on the bed but they were all the same so no choice except for feather ones.

    Loved everything about this place. From check on which included a glass of bubbly and chocolates to the friendly helpful staff. The facilities were amazing including the reef pool. Nothing was too much trouble and staf went out of their way to be friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Not well suited to people how want to enjoy the Gold Coast outside the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ocean view room that I paid extra for is not really an ocean view. We looked out to a building with the ocean in the background. It’s a stretch to call these rooms ocean views and charge extra. The location is isolated and surrounded by roads.

    Friendly staff. Nice feel in lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Great for short 3 night stay (Commonwealth Games). Attentive staff, luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All facilities working. Water shute by pool not working entire stay. Problems with internet access and movie channel.

    Great views, good sized double room, cleanliness, buffet breakfast, attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Easter Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there over the long Easter weekend so 15%surcharge on everything you eat or do in the hotel. Breakfast was so-so considering breakfast buffets in other Marriott hotels outside Australia were exceptional!

    Swimming pool, slide, lagoon and spas were amazing! Hardly left the hotel and just lounged around the pool all day. We also got a gorgeous ocean view from our balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Our stay here was wonderful. Had a very special weekend here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool started off clear and clean in the morning but by the afternoon was a bit murky.

    All staff so helpful and friendly. They are very well trained. My grandson loved the tropical fish pool and especially the water slide.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    For a real getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge staff upon check-in really set the mood for our stay - she was happy, helpful and really went out of her way to make sure our birthday celebration was significant. The pool with sandbank, waterfalls, slide and fish pond is a huge asset. The bar and extensive cocktail list is delightful and the buffet breakfast at Critique was delicious. The beds were extremely comfortable and staff only extremely happy to help. Genuinely felt like I was at a tropical destination and not the GC. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed night away and room was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s too far from the Hub of surfers, rooms tired, bed not so comfortable and no mini bar First time I have complained at a hotel but standard has dropped as I’ve stayed in the past several times and enjoyed it

    The rooms are old tired and decor outdated. There is no minibar so everything has to be ordered to the room even a can of coke at a sir-charge No longer value for money would not stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    The pool and function rooms were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows weren’t very comfortable. Every single time anyone moved it felt like the whole bed shook.

    The pool and function rooms were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.0
    Average rooms ! Old decor! Over priced ! But great facilities and the pool was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkin in was the longest checkin I’ve ever had , with them trying to up sell and make plans for me ie breakfast / lunch / dinner when I said we were happy to look after ourselves. When I did the booking on line I requested a king bed and it got two double beds ☹️ Then I also on the booking asked for a high level and got the 7 th for which was alright but would of liked a king bed with a better view. I was taking my husband for a surprise as he has always wanted to swim in the pool with the fish well the pool was definitely the highlight and ticked all the boxes 🐠

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    i enjoyed the experience but for me it was a one time stay, I won’t be in a rush to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the room service had extra charged just for someone to bring it up to the room (we never ordered anything because it was too expensive). For the price of the Buffett ($40 per person) we walked a few blocks to a cafe with a view of the ocean and paid $38 for 2 decent sized breakfasts with coffees and juices. The lagoon pool was nice but there were a number of people standing around drinking in the lagoon. Also, it doesn’t look much like the pictures. The day beds that surround the pool and lagoon need to be paid for to be used which I thought was a bit odd.

    I loved the bed and snorkeling the lagoon pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    The Marriott is the perfect place to holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was miscommunication amongst the staff and we nearly had to pay for breakfast twice.

    The pool is beyond amazing with poolside cocktails and scenery. The bed was comfy and the restaurants were very convenient and lovely. The cleaners were also very helpful and responsive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Ambience, river views, the marina, pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2405 there was some kind of metal bar sticking out on the floor about 3inc.Idid nearly tripped.it quite dangerous.

    Ambience, river views, the marina, pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't smile. Called several times to order room service no one ever picks up. The reception staff extremely slow and not happy cannot smile. Tried to book hairdresser their said all booked out for tomorrow but I went there to check and no one was there not even staff.... possibly the hair dresser is outsourced....

    I used to come to this place all the time. I love the decor and the pool as well as the gym... Parking staff- one in particular was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful resort with a great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not sit around the pool because there were no umbrellas and each day was too hot to sit in the sun. I love the sun but not that much. Also bar service at pool is very slow

    Food and service and rooms were great. Very comfortable and pleasant stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice relaxing stay, beautiful hotel. Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No apartments. Would be good to have 2 bedroom apartments for families.

    Pool area is fantastic. Swim in the salt water pools with fish, caves, lagoon. So tropical, you don't need to go anywhere else

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Above Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Hinterland View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont like the Room dated especially bathroom

    We loved the lagoon that have man made beach, waterfall and water cave. The foods were delicious and like the buffet idea. Kids minding was also a great idea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff made us feel like royalty from the moment we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made us feel like royalty from the moment we walked in the door! Everyone was so friendly and helpful, the food was amazing!!i love everything about this hotel and will most definitely be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: