Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour 4.5 stars

100 Murray Street, Sydney CBD, 2009 Sydney, Australia

#122 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4442 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing...never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very poorly maintained. Bathroom mould in shower. And not just a little bit. No switch for bathroom fan. Paint peeling off wall and furniture very badly scratched. For $430 for the night NOT including breakfast my companions and I expected a whole lot more

    Had a drink at the bar...happy hour so half price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Just average.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and lobby were definitely a five-star standard, but room was just average. Especially furniture, bath and basin are quite old. Sound isolation is very poor as well. It was not what I expected for this price and this brand name.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Loved staying there. Will definately go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Every thing was good

    staff were excellent. Food Excellent. comfortable place to stay. Buffet Breakfast every morning excellent. Dinner in The Ternary very good. Will definitely go back and stay there again, Location Great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, once you can work out how to find your way around!
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor old bath tub was a bit sad, however the shower over the bath was more than satisfactory. Although the restaurant was extremely well patronised, as it was very dear we chose to have breakfast and tea elsewhere. A map of walking access would be helpful, as getting from the Novotel to the harbour is like trying to find your way through a rabbit warren.

    The room was spacious and quiet. Beds were very comfortable and clean. The staff were polite and helpful. Great location if you are using public transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience with helpful staff ready to assist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room and ideal location for what we planned. Central to so many attractions and easy access. Breakfast menu more than filled my fussy eaters and then some.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    It’s in Darling Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in - house movies or Foxtel available in this international standard hotel.

    It’s in Darling Harbour. Close to all you desire. We were given a complimentary bottle of very nice wine on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Not happy with the room at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is so old, it needs a desperate makeover. Only the bathroom was renovated. I would rate this place 3.5*. I was very disappointed.

    Walking distance to restaurants and shops

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean and tidy, rooms had been revamped which was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym needs an update. Breakfast was ok but nothing to rave about.

    Clean and tidy, rooms had been revamped which was nice. Easy to get around Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Close to the Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking. It should be included in the room rate somewhat. Am waiting for receipt still of payment for room and parking.

    Close to the Harbour. Staff were friendly, clean and well spoken. Room presented well. An option to have harbour views option when booking would be good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Fab location, newly refurbished room not clean.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet food cold both days. Newly refurbished room fabulous but dirty - urine droplets around toilet bowl so clearly had not been mopped.

    Location great. Bed's comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Awesome location with great facilities.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some room items (bathtub and curtains) were a bit worn but all functional and comfortable.

    Location, facilities and staff were the strongest positives. The Novotel is so close to the Convention centre, shops and Cockle bay wharf, including bars, cafes and resteraunts. Staff were accommodating, friendly and helpful. The novotel has cafe, bar, resteraunt, and muliple areas to chill and chat or read. Other facilities great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great staff, great location, kid friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction going on by my room so during the day it was annoying with loud hammering etc. I understand rooms need updating and maintaining but wish they informed me as I would have asked to be moved.

    Great staff, great location, kid friendly. The staff were amazing, will stay again if in the area!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    good location but parts of hotel shabby, rooms cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    floor to first room shabby, ripped carpets, wall coverings, stained fabrics and worn carpets in room. Aircon would not heat cold room, engineering reset, but still not working. Moved to another floor, condition of room and corridor better but aircon still barely working. Badly needs refurbishment

    good location, staff helpful, on site parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and well presented. Staff happy to help with a smile. Buffet breakfast was included, great choices of food and beverages. Would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    A fabulous upgrade experience with views of Darling Harbour
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The upgrade to a harbour view was exceptional. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the views were superb. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. A great place to stay before an early start the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable even considering the alarm clock
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at Novotel twice in recent years. This the second time the alarm which had been set by a previous guest went off at an unreasonable time. There was certainly no obvious way for me to stop this happening and even when disconnected from the power still went off again the next morning. I think these things should be checked after each guest, certainly everything else is perfect and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    It’s my usual and preferred stay in Darling Harbour
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean spacious room, quick check in and check out... perfect proximity to my seminar venue but also for wonderful dining options around Darling Harbour. Great views from the lounge bar :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great APART from the construction noise :(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    construction noise!!! surely there are floors that don't have rooms directly under drills and hammering!? woken up multiple times and couldn't rets through day due to this as well. :(

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Was freezing and the heating in the room didn’t work so was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating considering its winter

    Was freezing and the heating in the room didn’t work so was extremely cold in the room very uncomfortable sleep . I mentioned it to concierge but he didn’t seem to care

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.5
    Dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lukewarm showers, banging at 7.30am coming from upstairs apparently laying carpet. The water bottles both had been opened and drunk out of and not changed over.

    The Hotel was very nice and most of the staff was very good, The location was great and the cleanliness was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Loved it and I always come to the Novotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit of a mix up but all worked out extremely well.

    Bought my grandson to Sydney for his 10th Birthday. We had a wonderful time. I have bought each grand chid when they turn 10years of age, this time I also bought along my daught. I would like to give a special thankyou to Andrew Austen for his very special kindness to Cohen and us all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a lot of TLC to bring back to reasonable. For example back of door had at least 10 holes where attempts made to reattach towel rack. Was very disappointed for a Novotel.

    Check in staff were lovely and foyer clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great view of the Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking on top of paying for the hotel. Being a guest at the hotel, we should get complimentary parking.

    Great view of the Harbour. Close to everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay and not too expensive for its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a great selection of complimentary tea and coffee in the hotel room. Hard to get to and find when you come off the rail (behind the hotel)

    Quiet , clean rooms. Comfy bed. Generous check out time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing and the staff were very friendly

    There was only loop warm water in the shower it would not get hot however the beds were very comfie and a great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    ok, good location, the paint smell in my room was off putting. noise was also annoying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is atrocious very very expensive would look for accommodation that offers a better altenernative $76.00 per night definitely put a sour taste in my mouth it meant I didn't dine at motel.

    location location location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    The only pleasure I got was the Manager Laura whom Done a few nice things for us and was not happy
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome As soon as we walked in to book in the person at the guest desk was rude non responsive to me saying hello and asking how she was and was just plain rude I almost cancelled there and then on the spot

    Make sure you ask for two different size pillows as the only size pillows that are in the room are too large Both myself and my wife ended up with sore necks and our bed had two different levels slopping up towards our head from half way mark of the bed, strange But it is in a great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location; great staff; great facilities; rates were very high, but that's typical for Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of car parking - probably related to Vivid, but no parking available in the Novotel, nor in either Secure car parks on either side. Was eventually instructed to park in a spot that is normally "no parking"

    The staff made the difference (& always should !!!) .. really friendly & so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant n okay to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised on No toothbrush, No room slippers, No drinking water and No non-slip mat on the bathtub (it is slippery during shower) provided. Furniture are old. It’s Very super inconvenient to have WiFi password change Every 24 hrs at the reception counter.

    Good location, Good view, convenient....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may not be the responsibility of the hotel, but the open rubbish wheely bin near the lifts of the car park was off putting and offensively smelly. Maybe it was the responsibility of the car park management but it dampened our stay a little. Otherwise, everything was good especially the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Food outstanding, beds very comfortable and staff fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet on the accommodation floors defiantly needed updating. Very worn and thin. A lick of paint wound not go astray either

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the staff were friendly courteous and helpful. The highlight for us was dinner at the restaurant. Absolutely outstanding. The food was exceptional. Salt and pepper calamari for an entree was tender and delicious, the pulled pepper beef in puff pastry was divine and the Balmain bugs were to die for. Overall the food was truly delicious. We would not hesitate to visit again and travel from the Blue Mountains just for the food!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellet service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed overnight to celebrate my husband's 40th Birthday and we're absolutely amazed how fantastic their services were. From the quick responses to email requests, friendly staffs at the reception and concierge, not to mention the great view of Darling harbour and full of good surprises/treats. This kind of service made my husband's Bday extra special and memorable. We are truly grateful and definitely coming back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, but look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was filthy with mould, the carpet was worn and stained, the chair was dirty with stains, mould on carpet behind the door and the air conditioner vent was filthy with mould. It was obvious that the cleaning processes that are in place are negligible and are only done to a cheap budget, and not appropriate for an inner city hotel. We sent an email via the Accor web site and this has not been responded to.

    The location was good, view good and linen and bed comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed immensely , however we were on a time limit, and wasted almost 1 hr trying to get our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to go to reception 3 times . First to check in - room had not finished being cleaned 2nd - to get my room cards. They didn't work. Could not get into our room 3rd back to reception to get new cards. And the phone in the room did t work

    Rooms were large. Close to Darling harbour. Breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking, room was dirty from previous guests and renovations must be going on as hall were covered in drop sheets and we were woken up early with continuous banging so no sleep in as we wished.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location, friendly staff and great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a refresh, room 623 - bathroom tap broken, holes in bath and moldy grout. Beds need replacement.

    Great location, friendly staff and great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great City getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location for our visit to Lyric Theatre and Vivid. Love the refurbishment to reception area and bars. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and there was no pen and paper . But the big downer for me was the toiletries were Not CRUELTY FREE .

    The location and the view from our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Concierge staff were fantastic Esar & Justin go above...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For $600 a night room was old, no note paper or pen, no complimentary water, far too expensive for room poor value when compared to Hyatt, staff wouldn’t let us use the Accor membership due to being booked in colleague name even though business trip and impossible to book two names at time of online booking. Would not stay here again even though location is great.

    Concierge staff were fantastic Esar & Justin go above and beyond

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Apart from breakfast was really good and would recommend hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor would advised going to Harbourside shopping centre for breakfast. Breakfast was cold

    Everything was great staff, room , bed very comfortable and parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly & helpful staff at checking in “Amanda” was...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & helpful staff at checking in “Amanda” was terrific business center was easy access and front desk staff assisted with scanning a document. Housekeeping were friendly, room was spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Al staff were very helful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the hotel cold in temperature. In the conference room and my room A/C was broken. Also my invoice wasn't sent through on email as I had asked

    Al staff were very helful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed room and instead got 1 double bed which we had to share between 4 people. They also charge to bring ice to your room I don’t think anywhere else does that well not in my experience anyway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Family Mini Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows weren't fabulous but I didn't complain given they had already upgraded us and the property had everything else going in its' favour. I'm sure if I'd rung and asked for different pillows it wouldn't have been a problem to get them changed.

    We travelled to Sydney from Wollongong to celebrate our little one's 6th birthday at Luna Park on Friday night and Paw Patrol at the ICC on Saturday. Novotel Darling Harbour upgraded our booking to a harbour view room so she could see all the city lights. The breakfast is by far the best hotel breakfast I have ever had in 20 years of national and international travel. Thanks Novotel Darling Harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    The beds were the worst we have ever slept in, felt like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were the worst we have ever slept in, felt like that the sides had collapsed,both beds in room, spent most of the night trying to stay in the bed, not fall off

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    We loved it and would definitely stay again but not drive there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water took a while to warm up in the shower and for the amount of money that you pay for a room I feel the parking should be included if not, then at a reduced rate as $59 is way too much.

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Location fantastic!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See my photographs - scratched furniture, broken chair, corner of blind torn, scratches on wall, tile repair at toilet roll holder a bit bodgie, poer point switch in bathroom broken and permanently on, shelf under vanity broken, wardrobe door off tracks, tap in sink wabbly, wall tiles need a good clean along with shelf and finger prints (dirty) on wall above key card slot.

    Room service meals were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay, felt very welcome and loved all the extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our air conditioning wasn't very powerful or didn't work very well.

    Great view and super comfy room size and beds. The lovely lady who served us our coffees even remembered our order from the day before which was amazing. Our friends room was also upgraded so they were on the same floor as us and we also received welcome cocktail tokens from the Manager which was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Darling Harbour location and fairly comfortable bed were the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was adjacent to a building site being conducted renovating the rest of the floor. The carpet was tired and stained. The shower was about 20yrs old and flooded the bathroom when it was used. The water didn't drain away by itself. Carparking added insult to injury at an additional cost of $59 for 1 night! A joy we won't be repeating anytime soon....

    Darling Harbour location and fairly comfortable bed were the only positives.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Good when moved to another room. Breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a refurbished room that smelled of paint. Balcony door wouldn’t close properly or lock. After pointing out problems we were given another room.

    Staff were extremely good when problems with room were pointed out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Below average for the money and rooms need updating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tiles and grout very dirty. Shower barely warm. Overall bathroom needs updating. Carpet in hallways are horrid and need replacing. Parking overpriced $59 per day! Park house next door is only $38 per day. Wifi should be complimentary. That is a minimum expectation in hotels nowadays.

    Comfortable mattress

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location but not at the Novotel high standard I expect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated in some areas in particular the walkways to the rooms. Our room had a musty old smell. Unfortunately there was a function on the night we stayed and the loud music kept us from having a good nights sleep.

    Great location and staff were very polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Location fine but not providing tooth brush or pest , Cotton ball/ bud ,
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ground Floor Staff misbehaved with me during check out on 29th April 8:20am and he is shouting and also threatening me but as a coustomer it’s really unexpected.if you want to know details and will take action against him then email to me .i will give you proper explanation

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath in bathroom is showing a little wear.

    Good security - I had to leave my case there for several hours after checkout. I recieved a ticket etc and the room was supervised. . No fuss booking in and out. Pleasent staff when having breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was expensive ($59 per day) but all parking around there is expensive when you factor in overnight rates.

    We had a lovely stay at the hotel, the parking was easy to find, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room had a fantastic view looking over Darling Harbour towards the CBD. The room was clean, modern and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.0
    Great location, lovely staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too thick, and there is no Novatel signage anywhere in Harbourfront complex on the harbour, so it was difficult to find on foot when coming from the train station. Once we found our way the first time....it was easy.

    The wine, and the cheese board at The Ternary (restaurant) was fantastic (the only food we had there).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Great Staff & Location but underwhelmed with being uncomfortable nightly, & no hot shower !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, the bathroom was just worn out & water pressure was a trickle , if considered taking a bath to soak my legs after a day of standing at a trade show , would be impossible!!

    Great Breakfast & the Coffee was surprisingly good & had a choice of Nut Milks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    An excellent & well run hotel. Would definitely return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My wife has poor eyesight. She requested a portable lamp at reception. They attempted to locate one but nothing was available.

    The entire stay was excellent. Overall, the staff, food and general service could not be faulted. Our room was beautifully located over-looking Darling Harbour. Transport withut a car is easy from the hotel with Light Rail and ferries close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were brilliant, very friendly,helpful,the hotel has a good feel, comfortable, welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not great - hash browns greasy, no mushrooms, scrambled eggs rubbery, probably need good muesli also, pastries were dry - I have had better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    I was initially given a room with a shower.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was initially given a room with a shower. The shower stall did not have a door; only a curtain. The water ran from the shower stall to the bathroom floor. This room is not acceptable. I asked for a change of room and was given a room with a proper bathtub and shower which was what I expected. The shower stall should be renovated to have a door or a lip put between the shower area and the rest of the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    It is definitely not 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely not 4.5 stars. Our 1st room smelt like Mould, and there was Mould in the shower. We then complained and moved rooms to a cleaner room. Still very disappointing definitely needs to be renovated for the prices they are charging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Tired
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bell desk didn’t offer to take my luggage when I arrived in the car - got pointed lazily to the $60 a day car park! Mould in bathroom and the room is feeling very tired and not pleasant smelling ! I’d expect more for the price you pay ! Competition is now outdoing this somewhat tired place now !

    The location is great and the views are terrific !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Loved our stay, friendly staff at every turn, lovely bar/ restaurant area, small pool but still ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was when leaving a cab had been sitting outside waiting for their passengers, who apparently never turned up. The concierge put us in this cab which already had nearly $10 on clock , due to booking fee( which we didn’t book) and idling cost. Not very impressed with that, otherwise nothing I didn’t like

    Loved the breakfast, the view, the outside area in the bar,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Average.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked three times to have our bags brought up to our room. We checked in at 1:00 pm and didn't get out bags until 4:50 (and I went to go back down stairs to just get them myself). We were waiting to get changed and had equipment that we needed before 5. There was no welcome pack, fridge was not restocked and no menu for the room service. Requested one and still didn't have it brought up to the room.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Was a good experience we spent only two nights but felt we had our moneys worth!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the tiles in the bathroom especially the shower where a little gross not overally but maybe need a good scrub to get the grim out.

    We had a good few of the harbour and the lightening in the room was really natural and soft. Room was clenaed while we were away and came back to fresh towels and bed which made a hard day really relaxing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.8
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For $400 for one night, we received a back view. The room was dirty, bathroom had not been cleaned and wine stains on the floor. For the amount being charged the hotel needed a serious revamp. I was extremely disappointed.

    The beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Dark and quiet room, excellent location, good coffee at the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    pillows weren't comfortable, could be a few more hangers in the wardrobe, aging carpets etc, few stains on the floor in the room and the shower grout was dirty

    Dark and quiet room, excellent location, good coffee at the downstairs cafe, friendly staff who very very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sooooo noisy! Kids screaming in corridors constantly & running up & down. For solo travelers I’d suggest not putting them between families if possible.

    Excellent location. Great room/bed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location - expensive for the room we got though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds and Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a musty smell for the first day/night until the air con got rid of it. Very run down so value for money did not reflect this.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Comfy Bed, Beautiful View & Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioner wasn't very effective, made room very warm even with fan on high speed at 18 degrees.

    Comfy Bed, Beautiful View & Great Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.0
    Comfortable and very quiet room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility getting a little dated

    The breakfast was beautiful the freshly made omelette was the best. I was very impressed to see some staff who have special needs, the young lady I saw was doing an amazing job. The main gentleman at the desk was outstanding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    It was overall a very pleasant stay, would come back again and recommend it to family/friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it could do with valet parking.

    Amazing staff at the front desk, received a complimentary room upgrade upon arrival, the hotel had a warm and friendly vibe to it. The views from the room were stunning and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    great venue after a great concert at the ICC thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    have to leave and come home sad

    the beef burger and chips, the beds were like clouds and the staff where helpful and friendly location too beautiful the whole stay was fabulous thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay. Will book again when I next visit Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    All of it. Bed really comfortable, Room lovely and spacious with great view. Very clean. All staff really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    It was ok. Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a musty smell (like a smokers room), the bed was a soft memory foam and awful to sleep on, and we couldn’t get an alcoholic drink at 11pm on a Friday night. And to top it off, the cost of parking your car was very steep

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: