Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tangalooma Island Resort 3.5 stars

Tangalooma, 4025 Tangalooma, Australia

#1 of 2 hotels in Tangalooma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 524 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing is to expect to pay high prices for restaurants could be a bit more of a selection available.

    Lovely clean property very spacious apartments and great information and activities on offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room they booked us in at first (kookaburra) was nice and modern yet was overlooking the 4WD-bus park with direct smell of fumes and sound of Diesel engines... Unbelievable that in a resort like that on a beautiful island with those prices they got a whole block with rooms they have customers staying in who like to come to the island to relax and unwind and enjoy supposingly fresh air. People who stayed in that block told us next morning that they had trouble sleeping as doors where loudly slamming all night long .Not recommendable- I organised this stay for my sons 18th birthday on the day and unless I would have paid extra the resort would not offer any small flower or tiny token saying Happy Birthday. I thought that was a bit sad as when I went on a cruise that was cheaper than this resort they really went to town with lovely deco , flowers and even staff being aware congratulating. Brought my own things and it was good in the end- Ferry ride is exorbitantly expensive- !!! Too much !!!!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. I complained about the room we were placed in at first. After about an hour discussion and organisation one of the friendly gentlemen at the front desk got us a slightly less modern yet quiet room close to the reception block(A20). Food at the Grill was pricy yet very good- other foods average. Lots of activities on offer . Loved the taboggening!! Had a accident on the Segway and reception-same gentleman- gave us access to the VIP lounge for the day before we left. It was very appreciated. (Lounge itself is very basic - not worth it if you have to pay extra for it) It helped me on the day due to the accident though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar fridge was missing a leg so was wobbly, the shower nozzle was leaking and spraying water. 2 items need repair. Room K48.

    The hotel room had a great view and was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets had seen better days and room looked tired.

    Bed comfy, clean room ( apart from grubby looking carpet!) Was given a seaview and hadn’t requested so was a lovely surprise,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a low budget there isn’t much to do on the island besides relaxing. The food is quiet expensive too and not diverse. Most of the cafe staff where we got snacks were not smiling and not talkative, felt quiet cold.

    Beautiful island, amazing place to relax on the beach with friends. Quiet during the off season. Clean room, comfortable. Big enough for four adults for an overnight stay. I did love the wild dolphins and kookaburra feed which were the free activities we got offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but the coffee was HORRIBLE and the buffet breakfast was disgusting. Eggs were under cooked, the whole family had gastric issues as a result. The boat was in dire need of refurbishment, the tables and chairs surrounding the resort were rotting and need to be upgraded - considering how many people come over every single day, there has to be funds available to refurbish the required items and the boats.

    The staff were lovely - except for the maitre de of the Japanese restaurant - extremely rude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey. Asked for view room but didn't get it. Asked for late checkout but they wouldn't offer even half an hour.

    Location, relaxed vibe. Great for families.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was not great for the most part. It is really expensive and some of it was really bad. Also, many food outlets were not open in the late afternoon just when you wanted a snack or late lunch.

    Our villa was great. It was clean and had everything we needed. The activities at the resort are fantastic, although sadly the wind prevented us from doing some activities we would have liked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We walked a lot during the stay to go to the shops and restaurants but I enjoyed the view while walking.

    Amazing view, very comfortable bed and wonderful customer service. And a pizza from the restaurant was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the food does have to travel from the main land I think it could be a bit more affordable

    All the staff were friendly and happy atmosphere perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only criticism is that the food choices could be better. A lot of people travel from Brisbane and so bring their own food etc to bbq but having travelled from England it was enough to manage our luggage!

    The island is lovely and unspoilt and the beach villas compliment their position, you walk out of your villa and you are immediately on the beach, you can even watch wild dolphins that come every evening to be fed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price and quality of the food on offer though was average at best. If you are going to charge a premium; then supply premium. Dont charge high prices for average food. Some prices were a little rediculous for things like massages; $40 for 15 minutes is rediculous. And if you lowered the price you would get more interest in the services

    The accomodation, location and staff were all very good and was happy with them. Staff were happy and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options were limited and below standard in quality and quantity. I would recommend that you bring your own food and cook meals on the BBQ’s within the resort. Would have done more water sports, but all were quite costly.

    The activities were fabulous and the tour guides were great. I Would recommend the sand safari tour, snorkeling around the wrecks and the dolphin feeding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is sooo expensive at the resort. Bring your own food! Kitchen had SIX sets of tongs but only 1 frying pan. (?!!?)

    The location is amazing - right on its own private beach. Free daily movies for the kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main food hall was a bit clinical with boring decor and furnishings. In general the food facilities were a bit dire and let the resort down. There is no shade on the beach either. Provision of sunshades would have been beneficial. But the worst thing was THE CRUISE SHIP!!!! It arrived on our last day and we are so glad it was our last day and we only had to endure it until 2pm. It turned the resort from an idyllic piece of paradise into an overcrowded, horrible, noisy and tacky place.

    The location is superb. The beach is lovely with calm, warm water. The dolphin feeding was well organised and educational and so was the kookaburra talk and feeding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is run down and in a desperate need of upgrades. The $760 for 2 nights for a room that was at best a $120.00 on the mainland.

    Location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SO over priced in every area. Food, shop etc. Maid service quite poor, no vacuuming of carpets which is not good at a beach property with sand!! Restaurant choices poor, fast food or crazily overpriced tiny portioned front restaurant or chinese food. All expensive. $5 for a bottle of water or a breaka?!

    Beautiful place been going 20 years. Good to see renovations of reception and bar area. Dolphins amazing but highly mechanical /crowded feeding sessions (quite rightly for dolphin benefits) not all natural and relaxed as portrayed so some people may be disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and activities were a little overpriced. Some of the accommodation could be updated. The ferry and car park were extra payments after you had paid for the room.

    Feeding the wild dolphins was a magical experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is extremely confusing as a first timer to know how and what to book. I booked on booking.com so was unable to cancel then I booked the micat which doesn't take you straight to the resort, and couldn't cancel that.

    The dolphin feeding is definitely a highlight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved our stay, from our bags being taken care of at the Port, the service was amazing, beautiful spot. We will definitely be back and will be bringing the family next time. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food outlets were awful - couldn't get a light salad meal, it all seemed to be fried food or sweet stuff. The staff in these cafes/restaurants were pretty average too. Disappointing...

    The staff at reception were great, also in all the activities eg Tanga Tours and the Eco Rangers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet was closed most nights and no vegan options let alone vegetarian options. Gift shop was a flop and anything you spent over the Easter weekend had a 15% surcharge on it. The whole 4 days (Friday to Easter Monday) are public holidays apparently, and the bar staff kept harassing my fiancé, asking if had eaten or not and they were grumpy. Such a rip off

    The view was amazing and the dolphin feeding was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dolphin feeding was much more regimented than advertisements show. The half day Northern Safari tour was conducted in too small a vehicle for passenger comfort (7 including the driver) so two seniors needed to sit in child sized seats at the back of the vehicle - at $90 per person it was overpriced.

    The staff were friendly. There was a variety of eateries to choose from. The room fridges were a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My luggage was delivered to the room with the handle broken off. The room had ants and the room phone did not work. We could not go on sunset cruise as not enough people had booked - they needed 6 and we were a party of 4. They didn't even take our names in case anyone else booked - it was 11am when we enquired. We were rushed out of Stones restaurant

    Location is fab. feeding the dolphins was amazing and we had a great time on quad bikes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the fact our luggage was taken care of from the ferry to resort and then was waiting for us when we got back. Perfect place to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the worlds largest range of food options, plus worth taking cash as eftpos were up and down with them not working sometimes. Activities are a little limited, would be cool if the features (blue lagoon and light house) were a little easier accessible (we just wanted to avoid the tours - little boring for us).

    Over all an amazing experience, went with my partner for the dolphin feeding experience. Great fun snorkeling the wrecks. Fire & Stone would be my personal recommendation for food, very quick and friendly service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance we had to carry our luggage from the carpark to our room. Restaraunts were very expensive

    Room was nice facilities were great, restaraunts were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel rooms require refresh/renovation as mine was pretty worn out with many stains on the carpet but considering that I spent most time outdoors it was not a big issue for me. Food pretty pricey for what you get but that was not a surprise either. The ferry fee is not cheap ($80 pp return) but pretty comfortable.

    Very nice location and beautiful beach. Some good excursions/activities available. Good landscaping and outdoor facilities e.g. pools

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly due for a makeover, the furniture is old and broken. The sofa was the most uncomfortable thing ever. For $320 a night you kind of expect a tiny bit more. However the location makes up for it. Some staff were fantastic but sadly some staff were very rude and it seemed an effort to get booked into the water sports activities.

    Great location, plenty of things to do and see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seafood platter at Stones restaurant

    We loved the location ,staff were so helpful and friendly ,bed was comfy the room was very nice and clean we ate at the restaurants and the food at Cooper’s was delicious and well priced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some breakfast bowls in the room would have been nice. Chinese restaurant within the resort was way over prices (over $20 for a chicken fried rice). Be sure to take some of your own good to save money.

    The location and view from the room was lovely. Activities around the resort were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat transfer is an absolute joke, far too expensive. A similar ferry to stradbroke island as a foot passenger is less than a quarter of the price. The wharf area where you catch the ferry is also horrible and smells bad.

    There was so many value for money food options and island is absolutely stunning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants are not very good at all. The selection is very poor and pricing not good. Pretty disappointing for an island to be unable to supply fresh seafood which is what you also kind of expect when your on an island.

    Tangalooma is beautiful. The rooms were good value for money. The house keeping team was excellent. The staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was horrible. Everything either ran out, was cold or remained empty. I approached 2 staff members who told me it was due to a function. There was NO cut fruit...just whole fruit spread out in place, and a stage were majority of the hot food was unavailable for an extended period. I ended up speaking to Adam who honestly couldn't have been more disinterested and far from apologetic. Disappointing from a manager.

    Location was incredible, some extremely lovely staff (Chelsea at reception, Kate at cafe) cleanliness over the island was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough dining options , some bar staff were rude . Rooms could have a little more decor to make them feel more comfortable ( nice pictures on wall etc ) they felt like a hospital room , not enough warmth

    The view was the best from our room , did like the option of concierge or bottle of wine . Location on resort was good , close to entertainment and services

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price breakfast should have been included

    It was a little expensive. Rooms were tired and carpet stains unsightly. Ants also an invasion in the bathroom and bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are over priced and so it the food!! Bring your own. On cruise ship days the prices of all activities goes up!!

    Its well kept and beautiful. Theres so much to do and see. Or you can choose just to relax.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was bad, not enough breakfast food to buy coffee shop due to running out of stock, staff standing around when the could be cleaning the table so custmers can sit at a clean table. Beds in room need replacing, old and hard. Couldnt book in early so waitingcout in the hot sun.

    Beach and wrecks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband believes he got food poisoning from a salad so he was sick all day Saturday.

    Room was comfortable. Island was beautiful and we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Would have liked to stayed longer!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grill restaurant is not open all day.

    The activities we participated esp quad bike. Our accomo close to tha restaurants and pools. The accomo gets serviced everyday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Kookaburra lodge and the doors to the rooms slam shut. Every morning from 6.30 am and continue throughout the day, all you hear is doors slamming. Other guests from India & Asia were very noisy, would not keep their voices down even when asked to. Maybe an induction for intetnational guests to be respectful of others is needed. Doors need to have soft closers installed. Not a peaceful stay at all. Staff were very friendly, the facilities are great and have continued to improve over the past 30 years. It is expensive for food and drinks which I was aware of but many other guests weren't.

    Location is beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dolphin feel poorly organiserade.. to Many people.. no mention until you have booked at an extra 80 dollar per person needs to be paid for the boat over... car parking also 20 dollars a Day... excursion expensive to...

    Lots of beach space.. Nice room..close to everything.. beautifull resort.. very child safe water

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very spread out and quite a long walk from our room to where al the action was.

    Clean, comfortable, staff were friendly. The dolphin feeding was an opportunity of a life time that lit up my children’s faces!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Cleanliness of the rooms and the maintenance in the Villa needs urgent attention. Foam mattresses need to be thrown out and replaced with innerspring ones and a really good clean. Replace lounge that is clean and comfortable. Felt the state of the villa didn't match the price paid. Could be amazing Villa with a make over and A/C

    Fantastic place to relax and unwind. Plenty to do especially if you love water activities. loved all activities we did, especially the quad bikes. All staff were very friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants were expensive and closed early. If I had known in advance, I would’ve planned better. Staff didn’t seem to know what was going on with the advertised blues night, which didn’t seem to happen. Tour guides were fantastic.

    Loved the dolphin feeding in with the room price. View was gorgeous, and luggage portering was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Villas are quite old and need to be updated, plus the bedrooms are very small, particularly when 2 kids are sharing.

    Location on the Bay. The services on offer such as dolphin feeding, quad biking, kayaking, snorkelling, scuba, boat trips etc are great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only little thing that I personally didn't like were the prices for the food but that is because of personal circumstances. Other alternatives were available which we took advantage of.

    the proximity to the beach, the cleanliness of the resort, the activities for children, the relaxing atmosphere despite the resort being full.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa very dated no aircon Expensive for what you get

    Loved the whole of the island resort but did not have aircon in accomodation which was just awful The villa we stayed in was very basic and not that clean 😉 the place could do with a make over and get rid of the dated furniture, expensive n not value for money apart from the villa the whole holiday was fab

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed that the restaurants all closed so early. Had eyebrow waxing done which was the worst I've ever had (like I had as much hair when I went in as when I came out)!!!

    Tangalooma itself is beautiful, accomodation was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location & clear ocean, snorkelling, plenty of activities. Loved the dolphin & pelican feeding. Well organised & everything in close proximity. Look forward to returning for another stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are looking very tired and coffee not available before 7am. Maybe a coffee cart at the beach would be nice?

    The position of our room. The list of things to do. The dolphin feeding, snorkeling and quad bikes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more deck chairs around the pool and on the grass Non motorized sport such as canoes and SUP boards should be free for resort guests The trampoline should be free The table tennis area is really run down and a new basketball ring should be purchased Staff in coffee shop not friendly at all and a very long wait. More sandwich presses as a huge wait for toasties etc for breakfast

    Comfortable beds including the trundles. Liked that soap and shaving cream etc supplied Loved the quad bikes, pelican & dolphin feeding and the snorkeling around the wrecks Christmas lunch lovely and space around the tables was good to allow privacy Loved the bar area Massage was excellent The Saturday night beach party was fabulous and Christmas Eve celebrations great for kids

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accom. we paid for was just way overpriced. The eating areas were very ordinary. I think the place relys on Brunch smorgasbord and that,s it. Twice, Pig and lamb were on a spit but the salad was shocking....

    The rooms were not too good for the price we paid via Booking.com, Friends stayed at Blue Water and one cannot compare. So glad we didn't book as long as our Interstate family and friends,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No changing rooms and showers for day use It’s a bit tired

    Fabulous location, excellent staff, incredible effort for Christmas made by all. Excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no place for breakfast and such limited food. Staff try to rush you even when they’re not busy. And rooms need a serious upgrade for the price we are paying. Felt more like a motel than a resort room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi should be unlimited free. Hardly any free. Very limited food and no proper comfy restaurant apart from Chinese. Hot stone was closed. Very noisy public areas. Very expensive water sports.

    The views from room. The ocean and beautiful beach. The large fridge for use. Tv Reception good. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is quite expensive and restaurants close early at around 9pm....Variety of food are limited also.

    Room is clean and big and has sea view. However, it is a bit far from the jetty where the restaurants are and where all the events are held, eg dolphin feeding, birds feeding, etc... Good experience with dolphin feeding, we also enjoyed our time on birds / pelicans feeding. The staff is very knowledgeable and is able to explain and provide alot of information

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was quite expensive and the was not a lot of choice. Some of the food was quite nice but most of it was quite average. I wouldn't have minded paying that much for the food if it was %10 better. We thought the cafe was quit woeful and we were told that it had actually improved, still a work in progress then.

    The resort at Tangalooma was beautiful, very clean and tidy. The staff seemed quite happy and were very helpful and accommodating. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of extra activities however they are overpriced. Very few things to do under $50 which is a shame.

    The location is exceptional, the staff were wonderful. The dolphin feeding a great experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, there is more to dislike about Tangalooma. Because the majority of staff are non-Australia or backpackers, they really don't pride themselves on customer service. It really is appalling. Food is very expensive for what you receive and often under seasoned. It's a great experience to go once just to see it all but I wouldn't recommend any more. Staying there for a week could alternatively get you to Vanuatu for example where everyone is delighted to see you because of the price comparison.

    The location on Moreton Island cannot be denied. It is a magnificent back drop for anything from lying on the beach to a wedding. There is a huge range of activities to choose from (although they're all very expensive) however there are some good hikes to look at as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accommodation is quite dated and needs a refurbishment. Choice of food in the evening was very limited with no high end options though a decent pizza could be ordered. The resort is in need of modernisation.

    The location is stunning and the feeding of the dolphins was an absolutely amazing experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food is absolutely terrible. Options are extremely limited, we would have starved to death had we stayed any longer. Such a shame as the island is divine and has sooo much potential. After checking in our door key didn't work and only 1 of our luggage bags had arrived which are delivered and simply left outside your door, this is definitely a security issue.... Also had house keeping bother us two times and a third staff member walk straight into our room 20mins after we confirmed we were not checking out that day!!! With a bit of work this place could be amazing but until the dining options are addressed I would never ever return.

    Location is beautiful. Gorgeous beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything very expensive including activities, food, grocery store, drinks, everything. Take away Cheese platter from Beach Cafe very ordinary. Cheese dry. No knife supplied to cut the cheese. No serviettes. Deli platter slightly better.

    Stunning views. Staff at Coffee Lounge very helpful and friendly. We loved the Night Kayaks. Great fun and the tour guides were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting luggage to the villas was a bit of an effort.

    Fabulous location. Beautiful view of beach. Long walk to restaurants etc from beach front villas. Food was average in restaurant .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The island is very weather-dependent. We had torrential rain for the first day and there was very little to do, plus the whole apartment smelled very unpleasant when damp. We had one of the small units which was basic but comfortable enough. It would have been good with small kids but not really ok with teens as four beds in one room and one bathroom (though I should have picked that one up when booking). Restaurant food was good but there wasn’t a lot of choice of places to eat.

    Amazing, beautiful island with gorgeous beaches. Choice of activities such as snorkelling and quad biking. Best of all dolphin feeding, which was magical. Staff were very helpful and nice, and the restaurant food was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food facilities were average. Vegetarian options limited and overall expensive for what was available. The island was gorgeous though.

    The nature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary, and we had a very spacious room that overlooked all the activities on the water. A highlight for us was feeding the dolphins. Everything was just wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many Food choices irvplaces to eat & price to expensive.No kids club except on school holidays so couldn't do activities that my kids were to young for,like snorkeling ect.

    Island & beaches .Dolphin feeding & whale watching

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my room card didn’t work

    Next time I go back I’ll be staying for longer to be able to fit in more activities and some relaxation as well .i liked the dolphin feeding and snorkeling the wrecks and sand tobogganing.loved the room and the view from it .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food at the Bistro was atrocious and disgusting given the price. We got a seafood basket and most of it was burnt to a crisp. Lot of it went in the bin. We used the fast checkout system and asked for an account to be emailed to us. It never came.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No open Cafe to by breakfast or the one that was open didn't have that greater breakfast food. Unless you order the Buffet

    The resort was very relaxing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude woman at the tours desk - didn't fit in with the place at all!!!!! Need more food options.

    The view of sunset from our balcony, the friendly and helpful staff, the location. 4wd safari to the northern part of the island, whale watching

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do I begin? The room was dirty, the bathroom and desk. We were told wrong information about boat transfers. We were told it was included, it wasn't. The Copper Grill restaurant was very overpriced and the steak was full of fat and inedible, I was reimbursed for this however. I left very hungry. Breakfast options were way too minimal and we waited half an hour for a toasted sandwich and 20 minutes for a coffee. The place is understaffed but what staff they do have a lovely and very accommodating.

    The staff were absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was really bad ,the buffet breaky is $38 each and everything was soggy and cold hash brown wasn't even cooked through one juice (pineapple) was for takings, and in the beach cafe, it is undersized and over priced quality is also very poor, you will pay $10 for a box of chips that are undercooked, $23 for seafood basket that consists of 2 prawns, 2 scallops, 2 calamari& 2 small pieces of whiting. There is very limited variety .. so I suggest take your own food , in saying this Fire restaurant was lovely good size lovely food and I paid $23 sweet and sour pork , which is reasonable for a resort.

    The views are amazing and the water is translucent, everything is so untouched it's really gorgeous, we watched the dolphin feeding which was quite a story in itself. Atvs were great fun

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dated and badly need painting and refurbishment. Also extras too costly for families- Should not have to pay so much extra for photos. of activities etc. Breakfasts also too expensive.

    Sand dunes-location of beach-dolphins

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: