Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Queensland hotel reviews
  4. Tangalooma hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Tangalooma Island Resort

Reviews of Tangalooma Island Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Tangalooma, 4025 Tangalooma, Australia

#2 of 4 hotels in Tangalooma

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 586 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.3
    The beaches, the views the 4wding are some of the best in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort is a bit dated now and a server lack of variety and quality of food.

    The beaches, the views the 4wding are some of the best in the world and why I keep coming back

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Perfection! Keen to return again and AGAIN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints, we couldn't be happier! Keep up the great work!

    Absolute paradise! We'd not heard of this resort (or island!) until days before our stay - found via booking.com! Our room was clean, comfortable and had a fantastic view (we appreciated the complimentary wine and chocolates too)! Although we only stayed for one night, we made the most of our 2 days in the resort and on the island - we snorkeled, rode quad bikes through the dunes and along the beach and were thrilled with having the opportunity to feed wild dolphins included in our booking! There is so much to see, do and enjoy at this beautiful location and we'd certainly love to return as soon as possible! Highly recommended to all pur family and friends (they're envious of our stay after seeing the photos from our trip)! Friendly, professional staff who were very helpful and knowledgeable of both the resort and island features. Very many thanks to all involved in making our stay one to look back on for years to come! See you again, Tangalooma Resort! Kindest regards, Mr and Mrs Sadouni

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    5.0
    Location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t explain that dolphin feed could be affected by weather. Weather forecasts where also known in advance. A lot of money to spend to not even feed dolphins. Not happy at all.

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel staff manage to loss our luggage taking it from the boat to the hotel room which was 200 metres away. They could not find our luggage so we had no spare clothes for our stay. When we needed to checkout, management used every loophole possible to not compensate us for the luggage even though it was very clearly there fault. It was an absolute nightmare. Our luggage was finally found a week later because the staff put it in the wrong hotel room and then they made us pay to get our bag delivered back to us in Melbourne.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.9
    location, room and accommodation, staff kept grounds very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could develop their customer service skills more, a little bit of assistance and a smile can go a long way. need more food and dining options /more variety for guests. need more pools/spas.

    location, room and accommodation, staff kept grounds very presentable, dolphins and wildlife.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.3
    A nice break with old friends to celebrate or wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bit of confusion with our booking. We booked two rooms for four people, but our room was made up for four.

    The transfer from the mainland was very efficient but they could improve the flow of people and cars at check in and unloading of baggage. This is restricted by the site and there doesn't appear to be much scope to improve the layout.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable beds, handy kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was behind the pool, was very noisy. the place needs some upgrade, very old looking . Very expensive $300 for 1 night it’s ridiculous.

    Comfortable beds, handy kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.6
    One of the best beaches in the world, a fabulous island stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The island is pristine. Loved the clear blue water and soft sandy beaches. We swam everyday. The accommodation was spacious , clean and had views of the beach and water... Just lovely and peaceful. Great island to investigate with many activities for all.... Food wise - there is need for improvement - however the Fire and Stone restaurant was awesome. The best adventure was feeding the dolphins in the evenings - how amazing...the rangers were organised, respectful and friendly. All the staff had a smile on there face and were happy to help.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, facilities outdated though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most of the staff were friendly, when I requested GF options the chef was unhelpful twice as if I was a bother to him. The room needs a renovation.

    The location is amazing! The snorkeling tour was super fun and worth the money!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.5
    We love tangalooma and come every year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    House keeping were very disappointing. Only had towels changed nothing else checked . Dispenser empty for some products . Manager at coffee shop quite rude at times , no warmt in her conduct . Fire and stone is great however the tables outside need urgent attention as the mould growing on the wooden tables is not pleasant and concerning for a surface for food

    Great staff at fire and stone

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Extremely enjoyable the Dolphins made our long journey from the UK worthwhile keep up the conservati
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt that the accommodation as it was delux was rather shabby we had just stayed in similar delux accommodation on Hamilton island and it was far superior than the villa we had at Tangalooma

    Friendly and relaxed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend this place to disconnecting 100% from your day by day and enjoy every second
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sheets beds were not properly clean can find spots marks disgusting 10 points less over 10 the rest clean service good

    Absolutely everything hotels, staff, locals and visitors people, beach, weather,experiences and tours, the place is 100 % amazing to go with friends alone and family's 10 over 10

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    Divine on the eyes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the pastries were crispy, proper coffee beans at buffet breakfast. An impressive real honey stand dripping into plate - showing my children were honey comes from. I love a good beach getaway. I’ve been to Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Hamilton Island, Fraser, Cairns, Townsville and Hawaii to name a few and could not believe how gorgeous Tangalooma is! It’s the best! Right in my own backyard. We’ve found our happy place and will continue to return annually.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    5.0
    The stay was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firstly most of your staff should be welcoming interactive and smiling with guests. I found our room 96K very musty, whereby the musty smell was there for the whole duration of our stay. There appeared there was nil extractor fan in the bathroom for the steam outlet and toilet usage; leaving the room wet and moist after the shower. I believe that the price we paid for the room was over "exagerated" after all this was a Delux Room and I expected a bit more fineness than what you give to the receiver. In actual fact the room was dirty; between the large set of drawers and the suitcase stand dust was thick that you could not see the carpet; a hazard for an asthmatic which I had to use my puffer more than usual. The mould stains in the shower recess, I believe the tiles should be stripped back removing built up grime and mould thereby ensuring a clean environment is maintained for your guests. Inside the compendium there were no mention of times as to when the food amenities were open and available for people, your compendium was long reading without quick references not a friendly tool.

    The friendly cleaning staff, reception staff who greeted everyone with a smile and made you feel welcome at the very start of your holiday. Bed was comfortable. Dolphin feeding was the highlight of our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    It is a great place for an outdoor holiday with great staff and lots to do in a great setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little bit small but on the other hand we only slept there

    The island is a got-to-go paradise, the room adequately equipped and the excursions wonderful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    It was a good break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food selection is very limited and pricey

    We dine in the Fire and Stone restaurant which was very disappointed. The cooking was not good and very pricey. we also eat at the bistro which is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    8.8
    Things to do never in room great holiday spot awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was terrible and the price of most items over priced and convenient store didn’t have enough food and when wanted water $10 a bottle spent well over 1000 dollars for food had to cut back on some tours next time bring lots of my own food otherwise trip would have been awesome

    Things to do never in room great holiday spot awesome

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful island - resort expensive and needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I should have looked at the additional boat transfer fees closer before booking - we had to pay an additional AU$250 for 2 adults and 2 small children upon arrival at the island. Also, there was a cruise ship visiting on one of the days we were there so island/facilities were very crowded. I would recommend checking the dates they are scheduled as they do have an impact (negative) on your stay. Cafe and shop very limited (and expensive). If you are planning to self-cater take what you can with you but take into account that the kitchen in the resort unit only consists of a microwave and a toaster.

    Beautiful beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    6.3
    Very pretty spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found information wasn’t very clear at times. We weren’t told about departure procedures so waited in line for 20mins then had to leave our spot to go get tickets! Hence not good seats on way back. Most of the staff were pleasant and helpful!! There was one very rude obstinate older gentleman!!!

    Very pretty spot!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic short family break. The accomodation was reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tours, activities and equipment hire are extremely expensive. Shockingly so. It cost us $320 for the family (5) to do a quad bike tour of the island. $30p/h to hire a stand up paddle board.

    The location is amazing. The island is beautiful and there are lots of activities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.9
    The resort and staff were very friendly and the rooms clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The activities are quite expensive.

    The resort and staff were very friendly and the rooms clean and well appointed The location is fantastic. My overall experience was really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    My partner & I are returning guests & will be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My partner & I are returning guests & will be back again for sure. We love this place & it ticks all our boxes Thanks Tangalooma. See you again soon

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous location with very good, clean accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t fault anything

    Fabulous location with very good, clean accommodation offering a wonderful variety of activities. Staff were very friendly and helpful as well as being extremely efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    It was relaxing, fun and we enjoyed the experience. And we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have a strong dislike of dreadlocks, luckily few of the staff had this hairstyle - so I avoided contact with their area.

    The staff were always friendly. I usually have difficulty sleeping with a pillow other than my own but had no difficulty with those provided - so a big thank you. There was no noise from other rooms even on the balcony, which was great. The water pressure in the shower was strong and this surprised us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.3
    Paradise in our own back yard!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although our room was nice and clean and had beautiful views, it is a little dated for the price. The food is very limited and not really worth the prices... chips were only luke warm each time kids got them. I think like most places everywhere now (Bali, Thailand also) very much catered for the Asian market. Most staff were amazing..... just a couple that could have been a little friendlier.

    Being here with teenagers there was heaps to do.... the dolphin feed was great but was a cold windy choppy night-the staff helping everyone get to the dolphins and especially the photographers are amazing! Sand tobogganing was a huge hit, kids loved it, pelican feed, shipwrecks, fish feeding, beautiful sea turtles, but the biggest hit was the quad bikes!!!!! They had a ball, even though one of them ended up running into a tree stump and and has fractured his wrist.... didn’t let on just how much pain he was in because he didn’t want to leave early. Staff were amazing with him, Thanks to Sam then manager Matt who looked after us making sure he was OK and getting us anything we needed... Matt was very informative as a manager, I was impressed at his knowledge regarding the guad bikes, manufacturing of them etc, and overall helpfulness with our situation. Thanks heaps Matt. We’ll be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    7.1
    Great staff 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was terribly uncomfortable, it’s two single beds (not just bases) held together by only sheets. We did ask if there was any other option but were told all the beds are like that 😐

    The staff are all extremely friendly! What a beautiful place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location made up for the other short-falls - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ferry crossing was very expensive (as was everything on the Island). There were very limited places to eat. The accommodation did not have an oven which made it difficult to cook for the 6 of us as well. There was limited lounge seating so the 6 of us could not sit comfortably in the evening.

    The accommodation was clean, well located with amazing views! The island was beautiful and the dolphin feeding was magical. Staff were friendly too. Would definitely recommend visiting Tangalooma.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    5.8
    Nice location, friendly staff but overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ferry and parking very expensive. Dated rooms. Minimal options for food. Tours expensive. Swipe cards faulty, had to be reset multiple times over 3 days.

    Location is great. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    5.8
    NOT HAPPY SUB STANDARD NO VALUE FOR MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated room and bed or relic from 80"s plus carnival cruise took every tour and ruined dolphin feeding experience we spent over $700 to go to a resort to relax not feel like we were at a theme Park we left at 8.30 am sunday morning couldn't wait to leave very disappointed 3/10

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    8.8
    Family vacation paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility may be somehow old. The food near the hotel have no many choice.

    The island is very good, the activities are amazing. You can feed the aninimal there, swimming and hiking. A lot of intersting activities you can do there. The view is very beautiful. It is suitable for the familiy to have the vacation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    5.0
    The island is a beautiful beach, water is clear and shiny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High $$ spending in this resort and you have no choice. Everything is $$ even wifi you have to pay $. And very expensive to take the ferry to get there, around AUD80 per person for a round trip.

    The island is a beautiful beach, water is clear and shiny blue.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.5
    Great location and the dolphins were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit dated and the restaurant food & bar was not great... perhaps it was just that it was winter and they did not have all normal options available.

    Great location and the dolphins were fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    Beautiful views and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to work out where to Moore our boat and staff at hire place did not allow us to hire canoe or tinny as sea was rough but no advice on how to get our luggage to land . Just a little support would have been appreciated even a paddle board to allow us to transport guests and luggage would have made it easier and less worry for us. Staff once there were fantastic and loved all the facilities offered.

    Beautiful views and great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.5
    A lovely family get together for oue son-in-law's 50th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food choices.

    We liked the location, the room was roomy and comfortable, but the choice of food outlets was disappointing, not a lot of choice for diabetics and the standard of food good one day not so good the next. The buffet breakfast was good on a par with other establishments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially my grandson and quad biking. Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More dishes in kitchen for use in convection/microwave. There was only two large casserole dishes. Price of some of the 'things to do' especially for children, quite expensive. Food in restaurants expensive, servings far too large for some dishes.

    Walking along the beach at sunset. View from balcony. Large room with comfortable beds and couch, for watching TV. Kitchen mostly well appointed. Bathroom large with space to put toiletries, supply of shampoo and lotions, very handy. Main bedroom very large, plenty of hanging space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.1
    Stunning location but resort needs more organisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are only 4 options for food on the island. A grill, coffee shop, beach cafe and Asian option. We arrived on a Sunday and the grill closed at 2 and cafe was shut by 3- there was no signage indicating the eating times. The coffee shop had run out of stock by 12pm on the Monday so your only options then were the beach cafe or fire and stone Asian. The beach cafe is mostly deep fried options at a premium price. Overall they need to stock the coffee shop and extend hours or at least put signage up visibly indicating the hours for food, with so little options on the island opening hours should be better. A boat load of people came in on the Monday and went straight to the coffee shop but there was nothing left but a few deserts, they miss opportunities to make money and please the guests. My husband and I ended up having to share a salad roll as it was the last one left and it was $9!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.5
    The staff are friendly, there is so much to do, the location is picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort is on the most gorgeous spot of Moreton island. There is so much wildlife to see, star fish wash up on the beach which is just magical and of course the wild dolphin feeding was absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.1
    Lots to see and do - if you are prepared to pay a price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive. For a large family going out of state could be cheaper.

    Lots to see and do - if you are prepared to pay a price. Beautiful surroundings, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    A beautiful island, lovely views from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were unlucky with the weather. So couldn't go into the water to feed the dolphins, which was the reason we went to the resort. After paying for parking our car for two nights and the ferry ride over and back, it was an expensive stay.

    We had an amazing view from our balcony. I loved the eco information centre. Staff were helpful. Everything was extremely clean and well organised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    6.7
    A very relaxing holiday in a beautiful resort. Would have been improved with updated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very basic and crawling with ants. Food expensive and not much choice in the supermarket.

    The island is beautiful with lots to do if you have the money to spend. Very expensive when you have a family of 5.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Great night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed to see they are getting pokie machines. Will ruin it!

    Such a family fun place with lots to do. It does need a few more free wet weather options for families eg trampoline should have been free

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place but not so great food options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have terrible food options. The only option for breakfast is a buffet which is expensive and they close early, after that the coffee shops only sells drinks and a few small foods. There wasn’t anywhere nice to go for dinner either. For such a big resort and amazing place you’d think they’d have some nicer things to eat or more options

    The room was really nice for the price we paid and great location! The island is amazingly beautiful and will definitely be going back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely gem beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing is to expect to pay high prices for restaurants could be a bit more of a selection available.

    Lovely clean property very spacious apartments and great information and activities on offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.1
    Turmoily yet enjoyable due to fantastic scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room they booked us in at first (kookaburra) was nice and modern yet was overlooking the 4WD-bus park with direct smell of fumes and sound of Diesel engines... Unbelievable that in a resort like that on a beautiful island with those prices they got a whole block with rooms they have customers staying in who like to come to the island to relax and unwind and enjoy supposingly fresh air. People who stayed in that block told us next morning that they had trouble sleeping as doors where loudly slamming all night long .Not recommendable- I organised this stay for my sons 18th birthday on the day and unless I would have paid extra the resort would not offer any small flower or tiny token saying Happy Birthday. I thought that was a bit sad as when I went on a cruise that was cheaper than this resort they really went to town with lovely deco , flowers and even staff being aware congratulating. Brought my own things and it was good in the end- Ferry ride is exorbitantly expensive- !!! Too much !!!!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. I complained about the room we were placed in at first. After about an hour discussion and organisation one of the friendly gentlemen at the front desk got us a slightly less modern yet quiet room close to the reception block(A20). Food at the Grill was pricy yet very good- other foods average. Lots of activities on offer . Loved the taboggening!! Had a accident on the Segway and reception-same gentleman- gave us access to the VIP lounge for the day before we left. It was very appreciated. (Lounge itself is very basic - not worth it if you have to pay extra for it) It helped me on the day due to the accident though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar fridge was missing a leg so was wobbly, the shower nozzle was leaking and spraying water. 2 items need repair. Room K48.

    The hotel room had a great view and was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.3
    Very much enjoyed, rating for Kookaburra rooms accurate. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpets had seen better days and room looked tired.

    Bed comfy, clean room ( apart from grubby looking carpet!) Was given a seaview and hadn’t requested so was a lovely surprise,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.1
    Great stay at Moreton Island, close to Brisbane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you have a low budget there isn’t much to do on the island besides relaxing. The food is quiet expensive too and not diverse. Most of the cafe staff where we got snacks were not smiling and not talkative, felt quiet cold.

    Beautiful island, amazing place to relax on the beach with friends. Quiet during the off season. Clean room, comfortable. Big enough for four adults for an overnight stay. I did love the wild dolphins and kookaburra feed which were the free activities we got offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.9
    amazing experience, but the resort facilities need upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but the coffee was HORRIBLE and the buffet breakfast was disgusting. Eggs were under cooked, the whole family had gastric issues as a result. The boat was in dire need of refurbishment, the tables and chairs surrounding the resort were rotting and need to be upgraded - considering how many people come over every single day, there has to be funds available to refurbish the required items and the boats.

    The staff were lovely - except for the maitre de of the Japanese restaurant - extremely rude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Almost perfect with a few tweaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pricey. Asked for view room but didn't get it. Asked for late checkout but they wouldn't offer even half an hour.

    Location, relaxed vibe. Great for families.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Our villa was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was not great for the most part. It is really expensive and some of it was really bad. Also, many food outlets were not open in the late afternoon just when you wanted a snack or late lunch.

    Our villa was great. It was clean and had everything we needed. The activities at the resort are fantastic, although sadly the wind prevented us from doing some activities we would have liked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful! Definitely coming back for longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We walked a lot during the stay to go to the shops and restaurants but I enjoyed the view while walking.

    Amazing view, very comfortable bed and wonderful customer service. And a pizza from the restaurant was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    All the staff were friendly and happy atmosphere perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even though the food does have to travel from the main land I think it could be a bit more affordable

    All the staff were friendly and happy atmosphere perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.3
    Tangaloomal is a wonderful place to stay, if I ever visit Aus again I would certainly ad to itinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only criticism is that the food choices could be better. A lot of people travel from Brisbane and so bring their own food etc to bbq but having travelled from England it was enough to manage our luggage!

    The island is lovely and unspoilt and the beach villas compliment their position, you walk out of your villa and you are immediately on the beach, you can even watch wild dolphins that come every evening to be fed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.1
    The accomodation, location and staff were all very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price and quality of the food on offer though was average at best. If you are going to charge a premium; then supply premium. Dont charge high prices for average food. Some prices were a little rediculous for things like massages; $40 for 15 minutes is rediculous. And if you lowered the price you would get more interest in the services

    The accomodation, location and staff were all very good and was happy with them. Staff were happy and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful resort, great activities for the family, food was below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food options were limited and below standard in quality and quantity. I would recommend that you bring your own food and cook meals on the BBQ’s within the resort. Would have done more water sports, but all were quite costly.

    The activities were fabulous and the tour guides were great. I Would recommend the sand safari tour, snorkeling around the wrecks and the dolphin feeding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    6.7
    The location is amazing - right on its own private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Front Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is sooo expensive at the resort. Bring your own food! Kitchen had SIX sets of tongs but only 1 frying pan. (?!!?)

    The location is amazing - right on its own private beach. Free daily movies for the kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.1
    Great place to visit for a few days. Avoid going when there's a cruise ship due in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main food hall was a bit clinical with boring decor and furnishings. In general the food facilities were a bit dire and let the resort down. There is no shade on the beach either. Provision of sunshades would have been beneficial. But the worst thing was THE CRUISE SHIP!!!! It arrived on our last day and we are so glad it was our last day and we only had to endure it until 2pm. It turned the resort from an idyllic piece of paradise into an overcrowded, horrible, noisy and tacky place.

    The location is superb. The beach is lovely with calm, warm water. The dolphin feeding was well organised and educational and so was the kookaburra talk and feeding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced Holiday Camp
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is run down and in a desperate need of upgrades. The $760 for 2 nights for a room that was at best a $120.00 on the mainland.

    Location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful place been going 20 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    SO over priced in every area. Food, shop etc. Maid service quite poor, no vacuuming of carpets which is not good at a beach property with sand!! Restaurant choices poor, fast food or crazily overpriced tiny portioned front restaurant or chinese food. All expensive. $5 for a bottle of water or a breaka?!

    Beautiful place been going 20 years. Good to see renovations of reception and bar area. Dolphins amazing but highly mechanical /crowded feeding sessions (quite rightly for dolphin benefits) not all natural and relaxed as portrayed so some people may be disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great experience but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food and activities were a little overpriced. Some of the accommodation could be updated. The ferry and car park were extra payments after you had paid for the room.

    Feeding the wild dolphins was a magical experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Once you are there it's lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is extremely confusing as a first timer to know how and what to book. I booked on booking.com so was unable to cancel then I booked the micat which doesn't take you straight to the resort, and couldn't cancel that.

    The dolphin feeding is definitely a highlight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    A dream!
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved our stay, from our bags being taken care of at the Port, the service was amazing, beautiful spot. We will definitely be back and will be bringing the family next time. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.5
    Outdoor activities great, really appreciated the range of free activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food outlets were awful - couldn't get a light salad meal, it all seemed to be fried food or sweet stuff. The staff in these cafes/restaurants were pretty average too. Disappointing...

    The staff at reception were great, also in all the activities eg Tanga Tours and the Eco Rangers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    5.4
    I would've gone somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buffet was closed most nights and no vegan options let alone vegetarian options. Gift shop was a flop and anything you spent over the Easter weekend had a 15% surcharge on it. The whole 4 days (Friday to Easter Monday) are public holidays apparently, and the bar staff kept harassing my fiancé, asking if had eaten or not and they were grumpy. Such a rip off

    The view was amazing and the dolphin feeding was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    7.5
    Generally a relaxing break in comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dolphin feeding was much more regimented than advertisements show. The half day Northern Safari tour was conducted in too small a vehicle for passenger comfort (7 including the driver) so two seniors needed to sit in child sized seats at the back of the vehicle - at $90 per person it was overpriced.

    The staff were friendly. There was a variety of eateries to choose from. The room fridges were a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    5.4
    Location is great and activities are also great. The hotel rooms are pretty basic and old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My luggage was delivered to the room with the handle broken off. The room had ants and the room phone did not work. We could not go on sunset cruise as not enough people had booked - they needed 6 and we were a party of 4. They didn't even take our names in case anyone else booked - it was 11am when we enquired. We were rushed out of Stones restaurant

    Location is fab. feeding the dolphins was amazing and we had a great time on quad bikes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place! Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the fact our luggage was taken care of from the ferry to resort and then was waiting for us when we got back. Perfect place to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic experience, will visit again one day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the worlds largest range of food options, plus worth taking cash as eftpos were up and down with them not working sometimes. Activities are a little limited, would be cool if the features (blue lagoon and light house) were a little easier accessible (we just wanted to avoid the tours - little boring for us).

    Over all an amazing experience, went with my partner for the dolphin feeding experience. Great fun snorkeling the wrecks. Fire & Stone would be my personal recommendation for food, very quick and friendly service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    Room was nice facilities were great, restaraunts were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The distance we had to carry our luggage from the carpark to our room. Restaraunts were very expensive

    Room was nice facilities were great, restaraunts were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    6.7
    Good holiday destination. Some improvements would make it even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel rooms require refresh/renovation as mine was pretty worn out with many stains on the carpet but considering that I spent most time outdoors it was not a big issue for me. Food pretty pricey for what you get but that was not a surprise either. The ferry fee is not cheap ($80 pp return) but pretty comfortable.

    Very nice location and beautiful beach. Some good excursions/activities available. Good landscaping and outdoor facilities e.g. pools

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, plenty of things to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Possibly due for a makeover, the furniture is old and broken. The sofa was the most uncomfortable thing ever. For $320 a night you kind of expect a tiny bit more. However the location makes up for it. Some staff were fantastic but sadly some staff were very rude and it seemed an effort to get booked into the water sports activities.

    Great location, plenty of things to do and see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    So easy to get to Tangalooma very relaxing we will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seafood platter at Stones restaurant

    We loved the location ,staff were so helpful and friendly ,bed was comfy the room was very nice and clean we ate at the restaurants and the food at Cooper’s was delicious and well priced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some breakfast bowls in the room would have been nice. Chinese restaurant within the resort was way over prices (over $20 for a chicken fried rice). Be sure to take some of your own good to save money.

    The location and view from the room was lovely. Activities around the resort were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    6.7
    There was so many value for money food options and island is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The boat transfer is an absolute joke, far too expensive. A similar ferry to stradbroke island as a foot passenger is less than a quarter of the price. The wharf area where you catch the ferry is also horrible and smells bad.

    There was so many value for money food options and island is absolutely stunning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    8.8
    Tangalooma is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Unit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurants are not very good at all. The selection is very poor and pricing not good. Pretty disappointing for an island to be unable to supply fresh seafood which is what you also kind of expect when your on an island.

    Tangalooma is beautiful. The rooms were good value for money. The house keeping team was excellent. The staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: