Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4.5 stars

2-14 Cliff Road, 2520 Wollongong, Australia

#6 of 26 hotels in Wollongong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2076 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    AMAZING! Beautiful Motel to stay in with all the trimmings..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing we didnt like, everything was Great and above our expectations..

    Everyone was wonderful, our room, our bed, the food, room service, the wedding we attended was amazing, the staff were all lovely.. we have nothing bad to say, it was great!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Great Stay, Awesome Location!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred some tumbler glasses to be available in the room, without me having to call housekeeping and later call diverted to Kitchen where it went to voicemail.

    Surely the Breakfast was the highlights of our stay. Also loved the comfy bed, spacious room and overall cleanliness. My son too enjoyed the pool and the spa was a treat. Overall loved our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced Windjammer buffet no worth $75.00 a head and the price was not clearly displayed. We thought it was $55.00 a head. the seafood selection was average. We would not recommend this restaurant, poor value for money.

    The view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Clean room & bathroom with a great view. Nice place to walk, swim and lots of cafes & restaurants.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a little fussy but the cups we used for coffee were washed in the bathroom which is ok but I’m not sure if they were washed with detergent? This is from a hygiene perspective.

    The young lady who checked us in on Sun 7/10 was very informative on what was around the area including the free shuttle bus (which we used). She was the type of person you should always meet when checking in. I’m sorry I didn’t get her name she had blonde long hair tied back and glasses.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    very happy with the stay and when i need to come back i will be staying here again. Close to everyth
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to complain about

    bed were very comfortable , rooms clean and roomy. Staff were always friendly and willing to help. Love how close to the beach and enjoyed going down stairs to look over the beach while i enjoyed a cup of coffee . Also like how just a short bus trip into Wollongong shopping centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Wasnt as restful as i would like it to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for a suite but foind out the loinge room tv didnt have movies paid you needed to watch in bedroom whats the point of a suite if you have to stay in bedroom to watch tv very disapointed

    The view and how clean the room was

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed after having enjoyed previously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoying whirring noise all night. Parking charge not included. SMH ordered but not delivered. $32 breakfast only worth $15.

    Room bed location good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Super Convenient when staying for a Wedding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the hotel caters to Weddings you may have to put up with some pretty loud music on certain nights which didnt really phase me but I can see how it may possibly bother others.

    Beds were super soft and the Bathrooms were updated and clean! We had a balcony view of the beach which was beautiful to sit with a coffee and just enjoy the sound of the waves!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Great hotel, always stay there while we go to Wollongong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was super helpful, they have found our lost car key in the lobby area, Great location, close to city center, beach and light house. Nice facilities, my kids enjoyed the gym a lot. Also they love the continental breakfast. :P

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    The staff were amazing, the location was spot on for what we...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel once inside was quite dilapidated. Whilst much of the hotel focuses on the beach side, the interior is dated and the rooms show it. Whilst we had booked a larger room the rooms were small. The lack of ventilation in the rooms was apparent with lingering smells from previous guests.

    The staff were amazing, the location was spot on for what we needed. Close to several cafes for breakfast. The bathrooms were spot on.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overall, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No books / magazines to borrow and read. But that's just me! Nothing else to fault.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom very clean. Across the road from beautiful beach. Many delicious food and drink options within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful place to stay in Wollongong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi should be available for free throughout the hotel. It is such a common and expected thing these days. Flyscreen doors to the balcony are a must. You can then leave the balcony doors open.

    The rooms were great. The bed was really comfortable. The lounge was very comfortable. The room was very sound proof. It could have been a nightmare as a very loud music festival was being held in the park adjacent. The breakfast whilst expensive was very good. The food choices were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    very very good thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the remote for the tv should have been replaced as the battery housing was faulty _-not aa big deall but still

    Very pleasant staff and great atmosphere. Will definitely stay any time in wollongong. I will also advise friends to stay there as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.3
    I prefer a more intimate stay and something with a lithe Novotel is huge and more suited to families
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast dining room was noisy, and chaotic some of the food look very unappetising. Floors looked dirty and tables were not cleared quickly enough.

    Large, clean and well thought out rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    We had booked for 3 people and the sofa bed wasn’t made up...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked for 3 people and the sofa bed wasn’t made up so when coming home late at night from a wedding we all had to sleep in the 1 bed as it was too late for housekeeping. When we did pull out the sofa bed there was a blood stain on the mattress protector and old French fries left from guests before us. So housekeeping should be more thorough when cleaning. Otherwise staff at reception are lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Family-friendly luxury by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive on Saturday nights. Our room type didn't have a bath. Not many kid-friendly meals at dinner buffet.

    Ocean views, balcony rooms, ultra comfy bedding, pool, spa and sauna, kid's games room, affordable parking, great buffet breakfast, opposite beach and park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room and beautiful view!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi was painfully slow, and normally costs a lot of money. I was given "free" access in exchange for registering for a hotel program with with my email. What year is it that there isn't fast, free WiFi in a premium hotel? Even cheap Airbnbs have that basic service.

    Our room was large and comfortable, with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the downstairs bar. We ordered a cheese/dip platter. Three of us agreed that it was not satisfactory. The quality of the bread and the style of biscuit was disappointing. The variety of dips was poor. Supermarket beetroot dip, homous and maybe an olive or tzatziki would have been far more palatable.

    The beds were fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Room and bed amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection at bar downstairs was limited - and the bar itself looked in desperate need of an update We were there with a group and we were clearing tables of glassware and plates etc throughout the evening

    Room and bed amazing Staff were really helpful - location amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing! We did not hear back from management after complaining on their questionnaire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast (@ $35 a head, outrageous!) was lukewarm, we had to send it back and complained to the front desk manager, but the same thing happened on the 2nd and 3rd day. After stating that they were a no smoking establishment our view from the balcony was of the rooftop liberally spinkled with butts, and the smell of smoking, several times we had to close the verandah door. I chose to stay there as it was for a special occasion with my wife.I expected something special at the prices charged and was very disappointed.

    the view and pleasant staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite warm when we arrived but it cooled down quickly with the air con

    The room was very clean with a spacious bathroom and comfy bed. We requested an early check in as we were there for a wedding and they facilitated that for us

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    I prefer this hotel over any other in Wollongong for it's all round facilities and comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of drinks at the various bars is at the top end of the scale.

    This is one of the better Novotels I have stayed in it is clean modern and comfortable, the buffet in the dining room is great value for money with a good selection of seafood, although the hot meals on the buffet good have a bigger variety.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    There was only 1 thing, for my morning coffee in my room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 thing, for my morning coffee in my room there were no milk sachets. And no fan for the bathroom. But i loved my stay and will deffinantly be back 😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean, Comfy and Courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cocktails were a little pricey, music kicked off on Friday night but was so loud even over at the kids area we had to yell when next to each other to have a conversation, after a few minutes we gave up and disbanded our party to go back to our room.

    Staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The breakfast is exceptional with fresh made pancakes a true highlight. The new bar menu is fantastic with the share plate being especially delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us the bed was a little soft, but still very comfortable linen.

    We were in Wollongong for a wedding and our stay was lovely. Great shower and good size room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean room, well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself was quite noisy, lots of noise from the lifts chime, you could hear everyone's toilet flushing around you. Requested a room with a bath several months ago and told that we could have but that was not forthcoming on check-in. If you used the aircon even on low it was quiet noisy

    Nice clean room, well appointed. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    Won't be back and will be recommending friends to avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dirty. Elevators filthy, small, slow and dilapidated. Room very small for $$ outlay. Carpark was over crowded. The swipe card didn't work and when I spoke to the bloke on the speaker he said "they are always broken". I suspect there was non-residents parking in residents parking spaces.

    Good location. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    It was ok for for a brief stay but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in price. Price for buffet breakfast very expensive. Didn’t receive wifi in room. Bathroom floor was very slippery from condensation after shower, steam did not escape well.

    Beds were comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Served the purpose but not as good as other hotels in Wollongong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit pricey. The front entrance needs an upgrade and fresh interior design to make it more inviting. The lobby bar needs music to improve the ambience. The whole place looks a little bit tired and worn and lacking in character.

    Lobby bar was convenient. somewhere to drink without needing to go out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic overall - great staff and
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food selection for room service a bit limited for my diet and the food service overall wasn't great - they messed up my order massively and forgot cutkery - however - they discounted for the errors and misaps which was appreciated.

    Bed super soft, staff amazing, location and gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Checked in after our wedding reception and received a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi.

    Checked in after our wedding reception and received a complimentary bottle of wine. Also had a sea view from our room which was a nice surprise! Staff were very friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    A family room at a reasonable price would have made our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A family room at a reasonable price would have made our stay more delightful. We couldn’t afford 2 hotel rooms or the interconnecting room, so we it a room with 2 queen beds in it, but a family room at a reasonable price would be a great addition to this establishment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    I will come back and stay at Novotel Wollongong again, although this time not for work!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can honestly say, nothing. It was a great experience in a great location.

    I thought the room was great, really nice, great bathroom, spacious and very comfortable, with an amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for a very standard room. charged me upfront on credit card on check in and then debited my card again on checkout..over $800 took a week for it to be reversed.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall we were happy, Good hotel but slightly overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friends who booked the same time through the same booking.com and paid the same had breakfast included and a bottle of wine of arrival. We were happy with the stay, it was a little expensive for where you are, (we've stayed in the Rocks for cheaper) but to then find out breakfast will cost over $80 and have to wait for more than 40 minutes for a table was a bit annoying. Overall though, the room was great, the hotel was comfy and we enjoyed sitting in the lounge bar while we waited for the rest of the group.

    The lounge bar was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    In front of the beach
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In front of the beach Nice gym Comfy bed Many towels provided Friendly staff Coffee shop (Ground Floor) Excelent room service Amazing hotel to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Spacious comfy rooms, great location for the beach. Breakfast service could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra expense for Wi-Fi. We stayed during a very cold spell in Wollongong and the reception area in the hotel was extremely cold - not very welcoming. Hot breakfast for two of the days was really cold.

    Very comfy & spacious rooms, close to the beach but shops not within short walking distance. Great views & aspect from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    A lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better information about the shuttle bus going to entertainment centre would have been helpful.We nearly missed it as we weren’t told exactly where to wait.

    Lovely we had a room upgrade. Room was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 10days in the PNG Jungle they upgraded me without hesitation or extra charge. Perfect location with the Lagoon restaurant 5mins away, breakfast places all downstairs & a view to just chill..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location. Friendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests shouldn’t have to pay extra for parking. The accommodation was way overpriced already without adding extra for parking. The beds were uncomfortable. Didn’t appreciate a knock on the door one hour before checkout time!! Staff member wanted to find out if we’d used anything from the mini bar!

    The staff were friendly. The room was clean. The temperature of the room was good. The location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and would do I all again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t get enough beer time in. Had to go and have something to eat before the restaurant closed.

    I was out to break away from my day to day routine. I did that at the bar, especially when I found it have my flavour of beer. (Hahn super dry) Really had a good time even though I was on my own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Novetel Wollongong
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The group that was in the room next to me, made so much noise that it was literally impossible to fall asleep (Friday and Saturday night) and the noise went on to the early hours of the morning. I was promised a lactose and gluten free breakfast. On the Saturday a lovely gentleman toasted my bread out the back so it wouldn’t get mixed up with the other bread that was being toasted in the restaurant but on the Sunday the service wasn’t that great. There were no waiters around to assist me. I know I was upgraded to a different room with an ocean view, but for one person two queen size beds were not necessary. I would of preferred 1 queen or double bed with the lounge as in the room that I had originally booked on Booking.com

    The location was just perfect, beautiful rooms and very clean, delicious breakfast even though the variety wasn’t what I expected given that I spoke to management and told them I had an intolerance to gluten and lactose.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    Comfy bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Often couldn't get parking at the hotel on the weekend and often had to park in the nearby recreation park. Because of parking we had to go elsewhere for dinner too. The parking pass didn't work anyway. Would we stay again....... probably not.

    Comfy bed and pillows.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.5
    the beds comfy,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom floor flooded,with every shower The seafood lunch wasn't as good as Sydney novetel they booked 200 conference people to join us...

    the beds comfy,,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is great, location is wonderful right across the road from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The functions they now have out on the deck with blaring music, which does affect your stay

    The staff are great with a special shout out to Alana Quirke

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Quick get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey

    It was my fiancé’s 30th Birthday they kindly upgraded our room and even left a gift for him. It was very thoughtful. Room was very clean and spacious. Wonderful view!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool advertised heated. It wasn’t. But the spare was good. Buffet meal a bit pricey. But had good selection

    Excellent. A great location. Lovely big room And the hotel very spacious. Enjoyed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Well rested, NOT!
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t come here if you want to be well rested. It has no sound proofing. We had bands until almost 12 am that I could sing along to 5 floors up. Also I could hear people very clearly having their own parties in rooms around us until after 2am, and some of those were adult only parties! My two children had trouble sleeping, as did I. Make sure you check if there is a function on there before you book!

    It was clean and the facilities were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great view, lovely facilities and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in this hotel the night of our wedding, and notified the hotel at the time of booking. Although not expected, it would have been a nice touch for the hotel to acknowledge this with a small message on the in room TV message service or a complimentary chocolate on our pillow. Additionally dinner at the Windjammer restaurant is over priced and the service was poor. Admittedly it was a Friday night, however we waited 90mins for entrees to be served, and almost 2hrs for mains to be served. When we complained of the lack of service, the drinks ordered were taken off the bill.

    Fantastic location, friendly reception/housekeeping staff and great buffet breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    i stayed at novatel wollongong had a fantastic room with a amazing view,friendly staff,great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing i didnt like about novatel wollongong

    the room was very blissful and comfortable,with a amazing view, enjoyed my stay at novatel, fantastic and friendly staff service,great place to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Magnificent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the balconies needs an extra child proof lock as I was terrified that my toddler may open the balcony

    It was great and the stuff were amazing Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    AMAZING VIEW- we got the corner room on the very top floor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning could have been improved, but it is only a minor problem

    AMAZING VIEW- we got the corner room on the very top floor, which had a stunning view of the beach. I specifically asked for the room before I booked the hotel, which was a complete success. The staffs were very responsive and lovely- 100% recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great destination for a romantic night away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave 😩

    Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to an ocean view suite. Included was a lovely bottle of wine which made our night even more welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Very happy with all facilities and staff. Plan to come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The web site gives the address as Cliff Drve. which caused some difficulty in finding the reception area in a region that was unfamiliar to us. Suggest that Bourke St. be given on the site as the address for people using GPS.

    Bed was super soft. Breakfast was excellent, with a great view and the gym was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Amazing amazing amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!

    We stayed here the night of our wedding and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the panorama suite which was truly amazing. There were four separate rooms which were huge and spacious and had everything we needed and more. The massive bath tub was such a treat! Loved the view from the balcony which spanned from the mountains to the ocean and watching the sun rise over the water was really special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    View,Clean Room, Comfy Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet that had to be paid for($25 for 1 day) was diabolically SLOW! to the point of being useless. On checking out, the front desk did reverse the charge.

    View,Clean Room, Comfy Bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Awesome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking if my bill was up to date at 1.00 in the morning, took for ever,as i was leaving every early next morning.

    How big the room was anbed so comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Highly exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of room service and limited availability of choice of meals after midnight

    Highly exceeded our expectations. Rooms were beautiful and clean and the view from the balcony was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a few signs to let you know where it is. My GPS was not working so found t hard to find.

    Bit hard to find but when I did I was pleasantly suprised. Lovely views, friendly staff, good food, clean comfortable room. I would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    The best beds, and great views and walks, specially after dark and at sunrise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were the absolute best. Proximity to places to eat and a great walk to the lighthouse was a bonus. What a gorgeous spot. Sunrise walk was gorgeous. Very picturesque. I'll stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed every minute
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    elevator was a little scary

    My first room wasn't what I had booked but after checking with reception I was quickly moved. Clean, comfy bed and roomy bathroom. Lovely view from balcony. The in room dining was absolutely beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    It’s a pleasant stay
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is just too soft so it’s uncomfortable for us to have a good sleep as it is too bouncy..

    I love the facilities and the locations as it is walking distance to free bus stop and the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Very Annoyed & Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid $400 for the night, only to have young children playing loud music until 11pm. Also the same children were running the hallways knocking on everyone's door. We have been staying at the Novotel Wollongong for many years and have never been so disappointed.

    To angry to find anything good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The Wollongong Novotel provides all aspects of quality accommodation. The hotel presents well. The Reception is very hospitable and friendly, overall the hotel provides a really great experience for guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Great ocean views, across the beach, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't like carpet due to allergies, breakfast was average, small gym and pool

    Excellent water views from 2 queen bed room. Love the fact you can open balcony doors and get some fresh air in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    The hot breakfast food was cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot breakfast food was cold. This included the eggs, bacon, sausages and hash browns. Room was sold as an ocean view. The view directly from the room was the beach. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting, lovely stay would be so good to stay longer
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to property a little confusing with a very low roof. Arrived in a larger car which made the area quite tight. . You need to look up when opening the boot- we dinged ours on the low hanging concrete.

    Very easy and pleasant registration, room with a view was gorgeous. Plenty of room for sharing pair. Bed very comfortable with very good room facilities. Loved the bathroom. Freshly made coffee of choice in the breakfast room very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely wonderful and have rebooked to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think a heated pool would be a plus. Just a thought. Whilst, I appreciate the seafood buffet, perhaps a different child focused menu. Many Thanks for the opportunity to comment.

    The spectacular sea view, the room is very comfortable, the breakfast, the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    It was roomy and very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was very tight. Then found the room next door that had heaps of parks!

    It was roomy and very comfortable and clean. Room service was great (Lauren was very helpful and friendly). Rebecca at reception was lovely. The day spa was amazing! My kids and I had a wonderful couple of days! Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very nice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators are scary to ride in (very noisy and clunky) and the bar drinks to expensive. We were attending the brides choice awards and were very disappointed with canape options (or lack of them) Also we had to go and get canapes off a tray next to drinks table. At the cost of what we were charged per ticket I thought we would have had more personalised service. Uber eats saved us after the end of the awards

    Bed was comfortable and shower pressure was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 hours sleep in an average room. Woken at 2am by a very noisy exterior air con unit (sounded like a plane engine) that couldn't be turned off. Couldn't go back to sleep because of the noise if you stay here avoid room 200 :( Reception didnt offer a solution and didnt apologise for the inconvenience. Paid $210 for a terrible stay :( Room was worth $100 at a push.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for 4wds - the sudden drops in ceiling height were dangerous

    The beds were very comfortable. Also the hotel was within walking distance to other activities. eg beach, restaurants and shops

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    I loved the comfort of everything the room provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like was you couldn’t just get one elevator from car park to floor you had to change on ground floor

    I loved the comfort of everything the room provided

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Modern & clean, great location & views of ocean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was slow replenishing. Table wasn’t cleared, had to move previous diners dirty plates to side. Coffee machine out of coffee & chocolate. Why is ice-cream even an option at breakfast? The ‘in dining’ kids chicken tender meal was awful-at the very least, replace with ‘real’ chicken-not the highly processed stuff that was served.

    Modern & clean, great location & views of ocean (even tho our room was not ocean-facing). The ‘in dining’ beer battered chips & share main meal was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The facilities was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get to have a late check out..

    The facilities was good...breakfast buffet was great..room was super clean and spacious..it was a.perfect size for a family of 4

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: