Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thala Beach Nature Reserve 5 stars

Private Road, Oak Beach, 4871 Oak Beach, Australia

#1 of 4 hotels in Oak Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t use beautiful beach because it was stinger season....not resorts fault but it was disappointing.

    Stunning location. Desk staff was extremely helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in. Asked to fill out a form but was being spoken too the whole time while trying to fill in. Couldn’t remember what was being said about where we were staying. The steep walk to and from the room each trip.

    The serenity, peaceful great for down time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like to have stayed longer

    Absolutely amazing offered us an upgrade and oh what an amazing place restaurant was fantastic in regard to its view and food was a high standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some policies of the hotel was not impressive; like they don’t do daily room service even though towels and toiletries are available when you request. It’s a resort, so I assumed it would be cleaned daily. Would have been better though. Charging service charge for using credit cards was another. But then again, I think it’s a family run business and may be these things they have to do to keep the business profitable and going

    The location and staffs were great and welcoming. The porter even remembered our rooms by heart. My son had a little accident at the pool and the staffs were very helpful. They even gave my son a bowl of free ice cream and that stopped him from crying. The nature walk was good. The pool was amazing. The main resort is on the hilly side of the property and rooms were downhill. A bit of walking up and down made us a little tired especially caring our 3 yo but the potter was always available to give us a ride in his buggy to our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel felt a little shabby given how much money we were spending per night. When we arrived, our room had a curious baby powder spill that was never cleaned (even with subsequent cleanings). The main pool, while beautiful, was divided into 4 sections with 2 sections being difficult to access. In addition, you could not walk around the pool in its entirety, rather you had to exit and enter through different gated points, which was a little annoying...especially because some of the gates were infested with swarms of green ants! Since the hotel is located about 15 min away from Port Douglas, it would have been nice for the hotel to offer complimentary shuttle service to and fro, rather than charging per ride.

    It felt like we were staying in a private nature reserve. The beach was lovely, very secluded and intimate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to go home. The property is not very accessible, however it was great that the staff where accomodating with buggy transfers and assistance with luggage.

    Service, setting and food and drinks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too expensive, absolutely no value for money. For the nightly amount, breakfast should be included. Breakfast and dinner were basic with no real healthy options. Rooms were big, but walls paper thin. Could hear everything from our neighbours, which means they could hear everything of us. No complementary water and in such heat, should be a must. We felt like sheep going too and from the airport.

    Location was great and view amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet basin hadn’t been cleaned correctly for months leaving the pan badly stained. Electrical socket switch dangerous! All reported to reception.

    Nothing except highly varnish floors

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a little over priced and not much variety. We mostly ate in town. The pool could have been cleaned of the leaves more regularly. Always leaves in the pools

    Very comfortable stay. Relaxed and peaceful. Staff were lovely, very helpful, and everything was very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to cabins, no smaller breakfast option other than $30 buffet. Then there was a charge to make coffee in your cabin when it was a 6 min walk to the main lodge.

    Nature bent, beauty of property, walks. Interpretive walk with naturalist ( could be more frequent)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the food - although of highest quality was a little over-priced for us. Service varied a little but mistakes were quickl;y rectified with little inconvenience

    Our second trip to this beautiful resort. It maintains its beautiful natural attraction and is one of the more unique higher end experiences. Our special requests were granted without issue which made us feel welcome and important.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are getting old. For the price paid you don't expect old fashion rooms. We didn't like that the room is make up every 2 days (unless you let them know at reception, but they didn't inform us about it)

    The hotel is located in a little nature reserve with its own beach. Hotel itself is very beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Accommodation, surrounds and staff were superb. We were there to celebrate my mother's 80th who was made to feel so special. Book cabins with a view of the Coral Sea, well worth the extra. Highly recommend this resort!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The lack of or extremely limited WiFi Connection - only available in the main reception. Sadly, just because we like to be away from the noise and crowd, it doesn't mean that we want to be 'totally cut-off' from the civilization! To be perfectly honest, in this day and age, availability and access to a WiFi is a commodity, just like water and air. Try and limit, cut-off or ask your guests to pay for a WiFi connection would result in an unpleasant conversation. Trust me. But don't get me wrong, as I (for one) hate to dine in a resort/hotel and be surrounded by people on their mobile phones. Hence it's now a standard for any hotels or resorts to only make WiFi connections available only in the guest rooms AND the main lounge. However, in this case, Thala resort has an extremely weak WiFi connection that is only available in one corner of their main lounge upstairs. Without going into detail, I need to check my personal emails at the beginning and/or end of the day for some personal and important reasons. But since all cabins are a 5 minute (or more) walk from the main building (except the expensive two cabins), I then have to walk to the main building each day just to get a connection. It didn't end my world, but it certainly contributed to my unrelaxed stay at this resort. 2. Food. Yes, food. If you run a resort like Thala, that's far enough for any guests to walk to the nearest bar or restaurants available, you would certainly make sure that you have at least two restaurants. If not, you make sure that the one and only restaurant you run is up to scratch. By that, I don't mean it to be a Michelin starred. Just good, pleasant and enjoyable would be enough. But on our first night, when obviously it's too late and far for us to book a restaurant at Port Douglas town, we've decided to dine in and booked a table before hand. My entré, which was a double-smoked prosciutto, feta cheese, and salad was totally stale!

    We've purposely booked this resort purely from the fact that it is away from the noise, crowd, and anything else that are stressful. And it certainly didn't disappoint us. We love how the natural noise of trees right outside our cabin balcony all swaying due to the gentle sea breeze and gently puts us to sleep in the afternoon. The (almost) exclusive, private access and 2km long beach was perfect for my morning bear-feet run! It's a beautiful beach. Thala has its own sundecks down that beach too as the reception or main resort building is quite a walk up the hill. Staff is friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gorgeous location, super comfortable rooms, loved the bath, delicious food, delightful walks through the various types of forest and on the beaches. We booked very last minute and it exceeded expectations significantly. The children loved Thala too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I did not like. The only thing to be aware of is that if you don't have a car, you will need to book transport to get to any other place (Port Douglas, other beaches, alternative restaurants )

    Surrounded by beautiful nature. Calm and relaxed. At beautiful long sandy beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why aren't there crocodile warning signs on Sandy Beach at The Thala Lodge end and and there is at the other end? They should be using and promoting local products and not commercially grown "imported" products - eg Daintree tea. Water wise shower heads. Having to leave.

    The setting in the natural environment, the view from our tree house, the serenity and the beautiful weather.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant. Quality is low, takes forever to get anything, ordered dinner and it took 55 minutes to get food.

    The sea view bungalows were very spacious and comfortable. The beaches were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Pool looks wonderful but the water was freezing, couldn't get in - we so wished it was heated! Food at the restaurant is nice but way too expensive for what it is. The secluded location is nice but it also means that you DEFINITELY need a car!

    Location in natural environment is amazing. Good place to relax and do nothing basically - however can get boring if you're after sports/activities. Recommend the free coconut discovery tour offered by the hotel. Can't fault the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in shower was not hot enough. With the hot tap on full it still didn't reach a comfortable temperature.

    The privacy and separation from other guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the food on offer was well below what you would expect for a resort promoting itself at this calibre. After first breakfast (sliced bread and poached egg for $20!) we basically packed a bag every day and went out for breakfast and stayed out all day. It was a shame as the accommodation was beautiful but even the mini bar had very little on offer for breakfast...

    View from the room was amazing. Wanted to stay at resort and enjoy the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was fair but not great in terms of flavour and execution. The staff didn't know much about the menu and both entree and main had used the same side salad. On one plate as garnish and one plate more of it as a salad. Felt like the food had tried to be too complicated and confused.

    The location in beautiful. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Accommodation cabins are all very shaded and all resort is on steep gradients and difficult to access beaches, reception & dining areas, car park is quite a walk away. This resort would appeal to those who are into trekking, bush walking etc, It is certainly not a destination for those wishing a relaxing holiday in the sunshine, the beach is such a strenuous journey from the cabins that one exploratory trip to investigate was enough. We spent our three days visiting other beaches and resorts by car, much easier than trying to walk to Thana Beaches.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds not great and ran out of hot water first shower of the morning. Bush turkeys quite loud in the early hours of the morning too!!!

    Staff and surroundings!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I would stay longer!

    Beautiful private bungalow. Very spacious inside with gorgeous views. Restaurant was delicious however slightly expensive. Great views from the bar area. Loved the free welcome drink! Most beautiful private beach walking distance - oak beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible. The food was barely motel quality. We paid over $700 per night for a very wonderful view and nice accommodation, so being asked to then pay $25 each for a terrible breakfast and another $4 or whatever for coffee really made us feel very negative about the overall experience. You want customers paying big dollars to leave feeling they've got value, not feeling negative about having to fork out extra $ for a poor motel breakfast.

    Sarah on the front desk was friendly and helpful; all restaurant staff very friendly and efficient. Dinner was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed in a number of similar properties in Byron Bay, Hamilton Island and Port Douglas this year, there were a number of small things which we felt were disappointing for a property of this rating. The grounds around the pool and lodge could do with a little tidying, as could the beachfront. There was no wifi in the rooms and rooms are only serviced every two days unless you request daily. A 2.5% surcharge for credit cards on checkout is steep in our experience (we do understand why surcharges are applied but didn't encounter this level elsewhere). The main disappointment is the restaurant menu which is pretentious and doesn't quite hit the mark. For $46.50 for a steak, it needs to be pretty amazing to match up to the much better offerings in nearby Port Douglas and it wasn't.

    The main lodge is stunning, and with the right weather the beach and pool would also be lovely. Staff were on the whole very friendly and accommodating and offered us a room upgrade to be closer to the central lodge and daily room servicing as we were travelling with a baby, which was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only have wifi in lobby but that didn't seem to matter too much. Quite steep to some of the cabins but they do have golf buggies to drive you at request. They are very fast in responding. If you have mobility issues, request a cabin without steps.

    We were very surprised by this property. Absolutely beautiful. The staff service was exceptional and we travel a lot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to have had activities available on more days, many are just once a week. The restaurant main serves are enormous, would rather them be a bit smaller and cheaper. The shuttle to Port Douglas starts mid morning, an earlier service would be good too (this isn't the resort's decision though, just a comment about relying on the shuttle to get into town). The pools are incredibly beautfiul but freezing cold, if they were heated I would probably have never left :)

    The property itself is superb - views are just stunning and the whole vibe is peaceful and relaxed. It's really easy to zip about on buggies, the staff went above and beyond in helping us get around (and were all welcoming and accommodating of our tear-about toddler which was really appreciated). Lots of highlights - the beach, the walks, being remote but close enough to town to get their quickly and easily. Staff provided good advice about tours too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our problem was the food. All meals we had were below average and over priced. The reserve is 15 drive from Port Douglas. Been this far and if you don't have a car rental booked with you you are either stuck with terrible and expensive food or you have to pay bus or taxis each time to get to town for decent food. This is not good value or convenience. Specially for families. Hotel should improve the quality, variety and adjust cost of food there or offer a free transport service to customers

    Good place, great facilities and friendly staff at reception. .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is my absolute happy place... where you never want to leave.. loved everything! Especially the parrots which visit the trees near the open restaurant! A confluence of birdsong, nature and ocean. The room was great and the environment and sea views are just too lovely.. Food outstanding and super friendly staff! They go the extra mile :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    As a local we were always meaning to stay at Thala Beach Lodge. The stars aligned and we are glad we stayed. Staff were very accommodating. Accommodation was set in the nature reserve, very quiet and secluded for that getaway. Restaurant food was great however that was eclipsed by the view from your table. Close to Port Douglas if you need to venture out and really not far either from Cairns. Recommend for the traveller.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rainforest environment is stunning. The cabins are well situated with good privacy and balconies that overlook the rainforest. Very tranquil. Facilities are good with a nice pool area near the bar/restaurant and also another little rock pool amongst cabins away from the reception building. The beaches are beautiful. While no swimming due to stingers, the hammocks and tables make for a great setting to relax and/or enjoy a meal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately they don't have a stinger net at the private beach, so as it was stinger season we could not swim on site though it was very enticing.

    Staff were exceedingly helpful and the site was well maintained and very peaceful amongst the trees, butterflies and bird noises. I'd also recommend the restaurant for a special meal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thala Beach Nature Reserve was honestly one of the most beautiful places I have seen! The cabins were comfortable inside with all modern amenities although situated incredibly close to nature. We loved the swimming pools surrounded by rocks and palm trees, the delicious meals in the dining terrace overlooking the South Pacific Ocean, and the breathtakingly beautiful walk to the ocean. The food was all fresh and elegantly prepared and presented and featured local tropical fruits and seafood. The staff were all remarkably friendly and helpful. We even were treated to a complimentary nonalcoholic beverage upon arrival! My college-aged son and I enjoyed our stay so much but it would also be a perfect spot for honeymooners. It is conveniently located to all of the tourist attractions in Port Douglass. However, Thala Beach Nature Reserve is a destination in itself. It is the perfect spot for rest and rejuvenation. I am looking forward to coming back again and telling all my friends about Thala in the meantime.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views were absolutely breathtaking and the room was beautiful, spacious and clean. We were greeted with welcome drinks and the restaurant had delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner! The staff were incredibly helpful with 24/7 service!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception is under stuffed and it is difficult talking to the person in charge without being interrupted by an external call or other guests. Room service is only proposed every other day besides if you ask for it. The food is good, but very pricey. The breakfast is not up to the reputation of the great Aussi breakie that you find everywhere else. Internet not available in the rooms.

    The location is breathtaking with private beach access. Be prepared to hike through the property in order to get to the reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not consistent, but I liked disconnecting

    One of my favorite experiences ever was staying at thala. What a magical place! Would reccomend it to everyone!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy air cond motor under your bed.. grr couldn't sleep.... woke up grumpy. Not enough vegetarian options on menu. We had the vegetarian hamper as it was our only choice and lucky we took our own biscuits because there wasn't any and there wasn't enough bread provided. Toilet button kept on sticking. Smoke detector broken and not replaced.... looks like just ripped off ceiling. Safety issue for sure. Water jug in fridge would have been nice. Just to mention a few things. Pool area need attention during the day. Old papers, glasses left and dishes not collected. Didn't like guys drinking their stubbies and walking around in pool talking on phone at the top of their voices and swearing.. I think a walk around now and then by staff may have helped. Not very relaxing...

    We liked the pools, beach access. Staff very helpful. Couldn't fault them.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being the jelly fish season you can't get into the water, having a net would be nice to be able to get into the beautiful ocean. If you stay more than 4 nights and don't have a car the choices at the restaurant become somewhat limited, although they run a different special every night.

    Beautiful and tranquil place. The members of the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Although the hotel is 15 minutes away from Port Douglas, the hotel is nestled among the trees, with beautiful views of the sea. A perfect place to rest your mind and be in contact with nature. Beautiful pools.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food wasn't great, although views from the dining room were amazing. Also, price was a bit high- but overall, great stay!

    Beautiful location, super relaxing. Beach and pool were great, and gorgeous views. Conveniently located between Cairns and Port Douglas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thala is pretty memorable thanks to its setting. We were there for 2 nights followed by 2 nights at Silky Oaks lodge. Both were stunning locations. Thala we enjoyed because of its trails which make great running loop tracks (although I got stung by wasps while running). We saw wallabies, a goanna, heaps of birds etc The thought and care they have put into the grounds is fantastic. The rooms however are dated although pleasant and spacious. Minibar disappointing selection and expensive - AU11 crown lager. Also as cheap toiletries. The rooms have a motel feel. The breakfast was pretty average for $25/each. Because of this we decided to go into PD for dinner as we had a rental car. The staff were lovely although the feel is pretty hands off. I would recommend it due to the location (however you need a rental car). However I do think it's a little pricey for what it is as the attention to detail is lacking. I would say it's overpriced for what it is as we paid AU360/night and I wouldn't say the quality reflected this (it was AU250 tops). That said I think Australia resorts are disappointing compared to the quality in Asia, US and Africa. Very mixed feelings as the location was so special.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner in the Restaurant was a little pricey, but the food quality was great.

    Fantastic location, away from the world. Bungalows are amazing and the views even better from the balconies overlooking the rainforest and ocean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our impression was that it was a little pretentious and expensive. The only place to eat was the restaurant and snack bar. Guests would benefit from small things like having water or a bowel of apples etc. in the lobby. There was no little store to buy anything like this and so you were a trapped audience. We were glad we had a car. While the valet offered to pick up in golf carts if the inclines got too steep his first priority was to arriving guests and so he wasn't available when we may have used this service. Many steep slopes so perhaps to be considered if arthritic knees and hips are a problem. While the rooms seemed very clean on our last morning a scuttling cockroach greeted me when I pulled open the coffee drawer. We were very careful not to leave food around. Mentioned to a staff member who was very apologetic and was going to look into the matter.

    The surroundings were spectacular as the hotel is right in the Nature Reserve, so pretty amazing. Also the building was tiered and you felt you were in the canopy of the rainforest. It was fun to have a bungalow with private lanai. Room itself was beautiful!! All wood etc. Large picture window and great bathroom. Ours was on stilts. Favourite time of day was spent sitting on balcony listening to all the birds. Staff very good at helping arrange trips for snorkelling etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some consts werent included like breakfast - I booked through lastminute.com, it would have been good to have that option

    Very comfortable, friendly, convenient although secluded on the beach. A great swim...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although the pool looked inviting, the beautiful private beach under the coconuts was too tempting and won each day. The bungalow was private with fine views of the flora at tree top height and the Coral Sea.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed advertised but was really two twins pushed together that were hard and uncomfortable. I woke up several times laying in the crack. Sand on floor and tub on arrival. Tub is so small you can barely move. Room is only serviced every other day. On checkout I was charged over $200 for an excursion that I did not book. This was corrected after I pointed it out but check your bill! Bad smell in fridge with charged mini bar.

    Beautiful beach!!the pool and views are really beautiful. I didn't mind the hills or the location. All of that was well explained prior to booking and made our stay very peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only point I can make is the location. It's an amazing spot, but you are limited purely to the resort. They make this up with all the services they offer!

    Amazing service, great facilities and that view!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    A return visit for us, after 4 years, which was greeted with complimentary wine in our room. Very friendly, very attentive staff and just a superb location. Not exactly inexpensive but definitely memorable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave the hotel early because of a wedding. Didn't get to see the famous view, planned to have lunch there after check out.

    Everything in the room was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the cottage was lovely, from the restaurant superb, staff were charming and extremely helpful! The only negative was the dripping shower head!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to buy all meals there got expensive. Huge markup on wine. Having said that meals and hampers were delicious.

    Bungalows were great. Very private and totally serene location. Beach Devine. Staff all very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The views from the restaurant and the lounge bar were spectacular. The resort pools where possibly the best set up I have seen, exceptional. The close access to the nature walks and beach where so handy. The hammocks and beach chairs where in such an amazing location. So relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pools are icy cold! There is a lot of walking involved if the cabin is far from the main building where there is Wi Fi, and it is going up all the way! It is good exercise but quite exhausting if one is not a sporty type nor young any longer!!

    The location is wonderful, in the forest, above the sea, and the cabin very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the cabins are big and comfortable, there are free activities every day, such as bird watching, beach walks, stars observation, etc... And the food is delicious. There are lots of birds and a friendly wallaby around.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's obvious that they have been very busy with back to back bookings as the room wasn't 100% up to scratch but they did fix this immediately after I had mentioned it

    The service was outstanding

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the room I think breakfast could be included or basic facilities to be able to make own in room. Quite steep to get around if older or knee problems

    Beautiful and quite. Lovely big room with balcony. Excellent food. Friendly, helpful staff. Great beach area. Good walks

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant was disappointing. Buffet breakfast was cold and dinner did not come up to expectation either..

    The Staff were very nice and obliging....especially the buggy boys!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't happy about not being able to go swimming from the beach. But I guess there are not a whole lot of swimming beaches in this part of Australia due to crocodiles and sting rays. I would have liked to know this in advance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights

    More facilities required in room - micro wave

    Good combination of wilderness setting with high quality hotel facilities. Lots of animals and plants in natural setting with good explanations of. Very good restaurant, great beach access.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was too firm and join between two joined single beds to make up double was not comfortable. Don't like the 2.5% credit card surcharge particularly on local Mastercard.

    Love the whole eco-friendly experience. We went on 3 of the daily walking tours. Emma was brilliant as tour guide, especially the coconut tour. Staff were always friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Even provided a bowl of rice to dry my waterlogged mobile phone. Breakfasts were great although a little variety would have been nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Expensive, value may be improved if staying outside of high season. More food options with better value. A couple of dishes and cutlery in the cabin would have allowed for an easier ability to create your own breakfast and relax with the view. Not always interested in a restaurant breakfast or its types of food.

    Lovely location. Very pleasant staff. Nice alternative resort, being away from a typical hotel and city. Excellent options to go on mini guided walks and activities from interesting and educated staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were a lot of steps in the main building with no lift. There is quite a lot of walking as rooms spread out through the rainforest. Lovely for the fit but could be difficult for some. Golf buggies on call to help with this with very willing staff to assist.

    Beautiful part of the world.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was rundown, fittings falling out and loose in shower/bathroom. Mattress was unfortunately very uncomfortable and pillows poor. Ceiling fan dirty, bedding threadbare.

    Fantastic location, proximity to beach, open air decking in main foyer and view was superb.location just out of port Douglas which is fantastic. Like the porter service 24hrs :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. If we ever go back to this incredible part of the world we will definitely stay at Thala again!

    This is a very special place and you realize it as soon as you check in. The beauty of the place is breathtaking and the bungalows are tastefully appointed and very comfortable. We stayed for eight nights and were sad to leave.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at Thala several times. This time we were there with friends having recommended the place. We we in RMS 61 and 62. These rooms were very dark and dismal. They also needed a freshen up. The balustrades were rotten and should be replaced. The whole place has seen better days!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the smoke alarm went off in our room at 3.15am The chairs outside on the balcony were very uncomfortable The hills to reception were difficult as i suffer from asthma

    The place was lovely. The greeting was so nice and welcoming..The fruit cocktail was a lovely way to say hello

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front reception was nearly always understaffed, so there was a long wait to ask simple questions.

    Hotel was gorgeous, and our room was very comfortable. Lots to do and see! Restaurant was very good (albeit pricey, which we expected).

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved Thala! The setting is so beautiful and peaceful. We were afraid that we wouldn't make use of it, what with a fairly busy schedule of activities, but we managed plenty of time for walking on the beach and through the forest, and we enjoyed the pools. When we arrived we had been upgraded to nicer bungalow, which was much appreciated. But we had trouble with the air conditioning that night, and the front desk and maintenance crew responded quickly. We were moved efficiently to a lovely bungalow with an amazing Coral Sea view. We also enjoyed a lovely dinner here and the breakfast buffet, but it's the lodging staff and the incredible setting that really made our stay special.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could have been better was if we could have stayed longer.

    It's a luxury resort and met all my expectations, from the quality of the room to the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful setting in a large parklike area with several beaches on the property. Meals were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and helpful The food was great!! WOW unreal location will be back!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ......that we had to leave. We will be back!

    Best sleep for ages, no human noise, and l felt totally at one with nature!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hills.

    Everything else was perfect. Great rooms, staff and meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The relaxed atmosphere, views & dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thala Beach Nature Reserve traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: