Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hotel Cairns 4 stars

Corner of Florence & Abbott Streets, 4870 Cairns, Australia

#56 of 73 hotels in Cairns

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wi-Fi, in room no connection at all, with 4 star rating could expect better. Bathroom not really clean

    Friendly flexible staff, location: only 5minutes walk from esplanade.comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    The staff at check out were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon was very noisy and had to turn off to sleep and there is a lot of traffic noise but it does quietened down eventually. Could hear neighbours in bathroom, water running and flushing toilets.

    The staff at check out were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Poorly maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down - room had experienced bad flooding and inadequate refurbishment - cracked and stained ćeilings & floors being the worst I've ever seen! Advised not to eat in restaurant by local and former guest

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Beautifully clean , Beautifully designed. Wonderful. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great feeling and great room. Perfectly clean and fresh. Quick walk to the Marina and many many restaurants. Lovely receptionist. You cant do better than here. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Good on balance.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was badly designed and very awkward to use due to positioning of bath & toilet, plus there was something wrong with the shower head. Housekeeping was a lithe sloppy and decor a bit tired.

    Location excellent. Reception staff were friendly & helpful. Room layout was very good overall, including especially the extra sink outside the bathroom. Especially liked the private balcony we had (though most rooms only seemed to have shared balcony).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    2.5
    For an additional 100 or 200 we should have stayed in the Mantra or Rydges .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was ants in the room around the basin , timber around the bath area was tired and rotting , the air conditioning was warm and the free wifi was one bar . We actually hooked up to the Hilton’s free internet because the hotels just wouldn’t work..We are vegetarian and the breakfast lacked variety , no mushrooms, spinach etc and there was only one milk full cream. What restaurant doesn’t offer a choice in milk these days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.6
    A lot of money for a very mediocre stay. The breakfast was just awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was awful. The hotel catered only for Chinese tourists. There was a lack of care. It felt like a tourist production line.

    The room was spacious and airy but lacked care and cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.6
    The only positive was the location. We paid for a king size bed and only got a double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed & Pillows hard, no information in room re facilities, no room service, bathroom in severe need of upgrade, gardens overgrown, property generally run-down, photos on website old photos & info from previous owners of property when property was in good condition

    Convenient location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    I loved the location and room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in we got someone else’s room by mistake they then moved us to another room with two single beds but after all we ended up being upgraded so was lovely

    I loved the location and room was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Very disapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower did not work properly. It still did not work well after being attended to by staff. The shower head had obviously been in disrepair for some time. Also Sunday breakfast closed at 9 am. Very unsatisfactory.

    The location was good and there was on-site parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location and large room with a secluded patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could have been better. The scrambled eggs were soggy and bacon raw. The toast also took to long to cook yourself.

    I liked the patio, even though there was no view the patio was secluded and I wished I had of checked in earlier to use it. with a nice glass of wine. I also like the white shutters, felt very QLD style. I also thought the room had lovely decor and a lovely big bed. The lift was fantastic too , top floor and a lift to my floor, some hotels in Cairns don't have this and I'm too old to drag suitcases up stairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Great location - Only a short walk to the Esplanade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor in the restaurant needs updating. It's a great space, clean and very tropical but looked tired and well used.

    Great room and location - only a few minutes walk from the Esplanade.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    6.0
    There was nothing majorly wrong, however the Hotel and room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing majorly wrong, however the Hotel and room looked very in need of a make over and not up to modern aesthetic and quality standards. Our room was spacious, but the air-con and fridge were quite noisy, enough so as to disrupt sleep through out the night. The shower head could not be positioned correctly and had to be hand held to allow you to have a shower. These older un-refurbished hotels should be in a lower price band, as there are newer and better hotels for similar price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    6.7
    The room was good and well air conditioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a double bed as it was our anniversary stay and they gave us two singles which we had to push together. The pictures weren't really representative of the rooms or the buffet breakfast.

    The room was good and well air conditioned. The staff were very helpful and attentative.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    3.8
    A very disappointing stay will not recomend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not very clean. Broken tiles in bathroom entranceway. Air-conditioning unit very noisy. Unable to sleep with it on. Ceiling fan very noisy. Bathroom floor tiles, grout was filthy.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy aircon had trouble sleeping. Breakfast was included in our room rate but I would've been disappointed if I had paid $27 pp for it. It was very average.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Would not have enjoyed staying there for any longer than we had to because of listed complaints.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed that we paid for deluxe room and the bed was lumpy. Asked for quiet room and was facing main road and construction work across the road and was very noisy.

    Close to everything, easy to get in and out of, staff pleasant and helpful, nice large room. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    5.8
    Disappointing experience in an attractive property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiles on the balcony needed cleaning. Difficult access into/ out of the shower. No compendium in room. Seems to be more geared to Asian tour groups than independent tourists.

    Colonial style in tropical setting.. Proximity to restaurants and esplanade. Included breakfast. View to city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.0
    this is NOT a four star hotel! 3 stars at best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    customer service, room, bathroom, price (for what you got). it smelt like paint....and the long wait at reception to check in just got us off to a very bad start...

    location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.0
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They didnt tell us breakfast closed at 9. Breakfast was very limited. Room was very dirty, particularly bathroom.

    It was a cute idea, but very run down.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    5.4
    Hotel Cairns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room allocated looked nothing like the photo shown when booking. Bedroom very disappointing, it didn't feel at all private with venetian style wooden slats at the window that had gaps when closed. Bathroom very dated and badly damaged...well overdue a refit!

    Location ideal for eating out & shopping

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Location was perfect for activities on the esplanade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities were not a high quality

    Location was perfect for activities on the esplanade

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn’t work, sliding g door to balcony broken, breakfast was the worst i’ve Had in tears... no variety and set up for Asian guests.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con wasn’t cleaned , the air con didn’t flow properly, bed was to hard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.3
    Room good breakfast worst l have ever encountered
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was pig swill!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    My wife and I enjoyed our stay, nothing bad to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Pleasnatly suprised, good location, good food, clean, quite -nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition situation

    Position

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was sparse but comfortable.

    Thought the location was great because it was an easy walk to most of the water front and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows

    Hotel was quaint, clean and well presented and located near town centre and promenade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be updated

    The breakfast and the staff at breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    Big draw back on wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection rubbish. Shouldn't have been advertised.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good

    Nice large clean room, friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    Need more cleaning, and the breakfast was very bad...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need more cleaning, and the breakfast was very bad disappointed!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    It's very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very noisy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    Lovely room and balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room and balcony. Old fashioned ceiling fan, efficient and less intrusive than air conditioning. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.3
    Value for money in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast

    We didn't get any breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    3.3
    Location is not bad, walking distance from the Esplanade and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old, lack of maintenance. No WiFi in the room and poor at the reception. During 2 days the room was not serviced (nor cleaned, nor bad done). We book for 9 nights, left after 3.

    Location is not bad, walking distance from the Esplanade and city center

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    6.3
    Location, very convenient, 5 mins walk to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room size is good however, there is no curtain, only blind, people can see you from outside through the windows if they want to. The air con is very noisy. The shower head wont stop dripping after shower, making noise the whole night. Not sure if it is just me, even turn on every light in the room, still feel dark.

    Location, very convenient, 5 mins walk to everything. Good room size.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was in need of an up-date. Not that clean. Poor outlook. We weren't in hotel much so the negatives didn't impact us too much

    Location. Bed comfortable

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    3.8
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was old & looked nothing like the website photos. Rooms were old with cupboard doors missing. Soap, coffee & tea facilities were substandard. There was mould in the hallway & bathrooms. There was building going on over the road, which we weren't warned about.

    Nothing..

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    10
    Location suited our needs for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complex is a little dated

    Location suited our needs for overnight stay. Hotel provided all the required amenities. Comfy bed and good air-conditioning (essential for a summer visit). Loved the plantation shutters and cool marble floor. Clean and tidy. We were able to park our car for the day without charge, while we did a tour, which was very much appreciated. Breakfast was ample. We requested our eggs to be cooked differently from those available on the buffet and they arrived promptly without fuss.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    6.7
    Close proximity to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms required re cleaning - fridge had defrosted over the floor also Pool was full of leaves and wasnt cleaned daily Lots of scuff marks on walls and place looks little run down At Initial check in - staff member wasnt friendly

    Close proximity to town

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.6
    The room was clean and the bathroom quite large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was clean and the bathroom quite large. Plantation shutters facing out onto the terrace gave the room a nice tropical feel and the reception staff were very nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    6.7
    Close to the city centre, was good to be able to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Found the ducted aircon was very noisy. Had previously stayed in a different room and aircon was the same. Fairly old system l think. So found it hard to sleep.

    Close to the city centre, was good to be able to walk. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.8
    The staff are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spa was cold. Gym out of order. Two things I wouldve used

    The staff are very helpful. Good location to town. Comfy beds. Has everything you need. Very relaxed

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.3
    Room was great, spacious and comfy, great bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was disappointed with bathroom. Wasn't very clean, mainly due to age I think. Bath was so small, not deep enough, water wouldn't even cover me and I'm not big. And the plug didn't fit, it leaked water out. Went down stairs to have a spa and it was freezing cold????? Both hairdryers didn't work - These things really let the overall experience down - probably wouldn't choose hotel again based on these things.

    Room was great, spacious and comfy, great bed. Loved it

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.3
    Good position, within walking distance of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old shower over bathtub, with tap not attached properly to wall. Toilet flush button always got stuck & needs repairing. No hairdryer supplied.

    Good position, within walking distance of everything

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.9
    The room was far too noisy,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was far too noisy, the sound of the aircon was a huge irritation and annoyance, I was too exhausted to ask for a room change. Avoid room 223

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    airconditioning smell due to filters not been clean.
    • Couple

    airconditioning smell due to filters not been clean. toilet very noisey when you flush ???

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception desk left empty and took some time for them to come once we rang the bell

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    Staff is great and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is great and very helpful. I would stay there again

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    5.0
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very clean

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    It was a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom was a bit dated apart from this I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family

    It was a good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    5.4
    Location, bed was made each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It felt run down, lots of broken things. The room wasn't swept at all during our 3 night stay

    Location, bed was made each day.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    7.5
    Great Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free WIFI was not accessible from my room. Aircon was noisy.

    Great Location. Nice clean, spacious, plantation style rooms.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.5
    No meals available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No meals available.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towel service was unreliable.

    Excellent location. Close to main shopping area and restaurants. Comfortable rooms and nice pool.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    We came up for a wedding.
    • Couple

    We came up for a wedding. It was a last minute booking and met all our needs

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    6.7
    location and pleasant outlook over the roundabout and down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed rock hard and most uncomfortable.

    location and pleasant outlook over the roundabout and down towards the waterfront

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Close to everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    n/a

    Close to everything...great service, nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Great customer service, big sized room and nice relaxed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great customer service, big sized room and nice relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    The style of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we paid for a classic 'king' room and got a queen bed.

    The style of hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    Proximity to cbd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to cbd Able to walk to resturants

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Clean, and close to all facilities, and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, and close to all facilities, and shops

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    GOOD LOCATION, FRIENDLY SERVICE,CLEAN ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    GOOD LOCATION, FRIENDLY SERVICE,CLEAN ROOM.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.1
    Locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Door left unlocked all day by cleaner. Hard to get wi fi

    Locality

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    I like the rooms, architecture and ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like the rooms, architecture and ambience. everything was good, and staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.3
    large bedroom / balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dated/small bathroom

    large bedroom / balcony

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, only a few minutes to Esplanade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very helpful staff, only a few minutes to Esplanade

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Good - location, facilities and especially customer serrvice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good - location, facilities and especially customer serrvice

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.0
    Bed was comfy with clean sheets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The toilet didn't flush and dvd player wouldn't work with tv.

    Bed was comfy with clean sheets

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    The colonial slight feel plantation shutters ,old marble...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just needed a washer for a dripping tap.No big deal.

    The colonial slight feel plantation shutters ,old marble tiles in bathroom and deep bath.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    5.0
    The hotel had no bar or restaurant as advertised breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel had no bar or restaurant as advertised breakfast very poor .Pool and area around it no very clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    7.5
    We like the interior of the room and the bath room.
    • Family with young children

    The AC in our room not really working in the night time,so hot.

    We like the interior of the room and the bath room.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: