Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Chancellor 4.5 stars

19 Lake Street, Varsity Lakes, 4226 Gold Coast, Australia

#217 of 321 Holiday rentals in Gold Coast

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 92 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to hire towels for the pool from reception at $7 each. These should be complimentary at least

    It was clean and modern with all the facilities you would Need

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Very spacious apartment with nice pool and accessible parking. Good location in central Varsity Lakes if that area is convenient for you . Very happy with my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find the place as was off the road in a courtyard. Reception staff only there for short time, so a bit tricky if you have to check in or out early or late.

    Size of rooms good. Parking good once got used to layout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lounges very tired ,could have been cleaner ,air conditioner motor on balcony badly positioned . The fridges must cost a fortune to run every time you close the fridge door the freezer door opens .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is such a nice facility but badly maintained wiht mould in the shower and not clean water drainages are blocked and much more to fix.

    The location is very good and a relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no electric kettle in the facility, no receptionist at the entrance and hard to get in especially for the first timer guest. Bit expensive.

    Good comfy bed, very clean kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, lounge room and good design balcony. Love to go back there if there' s good deals(mark down price).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception Staff Member Paris was very helpful on the phone prior to my booking - I advised that I was arriving after hours and she forwarded me the details to access the property in advance. I also indicated that my son was travelling with me and I believe that the bed configuration was changed from my original booking to suit. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing will never stay there again.

    Nothing. On arrival no reception, had to call the Phone # number to work out how to gain access. After eventually getting the access disk, parked the car under the complex, (wrong park), finished under the gym had to walk across to the main doors. Room for price well below average could have got high standard room on the Coast for $188.00. Never been dusted low grade furniture, towel rail fell off the wall, no working light on left of bed. Had trouble exiting the car park (no exit signs). Would not recommend this to my worst enemy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    to get into this place is a bloody nightmare, we arrived and had trouble getting in, also other guests had the same problem. half an hour later we managed to get in and there was no one at the desk :(

    lovely and modern and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival (earlier than expected) I needed to use the restroom and there were no facilities on the ground floor. The bathroom (upstairs) was very clean though!!

    I arrived earlier than previously stated and they were very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the shower was very bad,it was over a high bath with no safety rail for any one over 50 it was a danger plus one room clean in 9 days with one change of towels and no free wifi

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More toilet paper and tissues Fold out bed a little uncomfortable. Beds foe 3 or 4 people, not couples would encourage us to stay again

    Location, accessibility for our purposes. Space in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roll away bed had a big dip in the middle making it so uncomfortable that we ended up putting the mattress on the floor. For the additional money we paid the rollaway should at least be a reasonable bed. Also there was not enough toilet paper to last for the time of our stay.

    Lovely unit in close proximity to restaurants and the pub. Nice pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness is definitely still an issue, I had read a few reviews that stated apartments were not cleaned to standard and sadly still the case. Cigarette butt left in ashtray on veranda, hair from previous tenant all through the apartment. Shower was terrible, pressure hard and temperature lukewarm.

    Location close to eateries and bond which is convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small things such as: there did not appear to be anywhere in the bathroom to hang clothes. I'd have liked to have a better selection of beverages: e.g. herbal teas.

    Croissants?? Didn't see them. I did like the palatial rooms and quiet serenity of the complex.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a serviced apartment as advertised only a weekly clean service. Paid for 2 weeks At check in but had to leave a week early and no refund as it was "Policy" Couches are dirty and kitchen utensils dirty and cheap not much use for cooking

    It is good value for money for an apartment and area is pleasant of a bit isolated pool view rooms are best

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we came in late, we didn't realise that the hotel and shops were so close until we googled it. Maybe a little information in the room would have helped

    We loved that it was quiet and so close to shops, hotel and restaurants (150 metres). After hours staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No walkin shower Fine signs

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the rooms.44 looks into a dirty wall which is supported by dirty outside furniture

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a bigger tv.

    Quiet + Comfy bed = Easy to get a good night's sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan in the bathroom runs 24)7 which I do no think is necessary

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place..room was excellent. Staff very helpful. Local pub has excellent meals shops very close. Public transport less than 5min walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was quiet, the room was large and very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have asked 2 single beds and they said may arrange when I checked in, but not at all. Smell mould no ventilation fan in bath room

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning as mentioned above

    it was a roomy apartment with everything in it. Just the air conditioning as mentioned above could be improved.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty. Spit marks on the glass and pictures and dirty kitchen utensils amongst other stuff, yuk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable, oven wasent cleaned at all since last use.

    View

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the standard was very good would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower over bath, very difficult for elderly

    Very friendly and helpful staff, easy access to all facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really dirty and did not look like anyone had cleaned it thoroughly in too long.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good quiet, central location. Clean, well kept property. Walk to Restaurants and Bars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cleanliness, stained uncomfortable furniture, uncomfortable bed.

    Great Air Conditioner!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbours played loud music every night

    Private entrance to the pool area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grace @ Reception was wonderful we felt very welcome and will certainly return to the Chancellor Apartment.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a biggie but no oven mets when cooking

    Spacious rooms. Close to all shopping malls

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chancellor has great rooms, great customer service & close to many beaches and shopping centres. It was an awesome stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    comfy bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishwasher machine broken.

    Kitchen very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Position and facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV aerial and no DVD player.. No point in having a TV..also dishwasher was broken. Also had a stove but no cooking pots n pans

    Sterio system

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See trip advisor review. Poor. Wouldn't return. Disgustingly dirty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not well sign posted to find. Its address was Lake Street but it was OFF Lake St!

    Nice gym and rooms had lot of space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Chancellor was conveniently located, and had great on site secure parking. Very tidy and GREAT value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was amazingly nice and very helpful, the location was also wonderful and was easy to get around from and to it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine nothing to dislike

    Nice and cosy ,and clean ,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    cleaning more frequent

    Le comfort et securite assurer. I would like to thanks all the staff working there especially TARA with her warm welcome and her smile thanks a lot for their help also.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Family with young children

    The lack of cleanliness was really disappointing. Bathroom was dirty on arrival. Crockery was dirty, cupboards sticky with oil splashes, crumbs throughout cupboards, dishwasher filthy on the outside, laundry cupboard filled with dust and gunk, no vacuuming behind draws in bedroom as there was debris of some sort. Tv didn't work properly, clock radio also didn't work. We had to purchase batteries for the stero remote. The room needed a huge clean down and overhaul of appliances.

    Location was great. Beautiful surroundings for some lovely peaceful walks.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Could smell cigarettes on level 2 around room 48-49. Air con in our room didn't work and we weren't there long enough for it to be fixed.

    Clean and friendly

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to pay for WiFi and hard to connect. Ended up with no service Could not find out if I could just pay for 1 night rather than a week. Reception not available before 830 or after 530 so never saw anyone -:phones at lunch about WiFi. No one answered. Room clean but Fridge not cleaned out which was surprising.

    Comfortable bed and close to university.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very minor issues: Dishwasher didn't work and the kettle didn't have an automatic cut off.

    Very clean, modern, spacious and homely. Great location. One minute walk to cafes and restaurants and two minutes to the bus. The staff are absolutely delightful, very friendly and professional. We would love to return.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the middle of a uni campus, this place has no desk staff after 11 on weekends, a dead give away to its attitude to guests. It's inexplicable, and it's mean. Plates were chipped, bathroom not as clean as it should be and no one to ask for help! Cancellation policy is terrible and wifi is not free!!! Unheard of these days.

    Very little. Would not stay again.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found the location to be very quite for the gold coast.varsity lakes is a great central location to stay for us,close to robina,the motorway and our friends.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The gym was very poor. Also very expensive for how basic it was.

    It was close (bus ride) to Robina which is where I needed to go every day. It is right near the main street of Varsity Lakes so close to IGA, restaurants, takeout, bus stops etc

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing i didn't like was that the floor of the bathroom did flood after each shower, the screen wasn't long enough and water went everywhere even after the shower head change, just needs a shower curtain to help this. also it was a bit unsafe getting in and out of the shower as there was nothing to hold on to and was very easy to slip.

    Staff were very nice. Out shower head was not working properly and i reported it and the whole thing was replaced the next day. Great location, to shops, lake, beach. Very clean. Great air con. didn't get hot at all. Oven and stove were great just needed a few more kitchen items but we made do. Pool was great, warm and clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With the extreme hot weather only having the main airconditioner in the lounge room meant it stayed on all the time..... A smaller air con unit in the bedroom woud have saved power

    Location to public transport, local restaurants and foreshore Boardwalk was brilliant. Unit was well set out and having laundry facilities in our room was an unexpected bonus.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no staff on premises except during checkout time which starts at 9.

    The place is quiet, well equipped and everything works.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Good location, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I think more towels should be provided to guests Stains on the lounges

    Good location, apartment was nice.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found the facility perfect for our needs and staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It didn't have anything to do with the customer service, the only problem was the fire evacuation late at night.

    Cleanliness, spacious and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit noisy-especially the guy in the nearby apartment with the ride on lawnmower he took out every morning to sweep up the leaves

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Check in should be earlier.

    The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vacuum never been emptied

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Peaceful location close to public transport and next door to bond university.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Efficient system of off hours arrivals.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception was not appropriately staffed to meet the needs of people who leave before 8.30 and arrive 5.30 as per business travellors.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was nice confortável place close to my course

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Space of unit colour coordination very appealing

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower very poor pressure and so small that water went everywhere .

    Location great, nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful room, close to everything, large room, clean, staff helpful, stunning outlook from balcony. Would definitely stay again, value for money

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Having cigarette buts dropped into our courtyard from above and the outdoor furniture was filthy

    The pool and parking

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: