Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grace Hotel 4.5 stars

77 York Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#31 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3556 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet hotel despite being in the centre of Sydney, close to darling harbour. Good train access across and easy walking distance to everything. Lovely art deco hotel, friendly staff and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Unfortunately we did not get to experience the restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we did not get to experience the restaurant, as we had pre booked others on the harbour in advance, but definitely next time as we are most certainly coming back. Location was perfect, everything from shopping at the QVB & Westfield to dining out at the magnificent and picturesque darling harbour and circular quay. I can highly recommend the grace for making our stay memorable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable, lovely hotel and friendly, professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • New Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 11th room was newly renovated and nicely appointed, the room was extremely quiet, the breakfast was fantastic and the location is excellent- 10 minute walk to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Barangaroo, 5 Mins to Chinatown, the theatre and QVB. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    The location is very very good; it's in the heart of downtown. The hotel is quite nice and elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    清潔有待改善! 不管是房間 or 浴室

    The location is very very good; it's in the heart of downtown. The hotel is quite nice and elegant. The staff is very nice also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Reasonably priced, comfortable, good location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean, the staff excellent. It is a beautiful heritage building in the centre of Sydney within walking distance of Darling Harbour and shopping sites such as The beautiful Queen Victoria building. There was a very nice buffet breakfast available and my little girl enjoyed her stay, especially the large shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and great staff. Shame about the lack of daylight and the way too soft bed
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No international TV channels (seriously, a 4-star hotel without even CNN?). The bed was far too soft - it felt old. And I got a room with no natural light - the window looked on to the Central well of the building but with so little light I had to keep room lights on then shut the curtains for privacy

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent for work, shopping and tourism.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Very Central and Very Clean and Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are comfy Rooms are nice and large. Good buffet breakfast. Great Minibar! Excellent room service. Rooms are being renovated upstairs but the older rooms are still very pleasant and very clean. Some noise from 10am with the renovation. Very central location and valet parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Graceful in Sydney
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out should be at 12:00 midday considering their check in is at 3:00pm. Normally hotels check in at 2:00pm and out at 11:00AM - So I found this odd.

    Amazing beds, great hotel, great bathrooms with water pressure and showers, plus you can miss the photogenic lobby. Be sure to spend some time in its grand architecture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Elegance personified
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful hotel with natural ambience coming from its glorious, old bones. Gracious staff, gracious hotel. Lovely, large rooms which are quiet. Big, comfortable beds. Generous and sumptuous buffet breakfast. Truly value for money in an old world, elegant hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was that the fan in the air conditioning was making a rattle that we forgot to mention on check out.

    The whole hotel is very classy. Staff are excellent. Always friendly, thoughtful and greeted you when you walked past.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic Weekend Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was an upgrade that had recently been refurbished. It was gorgeous. The shower was like a mini-rainforest, with a huge shower head! The staff were all very welcoming and accommodating. Love this venue ❤️

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Good size rooms and very comfortable bed, Perfect location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was plentiful but basic

    Good size rooms and very comfortable bed, Perfect location with short walking distances to public transport, shops and the QVB .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable will stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to Vivid being on in Sydney our room was not ready for us at 2pm & on our return to hotel at 430pm we had not recieved a message on mobile to inform us it was ready at any time prior to us returning

    Central location , clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    We stayed at The Grace before and will probably stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there are guests waiting to check-in perhaps it would be nice if staff attended to them rather than to personal chit-chat. There seems to be some construction nearby and we woke up to loud drilling.

    Spotlessly clean rooms, spacious, excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Nicely appointed rooms, clean and centrally located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms need a facelift but they are clean and adequate. I have stayed here before and this time the bed mattress needed replacing - but it was not uncomfortable. I assume the refurb will address this!

    Large nicely appointed rooms, clean and centrally located for travel in the CBD. Hotel is in the centre of the city but is essentially quiet. Rooms and bathrooms are being renovated at the moment and there was noise fro around 10am. Good value for money mid week an great breakfast buffet and minibar is always welcomed by the weary business traveller!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay, close to shopping and attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are too small for two adults. Only sufficient complimentary tea supplies and teacups for two provided, though 3 guests checked in.

    Beautiful deco interior architecture. Bed was comfy though a bit small. Great generous sized shower. Good sized bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Convenient location, lovely old world feel, good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. But it was pnly an overnight stay so didn't use all facilities

    Convenient location, lovely old world feel, good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints quite satisfied.

    Very peaceful & quiet, bed very large & comfortable, quite nice for overnight stay which included a breakfast package.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    A classy favourite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too firm for my liking but that was a minor consideration.

    We love the heritage of The Grace, the Art Deco features give a wonderful feeling of timeless class. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The shower was hot and strong! We had a good dinner in the Irish pub listening to wonderful live music. Great atmosphere but best to book a table on the weekends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Wish we had another night :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are generous and well appointed. The only thing for me (and we're all different) is that the beds are a bit on the soft side and next time, I will take my own pillow.

    The hotel is majestic and so beautifully maintained. I love the feel of the hotel....it's like stepping back in history. The location is excellent, the staff fabulous. The cleaner was so friendly too. The heated pool, gym, steam room and sauna...awesome!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the location , the comfortable room and pleasant staff and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Spacious rooms. Great showers. Room service food very nice. Staff excellent. Very clean.Love the location. So easy to access by airport train and within an easy walk to many attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A warm and welcoming place to stay whilst visiting Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have now stayed at this Hotel on many occasions over the years and have never been disappointed with either the accommodation or the staff who work there. They are all very attentive and happy to assist you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    The room was comfortable and very nice size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    The room was comfortable and very nice size. The location, was excellent. The facilities adjoining the hotel were great. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great position lovely feel - Are you being served? I was waiting for Mr Grace to turn up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a deal breaker but could do with more radio choices on the TV and the towels could be a tad bigger.

    The bed was great and the room was well appointed and nice and roomy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful spacious room. The bedding and towels were luxurious. Stunning art deco hotel. The location is excellent! Close to Wynyard Station. I think you can get a train directly from the airport. Easy walk to Darling Harbour and close to city shops. The rooms are soundproof. Slept peacefully. Will definitely stay again. Very happy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature was very difficult to get right. Either scolding or barely warm. But that's a minor quibble.

    Check-in was easy and the receptionist Gladys was extremely polite and easy to talk to. Location was perfect and they allowed me to check in early while I was on my lunch break.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend again and again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stayed at the Grace several times before and have enjoyed every stay. This time I traveled on my own. The location is fantastic as you can walk anywhere return for a rest if necessary and go back out to shop, dine, sight see etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Was a great hotel for a girly get together
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location to Town Hall station and the staff were pleasant to deal with and nothing was a problem for them. When we asked for extra towels they were brought to the room straight away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Great accommodation close to lots
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel train vibration on 3rd floor. Would have liked a larger rug for bed.

    Staff were friendly, room was cleaned daily and toiletries were lovely to use. Hotel was close to transport and shopping. One could walk to lots of attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Saturday night in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is located in the city within an easy walking distance of many great attractions such as circular quay, the rocks, darling harbour etc. the room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff here provide excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once your Car is parked without the ticket it’s hard to get into. They wouldn’t accept our room key and Id to get something out of the car. They also screeched the wheels in front of us when bringing it out

    Very friendly staff willing to help. Room spacious. Asked for extra towels and housekeeping brought up very quickly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to the service entrance for the floor and was a constant source of noise.

    The breakfast was extraordinary. The range of offerings and the quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Spacious Room and 2 Double Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to step into a bath to shower - very difficult and dangerous for older guests. Water saving devices in the bathroom are too restricted.

    Spacious Room and 2 Double Beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Just gorgeous. Love the Art Deco look. Spacious, clean, friendly. Great location. Near train, circular quay, city centre. Easy to get Uber’s etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Grace by name and by nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That's a hard question. Maybe some spicy sausages for breakfast? Lol. I can't complain really. The breakfast was wonderful.

    Old school character and charm with all the modern bells and whistles. Lovely big spacious room. Bed was super comfortable and the huge rain shower head was magical. We have started before and will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    In the heart of Sydney enjoying Vivid before going to work
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An airport shuttle service would increase usage from international and local travellers.

    The Grace is an easy walk from Town Hall Station for travellers coming from the airport by train. It is in walking distance to The Rocks, Sydney Harbour, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay and The Sydney Opera House. I stayed on route to an overseas business trip; the location is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    The hotel always impresses and leaves you feeling contented and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rain, if only they could stop the rain.

    I have found this to be the most centrally located hotel in Sydney. Most attractions are no more than an easy 10 minute stroll. The restaurant and Irish Pub within the building are both excellent. Lifts are fast with no waiting and the hotel is always in the highest state of cleanliness as are the rooms. Great art deco hotel with all the modern comforts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is lovely- my stay wasn’t what I’d hoped it to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked into 4 separate rooms. Went out for a couple of hours then returned for a quick change before boarding a dinner cruise. On our return we could not access one room. Went to reception to be informed we had to move rooms due to an electrical fault 😏 ‘We have a very nice room for you ‘ - at this point was thinking upgrade. We were moved from a large corner room with large windows looking over 2 streets to a smaller room with one window looking out onto a wall 😏 by now time was ticking away and our bags had to be moved to new room. Needless to say a VERY quick change took place and a mad dash to the boat. I have been eager to stay at the Grace for years and was disappointed with this....

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    we called two days before and asked for an earlier check in, on arrival we were told our room was ready and before finishing check in we were told it was not, we went for coffee and a walk around Sydney and returned at 3pm for check in only to be told our room was still not ready, at 3.25 we asked again and finally got our room, it appeared that reception staff were happy for us to sit and wait until we asked again. we will definitely return to the Grace Hotel in future, our only disappointment was at check in.

    the building, the room, the location and the presentation were perfect and exactly what we had expected

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    stay was okay but fr the money i spend i i didn't receive any worth for the stay. breakfast was same
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms were very small. no space to move about in the room.

    I had requested for an extra bed for my child still i was charged for my child stay and not provided with an extra cot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great room and very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the fact that the hotel applies a $100 hold on your credit card in case of mini bar expenses. We never use the mini bar so was not impressed about this one. Have to ask for express release on check out to get hold taken off.

    Stayed 1 night for my husbands birthday and vivid trip. We had the deluxe king room and it was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to Darling Harbour with a lot of other pubs and restaurants nearby. Our second visit did not disappoint and will definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was excellent

    Facilities were excellent and the building has retained a lot of its art deco features. Breakfast was great with lots of gluten free options. Staff were friendly.and efficient. Gym and pool were well maintained. Bedroom and bathroom have recently been renovated and were spacious and very comfortable. All in all a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The location was a perfect jumping off spot for everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a perfect jumping off spot for everything we wanted to do around the CBD including Vivid. The room was very comfortable - as was the bed. No trouble dropping off to sleep at all!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    10 minutes walk to Circular Quay and 5 minutes to Darling Harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light amount of traffic noise on floor 5

    Large clean rooms, excellent bathroom with huge shower. Bottle of wine on arrival was a nice touch Will definitely stay next year when we come back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel. Parking problems.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was full. Adjacent car parks were too tight for large cars. Good Wilson car park one street down on Kent St, suitable for large 4x4s.

    Beautiful building. Room was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Still plenty of "Grace" in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location near shopping, businesses and Darling Harbour. Hotel is reasonably priced for Sydney CBD as a weekend getaway. Staff very courteous, breakfast also reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Fine with a touch of vivid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mirror on the wall was so loose that it almost fell off on top of my toddler. The desk was chipped. This place is on need of a bit of TLC.

    The price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    enjoyed the atmosphere and staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    although bedrooms very clean and comfortable bit dreary with so much dark woodwork etc

    liked the art decor style and proximity to all the attractions I visited

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall my stay was a comfortable and a welcome retreat after a long international flight to Sydney
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the room being recently refurbished, the bathroom fixtures, such as bath towel hooks and rails are already coming loose. There was no where to place soap near the sink or in the shower recess if you were using soap and not body wash. Whilst the shower recess was spacious the general bathroom area was small with toilet occupying almost all of the space. Toilet bowel restricted ability to use the vanity and mirror comfortably.

    I was upgraded to a newly refurbished Superior King Suite, because I was unable to check-in to my booked room at my early time of arrival. The reception staff member was very accommodating and helpful. The room was very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We had a comfortable, relaxed stay and would come back to the the Grace Hotel in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee at breakfast could have been hotter.

    The room was large and comfortable and had evrything we required. The location was good for transport and walking to other venues. Staff were very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The complimentary swimming pool (even though it wasn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary swimming pool (even though it wasn't that big) was amazing. Beautifully decorated and perfectly located for walking everywhere. P.s. I paid for breakfast which was honestly the best breakfast I've had anywhere. Really good for vegetarians! So happy me!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with great staff in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful historic hotel. Staff went above and beyond. The bed was comfortable and the location was very central. Great pub next door. The wifi was free and fast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Great location, clean and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • New Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault it

    Great location, modern, stylish and pristine rooms. Rooms service food were divine & served up til midnight! The restaurant at the hotel doesn't serve dinner but there is an Italian restaurant, a Japanese restaurant and an Irish pub adjacent to the hotel, 2 of them with access from the lobby. Room service continues til 0600 with good variety of hot food . Few minutes walk to Sydney Recital Hall and public transport. Can't fault it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    We loved the authentic restoration of this Art Deco building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a room that had an adjoining room. Unfortunately, we were kept awake 3 nights with guests coming back to their room late, talking and listening to the televison. We could hear every word of their conversation and they weren't even talking loudly. There was just a door between us. Not satisfactory.

    We loved the authentic restoration of this Art Deco building..sensational.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel, central to everything, staff and ammenities fantastic and would certainly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom vanity made it difficult to store two small-medium toilet bags as we stayed for 8 nights normally would not have been a huge deal to store the bedroom if it was a 1 or 2 night stay. The room we were allocated seemed to have paper thin walls as we heard the TV and conversations from the changing guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel, bad communication.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You had to tell them in the afternoon if you wanted the Breakfast to get the cheaper price & we ended up having a late night & didn't make it to breakfast but we were still required to pay even thou this was told to us.

    Good Location, close to CBD & Darling Harbour

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Beds were very comfortable as was the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water in room, had to pay for barista coffee even though we paid for the full buffet breakfast, no subtitles available when watching pay-per-view movies & could not adjust volume so could not hear movie, no doorman at hotel entrance

    Beds were very comfortable as was the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Always enjoy our stay at Grace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtesy bottle water bottle in room

    Always enjoy our stay at Grace. Great position for Lyric theatre dining & shopping. Highly recommended to family & friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything about this gorgeous Art Deco hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Corner King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like .

    Loved everything about this gorgeous Art Deco hotel. Lovely spacious rooms, good breakfast , central location and friendly staff. Will definitely be back .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    An excellent option in Sydney, good surprise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • New Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym is a bit too small and not many equipment. Other than that this hotel is a great option!

    We stayed in a newly refurbished room, very nice, good size, comfortable bed, very quiet. Everything working well. One of the more comfortable rooms we had in the last years.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault a thing really

    Great location and comfortable room in a beautiful old building. All the staff we interacted with were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was very good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room cleaning procedures were unhygienic and left much to be desired. eg. the same toilet brush was used for all the rooms the cleaner was servicing. The brush was put onto a tray which had other cleaning equipment on it, although in other compartments, had the potential for cross contamination. Each room's toilet should have it's own brush The crockery was washed in the bathroom hand basin.

    Staff were friendly. Facilities comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    A great location but disappointed with having to pay for parking that was meant to be included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upgrade to the new king superior room literally was just a bed size & no bath. The booking was meant to come with parking & their car park was full so they we had to park a block away at our expense. The room service breakfast was also cold & expensive.

    It’s a great heritage looking building with lots of character & the staff are super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    My experienced initially was extremely disappointing and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My experienced initially was extremely disappointing and upsetting. The Grace Hotel incorrectly and inappropriately deducted the full Hotel fee at the time of booking, when they stated on their Web page that this was not to occur until 3 days before arrival. It took many hours of my time and multiple phone calls and emails to the hotel and my credit card company on Easter Saturday to reverse their mistake. I was very cautious after that experience whether to proceed with the booking or even cancel. This experience was incredibly unpleasant. Even though the hotel tried to remedy their mistake, first impressions are very important.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    An elegant, interesting, value for money hotel in a central location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Corner King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No spirits in bar fridge No hooks in bathroom for towels

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, great shower Beautiful art deco foyer, efficient very clean lifts (often neglected in old buildings) Great location in city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very comfortable hotel.
    • Couple
    • Premium King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in gym area on the day I used it.

    Requested quiet room and given a very comfortable internal room that had absolutely no street noise. Room service excellent. Staff very pleasant and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    A great option for visiting Sydney.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More café/ restaurant options on site would have been good, better access to the roof terrace.

    Great art deco feel in the lobby. Lovely staff, large and clean rooms, extremely quiet space given the central location in Sydney. Wifi was reliable for streaming and working. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    great location to shp district, theatre & restaurants. Staff by & large friendly & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t appreciate after we’d paid additional monies to be upgraded, only to take the lift to the 7th flr, to find the receptionist had written on the card the incorrect rm number... had to wait for sometime to access the lift ( busy period) then once more queue to sort our issue out , only to have my partner “ challenged verbally”... had he written the incorrect rm number?😡As he politely explained “ Er no, when we were issued with the (2) swipe cards the receptionist placed the cards herself into the cardboard pouch & wrote the INCORRECT ROOM NUMBER, NOT US!! At NO stage we’re we given a pen, as part of the role of the “ check in process “ always the staff stationed at the desk/ lobby complete this part of the check in NEVER the guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi/user-authentication process was not straight forward and I needed Access Codes.

    Excellent location, beautiful old building, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a large bump through the middle from the head of the bed to the end. Forcing us to sleep apart.

    Location is amazing! Four minute walk to the harbour. Great water pressure in the shower. Friendly room service staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely grand lobby and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things. Only one hook behind bathroom door. No towel rails. Pasta dish wasn't fully cooked, tough.

    Lovely grand lobby and rooms. Quiet , reserved elegance. In heart of CBD. Walk everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff need to learn better customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only problem was with check in, the staff couldn't find our friends booking and it took me to show them my email and even show them my visa account to prove I had paid for 2 rooms. It took more than 20 minutes to find the booking. Didn't say sorry. I was very disappointed

    Hotel was nice, clean and close to everything. Comfortable bed and large rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The superior king room provided the most comfortable bed my partner and i have ever slept on. The hotel also provided us complimentary sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival. The decor of the hotel is gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is located nearby Circular Quay (15 mins walk) in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None really

    The hotel is located nearby Circular Quay (15 mins walk) in a central road though not noisy. Clean, well maintained, of a high standards, the hotel is worth ththe money spent (not that expensive for the value). The staff is very polite and attentive. I would absolutely fo back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    would not go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no hot water in room, our stay interrupted by maintenance men, then moved to another room and again, no hot water, poor response from staff and management, obviously little communication between staff and little effort made to compensate us.

    great location

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Grace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: